4620.3200 CONTRACTOR LICENSURE.

Subpart 1. [Repealed, 20 SR 2765]

Subp. 2. Application for license. An applicant for an asbestos contractor license must submit to the commissioner:

A. a completed application on a form provided by the commissioner, which seeks only information the commissioner reasonably considers necessary to identify the applicant and to determine whether the applicant meets the statutory and regulatory requirements for licensure;

B. a nonrefundable application fee of \$100, which is not in the form of a personal check, payable to the Minnesota Department of Health;

C. the name, address, Social Security number, and signature of the responsible individual as defined in part 4620.3100, subpart 29; and

D. the asbestos contractor's Minnesota business identification number.

Subp. 2a. **Workers' compensation.** As part of the contractor license application, the applicant must provide:

A. evidence of workers' compensation insurance as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 176.182; or

B. if the applicant is not liable to pay compensation under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 176, the applicant must submit a letter to the commissioner, signed and dated, stating why the applicant is not liable.

Subp. 3. **Denial of asbestos contractor license application.** The commissioner shall deny an application for an asbestos contractor license if the applicant fails to comply with the requirements of subparts 2, 2a, and 4a. Additional grounds for the commissioner to deny an application are stated in Minnesota Statutes, section 144.99, subdivision 8, paragraph (a) or (b). An applicant:

A. must be notified in writing of the denial of the license application and reasons for the denial; and

B. is not required to pay a second fee if the applicant submits a second asbestos contractor application according to subpart 2, within 30 days of the receipt of notice that the asbestos contractor license application has been denied. Fees are required for all subsequent applications.

Subp. 4. **Terms of licensure.** An asbestos contractor license is effective for one year unless it is revoked or suspended by the commissioner. An asbestos contractor license is not transferable.

REVISOR

Subp. 4a. **Responsible individual.** A licensed asbestos contractor must at all times have a responsible individual who represents the asbestos contractor. If the responsible individual identified on the current asbestos contractor license no longer serves in that capacity, the contractor, within ten days of the change in the responsible individual, must provide a statement to the commissioner identifying and signed by the new responsible individual and stating the date when that individual assumed the duties of the responsible individual.

Subp. 5. **Annual license renewal.** If a contractor wants to renew the asbestos contractor license, the contractor must submit a completed application under subpart 2 that is received by the commissioner by the expiration date on the existing asbestos contractor license.

Subp. 6. [Repealed, 20 SR 2765]

Subp. 7. [Repealed, 20 SR 2765]

Subp. 8. **Procedures for obtaining duplicate license.** The commissioner shall issue a duplicate asbestos contractor license to replace a lost, destroyed, or mutilated license if the licensee submits a completed application for a duplicate license and pays a charge to the commissioner for the cost of duplicating the license.

Subp. 9. **Subcontractors.** A subcontractor who performs asbestos-related work must hold a valid asbestos contractor license.

Statutory Authority: *MS s* 16A.1285; 144.05; 144.122; 326.70 to 326.81 History: 13 SR 568; 20 SR 2765; 33 SR 739 Published Electronically: *June 3*, 2013