## 3800.3602 REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL OF ELECTRICIAN, SATELLITE SYSTEM INSTALLER, AND POWER LIMITED TECHNICIAN LICENSE AND RENEWAL OF REGISTERED UNLICENSED INDIVIDUAL REGISTRATION.

Subpart 1. **License renewal.** The department shall not renew the electrician license of an applicant for renewal who has held the license for at least 24 months unless the applicant has credit for the hours of instruction required by this part.

## Subp. 2. Hours of instruction.

- A. Within the term and prior to the renewal of an individual license identified in this subpart and subpart 5, each holder of a license shall receive credit for instruction through one or more educational programs as required by this part. Credit for an educational program may only be used once for a specific renewal of a license. Where a licensee holds more than one type of license, the same credits for hours of instruction may be applied to each license.
- B. The following license types are required to earn 16 hours of instruction through one or more educational programs:
  - (1) Class A master electrician;
  - (2) Class B master electrician;
  - (3) Class A journeyworker electrician;
  - (4) Class B journeyworker electrician;
  - (5) [Repealed, L 2013 c 85 art 2 s 44]
  - (6) [Repealed, L 2013 c 85 art 2 s 44]
  - (7) maintenance electrician;
  - (8) Class A installer;
  - (9) Class B installer; and
  - (10) power limited technician.
- Subp. 3. **Acceptable subjects.** For the license types listed in subpart 2, item B, subitems (1) to (9), at least 12 hours of instruction must be on the NEC and the remainder on the statutes and rules governing electrical installations, this chapter, chapter 3801, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.31 to 326B.399, or technical topics related to electrical installations and equipment. For the license type in subpart 2, item B, subitem (10), at least four hours of instruction must be on the NEC with the remainder on the statutes and rules governing electrical installations, this chapter, chapter 3801, Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.31 to 326B.399, or technical topics related to electrical installations and equipment.
- Subp. 4. **Registration renewal.** The department shall not renew the registration of a registered unlicensed individual unless the applicant received credit for two hours of instruction on the NEC

through one or more educational programs as required by this part. Credit for an educational program may only be used once for renewal of registration.

Subp. 5. **Satellite system installer renewal.** The department shall not renew the license of a satellite system installer unless the applicant received credit for four hours of instruction on the NEC through one or more educational programs as required by this part.

**Statutory Authority:** MS s 214.12; 326.241; 326B.32

**History:** 19 SR 2221; L 2000 c 488 art 2 s 28; 29 SR 947; L 2007 c 140 art 5 s 32; art 13 s

4; 34 SR 473; L 2013 c 85 art 2 s 44; 38 SR 1657

Published Electronically: November 29, 2017