3100.1850 REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE.

Subpart 1. Requirements.

- A. A person desiring the reinstatement of a license must:
- (1) submit to the board a completed reinstatement application provided by the board;
- (2) submit with the reinstatement application the fee specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.091, subdivision 10;
- (3) include with the reinstatement application a letter stating the reasons for applying for reinstatement; and
 - (4) comply with the applicable provisions of subparts 2 to 5.
- B. Once the requirements of this subpart have been reviewed by the board, the board shall officially notify the applicant by letter as to whether the reinstatement of a license has been denied or granted by the board. If granted reinstatement, the person shall be assigned to the biennial term to which the licensee was assigned prior to termination of the license. An applicant denied reinstatement of a license may appeal the denial by initiating a contested case hearing pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14.
- Subp. 2. **Expiration or voluntary termination of six months or less.** An applicant whose license has expired according to part 3100.1700, subpart 3, or who voluntarily terminated the license six months or less previous to the application for reinstatement must:
- A. provide evidence of having completed the professional development requirements described under part 3100.5200 that would have applied to the applicant had the license not expired. Professional development requirements must have been completed within 24 months prior to the board's receipt of the application; and
- B. pay the biennial renewal fee and file a reinstatement application specified in subpart 1.
- Subp. 2a. Expiration or voluntary termination of more than six months but less than 24 months. An applicant whose license has expired according to part 3100.1700, subpart 3, or who voluntarily terminated the license more than six months but less than 24 months previous to the application for reinstatement must:
- A. provide evidence of having completed the professional development requirements in part 3100.5200 that would have applied to the applicant had the license not expired. Professional development requirements must have been completed within 24 months prior to the board's receipt of the application;
- B. pay the biennial renewal fee and file a reinstatement application specified in subpart 1;

- C. submit evidence of having successfully completed the examination of the laws of Minnesota relating to dentistry and the rules of the board. The examination must have been completed within 12 months prior to the board's receipt of the application;
- D. submit evidence of having had a complete physical examination to include a physician's statement attesting to the applicant's physical and mental condition. The physical examination must have been completed within 12 months prior to the board's receipt of the application; and
- E. submit evidence of having had a complete optical examination and having complied with required optical prescriptions. The optical examination must have been completed within 12 months prior to the board's receipt of the application.
- Subp. 3. **Expiration or voluntary termination of 24 months or more.** An applicant whose license has expired according to part 3100.1700, subpart 3, or who voluntarily terminated the license 24 months or more previous to the application for reinstatement must:
 - A. comply with subpart 2a;
 - B. submit either:
- (1) evidence of having successfully completed part II of the national board examination or the clinical examination in part 3100.1100, subpart 2, for dentists; the examinations in Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.106, subdivision 1, clauses (2) and (6), for advanced dental therapists; the clinical examination in Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.06, subdivision 1d, for dental therapists; the national board examination or the clinical examination in part 3100.1200, item C, for dental hygienists; and the two examinations in part 3100.1300, item C, for licensed dental assistants. The examination must have been completed within 24 months prior to the board's receipt of the application; or
- (2) evidence of having successfully completed applicable board-approved coursework with minimal hour requirements directly relating to the practice of dentistry, advanced dental therapy, dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting as indicated in the reinstatement application. The board-approved coursework must have been completed within 24 months prior to the board's receipt of the application. The coursework completed under this subpart may not be used to fulfill any of the applicable professional development requirements in part 3100.5100; and
- C. be available for an interview with the appropriate board committee to determine the applicant's knowledge of dental subjects and ability to practice dentistry, dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting under this subpart.
 - Subp. 4. [Repealed, 20 SR 2316]

Subp. 5. **Scope.** Nothing in this part prohibits a dentist or dental hygienist from applying for licensure according to part 3100.1400.

Statutory Authority: MS s 150A.04; 150A.06; 150A.08; 150A.09; 150A.10; 150A.11; 214.06; 214.15; 319A.18

History: 10 SR 1612; 20 SR 2316; 29 SR 306; 35 SR 459; 36 SR 738; 37 SR 1849; 39 SR 1455

Published Electronically: May 7, 2015