3100.1400 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS.

A person who is already a licensed dentist or dental hygienist in another state or Canadian province desiring to be licensed to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in Minnesota shall, in order to demonstrate the person's knowledge of dental subjects and ability to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in Minnesota, comply with the requirements in items A to N.

- A. The applicant shall complete an application furnished by the board.
- B. The applicant shall furnish satisfactory evidence of having graduated from a school of dentistry, or dental hygiene, whichever the case may be, which has been accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation.
- C. An applicant for licensure as a dentist must have been in active practice in another state, Canadian province, or United States government service for at least 2,000 hours within 36 months prior to the board receiving a completed application and must submit at least three references from other practicing dentists.
- D. An applicant for licensure as a dental hygienist must have been in active practice in another state, Canadian province, or United States government service for at least 2,000 hours within 36 months prior to the board receiving a completed application. The applicant must submit at least two character references from dentists and two references from practicing dental hygienists.
- E. An applicant must provide evidence of having passed a clinical examination for licensure in another state or Canadian province, where the licensure requirements are substantially equivalent to that of Minnesota.
- F. An applicant shall include a physician's statement attesting to the applicant's physical and mental condition and a statement from a licensed ophthalmologist or optometrist attesting to the applicant's visual acuity.
- G. An applicant must submit with the application a fee as prescribed in Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.091, subdivision 9.
- H. For identification purposes, the applicant shall furnish one notarized unmounted passport-type photograph, three inches by three inches, taken not more than six months before the date of application.
- I. In advance of the appearance required by item J, an applicant for licensure by credentials as a dentist shall submit complete records on a sample of patients treated by the applicant. The sample must be drawn from patients treated by the applicant during the five years preceding the date of application. The number of records requested of the applicant shall be established by resolution of the board. The records submitted shall be reasonably representative of the treatment typically provided by the applicant.

- J. An applicant must appear before the board and satisfactorily respond to questions designed to determine the applicant's knowledge of dental subjects and ability to practice dentistry or dental hygiene pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.06, subdivision 4. Questions may be based on the records submitted pursuant to item I.
- K. An applicant shall successfully complete an examination designed to test knowledge of Minnesota laws relating to the practice of dentistry and the rules of the board.
- L. If the board adopts simulated dental patient examinations as part of the application process, applicants shall complete simulated dental patient examinations designed to test their knowledge of dental subjects.
- M. An applicant shall provide adequate documentation of attained professional development or continuing dental education for the 60 months preceding the date of application.
- N. An applicant may apply for licensure by credentials only once within any five-year period of time.

Statutory Authority: MS s 150A.04; 150A.06; 150A.08; 150A.09; 150A.10; 150A.11; 214.06; 214.15; 319A.18

History: 10 SR 1612; 14 SR 1214; 18 SR 2042; 20 SR 2316; 31 SR 1238; 35 SR 459; 39 SR 1455

Published Electronically: May 7, 2015