
2911.0300 INTENDED USE AND NONCONFORMANCE WITH RULES.​

Subpart 1. Intended use. A facility shall be used only according to its classification, Class I​
to Class VI, as approved by the Department of Corrections. A Class I facility may be approved by​
the commissioner to house inmates serving alternative sentences for a time not to exceed any limits​
set by Minnesota Statutes. A Class II facility may house inmates serving an alternative sentence​
for a time not to exceed any limits set by Minnesota Statutes. A facility must be in compliance with​
a rule part, subpart, or item as designated under subpart 5a in order to meet approval requirements​
for continued operation unless the commissioner waives the part, subpart, or item. The commissioner​
shall assess a facility based on compliance with rules applicable to the facility's classification at​
the time of the facility's last inspection.​

Subp. 2. Nonconformance, unsafe, unsanitary, or illegal conditions. When conditions do​
not substantially conform or where specific conditions endanger the health, welfare, or safety of​
inmates or staff, the facility's use is restricted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 241.021,​
subdivision 1, or legal proceedings to condemn the facility will be initiated pursuant to Minnesota​
Statutes, section 641.26 or 642.10.​

Subp. 3. Comparable care. A facility that houses males and females shall provide comparable​
care for each group.​

Subp. 4. Correction of deficiencies. Sanctions for violation of mandatory rules are as follows.​

A. For a level one sanction, the facility inspector shall issue a written compliance order to​
the facility administrator and governing body for correction of deficiencies within a specified time​
up to 180 days.​

B. For a level two sanction, the facility inspector shall issue a written compliance order to​
the facility administrator and governing body that requires submission of a written plan of action​
inclusive of time lines for correction of any deficiency allowed more than 180 days for correction.​
The DOC shall grant or deny approval of the action plan in writing within 30 days of receiving the​
action plan.​

C. For a level three sanction, when compliance is not achieved within time lines ordered​
or action plans are not implemented as approved by the DOC, the facility inspector shall submit to​
the facility administrator and governing body a limited use agreement for review, signature, and​
return within a specified time.​

D. For a level four sanction, when compliance with the rules under subpart 5a, item B,​
cannot be achieved because of serious life-safety and physical plant deficiencies, the commissioner​
shall specify a duration of time, known as the sunset authorization period, after which the facility​
will no longer have the authority to operate.​

E. For a level five sanction, when level one to level four sanctions have not resulted in​
correction of deficiencies, the commissioner shall exercise restricted use or condemnation authority​
under subpart 2.​

Subp. 5. [Repealed, 38 SR 523]​
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Subp. 5a. Rule compliance.​

A. A facility must meet the requirements of this subpart in order to be in compliance with​
this chapter.​

B. A facility must comply with 100 percent of the following rules unless specifically​
excluded under that rule:​

(1) 2911.0100, item B;​

(2) 2911.0300;​

(3) 2911.0400, subparts 2 and 4;​

(4) 2911.0800;​

(5) 2911.0900, subparts 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 18, 25, and 26;​

(6) 2911.1000;​

(7) 2911.1900;​

(8) 2911.2100;​

(9) 2911.2300;​

(10) 2911.2500;​

(11) 2911.2600, subpart 1;​

(12) 2911.2700, subparts 3 and 4;​

(13) 2911.2850, subparts 1 and 2;​

(14) 2911.2900;​

(15) 2911.3100, subpart 2;​

(16) 2911.3200;​

(17) 2911.3300, subparts 3, item C, and 5;​

(18) 2911.3650, subpart 4;​

(19) 2911.3700, subparts 1, 2, 3, and 5;​

(20) 2911.3800;​

(21) 2911.3900, subpart 1;​

(22) 2911.4000;​

(23) 2911.4100, subpart 1;​

(24) 2911.4400;​
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(25) 2911.4500;​

(26) 2911.4600;​

(27) 2911.2525, subparts 1 and 2;​

(28) 2911.2550;​

(29) 2911.5300;​

(30) 2911.5550;​

(31) 2911.5450;​

(32) 2911.5000, subparts 4 and 5;​

(33) 2911.5800, subparts 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, and 11;​

(34) 2911.5900;​

(35) 2911.6000, subpart 2, and 2911.6200, subpart 1a;​

(36) 2911.1350;​

(37) 2911.6200, subparts 1b, 2, and 6;​

(38) 2911.2750;​

(39) 2911.6400;​

(40) 2911.6500;​

(41) 2911.6600;​

(42) 2911.6700;​

(43) 2911.6800;​

(44) 2911.6900;​

(45) 2911.7000;​

(46) 2911.7100, subparts 1 and 3;​

(47) 2911.7200;​

(48) 2911.7300, subpart 1;​

(49) 2911.7500; and​

(50) 2911.7600.​

C. A facility must comply with at least 90 percent of parts 2911.0330 to 2911.7600 that​
are not listed in item B.​
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Subp. 6. Appeals. The facility administrator or governing body may appeal the time line for​
correction of a standard deficiency by submitting an appeal in writing within 30 days of receiving​
the compliance order to the commissioner of corrections, Minnesota Department of Corrections.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 241.021​
History: 23 SR 1834; 38 SR 523​
Published Electronically: December 15, 2017​
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