2765.0700 ENDING SELF-INSURANCE, RUNOFF PERIOD, AND PLAN DISSOLUTION.

- Subpart 1. **Ending self-insurance authority.** A plan may decide to end its self-insurance authority and cease to provide coverage, effective at the end of a fund year. The plan must notify the commissioner within 14 days of such a decision. A plan may not elect to end its self-insurance authority less than 45 days prior to the end of the fund year in question. Voluntary ending of self-insurance authority does not constitute plan dissolution under subpart 4.
- Subp. 2. **Revocation of self-insurance authority.** The commissioner shall, by order, revoke the authority of a plan to self-insure upon ten days written notice if any of the following events occur or conditions develop, and if the commissioner judges them to be material:
- A. failure of the plan to comply with this chapter; with all applicable requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapters 62A, 62D, 62E, and related rules, as described in part 2765.1000, subpart 1; or with other applicable Minnesota statutes or rules;
 - B. failure of the plan to comply with any lawful order of the commissioner;
- C. commission by the plan of an unfair or deceptive practice as defined in Minnesota Statutes, sections 72A.17 to 72A.32, or in related rules; or
- D. a deterioration of the plan's financial integrity to the extent that its present or future ability to meet obligations promptly and in full is or will be significantly impaired.
- Subp. 3. **Runoff period.** A plan shall continue to exist as a runoff plan after its authority to self-insure has ended, for the purpose of paying claims, preparing reports, and administering transactions associated with the period when the plan provided coverage. A runoff plan must continue to comply with all appropriate provisions of this chapter, and with all other applicable Minnesota statutes and rules. Authority to exist as a runoff plan is open-ended, and does not require renewal of authority under part 2765.0600, subpart 2.
- Subp. 4. **Dissolution.** A plan, including a runoff plan, that desires to cease existence shall apply to the commissioner for authorization to dissolve. Applications must be approved or disapproved within 60 days of receipt. Dissolution without authorization is prohibited and void, and does not absolve a plan or runoff plan from fulfilling its continuing obligations, and does not absolve its members from assessment under part 2765.1400, subpart 6. The plan's assets at the time of dissolution must be distributed to the members and covered employees as provided in the bylaws. Authorization to dissolve must be granted if either of the following conditions are met:
- A. the plan demonstrates that it has no outstanding liabilities, including incurred but not reported liabilities; or

B. the plan has obtained an irrevocable commitment from a licensed insurer that provides for payment of all outstanding liabilities, and for providing all related services, including payment of claims, preparation of reports, and administration of transactions associated with the period when the plan provided coverage.

Statutory Authority: MS s 62H.06

History: 9 SR 989

Published Electronically: October 19, 2004