2150.2520 INITIAL REQUIREMENT.

- Subpart 1. **Coursework.** Except as provided in subparts 2 and 3, licensees must complete 12 graduate semester credits in counseling or the quarter credit equivalent within the first four years of licensure. Coursework completed for purposes of this requirement must comply with items A to D.
- A. Courses must be completed at a counseling program recognized by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Programs (CACREP) or from an institution of higher education that is accredited by a regional accrediting organization recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).
- B. Courses must be taken and passed for graduate credit. Audited courses or courses not otherwise taken for credit may not be used to satisfy this requirement.
- C. Courses must fall within one of the course content areas specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.53, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or be related to the practice of professional counseling under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.50, subdivisions 4 and 5, or the practice of professional clinical counseling under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.5301, subdivision 5. Courses taken for graduate credit must be accepted by the board as satisfying the coursework requirement if the courses relate to subjects in Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.53 or 148B.5301; professional counseling and scope of practice under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.50, subdivisions 4 and 5; professional clinical counseling and scope of practice under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.5301, subdivision 2, paragraph (e), subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (8), and subdivision 5; or clinical supervision.
- D. In addition to submitting the Affidavit of Continuing Education Compliance, all licensees must have transcripts documenting completion of the coursework sent directly to the board from the educational institutions where the coursework was completed.
- Subp. 2. **Prelicensure credit exception.** Notwithstanding subpart 1, and subject to subpart 4, a licensee may use prelicensure coursework to satisfy this requirement, so long as the coursework otherwise satisfies the requirements of subpart 1, items A to D.
- Subp. 3. **Degree program credit exception.** If a licensee can document to the satisfaction of the board that the degree program upon which the licensee's license is based was in excess of 48 semester credits, or quarter credit equivalent, that licensee need only complete the number of graduate credits sufficient to reach a combined total of 60 graduate semester credits between the degree program and this requirement. The licensee must comply with the requirements of subpart 4.

Subp. 4. Continuing education requirements.

A. In addition to completing the requisite graduate coursework under subparts 1 to 3, each licensee must also complete in the first four years of licensure a minimum of 40 hours of continuing education activities approved by the board as described in part 2150.2540.

B. Graduate credit hours completed in the first four years of licensure may be applied to both the graduate credit requirement and the requirement for 40 hours of continuing education activities. A licensee receives 15 continuing education hours per semester credit hour and ten continuing education hours per quarter credit hour.

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.389; 148B.52; 214.12

History: 29 SR 1605; 31 SR 325; 47 SR 960 **Published Electronically:** July 12, 2023