2105.0183 TRANSFER OF LICENSES FROM OTHER STATES OR COUNTRIES.

Subpart 1. **Applicants with required training who are licensed in another state.** Applicants for a cosmetologist, esthetician, nail technician, or eyelash technician operator license who have completed or exceeded the required number of hours of training: 1,550 hours for a cosmetologist; 600 hours for an esthetician; 350 hours for a nail technician; and 38 hours for an eyelash technician and are licensed in another state must be at least 17 years of age and must provide the following:

A. a completed application form;

- B. certification of licensure no more than 90 days old sent to the board directly from each state where the applicant has been licensed. A license certification must verify the current status and history of licensure, discipline history, hours of training, and whether or not the licensee has passed a general theory and practical test. If a state does not issue certification of licensure, the applicant must submit a copy of the most recent license and a completed supplemental verification form;
- C. if the out-of-state license is not active, an original board-approved skills course certificate no more than one year old;
- D. original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved general theory test. If a certification of licensure from a state in which the applicant has been licensed attests that the applicant has passed such a test, this requirement is met and the general theory does not have to be retaken;
- E. original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved written practical test. If a certification of licensure from a state in which the applicant has been licensed attests that the applicant has passed such a test, this requirement is met and the written practical test does not have to be retaken;
- F. original passing test results of the Minnesota state laws and rules test no more than one year old; and
 - G. payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 2. Applicants with less than the required training who are licensed in another state. Applicants for a cosmetologist, esthetician, nail technician, or eyelash technician operator license who have not completed the required number of hours of training: 1,550 hours for a cosmetologist; 600 hours for an esthetician; 350 hours for a nail technician; and 38 hours for an eyelash technician, and who are licensed in another state must be at least 17 years old and must provide the following:
 - A. a completed application form;
- B. evidence of an active license for at least three years in another state, or an original course completion certificate from a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school no more than one year old with notarized signatures of the school manager or owner documenting the completion as a transfer student under part 2110.0705 of additional training hours and the practical skills test;

- C. certification of licensure no more than 90 days old sent directly to the board from each state where the applicant has been licensed. The license certification must verify the current status and history of licensure, discipline history, hours of training, and whether or not the licensee has passed a general theory and practical test. If a state does not issue license certifications, the applicant must submit a copy of the most recent license and a completed supplemental verification form;
- D. if the out-of-state license is not active, the applicant must provide an original board-approved skills course certificate no more than one year old;
- E. original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved general theory test. If a certification of licensure from a state in which the applicant has been licensed attests that the applicant has passed such a test, this requirement is met and the general theory test does not have to be retaken;
- F. original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved written practical test. If a certification of licensure from a state in which the applicant has been licensed attests that the applicant has passed such a test, this requirement is met and the written practical test does not have to be retaken:
- G. original passing test results no more than one year old of the Minnesota state laws and rules test; and
 - H. payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 3. Applicants with training and experience in another country who have not been licensed in another state. Applicants for a cosmetologist, esthetician, nail technician, or eyelash technician operator license whose training was outside the United States and have not been licensed by another state must be at least 17 years old and must:
- A. apply to a board-licensed school as a transfer student for an evaluation of training, school records, and work experience under part 2110.0705, rectify any deficiencies noted in the evaluation results, and provide the original course completion certificate; and
 - B. complete an application and submit the following items:
- (1) original passing test results of a board-approved general theory test no more than one year old;
- (2) original passing test results of a board-approved written practical test no more than one year old;
- (3) original passing test results of the Minnesota state laws and rules test no more than one year old; and
 - (4) payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 4. **Applicants with an instructor license from another state.** Applicants who hold an active instructor license issued from another state may apply for an instructor license. Applicants must provide the following:

- A. a completed application form;
- B. an active Minnesota operator or salon manager license;
- C. documentation of at least 2,700 hours of licensed practice as an operator, salon manager, or instructor within the three years prior to the application;
- D. certification of licensure no more than 90 days old sent to the board directly from each state where the applicant has held an instructor license. An instructor license certification must verify the current status and history of license, discipline history, hours of training, and whether or not the instructor has passed an instructor general theory test and an instructor practical test. If a state does not issue certification of licensure, the applicant must submit a copy of the most recent license and a completed supplemental verification form;
- E. an original course completion certificate of a board-approved instructor course not more than one year old. If a certification of licensure from a state where the applicant holds an active instructor license attests that the applicant successfully completed comparable instructor training, this requirement is met and the instructor course does not have to be retaken;
- F. original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved instructor general theory test. If a certification of licensure from a state where the applicant holds an active instructor license attests that the applicant passed a comparable instructor theory test, this requirement is met and the instructor theory test does not have to be retaken;
- G. original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved instructor practical test. If a certification of licensure from a state where the applicant holds an active instructor license attests that the applicant has passed such a test, this requirement is met and the instructor practical test does not have to be retaken;
- H. original passing test results of the Minnesota instructor laws and rules test no more than one year old; and
 - I. payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 4a. Applicants with an advanced practice or master esthetician training or license from another state or country. An applicant for an advanced practice esthetician operator license whose training or licensure is from another state or country must be at least 17 years old and must:
- A. apply to a board-licensed school as a transfer student for an evaluation of applicable esthetician and advanced practice (AP) esthetician training, school records, and work experience under part 2110.0705; rectify any deficiencies noted in the evaluation results; and provide the original esthetician course completion certificate and the original AP esthetician course completion certificate; and
 - B. complete an application and submit the following items:
- (1) if applicant has held a cosmetologist, esthetician, or AP esthetician license in another state, a certification of licensure no more than 90 days old sent to the board directly from each state where the applicant has been licensed. A license certification must verify the current status and

history of licensure, discipline history, hours of training, and whether or not the licensee has passed the general theory and practical tests. If a state does not issue certification of licensure, the applicant must submit a copy of the most recent license and a completed supplemental verification form;

- (2) original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved esthetician or cosmetology general theory test. If a certification of licensure from a state in which the applicant has been licensed attests that the applicant has passed such a test, this requirement is met and the general theory test does not have to be retaken;
- (3) original passing test results no more than one year old of a board-approved esthetician or cosmetology written practical test. If a certification of licensure from a state in which the applicant has been licensed attests that the applicant has passed such a test, this requirement is met and the written practical test does not have to be retaken;
- (4) original passing test results of a board-approved theory AP esthetician test no more than one year old;
- (5) original passing test results of a board-approved written practical AP esthetician test no more than one year old;
- (6) original passing test results of the Minnesota state laws and rules test no more than one year old; and
 - (7) payment of the fees required by Minnesota Statutes, section 155A.25.
- Subp. 5. **Foreign documents.** All foreign documents from another country, including records in English, must be evaluated by a board-approved credentialing agency at the applicant's expense.

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.389; 155A.23; 155A.26; 155A.27; 155A.29; 155A.30; L 2015 c 77 art 2 s 81; L 2017 1Sp4 art 2 s 64

History: 41 SR 305; L 2017 1Sp5 art 10 s 7; 42 SR 589; 43 SR 347; 44 SR 941

Published Electronically: March 6, 2020