2100.5100 REGISTRATION APPLICATION.

- Subpart 1. **Verified statement.** A person desiring to operate a barber school in Minnesota shall present to the board a verified statement showing at least the following:
 - A. all information required by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154 elsewhere in these rules;
- B. the name of the applicant or applicants together with their occupations and residences for the ten years immediately prior to making applications;
 - C. the address of the proposed school;
 - D. a complete financial statement; and
 - E. a plan of operation of the school setting forth the following information:
- (1) drawings showing the number of chairs to be installed and showing a minimum of five feet between barber chairs, measuring from center to center, the waiting area must be separate from work stations;
- (2) drawings showing classroom space with a minimum area of 25 square feet available for each proposed student in classroom space;
- (3) a statement showing that the following will be available: one desk for each student enrolled; one chart on skin and hair; one chart on blood supply to face and neck; one chart on the muscles of the face, head, and neck; one chart on the nerves of the face, head, and neck; one chart on the bones of the face, head, and neck; and one blackboard of a size not less than six feet by 3-1/2 feet;
- (4) plans showing the following: separate toilet and washroom facilities for men and women; plumbing and sewer system appropriate to the size and use of the building as a barber school; a statement regarding the availability and intended use of municipal sewer and water supplies;
 - (5) plans for appropriate lighting and ventilating systems;
- (6) plans showing use of a type of floor material such as tile or linoleum which may be easily kept clean and sanitary;
- (7) plans for proper sanitization facilities including the following: one sink for each barber chair or dispensary as required in part 2100.8100, subpart 3; one closed cabinet for clean towels for each barber chair; one closed container for soiled towels for each barber chair; one time clock; and one hair dryer; and
 - (8) plans for adequate waiting chairs and clothes racks.
- Subp. 2. Course outline. All barber schools shall submit to the board a full course outline including each instructional unit, showing a course of instruction comprising an aggregate of not less than 1,500 hours, of not more than eight work instruction hours in any one working day. A copy of each school's curriculum will be filed with the board. In the case of applicants for a

registration to operate a barber school submitted to the board after the adoption of these rules, the application will contain the foregoing statements. Barber schools in existence at the time of adoption of these rules shall have two months from the date of adoption for submission of the outline prescribed by this part. All schools shall submit a complete student course syllabus to the board at the time of application for registration and any renewal of it.

Subp. 3. **Brochure.** Applicants for a registration to operate a barber school shall submit a copy of a brochure which will be made available to students upon approval of the application. This brochure shall list the fees which will be charged; together with enrollment and termination procedures for students. Any change in the tuition fee listed in this brochure must be immediately reported, in writing, to the board.

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24

History: 13 SR 1916; L 2013 c 85 art 5 s 49 **Published Electronically:** December 6, 2017