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7002.0010 SCOPE.

Parts 7002.0010 to 7002.0100 apply to all persons required to obtain a
permit from the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency as described in part 7001.0020
(permanent rules, scope), items I and J.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: /10 SR 1537

7002.0020 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of this chapter the terms defined in this
part have the meanings given them.

Subp. 2. Agency. “Agency” means the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.

Subp. 3. Air pollution control equipment. “Air pollution control equipment”
means a device used to prevent, abate, or control air pollution.

Subp. 4. Commissioner. “Commissioner” means the commissioner of the
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.

Subp. 5. Indirect source. “Indirect source” means a facility, building, struc-
ture, or installation which attracts or may attract mobile source activity that
results in emissions of a pollutant for which there is a state standard.

Subp. 6. Major emission facility. “Major emission facility” means a station-
ary source having potential emissions of 100 tons per year or more of sulfur
dioxide or particulate matter.

Subp. 7. Nonattainment area. “Nonattainment area” means a geographical
region that has been designated by the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency as
violating a state or national ambient air quality standard.

Subp. 8. [Repealed, 13 SR 2154]
Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 1537; L 1987 ¢ 186 s 15; 13 SR 2154

7002.0030 FEE DETERMINATION.

The agency shall calculate processing and annual fees based upon the sched-
ule in part 7002.0100 and shall notify the permittee of the amount due prior to
each payment date.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 1537
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7002.0040 PAYMENT OF FEES.

A person submitting a fee shall make the fee payable to the “Minnesota
Pollution Control Agency” and submit it to the Director, Division of Air Quality,
as appropriate for the type of permitted activity.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 1537

7002.0050 APPLICATION FEE.

A person who applies for a permit to construct, install, modify, or operate
a facility shall submit with the application the appropriate application fee.
Failure to submit the fee renders the application incomplete and the agency shall
suspend processing of the application until the fee is received. Application fees
are nonrefundable.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 1537

7002.0060 PROCESSING FEE.
A permittee shall pay the applicable processing fee within 30 days of issuance
of the permit by the agency.

If a facility is a “small business” as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section
14.115, subdivision 1, the permittee may request to pay the processing fee in
annual installments. Annual installments are determined by dividing the process-
ing fee into equal annual payments based on the term of the permit. The first
payment shall be made within 30 days of issuance of the permit and annually
thereafter on the anniversary of issuance. A facility that qualifies as a “small
business” must provide proof of that status upon application for a permit.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 1537

7002.0070 ANNUAL FEE.

All persons required to obtain a permit shall pay an annual fee for enforce-
ment of applicable statutes and rules except as provided in part 7002.0100. The
annual fee shall be paid within 30 days of receipt of an invoice from the agency.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 1537

7002.0080 NOTIFICATION OF ERROR.

A person who thinks that a basic processing fee, additional processing fee,
or annual fee for a specific facility is in error shall provide written notice of the
error to the director of the Division of Air Quality along with the assessed fee.
If the director of the Division of Air Quality finds, upon reviewing the data, that
the assessed fee was in error, the overpayment shall be refunded to the permittee
or credited to the permittee’s account.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 1537

7002.0090 LATE PAYMENT FEE.

The permittee shall pay a late payment fee of 20 percent of the payment due
for failure to make payment within 30 days of a payment date. The permittee
shall pay an additional ten percent of the original payment due for each 30-day
period or portion thereof that the payment is late.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 1537
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7002.0100 AIR QUALITY PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE.

Subpart 1. Scope. The fees established in this part are applicable to facilities
and indirect sources which require an air emission permit under part 7001.1210
(permit rules, air emission permits) or an indirect source permit under part
7001.1270 (permit rules, indirect source permits). For the purpose of this part,
the terms used have the meanings given them in part 7005.0100 (air pollution
control rules, definitions).

Subp. 2. Application fee. A person making application for an air emission
permlt or an indirect source permit shall submit with the application an apphca-
tion fee of $80.

Subp. 3. Basic processing fees. The permittee shall pay the following basic
processing fees for the applicable permit activity:

A. $1,440 for the construction of an indirect source;

B. $1,440 for the construction or reconstruction of a major emission
facility;

C. $480 for the construction or reconstruction of an emission facility
other than a major emission facility;

D. $480 for the modification of a major emission facility or installation
of air pollution control equipment at a major emission facility;

E. $160 for the modification of an emission facility other than a major
emission facility or installation of air pollution control equipment at an emission
facility other than a major emission facility;

F. $720 for the reissuance of a major emission facility permit; and

G. $240 for the reissuance of an emission facility permit other than a
major emission facility.

For purposes of this subpart, activities as described in items D and E that
occur during the last year of the term of a permit will be addressed along with
the reissuance of the permit for a new term. The agency shall waive the fee for
items D and E and only assess a reissuance fee and applicable additional process-
ing fees.

"Subp. 4. Additional processing fees. In addition to the basic processing fees
required in subpart 3, the permittee shall pay the following additional processing
fees, if applicable:

A. $800 for a major stationary source, as defined in Code of Federal
Regulations, title 40, section 51.18(j)(1)(iv), as amended through June 25, 1982,
located in a nonattainment area;

B. $240 for an emission facility that is subject to the federal prevention
of significant deterioration requirements as established in Code of Federal Regu-
lations, title 40, section 51.24;

C. $80 for an emission facility that is subject to the federal new source
performance standards established in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part

D. $240 for an emission facility that must apply best available control
technology as required under Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, section 51.24;

E. $400 for evaluation of air emissions containing pollutants for which
no ambient air quality standard has been established under part 7005.0080 (state
ambient air quality standards) and which have the potential to be injurious to
human health;

F. $240 for dispersion modeling review; and

G. $240 for each performance test review.

Subp. 5. Annual fees. All persons required to obtain an air emission permit
shall pay the following applicable annual fee:

A. $1,040 for a major emission facility; or
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B. $240 for a stationary source other than a major emission facility.
The agency shall not charge an annual fee for a stationary source with
potential emissions of a single pollutant of more than 25 tons per year but less
than 50 tons per year unless the stationary source also-discharges lead to the
ambient air.
Subp. 6. General permits. The agency shall not charge processing or annual
fees for permits issued as a general permit under part 7001.0210 (permit rules).

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4,4d
History: 10 SR 1537; 12 SR 1969; 13 SR 2154

7002.0110 EFFECTIVE DATE.
Parts 7002.0010 to 7002.0100 are effective January 1, 1986.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 1537
WATER QUALITY PERMIT FEES

7002.0210 SCOPE.

"~ Parts 7002.0210 to 7002.0310 apply to all persons required to obtain a
permit from the anesota Pollution Control Agency as described in part 7001.0020,
items C, E, F, and H.

Statutory Authority: MS s 11 6.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 2010

7002.0220 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. For the purpose of parts 7002. 0210 to 7002.0310, the
terms defined in this part have the meanings given them.

Subp. 2. Agency. “Agency” means the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Subp. 3. Commissioner. “Commissioner” means the chief executive officer
of the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.

Subp. 4. Major NPDES facility; definition. “Major NPDES facility” means
a wastewater treatment discharger designated by the commissioner and the
regional administrator of the United States Environmental Protection Agency as
part of the annual work plan that is developed in accordance with and that is
subject to the public participation requirements of Code of Federal Regulations,
title 40, part 35, and subject to review and approval of the agency. The agency
and the United States Environmental Protection Agency shall designate the
following types of facilities as major NPDES facilities unless the agency and the
United States Environmental Protection Agency find that the facility does not
have a potential for significantly impacting water quality:

A. a publicly owned treatment facility with an average design flow of
1,000,000 gallons per day or more;

B. an electrical generating facility that is not primarily standby or a
peaking facility with a generation capacity of 100 megawatts or greater;

C. a facility that is a primary industry as defined in Code of Federal
Regulations, title 40, section 122.2, or other industry that discharges quantities
of process wastewater, which are s1gmf1cant due to the volume, pollutant loadmg,
or other discharge parameters or the character of the receiving water; or

D. a facility with an actual or potential discharge of toxic pollutants
under section 307(a)(1) of the Clean Water Act, United States Code, title 33,
section 1317.

Subp. 5. Municipal permit; definition. “Municipal permit” means a permit
issued to a municipality as defined in part 7001.1020, subpart 18, for the
discharge or disposal of wastewater which is five percent or more sewage. Permits
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issued to municipalities for facilities treating or disposing of waste that is less
than five percent sewage shall be considered nonmunicipal permits.

Subp. 6. National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES). “Na-
tional Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES)” has the meaning given
it in-part 7001.1020, subpart 19.

Subp. 7. Sewage “Sewage has the meaning given it in part 7080.0020,
subpart 33. _

Subp. 8. Sewage sludge landspreading facility. “Sewage sludge landspreading
facility” means a landspreading facility as defined in part 7040.0100, subpart 20
for the landspreading of sewage sludge.

Subp. 9. State disposal system permit. “State disposal system permit” means
a permit for a disposal system that may be constructed and operated without a
NPDES permit.. o

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07. subd 4d
History: 10 SR 2010; L 1987 ¢ 186 s 1512 SR 1336

7002.0230 FEE DETERMINATION.

The agency shall calculate processing and annual fees based upon the sched-
ule in part 7002.0310 and shall notify the permittee of the amount due prior to
each payment date. _

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 2010

7002. 0240 PAYMENT OF FEES.

. A-person submitting a fee shall make the fee payable to the “anesota-
Pollution Control Agency” and submit it to the director of the Division of Water
Quality.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116. 07 subd 4d

Hlstory 10 SR 2010

7002.0250 APPLICATION FEE

A person who applies for a permit to construct install, modify, or operate
a facility or applies for a permit modification as described in part 7001.0190 shall
submit with the application the appropriate application fee. Failure to submit the
fee renders the application mcomplete and the agency shall suspend processing
of the application until the fee is received. Application fees are nonrefundable.

~ Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 2010; 12 SR 1336

7002.0260 PROCESSING FEE.

A permittee shall pay the applicable processing fee within 30 days of issuance
of the permit by the agency.

A permittee who applies for the modification of a permit in accordance with
part 7001.0190, subpart 1, shall pay a processing fee of one-half of the fee listed
in part 7002. 0310. No processmg fee shall be charged for a permlt modified in
accordance with part 7001.0190, subpart 2 or 3.

If a facility is a “small busmess as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section
14.115, subdivision 1, or a municipal wastewater treatment plant with an average
design flow of less than 30,000 gallons per day, the permittee may request to pay
the processing fee in annual installments. Annual installments are determined by
dividing the processing fee into equal annual payments based on the term of the
permit. The first payment shall be made within 30 days of issuance of the permit
and annually thereafter on the anniversary of issuance. A facility that qualifies
as a “small business” must provrde proof of that status upon apphcatron for a
permit.
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Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 2010; 12 SR 1336

7002.0270 ANNUAL FEE.

All persons required to obtain a permit listed in part 7002.0310, subparts 1'T
and 2, shall pay an annual fee for enforcement of applicable statutes and rules.
The annual fee shall be paid within 30 days of receipt of an invoice from the
agency.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 2010

7002.0280 NOTIFICATION OF ERROR.

A person who thinks that a basic processing fee or annual fee for a specific
facility is in error shall provide written notice of the error to the director of the
Division of Water Quality, along with the assessed fee. If the director of the
Division of Water Quality finds, upon reviewing the data, that the assessed fee
was in error, the overpayment shall be refunded to the permlttee or credited to
the permittee’s account.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 2010

7002.0290 LATE PAYMENT FEE

The permittee shall pay a late payment fee of 20 percent of the payment due
for failure to make payment within 30 days of a payment date. The permittee
shall pay an additional ten percent of the original payment due for each 30- day
period or portion thereof that the payment is late.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 2010
7002.0300 WATER QUALITY PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE.
Permit fees for water quality permits are established in part 7002.0310.
Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 2010
7002.0310 TABLE, WATER QUALITY PERMIT FEES.

Subpart 1. Major NPDES permit fees. The following fees shall be. paid for
major NPDES facilities:

A. Municipal permits:

Design Flow

in Million :

Gallons per Application Processing Annual

Day (MGD) Fee Fee Fee

50 and over $50 $52,200 $69,600

20 to0 49.99 50 22,600 13,900

5t019.99 50 10,400 4,400

Up t0 4.99 50 4,900 1,700
B. Nonmunicipal permits:

Design Flow

in Million

Gallons per Application Processing Annual

Day (MGD) Fee Fee Fee

20 t0 49.99 $50 $22,600 $15,700
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5t019.99 50 12,500 5,200
Up to 4.99 50 6,400 2,600
Cooling or .
Mine Pit
Dewatering ,
(any flow) 50 12,500 5,200

Subp. 2. Nonmajor NPDES and state disposal permit fees. The following fees
shall be paid by a permittee not designated as a major NPDES facility and by a
permittee that has applied for or received a state disposal system permlt

A. Municipal permits:

De31gn Flow

- in Million
Gallonsper = Application Processing =~ Annual
Day (MGD) Fee Fee y Fee
Greater than . .
.100 . -$50 $2,180 $240
0t0.100 50 1,040 90"
Sewage sludge '
landspreading
facilities 50 1,040 90

B. Nonmunicipal permits:

Design Flow
in Million _
Gallons per’ Application Processing Annual
Day (MGD) Fee Fee . Fee
Sewage 0 to . '
.100 $50 $1,040 $90
Other nonmunicipal _
(any flow) 50 2,180 300

Subp. 3. Other water quality permit fees. The following application fees shall
be paid by a permittee that has applied for or received a general, sewer extension,
or liquid storage permit.

‘A. General, $50;
B. Sewer extension, $140; and
C. Liquid storage, $440.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 2010; 12 SR 1336
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