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CHAPTER 1562
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
BUYING AND STORING OF GRAIN

1562.0100 DEFINITIONS. 1562.1200 GRAIN PURCHASE RECEIPT.
1562.0200 LICENSING. 1562.1300 SCALE TICKET.
1562.0300 LICENSE EXCEPTIONS. 1562.1400 DETERMINATION OF GRADE.
1562.0400 TYPES OF LICENSES. 1562.1500 WAREHOUSE RECEIPT.
1562.0500 GRAIN STORAGE LICENSE 1562.1600 CHARGES; RATES.
REQUIREMENTS. 1562.1700 CLAIMS AGAINST A BOND.
1562.0600 LICENSING OF LEASED 1562.1800 BOND COVERAGE.
FACILITIES. 1562.1900 LOST, STOLEN, OR DESTROYED
1562.0700 BOND. WAREHOUSE RECEIPTS.
1562.0800 FEES. 1562.2000 SHORTAGES OF GRAIN.
1562.0900 STATEMENT OF GRAIN IN 1562.2100 MOVEMENT OF ENCUMBERED
STORAGE. GRAIN.
1562.1000 VOLUNTARY EXTENSION OF 1562.2200 TERMINATION OF LICENSE;
CREDIT CONTRACT. CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP.

1562.1100 WAREHOUSE EXAMINATIONS.

1562.0100 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this
part have the meanings given them.

Subp. 2. Bond. “Bond” means an obligation acceptable to and running to the
state, as obligee, for the purpose of:

A. indemnifying producers of grain against the breach of a cash sale
contract by a grain buyer licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 223;

B. indemnifying depositors of grain against the breach of a grain storage
contract by a public grain warehouse operator licensed under Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 232; or

C. indemnifying depositors of grain against the breach of a grain bank
storage contract by a public or private grain warehouse operator licensed under
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 236.

Subp. 3. Cash sale. “Cash sale” means:

A. a sale for which payment is tendered to the seller not later than the
close of business on the next business day after the sale, either by cash or by
check, or by mailing or wiring funds to the seller’s account in the amount of at
least 80 percent of the value of the grain at delivery; or

B. asale of a shipment of grain which is part of a multiple shipment sale,
for which a scale ticket clearly marked “cash” has been received by the seller
before completion of the entire sale, and for which payment is tendered in cash
or by check not later than ten days after the sale of that shipment, except that
when the entire sale is completed, payment is tendered in cash or by check not
later than the close of business on the next business day, or within 48 hours,
whichever is later.

Subp. 4. Commissioner. “Commissioner” means the commissioner of agri-
culture or the commissioner’s designee.

Subp. 5. Department. “Department™ means the Minnesota Department of
Agriculture.

Subp. 6. Depositor. “Depositor” means a person who is the owner or legal
holder of an outstanding grain warehouse receipt, grain bank receipt, or open
scale ticket marked for storage on which a receipt is to be issued, representing any
grain stored in a public grain warehouse or grain bank.

Subp. 7. Grain. “Grain” means any cereal grain, coarse grain, or oilseed in
unprocessed form for which a standard has been established by the United States
Secretary of Agriculture or the Minnesota Board of Grain Standards, or any other
agricultural crop which the commissioner may designate by rule.
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Subp. 8. Grain bank. “Grain bank™ means a feed processing plant that
receives and stores grain, the equivalent of which, except as is otherwise permit-
ted by Minnesota Statutes, section 236.04, it processes and returns to the grain’s
owner in amounts, at intervals, and with added ingredients that are mutually
agreeable to.the grain’s owner and the person operating the plant.

Subp. 9. Grain bank bond. “Grain bank bond” means an obligation accepta-
ble to and running to the state, as obligee, for the purpose of indemnifying
depositors of grain against the breach of a grain bank storage contract by a person
with a grain bank license. _

Subp. 10. Grain bank receipt. “Grain bank receipt” means a nonnegotiable
receipt issued to the owner of the grain, or the owner’s agent, for grain which is
being stored for the purpose of being processed into feed.

. Subp. 11. Grain buyer. “Grain buyer” means a person who purchases grain
from a producer with the exception of a person who purchases seed grain for crop
production or who purchases grain as feed for the person’s own livestock.

Subp. 12. Grain buyer’s bond. “Grain buyer’s bond” means an obligation
acceptable to and running to the state, as obligee, for the purpose of indemnifying
producers of grain against the breach of a cash sale contract by a licensed grain
buyer.

Subp. 13. Grain purchase receipt. “Grain purchase receipt” means a memo-
randum issued by a grain buyer to a seller at the time grain is delivered from the
seller to the grain buyer, and which shows the weight or quantity and kind of
grain,

Subp. 14. Grain storage bond. “Grain storage bond” means an obligation
acceptable to and running to the state, as obligee, for the purpose of indemnifying
depositors of grain against the breach of a grain storage contract by a person
licensed to store grain.

Subp. 15. Grain warehouse. “Grain warehouse” means an elevator, flour,
cereal or feed mill, malthouse or warehouse in which grain belonging to a person
other than the warehouse operator is received for purchase or storage.

Subp. 16. Grain warehouse receipt. “Grain warehouse receipt” means a
formal record issued to a depositor by a grain warehouse operator under Minne-
sota Statutes, section 232.23.

Subp. 17. Independent grain buyer. “Independent grain buyer” means a
person who buys grain from producers and does not operate a grain warehouse.

Subp. 18. Person. “Person” means a corporation, company, joint stock
company or association, partnership, firm, or individual and includes their
agents, trustees, assignees, or duly appointed receivers.

Subp. 19. Private grain warehouse operator. “Private grain warehouse opera-
tor” means a person operating a grain warehouse for the sole purpose of purchas-
ing, handling, processing, and shipping grain or its by-products who is not
licensed by the commissioner to accept grain belonging to others for storage.
“Private grain warehouse operator” includes any person licensed under the
United States Warehouse Act.

Subp. 20. Producer. “Producer” means a person who grows grain on land that
the person owns or leases.

Subp. 21. Public grain warehouse operator. “Public grain warehouse opera-
tor” means a person operating a grain warchouse in which grain belonging to
persons other than the grain warehouse operator is accepted for storage or
purchase or who offers grain storage or warehouse facilities to the public for hire.

Subp. 22. Public terminal warehouse. “Public terminal warehouse™ has the
meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 233.01.

Subp. 23. Scale ticket. “Scale ticket” means a memorandum issued by a grain
elevator or warehouse operator to a depositor at the time grain is delivered
showing the weight and kind of grain.
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Subp. 24. Vehicle. “Vehicle” means a device in, upon, or by which any
person or property is or may be transported or drawn upon a highway, except
devices used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks.

Subp. 25. Voluntary extension of credit contract. “Voluntary extension of
credit contract” means a contract for the purchase of a specific amount of grain
from a producer in which title to the grain passes to the grain buyer upon delivery
but the price is to be determined or payment for the grain is to be made at a date
later than the date of delivery of the grain to the grain buyer. Voluntary extension
of credit contracts include deferred or delayed payment contracts, unpriced sales,
no price established contracts, average pricing contracts, and all other contractual
arrangements with the exception of cash sales and grain storage agreements
evidenced by a grain warehouse receipt or scale ticket marked “storage.”

Subp. 26. Warehouse. “Warehouse” means all or a portion of a building,
structure, or other protected enclosure in which grain is or may be stored.

Statutory Authority: MS's 164.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4, 232.24 subd I;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.0200 LICENSING.

Before purchasing or storing grain in Minnesota a person must file with the
commissioner an application for a license on forms provided by the commission-
er. No person may buy grain from producers in Minnesota without first obtaining
a grain buyer’s license or store grain for others in Minnesota without first
obtaining a grain storage license.

Applications may be submitted any time during the year. Each license must
be renewed every year on July 1. All licenses expire at midnight each June 30.
Only one person may obtain a license to buy or store grain at any one grain
warehouse.

A separate license is required for each home rule charter or statutory city or
town in which a grain buyer or public grain warehouse operator buys or stores
grain.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A4.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4, 232.24 subd I;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.0300 LICENSE EXCEPTIONS.
The following persons are not required to obtain a license to buy grain in

Minnesota:

A. a person who does not buy grain from producers;

B. a producer selling the producer’s own grain;

C. a person who buys seed grain for crop production; and

D. a person who purchases grain as feed for the person’s own livestock
or poultry.

Statutory Authority: MS s 164.128; 223.19; 232,22 subds 3,4; 232. 24 subd 1;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.0400 TYPES OF LICENSES.

Subpart 1. Grain buyer. A license to buy grain is a license issued to an
independent grain buyer, private grain warechouse operator, or public grain
warehouse operator who buys grain from producers.

Subp. 2. Grain storage. A license to store grain is a license issued to a public
grain warehouse operator who accepts grain for storage or who offers grain
storage facilities to the public for hire.
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Subp. 3. Grain bank. A grain bank license is a license issued to a private or
public grain warehouse operator who processes grain into feed and who has a
license to buy grain.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A4.1 28; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd 1;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.0500 GRAIN STORAGE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. Place of business. A public grain warehouse operator must have
a permanent established place of business at each licensed location where the
books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business are kept and main-
tained, and where the license and tariff are posted in a conspicuous place.

Subp. 2. Warehouse equipment. Each licensed location must include a ware-
house that is equipped for the weighing, drying, grading, storing, handling,
processing, and shipping of grain. _

Subp. 3. Multiple warehouse license. Grain warehouses located within the
same home rule charter or statutory city or town and operated by the same person
may be included under the same license.

Subp. 4. Inspection; approval. A grain warehouse must be inspected and
approved by the commissioner before a license is issued and grain is stored.

Subp. 5. Cleanliness. A grain warehouse must be kept reasonably clean of
dust, rubbish, and materials that might increase the fire hazard or interfere with
the handling of grain.

Subp. 6. Grain quality. Grain must be maintained in good quality condition
at all times and be kept free of rodents, insects, birds, and contaminants harmful
to the quality of the grain.

Subp. 7. Records and accounts. A person licensed to.store grain shall main-
tain a daily position record of each kind of grain stored in the warehouse |
including warehouse owned cash grain, grain priced but not paid, and grain
bought but not priced.

Statutory Authority: MS s 164.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4, 232.24 subd I;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.0600 LICENSING OF LEASED FACILITIES.

A person shall obtain a grain buyer’s license or storage license for each grain
warehouse leased, except that all grain warehouses located within the same home
rule charter or statutory city or town and leased and operated by the same person
may be covered by a single license. A person may not lease storage space that is
licensed and operated by another person licensed to buy or store grain.

A warehouse must be under the control of the licensed warehouse operator
leasing the warehouse.

All grain or commodities stored in a leased warehouse must be covered
under the licensee’s storage bond and must be included under the licensee’s
insurance policy, as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 232.23, subdivision
16.

Statutory Authority: MS s 164.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd 1
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.0700 BOND.

Subpart 1. Requirement. Before a license to buy or store grain is 1ssued the
applicant for the license must file with the commissioner a bond in an amount
prescribed by this part. The bond provides coverage at all licensed locations.
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Subp. 2. Grain buyer’s bond. The grain buyer’s bond amount is based on the
latest total annual dollar amount of grain purchased by the grain buyer in
Minnesota as follows:

Grain Buyer’s Bond Total Annual Grain Purchases
$10,000 $100,000 or less
$20,000 $100,001 to $750,000
$30,000 $750,001 to $1,500,000
$40,000 $1,500,001 to $3,000,000
$50,000 more than $3,000,000

Subp. 3. Grain buyer’s bond; first time applicant. A first time applicant for
a grain buyer’s license shall file a $20,000 grain buyer’s bond with the commis-
sioner. This bond must remain in effect for the first year of the license. A first time
applicant includes a person previously licensed to buy grain who has not renewed
the license for one or more years.

Subp. 4. Grain storage bond. The amount of bond required for grain storage
is based on 50 percent of the local market value of grain stored by a public grain
warehouse operator in Minnesota. The minimum grain storage bond is $20,000.
The maximum grain storage bond is $500,000, excluding any grain bank liability.
The storage bond amount may be increased during the license year. However, the
storage bond may not be reduced during the license year.

Subp. 5. Grain bank bond. The grain bank bond is based on 50 percent of the
local market value of grain stored in grain banks in Minnesota. A person licensed
to store grain may include the additional liability for grain bank grain in the
determination of the amount of the storage bond in lieu of obtaining a separate
grain bank bond. The minimum grain bank bond is $1,500. The maximum grain
bank bond is $150,000. The grain bank bond amount may be increased during
the license year. The grain bank bond may not be reduced during the license year.

Statutory Authority: MS s 164.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd 1;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.0800 FEES.

Subpart 1. License to buy grain. The fee for a license to buy grain is based
on the latest total annual dollar amount of grain purchased in Minnesota as
follows:

A. For annual grain purchases under $1,500,000, the license fee is $100
plus $50 for each additional home rule charter or statutory city or town in which
the grain buyer is to be licensed to buy grain.

B. For annual grain purchases of $1,500,000 to $3,000,000, the license
fee is $200 plus $50 for each additional home rule charter or statutory city or
town in which the grain buyer is to be licensed to buy grain.

C. For annual grain purchases over $3,000,000, the license fee is $300
plus $50 for each additional home rule charter or statutory city or town in which
the grain buyer is to be licensed to buy grain.

Subp. 2. License to store grain. The fees for a license to store grain are as
follows:

A. For a license to store grain, the license fee is $40 for each home rule
charter or statutory city or town in which a public grain warehouse is operated.

B. A person with a license to store grain in a public grain warehouse is
subject to an examination fee for each licensed location, based on the following
schedule for one examination:
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Bushel Capacity Examination Fee
Less than 150,001 bushels $275
150,001 to 250,000 bushels 385
250,001 to 500,000 bushels 495
500,001 to 750,000 bushels 605
750,001 to 1,000,000 bushels 715
1,000,001 to 1,200,000 bushels 825
1,200,001 to 1,500,000 bushels 935
1,500,001 to 2,000,000 bushels 1,045
More than 2,000,000 bushels 1,155

The fee for the second examination is $22 per hour per examiner for
warehouse operators who choose to have it performed by the commissioner.

Subp. 3. Grain bank license. The license fee is $30 for each home rule charter
or statutory city or town in which a private or public grain warehouse is operated
and which will be used to operate a grain bank.

Statutory Authority: MS 5 164.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd 1;
236.08 :

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.0900 STATEMENT OF GRAIN IN STORAGE.

Subpart 1. Monthly grain storage reports. A person with a grain bank license
or a license to store grain must, by the tenth day of each month, file with the
commissioner on forms provided by the commissioner a monthly storage report
showing the net monetary liability, based on the local market price, of all grain
outstanding on grain bank receipts, grain warehouse receipts, and scale tickets
marked “store” as of the close of business on the last day of the preceding month.

Subp. 2. Determination of grain bank and grain storage bond amount. The
monthly grain storage reports referred to in subpart 1, shall be used for the
purpose of determining the dollar amount of the grain bank bond and the grain
storage bond, and for determining whether these bond amounts should be increased
during the license year.

Subp. 3. Penalty. If a person willfully neglects or refuses to file the reports
required in subpart 1 for two consecutive months, the commissioner may imme-
diately suspend the person’s license and the licensee must surrender the license
to the commissioner. Within 15 days the licensee may request an administrative
hearing subject to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14 to determine if the license
should be revoked. If no request is made within 15 days, the commissioner shall
revoke the license.

Subp. 4. Exceptions. A person with the maximum grain bank bond or grain
storage bond is not required to submit a monthly grain storage report. A person
who has the maximum grain bank bond or storage bond and who requests a
reduction in the bond amount must submit 12 consecutive monthly grain storage
reports, to verify the request for a reduced bond amount. Persons having their
bond amount reduced under this procedure must continue to submit monthly
storage reports to the department. A reduction in the bond amount under this
provision shall commence with the next licensing period.

Statutory Authority: MS s 164.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd I,
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.1000 VOLUNTARY EXTENSION OF CREDIT CONTRACT.

Subpart 1. Form. A voluntary extension of credit contract must include a
statement of the legal and financial responsibilities of the grain buyer and seller
and the following statement in not less than ten point, all capital type, framed
in a box with space provided for the seller’s signature:
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“THIS CONTRACT CONSTITUTES A VOLUNTARY EXTENSION
OF CREDIT. THIS CONTRACT ISNOT COVERED BY ANY GRAIN
BUYER’S BOND.”
BUYER SELLER
(Type or print name) (Type or print name)
BY

(Buyer’s signature) (Seller’s signature)

If a written contract is provided at the time the grain is delivered to the grain
buyer, the seller shall sign the contract in the space provided directly beneath the
statement. If the seller does not sign the contract at the time of delivery, then the
buyer shall send the contract to the seller by certified mail, return receipt
requested, to be signed. All contracts must be put in writing.

Subp. 2. Requirements. Voluntary extension of credit contracts must be
consecutively prenumbered.

Subp. 3. Not a storage agreement. A contract sale of grain is not a storage
agreement. The title to grain delivered on a voluntary extension of credit contract
transfers to the grain buyer upon delivery, and no storage charges may be charged
with respect to that grain. A voluntary extension of credit contract sale of grain
is not covered by either the grain storage bond or the grain buyer’s bond.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A4.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd 1;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.1100 WAREHOUSE EXAMINATIONS.

Subpart 1. Required examinations. A person with a license to store grain is
subject to two grain inventory examinations per year, for the purpose of deter-
mining whether there is enough grain at the warehouse to satisfy all grain storage
obligations.

Subp. 2. First warehouse examination. The commissioner shall perform at
least one of the required warehouse examinations during the license year.

Subp. 3. Second warehouse examination. The second examination may be
performed by an independent third party qualified to do a physical grain measure
up, or weigh up, if the independent third party agrees to perform the second
warehouse examination, within 30 days of the date of the licensee’s fiscal year
end. In the absence of such an agreement the commissioner shall perform the
second examination. The results of the grain inventory examination must include
an accounting of all outstanding warehouse receipts, grain bank receipts, and
other evidence of grain storage obligations.

Subp. 4. Warehouses with a Commodity Credit Corporation storage agree-
ment. At the request of Commodity Credit Corporation, the commissioner shall
perform warehouse examinations at warehouses with a uniform grain storage
agreement. The results of these examinations must be forwarded to Commodity
Credit Corporation.

Subp. 5. Required information; form. A grain inventory examination must
include the following information:
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GRAIN INVENTORY EXAMINATION

Name of Elevator

Date
Kind of Grain
I.  Physical Measurement of Grain Inventory
Grain Inventory as of # bushels
plus or minus Receipts “
plus or minus Sales — Shipments “
Adjusted Inventory as of * # Dbushels
II.  Grain Inventory per Booksasof ________ *
Storage Liability # Dbushels
Grain Bank Liability “
Other “
Warehouse Owned “
Total Grain Inventory per Books # Dbushels
III.  Other Grain Detail
Obligations on Grain Delivered to the
Elevator
Deferred Payment Contracts # Dbushels
Delayed Price Contracts “
Other “
Total # Dbushels

IV. Grain Inventory Measured by

This Report Prepared by

*These dates should be the same.

Statutory Authority: MS s 164.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd 1;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.1200 GRAIN PURCHASE RECEIPT.

An independent grain buyer, upon purchasing grain, shall issue a grain
purchase receipt. A duplicate copy of each grain purchase receipt must remain
in the possession of the independent grain buyer as a permanent record. The
original grain purchase receipt must be delivered to the seller upon receipt of each
load of grain.

The grain purchase receipt must state specifically whether the grain was sold
on contract or for cash and the price at which the grain was sold. For contract
purchases, if the price is not determined at the time of delivery, then the grain
purchase receipt must be marked “price later.”.

All grain purchase receipts must be consecutively prenumbered and must
contain the following information:

A. the name and address of the grain buyer;

B. the name of the seller;

C. the location and date of the transaction;

D. the weight or volume and kind of grain; and
E. the signature of the grain buyer.
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For the sale of grain designated “contract” on the grain purchase receipt, the
grain buyer must put the terms of the contract in writing as required by Minneso-
ta Statutes, section 223.177, subdivision 3. The term “contract” signifies any
form of sale except a cash sale. A contract sale of grain is not covered by the grain
buyer’s bond.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A4.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd 1;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.1300 SCALE TICKET. .

A grain warehouse operator, upon receiving grain, shall issue a scale ticket
for each load of grain received. A duplicate copy of each scale ticket must remain
in the possession of the grain warehouse operator as a permanent record. The
original scale ticket must be delivered to the seller or depositor upon receipt of
each load of grain.

The scale ticket must state specifically whether the grain was sold on contract
or for cash and the price at which the grain was sold. If the grain was not sold,
then the scale ticket must state whether the grain was received for storage. The
term “contract” signifies any form of sale except a cash sale.

All scale tickets must be consecutively prenumbered and must contain the
following information:

A. the name and address of the grain warehouse operator;
B. the name of the seller or depositor;

C. the location and date of the transaction;

D. the weight, volume, and kind of grain; and

E. the signature of the grain warehouse operator.

Statutory Authority: MS s 164.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd 1;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.1400 DETERMINATION OF GRADE.

If the grade of grain is established at the time of delivery to a warehouse, it
must be recorded on the original and duplicate copy of the scale ticket. If the
grade is not established at the time of delivery, the grade and factors that relate
to the grade must be recorded on the duplicate copy of the scale ticket retained
by the grain warehouse operator. The depositor or seller must be notified of the
grade within 48 hours after the grade has been determined.

Statutory Authority: MS s 164.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd 1;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.1500 WAREHOUSE RECEIPT.

If grain is received for storage, the grain warehouse operator shall issue a
grain warehouse receipt to the depositor within five working days of the date of
deposit. '

Storage contracts on grain being stored end on the expiration date of the
storage license if not ended earlier by the depositor. In the absence of a demand
for delivery, order to sell, or notice by the grain warechouse operator, it is
presumed that the parties intended to renew the storage contract for the next
licensing year.

Statutory Authority: MS s 164.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4, 232.24 subd 1;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392
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1562.1600 CHARGES; RATES.

Subpart 1. Filing of rates for storing and handling grain. A person licensed
to store grain shall file with the commissioner a tariff or schedule of all charges
relating to the storage of grain including charges for receiving, storing, redelivery,
and handling on forms provided by the commissioner.

Subp. 2. Posting of charges. Every warehouse operator shall post conspicu-
ously in the warehouse, at each licensed location, a statement of all charges
relating to the storage of grain.

Subp. 3. Charges to depositor. No charge different from that filed with the
commissioner and posted may be made to any depositor for the same service.

All depositors must be notified of any changes in the tariff or schedule of
charges prior to their implementation. A conspicuous posting of the revised tariff
in the warehouse, plainly visible to all customers, qualifies as notification to
depositors.

Statutory Authority: MS s 164.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd 1;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.1700 CLAIMS AGAINST A BOND.
Subpart 1. Filing a claim. Claims against a bond may be filed by the persons
indicated in this subpart.
A. A producer claiming to be damaged by the breach of an agreement
to purchase grain according to the terms of a cash sale must file a claim with the
commissioner within 180 days of the date of breach.

B. A depositor claiming to be damaged by the breach of an agreement
to store grain, including an agreement to sell grain which was originally delivered
for storage, must file a claim with the commissioner within 180 days of the date
of breach.

Subp. 2. Form of claim. All claims must be in writing, must state the facts
upon which the claim is based, must include any supporting evidence, and must
be signed by the claimant. The supporting evidence may consist of, but is not
limited to, a purchase agreement, a scale ticket, a grain purchase receipt, a check
indicating insufficient funds, a warehouse receipt, or an assembly sheet.

Subp. 3. Where to file. All claims must be filed at the following address:
Minnesota Department of Agriculture, Grain Inspection Division, Warehouse
Section, 316 Grain Exchange Building, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55415.

Subp. 4. Bond limitations. The bonds are not cumulative from one year to
the next. A claim against the bond may only be made against the bond in effect
at the time the agreement is breached. A bond is not liable for claims filed after
180 days from the date of breach of the bond.

Subp. 5. Public notice of a claim. Upon determining that a producer or
depositor has filed a valid claim, the commissioner shall publish notice of the
claim in the official county newspaper of the county in which the licensee’s place
of business is located.

The notice must state that a claim against the bond of a licensee has been
filed with the commissioner, the name and address of the licensee, that any
additional claims should be filed with the commissioner, the bond disbursement
date, and where the claims should be filed.

The public notice of the claim must appear for three consecutive days in
newspapers with a daily circulation and for two consecutive publications in
newspapers published less than daily.

Subp. 6. Bond disbursement date. The bond disbursement date is 90 days
from the date the commissioner publishes a public notice of a claim. At the end
of this time period, the commissioner will initiate bond payments on all valid
claims received by the department.
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Statutory Authbrity: MS s 16A4.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd 1,
236.08

‘History: 12 SR 2392

1562.1800 BOND COVERAGE.

Subpart 1. Grain buyers bond. The grain buyers bond provides for payment
of loss to producers caused by a licensed grain buyer’s failure to pay, upon the
owner’s demand, for grain purchased in Minnesota according to the terms of a
cash sale. _

Subp. 2. Grain storage bond. The grain storage bond provides for payment
of loss caused by the failure of a person licensed to store grain in Minnesota to
deliver stored grain to the depositor’s order, or for nonpayment of grain when
the depositor orders that the grain be sold in lieu of taking redelivery of the grain
in storage.

Subp. 3. Grain bank bond. The grain bank bond provides for payment of loss
caused by the failure of a person with a grain bank license in Minnesota to deliver
grain bank receipted grain to the depositor’s order, or for nonpayment of grain
when the depositor orders that the grain bank receipted grain be sold in lieu of
taking redelivery of the grain in the grain bank.

Statutory Authority: MS s 164.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4, 232.24 subd 1;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.1900 LOST, STOLEN, OR DESTROYED WAREHOUSE RECEIPTS.

While a warehouse receipt is outstanding, no other warehouse receipt may
be issued for any part of the grain represented by the original warehouse receipt
except that, in case of a lost, stolen, or destroyed warehouse receipt, the depositor
is entitled to a new warehouse receipt, plainly designated to be a duplicate or
substitute for the one missing or destroyed indicating the dates of issuance of the
original and the replacement warehouse receipts. Before issuing a duplicate
warehouse receipt the warehouse operator shall require the depositor to make
and file an affidavit stating that the depositor is lawfully entitled to possession of
the original receipt and that the depositor has not negotiated or assigned it, the
circumstances in which it was lost or destroyed, and that, if lost, a diligent effort
has been made to find it. The warehouse operator may require the depositor to
post a bond in an amount not more than double the value at the time the bond
is given of the grain represented by the missing or destroyed warehouse receipt.
The bond must be conditioned to indemnify the warehouse operator against any
loss which might be sustained because of the issuance of a duplicate receipt, must
be in a form approved by the commissioner, and must be executed by a corporate
surety licensed to operate in Minnesota. A valid duplicate or substitute ware-
house receipt has all the rights of the document in lieu of which it was issued.

Statutory Authority: MS's 164.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd 1;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.2000 SHORTAGES OF GRAIN.

Whenever it appears that a warehouse operator does not have on hand grain
of sufficient quality and quantity to cover the outstanding warehouse receipt
obligations, notice must be given by the commissioner to the warehouse operator
requiring that the shortage be corrected immediately. If the warehouse operator
fails to comply with that order and the commissioner determines that the inter-
ests of depositors may be threatened, then the commissioner shall seal the
warehouse to prevent any further removal of grain until the shortage is corrected.

If it appears that the warehouse operator is in default to warehouse receipt
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holders and unable to correct the default within a reasonable time the commis-
sioner shall make arrangements to protect the warehouse receipt holders by either
redelivering the grain, on a pro rata basis, to each warehouse receipt holder of
record or liquidating the grain inventory, depositing the proceeds in an interest
bearing trust account, and distributing the proceeds, on a pro rata basis, to each
warehouse receipt holder of record. The proceeds must. remain in the trust
account until the bond disbursement date, if applicable. Valid claims by ware-
house receipt holders in excess of the amount in the trust account will be applied
against the storage bond. The warehouse operator, the operator’s surety, and each
warehouse receipt holder of record must be notified of the shortage and the
proposed action to be taken by the commissioner to protect warehouse receipt
holders. Notice must be mailed to each warehouse receipt holder’s last known
address-as evidenced by the records of the warehouse operator.

If any interested party files a written objection to the department’s proposed
action within ten days of receipt of the commissioner’s notice, the commissioner
shall apply to the district court for the appointment of a trustee or receiver to
manage and supervise the operations of the grain warehouse operator in default.

An audit or other investigation of the affairs of the warehouse operator must
be made by the commissioner for the purpose of determining the amount of the
shortage and computing the loss sustained by each depositor.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A4.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd 1;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.2100 MOVEMENT OF ENCUMBERED GRAIN.

Grain encumbered by a warehouse receipt may be moved to another public
grain warehouse with the depositor’s request, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,
section 232.23, subdivision 13. The original warehouse receipt must be canceled
and the receiving public grain warehouse operator must issue a currently dated
warehouse receipt for the grain being moved and stored. All storage charges must
be paid through the date of cancellation of the original warehouse receipt.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A4.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd 1;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392

1562.2200 TERMINATION OF LICENSE; CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP.

When a license is terminated by reason of sale, discontinuance of business,
failure to renew a license, or for any other reason, the grain buyer or warehouse
operator must discontinue buying grain from producers or storing grain, and
redeliver or purchase all grain belonging to others in the warehouse. If a licensee
sells or leases a grain warehouse to another person, proper indemnity must be
provided to all depositors. Agreement in writing by the warehouse operator’s
successor to assume liability for all warehouse receipts outstanding at the time
of take over and reissuance of warehouse receipts by the successor constitutes
sufficient indemnity. The commissioner must be notified of a change in owner-
ship so that a new license and bond may be issued.

Statutory Authority: MS s 164.128; 223.19; 232.22 subds 3,4; 232.24 subd I;
236.08

History: 12 SR 2392
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