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TAX ON SALE OF CIGARETTES

On all packages containing 20 cigarettes of standard or king size or super king size to be
distributed the distributor shall affix the adhesive tax stamps, or, if using a tax meter machine,
the imprint made thereby, to the bottom of the package.

On all other packages of cigarettes the adhesive tax stamps may be affixed to any por-
tion of the outside of the package.

Statutory Authority: MS 5 297.10 subd 1

History: /7 SR 1279
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$120.0300 SHIPPING OF UNSTAMPED CIGARETTES INTO MINNESOTA BY
ILICENSED OUTSTATE DISTRIBUTORS PROHIBITED.

No licensed distributor engaged in the business without this state shall ship or transport
cigarettes to retailers in this state, to be sold by those retailers, without first having affixed to
cach package of such cigarettes the proper Minnesota tax stamp.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd 1

$120.0400 COMMINGLING OF STAMPED AND UNSTAMPED CIGARETTES
PROHIBITED.

No unstamped cigarettes shall be stored or kept behind the same counter or showcase
over which cigarettes are sold to ultimate consumers, or within 25 feet of the cabinet, rack, or
place where cigarettes for sale to ultimate consumers are kept or stored. .

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd 1

8120.0500 CIGARETTE TAX STAMPS; DESIGN.
Adhesive tax stamps shall be of the decalcomania type.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd 1

$120.0600 CIGARETTE TAX STAMPS; DENOMINATION, PURCHASE, AND
PAYMENT FOR.

Tax stamps shall be purchased by the distributor only from the Commissioner of Reve-
_ nue, Centennial Office Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55145. All purchases of stamps at the
rate specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 297.02, subdivision 1, clause 1, shall be made in
multiples of 100 stamps. Stamps of any other denomination may be purchased in any quinti-
ty. Requisition forms for the purchase of adhesive tax stamps shall be furnished upon request
by the commissioner. Each requisition shall be accompanied by a remittance in full (less dis-
count allowed under Minnesota Statutes, section 297.03, subdivision 5) for the stamps requi-
sitioned.

Mail orders for adhesive stamps will be accepted by the commissioner if the requnsn-
tions are prepared correctly and accompanied by proper remittance for the stamps requisi-
tioned. In such case, the remittance must also include first—class postage and registry fee. If
requested, orders for stamps will be forwarded by express collect.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd 1

§120.0700 DISCOUNT ON CIGARETTE STAMP. ‘
The discount on cigarette stamp purchases shall be at the rate specified in Minnesota
Statutes, section 297.03, subdivision 5.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd I
8£120.0800 MR 1991 [Obsolete]

$120.0900 CANCELLATION OF STAMPS.
Cancellation of tax stamps, both adhesive and meter imprints, will not be necessary.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd 1

$120.1000 REPLACEMENT OF UNUSED ADHESIVE TAX STAMPS WHICH
HAVE BECOME MUTILATED OR UNFIT FOR USE. N\

Subpart 1. Ingeneral. Unused adhesive stamps which for any reason become mutilated
or unfit for use will be replaced by the commissioner of revenue upon compliance by the dis-
tributor with the following conditions.

Subp. 2. Application requirements. The dnstnbutor shall make a written application
for replacement of stamps, setting forth in detail the number of stamps, the denomination of
each, and the reason why the stamps have become mutilated or unfit for use.

Subp. 3. Stamps held. The spoiled stamps shall be held by the distributor until an autho-
rized agent or employee of the commissioner shall have inspected them.

Subp. 4. Stamps destroyed. If the agent or employee of the commissioner is satisfied
that the stamps are mutilated or unfit for use, the agent or employee shall authorize their de-
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struction. Such destruction shall take place in the agent’s or employee’s presence and he or
she shall issue a certificate setting forth the number and denomination of the stamps de-
stroyed and the facts of destruction. A copy of the certificate shall be furnished to the distrib-
utor and the original shall be filed with the commissioner.

Subp 5. Replacement. Replacement of the stamps will then be made if the records of
the commissioner show that the spoiled stamps were purchased by the distributor seekmg
their replacement.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd 1
History: /17 SR 1279

8120.1100 REPLACEMENT OF OR CREDIT FOR USED TAX STAMPS.

Subpart 1. In general. Tax stamps which are affixed to packages being returned to the
manufacturer, or affixed to packages which, or the contents of which, have become damaged
and unfit for sale, will be replaced by the commissioner of revenue, upon compliance by the
distributor with the following conditions.

Subp. 2. Application requirements. The distributor shall make an application for re-
placement of the stamps, stating the brands and number of packages damaged or to be re-
turned to the manufacturer, the cause and type of damage or reason for return to the manufac-
turer, and the kind, number, and denomination of stamps affixed to said packages.

Subp. 3. Stamps held. Said packages shall be held by the distributor until an authorized
agent or employee of the commissioner shall call upon the distributor.

Subp. 4. Stamps defaced. As to the packages being returned to the manufacturer, the
agent or employee of the commissioner may authorize defacement of the stamps affixed
thereto, and said defacement shall be made under the agent’s or employee’s supervision. The
commissioner’s agent or employee shall issue a certificate setting forth the kind, number, and
denomination of the stamps defaced, the brands and number of packages to be returned to the
manufacturer, and the name and address of the manufacturer. A copy of the certificate shall
be furnished to the distributor and the original shall be filed with the commissioner. If the
distributor returns the packages directly to the manufacturer, the distributor shall furnish the
commissioner with a duplicate copy of the waybill or bill of 1ading of the packages returned.
If the distributor delivers the packages to a local representative of the manufacturer for re-
turn, the distributor shall furnish the commissioner with the representative’s receipt for the
packages, and also a certified copy of the manufacturer’s credit memorandum to the distribu-
tor evidencing receipt of the packages by the manufacturer.

Subp. 5. Stamps destroyed. As to the packages which have become damaged and unfit
for sale, the agent or employee of the commissioner may authorize the destruction of both the
packages and their contents and the stamps affixed thereto. Such destruction shall take place
in the presence of the agent or employee, who shall issue a certificate setting forth the kind,
number, and denomination of the stamps, the brands and number of packages of cigarettes
destroyed, and the facts of destruction. A copy of the certificate shall be furnished to the dis-
tributor and the original shall be filed with the commissioner.

Subp. 6. Replacement. After compliance with the above conditions, replacement of the
stamps defaced or destroyed will be made.

Subp. 7. Credit. Where the stamps affixed to the packages being returned to the
manufacturer, or affixed to packages which, or the contents of which, have become darnaged

_and unfit for sale, consist of imprints made by tax meter machines, credit will be allowed for
all such imprints if the distributor complies with the foregoing conditions.

Subp. 8. Waiver. If the commissioner is satisfied that the distributor utilizes procedures
and maintains adequate records to insure full compliance with the provisions of Minnesota
Statutes, chapter 297, the commissioner may waive any of the requirements of this part.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd 1
History: 17 SR 1279

8120.1200 EXCHANGE OF AND REFUNDS ON TAX STAMPS.

Adhesive tax stamps purchased by a distributor from the commissioner of revenue may
be exchanged for stamps of other denominations upon written application of the distributor.
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All such applications shall be made on prescribed form CT-212 which will be furnished by
the commissioner of revenue upon request.

Cash refunds for unused adhesive tax stamps and unused tax meter units can only be
made when the distributor discontinues business. No cash refund shall be made until the
commissioner has had an opportunity to audit the records of the distributor and is satisfied
‘that no further tax is due. Before the refund is issued, all unused adhesive stamps must be
returned to the commissioner and the tax meter cleared by an authonzed representative of the
~ commissioner.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd I
History: 17 SR 1279

8120.1300 RAILROAD AND SLEEPING CAR COMPANIES’ MONTHLY
REPORTS TO COMMISSIONER. _

The monthly report which each railroad or sleeping car company licensed as a distribu-
tor is required to file shall be made in duplicate on prescribed form CT-205. Each such report
shall be complete and accurate and shall be verified by the person signing the same.

The original shall be filed with the commissioner of revenue on or before the 18th day of
the succeeding calendar month and shall be accompanied by remittance of the tax due, less
the discount allowed under Minnesota Statutes, section 297.03, subdlvnslon 5.The copy shall
be retained by the company as part of its records.

The monthly report shall be deemed to have been filed as herein required if postmarked
on or before the 18th day of the month when due.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd !
8120.1400 MR 1991 [Obsolete]

8120.1500 APPLICATIONS FOR DISTRIBUTORS’ AND SUBJOBBERS’
CIGARETTE LICENSES.

Applications for cigarette distributors’ and subjobbers’ licenses shall be made on the
prescribed form CT-101. Application forms shall be furnished by the commissioner of reve-
nue.

All questions on the application forms must be answered completely and answers must
be made in ink or typed. All applications must be signed and acknowledged by the applicant
or an officer thereof.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.1 0 subd 1

8120.1600 DISTRIBUTORS’ AND SUBJOBBERS’ LICENSE FEES.

If an application for a distributor’s cigarette license for the current license period is filed
with the commissioner on or before June 30, it shall be accompanied by-a fee of $150; if said
application is filed on or after July 1, the fee accompanying it shall be only $75.

) If an application for a subjobber’s cigarette license for the current license period is filed
with the commissioner on or before June 30, it shall be accompanied by a fee of $12; if said
application is filed on or after July 1, the fee accompanying it shall be only $6.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd 1
8120.1700 MR 1991 [Obsolete]

8120.1800 LICENSED WAREHOUSE RECORDS.

Licensed warehouses handling deliveries or shipments of cigarettes to persons irn Min- -
nesota shall keep a true and accurate book record of all such deliveries or shipments. Such
book record shall show the name and address of the consignee, the date of delivery or ship-
ment, the brands and number of cigarettes delivered, and shall be available for inspection by
the commissioner of revenue and the commissioner’s authorized agents and employzes.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd 1

History: /7 SR 1279

8120.1900 RECEIVING RECORDS, INVOICES, AND INVENTORY RECORDS

Every licensed distributor shall maintain receiving registers on licensed premises in
which shall be currently posted in respect to cigarettes received, the date, name of shipper, -
and number of pieces received.
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Every distributor shall preserve invoices of all cigarette purchases and sales except

sales to the ultimate consumers. Sales invoices shall clearly specify quantities of cigarettes.

. Licensed distributors shall make invoices or records of all cigarettes transferred to retail out-

lets owned or controlled by them. No invoices shall be required for sales of cigarettes to the

.ultimate consumer at the address given in the distributor’s license, provided the distributor

shall withdraw cigarettes for retail sales from wholesale stock by use of a memo prepared at
the time of withdrawal.

Every distributor shall, at the close of each period for which a return is required, take an
inventory of unstamped cigarettes on hand. Cigarettes stamped with indicia of other states
shall be considered unstamped cigarettes for Minnesota cigarette tax purposes.

Every distributor shall, at the close of the annual accounting period, take an inventory of
_ stamped cigarettes. The commissioner may require that a distributor take an additional. in-
ventory or inventories of stamped cigarettes, if, in the commissioner’s opinion such invento-
ry is or inventories are necessary to determine the correctness of the returns filed by the dis-
tributor. Cigarettes in vending machines and cigarettes transferred to retail stock on written
memorandum should not be included in inventory reports.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd 1
History: /17 SR 1279

8120.2000 DISTRIBUTORS’ MONTHLY RETURNS TO COMMISSIONER.

The monthly cigarette return which each Minnesota distributor is required to file shall
be made in duplicate on prescribed form CT-201. The monthly cigarette return which each
out—of-state distributor is required to file shall be made in duplicate on prescribed form
CT-202. Forms for such returns shall be furnished by the commissioner of revenue.

Each return shall be complete and accurate and shall include any and all supporting
schedules required by the commissioner.

The return shall be signed by the distributor or an officer thereof.

The original return shall be filed with the commissioner of revenue on or before the i8th
day of the succeeding calendar month. The copy shall be retained by the distributor. The
monthly return shall be deemed to have been filed as herein required if postmarked on or
before the 18th day of the month when due.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd 1

8120.2100 CIGARETTE VENDING DEVICES; VISIBILITY, PLACEMENT OF
PACKAGES THEREIN.

Subpart 1. In general. Every device for the vending of cigarettes in this state must con-
form to the following requirements.

Subp. 2. Partial visibility. Partial visibility shall include partial visibility from the front
or from the back, prov:ded that the back of the device is readily accessible to inspection. If the
back of the device is not readily accessible to inspection, partial v1snbll|ty must be afforded
from the front.

Subp. 3. Visibility of packages. At least two packages in each magazine must be vmble
from the outside of the device.

Subp. 4. Placement of packages. All packages of cigarettes must be loaded in the mag-
azines of the device so that the Minnesota cigarette tax stamps or tax meter imprints are clear-
ly visible from the outside of the device as they come into view in the visible pomon of each
magazine therein. :

Statutory Authorlty MS 5297.10 subd |

§120.2200 INSPECTION OF CIGARETTE ‘VENDING DEVICES; SEIZURE OR
SEALING.

The commissioner of revenue or the commissioner’s authorized agents may demand
access for the inspection of the contents of a cigarette vending device located in this state
wherever and whenever deemed necessary in the enforcement of Minnesota Statutes, sec-
tions 297.01 to 297.13. If such access is denied, the commissioner or authorized agents may
seize the device in accordance with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 297.08,
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subdivision 2. In lieu of seizure, the commissioner or agents may seal the device to prevent its
use until inspection of the contents is satisfactorily permitted. The seals so placed by the
commissioner or agents may not be broken and/or removed by anyone other than the com-
missioner or agents. Immediate seizure of the device under Minnesota Statutes, section
297.08, subdivision 2, will be made where the seals placed by the commissioner or agents
have been broken or removed other than by the commissioner or agents

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd 1
History: 17 SR 1279

8120.2300 NAME AND ADDRESS OR TELEPHONE NUMBER OF OWNER OF -
CIGARETTE VENDING DEVICES.

Every device for the vending of cigarettes in this state must carry the name and either
address or telephone number of the owner, clearly visible from the front of the device.

Statutory Authority: MS 5 297.10 subd 1

8120.2400 EXAMINATION OF TAXPAYER’S RECORDS.

For the purpose of determining the correctness of any return or of determining whether
or not any person should have made a return or paid taxes under Minnesota Statutes, sections
297.01 to 297.13, the commissioner shall have power to examine, or cause to be examined,
any books, papers, records, or memoranda relevant to making such determination, including
the taxpayer’s retained copy of the return of income to the United States government for- any
year, whether such books, papers, records, or memoranda are the property of or in the posses-
sion of the taxpayer or any other person or corporation. The commissioner shall further have
power to require the attendance of any taxpayer or other person having knowledge or in-
formation in the premises to compel the production of books, papers, records, or memoranda
by persons so required to attend, to take testimony on matters material to such determination,
and to administer oaths or affirmations.

Statutory Authority MS 529710 subd 1
History: /7 SR 1279

3120.2500 COMMISSIONER TO APPOINT EXAMINERS.

For the purpose of making such examinations and determinations, the commissioner

. may appoint such officers, to be known as tax examiners, as the commissioner may deem

necessary. These examiners shall be furnished proper credentials signifying their appoint-

ment as above. The credentials shall be signed by the commissioner and countersigned by the
examiner. ' .

It is the duty of every examiner to present credentials to the taxpayer for the purpose of
satisfying the taxpayer that the examiner is duly authorized to examine the taxpayer’s books,
papers, records, or memoranda relating to the return or the making of a return under Minne-
sota Statutes, chapter 297.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297 10 subd 1
History: /7 SR 1279

3120.2600 POWERS OF EXAMINERS.

Such tax examiners shall have all the rights and powers with reference to the examining
of books, records, papers, or memoranda, and with reference to the subpoenaing of wit-
nesses, administering of oaths and affirmations, and taking of testimony conferred upon the
commissioner by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 297. The court administrator of record, or any
justice of the peace, upon demand of any such examiner, shall issue a subpoena for the atten-
dance of any witness or the production of any books, papers, records, or memoranda be:fore
such examiner. The commissioner may also issue subpoenas for the appearance of witnesses
before the commissioner or before such examiners. The commissioner may appoint such ref-
erees as the commissioner deems necessary to review, singly or as a board of review, the re-
ports of the tax examiners and petitions or complaints of taxpayers, and report thereon to the
commissioner. Disobedience of subpoenas issued under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 297

“
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shall be punished by the district court of the district in which the subpoena is issued as for a
contempt of the district court.

Statutory Authority: MS 5 297.10 subd 1
History: /Spi1986 ¢ 3 art 1 s 82; 17 SR 1279

8120.2700 COMMON CARRIERS; REPORTS.

Reports of shipments of cigarettes transported from without this state to consignees lo-
cated in this state other than public warehouses of first destination in this state licensed under
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 231, shall be made on form CT-206 and shall be signed by a duly
authorized official or representative of the carrier. The report shall be filed on or before the
tenth day of the month following the month the deliveries of cigarettes were made.

In lieu of itemization of individual shipments on the report form, there may be attached
thereto copies of each of the freight bills relating to shipments required to be reported and a
notation made on the face of form CT-206 as to the number of shipments required to be ac-
counted for.

Where two or more persons or carriers are engaged in the transportation of a shipment of
cigarettes from without the state to a consignee in this state, other than a public warehouse of
first destination in this state licensed under the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter
231, the responsibility for filing the report of such shipment shall be that of the person or
carrier who transported it into the state provided, however, that if the delivering carrier
agrees to report the shipment, no report need be made by the carrier transporting it into the
state.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd I

8120.2800 SALES AND DISTRIBUTION OF TAX-EXEMPT AND TAX-PAID
CIGARETTES BY STATE INSTITUTIONS.

Subpart 1. MR 1991 [Obsolete]

Subp. 2. Sales of cigarettes by state institutions. All cigarettes purchased forresale in
institutions of the state with exception of cigarettes to be sold at institutions under the control
and management of the commissioner of corrections are subject to the tax imposed by Min-
nesota Statutes, section 297.02. Payment of the tax on all packages sold must be evidenced by
tax stamps affixed thereto.

Institutions acquiring unstamped cigarettes for resale shall cause the tax stamps to be
affixed to each of the packages thereof, file monthly reports on or before the 18th day of each
month with the commissioner of revenue fully accounting for all cigarettes received and
stamped during the preceding month, and cause payment of taxes due to be made to the com-
missioner of revenue.

.Institutions which acquire all cigarettes purchased for resale with tax stamps affixed to
the packages thereof from cigarette distributors or subjobbers licensed under the provisions
of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 297, shall not be required to file monthly reports with the
commissioner of revenue.

All orders for cigarettes placed with entities or persons other than Minnesota—licensed
distributors and/or subjobbers by or for state institutions other than institutions under the
control and management of the commissioner of corrections must state in writing that the -
cigarettes ordered thereon are:

A. to be disposed of by resale; or

, B. purchased from appropriated funds for gratuitous distribution to inmates or pa-
- tients. :

Where an institution makes gratuitous distributions of cigarettes not subject to the tax
and also makes sales of taxed cigarettes, the commingling of tax—exempt and taxed cigarettes
is prohibited.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd 1

~
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TAX UPON USE OR STORAGE OF CIGARETTES BY CONSUMERS

8120.3000 TAX ON CONSUMERS.

A consumer is any person who has title to or possession of cigarettes in storage for use or
other consumption in this state. The tax is imposed upon every consumer who has acquired
- title to or has in possession at any time unstamped cigarettes in quantities exceeding 200.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.10 subd |
History: /17 SR 1279 '

8120.3100 CIGARETTE CONSUMER’S RETURN TO COMMISSIONER.

A return is required to be filed by every consumer upon whom the tax is imposed. The
return shall cover a period of one month and shall be filed on the 18th day of the month fol- -
lowing the month in which the consumer became liable for a tax.

The return which is to be filed on the prescribed form CT—203, shall be complete, accu-
rate, and include any and all supporting schedules required by the commissioner.

- The return shall be signed by the consumer.

The return shall be deemed to have been filed as herein required if postmarked on or -

before the 18th day of the month when due.

Statutory Authority: MS 5 297.10 subd 1

8120.3200 EXAMINATION OF TAXPAYER’S RECORDS; COMMISSIONER TO
APPOINT EXAMINERS; POWERS OF EXAMINERS.

All'the provisions of parts §120.2400, 8120.2500, and 8120.2600 shall be applicable to
consumers under Minnesota Statutes, sections 297.21 to 297.26.

Statutory Authority: MS 5 297.10 subd |
TAX ON TOBACCO PRODUCTS

8120.4000 TAX ON FREE SAMPLES.
Where tobacco products samples are distributed in this state by a manufacturer through
. its agents, the tobacco products tax is payable by such manufacturer. In such instances, the
manufacturer shall file a return and report thereon the quantities of such tobacco products so
distributed. The tax shall be computed on the usual wholesale sale price of such products.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.38 subd 1

8120.4100 TRANSFER OF CIGARS OR OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCTS
WITHIN THE STATE. -

A tax at the rate specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 297.32, subdivision 1, shall be
imposed upon all tobacco products in this state to be paid as provided in Minnesota Statutes,
sections 297.31 to 297.39 by any person engaged in business as a distributor thereof. Such
tax shall be imposed at the time the distributor: brings, or causes to be brought, into this state
from without the state tobacco products for sale; makes, manufactures, or fabricates tobacco
productsin this state for sale in this state; or ships or transports tobacco products to retailers in
this state, to be sold by those retailers.

The liability for the tax accrues at the time of receipt of tobacco products in this state by
adistributor. A subsequent transfer from the original distributor to another distributor within
this state does not relieve the original distributor from the tax liability. Therefore, no tax cred-
it can be taken on tobacco tax returns for any transfers made within the state.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.38 subd |

8120.4200 TOBACCO PRODUCTS CONSUMER’S RETURN TO
COMMISSIONER.

A consumer is any person who has title to or possession of tobacco products in siorage,
for use or other consumption in this state. The tax is imposed upon every consumer who has
acquired title to or has in possession at any time untaxed tobacco products in quantities of
more than 50 cigars, more than ten ounces of snuff or snuff powder, more than one pound of
smoking or chewing tobacco, or tobacco products exclusive of cigarettes.
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A return is required to be filed by every consumer upon whom the tax is imposed. The
returns shall cover a period of one month and shall be filed on the 18th day of the month fol-
lowing the month in which the consumer became liable for the tax. .

The return is to be filed on prescribed form CT-303; shall be complete, accurate and.
include any and all supporting schedules required by the commissioner.

The return shall be signed by the consumer.

The return shall be deemed to have been filed as herein requ1red if postmarked on or
before the 18th day of the month when due.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.38 subd 1

- History: 17 SR 1279

8120.4300 APPLICATIONS FOR DISTRIBUTORS’ AND SUBJOBBERS’
TOBACCO PRODUCTS LICENSES. .

Applications for tobacco products distributors’ and subjobbers’ licenses shall be made
on the prescribed form CT-101. Application forms shall be furnished by the commissioner
of revenue.

All questlons on the application forms must be answered completely and answers must
be made in ink or typed.

All applications must be signed and acknowledged by the applicant or an officer there-
of. ‘

Statutory Authority: MS 5 297.38 subd 1

8120.4400 DISTRIBUTORS’ TOBACCO PRODUCTS LICENSE FEES.

If an application for a distributor’s tobacco products license for the current license peri-
od is filed with the commissioner on or before June 30, it shall be accompanied by a fee of
$37.50.

Each application for a distributor’s tobacco products license shall be accompanied by a
corporate surety bond issued by a surety licensed to do business in the stat¢ of Minnesota, in
the sum of $1,000, conditioned upon the true and faithful compliance with all the provisions
of Minnesota Statutes, sections 297.31 to 297.39, and the payment of all taxes, penalties, ac-
crued interest, or any delinquent taxes which may be due the state of Minnesota. Said bends
shall be made on prescribed form CT—104B which shall be provided by the commissioner of
revenue. Whenever it is the opinion of the commissioner that said bond is inadequate in
amount to fully protect the state, the commissioner shall require either an increase in the
amount of said bond or additional bond in such amount that the commissioner deems suffi-
cient.

Any bond required by Minnesota Statutes, section 297.33 shall be kept in full force and
effect during the entire period of the license.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.38 subd 1
History: /7 SR 1279

8120.4500 SUBJOBBERS’ TOBACCO PRODUCTS LICENSE FEES.

If an application for a subjobber’s tobacco products license is filed with the commis-
- sioner on or before June 30, it shall be accompanied by a fee of $10.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.38 subd 1
8120.4600 DISTRIBUTORS’ AND SUBJOBBERS’ TOBACCO PRODUCTS
LICENSE FEES FOR PART OF A YEAR.

* If an application for a distributor’s tobacco products license for the current pericd is

filed on or after July 1, it shall be accompanied by a fee of $18.75.

If an application for a subjobber’s tobacco products license for the current period s filed
on or after July 1, the fee accompanying it shall be $5.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.38 subd 1

8120.4700 LICENSED WAREHOUSE RECORDS.

Licensed warehouses handling deliveries or shipments of tobacco products shall keep a
true and accurate book record of all such deliveries or shipments. Such book record shall
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show the name and address of the consignee, the date of delivery or shipment, the type of
tobacco product, brand name and quantity delivered, and shall be available for inspection by
the commissioner of revenue or authorized agents.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.38 subd 1

~ 8120.4800 TRANSPORTATION OF TOBACCO PRODUCTS REPORTS.

Subpart 1. Other than common carriers. Any persons other than common carriers
who transport into this state from without tobacco products other than cigarettes must file
form CT-305 with the commissioner of revenue except that any person who transports more
than 50 cigars, more than ten ounces of snuff or snuff powder, or more than one pound of
smoking or chewing tobacco into this state for his or her own use or consumption and who
files a tobacco products consumer return may fulfill the requirements of reporting trans-
portation of such products by indicating on the tobacco products consumer s return which of
the items reported on such return he or she transported into the state. Form CT-305 shall give
descriptions of tobacco products brought into the state, date brought into the state, to whom
delivered and date delivered, and shall be filed with the Commissioner of Revenue, Centen-
- nial Office Building, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55145, no later than 30 days after the tobacco
products have been brought into the state. '

This requirement for filing of reports referred to in this subpart shall not be applicable to
consumers who import 50 cigars or less, ten ounces of snuff or snuff powder or less, or one
pound of smoking or chewing tobacco or less into this state; or licensed distributors who are
required to file returns under provisions of part 8120.4900.

Subp. 2. Common carriers. Reports of shipments of tobacco products other than ciga-
rettes transported from without this state to consignees located in the state other than public
warehouses of first destination licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 231, shall be
made on form CT-206 and shall be signed by a duly authorized official or representative of
the carrier. The report shall be filed with the Commissioner of Revenue, Centennial Office
Building, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55145, on or before the tenth day of the month followmg the
month in which deliveries of tobacco products were made.

In lieu of itemization of individual shipments on the report form there may be attached
thereto copies of each of the freight bills relating to shipments required to be reported and a
notation made on the face of form CT—206 as to the number of shipments required to be ac-
counted for.

Where two or more persons or carriers are engaged in the transportation of a shipment of
tobacco products other than cigarettes from without the state to a consignee in this state, other
than a public warehouse of first destination in this state licensed under the provisions of Min-
nesota Statutes, chapter 231, the responsibility for filing the report of such shipment shall be
that of the person or carrier who transported it into the state provided, however, thar if the
delivering carrier agrees to report the shipment, no report need be made by the carrier trans-
porting it into the state.

Common carriers transporting tobacco products other than cigarettes into Minnesota
shall permit examination of their records relating to shipment of such tobacco products.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.38 subd 1
History: /7 SR 1279

8120.4900 DISTRIBUTORS’ MONTHLY RETURNS TO THE COMMISSIONER.

The monthly tobacco products tax return which each distributor having a place of busi-
ness in this state is required to file shall be made in duplicate on form CT-301.

Every licensed distributor outside this state who ships or transports tobacco products to
retailers in this state to be sold by those retailers is required to file a return on form CT-302.

Each return shall be complete and accurate and shall include any and all supporting
schedules required by the commissioner.

The return shall be signed by the distributor or an officer thereof.

The original return shall be filed with the commissioner of revenue on or before the 18th
day of the succeeding calendar month. The monthly return shall be deemed to have been filed
as herein required if postmarked on or before the 18th day of the month when due.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.38 subd 1
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8120.5000 RECEIVING RECORDS.

Every licensed distributor shall maintain receiving registers on licensed premises in
which shall be currently posted with respect to tobacco products received, the date, name. of
shipper, and number of pieces received.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.38 subd 1

8120.5100 SALES AND DISTRIBUTION OF TAX-EXEMPT AND TAXABLE
TOBACCO PRODUCTS BY STATE INSTITUTIONS.

Subpart 1. MR 1991 [Obsolete]

Subp. 2. Sales of taxable tobacco products by state institutions. All tobacco products
purchased for resale in institutions of the state with exception of tobacco products to be sold
atinstitutions under the control and management of the commissioner of corrections are sub-
ject to the tax imposed by Minnesota Statutes, section 297.32.

Institutions acquiring tobacco products on which the tax has not been paid for purposes
of resale shall file reports with the commissioner of revenue on or before the 18th day of ezch
calendar month showing the wholesale sales price of each of such products acquired during
the preceding month. Each return shall be accompanied by a remittance for the full tax liabil-
ity shown therein less a discount of 2-1/2 percent.

Where any institution acquires all tobacco products purchased for resale from a tobacco
products distributor or subjobber licensed under the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chap-
ter 297, it will be presumed that the tax on such products has been or will be paid by a licensed
* distributor and such institution shall not be required to file momhly reports with the commis-
sioner of revenue.

All orders for tobacco products made by state institutions other than those under the ad-
ministration and control of the commissioner of correctlons must state in writing whether
such order is for tobacco products:

A. to be disposed of by resale; or
B. purchased from appropriated funds for gratuitous distribution to inmates or pa-
tients. :

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.38 subd 1

8120.5200 CREDIT FOR TAX PAID ON TOBACCO PRODUCTS.

Subpart 1. In general. Credits will be allowed for tax paid on tobacco products under
the following conditions.

Subp. 2. Sales. For sales without the state:

A. All sales of tobacco products to retailers located outside the state, to be sold by
those retailers, shall be listed on prescribed form CT-301C, schedule C, showing date and
number of invoice, name and address of retailer, and manufacturer’s wholesale sales price
unless permission is granted by the commissioner of revenue to furnish the information in
some other manner. _

B. All sales to consumers located without the state, to be consumed without the
state, shall be listed on prescribed form CT-301C, schedule C, showing the date of sale, in-
voice number, name and address of the consumer, and the manufacturer’s wholesale sales
price of the tobacco products sold unless permission is granted by the commissioner of reve-
nue to furnish the information in some other manner.

A credit will not be allowed under any circumstances for a sale consummated or made in
this state to consumers for consumption without this state nor shall such sales be listed on
form CT-301C. _

C. All sales of tobacco products to subjobbers located without the state for resale
outside the state shall be listed on prescribed form CT-301C, schedule C, showing the date of
sate, invoice number, name and address of the subjobber, and the manufacturer’s wholesale
sales price of the tobacco products sold. The distributor shall fumish the commissioner of
revenue with a duplicate copy of the waybill or bill of lading of the tobacco products shipped
to subjobbers outside the state.

Subp. 3. Return of tobacco products to manufacturer by distributor. All such re-
turns of tobacco products shall be listed on the prescribed form CT-301B, schedule B, show-
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ing date and number of credit memo or bill of lading number, the name and address of the
manufacturer to whom shipped, and the manufacturer’s wholesale sales price.

A distributor who returns the tobacco products directly to the manufacturer shall fur-
nish the commissioner with a duplicate copy of the waybill or bill of lading of the tobacco
products returned. A distributor who delivers the tobacco products to a local representative
of the manufacturer for return shall furnish the commissioner with the representative’s re-
ceipt for the tobacco products and also a certified copy of the manufacturer’s credit memo-
randum to the distributor evidencing receipt of the merchandise by the manufacturer.

Subp. 4. Destruction of tobacco products. As to tobacco products which have become
damaged and unfit for sale, the agent or employee of the commissioner may authorize de-
struction of same. Such destruction shall take place in the agent’s or employee’s presence and
he or she shall issue a certificate signed by the distributor and the agent or employee of the
commissioner setting forth the type of tobacco products, brand name and quantities de-
stroyed, facts of destruction, and the manufacturer’s wholesale sales price. A copy of the cer-
tificate shall be furnished to the distributor and the original shall be filed with the commis-
sioner. : ’ .
Subp. 5. Waiver. If the commissioner is satisfied that the distributor utilizes procedures
and maintains adequate records to ensure full compliance with the provisions of Minnesota
Statutes, chapter 297, the commissioner may waive any of the requirements of this part.

Statutory Authority: MS 5 297.38 subd 1
History: /17 SR 1279

8120.5300 EXAMINATION OF TAXPAYER’S RECORDS; COMMISSIONER TO
APPOINT EXAMINERS; POWERS OF EXAMINERS.

For the purpose of determining the correctness of any return or of determining whether
or not any person should have made a return or paid taxes under Minnesota Statutes, sections
297.31 to 297.39 all the provisions of parts 8120.2400, 8120.2500, and 8120.2600 shall be
applicable.

Statutory Authority: MS s 297.38 subd 1
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