## CHAPTER 7602 DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SERVICE DIVISION OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES LICENSE FEES

7602 0100 INSPECTION FEES

## 7602.0100 INSPECTION FEES.

Subpart 1 Generally. The Weights and Measures Division of the Department of Public Service shall charge the following fees for all regular and special inspections as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 239 101

A For scales classified by capacity,

(1) \$9 for scales up to and including six pounds capacity,

(2) \$16 for scales of seven pounds capacity up to and including 250 pounds capacity,

(3) \$25 for scales of 251 pounds capacity up to and including 1,100 pounds capacity,

(4) \$50 for scales of 1,101 pounds capacity up to and including 2,000 pounds capacity,

(5) \$75 for scales of 2,001 pounds capacity up to and including 4,000 pounds

capacity,

(6) \$145 for scales of 4,001 pounds capacity up to and including 10,000 pounds capacity,

(7) \$175 for scales of 10,001 pounds capacity up to and including 30,000 pounds capacity, and

(8) \$240 for scales over 30,000 pounds capacity

B For specific classes of scales,

(1) \$170 for a two-section vehicle scale,

(2) \$180 for a three-section vehicle scale,

(3) \$190 for a four-section vehicle scale,

(4) \$200 for a five-section vehicle scale,

(5) \$400 for a railroad track scale tested with equipment owned by the depart-

ment,

(6) \$200 for a railroad track scale test monitored by the department, or for an additional test at a location with two or more railroad track scales,

(7) \$250 for a livestock scale,

(8) \$80 for a wheel load weigher used for law enforcement purposes, and

(9) \$125 for an agricultural liquid chemical scale

C For liquid measuring devices,

(1) \$75 for an agricultural chemical meter,

(2) \$75 for a liquefied petroleum gas meter or stationary dispenser of liquefied petroleum gas, and

(3) \$75 for a milk meter

D For a linear measuring machine, \$15.

E For issuance or renewal of a placing–in–service permit, \$65 This fee includes administrative costs, supplies registered agents, and 20 minutes of equipment calibration time When calibration costs exceed this limit, the regular laboratory calibration rate will be charged

Subp 2 Other rates. The fees in subpart 1 are based on the average amount of time required for an individual inspection and test. This average includes travel, equipment, and administrative costs For a nonroutine inspection and test, or when a device is not specified in subpart 1, the inspector shall calculate the total charge based on the following hourly rates

Copyright © 1995 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.

## **MINNESOTA RULES 1994**

A \$60 for one inspector and appropriate test equipment designated for light capacity scale and volumetric equipment testing,

B \$75 for one inspector and appropriate test equipment designated for heavy capacity scale testing, and

C \$75 for laboratory calibration time

Subp 3 **Zone charges.** A zone charge is added to the fees in subparts 1 and 2 for the initial inspection of a new or newly installed vehicle, industrial, livestock, hopper, or railroad track scale, as follows.

A zone 1 a zone charge of \$25 for scales located within and including a 20-mile radius of the work station,

B zone 2 a zone charge of 50 for scales located beyond a 20-mile radius, but within and including a 50-mile radius of the work station,

C zone 3 a zone charge of 100 for scales located beyond a 50-mile radius, but within and including a 100-mile radius of the work station,

D zone 4  $\cdot$  a zone charge of \$150 for scales located beyond a 100–mile radius, but within and including a 150–mile radius of the work station, and

 $E\ zone 5\ a\ zone charge of $200\ for scales located beyond a 150-mile radius of the work station$ 

Statutory Authority: MS s 239 06

History: 18 SR 1753