MINNESOTA RULES 1995

103
AIR EMISSION PERMIT FEES 7002.0220  DEFINITIONS.
7002.0005  SCOPE. ’ 7002.0230  FEE DETERMINATION.
7002.0015  DEFINITIONS. 7002.0240  PAYMENT OF FEES.
7002.0025  ANNUAL EMISSION FEE RATES. 7002.0250  APPLICATION FEE.
7002.0035  AIR QUALITY ANNUAL FEE TARGET. 7002.0270  ANNUAL FEE.
70020045  COMPUTATION OF THE DOLLAR PER 7002.0280  NOTIFICATION OF ERROR.
TON FIGURE. 7002.0290  LATE PAYMENT FEE.

7002.0055  INDIRECT SOURCE PERMIT FEES. 7002.0300  WATER QUALITY PERMIT FEE
7002.0065 PAYMENT OF FEES. SCHEDULE.
7002.0075  NOTIFICATION OF ERROR. 7002.0305  TABLE, WATER QUALITY PERMIT
7002.0085  LATE PAYMENT FEE. FEES PAID BY HOLDERS OF
7002.0095  EFFECTIVE DATE. UNEXPIRED PERMITS.

WATER QUALITY PERMIT FEES 7002.0310  TABLE. WATER QUALITY PERMIT
70020210 SCOPE. FEES.

AIR EMISSION PERMIT FEES

7002.0005 SCOPE.

Parts 7002.0005 to 7002.0085 apply to all persons required to obtain an air emission
permit or an indirect source permit from the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency under
chapter 7007 and parts 7023.9000 to 7023.9050.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07

History: /7 SR 440; 18 SR 1059

7002.0010 [Repealed, 17 SR 440]

7002.0015 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of parts 7002.0005 to 7002.0085, the terms defined
in this part have the meanings given them. The definitions in the state air pollution control
rules as defined in part 7005.0100 apply unless the terms are defined in this part.

Subp. 2. Affected facility. “ Affected facility” means any facility for which the owner or
operator of the facility must obtain an air emission permit under chapter 7007.

Subp. 3. Emission inventory. “Emission inventory” means the inventory of actual
emissions required under part 7019.3000.

Subp. 4. Regulated pollutant. “Regulated pollutant” means the following:

A. Nitrogen oxides (NOy) or any volatile organic compound.
B. Any pollutant for which a national ambient air quality standard has been pro-
mulgated, except carbon monoxide.

Statutory Authority: MS s 1/6.07

History: /7 SR 440; 18 SR 1059
7002.0020 [Repealed, 17 SR 440]

7002.0025 ANNUAL EMISSION FEE RATES.

Subpart 1. Calculation of fee. Operators of affected facilities shall pay an annual emis-
sion fee for each ton of a regulated pollutant emitted to the air by the facility. The fee shall be
based on the actual emission tonnages as established in the most recent available emission
inventory. The fees shall be $X for each ton of any regulated pollutant. The value of “X" is as
determined in part 7002.0045.

Subp. 2. New facilities. New emission facilities that have been issued a permit, but have
not yet been required to submit emissions data, shall pay a fee of $770.

Subp. 3. Estimated potential to emit. If an emission facility fails to submit actual
emissions data as required by part 7019.2000, subpart 4, or 7019.3000, whichever is in effect
when the inventory is due, the annual emission fee for that facility shall be based on the esti-
mated potential-to—emit of that facility, as defined in part 7005.0100, subpart 35a.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07
History: /7 SR 440; 18 SR 614

Copyright © 1995 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



MINNESOTA RULES 1995
7002.0035 PERMIT FEES 104

7002.0030 [Repealed, 17 SR 440]

7002.0035 AIR QUALITY ANNUAL FEE TARGET.
The annual fee target shall be set as described in items A, B, and C.
A. For fiscal year 1993, the unadjusted fee target shail be $5,093,000.
B. For fiscal year 1994 and thereafter, the unadjusted fee target shall be the greater
of the following:
(1) the sum of:
(a) the amount directly appropriated to the Air Quality Division from the
environmental fund for that fiscal year; and
(b) the Air Quality Division’s portion of the appropriation from the envi-
ronmental fund to the agency’s general support program, as determined by using the indirect
cost allocation plan approved by the Minnesota Department of Finance under Minnesota
Statutes, section 16A.127, subdivision 4; or
(2) the amount calculated by multiplying $25 per ton, adjusted for inflation
since 1989, times the number of tons of each regulated pollutant listed in the most recent
available emission inventory. A maximum of 4,000 tons per pollutant per facility shall be
used for this calculation. The adjustment for inflation shali be in accordance with the adjust-
ment described by the United States Environmental Protection Agency in rules adopted un-
der title V of the federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990, Public Law Number 101-549,
Statutes at Large, volume 104, pages 2399, et seq.
C. The amounts described in items A and B must be adjusted as follows:
(1) if the agency failed to collect its fee target the previous year, after making
reasonable efforts to do so, the shortfall must be added to the next year’s fee target;
(2) if the agency collected more than its fee target the previous year, the ex-
cess must be subtracted from the next year’s fee target; and

(3) for any year, the commissioner may increase the fee target by up to five
percent to reflect the anticipated fee nonpayment rate. This increase must not be considered
for purposes of calculating a deficit or surplus under subitems (1) and (2).

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07
History: /7 SR 440

7002.0040 [Repealed, 17 SR 440]

7002.0045 COMPUTATION OF THE DOLLAR PER TON FIGURE.

The dollar per ton figure “X” used in part 7002.0025 shall be computed as follows:

X=F-~-1-P)T
where:

X = Dollars per ton.

F = Total annual fee target, as determined in this part.

I = Total amount to be billed as indirect source permit fees for the previous calendar
year, part 7002.0055. :

P = Total amount to be billed as new permit fees for the previous calendar year, part
7002.0025, subpart 2. :

T = Total number of tons of all regulated pollutants listed in the most recent annual
emissions inventory.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07
History: /7 SR 440
7002.0050 [Repealed, 17 SR 440)

7002.0055 INDIRECT SOURCE PERMIT FEES.

Subpart 1. Schedule. A person who applies for a permit to construct, modify, or recon-
struct an indirect source as defined in part 7023.9005, subpart 5, shall be assessed fees ac-
cording to the following schedule. Surcharges apply to new permit applications if the basis
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for the surcharge is present in the proposed project. Surcharges apply to modified permit ap-
plications if the basis for the surcharge is present in the proposed modification.

Basic charges Fee
New permit application . $1,605
Permit modification application $1,205

Surcharges

Involves 5,000 or more parking spaces

or 700,000 or more square feet $2,005
Noise variance applied for $3,265
On-site contamination affects facility $800

Requires binding commitments for new
roadway improvements $1,205

Requires involvement of more than one _
governmental unit or roadway authority ' $400

New permit application that involves
more than one owner, except
governmental coapplicants acting in
regulatory capacity $2,005

Permit application formally amended during
application review process to change
size or scope of project, except
minor changes as defined in subpart 3 $1,205

Contains an entertainment or sports facility
with a peak attendance level of 10,000
or more people or 10,000 or more
parking spaces ' $1,605

Involves a change in ownership except from
single owner to single owner $1,205

Subp. 2. Fees nonrefundable. The fees in subpart 1 shall be determined by the division
manager upon application for an indirect source permit, or when it becomes apparent that a
surcharge shall apply. A bill for the amount due shall be sent after January 1 of the following
calendar year. Fees paid under this part are nonrefundable, regardless of whether a permit is
eventually issued.

Subp. 3. Minor changes. The amendment of a permit application during the application
review process shall be considered minor for purposes of this part if it would have been con-
sidered a minor modification under part 7001.1350 or if an agency approved trip analysis
shows that the change would not increase vehicle trips in any intersection in any hour by 100
trips or more.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07

History: 17 SR 440

7002.0060 [Repealed, 17 SR 440]
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7002.0065 PAYMENT OF FEES.

A person submitting the fee shall make it payable to the Minnesota Pollution Control
Agency, and shall submit it to the division manager. The fee shall be paid within 60 days of
receipt of an invoice from the division manager.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07
History: /7 SR 440

7002.0070 [Repealed, 17 SR 440]

7002.0075 NOTIFICATION OF ERROR.

A person who thinks that the assessed fee is in error shall provide a written explanation
of the person’s position to the commissioner along with the assessed fee. The commissioner
shall, within 60 days of the receipt of the person’s written explanation, either provide a writ-
ten explanation of why the fee was not in error and shall not be refunded, or, if the commis-
sioner finds that the assessed fee was in error, the overpayment shall be refunded to the per-
son or credited to the person’s account.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07
History: /7 SR 440

7002.0080 [Repealed, 17 SR 440]

7002.0085 LATE PAYMENT FEE.

An owner or operator of an affected facility shall pay a late payment fee of 20 percent of
the payment due for failure to make payment within 30 days of the payment due date, and
shall pay an additional ten percent of the original payment due for each additional 30-day
period that the payment is late.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07

History: /7 SR 440
7002.0090 [Repealed, 17 SR 440]
7002.0095 EFFECTIVE DATE.
Parts 7002.0005 to 7002.0085 are effective July 1, 1992.
Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07
History: /7 SR 440

7002.0100 [Repealed, 17 SR 440]

7002.0110 [Repealed, 17 SR 440]
WATER QUALITY PERMIT FEES

7002.0210 SCOPE.
Parts 7002.0210 to 7002.0310 apply to all persons required to obtain a permit from the
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency as described in part 7001.0020, items C, E, and F.
Statutory Authority: MS s /16A.128; 116.07

History: /0 SR 2010; 16 SR 1799

7002.0220 DEFINITIONS.
Subpart 1. Scope. For the purpose of parts 7002 0210t07002.0310, the terms defined in
this part have the meanings given them.

Subp. 2. Agency. “Agency” means the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.

Subp. 3. Commissioner. “Commissioner” means the chief executive officer of the
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.

Subp. 3a. General construction storm water permit. “General construction storm
water permit” means a permit that is defined in part 7001.1020, subpart 16a.

Subp. 3b. General industrial storm water permit. “General industrial storm water
permit” means a permit that is defined in part 7001.1020, subpart 16b.
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Subp. 3c. Individual storm water permit. “Individual storm water permit” means a
permit that is defined in part 7001.1020, subpart 16c. Fees for this permit are set in part
7002.0310, subpart 2, item B, under “other nonmunicipal.”

Subp. 4. Major NPDES facility. “Major NPDES facility” means a wastewater treat-
ment discharger designated by the commissioner and the regional administrator of the
United States Environmental Protection Agency as part of the annual work plan thatis devel-
oped in accordance with and that is subject to the public participation requirements of Code
of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 35, and subject to review and approval of the agency.
The agency and the United States Environmental Protection Agency shall designate the fol-
lowing types of facilities as major NPDES facilities unless the agency and the United States
Environmental Protection Agency find that the facility does not have a potential for signifi-
cantly impacting water quality:

A. a publicly owned treatment facility with an average design flow of 1,000,000
gallons per day or more;

B. an electrical generating facility that is not primarily standby or a peaking facil-
ity with a generation capacity of 100 megawatts or greater;

C. a facility that is a primary industry as defined in Code of Federal Regulations,
title 40, section 122.2, or other industry that discharges quantities of process wastewater,
which are significant due to the volume, pollutant loading, or other discharge parameters or
the character of the receiving water; or

D. afacility with an actual or potential discharge of toxic pollutants under section
307(a)(1) of the Clean Water Act, United States Code, title 33, section 1317.

Subp. 5. Municipal permit. “Municipal permit” means a permit issued t¢ a municipali-
ty as defined in part 7001.1020, subpart 18, for the discharge or disposal of wastewater which
is five percent or more sewage. Permits issued to municipalities for facilities treating or dis-
posing of waste that is less than five percent sewage shall be considered nonmunicipal per-
mits.

Subp. 6. National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES). “‘National
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES)” has the meaning given it in part
7001.1020, subpart 19.

Subp. 6a. Sanitary sewer extension permit. “Sanitary sewer extension permit” means
a state disposal system permit for the extension, addition, or change of a municipal sanitary
system.

Subp. 7. Sewage. “Sewage” has the meaning given it in part 7080.0020, subpart 33.

Subp. 8. Sewage sludge landspreading facility. “Sewage sludge landspreading facil-
ity” means a landspreading facility as defined in part 7040.0100, subpart 20 for the lands-
preading of sewage sludge.

Subp. 9. State disposal system permit. ““State disposal system permit” means a permit
for a disposal system that may be constructed and operated without a NPDES permit.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128; 115.03; 116.07

History: /0 SR 2010; L 1987 ¢ 186 s 15; 12 SR 1336, 16 SR 1799; 19 SR 1901

7002.0230 FEE DETERMINATION.
The agency shall calculate annual fees based upon the schedule in parts 7002.0305 and
7002.0310 and shall notify the permittee of the amount due prior to each payment date.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128; 116.07
History: /0 SR 2010; 16 SR 1799
7002.0240 PAYMENT OF FEES.

A person submitting a fee shall make the fee payable to the “Minnesota Pollution Con-
trol Agency” and submit it to the director of the Water Quality Division.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128; 116.07
History: /0 SR 2010, 16 SR 1799
7002.0250 APPLICATION FEE.

A person who applies for a permit to construct, install, modify, or operate a facility or
applies for a permit modification as described in part 7001.0190 shall submit with the ap-
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plication the appropriate application fee. Failure to submit the fee renders the application in-
complete and the agency shall suspend processing of the apphcatlon until the feeisreceived.
Application fees are nonrefundable.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: /0 SR 2010; 12 SR 1336

7002.0260 [Repealed, 16 SR 1799]

7002.0270 ANNUAL FEE.

All persons required to obtain a permit listed in part 7002.0310, subparts 1, 2, and 3,
shall pay an annual fee for processing of the permit and enforcement of applicable statutes
and rules as described in items A to E. The annual fee shall be paid within 30 days of receipt of
an invoice from the agency.

A. A permittee holding a new or reissued permit after February 3, 1992, is subject
to the fees established in part 7002.0310. A permittee holding an unexpired permit on Febru-
ary 3, 1992, shall continue to comply with the payment schedules in part 7002.0305 until the
permit expires.

B. A permittee applying for a permit modification according to part 7001.0190,
subpart 1, shall pay an additional fee equal to 50 percent of the permittee’s annual fee as es-
tablished in part 7002.0310.

C. A permittee holding an unexpired permit on February 3, 1992, that applies for
the permit modification according to part 7001.0190, subpart 1, shall pay a modification fee
as established in part 7002.0305.

D. An applicant for reissuance of an expired permit under part 7001.0160 must pay
fees set in part 7002.0310.

E. A permittee or applicant for an individual storm water permit must pay fees set
in part 7002.0310, subpart 2, item B, under “other nonmunicipal.”

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128; 115.03; 116.07

History: /0 SR 2010; 16 SR 1799; 19 SR 1901

7002.0280 NOTIFICATION OF ERROR.

A person who thinks that an annual fee for a specific facility is in error shall provide
written notice of the error to the director of the Division of Water Quality, along with the as-
sessed fee. If the director of the Division of Water Quality finds, upon reviewing the data, that
the assessed fee was in error, the overpayment shall be refunded to the permittee or credited
to the permittee’s account.

Statutory Authority: MS s [16A.128; 116.07

History: /0 SR 2010; 16 SR 1799

7002.0290 LATE PAYMENT FEE.

The permittee shall pay a late payment fee of 20 percent of the payment due for failure to
make payment within 30 days of a payment date. The permittee shall pay an additional ten
percent of the original payment due for each 30—day period or portion thereof that the pay-
ment is late.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07 subd 4d
History: /0 SR 2010
7002.0300 WATER QUALITY PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE.
Permit fees for water quality permits are established in parts 7002.0305 and 7002.0310.
Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128; 116.07
History: /0 SR 2010; 16 SR 1799

7002.0305 TABLE, WATER QUALITY PERMIT FEES PAID BY HOLDERS OF
UNEXPIRED PERMITS.

Subpart I. Major NPDES permit fees. The following fees shall be paid by major
NPDES facility permittees that have paid separate processing and annual fees under parts
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. 7002.0210 to 7002.0310 prior to February 3, 1992. The following fees shall be paid during

the remaining term of the permit.
A. Municipal permits:

Design Flow

in Million

Gallons per Application Modification

Day (MGD) Fee Fee

50 and over $85 $43,800

20 to 49.99 85 19,000

5to 19.99 85 8,800

Up t0 4.99 85 4,100
B. Nonmunicipal permits:

Design Flow

in Million

Gallons per Application Modification

Day (MGD) Fee Fee

20 t0 49.99 $85 $18,900

5to 19.99 85 10,500

Up t0 4.99 85 5.400

Cooling or

Mine Pit

Dewatering

(any flow) 85 10,400

Annual
Fee

$117,000
23,400
7,500
2,800

Annual
Fee

$26,400

8,700
4,400

8,700

Subp. 2. Nonmajor NPDES and state disposal permit fees. The fees initems A and B
shall be paid by a permittee not designated as a major NPDES facility that has paid separate
processing and annual fees under parts 7002.0210 to 7002.0310 prior to February 3, 1992,
and that has applied for or received a state disposal system permit. The fees shall be paid dur-

ing the remaining term of the permit.
A. Municipal permits:

Design Flow

in Million
Gallons per Application Modification Annual
Day (MGD) Fee Fee Fee
Greater than

.100 $85 $1,800 $410
0to .100 85 900 155
Sewage Sludge

Landspreading :
Facilities 85 890 150

B. Nonmunicipal permits:

Design Flow

in Million

Gallons per Application Modification Annual
Day (MGD) Fee Fee Fee
Sewage 0 to

.100 $85 $ 880 $145
Other nonmunicipal

(any flow) 85 1,825 510

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128; 116.07
History: /6 SR 1799
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7002.0310 TABLE, WATER QUALITY PERMIT FEES.

Subpart 1. Major NPDES permit fees. The following fees shall be paid for major
NPDES facilities:

A. Municipal permits:

Design Flow

in Million

Gallons per Application Annual
Day (MGD) Fee - Fee
50 and over $85 $ 135,000
2010 49.99 85 31,000
5t0 19.99 85 11,000
Up to 4.99 85 4,500

B. Nonmunicipal permits;

Design Flow

in Million

Gallons per Application Annual
Day (MGD) Fee Fee
20to 49.99 $85 $ 34,000
5to0 19.99 85 ' 14,000
Upto 4.99 85 6,500
Cooling or

Mine Pit

Dewatering

(any flow) 85 13,000

Subp. 2. Nonmajor NPDES and state disposal permit fees. The following fees shall
be paid by a permittee not designated as a major NPDES facility and by a permittee that has
applied for or received a state disposal system permit.

A. Municipal permits:

Design Flow

in Million

Gallons per Application Annual
Day (MGD) Fee Fee
Greater than

.100 $85 ' $1,140

0to0.100 85 505
Sewage Sludge :
Landspreading
Facilities 85 500

B. Nonmunicipal permits:

Design Flow

in Million

Gallons per Application Annual
Day (MGD) Fee Fee

Sewage 0 to

.100 $85 $ 495
Other nonmunicipal

(any flow) . 85 1,230
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Subp. 3. Other water quality permit fees. The following application fees shall be paid
by a permittee that has applied for or received a general permit as defined in part 7001.0010,
subpart 4, a sanitary sewer extension permit, or a general storm water permit.

Application Annual

Fee ¢ Fee
General $85 $260
General Industrial Storm
Water Permit 85 210
General Construction Storm
Water Permit 240 0
Sanitary Sewer Extension 240 0

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128; 115.03; 116.07
History: /0 SR 2010; 12 SR 1336; 14 SR 1878; 16 SR 1799; 19 SR 1901

7002.0410 (Repealed, L 1995 c 233 art 3s 5; L 1995 c 248 art 35 5]
7002.0420 [Repealed, L 1995 c 233 art 3s 5; L 1995 c 248 art 3 5 5]
7002.0430 [Repealed, L 1995 c 233 art 3s 5; L 1995 c 248 art 3 5 5]
7002.0440 [Repealed, L 1995 ¢ 233 art 35 5; L 1995 c 248 art 35 5]
7002.0450 [Repealed, L 1995 ¢ 233 art 3s 5; L 1995 ¢ 248 art 3 s 5]
7002.0460 [Repealed, L 1995 c 233 art 35 5; L. 1995 c 248 art 3 s 5]
7002.0470 [Repealed, L 1995 c 233 art 35 5; L. 1995c 248 art 3 5 5]
7002.0480 [Repealed, L 1995 c 233 art 35 5; L 1995 c 248 art 3 5 5]
7002.0490 [Repealed, L 1995 c 233 art 35 5; L. 1995 c 248 art 3 5 5]
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