1043

5225.0010
5225.0050
5225.0090
5225.0100

5225.0300
5225.0400
5225.0410
5225.0500
5225.0550

5225.0600

5225.0700
5225.0880
5225.0900
5225.1000
5225.1110

5225.1140
5225.1180
5225.1200
5225.1225
5225.1300
5225.1350

5225.1400

5225.2050
5225.2100
5225.2200

5225.2300
5225.2400

5225.2500
5225.2600
5225.2610
5225.2700

MINNESOTA RULES 1999

CHAPTER 5225
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY
BOILERS AND POWER BOATS

LICENSES 5225.2900
DEFINITIONS. 52253150
INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE. $225.3200
APPLICATION FOR OPERATING ENGINEER $225.3300
LICENSE.

EXPIRATION AND RENEWALS.
BASIC LICENSE REQUIREMENT AND DUTY.
HIGH PRESSURE BOILER CHIEF ENGINEER.  5225.4000
EXAMINATIONS. 5225.4100
EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS AND 5225.4200
DOCUMENTATION FOR LICENSURE AS AN 5225.4300
OPERATING ENGINEER. 5225.4400
PROHIBITION AGAINST FALSE 5225.4500
STATEMENTS IN APPLICATION. 5225.4600
LOSS OR DESTRUCTION OF LICENSE. 5225.4700
DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES. 5225.4800
DISPLAY OF LICENSE. 5225.4900
BOILER HORSEPOWER RATING. 5225.5000
BOILER OPERATION STANDARDS; ALL 5225.5100
PLANTS. 5225.5200
ATTENDANCE OF HOBBY BOILERS.
ATTENDANCE AT HIGH PRESSURE PLANT.
INSPECTORS.
AUTHORIZED INSPECTOR. 5225.6000 .
OPERATORS OF RAILROAD LOCOMOTIVES.  5225.6050
PROPERTY DAMAGE OR PERSONAL 5225.6100
INJURY REPORT. 5225.6140
VIOLATIONS. 5225.6145
" 5225.6150
INSPECTIONS 52256160
MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE WORKING 5225.6170
PRESSURE. 5225.6200
STAMPS ON BOILER AND PRESSURE 5225.6350
VESSELS. 5225.6500
ITEMS REQUIRING IN-SERVICE 5225.6700
INSPECTION, 5225.6900
EXCEPTIONS TO THIS CHAPTER. 5225.6940
RELOCATION OF USED BOILERS OR 5225.6975
VESSELS. 5225.6980
LOW WATER DEVICES.
REPAIRS AND ALTERATIONS; REPORTING. 5225.7200
OWNER REPAIR PROGRAM. 5225.8600
REPAIRS BY INSPECTORS PROHIBITED. 5225.8700
LICENSES

5225.0010 SCOPE.

This chapter addresses the manufacture, installation, repair, operation, safety, and
inspection of boilers, pressure vessels, appurtenances, and boats for hire as defined in
parts 5225.0050 to 5225.8700 pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 183.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466, 183.54

History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.0050 DEFINITIONS..

Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of this chapter and Minnesota Statutes,
sections 183.375 to 183.62, the following terms have the meanings given them.
Subp. 2. Appurtenance. “Appurtenance’” means equipment that is integral to the
operation of the boiler as specified in Sections I, IV, VI, and VII of the American
Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code as incorporated by
reference in part 5225.0090.
Subp. 3. Authorized inspector. “Authorized inspector” means a commissioned
inspector with a Minnesota certificate of competency who also possesses either an A or
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B endorsement and is regularly employed by an authorized inspection agency or the
jurisdiction.

Subp. 4. Boiler. “Boiler” means a vessel in which steam or other vapor, hot water
or other hot liquid is generated for use external to itself.

Subp. 5. Boiler plant. “Boiler plant” means all boilers on a common header and
their related appurtenances.

Subp. 6. Chief boiler inspector. “Chief boiler inspector” means the chief of the
division of boiler inspection as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 183.375, subdivi-
sion 2, appointed by the commissioner.

Subp. 7. Chief engineer. “Chief engineer” means the properly licensed engineer
required to be in charge of and responsible for the safe operation of a boiler plant.

Subp. 8. Commissioned inspector. “Commissioned inspector” means one who has
passed the exam of the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors and
possesses a valid National Board Commission and is employed by an authorized
inspection agency or the jurisdiction.

Subp. 9. Commissioner. “Commissioner” means the commissioner of the depart-
ment.

Subp. 10. Department. “Department” means the Department of Labor and
Industry.

Subp. 11. Direct supervision. “Direct supervision” by the properly licensed operat-
ing engineer of a boiler plant means oversight of an apprentice’s activities on a boiler
including attendance at the boiler plant at all times.

Subp. 12. Division. “Division” means the Division of Boiler Inspection.

Subp. 13. High pressure boiler. “High pressure boiler” means power boiler as
defined in Section I of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Code.

Subp. 14. Operating engineer. “Operating engineer” means a properly licensed
individual who operates and maintains boilers and their appurtenances.

Subp. 15. Operating experience. “Operating experience’” means activities in boiler
operations and maintenance that include training, observation, and personal partic-
ipation.

Subp. 16. Operation. “Operation” means the act of manipulating and monitoring,
except as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 183.501, paragraph (b), boilers or
appurtenances to assure safe operation for the intended purpose in accordance with
this chapter.

Subp. 17. Repair firm. “Repair firm” means a company or organization that holds
a current “R” repair certificate of authorization issued by the National Board of Boiler
and Pressure Vessel Inspectors and performs welded repairs or alterations on boilers or
pressure vessels. _

Subp. 18. Shift engineer. “Shift engineer” means the operating engineer responsi-
ble to the chief operating engineer in charge of and responsible for the safe operation
of a boiler plant in the absence of the chief engineer.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 19 SR 591

5225.0090 INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.

Subpart 1. General. To the extent adopted by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 183, and
referred to in this chapter, the codes and publications described in this part are
incorporated by reference.

Subp. 2. American Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure Vessel
Code Sections I, I, IIL, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, and XI. The American Society of
Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code is written and published by the
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American Society of Mechanical Engineers, United Engineering Center, 345 East 47th
Street, New York, New York 10017 and can be purchased from the same source. It is
available for inspection at the Science and Engineering Reference Collection, 206
Walter Library, University of Minnesota, 117 Pleasant Street S.E., Minneapolis,
Minnesota 55455. It is subject to frequent change. The publication dates vary by
subject. The most recent publication and addenda are incorporated.

Subp. 3. National Board Inspection Code. The National Board Inspection Code is
written and published by the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors,
1055 Crupper Avenue, Columbus, Ohio 43229 and can be purchased from the same
source. It is available for inspection at the Minnesota State Law Library, Minnesota
Judicial Center, 25 Constitution Avenue, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155. It is subject to
frequent change. The publication date varies. The most recent publication and addenda
are incorporated.

Subp. 4. American Society of Mechanical Engineers Codes -- Standards. The
American Society of Mechanical Engineers Codes -- Standards are submitted for
publication to the American National Standards Institute, 1430 Broadway, New York,
New York 10018 and can be purchased from the same source. They are available for
inspection at the Hill Reference Library, 80 West Fourth Street, Saint Paul, Minnesota
55102. They are subject to frequent change. The publication dates vary by subject. The
most recent publication and addenda are incorporated.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466: 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.0100 APPLICATION FOR OPERATING ENGINEER LICENSE.

Any person desiring to take an examination for a license as an operating engineer
shall make written application under oath, on blanks furnished by the division. The
application shall be accompanied by a corroborating affidavit of at least one employer
or an operating engineer possessing not less than a second class engineer’s license,
certifying to the applicant’s operating experience as stated in the application. If
affidavits are not obtainable, satisfactory evidence of the applicant’s operating experi-
ence must be furnished.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 17 SR 1279; 18 SR 614; 19 SR 591

5225.0200 [Repealed, 10 SR 1379]

5225.0300 EXPIRATION AND RENEWALS.

Subpart 1. Timing. Licenses for operating engineers, unless revoked, are valid for
one year from the date of issuance, with privilege of renewal without examination,
upon application to the division and payment of a renewal fee within ten calendar days
of the expiration date. The renewal license must be given an issue number and the
same monthly date as the original issue. An application for renewal may not be
presented before 30 days preceding the expiration date of the license. Engineers who
fail to renew their licenses before the ten-day grace period has expired are subject to
subparts 2 and 3.

Subp. 2. Renewal application within one year of expiration.A license that has
expired may be renewed within one year of expiration without an examination by filing
an application for renewal, and submitting the expired renewal fee required in part
5225.8600, subpart 2, item C.

Subp. 3. Application beyond one year of expiration. After one year after expiration
of a license, the license will not be renewed. An applicant must reapply as provided in
part 5225.0100.

Statutory Authority: MS s 164.128; 175.71; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465;
183.466; 183.54; 183.545; 183.62; 326.46 to 326.50

History: 12 SR 1148; 18 SR 614; 19 SR 591
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5225.0400 BASIC LICENSE REQUIREMENT AND DUTY.

No person shall have charge of as the engineer or operate any boiler or boiler
plant who does not possess a license of the class required to operate the boiler or
boiler plant.

It is the duty of the owner of a boiler or boiler plant and the chief engineer and all
boiler inspectors, including those employed by insurance companies, to promptly report
to the chief boiler inspector, any boiler or boiler plant in which the engineer has no
license or a license of a lower class than that required by law for the horsepower of the
boiler or boiler plant.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.501;
183.54
History: 19 SR 591

5225.0410 HIGH PRESSURE BOILER CHIEF ENGINEER.

Each boiler plant over 300 horsepower must have designated a chief class
operating engineer of proper grade as the chief engineer of the plant. The chief
engineer shall have the responsibility for ensuring the safe operation and maintenance
of the boiler plant. The requirements of this section are not met unless the chief
engineer has the authority to make decisions to ensure that safety. The chief engineer
shall work on the premises at least four hours per day, five days per week, with the
exception of excused absences, such as vacation, sick leave, and holiday time.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 19 SR 591

5225.0500 EXAMINATIONS.

Subpart 1. Preparation of written examination. The examination questions will be
prepared by the chief boiler inspector. All examinations must be written unless the
applicant is unable to read, or write, in which case the examination will be oral for a
special or second class license. The right to an oral examination for a first or chief class
license shall be determined by the chief boiler inspector based on the applicant’s ability
to demonstrate reading comprehension of statutes, rules, technical boiler operation
manuals, and safety warnings. Decisions of the chief boiler inspector regarding applica-
tion for oral examination may be appealed to the commissioner under part 5225.3200.
A written record of the examination shall be made, and examination papers will be
kept on file for a period of at least one year.

Subp. 2. Minimum grade. No new license of any class will be granted to any
applicant who fails to obtain a score of at least 70 percent in an examination.

Subp. 3. Effect of failure. Applicants who fail to pass an examination shall not be
eligible to take another examination for the same class of license for ten days.

Failure of an applicant to obtain a passing score will not affect the status of any
license currently held, but the fee paid for the examination will not be refunded.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466;
183.54; 183.62
History: 13 SR 1917; 18 SR 614; 19 SR 591

5225.0550 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS AND DOCUMENTATION FOR LICEN-
SURE AS AN OPERATING ENGINEER.

Subpart 1. Compliance requirements. All applicants must comply with this chapter
and Minnesota Statutes, sections 183.375 to 183.62. The experience requirements are
detailed in this part and documentation requirements are detailed in subpart 9.
Applicants with previous experience in a jurisdiction requiring licensure must show
proof of compliance with the licensure requirements of that jurisdiction in order to
receive credit for the experience. All applicants for licensure as an operating engineer
or hobby operating engineer, shall provide documentation of operating experience for
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the level of class/grade applied for in accordance with subparts 2 to 8. To be acceptable
for this purpose, operating experience must have occurred within the ten years prior to
the license application. The chief boiler inspector may allow earlier operating experi-
ence if that experience is pertinent to current operations.

Subp. 2. Special class experience requirements. A special class license requires
only a signed application form. No previous experience is necessary.

Subp. 3. Second class experience requirements. A second class license requires one
year of operating experience, documented as described in subpart 9, on a boiler of
proper size under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.51, subdivisions 10 to 12.

Subp. 4. First class experience requirements. A first class license requires three
years of operating experience, documented as described in subpart 9, on a boiler of
proper size under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.51, subdivisions 7 to 9.

Subp. 5. Chief class experience requirements. A chief class license requires five
years of operating experience, documented as described in subpart 9, on a boiler of
proper size which must include one year as a licensed first class engineer, under
Minnesota Statutes, section 183.51, subdivisions 4 to 6.

Subp. 6. Requirements for Grade A licensure. The requirements for a Grade A
license are:

A. Second Class: one year of operating experience on a high pressure boiler,
documented as described in subpart 9, which must include one year of operation of a
steam engine or turbine.

B. First Class: three years of operating experience on a high pressure boiler,
documented as described in subpart 9, of which at least two years must include
operation of a steam engine or turbine.

C. Chief Class: five years of operating experience on a high pressure boiler,
documented as described in subpart 9, including at least two years of operation of a
steam engine or turbine.

Subp. 7. [Repealed, 18 SR 614]
Subp. 8. Hobby operating engineer license experience and documentation.

A. Experience. An applicant for a hobby operating engineer license must have
at least 25 hours operating experience on a steam traction engine or hobby boiler under
the supervision of an operating engineer.

B. Documentation. An affidavit of experience must be signed by a person with
sufficient knowledge of the applicant’s operating experience prior to the applicant
taking the examination. The person signing the affidavit must have observed the
applicant operating the steam traction engine or hobby boiler and must possess either a
valid Minnesota hobby operating engineer license or a valid second class, or higher,
Minnesota operating engineer’s license. However, if the experience claimed is acquired
from outside the state of Minnesota, documentation under the last paragraph of
subpart 9 applies.

Subp. 9. Supporting documentation. Acceptable forms of documentation of experi-
ence are:

A. notarized affidavits, prescribed by the department and signed by the owner,
employer, or a person possessing a valid Minnesota second class or higher operating
engineer license; .

B. documentation from the military or maritime service verifying actual
operating experience; or

C. a notarized letter from an employer on the employer’s business stationery
containing verification of operating experience sufficient to determine the appropriate
class and grade of license for which the applicant may apply.

If the documentation described in items A to C cannot be obtained, other forms of
documentation in which the information can be verified and which are sufficient to
determine the appropriate class and grade, may be submitted to the chief boiler
inspector for consideration.
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Subp. 10. Year defined. For purposes of this chapter, a “year” is at least 2,000
hours. However, in the case of low pressure heating boilers, a year is defined as a
12-month period which includes the heating season operating, and the remainder of the
year maintaining, the low pressure boiler.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 175.71; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465;
183.466; 183.54; 183.62

History: 13 SR 1917; 17 SR 1279; 18 SR 614; 19 SR 591

5225.0600 PROHIBITION AGAINST FALSE STATEMENTS IN APPLICATION.

Any material false statement in an application or affidavit such that the license
would not have been granted if the accurate information had been provided, shall
render the license void. The license shall not be determined to be void until the license
holder has been provided with the opportunity for a meet and confer conference and/or
an administrative hearing pursuant to part 5225.0880, subpart 5, and the requirements
of the Administrative Procedure Act, and the charge of a materially false statement is
upheld.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.0700 LOSS OR DESTRUCTION OF LICENSE.

Upon application by the license holder stating that a current operating engineer’s
license issued under the authority of this chapter for display has been lost, destroyed,
or not received, a replacement license will be issued for the fee in part 5225.8600,
subpart 2, item D. Upon presentation of a written statement of fact showing that a
current operating engineer’s license issued under the authority of this chapter in wallet
size has been lost, destroyed, or not received, a replacement license will be issued for
the fee in part 5225.8600, subpart 2, item D.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.0800 [Repealed, 13 SR 1917]

5225.0880 DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES.

Subpart 1. License revocation suspensions. The commissioner may suspend or
revoke the operating engineer’s or pilot’s license, direct the person to cease the action
or operation, seal the boiler or pressure vessel, or seek a restraining order in district
court if the holder of a license of any class, including pilots of boats for hire, or the
owner of a boiler or pressure vessel violates any provision of Minnesota Statutes,
sections 183.375 to 183.62, or this chapter, or operates or allows a boiler or pressure
vessel to be operated under unsafe or dangerous conditions, or the holder of a license
of any class, including pilots of boats for hire, has obtained a license of any grade based
on a materially false application or affidavit, or an owner of a boiler fails to employ
operating engineers to operate the boiler, or fails to make necessary repairs to an
unsafe boiler or pressure vessel. In deciding what action to take, the commissioner shall
consider the seriousness of the violation, the likelihood of a repeat occurrence, and the
actual or potential threat to property or life caused by the violation.

Subp. 2. Complaints. All complaints related to license qualification or unsafe
operating practices, whether filed by a boiler inspector of the department or any other
person, must be in writing to the chief boiler inspector on forms prescribed by the
commissioner. Notices of unsafe objects shall be prepared by a boiler inspector of the
department on forms prescribed by the commissioner.

Upon the filing of a complaint with the chief boiler inspector charging the owner
or license holder with engaging in a prohibited or unsafe activity described in subpart 1,
the chief boiler inspector shall direct an investigation as necessary and report to the
commissioner if the chief boiler inspector believes further action is necessary.
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Unless the commissioner seeks a restraining order in district court, the commis-
sioner shall serve on the owner or license holder, by first class or certified mail or in
person, notice of the alleged violation, the proposed action to be taken, and of the
opportunity for a conference and a contested case proceeding under subpart 3.

Subp. 3. Show cause conference. If the charge is that a license holder or owner has
violated a provision of Minnesota Statutes, sections 183.375 to 183.62 or this chapter,
or is operating a boiler or pressure vessel in an unsafe or dangerous condition, or with
unlicensed or improperly licensed engineers, or a decision of a boiler inspector is being
appealed pursuant to part 5225.3200, the commissioner shall give the owner or license
holder the opportunity to request a conference to show cause (1) why an order should
not be issued suspending or revoking the holder’s license or directing the person to
cease and desist the prohibited activity or operatlon or (2) why the decision of the
boiler inspector should not stand.

The person charged may request a show cause conference in writing that must be
received by the commissioner within ten working days after the notice provided for in
subpart 2 was served. If a timely request is not made, the commissioner may issue the
proposed order.

The show cause conference must be scheduled within 20 working days of the
receipt of a timely request. Findings and an order must be served and filed by the
commissioner within ten working days after the conference is held.

Orders issued under this subpart must include notice of the right to a contested
case proceeding under the Administrative Procedure Act before an administrative law
judge. An owner or license holder who disagrees with the commissioner’s order issued
pursuant to this subpart may request a contested case hearing for a final determination
in accordance with subpart 7. If a contested case hearing is requested, the commission-
er’s order shall be stayed pending a final determination after the contested case
hearing.

Subp. 4. Unsafe objects; administrative conference. If an inspector of the depart-
ment has determined that the operation of a boiler by an unlicensed or improperly
licensed person creates an imminent danger to human life or property or that repair or
replacement is necessary to ensure safe operation of a boiler or pressure vessel, a
notice of unsafe object must be placed on the boiler or pressure vessel. In addition to
the notice requirements of subpart 2, the notice of unsafe object must state that the
boiler or pressure vessel may not be operated until the object is satisfactorily repaired
or replaced and the notice of unsafe object is removed by the inspector, until properly
licensed persons are assigned to operate the equipment, or the commissioner orders
the notice of unsafe object removed from the boiler or pressure vessel.

The commissioner shall give the owner of the boiler or pressure vessel the
opportunity for a conference to show cause why the boiler or pressure vessel should not
remain sealed until repaired or replaced or until properly licensed persons are available
to operate the boiler. The owner must request a show cause conference in writing, in
person, or by phone, within three working days of the date the notice of unsafe object
was placed on the boiler or pressure vessel. If a request for a show cause conference is
not timely received, the commissioner may order that the boiler or pressure vessel
remain sealed pending repair, replacement, or operation by properly licensed person-
nel.

The show cause conference must be held within two working days of receipt of a
timely request or at a later date upon mutual con$ent of the parties. Immediately upon
completion of the conference, the commissioner must provide a verbal order, to be
followed by written findings and an order, that must be served and filed within ten
working days after the conference is held.

Orders must include notice of the right to a contested case proceeding under the
Administrative Procedure Act before an administrative law judge. An owner who
disagrees with the commissioner’s order issued pursuant to this part, may request a
contested case hearing for a final determination in accordance with subpart 7. Once a
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notice of unsafe object is placed on the boiler or pressure vessel, the boiler or pressure
vessel may not be operated pending a show cause conference or a contested case
proceeding until the tag is removed by the inspector, or the commissioner issues an
order allowing the object to be placed into service.

Subp. 5. Materially false statement; meet and confer conference. If the charge is
that the holder of a license obtained the license based on a materially false application
or affidavit, the commissioner shall give the license holder the opportunity for an
informal meet and confer session with representatives of the department. The license
holder must request the conference in writing within ten days of the date the notice in
subpart 2 was served. The session must be scheduled within 20 working days of the
receipt of a timely request.

If no timely request for a meet and confer session is received, or if no mutually
acceptable resolution can be reached at the meet and confer session, the commissioner
shall initiate a contested case hearing pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act to
determine whether the license should be revoked.

Subp. 6. Manner of conference. A show cause conference or a meet and confer
session shall be conducted in an informal manner. No transcript will be made; however,
the proceedings may be recorded. Each party may be represented by an attorney or
may be accompanied by another person not an attorney. Parties may produce witnesses
and documents to support their position.

Subp. 7. Contested case hearing. A person who disagrees with an order of the
commissioner issued pursuant to subpart 3 or 4 may request a de novo hearing under
the contested case proceedings of the Administrative Procedure Act within 30 days of
service of the order. Upon receipt of the findings of fact and recommendations of the
administrative law judge, the commissioner shall serve and file a final order by regular
or certified mail. This order shall be the order of the commissioner in a contested case.

Subp. 8. Injunctive relief. At any time before or after the commissioner issues an
order under this part, the commissioner may discontinue the administrative proceed-
ings and initiate an action in district court for injunctive relief. A notice of unsafe
object or an order of the commissioner issued pursuant to subpart 4, shall remain in
effect until a district court judge orders otherwise.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.0900 DISPLAY OF LICENSE.

Licenses granted must be displayed in a conspicuous place in the engine or boiler
room. Boiler plants operated by a contract operating engineer must have a copy of the
operating engineer’s license of each person who may be operating the boiler posted in
each boiler room.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466;
183.54; 183.62

History: 13 SR 1917; 18 SR 614; 19 SR 591
5225.1000 BOILER HORSEPOWER RATING.

In rating the horsepower of a boiler plant, inspectors shall use the horsepower of
each boiler and compute the total horsepower of all boilers connected to the header,
whether all the boilers are in use or not.

Where the heating surface cannot be discerned, the boiler horsepower shall be
determined by calculating Btu boiler-rated input divided by 67,000.

For purposes of operating engineer license requirements, boiler horsepower for
conventional boilers and steam coil type generators is determined as provided in
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Minnesota Statutes, section 183.51, subdivision 15. For electrically operated boilers for
this purpose, ten kilowatts equal one boiler horsepower.
Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.1100 [Repealed, 19 SR 591]

5225.1110 BOILER OPERATION STANDARDS; ALL PLANTS.

Subpart 1. Safe boiler operation. All boilers, unless specifically exempted by
Minnesota Statutes, section 183.56, must be operated, maintained, and attended by an
operating engineer in a prudent and attentive manner to avoid endangering human life
and property. At a minimum, all operating boilers must be checked by an operating
engineer in compliance with this chapter. Specific minimum attendance requirements
for hobby boilers are given in part 5225.1140 and specific minimum attendance
requirements for high pressure plants are given in part 5225.1180.

In determining whether a boiler is operated, maintained, and attended in a
prudent and attentive manner, the division and the chief engineer or operating
engineer shall consider the recommendations of the American Society of Mechanical
Engineers Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, Section VI, for low pressure and Section
VII, for high pressure along with the following additional factors:

A. the size or capacity of the boiler plant;

B. the condition of boilers and appurtenances;

C. the frequency of boiler checks and past maintenance history;

D. the extent of public occupancy of the building containing the boiler plant;

E. the operating service conditions, including weather;

F. compliance with other statutes and rules of this division; and

G. any other factor which would adversely affect the safety of the boiler.

A logbook must be maintained in the boiler room by the chief engineer or an

operating engineer designated by the chief engineer. The log shall document when the
boiler checks were made, who made the boiler checks, and what specific checks of

equipment were made. This log shall be made available to the boiler inspector during
inspections and at other times upon request of the boiler inspector.

Subp. 2. Unsafe boiler plant. If the chief engineer or operating engineer has found
the boiler to be in an unsafe condition, the engineer shall notify the owner or employer
and the chief boiler inspector as soon as possible. If the unsafe boiler is not
immediately taken out of service, the chief engineer or operating engineer shall ensure
that the boiler is continuously monitored by an operating engineer, 24 hours per day,
until the division has either sealed the object, verified that the unsafe condition has
been corrected, or determined that continuous monitoring is no longer required.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.001; 183.42: 183.44; 183.45; 183.465;
183.466; 183.54

History: /9 SR 591; 21 SR 1897

5225.1140 ATTENDANCE OF HOBBY BOILERS.
Subpart 1. [Repealed, 21 SR 1897]
Subp. 2. [Repealed, 21 SR 1897]

Subp. 3. Hobby boiler. A hobby boiler may not be left unattended when in
operation and members of the public are present. For purposes of this part, a traction
engine may be considered as not being in operation when all of the following
conditions exist:

A. the water level is at least one-third of the water gage glass;
B. the header or dome valve is in a closed position;
C. the draft doors are closed;
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D. the fire is banked or extinguished; and

E. the boiler pressure is at least 20 pounds per square inch below the safety
valve relieving pressure.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.001; 183.42; 183.44; 183.45; 183.465;
183.466; 183.54

History: 19 SR 591; 21 SR 1897

5225.1180 ATTENDANCE AT HIGH PRESSURE PLANT.

Subpart 1. Attendance; plant of 0 to 30 horsepower. At a minimum, a high
pressure boiler plant of 0 to 30 horsepower, when in operation, must be checked daily
by an operating engineer.

Subp. 2. Attendance; plant of 31 to 200 horsepower.

A. A high pressure boiler plant of 31 to 200 horsepower may be left in
operation unattended by an operating engineer for no more than two consecutive hours
when the premises are occupied by employees or the public, except as permitted by
item B.

B. A high pressure boiler plant of 31 to 200 horsepower is exempt from the
high pressure attendance requirements of item A, but must be checked at least daily,
under the following conditions:

(1) the boiler is equipped with dual pressure controls and dual low water
fuel cutouts and the boiler does not exceed 15 pounds per square inch operating
pressure at any time during the operating engineer’s absence;

(2) the boiler is equipped with fail-safe type safety controls or valves
regulating pressure, temperature, water level, and control supply lines. Fuel control and
safety devices must meet at least the minimum requirements for automatically fired
boilers in Sections I and IV of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler
and Pressure Vessel Code;

(3) the valves and controls must be manually switched over by the
operating engineer, the dates and time must be entered in the boiler room log, and the
entry must be signed by the operating engineer;

(4) the building in which the boiler is located is not occupied by the
public or employees except for custodial, maintenance, or security personnel; and

(5) the boiler is for supplying steam directly to a low pressure header
with header safety valves set at or below 15 pounds per square inch and is of adequate
capacity to prevent a pressure rise above 15 pounds per square inch in the system. The
shutoff valve between the high and low pressure systems must be electrically inter-
locked with the low pressure control system so that the crossover valve 1s in the open
position while operating on low pressure.

Subp. 3. Attendance; plant over 200 horsepower.

A. A high pressure boiler plant of more than 200 horsepower, when in
operation, requires constant attendance, except as otherwise provided in item B.

B. The shift engineer in a high pressure boiler plant of over 200 horsepower
may leave the boiler room for up to 30 minutes if all boilers are equipped with dual
pressure controls and dual low water fuel cutouts, one of which must be the manual
reset type. The shift engineer must stay within 500 feet of the boiler room at all times
during the shift.

Subp. 4. Limitations. The absences described in subparts 2, item A, and 3, item B,
may not approach nearly continuous absence from the plant.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.001; 183.42; 183.44; 183.45; 183.465;
183.466; 183.54

History: 19 SR 591; 21 SR 1897
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5225.1200 INSPECTORS.

Subpart 1. License requirement. All inspectors whether jurisdictional or in the
employ of insurance companies performing inspections in Minnesota shall possess a
National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessels Inspectors’ Commission issued by the
National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors, and a Minnesota certificate
of competency and shall place on inspection reports the serial number of their
Minnesota state certificate of competency. The serial number of the applicant’s
national board commission must be registered with the division before or at the time of
application for the Minnesota certificate of competency. A Minnesota state certificate
of competency is issued by the division according to Minnesota Statutes, section 183.38,
subdivision 2.

Subp. 2. [Repealed, 19 SR 591]
Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.1225 AUTHORIZED INSPECTOR.

Subpart 1. Qualifications. In order to qualify as an authorized inspector, an
applicant shall possess a National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors’
Commission from the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors and
receive an A endorsement and obtain a current Minnesota certificate of competency.
Persons with a B endorsement as of September 1, 1992, may maintain their status as
authorized inspectors by complying with national board requirements and annual
renewal requirements if they are supervised by a supervisor with a B endorsement. An
authorized inspector may perform any inspection duty, including shop and in-service.

Subp. 2. Examinations, State or insurance company commissioned inspectors
seeking a license as an authorized inspector on new construction of boilers or pressure
vessels shall qualify for an A endorsement by passing a written examination prepared
by the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors. The examinations will
be held at Saint Paul, Minnesota, by the division at times the commissioner may
prescribe.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 19 SR 591

5225.1300 OPERATORS OF RAILROAD LOCOMOTIVES.

Operators of railroad locomotives which are utilized for such stationary purpose as
generating steam for power or heating are required to have the proper class of
operating engineer licenses issued by the division.

Operators of railroad locomotives engaged in intrastate or-interstate commerce
and operators of boilers in private residences and dwellings with accommodations for
five or fewer families are not required to possess operating engineers’ licenses issued by
the division. K

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171: 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54

History: 79 SR 591
5225.1350 PROPERTY DAMAGE OR PERSONAL INJURY REPORT.

Insurance inspectors or owners of boilers shall make a written report to the chief
boiler inspector of incidents involving boilers and pressure vessels covered under this
chapter that result in personal injury, destruction of the object, any property damage,
or repairs not of a routine nature. These incidents shall be reported on the National
Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors, Incident Report form.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591
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5225.1400 VIOLATIONS.

Failure of any licensee to comply with any provision of this chapter shall constitute
grounds for suspending the offending operating engineer’s license for from ten to 30
days, and for repeated or grave offenses an operating engineer’s license may be
revoked as provided in part 5225.0880.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 19 SR 591

5225.2000 [Repealed, 13 SR 1917]

INSPECTIONS

5225.2050 MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE WORKING PRESSURE.

The maximum allowable working pressure for boilers and pressure vessels must
not exceed that determined for those objects in Section I for high pressure boilers,
Section IV for low pressure boilers, or Section VIII for unfired vessels of the American
Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 19 SR 591

5225.2100 STAMPS ON BOILER AND PRESSURE VESSELS.

Every boiler or pressure vessel, unless specifically exempted by Minnesota Statutes,
section 183.56, for use in this state must conform in every detail to the boiler and
pressure vessel laws of the state as provided in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 183, and
this chapter. Each boiler or pressure vessel must be constructed in compliance with and
stamped with the respective American Society of Mechanical Engineers Code Symbol
Stamp, or international code symbol accepted by the National Board, and the National
Board symbol registration number or the Minnesota Special (MINN. SPC). Stamping
must be witnessed by an Authorized Inspector. Information as to construction stamp
requirements shall be provided to contractors by the chief boiler inspector. The chief
boiler inspector may, at the request of the manufacturer, designate any authorized
inspector to make the shop inspection, for which the manufacturer shall pay the
required fee pursuant to part 5225.8600, subpart 4, plus travel expenses.

All owners of new or used boilers shall notify the division before the installation is
completed. Before the equipment is put into service, hydrostatic testing must be
applied to the boiler and appurtenances and witnessed by a commissioned inspector
who holds a Minnesota certificate of competency. If the boiler and appurtenances are
in conformance with adopted standards, the inspector must file the results with the
chief boiler inspector and a certificate of inspection will be issued for that object.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917, 19 SR 591

5225.2200 ITEMS REQUIRING IN-SERVICE INSPECTION.

Subpart 1. Inspection. A commissioned inspector holding a Minnesota Certificate
of Competency shall inspect all boilers or steam generators, fired or unfired pressure
vessels, and appurtenances for their safe operation and condition, and all pressure
piping connecting them to the appurtenances, and all piping up to the first stop valve,
or the second valve when two are required in accordance with inspection requirements
in Section 1 of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure
Vessel Code and the National Board Inspection Code. They must be properly prepared
for inspection and the inspector given at least 48 hours’ notice before the time of the
inspection.

Subp. 2. Certificate of inspection. A certificate of inspection will be issued by the
division upon the object passing the inspection required by the division and the
payment of the appropriate fee.
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Subp. 3. Certificate of exemption. An exemption certificate will be issued as
provided in part 5225.3150, subpart 2, if the object is in conformance with part
5225.3150, subpart 1.

Subp. 4. Display of certificate. A certificate of inspection or exemption issued by
the division must be displayed in a conspicuous place on or near any boiler or pressure
vessel subject to this chapter.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466, 183.54

History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.2300 EXCEPTIONS TO THIS CHAPTER.

The objects described in Minnesota Statutes, section 183.56, clauses (1) to (18),
are exempt from this chapter.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42: 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54;
183.56

History: 19 SR 591

5225.2400 RELOCATION OF USED BOILERS OR VESSELS.

Before the transfer of ownership of or before relocation of a used boiler or
pressure vessel or the owner shall cause it to be inspected by a commissioned inspector,
and in computing the safe working pressure, the inspector shall use a safety factor of at
least six on noncode boilers and pressure vessels having a butt strap joint and at least a
factor of seven on a lap seam joint. If the used boiler or pressure vessel changes
ownership, the new owner shall arrange the inspection.

For purposes of this part, noncode boilers and pressure vessels are those that have
not been built to the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure
Vessel Code specifications.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54

History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.2500 LOW WATER DEVICES.

Subpart 1. [Repealed, 13 SR 1917]

Subp. 2. [Repealed, 13 SR 1917]

Subp. 3. Requirements. The following must be equipped with a low water cutout
that will shut off the fuel supply in case of a low water condition:

A. each automatically fired steam boiler; and

B. each automatically fired hot water heating boiler or other hot liquid boiler
plants of two or more boilers with individual isolating valves connected to a common
header with a total heat input exceeding 750,000 Btu per hour input.

Subp. 4. Flow-sensing device required. The following must have a flow-sensing
device installed in the outlet piping instead of the low water fuel cutoff required in
subpart 3 to automatically cut off the fuel supply when the circulating flow is
interrupted:

A. a coil type boiler plant exceeding 750,000 Btu; and
B. a watertube boiler plant with heat input greater than 750,000 Btu per hour
requiring forced circulation to prevent overheating of the coils or tubes.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.44 subd 2; 183.465; 183.466
History: 13 SR 1917

5225.2600 REPAIRS AND ALTERATIONS; REPORTING.

Subpart 1. Prior notice of repair or alteration. The owner or person in charge of a
boiler, steam generator, or pressure vessel shall notify the Chief Boiler Inspector or, if
the object is insured, the owner or person in charge shall notify the insurer, before each
welded or riveted repair or any alteration is made to the pressure containing parts of a
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boiler or pressure vessel. The authorized inspector will review and accept or reject the
computations for the safe working pressure of the repaired or altered object.

Subp. 2. Standard of repairs. The National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel
Inspectors’ repair (R) stamp and current Repair Certificate of Authorization are
required for performing any welded or riveted repairs or any alterations to any boiler
or pressure vessel subject to inspection as specified in Minnesota Statutes, sections
183.375 to 183.62.

All alterations must be in compliance with the National Board Inspection Code
and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code
sections for construction of that object.

Subp. 3. Inspection and reporting. Any welded or riveted repairs or any alteration
must be reported by the repair firm to the authorized inspection agency responsible for
the in-service inspection of the boiler or pressure vessel. The inspection of the repair or
alteration and the certification of repairs and alterations required by subpart 2 must be
made by an authorized inspector who is employed by an authorized inspection agency
under contract with the firm doing the repairs.

An authorized inspection agency is:
A. the division;

B. another governmental regulatory agency which is accepted by the National
Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors as an inspection agency; or

C. the insurance company authorized by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 183, to
provide the in-service inspection of the boiler or pressure vessel.

When a welded repair does not require form R-1 as prescribed by the National
Board Inspection Code, then documentation detailing the repair and any test results
must be submitted to the chief boiler inspector and the owner by the repair firm, which
must retain a copy.

It is the responsibility of the repair firm making the welded or riveted repair or
alteration to arrange for inspection, documentation, and certification of the work, and
to ensure acceptance of the work by an authorized inspection agency.

Completion of the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors’ R-1,
Report of Welded Repair or Alteration, form is required for all welded or riveted
repairs not of a routine nature and all alterations as required by the National Board
Inspection Code Chapter 3. It is the responsibility of the repair firm to prepare the
form, certify it, and submit it to the authorized inspector for acceptance. Distribution of
the form must be as provided in the National Board Inspection Code with one copy of
the completed form sent to the division.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.2610 OWNER REPAIR PROGRAM.

Subject to written approval of their repair program from the department, an owner
with a boiler exceeding 200,000 pounds per hour of steam may perform repairs to their
boiler or safety relief valves as allowed by and meeting the requirements of Sections I,
IV, and VIII of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure
Vessel Code and the National Board Inspection Code. The granting of the approval
does not allow repair of high pressure piping under the authority of and as defined by
Minnesota Statutes, section 326.461.

The owner repair program must include: organization, design control, material
control, control of work, inspection, welding, nondestructive testing, records, repair
reporting, and provision for system test and inspection by a commissioned inspector
holding a Minnesota Certificate of Competency. Before acceptance of the repair
program, the chief boiler inspector must review the program. The program shall not be
approved until the chief boiler inspector is satisfied that the program elements listed in
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this part are complete and acceptable and the allowance for independent third-party
inspection controls are adequate and acceptable.

The commissioner of the department may withdraw program approval, with cause,
upon the recommendation of the chief boiler inspector. The commissioner must
provide the owner with written notification of the department’s intent to withdraw
program approval and the reasons for the action. The owner, upon receipt of the
commissioner’s notification, has 30 calendar days to implement the required corrective
actions to the satisfaction of the chief boiler inspector. The acceptance or rejection of
all corrective actions shall be by the chief boiler inspector and must be in writing.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42: 183.44; 183.465; 163.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.2700 REPAIRS BY INSPECTORS PROHIBITED.
Boiler inspectors shall not make any of the repairs they order to boilers.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.001; 183.42; 183.44; 183.45; 183.465:
183.466; 183.54

History: 19 SR 591; 21 SR 1897
5225.2800 [Repealed, 13 SR 1917]
52252900 SALES BY INSPECTORS PROHIBITED.

Boiler inspectors shall not sell, nor be interested in the sale directly or indirectly of
articles or accessories used in the maintenance of boilers and steam machinery, to the
owners of the boilers or pressure vessels which they inspect.

Statutory Authority: MSs 175.171
5225.3000 PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT OF INSPECTORS.

Boiler inspectors shall at all times extend courteous treatment to those whom they
serve and to the public, and make special effort to avoid controversy by referring
disputes to the office of the chief boiler inspector. Inspectors shall not commence any
legal proceedings relating to the enforcement of boiler, license, or inspection laws prior
to submitting the matter to the chief boiler inspector; nor shall they divulge to any
person their personal opinions of findings pertaining to their duties as inspectors or
disclose to the public any matter of a private nature in the possession of the division.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 19 SR 591

5225.3100 INSURED COVERAGE REPORT.

Every insurance company insuring a boiler or pressure vessel must notify the
division in writing within 30 days of the effective date of coverage (including binders).
It must also mail a duplicate of the notification to the assured, who shall, until receipt
of exemption certificate, display the notice in a conspicuous place near the boiler or
pressure vessel. The person, firm, or corporation operating the insured boiler or
pressure vessel shall procure and display an exemption certificate as provided in part
5225.3150 within a period of 90 days from the date of coverage, and keep it displayed
in a conspicuous place near the boiler or pressure vessel.

If the certificate is not displayed within 90 days from date of coverage the boiler
inspector from the division shall make the usual and customary inspection of the boiler
or pressure vessel and charge the statutory fee.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.001; 183.42; 183.44; 183.45; 183.465;
183.466; 183.54

History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591; 21 SR 1897
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5225.3150 INSURANCE COMPANY INSPECTIONS.

Subpart 1. Annual inspection report. An insurance company insuring a boiler or
pressure vessel pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 183.57, shall mail the annual
inspection report to the chief boiler inspector within 15 days of the inspection and a
copy to the owner or operator of the boiler. If a report is not filed with the department
within 45 days of the date the annual inspection is due, a department boiler inspector
shall make the required inspection and charge the insurance company at the shop
inspection rate for the inspection, including the reasonable costs of the inspection such
as the mileage, meals, and hotel expenses incurred.

Subp. 2. Certificate. The division shall issue a certificate of exemption from
division inspection for each boiler or pressure vessel for which it has received an
inspection report from the insurer. Exemption from inspection by the division does not
signify exemption from any of the other requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter
183, or this chapter. The fees are as provided in part 5225.8600, subpart 6. The
certificate of exemption expires when the boiler or pressure vessel is due for its next
inspection under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.57, subdivision 1.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466, 183.54
History: 19 SR 591

5225.3200 APPEALS.

Any person aggrieved by any action or decision of a boiler inspector may request a
reconsideration by the commissioner, in the manner provided for a conference under
part 5225.0880, subpart 3. The commissioner may affirm, modify, or rescind the action
or decision. The parties affected by an action or decision of the commissioner may
request a hearing at the Office of Administrative Hearings under Minnesota Statutes,
sections 14.57 to 14.69, and as provided in part 5225.0880, subparts 7 and 8.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54

History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.3300 GROUNDS FOR SUSPENSION OR DISMISSAL.

The failure of any inspector to comply with any of the foregoing rules may
constitute sufficient grounds for the temporary suspension of such inspector; repeated
neglect to comply with same shall be sufficient grounds for dismissal from the service.

Statutory Authority: MSs 175.171
5225.3400 [Repealed, 19 SR 591]
5225.3500 [Repealed, 19 SR 591]

BOILER SAFETY

5225.4000 BLOWOFF TANKS.

Blowoff tanks must meet the requirements of the National Board Inspection Code
27, Rules and Recommendations for the Design and Construction of Boiler Blowoff
Systems.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54

History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.4100 SAFETY VALVES.

Every high pressure or low pressure boiler must have at least one safety valve. A
high pressure boiler of more than 500 square feet of water heating surface must have
two or more safety valves. All safety valves must meet the requirements of Section I,
IV, or VIII of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure
Vessel Code, and be so stamped, and be set no higher than the maximum allowable
working pressure on the inspector’s certificate for that boiler.
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Every safety valve must be connected to the boiler independent of any other
connections, and attached as close as possible to the boiler, without any unnecessary
pipe or fitting and must stand in an upright position. No valve of any description may
be placed between the required safety valve or valves and the boiler, nor on the
discharge pipe between the safety valve and the point of discharge. All safety valves
must discharge at a point of safety not less than seven feet from running boards,
platforms, or adjacent areas. No reduction in pipe size is allowed in discharge piping
from a safety valve. The discharge pipe must be of sufficient size to allow complete
discharge without back pressure.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.4200 WATER GAGE.

When the boiler operating pressure exceeds 100 pounds per square inch, the water
gage glass must be fitted with either a gate-type or plug-type valved drain to a safe
discharge point.

If the lowest water gage shutoff valve is more than seven feet above the floor or
platform from which it is operated, the operating mechanism must indicate by its
position whether the valve is opened or closed. Installation must meet the requirements
of Section I of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure
Vessel Code for high pressure boilers or Section 1V for low pressure boilers.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.4300 WATER COLUMN SHUTOFFS.

When shutoffs are used in pipe connections between a boiler and water column or
between a boiler and the shutoff valves required for the gage glass they must be either
outside-screw-and-yoke or lever-lifting type gate valves or stopcocks with levers perma-
nently fastened and marked in line with their passage, or other through-flow construc-
tion to prevent stoppage by deposits of sediment. These valves must indicate by the
position of the operating mechanism whether they are in open or closed position; and
the valves or cocks shall be locked or sealed open. Where valves are used they must be
a type with the plug held in place by a guard or gland.

The steam and water connections to a water column, including all pipe, fittings,
valves, and drains must be readily accessible for internal inspection and cleaning by
providing a cross or fitting with a back outlet at each right-angle turn, or by using pipe
bends or fittings which will permit the passage of a rotary cleaner. The water column
shall be fitted with at least a three-fourths inch pipe size valve drain with a suitable
connection to'a safe discharge point.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.4400 STEAM GAGE.

For steam boilers the steam gages must meet the requirements of Section I for
high pressure boilers, and section IV for low pressure boilers of the American Society
of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code to correctly record pressure.

Each steam gage must be connected to a siphon of at least one-fourth inch pipe
size and be fitted with a valve provided with a tee or lever handle arranged to be
parallel to the pipe in which it is located when the valve is open. If the pipe is longer
than ten feet, a shutoff valve or valve arranged so that it can be locked or sealed open
may be used near the boiler.
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The dial of the steam gage must be graduated to approximately double the
pressure at which the safety valve is set but in no case to less than 1-1/2 times this
pressure. '

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591 '

5225.4500 VALVES AND FITTINGS.

Valves and pipe fittings must conform to the American Society of Mechanical
Engineers Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code which adopts American National Standards
Institute standards for the maximum allowable working pressure. Fusion welded joints
are permitted if the welding procedure and operator are qualified as required in
Section IX of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure
Vessel Code.

All valves and fittings on all feedwater piping from the boiler up to and including
the first stop valve and the check valve must be equal at least to the requirements of
the standard accepted by Section I of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code for pressure 1.25 times the maximum allowable
working pressure of the boiler.

All valves and fittings for feedwater piping between the required check valve and
the globe or regulating valve, and including any bypass piping up to and including the
shutoff valves in the bypass, must be equal at least to the saturated requirements set
out in Section I of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure
Vessel Code. The valves and fittings must have a pressure rating at least equal to the
expected operating pressure required to feed the boiler for a saturated steam tempera-
ture corresponding to the minimum set pressure of any safety valve on the boiler drum
or for the actual temperature of the water, whichever is greater.

Valves and fittings made of any material permitted by I of the American Society of
Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code for pressure ratings of 125
pounds or more and marked as required by the code may take up to 20 percent
reduction in pressure rating when used for feed line and blowoff service.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.4600 STOP VALVES.

Each steam-discharge outlet, except safety valve, reheater inlet and outlet, or
superheater inlet connections, must be fitted with a stop valve located at an accessible
point in the steam-delivery line and as near to the boiler nozzle as convenient and
practicable. When the outlets are over two inches pipe size, the valve or valves used on
the connection must be the outside-screw-and-yoke rising-spindle type to indicate at a
distance by the position of its spindle whether it is closed or open. A plug-cock-type
valve may be used provided the plug is held in place by a guard or gland, and it is
equipped to indicate at a distance whether it is closed or open and it is equipped with a
slow-opening mechanism.

Statutory Authority: MS s 183.44 subd 2; 183.465; 183.466
History: 13 SR 1917

5225.4700 COMMON MAIN CONNECTION.

When two or more boilers are connected to a common steam main, the steam
connection from each boiler having a manhole opening must be fitted with two stop
valves having an ample free-blow drain between them. The stop valves installed on high
pressure steam boilers must consist of either one automatic nonreturn valve, set next to
the boiler and a second valve of the outside-screw-and-yoke type; or two valves of the

Copyright © 1999 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
s




MINNESOTA RULES 1999
1061 BOILERS AND POWER BOATS 5225.5100

outside-screw-and-yoke type. The free blow drain must ensure complete removal of all
condensate and steam from between the two stop valves.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.4800 BLOWOFF PIPING; VALVES AND FITTINGS.

Each boiler must have a bottom blowoff pipe fitted with a valve or cock in direct
connection with the lowest water space practicable.

All fittings between the boiler and valves must be of steel for pressure over 100
pounds per square inch.

For pressures up to 200 pounds per square inch cast iron valves may be used if
they meet the requirements of Section I of the American Society of Mechanical
Engineers Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, which adopts the American National
Standards Institute Standard for 250 pounds; and if of steel must be equal to the
requirements of Section I of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Code, which adopts the American National Standards Institute Stan-
dard. For pressures over 200 pounds per square inch the valves or cocks must be of
steel and at least equal to the requirements of Section I of the American Society of
Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code which adopts the American
National Standards Institute Standard.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54
History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.4900 BLOWOFF PIPING.

On all stationary boilers, when the allowable working pressure exceeds 100 pounds
per square inch, each bottom blowoff pipe must have two slow-opening valves, or one
slow-opening valve and a quick-opening valve or a cock complying with Section VII of
the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code. The
quick-opening valve, if used, must be located nearest the boiler.

The bottom blowoff pipes of every traction and/or portable boiler must have at
least one slow-or-quick-opening blowoff valve or cock conforming to the American
Society of Mechanical Engineers Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code Section VII require-
ment.

Blowoff valves and cocks must be located in a convenient and accessible place,
using extension valve stems if necessary to secure safe operation.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54

History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.5000 FEED PIPING AND CHECK VALVE,

The feed-pipe must be provided with a check valve near the boiler and a valve or
cock between the check valve and the boiler. When two or more boilers are fed from a
common source, there must be a globe or regulating valve on the branch to each boiler
between the check valve and the source of supply. Wherever globe valves are used on
feed piping, the inlet must be under the disk.

A combination stop-and-check valve in which there is only one seat and disk, and a
valve stem is provided to close the valve when the stem is screwed down, must be
considered only as a stop valve, and a check valve must be installed as provided in the
first paragraph of this part.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54

History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.5100 FEEDWATER SUPPLY.

A high pressure boiler having more than 500 square feet of water heating surface
(50 BHP) must have at least two means of feeding. Each source of feeding must be
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capable of supplying water to the boiler at a pressure of three percent higher than the
highest setting of any safety valve on the boiler. For boilers that are fired with solid fuel
not in suspension, and for boilers whose setting or heat source can continue to supply
sufficient heat to cause damage to the boiler if the feed supply is interrupted, one such
means of feeding must not be susceptible to the same interruption as the other, and
each source must provide sufficient water to prevent damage to the boiler.

When electrically driven feed pumps are used and there is no other reliable
independent source of electrical supply, there must be maintained ready for service
steam-driven feed pumps or injectors (inspirators) of sufficient capacity to safeguard
the boilers in case of failure of electric power.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54

History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

5225.5200 ELECTRIC BOILERS.
All appliances required for electric steam boilers shall be attached in accordance
with the following:

A cable at least as large as one of the incoming power lines to the boiler must be
provided for grounding the boiler shell. This cable must be permanently fastened on
some part of the boiler and must be grounded in an approved manner. A suitable
screen or guard shall be provided around high tension bushings and a sign posted
warning of high voltage. This screen or guard must be located so that it will be
impossible for anyone working around the boiler to accidentally come in contact with
the high tension circuits.

Each kilowatt of electrical energy consumed by an electric steam boiler, operating
at maximum rating, must be considered the equivalent of one square foot of heating
surface of a fire tube boiler when determining the required amount of safety valve
relieving capacity.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54

History: 13 SR 1917; 19 SR 591

NAVIGATION OF POWER BOATS
ON INLAND WATERS

5225.6000 SCOPE.

Parts 5225.6000 to 5225.8600 govern boats, as defined by part 5225.6100, subpart 2,
and their pilots.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.71; 183.38; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.62

History: I8 SR 614

5225.6050 INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.

Subpart 1. Code of Federal Regulations, title 33. To the extent referred to in parts
5225.6350 and 5225.6500, Code of Federal Regulations, title 33, section 86.01, and
United States Code, title 33, sections 2002 to 2019, are incorporated by reference.

Subp. 2. Code of Federal Regulations, title 46. To the extent referred to in parts
5225.6140, 5225.6500, and 5225.7200, and not in its entirety, the Code of Federal
Regulations, title 46, as revised on October 1, 1991, is incorporated by reference.
Amendments subsequent to October 1991 are not incorporated.

Subp. 3. Use of terms. For the purpose of parts 5225.6000 to 5225.8600, the
following terms in incorporated sections of Code of Federal Regulations have the
meanings given in items A and B.

A. “Officer in charge, marine inspection,” or “officer in charge” means a
“chief boiler inspector.”
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B. *Marine inspector” means a *“‘designated boat inspector’” and is used in this
chapter to mean a boat inspector who is designated by the chief boiler inspector of the
department.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171: 175.71; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465;
183.466; 183.54; 183.62
History: 18 SR 614; 19 SR 591

5225.6100 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. [Repealed, 18 SR 614]

Subp. 1a. Scope. To the extent referred to in parts 5225.6000 to 5225.8600, the
terms in this part have the meanings given them.

Subp. 2. Boat. “Boat” means any vessel navigating inland waters of the state which
is propelled by machinery or sails, is carrying passengers for hire, and is 21 feet or more
in length.

Subp. 2a. Length. “Length” means the straight-line distance from the foremost
part of the boat (bow) to the rear most part of the boat (stern).

Subp. 2b. Passengers for hire. “Passengers for hire” means the carriage of any
persons by a boat for a valuable consideration, whether directly or indirectly flowing to
the owner, charterer, agent, or any other person interested in the boat. Passengers for

hire does not include the pilot, the crew, or other persons employed or engaged in any
capacity on board a boat in the business of that boat.

Subp. 3. Under way. “Under way” means a boat when it is not at anchor and is not
made fast to the shore or ground.

Subp. 4. Visible. “Visible,” when applied to lights, means visible on a dark night
with a clear atmosphere.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.71; 183.38; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.62

History: /8 SR 614

5225.6140 INSPECTION OF BOATS.
Subpart 1. Inspections required. Annual inspection by the department is required .
of any boat that is not under the jurisdiction of the Coast Guard.

Subp. 2. Inspections optional. Boats that are less than 21 feet in length may be
inspected by the department at the owner’s request if the owner pays for the
inspection. Boats under 21 feet must meet the safety equipment requirements estab-
lished by the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources.

Subp. 3. Inspection standards. The division shall conduct the inspection according
to Code of Federal Regulations, title 46, sections 175.20, 176.05-5, 176.05-10, and
176.25, and the requirements in parts 5225.6000 to 5225.8600.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171: 175.71: 183.41; 183.42: 183.44: 183.465;
183.466; 183.54; 183.62

History: 18 SR 614; 19 SR 591

5225.6145 PILOT REQUIREMENTS.

All pilots must comply with parts 5225.0600, 5225.0700, and 5225.6000 to
5225.8600 and Minnesota Statutes, sections 183.41 to 183.62. The chief boiler inspector
may revoke the license of any pilot who violates these provisions. In that event, the
procedures of part 5225.0880 apply.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.71; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.62
History: 18 SR 614
5225.6150 LICENSE REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. General. The operation of a boat requires a valid, current Minnesota
pilot’s license issued by the division.
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Subp. 2. Requirements for licensure. An applicant for a pilot’s license must:
A. fill out an application on forms provided by the division;
B. submit an affidavit from a person who can attest to the piloting experiénce
of the applicant as provided in subpart 3;
C. pass an examination prepared by the chief boiler inspector as descrlbed in
part 5225.0500, subpart 1, with a score of at least 70 percent; and
D. pay the license fee as provided in part 5225.8600.

Subp. 3. Experience documentation. An applicant must have at least 15 hours of
training experience operating a boat. The training experience must be supervised by a
licensed pilot. The applicant must submit an affidavit completed by the supervising
licensed pilot attesting to the applicant’s training experience. The applicant must
submit the affidavit before taking the examination.

Subp. 4. Exemptions from affidavit and examination requirement. The affidavit
and examination requirement shall be waived for an applicant possessing a current
United States Coast Guard pilot’s license. An applicant possessing a current United
States Coast Guard pilot’s license must complete an application and pay the fee set by
part 5225.8600.

Subp. 5. Effect of failure of examination. An applicant who fails to pass the
examination is not eligible to take another examination for ten days. The fee paid for
the examination shall not be refunded.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 175.71; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183. 465;
183.466, 183.54; 183.62
History: 18 SR 614, 19 SR 591

5225.6160 LICENSE EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL.

Subpart 1. Timing. Licenses for pilots, unless revoked, are valid for one year from
the date of issuance, with privilege of renewal without examination upon application to
the division, and payment of a renewal fee within ten calendar days of the expiration
date. The renewal license must be given a consecutive issue number and the same
monthly date as the original issue. An application for renewal may not be submitted
before 30 days preceding the expiration date of the license. Pilots who fail to renew
their licenses before the ten-day grace period has expired are subject to the require-
ments in subparts 2 and 3.

Subp. 2. Application for renewal within one year of expiration. A license that has
expired may be renewed within one year of expiration without an examination by filing
an application for renewal and submitting the expired renewal fee required in part
5225.8600, subpart 2, item C.

Subp. 3. Renewal application after one year of expiration. After one year after the
expiration of a license, the license will not be renewed. An applicant must reapply as
provided in part 5225.6150.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 175.71; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465;
183.466, 183.54, 183.62
History: 18 SR 614; 19 SR 591

5225.6170 DISPLAY OF LICENSE.

Licenses must be placed in a glass or plexiglass frame and be displayed in a
conspicuous place in the pilot’s station.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.71; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.62

History: 18 SR 614

5225.6200 LIGHTS.

The rules concerning lights shall be complied with in all weathers from sunset to
sunrise, and during such time no other lights which may be mistaken for the prescribed
lights shall be exhibited. If operated between sunset and sunrise, a vessel shall be
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equipped with a green light on the starboard side and a red light on the port side of the
bow of the boat and shielded so they cannot be seen across the bow, and a white stern
light visible from any angle within 360 degrees. Such boats shall have ready a lantern or
flash light which shall be temporarily exhibited in sufficient time to avoid collision.

Statutory Authority: MS s 183.38; 183.41
5225.6300 [Repealed, 18 SR 614]

5225.6350 RULES FOR NAVIGATION.

Subpart 1. Code of Federal Regulations requirements; jurisdiction. All boats must
comply with United States Code, title 33, sections 2002 to 2019.

Subp. 2. Towing rowboats. Every boat that tows a rowboat shall provide oars on
the rowboat regardless of whether the rowboat is equipped with an outboard motor.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.71; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.62

History: 18 SR 614

5225.6400 [Repealed, 18 SR 614]

5225.6500 EQUIPMENT.

Subpart 1. Generally. When under way, every boat shall carry oars or pole, an
anchor, a fire extinguisher, and at least one approved life preserver for each passenger.
If a pole is used, it must be at least 12 feet in length and have a hook attached to one
end.

Subp. 2. Code of Federal Regulations requirements. In addition to the require-
ments of subpart 1, all boats must comply with the following equipment requirements:

A. fire extinguisher, Code of Federal Regulations, title 46, subpart 181.30;

B. bilge pumps, Code of Federal Regulations, title 46, section 182.25-10;

C. life preservers, Code of Federal Regulations, title 46, subpart 180.25,
except section 180.25-20;

D. ring life buoys, Code of Federal Regulations, title 46, subpart 180.30;

E. distress signals, Code of Federal Regulations, title 46, subpart 180.35;

F. whistles, Code of Federal Regulations, title 33, subpart 86.01;

G. ventilation systems, Code of Federal Regulations, title 46, subpart 177.20
and section 182.15-45; and

H. anchors, Code of Federal Regulations, title 46, subpart 184.10.

Subp. 3. First aid kit. Each boat must have a first aid kit on board that is approved
by the American Red Cross or an equivalent entity. The American Red Cross First Aid
Kit for Car and Home is recommended, and is available from the American Red Cross,
11 Del Place, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55403.

Subp. 4. First aid handbook. All boats must have a first aid handbook on board.
The American Red Cross Standard First Aid and Safety Handbook is recommended,
and is available from the American Red Cross, 11 Del Place, Minneapolis, Minnesota
55403.

Subp. 5. Battery covers. All batteries must be covered with battery covers to
eliminate sparking or arcing.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.71; 183.38; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.62

History: 18 SR 614

5225.6600 [Repealed, 18 SR 614]

5225.6700 REPORTS OF DAMAGE.

A pilot of a boat shall report in writing to the office of the chief boiler inspector of
the department any accident causing either death, an injury that requires hospitaliza-
tion, or damage in excess of $1,000. In the event of a death, the report must be made
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within 48 hours. In the event of an injury or property damage, the report must be made
within five days. The pilot shall also promptly report any other pilot who does not
properly discharge the duties of a pilot and any person who flashes a light into the face
of a pilot or otherwise commits an act that endangers the safety of a pilot or passengers
of a boat.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 175.71; 183.38; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465;
183.466; 183.54; 183.62

History: 18 SR 614; 19 SR 591
5225.6800 [Repealed, 18 SR 614]
5225.6900 ENGINE MUFFLERS.

Vessels propelled by an internal combustion engine shall at all times be so
equipped as to completely and effectually “muffle” the sound of such engine by
diverting its exhaust under water, or otherwise. Every vessel subject to these rules may
be operated with mufflers or cutouts while actually competing in any race licensed to
be held by the council or other governing body of the city, village, or town adjacent or
nearest to that portion of the body of water on which such race is to be held.

Statutory Authority: MS s 183.38; 183.41

5225.6940 DESIGN CHANGES.

Subpart 1. Approval of design. The division must be notified before any design
change is made to a boat that changes the length, draft, center of gravity, or
superstructure of the boat. Drawings, sketches, or written specifications of the changes
must be reviewed and approved by a marine architect designated by the boiler division.
The marine architect shall make a report regarding the proposed design changes to the
chief boiler inspector. Final approval or disapproval of design changes will be made by
the chief boiler inspector. All costs of the review by the architect must be paid by the
boat owner.

Subp. 2. Stability test. A stability test is required before the boat is placed back in
service when a boat’s length or draft is changed, its superstructure increased, or its
center of gravity is changed. The stability test must be witnessed by an inspector of the
boiler division. The cost of the stability test must be paid by the boat owner.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 175.71; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465;
183.466; 183.54; 183.62
History: 18 SR 614; 19 SR 591

5225.6975 ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATE.

A certificate of inspection shall be issued to a boat owner upon the boat passing
the yearly inspection required by part 5225.6140, and the payment of the fee described
in part 5225.8600, subpart 7. The certificate of inspection is valid for one year
beginning on the day of issuance. A person operating a boat without a certificate of
inspection is guilty of a misdemeanor and is subject to a penalty in the amount of the
cost of inspection up to a maximum of $1,000.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.71; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.62
History: 18 SR 614

5225.6980 REVOCATION OF CERTIFICATE; PENALTIES.

Any violation of parts 5225.6000 to 5225.8600 shall be grounds to revoke the
certificate of inspection. A person in charge of operating the boat who willfully, or from
ignorance or gross neglect, creates or allows to be created any condition endangering
human life is subject to the disciplinary procedures in part 5225.0880, and a boat owner
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who has knowledge of the condition, or of circumstances that would cause such a
condition, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.62.
Statutory Authority: MS s 175.71; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.62
History: 18 SR 614

5225.7000 [Repealed, 18 SR 614]
5225.7100 [Repealed, 18 SR 614]

5225.7200 PASSENGER CAPACITY.

The passenger capacity of each boat shall be designated by the chief boiler
inspector under Code of Federal Regulations, title 46, subpart 176.01-25.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.71; 183.38; 183.41; 183.42; 183.44; 183.62

History: 18 SR 614

5225.8600 FEES.
Subpart 1. Generally. Fees for inspections, examinations, and licenses under parts
5225.0100 to 5225.7200 are in subparts 2 to 7.
Subp. 2. Engineer licenses.
A. The fees for a new boiler operating engineer or pilot license, application,
and examination are as follows:
(1) chief engineer, $50;
(2) first class engineer, $30;
(3) second class engineer, $25;
(4) special engineer, $20;
(5) hobby engineer, $50;
(6) pilot, $30; and
(7) pilot who possesses a valid, unlimited, current United States Coast
Guard pilot’s license, $15.
B. The fees for license renewal under parts 5225.0300 and 5225.6160 are as
follows:
(1) chief engineer, $25;
(2) first class engineer, $20;
(3) second class engineer, $15;
(4) special engineer, $10; and
(5) pilot, S10.
C. The fees for expired renewals under part 5225.0300, subpart 2, and
5225.6160, subpart 2, are as follows:
(1) chief engineer, S50;
(2) first class engineer, $30;
(3) second class engineer, $25;
(4) special engineer, $20; and
(5) pilot, $30.
D. The fee for replacement of a lost license of any class is $15.

Subp. 3. Boiler and pressure vessel inspection. The fees for the annual inspections
of boilers and the biennial inspections of pressure vessels under Minnesota Statutes,
section 183.545, subdivision 3, are as follows:

A. boiler inaccessible for internal inspection, $30;

B. boiler accessible for internal inspection, $45;

C. boiler internal inspection over 2,000 square feet, $60;
D. boiler internal inspection over 4,000 square feet, $75;
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E. boiler internal inspection over 10,000 square feet, $100;
F. boiler requiring internal inspection up to one-half day, $170;
G. pressure vessel for internal inspection, $30; and
H. pressure vessel inaccessible for internal inspection, $20.
Subp. 4. Shop inspections. The fees for shop inspections under Minnesota
Statutes, section 183.545, subdivision 3, are as follows:
A. inspection of two hours or less, $90; supervisor, $115;
B. one-half day, four hours or less, $170; supervisor, $220;
C. eight hours or less, $300; supervisor, $350; and
D. each hour over eight hours, per hour, $50; supervisor, $75.
Subp. 5. Inspectors. The fees for inspector’s examinations, certificates, and en-

dorsements under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.545, subdivisions 6, 7, and 8, are as
follows:

A. national board inspector’s exam, $75;
B. endorsement, $30;
C. Minnesota certificate of competency, original, $30; and
D. Minnesota certificate of competency, renewal, $20.
Subp. 6. Exemption certificates. The fee for an exemption certificate under
Minnesota Statutes, section 183.57, subdivision 2, is $10 for each object inspected.

Subp. 7. Boat inspections. The fees for boat inspections under Minnesota Statutes,
section 183.545, subdivision 1, are as follows:
A. boat under 30 feet, $50;
B. boat from 30 to no more than 40 feet, $60;
C. boat over 40 to no more than 50 feet, $70; and
D. boat over 50 feet, $80.

Subp. 8. Hobby boilers. The inspection fee for hobby boilers or traction boilers,
not previously certified in Minnesota is $75. The inspection fee for a subsequent
inspection of a hobby or traction boiler is $45.

Subp. 9. Date due. As provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 183.54, subdivision
2, fees for inspection are payable at the time of the delivery of the certificate.

Subp. 10. Failure to pay fee. If the fee is not paid within 30 days from the date of
the inspection under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.54, subdivision 3, completion of
delivery of the certificate will not occur. If the fee is not paid within 60 days from the
date of the inspection, the commissioner may assess a penalty under Minnesota
Statutes, section 183.001, or seal the object inspected.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A4.128; 175.171; 175.71;, 183.41; 183.42; 183.44;
183.465; 183.466; 183.54; 183.545; 183.62; 326.46 to 326.50

History: 10 SR 1379; 12 SR 1148; 18 SR 614; 19 SR 591

5225.8700 PENALTY.

Boilers and boats subject to inspection under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 183,
must be inspected at least annually. Pressure vessels must be inspected at least every
two years except as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.45. An owner or
chief operating engineer who fails to have an inspection in a timely manner shall pay to
the division a penalty in the amount of $500 for each three-month period that passes
until the inspection occurs.

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 183.42; 183.44; 183.465; 183.466; 183.54

History: 19 SR 591
5225.9000 [Repealed, 19 SR 591]
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