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CHAPTER 5221
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

FEES FOR MEDICAL SERVICES

5221.0600 PAYER RESPONSIBILITIES. 5221.4020 DETERMINING FEE SCHEDULE PAYMENT
LIMITS.

5221.0600 PAYER RESPONSIBILITIES.
[For text of subps 1 to 3, see M.R.]

Subp. 4. Notification. Within 30 calendar days of receipt of the bill, the payer shall
provide written notification to the employee and provider of denial of part or all of a charge,
or of any request for additional information, except that the employer or insurer is not re-
quired to notify the employee of payment of charges that have been reduced according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 176.136, subdivision 1, 1a, or 1b. Written notification shall
include:

[For text of items A to D, see M.R.]
[For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.388
History: 35 SR 2015

5221.4020 DETERMINING FEE SCHEDULE PAYMENT LIMITS.
[For text of subps 1 and 1a, see M.R.]

Subp. 1b. Conversion factors and maximum fee formulas.
[For text of item A, see M.R.]

B. The conversion factors for services, articles, and supplies included in parts
5221.4030 to 5221.4061 are as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 176.136, subdivi-
sion 1a, as adjusted by paragraph (g) of that subdivision, as follows:

(1) for dates of service from October 1, 2010, to September 30, 2011, the
conversion factors are:

(a) for medical/surgical services identified by procedure codes described
in part 5221.4030, subpart 3: $67.23;

(b) for pathology and laboratory services identified by procedure codes
described in part 5221.4040, subpart 3: $39.60;

(c) for physical medicine and rehabilitation services identified by proce-
dure codes described in part 5221.4050, subpart 2d: $52.35; and

(d) for chiropractic services identified by procedure codes described in
part 5221.4060, subpart 2d: $53.48;

(2) for dates of service from October 1, 2011, to September 30, 2012, the
conversion factors are:

(a) for medical/surgical services identified by procedure codes described
in part 5221.4030, subpart 3: $68.84;

(b) for pathology and laboratory services identified by procedure codes
described in part 5221.4040, subpart 3: $40.55;

(c) for physical medicine and rehabilitation services identified by proce-
dure codes described in part 5221.4050, subpart 2d: $53.61; and

(d) for chiropractic services identified by procedure codes described in
part 5221.4060, subpart 2d: $54.76; and
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(3) for dates of service from October 1, 2012, to September 30, 2013, the
conversion factors are:

(a) for medical/surgical services identified by procedure codes described
in part 5221.4030, subpart 3: $69.87;

(b) for pathology and laboratory services identified by procedure codes
described in part 5221.4040, subpart 3: $41.16;

(c) for physical medicine and rehabilitation services identified by proce-
dure codes described in part 5221.4050, subpart 2d: $54.41; and

(d) for chiropractic services identified by procedure codes described in
part 5221.4060, subpart 2d: $55.58.

[For text of subps 1c to 4, see M.R.]
Statutory Authority: MS s 14.386; 176.136
History: 36 SR 314; 37 SR 373
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