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CHAPTER 5219 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

MEDICAL RECORD COST REIMBURSEMENT 

5219.0100 PURPOSE. 5219.0300 REASONABLE REIMBURSEMENT 
5219.0200 SCOPE. ALLOWANCE. 

5219.0100 PURPOSE. 
This chapter provides a schedule for reasonable reimbursement to a health care provid­

er for copies of medical records. The privacy of medical records or reports under other law is 
not affected by this chapter. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 176.135; 176.83 

History: 15 SR 800 

5219.0200 SCOPE. 
This chapter governs reimbursement for copies of existing medical records related to a 

current claim for compensation under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 176, when requested by 
any person or business entity from a health care provider as defined in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 176.011, subdivision 24. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 176.135; 176.83 

History: 15 SR 800 

5219.0300 REASONABLE REIMBURSEMENT ALLOWANCE. 
Subpart 1. First copy of appropriate record. For the first copy of the appropriate re­

cord as defined in part 5221.0100, subpart la, when provided by the health care provider to 
the payer as defined in part 5221.0100, subpart 11, to substantiate the service being billed, a 
charge not to exceed 75 cents per page is reasonable. This amount applies whether the record 
is provided with the billing, under separate cover, or in response to a request by the payer for 
an appropriate record which has not been submitted with the bill. 

Subp. 2. Other copies. For all other copies of existing medical records or data that are 
not specifically addressed in subpart 1 or in Minnesota Statutes, section 176.155, or any other 
Minnesota statute or rule, a charge is reasonable if the total charge for each submission fol­
lowing a request does not exceed the sum of $10 as a retrieval fee and 75 cents per page. 

Subp. 3. Postage and other charges. In addition to the charges in subparts 1 and 2, the 
health care provider may charge actual postage, any applicable Minnesota sales tax, and 
notary fees, if notarization is requested. 

Subp. 4. Time for payment. The requester must reimburse the health care provider 
within 30 days of receipt of the copies requested. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 176.135; 176.83 

History: 15 SR 800 
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