MINNESOTA RULES 2008

406
CHAPTER 4850
MINNESOTA OFFICE OF HIGHER EDUCATION
SUPPLEMENTAL STUDENT LOANS

48500011  DEFINITIONS 48500021  NONACCRUAL OF INTEREST PERIOD DURING A
48500012  SCHOOL AGREEMENTS AND STUDENT TEMPORARY TOTAL DISABILITY

APPLICATIONS 48500022  ACTIVEMILITARY DUTY INTEREST REDUCTION
48500014  AMOUNT AND TERMS BENEFIT
48500018  CLAIMS 48500024  DEFAULTED LOAN REHABILITATION

4850 0020 LOAN'FORGIVENESS

4850.0011 DEFINITIONS. .
[For text of subps 1 to 8, see MR ]

Subp 9 Creditworthy cosigner. "Creditworthy cosigner” means one who, based on
mformation provided by a national credit bureau, has
A no account balances discharged through bankruptcy;
B no garnishments, attachments, foreclosure, repossession, or suit,
C no more than $300 combined total 1n unsatisfied credit or unsatisfied payment

obligations mcluding, but not limited to, charged-off loans, credit, medical, utility accounts,
collection 1tems, and tax or mechanics liens, and

D no more than five percent of total credit bureau balances past due, unless the
amount past due 1s $300 or less

Subp. 10 Cosigners. All SELF borrowers shall have a creditworthy cosigner who 1s
etther a United States citizen or a permanent resident The cosigner 1s jointly and separately
responsible for making loan payments (principal, interest, and other charges). A cosigner
must

A be a person at least 24 years old or 1f a sibling (sister, brother, half-sister, half-
brother, stepsister, or stepbrother) of the borrower be at least 18 years old;

B. agree to the release of information to a consumer credit reporting agency, as

described 1 part 4850 0012, subpart 4, and
C permanently reside 1n the United States
[For text of subp 11, see MR |

Subp 1la. Default date. "Default date” means the date the loan 1s submitted by the
office to the loan servicer as a default due to failure to comply with the required terms of
the promissory note

[For text of subps 12 to 14, see M R.]
Subp 15. Eligible student. "Eligible student” means a student who

A 15 enrolled 1n an eligible school 1n Minnesota, or 1s a Mmnesota resident en-
rolled 1n an eligible school 1n another state, United States territory, or province as defined
1n Minnesota Statutes, section 136A 15, subdivision 5;

B. is enrolled at least half-time 1n a program leading to a certificate, associate,
baccalaureate, masters, doctorate, or other professional degree;

C is making satisfactory academuc progress as defined by the school;

D 1s not currently 1n default, as defined by each specific program, of any stu-
dent educational loan program (Stafford Loan, GSL, FISL, NDSL, Perkins, HPL, HEAL,
ALAS/SLS, or other similar federal, state, private, or institutional student loan program) at
the current or any previous school,

E. 1s not currently delinquent 1in payment of mterest or principal on an outstanding
SELF loan,

F. has a creditworthy cosigner,
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G demonstrates financial eligibility by meeting the "maximum effort" test, and

H has agreed to the release of information to a consumer credit reportmg agency,
as hsted ‘in part 4850 0012, subpart 4

[For text of subps 16 to 24, see MR |

Subp 24a Loan forgiveness. "Loan forgiveness" means the obhgation of the bor-
rower and the cosigner to repay the SELF loan 1s forgiven due to the death or total and
permanent disability of the borrower

[For text of subps 25 to 26a, see MR ]
Subp. 27 [Repealed, 32 SR 2268]
[For text of subps 28a and 28b, see M R ]

Subp. 28c. SELF IV loans. "SELF IV loans" means SELF loans where the mterest
rate on the loan 1s determined by the director at a margin in excess of a SELF IV 1ndex
rate The SELF IV initial index rate 1s the arithmetic average rounded to the nearest tenth
of one percent of the three-month London Interbank Offered Rates (LIBOR) rate during
the calendar quarter immediately precedmg the interest rate adjustment date The LIBOR
rate is determuned by the British Banker's Association Where terms can be obtamed for
1ssuance of SELF loans at a rate favorable to borrowers, the director may establish other
ndexes or utilize a fixed rate as provided for 1n the promissory note

Subp 28d Temporary total disability. "Temporary total disability” means a disabil-
ity resulting from an 1njury or illness that 1s expected to last at least four months and that
mterferes with the borrower's abihty to make loan payments A borrower has a temporary
total disability 1f a doctor of medicine or osteopathy, legally authorized to practice in a state,
certifies that the borrower 1s unable to work and earn money because of an injury or 1llness
expected to last at least four months A borrower 1s not considered to have a temporary
total disability on the basis of a condition that existed at the time the loan was made

Subp. 28e Total and permanent disability. "Total and permanent disability” means
a disability resultmg from an 1njury or illness that 1s expected to continue indefinitely or
result 1n death, that interferes with the borrower's ability, to make loan payments because
the borrower 1s unable to work or earn money, as certified by a doctor of medicine or os-
teopathy, legally authonzed to practice 1n a state A borrower 1s not considered totally and
permanently disabled on the basis of a condition that existed at the time the loan was made

Subp 29 Transition period. "Transition period” means a 12-month pertod immedi-
ately following graduation or termination of enrollment Borrowers may extend the tran-
sitron period, 1f permutted by the terms of the promissory note, an additional period not to
exceed 24 months During the transition period, borrowers are billed for interest only

Subp 30 Undergraduate student. “Undergraduate student" means a student who 1s
not a graduate student

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A 16
History: 32 SR 2268

4850.0012 SCHOOL AGREEMENTS AND STUDENT APPLICATIONS. ‘
[For text of subps I and 2, see M.R ]

Subp 3. Application and promissory note. The student shall follow the appropriate
SELF application process used at the eligible school. The student shall deliver or mail the
application and promissory note to the cosigner who shall complete the cosigner's portion
of the application and promussory note and deliver or mail them to the director. Electromc
signatures are acceptable where an electronic signature process has been adopted by the
office The director will check the application and promissory note for completeness, de-
termine the eligibility of the applicant, and conduct a credit check of the borrower and the -
cosigner If the director approves the loan application, the document file 1s forwarded to
the servicer The servicer shall prepare and mail a disclosure statement to the borrower and
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cosigner, advise the school of the loan approval, schedule disbursements, and place the doc-
ument file in permanent storage If the director rejects the loan application, the applicant
and the cosigner must be advised 1n writing of the decision and the reasons for the rejection

[For text of subp 4, see M.R ]
Statutory Authority: MS s 136A 16
History: 32 SR 2268

4850.0014 AMOUNT AND TERMS.
Subpart 1 Loan amounts. The mummum SELF loan amount 1s $500
[For text of subp 2, see MR ] ’

Subp 3 Imterest rate. For SELF II loans, the interest rate on the loan will be deter-
muned by the director at a margin 1n excess of the SELF Il mdex rate as defined under part
4850 0011, subpart 28a If the index rate increases or decreases, the interest rate on the
loan automatically increases or decreases on the same day without notice to the borrower.
The 1nterest rate on the loan cannot increase or decrease more than two percentage pomts
over any four consecutive calendar quarters exclusive of any individual loan nterest rate
reductions and reinstatements resulting from the application of benefit programs for mili-
tary, on-time payments and automated payments or other program 1nterest rate reductions
The director shall set the margm to reflect the costs of the SELF program. If the director
determines that the margin does not reflect the costs of the SELF program, the director must
mcrease or decrease the margin. The director shall advise borrowers of changes 1n the mar-
gin.

For SELF III and SELF IV loans, the nterest rate on the loan will be determined by
the director at a margin 1n excess of SELF III and SELF IV index rates, as defined under
part 4850.0011, 'subparts 28b and 28c The 1nterest rate on the loan cannot increase or
decrease more than three percentage pomts over any four consecutive calendar quarters
exclusive of any individual loan interest rate reductions and reinstatements resulting from
the application of benefit programs for military, on-time payments and automated payments
or other program 1nterest rate reductions The director shall set the margin to reflect the
costs of the SELF program. If the director determines that the margin does not reflect the
costs of the SELF program, the director must increase or decrease the margin.

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.16
History: 32 SR 2268
4850.0018 CLAIMS.
[For text of subpart 1, see M R.]
Subp 2 When paid. Claims are paid 1n four categories

A A claim for death of the borrower must be filed by the durector upon receipt
of a death record The cosigner's obligation to make any further payment of principal and
mterest or both on a SELF loan 1s canceled as of the date of death :

B. If the borrower becomes totally and permanently disabled, a claim must be
filed by the director upon receipt of proper medical documentation The borrower's and
cosigner's obligation to make any further payment of principal and interest on a SELF loan
1s canceled as of the date of approval of the medical documentation by the office

[For text of iwtems C and D, see M R ]
Statutory Authority: MS s 136A 16
History: 32 SR 2268

. 4850.0020 LOAN FORGIVENESS.

* Subpart 1. Death of borrower. The obligation of the boriower and the cosigner to
repay a SELF loan shall be forgiven upon documentation of the death of the borrower
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Payments made after the borrower's death prior to the submuission of a death certificate will
not be retmbursed

Subp 2 Total and permanent disability of borrower. The obligation of the bor-
rower and the cosigner to repay the SELF loan shall be forgiven upon written request to
the office 1f the office determunes that a borrower has a total and permanent disability and
1f the total and permanent disability of the borrower occurred after all disbursements of the
loan were made The forgiveness 1s effective the date the total and permanent disability
documentation 1s approved and accepted by the office.

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A 16
History: 32 SR 2268

4850.0021 NONACCRUAL OF INTEREST PERIOD DURING A TEMPORARY
TOTAL DISABILITY.

A borrower who has a temporary total disability shall be granted a period of nonaccrual
of interest upon written request to the office, effective the date the temporary total disability
documentation 1s approved and accepted by the office, if the office determines that the bor-
rower has a temporary total disability and 1f the temporary total disability of the borrower
occurred after all disbursements of the loan were made Interest does not accrue durmg an
approved nonaccrual of interest period and no payments will be required to be made-during
this time A nonaccrual of interest period may be granted for up to one year at a time with a
maximum of no more than three years Extensions may be requested after the end of each
approved period of nonaccrual of mterest Updated medical information 1s required of the
borrower for each extension request If at any time during a nonaccrual of imterest period
the borrower qualifies for loan forgiveness due to total and permanent disability status, the
borrower may submut the required medical documentation to the office for review At the
end of the nonaccrual of interest period the borrower must resume payments at an amount
necessary to repay the loan 1n the time period required by the promissory note unless a pay-
ment extension agreement has been entered into with the office

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A 16
History: 32 SR 2268

4850.0022 ACTIVE MILITARY DUTY INTEREST REDUCTION BENEFIT.

Eligible borrowers on active military duty may qualify for interest rate reductions
greater than reductions already required by federal or state law based on a determmation
by the director of available benefits The mulitary interest rate reduction availability and
the amount of any reduction 1s determined quarterly. Eligible borrowers must request the
reduction and provide a copy of active military orders 1n order to qualify An available re-
duction 1s only effective for dates the borrower 1s on active duty Interest reductions, other
than reductions required by federal or state law, shall be discontinued without notice for
any quarter in which the benefit 1s unavailable

Statutory Authority: MS s I136A 16
History: 32 SR 2268

4850.0024 DEFAULTED LOAN REHABILITATION.

Subpart 1 Availability. A defaulted loan rehabihitation option 1s available for loans
which default after adoption of parts 4850 0011 to 4850 0024

Subp 2 Exclusions. A defaulted loan rehabilitation option 1s not available for loans
that have been turned over to a collection entity or that are 1n default for a second time.

Subp 3 Rehabilitation deadline. Rehabilitation must be completed within two years
from the default date

Subp 4.Payment in full option. A defaulted loan 1s considered rehabilitated 1f the
outstanding balance of the defaulted loan 1s paid 1n full to the office within 90 days from
the default date
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Subp. 5 Payment plan option. A borrower or cosigner may rehabilitate a defaulted
loan upon approval by the office of a rehabilitation request signed by the borrower or
cosigner and submutted to the office. If the office approves the rehabilitation request, the
borrower or cosigner must make 12 monthly on-time payments on the defaulted loan. If
the borrower or cosigner fails to make 12 consecutive on-time payments and if there 1s suf-
ficient time remaining within the maximum two-year rehabilitation period, the borrower or
cosigner may submit a second rehabilitation request for approval by the office to make 12
on-time payments The combined payment amounts must be sufficient so that at the end of
the rehabilitation period the loan conforms with the promissory note repayment terms had
the loan not defavlted. A payment 1s considered on time 1f the payment 1s recelved by the
office no later than seven calendar days after the agreed upon due date

Subp. 6 Rehabilitated loan requirement. Once a loan has successfully been rehabil-
itated, the remaining balance must be repaid within the original time frame and according
to the original terms and conditions of the promissory note

Subp. 7. Deletion of default loan status. Upon completion of the loan rehabilitation,
the office shall request deletion of the defaulted loan status from the credit bureaus if dele-
tion 1s permitted by the credit bureaus Deletion of the: default status 1s contingent upon
approval by the credit bureaus Any past due reportmg to the credit bureaus prior to the
default will not be deleted.

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.16
History: 32 SR 2268
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