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CHAPTER 4840 
HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD 

REGISTRATION AND NAME APPROVAL 
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4840.0900 SCHOOLS LICENSED BY ANOTHER 
AGENCY OR DEPARTMENT. 

4840.1000 SCHOOLS LICENSED BY 
COMMISSIONER OF EDUCATION. 

4840.1100 VOLUNTARY COMPLIANCE. 

4840.0100 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of this chapter the terms defined in 

this part have the meanings given them. 

Subp. 2. Degree. "Degree" means any award given by a school which 
signifies or is generally taken to signify completion of a program or course and 
which is designated by the terms degree, associate, bachelor, baccalaureate, 
master, doctor, or education specialist. 

Subp. 3. School. "School" means: 
A. an individual, partnership, company, firm, society, trust, 

association, corporation, or any combination thereof operating or doing business 
in Minnesota which: 

(1) is, owns, or operates a private, nonprofit postsecondary 
education institution; 

(2) provides a postsecondary instructional program or course 
leading to a degree whether or not for profit; 

(3) is, owns, or operates a private postsecondary educational 
institution which uses the term "academy," "college," "institute," or "university" 
in its name or advertising; or 

(4) operates for profit and provides programs or courses which are 
intended to allow an individual to fulfill in part or totally the requirements 
necessary to maintain a license to practice an occupation; and 

B. except in part 4840.0400, subpart 2, a public or private 
postsecondary educational institution located outside Minnesota which offers 
programs, courses, or educational activities to residents of Minnesota and which 
does not require the student to leave the state for the major portion of the 
program, course, or activities. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.1U; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 
136A.20; 136A.233; 136A.236; 136A.70 

History: 8 SR 196 
NOTE: Minnesota Statutes, sections I36A.20 and I36A.236 were repealed by Laws of Minnesota 1984, chapter 258, section 72. 

4840.0200 SCOPE. 
This chapter governs a state program for registration of private and 

non-Minnesota public postsecondary institutions and approval of degrees granted 
and names used. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.UI; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 
136A.20; 136A.233; 136A.236; 136A.70 

History: 8 SR 196 
NOTE: Minnesota Statutes, sections I36A.20 and I36A.236 were repealed by Laws of Minnesota 1984. chapter 258. section 72. 
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4840.0300 WHO MUST REGISTER. 
All schools shall register annually with the Higher Education Coordinating 

Board. Annually the board shall adopt by resolution and publish a list of 
registered schools. A school need not be approved to be registered. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.111; I36A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 
136A.20; 136A.233; 136A.236; 136A.70 

History: 8 SR 196 
NOTE: Minnesota Statutes, sections 136A.20 and 136A.236 were repealed by Laws of Minnesota 1984. chapter 258. section 72. 

4840.0400 REQUIREMENTS FOR REGISTRATION. 
Subpart 1. Fees. The initial registration fee is $200 and the annual 

renewal fee is $150. Neither fee is refundable. 
Subp. 2. Plan to preserve permanent records. Each school located in 

Minnesota shall maintain permanent records for all students enrolled at any 
time. Records include , school transcripts, documents, and files containing 
student data relating to academic credits earned, courses completed, grades 
awarded, degrees awarded, and periods of attendance. To preserve permanent 
records, a school shall submit a plan which meets all of the following: 

A. at least one copy of the records held in a secure depository; 
B. an appropriate official designated to provide a student with copies 

of records or a transcript upon request; 
C. a method of complying with items A and B should the school cease 

to exist; and 
D. if the school has no binding agreement for preserving student 

records, a continuous surety bond in an amount not to exceed $20,000 or a trust 
arrangement should the school cease to exist. 

Subp. 3. Information. Each school shall submit the following information 
accompanied by an affidavit attesting to its accuracy and truthfulness: 

A. articles of incorporation, constitution, bylaws, or other operating 
documents; 

B. a duly adopted statement of the school's mission and goals; 
C. evidence of current school or program licenses granted by 

departments or agencies of any state; 
D. a fiscal balance sheet on an accrual basis, or a certified audit of the 

immediate past fiscal year or, if the school is a public institution outside 
Minnesota, an income statement for the immediate past fiscal year; 

E. all promotional and recruitment materials and advertisements; 
F. the current school catalog and, if not contained in the catalog: 

(1) the members of the board of trustees or directors, if any; 
(2) the current institutional officers; 
(3) current full-time and part-time faculty with degrees held or 

applicable experience; 
(4) a description of all school facilities; 
(5) a description of all current course offerings; 
(6) all requirements for satisfactory completion of courses, 

programs, and degrees; 
(7) the school's policy about freedom or limitation of expression 

and inquiry; 
(8) a current schedule of fees, charges for tuition, required supplies, 

student activities, housing, and all other standard charges; 
(9) the school's policy about refunds and adjustments; 
(10) the school's policy about granting credit for prior education, 

training, and experience; and 
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(11) the school's policy about student admission, evaluation, 
suspension, and dismissal. 

Subp. 4. Additional information. If the board is unable to determine the 
nature and activities of a school on the basis of the information in subpart 3, the 
board shall notify the school of additional information needed. 

Subp. 5. Verification of information. The board may verify the accuracy of 
submitted information by inspection, visitation, or any other means it considers 
necessary. 

Subp. 6. Public information. All information submitted to the board is 
public information except financial records and information. The board may 
disclose financial records or information to defend its decision to approve or 
disapprove granting of degrees or the use of a name or its decisions to revoke 
such approval at a hearing under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, or other legal 
proceedings. 

Subp. 7. Unauthorized representations. No school or any of its officials or 
employees shall advertise or represent in any manner that a school is approved 
or accredited by the board or the state of Minnesota. A school may represent 
that it is registered with the board by using the following language: "(Name of 
school) is registered with the Minnesota Higher Education Coordinating Board. 
Registration is not an endorsement of the institution. Registration does not 
mean that credits earned at the institution can be transferred to other institutions 
or that the quality of the educational programs would meet the standards of 
every student, educational institution, or employer." 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A. 111; 136A. 121; 136A. 132; 136A. 141; 
136A.20; 136A.233; 136A.236; 136A.70 

History: 8 SR 196 
NOTE: Minnesota Statutes, sections 136A.20 and I36A.236 were repealed by Laws of Minnesota 1984, chapter 258, section 72. 

4840.0500 APPROVAL OF NAMES AND DEGREES. 
Subpart 1. In General. A school must be registered if it uses the term 

"academy," "institute," "college," or "university" in its name or if it grants a 
degree to a student in Minnesota, where the student has not left Minnesota for 
the major portion of the program or course leading to the degree. It also must 
substantially meet the criteria in subpart 2. In addition, it must meet the 
requirements in subparts 4 and 5, as applicable. Annually the board shall 
adopt, by resolution, and publish a list of the schools approved to use regulated 
terms in their names and a list of schools approved to grant degrees with a list of 
the approved specified degrees. 

Subp. 2. Criteria for approval. The information submitted for registration 
is used to determine whether the following criteria are substantially met: 

A. The school has an organizational framework with administrative 
and teaching personnel to provide the educational programs it purports to offer. 

B. The school has financial resources sufficient to meet the school's 
financial obligations including refunding tuition and other charges consistent 
with its stated policy if the institution is dissolved or if claims for refunds are 
made, to provide service to the students as purported, and to provide educational 
programs leading to degrees as purported. 

C. The school operates in conformity with generally accepted 
budgeting and accounting'procedures, such as the standards adopted by the 
National Association of College and University Business Officers, located at 1 
Dupont Circle, Washington, D.C., 20036. 

D. The school provides an educational program leading to the degree 
it purports to offer. 

E. The school provides appropriate and accessible library, laboratory, 
and other physical facilities to support the educational program offered. 
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F. The school has a policy on freedom or limitation of expression and 
inquiry for faculty and students which is published or available on request. 

G. The school uses for promotion and student recruitment only 
publications and advertisements which are truthful and do not give any false, 
fraudulent, deceptive, inaccurate, or misleading impressions about the school, its 
personnel, programs, services, or occupational opportunities for its graduates. 

H. The school's compensated recruiting agents who are operating in 
Minnesota identify themselves as agents of the school when talking to or 
corresponding with students and prospective students. 

I. The school provides information to students and prospective 
students concerning: 

(1) comprehensive and accurate policies relating to student 
admission, evaluation, suspension, and dismissal; 

(2) clear and accurate policies relating to granting credit for prior 
education, training, and experience and for courses offered by the school; 

(3) current schedules of fees, charges for tuition, required supplies, 
student activities, housing, and all other standard charges; 

(4) policies regarding refunds and adjustments for withdrawal or 
modification of enrollment status; and 

(5) procedures and standards used for selection of recipients and 
the terms of payment and repayment for any financial aid program. 

Subp. 3. Failure to meet criteria. Failure to meet any one of these criteria 
does not necessarily prevent a school from being approved. Rather, a judgment 
shall be made on the basis of a pattern which in the whole supports a legitimate 
educational program, sufficient finances, and sound institutional policies and 
practices. 

Subp. 4. Requirements for degree approval. The following additional 
requirements must be met by a school for each degree it offers to a student, 
where the student does not leave Minnesota for the major portion of the 
program or course leading to the degree: 

A. qualified teaching personnel to provide the educational programs 
for each degree for which approval is sought; 

B. appropriate educational programs leading to each degree for which 
approval is sought; 

C. appropriate and accessible library, laboratory, and other physical 
facilities to support the educational program for each degree for which approval 
is sought; and 

D. a rationale showing that degree programs are consistent with the 
school's mission and goals. 

Subp. 5. Requirements for name approval. A school may use the term 
"academy" or "institute" in its name without meeting any additional 
requirements. A school may use the term "college" in its name if it offers at 
least one program leading to an associate degree. A school may use the term 
"university" in its name if it offers at least one program leading to a 
baccalaureate, master's, or doctorate degree. 

Subp. 6. Names used before August 1, 1975. A school, organized, 
operating, and using the term "academy," "institute," "college," or "university" 
in its name on or before August 1, 1975, may continue using such term whether 
or not it offers a program leading to a degree. 

Subp. 7. Conditional approval. The board may grant conditional approval 
for a degree or use of a term in its name for a period of less than one year if 
doing so would be in the best interests of currently enrolled students or 
prospective students. 
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Subp. 8. Special advisory committee. The executive director may appoint a 
special advisory committee to review staff recommendations prior to board 
action upon the request of the school applying for board approval. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.1U; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 
136A.20; 136A.233; 136A.236; 136A.70 

History: 8 SR 196 
NOTE: Minnesota Statutes, sections 136A.20 and 136A.236 were repealed by Laws of Minnesota 1984, chapter 258, section 72. 

4840.0600 DISAPPROVAL AND APPEAL. 
If a school's degree or use of a term in its name is disapproved by the 

board, the school may request a hearing under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14. 
The request must be in writing and made to the board within 30 days of the date 
the school is notified of the disapproval; 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.111; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 
136A.20; 136A.233; 136A.236; 136A.70 

History: 8 SR 196 
NOTE: Minnesota Statutes, seciions 136A.20 and 136A.236 were repealed by Laws of Minnesota 1984, chapter 258, section 72. 

4840.0700 WITHDRAWAL OF APPROVAL. 
Subpart 1. Notice and hearing. The board may refuse to renew, revoke, or 

suspend approval of a school's degree or use of a regulated term in its name by 
giving written notice and reasons to the school. The school may request a 
hearing under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14. If a hearing is requested, no 
disapproval shall take effect until after trie hearing. 

Subp. 2. Reasons for withdrawal. Withdrawal of approval may be for one 
or more of the following reasons: 

A. violating the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, sections 136A.61 to 
136A.71 or this chapter; 

B. providing false, misleading, or incomplete information to the board; 
C. presenting to prospective students information about the school 

which is false, fraudulent, misleading, deceptive, or inaccurate in a material 
respect; or 

D. refusing to allow reasonable inspection or to supply reasonable 
information after a written request by the board has been received. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136AMI; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 
136A.20; 136A.233; 136A.236; 136A.70 

History: 8 SR 196 
NOTE: Minnesota Statutes, sections I36A.20 and I36A.236 were repealed by Laws of Minnesota 1984, chapter 258, section 72. 

4840.0800 INFORMATION, FORMS, AND PROCEDURES. 
The executive director may issue public information, design application 

forms, review applications, secure information, make recommendations, set 
guidelines, and approve uses pursuant to part 4840.0500, subpart 6, and establish 
visitation teams. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.111; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 
136A.20; 136A.233; 136A.236; 136A.70 

History: 8 SR 196 
'NOTE: Minnesota Statutes, sections I36A.20 and 136A.236 were repealed by Laws of Minnesota.1984. chapter 258, section 72. 

4840.0900 SCHOOLS LICENSED BY ANOTHER AGENCY OR 
DEPARTMENT. 

The board shall accept as final and not inquire into the substantive basis for 
a license granted to a school by any agency or department of the state or any 
other state. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.1U; 136A.121; I36A.132; 136A.141; 
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136A.20; 136A.233; I36A.236; 136A.70 

History: 8 SR 196 
NOTE: Minnesota Statutes, sections I36A.20 and 136A.236 were-repealed by Laws of Minnesota 1984, chapter 258, section 72. 

4840.1000 SCHOOLS LICENSED BY COMMISSIONER OF EDUCATION. 
A school required to be licensed by the commissioner of education is exempt 

from registration and approval unless it grants degrees. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.111; 136A.121; 136A.132; I36A.I4I; 
136A.20; 136A.233; 136A.236; 136A.70 

History: 8 SR 196 
NOTE: Minnesota Statutes, sections 136A.20 and 136A.236 were repealed by Laws of Minnesota 1984, chapter 258, section 72. 

4840.1100 VOLUNTARY COMPLIANCE. 
A school or educational program which is exempt under Minnesota Statutes, 

section 136A.653 is exempt from parts 4840.0100 to 4840.1000 but may 
voluntarily waive its exemption by registering. Upon registration the school or 
educational program is subject to all applicable requirements of Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 136A.61 to 136A.71 and parts 4840.0100 to 4840.1000. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.ll1; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 
136A.20; 136A.233; 136A.236; 136A.70 

History: 8 SR 196 
NOTE: Minnesota Statutes, sections 136A.20 and I36A.236 were repealed by Laws of Minnesota 1984. chapter 258, section 72. 
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