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4655.9320 FINES FOR UNCORRECTED DEFICIENCIES IN NURSING  
HOMES.

Subpart 1. Application. The provisions of parts 4655.9320 to 4655.9342 
establish the schedule of fines to be assessed against nursing homes for the 
failure to comply with a correction order. Penalty assessments are issued under 
the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.10, subdivision 6 and will 
accrue on a daily basis. This part supersedes those provisions contained in parts 
4655.9200 to 4655.9300 which establish a schedule of fines applicable to nursing 
homes. The provisions of parts 4655.9200 to 4655.9300 which establish fines 
applicable to boarding care homes remain unchanged.

Subp. 2. Statutory authority. Pursuant to the provisions of Minnesota 
Statutes, section 144A.10, subdivision 6, the commissioner of health shall impose 
penalty assessments in the amounts specified in parts 4655.9320 to 4655.9342.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 144A. 10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9321 PETS.
- Penalty assessments for violations of part 4638.0200 are as follows:

A. part 4638.0200, subpart 2, first sentence, $50;
B. part 4638.0200, subpart 2, second sentence, $50;
C. part 4638.0200, subpart 2, third sentence, $50; and
D. part 4638.0200, subpart 3, $100.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 144A. 10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9322 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.
Penalty asssessments for violations of parts 4655.0090 to 4655.1060 are as 

follows:
A. Part 4655.0100, subpart 8:

(1) A $500 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.0100, subpart 8, item E which states: “...a registered nurse 
or a licensed practical nurse shall be employed so that on-site nursing coverage is 
provided eight hours per day, seven days per week during the day shift.”
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75 NURSING AND BOARDING CARE HOMES; OPERATION 4655.9323

(2) A $500 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of part 
4655.0100, subpart 8, item F which states: “Provision shall also be made for a 
registered nurse to be on call during all hours when a registered nurse is not on 
duty.”

B. Part 4655.0300, subpart 4, $50.
C. Part 4655.0400, subpart 1, $350.
D. Part 4655.0400, subpart 2, $100.
E. Part 4655.0500, $100.
F. Part 4655.0600, $50.
G. Part 4655.0700, $250.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 144A.10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9323 ADMINISTRATOR; ADMISSIONS.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4655.1200 to 4655.1800 are as 

follows:
A. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.1200, subpart 2 which states: “The licensee shall develop 
written bylaws and/or policies which shall be available to all members of the 
governing body and shall assume full legal responsibility for matters under its 
control, for the quality of care rendered and for compliance with applicable laws 
and rules of legally authorized agencies.”

B. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of part
4655.1200, subpart 2, item B which states that the responsibilities of the licensee 
include: “Appointment of a licensed nursing home administrator or a person in 
charge who shall be responsible for the operation of the home in accordance 
with law and established policies.”

C. A $50 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of part
4655.1200, subpart 2, item C, which states: “The authority to serve as 
administrator or person in charge shall be delegated in writing.”

D. Part 4655.1200, subpart 2, items E to I, $100.
E. Part 4655.1300, subparts 1 and 2, $100.
F. Except as noted in item G, a $100 penalty assessment shall be 

issued for a violation of part 4655.1300, subparts 3 and 4.
G. A $50 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.1300, subpart 4 which states: “The name of the person in 
charge at the time shall be posted at the main entrance.”

H. Part 4655.1400, item A, $50.
I. Part 4655.1400, item B, $100.
J. Part 4655.1400, -item B, subitems (1) to (3), $100.
K. Part 4655.1400, item B, subitem (4), $50.
L. Part 4655.1400, item B, subitem (5), $100.
M. Part 4655.1400, item B, subitem (6), $50.
N. Part 4655.1400, item C, $50.
O. Part 4655.1400, item D, $50.
P. Part 4655.1400, item E, subitem (1), $100.
Q. Part 4655.1400, item E, subitems (2) to (4), $50.
R. Part 4655.1400, item F, $200.
S. Part 4655.1400, item G, $ 100.
T. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 465511500, subpart 1, which states: “The administrator, in 
cooperation with the director of nursing service in a nursing home or the person
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in charge m a boarding care home shall be responsible for exercising discretion 
in the type of patients or residents admitted to the home in accordance with the 
admission policies of the home.”

U. A $250 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.1500, subpart 2, which states: “Patients or residents shall 
not be accepted or retained for whom care cannot be provided in keeping with 
their known physical, mental, or behavioral condition.”

V. Part 4655.1600, $100.
W. Part 4655.1700, $50.
X. A $50 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655 1800, subpart 1, which states: “Copies of these licensing 
regulations shall be made readily available for the use of all personnel of the 
facility.”

Y. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.1800, subpart 2, which states: “All personnel shall be 
instructed m the requirements of the law and the rules pertaining to their 
respective duties and such instruction shall be documented. All personnel shall 
be fully informed of the policies of the home and procedure manuals to guide 
them in the performance of their duties shall be readily available.”

Statutory Authority: M S s 144A.10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9324 MISCELLANEOUS PROCEDURES.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4655.1910 to 4655.2420 are as 

follows:
A. Except as noted in item B, a $250 penalty assessment shall be 

issued for a violation of part 4655.1910, subparts 1 to 3.
B. A $50 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.1910, subpart 1, which states: “Visiting hours shall be 
established as a written policy of the home and shall be posted in plain view of 
visitors.”

C. Part 4655.1910, subpart 4, $100.
D. Part 4655.1910, subpart 5, $250.
E. Part 4655.1910, subpart 6, $250.
F. Part 4655.1910, subpart 7, $500.
G. Part 4655.1910, subpart 8, $100.
H. Part 4655.2000, subpart 1, $100.
I. Part 4655.2000, subpart 2, $100.
J. Part 4655.2100, $100.
K. Part 4655.2200, $100.
L. Part 4655.2300, $100.
M. Part 4655.2410, subpart 2, $500.
N. Part 4655.2410, subpart 3, $300.
O. Part 4655.2410, subpart 4, $350.
P. Part 4655.2420, subpart 2, item A, $500.
Q. Part 4655.2420, subpart 2, item B, $350.
R. Part 4655.2420, subpart 2, item C, $100.
S. Part 4655.2420, subpart 2, item D, $300.
T. Part 4655.2420, subpart 2, item E, $350.
U. Part 4655.2420, subpart 2, item F, $300.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 144A. 10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524
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4655.9325 EMPLOYEES.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4655.2600 to 4655.3000 are as 

follows:
A. part 4655.2600, $100;
B. part 4655.2700, $100;
C. part 4655.2800, $50;
D. part 4655.2900, $100;
E. part 4655.3000, subpart 1, $100;
F. part 4655.3000, subpart 2, $100;
G. part 4655.3000, subpart 3, $100; and
H. part 4655.3000, subpart 4, $50.

Statutory Authority: M S s I44A.10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9326 RECORDS AND REPORTS.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4655.3200 to 4655.4400 are as 

follows:
A. Except as noted in item B, a $300 penalty assessment shall be 

issued for a violation of parts 4655.3200 to 4655.3800 and 4655.4100 to 
4655.4200.

B. A $50 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.3200, subpart 2, which states: “All entries shall be made 
with a pen and signed by the person making the entry.”

C. Except as noted in item D, a $100 penalty assessment shall be 
issued for a violation of part 4655.3300.

D. A $50 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.3300, subpart 2, which states: “At the time of discharge or 
death, this record shall be completed with the date, time, reason for discharge, 
discharge diagnosis and condition; or date, time, and cause of death. In either 
case the signature and address of the responsible person.to whom released shall 
be obtained.”

E. Part 4655.3400, $300.
F. Except as noted in item G, a $100 penalty assessment shall be 

issued for a violation of part 4655.3500.
G. A $50 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.3500, subpart 2, which states: “The records of discharged 
patients or residents shall be promptly completed and filed in the home.”

H. Part 4655.3600, $100.
I. Parts 4655.3700 to 4655.3800, $50.
J. Except as noted in items K and L, a $300 penalty assessment shall 

be issued for a violation of part 4655.3900.
K. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.3900, subpart 3, which states: “A detailed incident report 
of any accident, injury, or error in drug administration and the action taken shall 
be completed immediately.”

L. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.3900, subpart 4, which states: “All nurses’ notes shall be 
written and signed by the person giving the medication or making the 
observation.”

,M. Part 4655.4100, $50.
N. Part 4655.4110, subpart 1, $250.
O. Part 4655.4110, subpart 2, $50.
P. Parts 4655.4120 to 4655.4160, $100.
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Q. Part 4655.4170, $100.
R. Part 4655.4200, $50.
S. Part 4655.4300, $100.
T. Part 4655.4400, $50.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 144A. 10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9327 MEDICAL AND DENTAL SERVICES.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4655.4600 to 4655.4900 are as 

follows:
A. Part 4655.4600, subpart 1, $300.
B. A $300 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.4600, subpart 2, which states: “Each nursing home or 
boarding care home shall have an agreement with one or more licensed 
physicians to provide emergency services and to act in an advisory capacity.”

C. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.4600, subpart 3, which states: “A schedule, which lists the 
names, telephone numbers, and call days of the emergency physician(s) shall be 
posted in each nurses’ or attendants’ station.”

D. Part 4655.4700, subpart 1, $350.
E. A $350 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.4700, subpart 2, which states: “Each nursing home patient 
shall be examined by a physician at least every six months and each boarding 
care home resident at least annually or more often if indicated by the clinical 
condition.”

F. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.4700, subpart 3, which states: “A progress note shall be 
recorded m the patient’s or resident’s record at the time of each examination.”

G. Part 4655.4700, subpart 4, $350.
H. Part 4655.4800, subpart 1, $350.
I. A $300 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.4800, subpart 2, which states: “Nursing homes and 
boarding care homes shall have a written agreement with a licensed dentist to 
provide emergency dental care when necessary.”

J. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.4800, subpart 3, which states: “The name and address of 
the emergency dentist shall be posted at each nurses’ or attendants’ station.”

K. Part 4655.4800, subpart 4, $100.
L. Part 4655.4800, subpart 5, $350.
M. Part 4655.4800, subpart 6, $100.
N. Part 4655.4900, subpart 2, $300.
O. Part 4655.4900, subpart 3, $300.

Statutory Authority: M S s 144A. 10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9328 STAFFING AND SERVICES.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4655.5100 to 4655.6200 are as 

follows:
A. A $300 penalty assessment shall be assessed for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.5100, subpart 1, which states: “Adequate staff shall be 
provided to meet the nursing and personal care needs and the maintenance 
necessary for the well-being of the patients and residents at all times.”

B. A $500 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.5100, subpart 2, which states: “There shall be at least one
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responsible person awake, dressed, and on duty at all times. These persons shall 
be at least 21 years of age and capable of performing the required duties of 
evacuating the patients and residents.”

C. A $50 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.5100, subpart 3, which states: “Each employee and 
volunteer shall wear a badge which includes name and position.”

D. Except as noted in item E, a $300 penalty assessment shall be 
issued for a violation of part 4655.5200.

E. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.5200, subparts 6 to 8, which states: “The activities program 
shall be regularly scheduled at least five days each week with the program posted 
one week in advance. A sufficient number of personnel shall be assigned to 
assist with the activities program on a regular basis. Appropriate space, 
equipment, materials, and storage areas shall be provided. This shall include 
recreational space and activities out-of-doors.”

F. Part 4655.5300, $250.
G. Part 4655.5400, $300.
H. Part 4655.5600, subpart 2, first paragraph, $300.
I. Part 4655.5600, subpart 2, second paragraph, $300.
J. Part 4655.5700, subpart 2, $300.
K. Part 4655.5700, subpart 3, $300.
L. Part 4655.5700, subpart 4, $100.
M. Part 4655.5700, subpart 5, $300. f ,
N. Part 4655.5800, subpart 2, item A, $300.
O. Part 4655.5800, subpart 2, item B, $300.

• P. A $300 penalty assessment shall be issued for that portion of part
4655.5800, subpart 2, item C, which states that the responsibilities of the director 
of nursing include: “Planning and conducting written orientation programs for 
new nursing personnel, and continuing in-service education for all nursing home 
personnel, if there is no one designated who is responsible for all in-service 
education.”

Q. Part 4655.5800, subpart 2, items D to G, $100.
R. Part 4655.5800, subpart 2, item H, $300.
S. Part 4655.5800, subpart 2, items I to M, $100.
T. A $500 penalty assessment shall be issued for that portion of part

4655.5800, subpart 3, which states: “No nursing personnel shall perform duties 
for which they have not had proper and sufficient training. Duties assigned to 
nursing personnel shall be consistent with their training, experience, and 
licensure.”

U. Part 4655.5900, $350.
V. Part 4655.6000, $300.
W. Part 4655.6100, $350.
X. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.6200, subpart 2, which states: “The nursing home shall 
provide opportunities for personnel to attend courses in rehabilitation nursing 
and other educational programs.”

Y. A $350 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.6200, subpart 3, which states: “Nursing home personnel 
shall be trained in nursing skills including demonstrations and practice with 
supervision as needed and prior to assignment to patient care responsibilities.”

Statutory Authority: M S s 144A.10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524
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4655.9329 CARE OF PATIENTS AND RESIDENTS.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4655.6400 to 4655.6800 are as 

follows:
A. Part 4655 6400, $350.
B. Except as noted m item C, a $100 penalty assessment shall be 

issued for a violation of part 4655.6500.
C. A $200 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.6500, subpart 2, which states: “All attached equipment 
shall be solidly anchored to avoid accidents.”

D. Except as noted m item E, a $350 penalty assessment shall be 
issued for a violation of part 4655.6600.

E. A $300 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.6600 which states: “A full record of the use of restraints or 
seclusion shall be maintained in the patient’s or resident’s medical record.”

F. Part 4655.6700, $350.
G. Part 4655.6800, items A to C, $350.
H. Part 4655.6800, item D, $100.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 144A. 10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9330 FURNISHINGS AND EQUIPMENT FOR CARE.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4655.7000 to 4655.7500 are as 

follows:
A. Part 4655.7000, subpart 1, items A to F, $150.
B. Part 4655.7000, subpart 1, item G, $350.
C. Part 4655.7000, subpart 1, items H and I, $150.
D. A $200 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.7000, subpart 1, item J, which states: “All furnishings and 
equipment shall be maintained in a usable, safe, and sanitary condition.”

E. A $50 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.7000, subpart 1, item J, which states: “All rooms and beds 
shall be numbered. All beds shall be identified with the name of the patient or 
resident.”

F. Part 4655.7100, $350.
G. Part 4655.7200, $200.
H. Part 4655.7300, subpart 1, $150.
I. Part 4655.7300, subpart 2, $150.
J. Part 4655.7300, subpart 3, $150.
K. Part 4655.7300, subpart 4, $150.
L. A $200 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.7400, subpart 1, which states: “Cabinets and other suitable 
space shall be provided and identified for the safe storage of equipment and 
supplies in a sanitary, convenient, and orderly manner. Supplies shall be 
identified.”

M. A $300 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.7400, subpart 2, which states: “Sterile supplies shall be 
marked with the latest date of sterilization and shall be stored apart from 
unstenle supplies.”

N. Part 4655.7500, items A and B, $200.
O. Part 4655.7500, item C, $200.
P. Part 4655.7500, item D, $200.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 144A. 10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524

MINNESOTA RULES 1984

Copyright © 1984 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                



81 NURSING AND BOARDING CARE HOMES; OPERATION 4655.9331

4655.9331 MEDICATIONS.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4655.7600 to 4655.7860 are as 

follows:
A. A $500 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.7700, subpart 1, which states: “A system shall be 
developed in each nursing home to assure that all medications are administered 
safely and properly.”

B. A $300 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.7700, subpart 2, which states: “The supervising nurse or 
other nursing staff trained specifically by the supervising nurse or a physician in 
the administration of medications and familiar with the expected action of drugs, 
shall be designated and held responsible for the administration of medications 
during each eight-hour period.”

C. A $50 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.7700, subpart 3, which states: “A list of carefully selected 
personnel, currently employed, who have been so trained, none under 18 years of 
age, shall be maintained. The written training program shall be available at 
each nursing station.” 1

D. A $500 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.7700, subpart 4, which states: “Medications administered 
by hypodermic may be given only by a physician, registered nurse, or licensed 
practical nurse.”

E. A $350 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of those 
portions of part 4655.7700, subparts 6 and 7, which state: “The actual act of 
swallowing oral medications shall be observed personally by the individual 
responsible for administering medications. When medications have been added 
to, food, the amount of food consumed shall be recorded by the person 
designated to administer medications.”

F. A $500 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.7700, subpart 8, which states: “All medications shall be 
administered exactly as ordered by the physician.' Any medication errors or 
patient reactions shall be reported to the physician at once and an explanation 
made in the patient’s care record.”

G. Part 4655.7710, $350.
H. Part 4655.7720, subparts 1 to 5, $300!
I. Part 4655.7720, subpart 6, $300.
J. Part 4655.7720, subpart 7, $300.
K. Part 4655.7720, subpart 8, $300.
L. Parts 4655.7730 to 4655.7740, $300.
M. Part 4655.7750, $300.
N. A $350 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.7760, subpart 1, which states: “All medications 
administered to each patient shall be recorded on the medication and treatment 
record or in the nurses’ notes on the patient’s chart. This information shall 
include the name and quantity of the drug given and the time administered and 
shall be initialed by the person giving the drug. Special notations shall be made 
whenever medications are started or discontinued. Medicine cards or a 
medicine list shall be maintained to show each medication which is currently 
being given.”

O. A $300 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of those 
portions of part 4655 7760 not identified in item N.

P. Part 4655.7770,' $350.
Q. Part 4655.7780, $300.
R. Part 4655.7790, subpart 1, $100.
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S. Part 4655.7790, subpart 2, $100.
T. Except as noted in item U, a $300 penalty assessment shall be 

issued for a violation of part 4655.7860.
U. A $50 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.7860 which states: “The nursing home or boarding care 
home shall keep written documentation verifying completion of the required 
course by all unlicensed [nursing] personnel administering medications.”

Statutory Authority: M S  s 144A. 10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9332 LINEN SERVICE AND LAUNDRY.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4655.8000 to 4655.8300 are as 

follows:
A. part 4655.8000, subpart 2, $200;
B. part 4655.8000, subpart 3, $200;
C. part 4655 8000, subpart 4, $200;
D. part 4655.8000, subpart 5, $300;
E. part 4655 8000, subpart 6, $300;
F. part 4655.8000, subpart 7, $100;
G. part 4655.8000, subpart 8, $50; and
H. part 4655.8100, $300.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 144A.10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9333 DIETARY SERVICES AND SANITATION.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4655.8500 to 4655.8830 are as 

follows:
A. Except as noted in item B, a $350 penalty assessment shall be 

issued for a violation of part 4655.8500.
B. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.8500, subpart 3, which states: “There shall be current diet 
manuals readily available in the kitchen ”

C. Part 4655.8510, $300.
D. Except as noted in items E to G, a $350 penalty assessment shall 

be issued for a violation of part 4655.8520.
E. A $300 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.8520, item A, which states: “The dietary staff shall be 
adequate m number to provide personnel on duty 12 or more hours per day. 
They shall be trained in the performance of their assigned duties.”

F. A $50 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.8520, item A, which states:, “Work assignments and duty 
schedules shall be posted in the dietary department.”

G. A $50 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.8520, item F, which states: “The kitchen shall not be used 
for eating meals or for coffee breaks ”

H. Part 4655.8600, $350.
I. Part 4655.8610, $350.
J. A $350 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.8620, subpart 1, which states: “At least three meals shall 
be served at regular times during each 24-hour period with a maximum of 14 
hours between a substantial evening meal and breakfast.”
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K. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 
portion of part 4655.8620, subpart 2, which states: “Meals shall be served in the 
dining room and bedroom trays kept to a minimum. Patients or residents shall 
be encouraged to eat together.”

L. Part 4655.8630, subpart 1, $350.
M. Except as noted in item N, a $300 penalty assessment shall be 

issued for a violation of part 4655.8630, subpart 2.
N. A $50 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.8630, subpart 2, which requires that'menus be dated and 
posted for a minimum of one week in advance.

0 . Part 4655.8630, subpart 3, $300.
P. Parts 4655.8640 to 4655.8680, $350.
Q. Part 4655.8690, $300.
R. Part 4655.8700, $300.
S. Except as noted in item T, a $300 penalty assessment shall be issued 

for a violation of parts 4655.8800 to 4655.8830.
T. Part 4655.8820, subpart 3, item C, $50.

Statutory Authority: M S s 144A.10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9334 HOUSEKEEPING.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4655.9000 to 4655.9070 are as 

follows:
A. Part 4655.9000, subpart 1, $200.
B. Part 4655.9000, subpart 2, $100.
C. Part 4655.9010, subpart 1, $200.
D. Part 4655.9010, subpart 2, $200.
E. Except as noted m item F, a $150 penalty assessment shall be 

issued for a violation of part 4655.9020.
F. A $200 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of part 4655.9020, subpart 4 which states: “Disinfectants, pesticides, 
and other toxic substances shall be clearly identified and stored in a locked 
enclosure or cabinet.”

G. Part 4655.9030, $150.
H. Part 4655.9040, $200.
1. Part 4655.9050, $50.
J. Part 4655.9060, $200.
K. Part 4655.9070, subpart 2, $350.
L. Part 4655.9070, subpart 3, $200.

Statutory Authority: M S s 144A. 10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9335 PHYSICAL PLANT.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4660.0090 to 4660.1100 are as 

follows:
A. part 4660.0200, second paragraph, $100;
B. part 4660.0300, subpart 5, $200; and
C. parts 4660.0400 to 4660.1100, $ 100.

■ Statutory Authority: M S s 144A. 10 subd 6
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History: 8 SR 1524
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4655.9336 NURSING AND BOARDING CARE HOMES; OPERATION 84

4655.9336 PATIENT OR. RESIDENT AREAS.
Subpart 1. Generally. Penalty assessments for violations of parts

4660.1300 to 4660.4700 are as follows:
A. part 4660.1400, $150;
B. part 4660.1410, $200;
C. part 4660.1420, $150;
D. part 4660.1430, $150;
E. part 4660.1440, subpart 1, $200;
F. part 4660.1440, subpart 2, $150;
G. part 4660.1450, $150;
H. part 4660.1460, subpart 1, item A, $100;
I. part 4660.1460, subpart 1, item B, $500;
J. part 4660.1460, subpart 2, $200;
K. part 4660.1470, subpart 1, first paragraph, $150;
L. part 4660.1500, subpart 1, $200;
M. part 4660.1500, subpart 2, $200;
N. part 4660.1600, subpart 1, $150;
O. part 4660.1600, subpart 2, $200;
P. part 4660.1700, $300;
Q. part 4660.1800, $200;
R. part 4660.1900, $200;
S. part 4660.2100, $150;
T. part 4660.2200, $200;
U. part 4660.2300, $150;
V. part 4660.2400, $150;
W. part 4660.2500, $150;
X. part 4660.2600, items A to D, $150;
Y. part 4660.2600, items E and F, $200;
Z. part 4660.2600, items G to J, $150;
AA. part 4660.2610, item A, $150;
BB. part 4660.2610, items B to E, $150;
CC. part 4660.2610, items F to H, $200;
DD. part 4660.2610, items, I to L, $150;
EE. part 4660.2620, subpart 3, $150;
FF. part 4660.2630, subpart 3, $150;
GG. part 4660.2640, $150;
HH. part 4660.2700, $150;
II.. part 4660.2800, $150;
JJ. part 4660.2900, $150;
KK. part 4660.3000, $50; and 
LL. part 4660.3100, $50.

Subp. 2. Shower curtain. A $150 penalty assessment shall be issued for a 
violation of that portion of part 4660.2620, subpart 1, which states: “In a room 
used by more than one patient, the bathtub or shower area shall be provided 
with a draw curtain for privacy.”

Subp. 3. Nonslip floor. A $200 penalty assessment shall be issued for a 
violation of that portion of part 4660.2620, subpart 2, which states: “Bathtubs 
and showers shall be provided with a nonslip bottom or floor surface, and the 
areas shall be provided with grab bars.”

Subp. 4. Central bathing area. Except as noted in subpart 5, a $150 
penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of part 4660.2630, subpart 2.
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Subp. 5. Floors and grab bars. A $200 penalty assessment shall be issued 
for a violation of part 4660.2630, subpart 2, item B, which states: “Bathtubs 
and showers shall be provided with a nonslip bottom or floor surface, and at 
least one grab bar, securely anchored, shall be provided at each fixture.”

Subp. 6. Showers. Except as noted in subpart 7, a $150 penalty 
assessment shall be issued for a violation of part 4660.2630, subpart 3, items D to
G.

Subp. 7. Shower grab bar. A $200 penalty assessment shall be issued for a 
violation of part 4660.2630, subpart 3, item G, which states: “A vertical, nonslip 
grab bar, 24 inches long, shall be provided at the shower and at the shower 
entrance location. The low end of the grab bar shall be three feet above the 
floor. Horizontal grab bars inside wet areas shall be mounted at a height of 
four feet, six inches above the floor.”

Subp. 8. Tubs. Except as noted in subpart 9, a $150 penalty assessment 
shall be issued for a violation of part 4660.2630, subpart 3, items I to L.

Subp. 9. Tub grab bar. A $200 penalty assessment shall be issued for a 
violation of part 4660.2630, subpart 3, item L, which states: “A vertical, nonshp 
grab bar, 24 inches long, shall be provided on each side of the tub at the head 
end. The low end of the grab bar shall be three feet six inches above the floor 
or four inches above the rim of the tub.”

Statutory Authority: M S s 144A.10 subd 6
History: 8 SR 1524

t NOTE Pari 46602630 subpart 3 Hem L actually reads in part ’ The low end of the grab bar shall be three feel above the floor 
or four inches above (he rim of the tub

4655.9337 SUPPORTIVE SERVICES; DIETARY AREAS.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4660.4810 to 4660.5810 are as 

follows:
A. parts 4660.4810 to 4660.4840, $150
B. parts 4660.4900 to 4660.4940, $200
C. parts 4660.5000 to 4660.5040, $200
D. part 4660.5050, $100;
E. part 4660.5100, $150;
F. part 4660.5200, $150;
G. part 4660.5300, $150;
H. part 4660.5400, $150;
I. part 4660.5500, $150;
J. part 4660.5600, $150;
K. part 4660.5800, $150; and
L. part 4660.5810, $150.

Statutory Authority: M S  s I44A.10 subd 6 
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9338 CONSTRUCTION DETAILS, CHUTES AND ELEVATORS.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4660.6000 to 4660.7600 are as 

follows:
A. part 4660.6000, $200;
B. part 4660.6100, $200;
C. part 4660.6200, subparts 1 and 2, $200;
D. part 4660.6200, subpart 3, $150;
E. part 4660.6300, $200;
F. part 4660.6400, $150; , ,
G. part 4660.6500. $200;
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H. part 4660.6600, $200;
I. part 4660.6700, $200;
J. part 4660.6800, $150;
K. part 4660.6900, subpart 1, $200;
L. part 4660.6900, subparts 2 and 3, $200;
M. part 4660.6910, $200;
N. part 4660.6920, $200;
0 . part 4660.7000, $200;
P. part 4660.7100, $150;
Q. part 4660.7200, $200;
R. part 4660.7300, $200;
S. part 4660.7400, $200;
T. part 4660.7500, $200; and 
U. part 4660.7600, $200.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 144A. 10 subd 6 
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9339 MECHANICAL AND ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS.
Penalty assessments for violations of parts 4660.7800 to 4660.8610 and 

4660.9900 to 4660.9940 are as follows:
A. part 4660.7800, subparts 1 and 2, $200;
B. part 4660.7800, subparts 3 to 5, $200;
C. part 4660.7800, subparts 6 to 9, $200;
D. part 4660.7800, subparts 10 to 13, $200;
E. part 4660.7800, subpart 14, $200;
F. part 4660.7800, subpart 15, $200;
G. part 4660.7900, $200;
H. part 4660.8000, subparts 1 to 6, $200;
1. part 4660.8000, subparts 7 and 8, $200;
J. parts 4660.8000, subparts 9 to 11 and 4660.8010, $200;
K. part 4660.8200, $200;
L. parts 4660.8300 to 4660.8380, 4660.9930, and 4660 9940, $200;
M. part 4660.8410, $200;
N. part 4660.8420, subpart 1, $50;
O. part 4660.8420, subpart 2, $200;
P. parts 4660.8430 to 4660.8450, $200;
Q. part 4660.8460, $200;
R. parts 4660.8500 to 4660.8530, $200;
S. parts 4660.8540 to 4660.8560, $350; and 
T. part 4660.8610, $200.

Statutory Authority: M S s 144A.10 subd 6 
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9340 DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH STATUTES; FINES.
Penalty assessments for violations of Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651 are 

as follows:
A. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 4, $100. .
B. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 5, $250.
C. Minnesota Statutes, seption 144.651, subdivision 6, $250.
D. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 7, $100
E. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 8, $100.
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F. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 9, $250.
G. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 10, $250.
H. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 11, $100.
I. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 12, $250.
J. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 13, $500.
K. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 14, $500.
L. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 15, $250.
M. Except as noted in item N, a $100 penalty assessment shall be 

issued for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 16.
N . A $250 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 16, which states: 
“Patients and residents shall be assured confidential treatment of their personal 
and medical records, and may approve or refuse their release to any individual 
outside the facility.”

O. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 17, $100.
P. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 18, $100.
Q. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 19, $250.
R. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 20, $100.
S. A $250 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of the 

portions of Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 21, which state: 
“Patients and residents may associate and communicate privately with persons of 
their choice and enter and, except as provided by the Minnesota Commitment 
Act, leave the facility as they choose.... Personal mail shall be sent without 
interference and received unopened unless medically or programmatically 
contraindicated and documented by the physician in the medical record.”

T. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of the 
portions of Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 21, which state: 
“Patients and residents shall have access, at their expense, to writing instruments, 
stationery, and postage.... There shall be access to a telephone where patients and 
residents can make and receive calls as well as speak privately. Facilities which 
are unable to provide a private area shall make reasonable arrangements to 
accommodate the privacy of patients’ or residents’ calls.”

U. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 22, $100.
V. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 23, $250.
W. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 24, $100.
X. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 25, $250.
Y. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 26, $250.
Z. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 27, $100.
AA. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 28, $250.
BB. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.651, subdivision 29, $250.
CC. Minnesota Statutes, section 144.652, subdivision 1, $100.

Statutory Authority: M S s 144A.10 subd 6 
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9341 NURSING HOME STATUTES; FINES.
Penalty assessments for violations of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144A are 

as follows:
A. Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.04, subdivision 4, $100.
B. Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.04, subdivision 6, $100.
C. A $100 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of these 

portions of Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.10, subdivision 3, which state: “A 
copy of each correction order and notice of noncompliance, and copies of any 
documentation supplied to the commissioner of health or the commissioner of 
public welfare under sections 144A.03 or 144A.05 shall be kept on file at the
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nursing home and shall be made available for viewing by any person upon 
request. Except as otherwise provided by this subdivision, a copy of each 
correction order and notice of noncompliance received by the nursing home after 
its most recent inspection or remspection shall be posted in a conspicuous and 
readily accessible place in the nursing home.... All correction orders and notices 
of noncompliance issued to a nursing home owned and operated by the state or 
political subdivision of the state shall be circulated and posted at the first public 
meeting of the governing body after the order or notice is issued. Confidential 
information protected by section 13.05 or section 13.46, shall not be made 
available or posted as provided in this subdivision unless it may be made 
available or posted in a manner authorized by chapter 13.”

D. Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.13, subdivision 1, $100.
E. Except as noted in item G, a $100 penalty assessment shall be 

issued for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.13, subdivision 2.
F. A $250 penalty assessment shall be issued for a violation of that 

portion of Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.13, subdivision 2, which states: 
“N o controlling person or employee of a nursmg home shall retaliate in any way 
against a complaining nursing home resident and no nursing home resident may 
be denied any right available to him under chapter 566.”

G. Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.16, $100.
Statutory Authority: M S  s 144A.10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524

4655.9342 REPORTING MALTREATMENT OF VULNERABLE ADULTS; 
FINES.

Penalty assessments for violations of Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557 are 
as follows:

A. Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557, subdivision 3, $250;
B. Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557, subdivision 3a, $100;
C. Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557, subdivision 4, $100;
D. Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557, subdivision 9, $250;
E. Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557, subdivision 14, $100;
F. Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557, subdivision 15, $100; and
G. Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557, subdivision 17, $250. •

Statutory Authority: M S  s 144A.10 subd 6
History: 8 SR  1524
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