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4610.0200 RESIDENT TRAINEE IN MORTUARY SCIENCE. 
No person shall be permitted to register as a resident trainee until he shall 

have completed the first year of academic training as provided in Minnesota 
Statutes, section 149.03. 

No service in mortuary science may be performed by a resident trainee 
except under the personal direction and in the presence of the licensed person 
under whom he is registered or under another licensed mortician in the same 
establishment. 

No one may at one and the same time be registered under more than one 
mortician. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122: 149.02 

4610.0300 RESIDENT TRAINEE REGISTRATION. 
Resident trainee registration with the commissioner of health shall show the 

date on which such traineeship began, the name and address of the mortician 
under whom he is registered, and the name and address of the company, 
corporation, or firm of which such mortician is the owner, partner, or employee. 
Discontinuance of such training or transfer to some other mortician for service 
as a trainee shall be immediately reported to the commissioner of health. The 
trainee shall file with the commissioner of health not less than 25 comprehensive 
case reports upon the forms provided by the commissioner. If the mortician 
under whom one is registered is not the owner or manager of the establishment 
in which such mortician and his trainee are working, then in such case all trainee 
case reports and all statements concerning the period of training, in addition to 
being signed by the mortician under whom registered, shall also be approved and 
signed by the employer of such mortician and trainee. 

The application for the initial or renewal registration shall be accompanied 
by a $10 registration fee. The initial and renewal registration shall be issued for 
the calendar year for which application is made and shall expire on December 31 
of such year. Renewal applications and fees shall be submitted no later than 
December 31 of the year preceding the year for which application is made. 

Effective January I, 1969, mortuary science trainee registration shall be 
permitted for no more than three years; provided, however, that for good cause 
the Committee of Examiners in Mortuary Science may extend the registration for 
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an additional period not to exceed one year. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd I; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.0400 MORTICIANS' QUALIFICATIONS. 
Subpart 1. Requirements. Every person who wishes to qualify as 

competent to engage in the practice of mortuary science shall comply with the 
following requirements. 

Subp. 2. License. An applicant shall apply to the Minnesota commissioner 
of health for a license. The application shall contain the full name of the 
applicant, age, mailing address, and such other pertinent identifying information 
as the commissioner may require. 

Subp. 3. Age and education. The applicant shall be at least 18 years of age 
and shall have successfully completed a minimum of 60 semester or 90 quarter 
credits at an accredited college or university with credit evaluation in course 
areas as follows: communications, 15 quarter credits to include speech and 
English, the social sciences, 18 quarter credits to include sociology and 
psychology; natural science, 21 quarter credits to include general or inorganic 
chemistry and biology or zoology; and elective areas, 36 quarter credits. 
Following this academic work, the applicant shall have completed and have 
secured a verification of completion of the prescribed course of study from any 
college of mortuary science accredited by the Conference of Funeral Service 
Examining Boards of U.S., Inc. or the American Board of Funeral Service 
Education. 

Subp. 4. Written examination. After these education qualifications in the 
order specified have been acquired, the applicant shall attain a satisfactory level 
of achievement in a comprehensive examination, approved by the commissioner 
of health in such subjects related to the practice of mortuary science as the 
commissioner may prescribe. If an applicant for a license to practice mortuary 
science has satisfactorily passed the national board examination given by the 
Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards of the U.S., Inc., and is so 
certified to the commissioner by the conference, effective January 1, 1976, the 
commissioner shall, subject to the criteria listed below, accept the results of the 
national board and require the applicant to successfully pass an examination on 
laws of the state of Minnesota and the rules of the commissioner pertaining to 
registration of deaths, embalming, transportation, disposition of dead human 
bodies and funeral directing. In order to accept the results of such national 
examination, the commissioner shall first determine that the knowledge and skills 
assessed by the examination adequately and accurately evaluate the knowledge 
and skills needed for actual job performance and ensure that the public is 
adequately served and protected. An applicant who fails to attain a satisfactory 
level of achievement on any examination given by or on behalf of the 
commissioner may be reexamined on application at the next examination. 

Subp. 5. Experience. After successful completion of required examinations 
the applicant shall serve at least one year as a trainee in mortuary science under 
a mortician licensed by the state of Minnesota. During such period of 
experience the applicant shall be registered as a trainee in mortuary science with 
the commissioner and shall assist under the supervision of a mortician in 
embalming at least 25 bodies and in the direction of at least 25 funerals. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.0500 LICENSE APPLICATION, RENEWAL, AND ENDORSEMENT 
FEES. 

Subpart 1. Examination fee. An applicant for examination for a license in 
mortuary science, shall submit an application therefor on forms provided by the 
commissioner of health together with a fee of $25. 
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Subp. 2. License fee. When the applicant has successfully completed the 
examination and requirements for original license, the applicant shall submit to 
the commissioner a license application on a form prescribed by the commissioner 
and a fee of $25 payable to, the treasurer, state of Minnesota, after which the 
license shall be duly issued. 

Subp. 3. License by endorsement. An applicant for a license in mortuary 
science by endorsement without examination as to technical qualification 
pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 149.03, subdivision 2, shall submit an 
application therefor on forms provided by the commissioner of health together 
with a fee of $75. The applicant shall prior to licensure pass an examination on 
the Minnesota laws and rules relating to mortuary science only. 

Subp. 4. Courtesy card. An applicant for a mortuary science courtesy 
card, issued pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 149.03, subdivision 2. shall 
submit an application therefor on forms provided by the commissioner of health 
together with a fee. 

Subp. 5. License issuance and renewal. Initial and renewal mortuary 
science licenses or courtesy cards shall be issued for the calendar year for which 
application is made and shall expire on December 31 of that year. 

Renewals thereof shall be obtained on an annual basis. Application for 
license or courtesy card renewal, together with the renewal fee of $25 shall be 
submitted to the commissioner of health on forms provided no later than 
December 31 of the year preceding the year for which application is made. 
Failure to submit the renewal application and fee by the date specified above 
shall result in an increase in the fee to $35. If the renewal application and fee 
are not submitted within 31 days after the expiration date, the license or courtesy 
card shall automatically lapse. Such persons shall be required to apply for a 
new license and meet all the requirements therefor. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.0600 FUNERAL DIRECTORS. 
Subpart 1. Licensing requirement. Every person who wishes to qualify as 

competent to engage in the practice of funeral directing, under Laws of 
Minnesota 1959, chapter 395, shall comply with the following requirements. 

Subp. 2. Application content and affidavit. He shall make application to 
the Minnesota commissioner of health for a license. Such application shall 
contain the name of the applicant in full, age, and place of residence. It shall 
be accompanied by affidavits from at least two reputable residents of the county 
in which the applicant resides certifying that the applicant is of good moral 
character. The applicant shall also submit two affidavits from ordained religious 
leaders of his faith substantiating the beliefs and convictions of the applicant's 
faith which forbids the practice of embalming. 

The applicant shall be at least 21 years of age, shall have satisfactorily 
completed at least two years at an accredited college or university with 
approximate credit evaluation in course areas as follows: speech and English, 
15 quarter credits; the social sciences, 16 quarter credits; natural science, 27 
quarter credits; and elective areas, 32 quarter credits. Following such academic 
work applicants shall have completed a course of study at the Department of 
Mortuary Science at the University of Minnesota or any school of mortuary 
science accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education. 

Such courses to include a minimum of 21 quarter credits in mortuary 
management, 29 quarter credits in the mortuary arts and sciences exclusive of 
any courses in embalming theory and practice. 

After the educational qualifications in the order herein specified have been 
acquired, the applicant shall have served at least one year as a trainee in funeral 
directing under a Minnesota licensed mortician. During the period of practical 
experience or traineeship the applicant shall have been registered as a trainee in 
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funeral directing with the commissioner of health and shall have assisted under 
supervision in the direction of at least 25 funerals. The applicant shall attain a 
satisfactory level of achievement in a comprehensive written examination given 
by the commissioner of health in such subjects as anatomy, bacteriology, 
business methods, chemistry, mortuary management, pathology, public health 
laws and regulations, and the practice of funeral directing. At the discretion of 
the commissioner, a practical examination in funeral directing may also be 
required. An applicant who fails to attain a satisfactory level of achievement 
may be reexamined on application at the next annual examination. 

Subp. 3. Application for license. An applicant for a funeral directors 
license, by examination, shall submit an application therefor on forms provided 
by the commissioner of health together with a fee of $25. 

Subp. 4. Renewal. Initial or renewal funeral director licenses shall be 
issued for the calendar year for which application is made and shall expire on 
December 31 of such year. Renewals thereof shall be obtained on an annual 
basis. Applications for license renewal, together with the renewal fee of $25, 
shall be submitted no later than December 31 of the year preceding the year for 
which application is made. Failure to so submit the renewal application and fee 
within 31 days of the date specified above shall result in an automatic lapse in 
the license which shall not thereafter be reinstated. 

Subp. 5. Funeral establishment permit. Applications for an original or 
renewal permit to operate a funeral establishment shall be submitted on forms 
provided by the commissioner of health together with a fee of $35. Original 
permits shall be effective from the day of issuance to the next June 30. Renewal 
permits shall be issued on an annual basis from July 1 to June 30 of the 
following year. Failure to submit the renewal application and fee by the 
expiration date shall result in an increase in the fee to $45. If the renewal 
application and fee are not paid within 31 days after the expiration date, the 
permit shall automatically lapse. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.0700 COMMUNICABLE DISEASE DEATHS, PRIVATE FUNERALS. 
Only morticians shall be permitted to take charge of the remains of persons 

who have died of any communicable disease. When such body is to be shipped, 
preparation shall be in accordance with part 4610.1000. 

The funeral shall be strictly private when the death has been due to 
diphtheria or smallpox. In the case of a smallpox death the casket shall be 
hermetically or permanently sealed. 

A private funeral allows only the presence of those individuals who have 
been in immediate contact with the deceased within 21 days before the death 
occurred, the morticians, and a minister who shall be present only when the 
morticians in charge of the funeral are also present and who shall be directed by 
the morticians as to the precautions to be taken. If individuals who have been 
in such immediate contact with the deceased are not to be present at the funeral 
a private funeral need not be held. Attendance at interment is limited to those 
enumerated herein. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.0800 REGULATIONS GOVERNING TRANSPORTATION OF THE 
DEAD. 

When a dead human body is transported by common carrier to a destination 
outside the state, it shall be embalmed and transported in accordance with the 
transportation regulations of the commissioner of health. The transportation of 
dead human bodies shall be governed by the transportation regulations adopted 
by the Minnesota commissioner of health. Only a mortician licensed to engage 
in the practice of mortuary science shall call for and embalm the body of a 
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person whose death is caused by a disease listed as communicable in part 
4610.1000. Following preparation of the body by embalming, either a mortician 
or a funeral director shall have charge of such body for the purposes of 
transportation and final disposition. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.0900 TRANSPORTATION PERMIT. 
A burial-removal-transit permit shall be required for each dead human body 

transported by common carrier, and in all cases when transported by automobile, 
aircraft, or any other conveyance in lieu of common carrier. It shall be issued 
by the local registrar of the place of death or a subregistrar or, if necessary to 
avoid delay, by the state registrar. 

It shall contain the information required on the permit form as furnished by 
the commissioner of health and be properly signed by the local registrar or a 
subregistrar, the mortician or funeral director, and the person in charge of the 
conveyance. When the cause of death is a communicable disease the permit 
shall be signed by the mortician who prepared the body. Where a firm name is 
used in the signing of the burial-removal-transit permit it shall be supported by 
the personal signature of a licensed member of the firm. 

The burial-removal-transit permit may be given to the person in charge of 
the remains, or attached to the shipping container, and in either case delivered 
with the body at the destination to the sexton or other person in charge of the 
cemetery, or to the health officer in cities that have local ordinances requiring 
burial permits by him in all cases. 

Officials, agents, and employees of all public transportation facilities 
throughout the state of Minnesota shall not receive for transportation a dead 
human body unless the body is accompanied by a burial-removal-transit permit 
properly completed and signed. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.1000 TRANSPORTING DEAD OF ANY COMMUNICABLE DISEASE. 
Subpart 1. Communicable diseases. The removal and transportation of 

bodies dead of the following communicable diseases shall be permitted only 
under the conditions in subparts 2 to 4: 

Actinomycosis Diarrhea, Epidemic 
Anthrax Diptheria 
Botulism Dysentery 
Brucellosis (Undulant Fever) (a) Amebic 
Chickenpox (over 16 years of age) (b) Bacillary 
Cholera, Asiatic Encephalitis (all types) 
Conjunctivitis, Epidemic Glanders 
Gonorrhea Syphilis 
Hepatitis, Infectious Trachoma 
Hepatitis, Serum Trichinosis 
Mononucleosis, Infectious Influenza 
Ophthalmia Neonatorum Leprosy 
Paratyphoid Fever Leptospirosis 
Plague Malaria 
Pneumonia Measles 
Poliomyelitis Meningitis (all types) 
Psittacosis Tuberculosis 
Rabies Tularemia 
Rheumatic Fever Typhoid Fever 
Ringworm of the Scalp Typhus Fever 
Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever Whooping Cough (Pertussis) 
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Smallpox Yellow Fever 
Streptococcal Diseases, including 

Scarlet Fever and Epidemic 
Sore Throat 

Subp. 2. Covering body before removal. Before removal by any of the 
conveyances authorized by part 4610.1500, other than by common carrier, the 
body shall be properly covered and encased in a zipper pouch, bag, or 
waterproof sheet and transported in a standard mortuary basket, a regulation 
ambulance cot, or on an aircraft ambulance stretcher. All sanitary precautions 
in the preparation for removal and in the removal shall be observed for the 
protection of the public health. 

Subp. 3. Embalming. In all cases of communicable disease deaths the 
body shall be embalmed as soon as practicable, and when the destination will 
not be reached within 18 hours after death, the body shall be thoroughly 
embalmed before transportation. Embalming shall include both arterial and 
cavity treatment, all orifices and discharging sinuses closed with absorbent cotton 
and the body washed with a disinfecting fluid. 

Subp. 4. Common carrier use. When a common carrier is to be used, 
embalming is mandatory and both a casket and an outside container shall be 
provided. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.1100 TRANSPORTING DEAD BY AIRCRAFT. 

The transportation of human dead bodies by aircraft shall be permitted 
under the following conditions. 

When the destination is outside the state, a body transported by aircraft 
shall be first thoroughly embalmed. It may be transported in a standard 
mortuary basket, on a regulation ambulance cot, or aircraft ambulance stretcher. 
When transported by common air carrier it shall be enclosed in a casket and 
tight outside container. 

Where a death caused by a disease listed as communicable in part 4610.1000 
occurs in a remote and inaccessible locality, the body in an emergency may be 
brought by aircraft to the nearest point having facilities and there thoroughly 
embalmed and prepared, as provided in these rules, before being transported 
further by aircraft. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.1200 TRANSPORTING DEAD OF NONCOMMUNICABLE DISEASE. 

The transportation of human bodies dead of noncommunicable disease shall 
be permitted under the following conditions: 

A. When the destination will be reached within 18 hours after death, 
the body shall be enclosed in a casket and a tight outside container. When 
transportation is to be made by automobile or aircraft, the outside container may 
be omitted, or the casket and outside container may both be omitted, and in 
such case the body shall be properly covered and encased in a zipper pouch, bag, 
or waterproof sheet and transported in a standard mortuary basket, on a 
regulation ambulance cot, or on an aircraft ambulance stretcher. 

B. When the destination will not be reached within 18 hours after 
death, the body shall be thoroughly embalmed and shipped in accordance with 
the provisions in item A. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 
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4610.1300 TRANSPORTING DISINTERRED BODIES. 
No disinterred body dead from any disease or cause shall be transported 

unless approved, as is required by parts 4610.2400 to 4610.2700, by the health 
authorities having jurisdiction. A burial-removal-transit permit signed by the 
local registrar or a subregistrar, as provided in part 4610.0900, is required. 

All disinterred remains shall be enclosed in a sound, tight box and not 
thereafter opened, provided that bodies in a receiving vault when prepared by 
morticians shall not be regarded as disinterred bodies unless the health officer so 
rules. In townships having no physician as medical health officer for the 
township, a body shall be regarded as disinterred after the expiration of 30 days 
from the time of death. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.1400 TRANSPORTATION INAPPLICABLE TO CORONER. 
The rules of the commissioner of health which control the transportation of 

dead human bodies do not apply to the coroner in the performance of the duties 
of his office as prescribed by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 390. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.1500 KIND OF CONVEYANCES PERMITTED. 
In the transportation of any dead body the following conveyances may be 

used: baggage or express car, boat, hearse, ambulance, any standard automobile 
properly designed and manufactured for the transportation of dead human 
bodies, any wagon or sleigh, or airplane. All such conveyances or vehicles shall 
have ample area to accommodate a standard mortuary basket, a regulation 
ambulance cot, or aircraft ambulance stretcher in a horizontal position and shall 
be so designed as to permit loading or unloading without excessive tilting of the 
cot or basket. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.1600 MOVING BODIES LOCALLY. 
When the transportation rules do not apply, embalming is not required if the 

body is to be buried within 72 hours after death. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.1700 ARSENICAL EMBALMING FLUIDS. 
No embalming fluid containing compounds of arsenic, mercury, zinc, or 

other poisonous metals shall be sold or used in Minnesota for or in the 
embalming of dead human bodies for burial. 

Provided that in case it appears necessary to hold a dead human body for 30 
days or more before burial, the county coroner after an investigation by him as 
to the cause of death may issue a written order permitting the use of compounds 
of arsenic, mercury, zinc, or other poisonous metals in the preservation of such 
body. 

In the shipment of the dead in Minnesota when embalming is carried out, 
the fluid shall be of a quality and used in sufficient quantity to properly embalm 
the body. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.1800 OUTSIDE CONTAINER. 
Every outside container shall bear at least four handles and when over five 

feet six inches in length shall bear six handles. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd I; 144.122; 149.02 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1985

Copyright © 1985 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



4610.1900 DISPOSITION OF THE DEAD 3552 

4610.1900 OPENING OF SEALED CASKETS. 
The opening of hermetically sealed caskets containing disinterred remains of 

persons dead from any cause and shipped for burial in Minnesota is hereby 
forbidden except when so ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.2000 ASHES OF THE DEAD. 
Cremation of a dead human body shall be considered as a final disposal of 

that body. No additional permit covering transportation, interment, or other 
disposal of ashes of a cremated body, or concerning the kind of container in 
which such ashes are placed for preservation or transportation is required. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.2100 SERVING OF FOODSTUFFS IN FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENTS. 
In the interest of safeguarding public health, safety, welfare, and sanitation, 

the serving of food to the public in a funeral establishment is prohibited. For 
the purpose of this part, beverages served in single use disposable containers 
shall not be considered food. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd I; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.2200 PERMIT FOR DISINTERMENT AND REINTERMENT. 
No person except a mortician, and then only after first having obtained a 

permit therefor from the local health officer and the local registrar or a 
subregistrar, as hereinafter prescribed, shall disinter the body of a deceased 
person; provided, the authorities in charge of a cemetery may transfer bodies 
buried therein from one part of such cemetery to another part thereof with the 
approval and under supervision of the local health officer. Any person desiring 
such a permit shall first secure from the actuary or secretary or other person in 
charge of the cemetery records a written statement showing that such body is 
buried in that cemetery and giving thereon the name of deceased, age at the time 
of death, date of death, cause of death, and date of burial. He shall present this 
statement to the proper local health officer and make application for permission 
to disinter and remove such body. 

Provided, if there is no such cemetery record then such statement by 
relatives of the deceased or other competent person or persons who are 
empowered to cause such disinterment and removal shall be presented. 
Provided further, if the health officer has cemetery records of the cemeteries in 
his municipality and a record of such interment, no such written statement need 
be secured or filed with him. 

The local health officer shall question the applicant as to the manner in 
which it is proposed to disinter, handle, and dispose of the remains, and shall 
give and enforce such directions for disinterment, removal, and reinterment as he 
deems necessary for the protection of the public health. Such local health 
officer shall thereafter notify the local registrar or subregistrar orally or in 
writing if he has approved such application. The applicant shall thereupon 
apply to the registrar or to a subregistrar, who shall issue in duplicate a written 
d i s i n t e r m e n t - r e i n t e r m e n t pe rmi t , us ing for such p u r p o s e the 
burial-removal-transit form now provided by the commissioner of health for 
original interments and noting thereon the words "disinterment-reinterment 
permit." 

The mortician shall furnish the sexton or person in charge of any cemetery, 
burial place, or other premises in which the disinterment is made, a duplicate 
copy of the disinterment-reinterment form. The sexton in charge of the final 
resting place shall not inter or permit the interment or other disposition of the 
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d i s i n t e r r e d body of a deceased person unt i l he receives a 
disinterment-reinterment permit. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.2300 SANITARY CONDITION OF MORTUARIES. 
Subpart 1. Mortuary defined. A funeral home, mortuary, or funeral 

directing establishment is a facility approved by the commissioner and devoted 
to or used for, or held out to the public as a place for the care, preparation, or 
repose prior to burial or transportation of dead human bodies; or for the 
conducting of funeral services. However, these definitions are not applicable to 
any facility operated by a person holding a single license as funeral director as 
provided in Minnesota Statutes 1957, section 149.02. 

Subp. 2. Preparation room. All mortuaries and funeral directing 
establishments shall be maintained in a sanitary manner at all times. A properly 
lighted and ventilated preparation room shall be provided in every mortuary or 
funeral directing establishment. It shall have a tile, terrazzo, concrete, 
composition, or linoleum-covered floor which shall be kept in a smooth and 
easily cleanable condition and made free and clear of dust, dirt, refuse, and other 
contaminations. The operating or embalming table shall have a tile, metal, or 
other hard surface sanitary top. The floors and walls of the preparation room 
and all embalming or dressing tables, portable couches, cooling boards, and 
transfer cases shall be kept in a clean and sanitary condition. 

Subp. 3. Embalming room. The operating or embalming room shall be 
provided with an adequate water supply. Liquid waste from the operating or 
embalming tables shall be directed to an open fixture which is properly vented 
and connected to the building drainage system. Where a municipal sewerage 
system is available, the building drainage system shall be discharged into the 
municipal sewage system; where such a system is not available, the building 
drainage system must be discharged into a satisfactory private system of waste 
disposal. There shall be no connection or other arrangement from any 
plumbing fixture or device whereby unsafe water or other foreign material may 
be discharged or drawn into a safe water supply. Every plumbing fixture, 
receptacle, and water supply tank shall be provided with a proper air gap or 
other acceptable device to prevent backflow into the water supply. 

Subp. 4. Removal of waste. Refuse, bandages, cotton, and other wastes 
shall be collected in proper and convenient receptacles which shall be provided 
in the operating and preparation rooms. All such waste shall be destroyed by 
incineration and all embalming tables, hoppers, sinks, receptacles, instruments, 
and other appliances used in the embalming of dead human bodies shall be 
thoroughly cleaned immediately after the preparation of the case is completed. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 
ITEMIZATION AND AUTHORIZATION TO EMBALM 

4610.2400 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Application. For the purposes of parts 4610.0200 to 4610.2700, 

the words, terms, and phrases listed in this part shall have the meaning stated 
herein, unless the language and context clearly indicates that a different meaning 
is intended. 

Subp. 2. Burial vault/interment receptacle. "Burial vault/interment 
receptacle" means an outer container used to enclose the casket for earth burial. 

Subp. 3. Cash advanced items. "Cash advanced items" means items of 
merchandise and services provided by other than the mortician, funeral director, 
or funeral establishment, the liability for which is incurred by the mortician, 
funeral director, or funeral establishment on behalf of the funeral arranger and 
listed on the itemization form. 
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Subp. 4. Casket. "Casket" means a container commonly used to enclose a 
dead human body for the purposes of the funeral and final disposition. 

Subp. 5. Cremation/calcination. "Cremation/calcination" means the use of 
direct flames or intense heat to reduce the dead human body to ashes and 
inorganic bone fragments. 

Subp. 6. Destination. "Destination" means the city or town of final 
disposition. 

Subp. 7. Disposal unit. "Disposal unit" means a container other than a 
casket used for burial, cremation, calcination, or entombment of a dead human 
body. 

Subp. 8. Embalming. "Embalming" means a process of chemically treating 
the dead human body to reduce the presence and growth of organisms, to retard 
organic decomposition and to restore an acceptable physical appearance. 

Subp. 9. Funeral. "Funeral" means the rites or ceremonies connected with 
the final disposition of a dead human body with the body present. 

Subp. 10. Funeral service merchandise. "Funeral service merchandise" 
includes such items as clothing, register books, cards, and religious and fraternal 
items necessary to the conduct of the service. 

Subp. 11. Preparation of the body. "Preparation of the body" includes 
such items of care as the setting of features, restorative procedures, washing, 
disinfecting, care of hair, shaving, dressing, and casketing. 

Subp. 12. Professional services. "Professional services" includes the 
provision of staff for arrangements, visitations, funeral, memorial service when 
the body is not present, final disposition, and administrative services such as 
counseling, securing, and preparing necessary documents. 

Subp. 13. Transportation costs. "Transportation costs" includes the vehicle 
used for the initial transfer of the deceased, funeral coach, funeral sedans, flower 
car, service/utility car, and the use of common carriers where needed. 

Subp. 14. Use of facilities. "Use of facilities" means: 
A. provision of chapel or room for the funeral or memorial service 

and/or provision of facilities for parking, counseling offices, and other 
administrative purposes; and 

B. provision of chapel or room for visitation/reviewal. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.2500 ITEMIZATION OF FUNERAL COSTS. 
Before final agreement is reached between the client and funeral 

establishment the mortician or funeral director shall give or cause to be given to 
the person(s) making arrangements, a written disclosure with the items and costs 
listed separately as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 149.09, subdivision 1. 

As a minimum the disclosure shall include a statement of charges for casket, 
burial vault, use of facilities for reviewal, use of facilities for funeral services, 
specifically itemized transportation costs, specifically itemized funeral service 
merchandise, embalming, preparation of the body, other professional services, 
and anticipated cash advances and expenditures. When cremation is to be the 
method of final disposition the disclosure shall have printed in conspicuous print: 
"Minnesota law does not require that remains be placed in a casket before or at 
the time of cremation." 

A copy of the itemized statement (funeral expense contract) shall be given 
the person(s) making funeral arrangements. The contract shall be signed by 
both parties and the funeral establishment shall retain a copy for three years 
thereafter. 
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If the charge for any item is not known at the time the contract is entered 
into, the establishment representative shall give his/her best estimate of the 
charges and advise the purchaser(s) of the exact charge as soon as the 
information becomes available. 

No funeral establishment shall bill or cause to be billed any item that is 
referred to as a "cash advanced" item unless the net amount paid for such item 
or items by the funeral establishment is the same as is billed to the funeral 
establishment. The term "net" is not meant to include any discounts that may 
be allowed for prompt payment by the funeral establishment. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.2600 AUTHORIZATION TO EMBALM. 
Written authorization for embalming a dead human body shall be obtained 

from the person lawfully entitled to custody of the body or from the individual 
prior to his/her death. 

Oral permission shall constitute approval to proceed with embalming, 
however, the establishment representative must specifically use the term 
"embalm" in securing oral permission. Written authorization shall be obtained 
as soon as practicable. 

Upon request the mortician or funeral director shall explain the 
requirements of parts 4610.0800 to 4610.1600 which in some instances mandate 
embalming and make available a copy of parts 4610.0800 to 4610.1600. When 
embalming is required as provided in parts 4610.0800 to 4610.1600, permission to 
embalm shall, as a matter of law, be implied. 

The written authorization shall be retained in the establishment record of 
the deceased for three years and a copy made available to the person(s) granting 
authority. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 

4610.2700 FORM OF AUTHORIZATION TO EMBALM. 
The written authorization statement shall be as follows: 

Authorization to Embalm 
I authorize and its staff, 

agents or representative to embalm the body of I 
am a relative of the deceased and/or am entitled to custody of the deceased. I 
understand that embalming is not required by Minnesota law except as provided 
by parts 4610.0800 to 4610.1600. 

1) The deceased is to be sent out of state by common carrier or aircraft, 
2) Death is due to communicable disease, 
3) More than 18 hours will elapse from time of death to arrival at the 

destination, or 
4) Final disposition of the deceased is longer than 72 hours after death. 

name, relationship 

name, establishment representative 

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.12 subd 1; 144.122; 149.02 
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