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LICENSE RENEWALS AND TERMINATION

2150.0050 TERM OF LICENSE.

A license is valid for one year beginning with the first day of the month following the
date the license was granted by the board and expires on the last day of the month preceding
the month in which the license was originally effective. Thereafter, the license is renewable
for a period of one year.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.54

History: 30 SR 5

2150.0060 NOTICE OF LICENSE RENEWAL.

The board shall mail an application for license renewal to a licensee at least 45 days
before the expiration date of the license. In the alternative, upon the licensee's election, the
board shall send the application via e-mail. Placing the application for license renewal in
first class United States mail, addressed to the licensee at the licensee's last known mailing
address with postage prepaid, constitutes valid mailing. Sending the application via e-mail
to the licensee's last known e-mail address on file also constitutes valid notification. Failure
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to receive the renewal documents by either means does not relieve a license holder of the
obligation to renew a license or to pay the renewal fee.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.54
History: 30 SR 5

2150.0070 APPLYING FOR RENEWAL OF A LICENSE.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must submit a completed, signed application

for license renewal, with the required, nonrefundable license renewal fee as specified by
Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.53, subdivision 3, clause (2), payable to the Board of
Behavioral Health and Therapy. The application must be postmarked or received by the
board by the end of the day on which the license expires, or the following business day
if the expiration date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday. An application which is not
completed or signed, or which is not accompanied by the correct fee, is void, and must be
returned to the licensee.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.54
History: 30 SR 5

2150.0080 PENDING RENEWAL.
If a licensee's application for license renewal is postmarked or received by the board by

the end of the business day on the expiration date of the license, the licensee may continue
to practice after the expiration date while the application for license renewal is pending
with the board.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.54
History: 30 SR 5

2150.0090 LATE FEE.
If the application for license renewal is received after the expiration date, the licensee

shall pay a late fee as specified by Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.53, subdivision 3,
clause (4), in addition to the renewal fee, before the application for license renewal will be
considered by the board.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.54
History: 30 SR 5

2150.0100 EXPIRED LICENSE.
A licensee who fails to submit an application for license renewal, or whose application

for license renewal is not postmarked or received by the board as required, is not authorized
to practice after the expiration date and is subject to disciplinary action by the board for any
practice after the expiration date.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.54
History: 30 SR 5

2150.0110 TERMINATION FOR NONRENEWAL.
Subpart 1. Notice. Within 30 days after the renewal date, a licensee who has not re-

newed the license shall be notified by registered or certified letter sent to the last known
address of the licensee in the board's file that the renewal is overdue and that failure to pay
the current fee and current late fee within 60 days after the renewal date will result in ter-
mination of the license. A second notice must be sent at least seven days before a board
meeting occurring 60 days or more after the renewal date to each licensee who has not re-
mitted the renewal fee and late fee.

Subp. 2. Termination. The board shall terminate the license of a licensee whose li-
cense renewal is at least 60 days overdue and to whom notification has been sent as provided
in subpart 1. Failure of a licensee to receive notification is not grounds for later challenge
of the termination. The former licensee shall be notified of the termination by registered or
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145 LICENSURE 2150.0160

certified letter within seven days after the board action, in the same manner as provided in
subpart 1.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.54
History: 30 SR 5

2150.0120 VOLUNTARY TERMINATION.
A license may be voluntarily terminated at any time upon written notification to the

board, unless a complaint is pending against the licensee. The notification must be received
by the board prior to termination of the license for failure to renew. A former licensee
may be licensed again only after complying with all laws and rules, as provided in part
2150.0130, for relicensure following termination.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.54
History: 30 SR 5

2150.0130 RELICENSURE FOLLOWING TERMINATION.
Subpart 1. Relicensure. For a period of two years, a former licensee whose license has

been voluntarily terminated or terminated for nonrenewal as provided in part 2150.0110 or
2150.0120 may be relicensed after complying with all laws and rules required of applicants
for examination and licensure and verifying that the former licensee has not engaged in the
practice of professional counseling in this state since the date of termination. The verifica-
tion must be accompanied by a notarized affirmation that the statement is true and correct
to the best knowledge and belief of the former licensee. The fee for relicensure following
termination is the licensure fee in effect at the time of application for relicensure, and rules
governing relicensure are the rules in effect at the time the initial license was granted.

Subp. 2. Continuing education for relicensure. A former licensee seeking relicen-
sure after license termination must provide evidence of having completed at least 20 hours
of continuing education activities for each year, or portion thereof, that the former licensee
did not hold a license.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.54
History: 30 SR 5

2150.0140 CANCELLATION OF LICENSE.
The board shall not renew, reissue, reinstate, or restore the license of a former licensee

which was terminated for nonrenewal, or voluntarily terminated, and for which relicensure
was not sought for more than two years from the date the license was terminated for nonre-
newal, or voluntarily terminated. A former licensee seeking relicensure after this two-year
period must obtain a new license by applying for licensure and fulfilling all requirements
then in existence for an initial license to practice professional counseling in Minnesota.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.54
History: 30 SR 5

2150.0150 JURISDICTION.
The board shall retain jurisdiction over a licensee whose license was terminated

for nonrenewal, or voluntarily terminated, until the license is canceled pursuant to part
2150.0160, and may take disciplinary action against the former licensee based on conduct
occurring before termination of the license.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.54
History: 30 SR 5

2150.0160 INACTIVE LICENSES.
Subpart 1. Inactive status. A professional counselor currently licensed in Minnesota

may apply for an inactive status license with the board. Requests for inactive status li-
censure must be made at the time of license renewal, and must be accompanied by the
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appropriate fee. A licensee may not practice professional counseling in Minnesota while
the licensee's license is in inactive status.

Subp. 2. Application. The licensee must complete a board-approved application
which must include a signed, notarized affidavit stating that the licensee is not currently
practicing professional counseling in Minnesota. The board may refuse to approve an
application if:

A. a complaint is pending against the licensee;
B. the licensee has an outstanding disciplinary order or corrective action agree-

ment; or
C. the licensee is not current in fees and penalties paid, or in continuing education

units obtained for annual license renewal.
Subp. 3. Renewal of inactive license. A licensee whose license is in inactive status is

subject to the renewal requirements in this chapter except that the licensee need not show
compliance with continuing education requirements until seeking reactivation provided in
subpart 4.

Subp. 4. Reactivation. A licensee whose license is in inactive status may return to
active license status at any time, subject to the requirements in items A and B.

A. The licensee shall complete a board-approved application which must include
a signed, notarized affidavit stating that the licensee has not practiced professional coun-
seling in Minnesota during the period of time in which the license was inactive. The appli-
cation must be accompanied by the active license fee. If application is made at a time other
than the licensee's renewal cycle, the licensee shall pay the difference between the inactive
license fee and the active license fee.

B. The licensee shall provide documentation acceptable to the board that the li-
censee has met the continuing education requirements during the period of time in which
the license was inactive.

Subp. 5. Jurisdiction. The board shall retain jurisdiction over a licensee whose li-
cense is in inactive status, and may take disciplinary action against the licensee for conduct
occurring before or during the time in which the license is inactive.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.54
History: 30 SR 5

CONTINUING EDUCATION

2150.2500 PURPOSE OF CONTINUING EDUCATION.
The purpose of mandatory continuing education is to:

A. promote the health and well-being of the residents of Minnesota who receive
services from licensees; and

B. promote the professional development of providers of these services.
The continued professional growth and maintenance of competence in providing pro-

fessional counseling services are the ethical responsibilities of each licensee.
Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605

2150.2510 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIRED.
All licensees must meet the continuing education requirements in this chapter andMin-

nesota Statutes, section 148B.54, subdivision 2.
Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605
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2150.2520 INITIAL REQUIREMENT.
Subpart 1. Coursework. Except as provided in subparts 2 and 3, licensees must com-

plete 12 graduate semester credits in counseling or the quarter credit equivalent within the
first four years of licensure. Coursework completed for purposes of this requirement shall
comply with items A to D.

A. Courses must be completed at a counseling program recognized by the Coun-
cil for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Programs (CACREP) or from
an institution of higher education that is accredited by a regional accrediting organization
recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).

B. Courses must be taken and passed for graduate credit. Audited courses or
courses not otherwise taken for credit may not be used to satisfy this requirement.

C. Courses must fall within one of the course content areas specified in Minnesota
Statutes, section 148B.53, subdivision 1, paragraph (b).

D. In addition to submission of the Affidavit of Continuing Education Compli-
ance, all licensees are required to have transcripts documenting completion of the course-
work sent directly to the board from the educational institutions where the coursework was
completed.

Subp. 2. Prelicensure credit exception. Notwithstanding subpart 1, and subject to
subpart 4, a licensee may use prelicensure coursework to satisfy this requirement, so long
as the coursework otherwise satisfies the requirements of subpart 1, items A to D.

Subp. 3. Degree program credit exception. If a licensee can document to the sat-
isfaction of the board that the degree program upon which the licensee's license is based
was in excess of 48 semester credits, or quarter credit equivalent, that licensee need only
complete the number of graduate credits sufficient to reach a combined total of 60 gradu-
ate semester credits between the degree program and this requirement. The licensee must
comply with the requirements of subpart 4.

Subp. 4. Additional requirements. In addition to completing the requisite graduate
coursework as outlined in subparts 1 to 3, each licensee shall also complete in the first four
years of licensure, a minimum of 40 hours of continuing education activities approved by
the board as described in part 2150.2540.

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.389; 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605; 31 SR 325

2150.2530 SUBSEQUENT REQUIREMENT.
After the first four years of licensure, all licensees must complete a minimum of 40

hours of continuing education activities approved by the board every two years as described
in part 2150.2540.

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.389; 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605; 31 SR 325

2150.2540 CRITERIA FOR APPROVAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION
ACTIVITIES.

To satisfy the requirements of parts 2150.2500 to 2150.2660, a continuing education
activity must be approved by the board or its designee. Activities may be approved for all
attendees when submitted by the sponsor as prescribed in part 2150.2550, a licensee may
request individual approval as prescribed in part 2150.2560, or activities may be automat-
ically approved as prescribed in part 2150.2570. The board shall consider the following
factors in determining whether an activity should be approved:

A. the activity's relevance to the practices of professional counseling;
B. the activity's relevance to the development and maintenance of professional

skills of professional counselors;
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C. relation of the activity's proposed topics to the body of professional counseling
knowledge;

D. whether the activity is structured on sound educational principles and fits into
one of the following categories:

(1) structured educational activities with an instructor as a part of conven-
tions, workshops, seminars, lectures, interactive or other online media, and graduate and
postgraduate courses from regionally accredited institutions;

(2) home study activities related to professional counseling that have an in-
dependently graded test component with no more than one-fourth of the required 40 con-
tinuing education hours earned by this method;

E. whether the activity is at least one hour in length. "One hour" means at least 50
minutes spent as a student in direct participation in a structured educational format. Time
for home study activities is based on the developer's research on average time to complete;
or

F. whether the instructors or developers of the activity are qualified by practical
or academic experience to teach, lecture, make presentations, or develop activities.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605

2150.2550 SPONSOR'S APPLICATION FOR APPROVAL.
Subpart 1. Content. Except as provided in part 2150.2570, individuals, organizations,

associations, corporations, educational institutions, or groups intending to offer continuing
education activities for approval must submit to the board a completed application for ap-
proval on a form provided by the board. The sponsor must comply with items A and B to
receive and maintain approval.

A. The application for approval must be submitted at least 60 days before the
activity is scheduled to begin.

B. The application for approval must include the following information to enable
the board to determine whether the activity meets the standards for board approval in part
2150.2540:

(1) a statement of the objectives of the activity and the knowledge the partic-
ipants will have gained upon completion of the activity;

(2) a description of the content and methodology of the activity which will
allow the participants to meet the objectives;

(3) a description of the method to be used by the participants to evaluate the
activity;

(4) a listing of the qualifications of each instructor or developer that shows
the instructor's or developer's current knowledge and skill in the activity's subject;

(5) a description of the certificate or other form of verification of attendance
distributed to each participant upon successful completion of the activity;

(6) the sponsor's agreement to retain attendance lists for a period of five years
from the date of the activity; and

(7) a copy of any proposed advertisement or other promotional literature.
Subp. 2. Approval expiration. If the board approves an activity, it shall assign the

activity a number. The approval remains in effect for one year from the date of initial ap-
proval. Upon expiration, a sponsor must submit to the board a new application for activity
approval as required by subpart 1.

Subp. 3. Statement of board approval. Each sponsor of an approved activity shall
include in any promotional literature a statement that "This activity has been approved by
the Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy for ... hours of credit."
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Subp. 4. Changes. The activity sponsor must submit proposed changes in an approved
activity to the board for its approval.

Subp. 5. Denial of approval. The board shall deny approval of an activity if it does
not meet the criteria in part 2150.2540. The board shall notify the sponsor in writing of its
reasons for denying approval of an activity.

Subp. 6. Revocation of approval. The board shall revoke its approval of an activity
if a sponsor fails to comply with subpart 4, or if a sponsor falsifies information requested
by the board in the application for approval of an activity.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605

2150.2560 INDIVIDUAL LICENSEE'S APPLICATION FOR APPROVAL.
Subpart 1. Requirement. A licensee may apply individually for approval of any con-

tinuing education activities that have not been approved by the board. The licensee must
submit the information required in subpart 2 as well as other information the board reason-
ably requires to evaluate the activity for approval. A licensee may apply for approval of a
continuing education activity at any time, except that in order to obtain approval prior to
taking the activity, the licensee must apply at least 60 days before the activity is scheduled
to begin.

Subp. 2. Content. To apply for approval, a licensee shall complete and submit a form
provided by the board, and provide the following information:

A. the name and address of the organization sponsoring the activity;
B. a detailed description of the content of the activity;
C. the name of each instructor or presenter and the instructor's or presenter's cre-

dentials; and
D. the location, including the name and address of the facility, at which the activ-

ity will be conducted.
Subp. 3. Activity not previously approved. Licensees intending to take an activity

not previously approved by the board are strongly encouraged to seek board approval before
attending the activity.

Subp. 4. Denial of approval. The board shall deny approval for an activity if it does
not meet the standards in part 2150.2540. The board shall notify the applicant in writing of
its reasons for denying approval under this subpart.

Subp. 5. Addition to list of approved activities. Once an activity has been approved
for an individual licensee, the activity shall be assigned a number and added to the board's
list of approved continuing education activities.

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.389; 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605; 31 SR 325

2150.2570 AUTOMATIC APPROVAL.
Any activity approved for continuing education credit for professional counselors by

the American Counseling Association (ACA), Council for Accreditation of Counseling
and Related Education Programs (CACREP), American Association of State Counseling
Boards (AASCB), the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC), or other national
organization as determined by the board, shall automatically be approved for continuing
education credit without further application by the sponsor or licensee.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605
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2150.2580 ADDITIONAL SOURCES OF CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDIT.
In addition to the activities described in part 2150.2560, an individual may apply for

continuing education hours for the activities in items A to F.
A. Teaching a course at an institution by the Council for Accreditation of Coun-

seling and Related Education Programs (CACREP) or from an institution of higher edu-
cation that is accredited by a regional accrediting organization recognized by the Council
for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). To qualify for continuing education credit,
the course must fall within one of the ten content areas specified by Minnesota Statutes,
section 148B.53, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), as determined by the board. Continuing
education hours may be earned only for the first time the licensee teaches the course. Ten
continuing education hours may be earned for each semester credit hour taught. Acceptable
documentation is verification from the dean or head of the department of the institution that
the licensee taught the course content for the first time and of the number of credits, units,
or hours assigned by the institution.

B. Authoring, editing, producing, or reviewing in the area of professional coun-
seling. Continuing education hours may be earned only in the year of publication. The
maximum hours earned are as follows:

(1) author of a professional book, 30 hours. Acceptable documentation is a
copy of the title page and any other pages needed to indicate the date of publication;

(2) author of a professional book chapter or peer-reviewed journal article, 25
hours. Acceptable documentation is the table of contents showing the title and author and
any other pages needed to indicate the date of publication;

(3) editor of a professional book or peer-reviewed journal, 20 hours. Accept-
able documentation is a copy of the title page and any other pages needed to indicate the
date of publication; and

(4) journal article peer review, two hours per manuscript. For this unit only,
continuing education hours may be earned in the year the review is received by the editor.
Acceptable documentation is a letter from the editor verifying the review has been provided.

C. Presentations at workshops, seminars, symposia, meetings of professional or-
ganizations, or postgraduate institutes. The presentation must be related to professional
counseling. A presenter may claim one hour of continuing education for each hour of pre-
sentation time. A presenter may also receive continuing education hours for development
time at the rate of three hours for each hour of presentation time. Continuing education
hours may be earned only for the licensee's first presentation on the subject developed. Ac-
ceptable documentation of completion is a printed program or agenda. One presentation
hour equals three continuing education hours. Continuing education hours may be earned
only for the licensee's first presentation of the content.

D. Acting as:
(1) a board member of a major state or national professional counseling or-

ganization or a member of a committee of such an organization;
(2) a board member of a national counselor certification board;
(3) a board member of a state counseling licensure/certification board; or
(4) the chair of a major counseling conference or convention.

Continuing education hours may be claimed for actual meeting time only, on a per-hour
basis up to 20 hours per reporting period. Acceptable documentation is a letter from the
board's executive director or equivalent attesting to the hours spent in service to the board.

E. Individually designed continuing education activity. Licensees may submit
proposals for continuing education activities that do not meet other guidelines established
in this part. No more than one-fourth of the required 40 continuing education hours may
be earned by this method. The proposal request must include the following:

(1) the rationale for pursuing an individually designed activity;
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(2) specific goals and objectives, and an explanation of how the goals and
objectives are related to the enhancement of the licensee's professional skills;

(3) an outline of the topics to be covered;
(4) a description of related resources and activities;
(5) the proposed documentation of completion of activity; and
(6) the estimate of time to be expended on the activity and the number of con-

tinuing education hours requested. The board shall make the final decision in the number
of hours credited for completion of such activity.

F. Taking and passing for credit a graduate level course in counseling from a coun-
seling program recognized by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Ed-
ucation Programs (CACREP) or from an institution of higher education that is accredited
by a regional accrediting organization recognized by the Council for Higher Education Ac-
creditation (CHEA). Acceptable documentation is an academic transcript showing graduate
credits earned. A licensee may receive 15 continuing education hours per semester credit
hour or ten continuing education hours per quarter credit hour.

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.389; 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605; 31 SR 325

2150.2590 DOCUMENTATION AND REPORTING COMPLIANCE.
Subpart 1. Initial reporting requirement. At the completion of the first four years of

licensure, the licensee shall submit, with the renewal application, the Affidavit of Continu-
ing Education Compliance as described in subpart 1a, showing completion of a minimum
of 40 approved continuing education hours as required in part 2150.2520, subpart 4. The
affidavit shall also list any graduate coursework completed as required by part 2150.2520
and Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.54, subdivision 2. For any such graduate courses,
the licensee shall arrange to have transcripts showing completion of the requisite graduate
credits sent directly to the board from the educational institution. Such transcripts must be
received by the board within 60 days of the licensee's renewal date, or the licensee may be
subject to administrative suspension until such time as the transcripts are received.

Subp. 1a. Affidavit. Following the initial four-year reporting period, every two years
thereafter, when the licensee applies for renewal of the license, the licensee must complete
and submit an Affidavit of Continuing Education Compliance showing that the licensee has
completed a minimum of 40 approved continuing education hours since the last renewal.
Failure to submit the affidavit when required makes the licensee's renewal application in-
complete and void.

Subp. 2. Documentation. All licensees shall retain original documentation of com-
pletion of continuing education hours for a period of five years. For purposes of parts
2150.2500 to 2150.2660, a receipt for payment of the fee for the course is not sufficient
evidence of completion of the required hours of continuing education.

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 31 SR 325]
Statutory Authority: MS s 14.389; 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605; 31 SR 325

2150.2600 CARRYOVER OF CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS.
A licensee who has completed more than 40 approved continuing education hours in

the preceding reporting period may carry hours in excess of 40 over to the next reporting
period, up to a maximum of ten hours.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605
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2150.2650 CONTINUING EDUCATION AUDIT.
Annually, the board may randomly audit a percentage of its licensees for compliance

with continuing education requirements as described in items A and B.
A. The board shall include with a selected licensee's renewal notice and applica-

tion a notice that the licensee has been selected for an audit of continuing education hours.
The notice must include the reporting periods selected for audit.

B. Selected licensees shall submit with their renewal application copies of the
original documentation of completed continuing education hours. Upon specific request,
the licensee shall submit original documentation. Failure to submit required documentation
shall result in the renewal application being considered incomplete and void, and constitute
grounds for nonrenewal of the license and disciplinary action.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605

2150.2660 VARIANCE FROM CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. General. If a licensee is unable to meet the continuing education require-
ments by the renewal date, the licensee may request a time-limited variance to fulfill the
requirement after the renewal date. A licensee seeking a variance is considered to be re-
newing late, and is subject to the late renewal fee, regardless of when the request is received
or whether the variance is granted.

Subp. 2. Procedure. The licensee shall submit the variance request on a form desig-
nated by the board, and include the variance fee in Minnesota Statutes, section 14.056, and
the late fee for licensure renewal. The variance request is subject to Minnesota Statutes,
section 14.055, subdivision 4, and must include a written plan listing the activities, includ-
ing the dates and the number of hours for each, offered to meet the requirement. Hours
completed after the renewal date pursuant to the written plan count toward meeting only
the requirements of the previous renewal period. A variance granted under this subpart
expires six months after the renewal date. A licensee who is granted a variance but fails
to complete the required continuing education within the six-month period may apply for
a second variance in accordance with this subpart.

Subp. 3. Nonrenewal; suspension. If an initial variance request is denied, the license
of the licensee shall not be renewed until the licensee completes the continuing education
requirements. If an initial variance is granted, and the licensee fails to complete the required
continuing education with the six-month period, the license shall be administratively sus-
pended until the licensee completes the required continuing education unless the licensee
has obtained a second variance according to subpart 2.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605

SUPERVISED FIELD EXPERIENCE AND
PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE

2150.5000 PREDEGREE SUPERVISED FIELD EXPERIENCE.
Applicants must provide evidence satisfactory to the board of having completed su-

pervised field experience as required in Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.53, subdivision
1, paragraph (a), clause (3). Verification must be in the form of a transcript or letter sent
directly to the board from the program director or equivalent documenting the supervised
field experience.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605
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2150.5010 POSTDEGREE SUPERVISED PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE.
Subpart 1. Supervision. For the purpose of meeting this part, "supervision" means

documented interactive consultation, which, subject to the limitations in subpart 4, item B,
may be conducted in person, by telephone, or by audio or audiovisual electronic device,
between an approved supervisor and a licensed professional counselor. The supervision
must be adequate to ensure the quality and competence of the activities supervised. Super-
visory consultation must include discussions on the nature and content of the practice of the
supervisee, including, but not limited to, a review of a representative sample of counseling
services in the supervisee's practice.

Subp. 2. Postdegree professional practice. "Postdegree professional practice" means
required postdegree paid or volunteer work experience and training that involves the pro-
fessional oversight by an approved supervisor and satisfies the supervision requirements in
subpart 4.

Subp. 3. Approved supervisor. For the purpose of this part, the supervision must be
provided by a supervisor, approved by the board, who must:

A. be a licensed professional counselor, licensed psychologist, or other qualified
supervisor as determined by the board;

B. have four years of professional counseling experience; and
C. have received a minimum of 45 hours of formal training in providing coun-

seling supervision, which may include graduate coursework, continuing education courses,
workshops, or a combination thereof. A supervisor approved by the board prior to July 5,
2005, is considered to have met the requirements of this subpart.

Subp. 4. Supervised practice requirements.
A. Licensed professional counselors must obtain supervision by an approved su-

pervisor for the first 2,000 hours of professional practice. This part does not prohibit li-
censees from participating in other supervisory relationships for purposes other than meet-
ing the requirements of this part.

B. The content of supervision must include:
(1) professional counseling knowledge, skills, values, and ethics with spe-

cific application to the practice issues faced by the supervisee;
(2) the standards of practice and ethical conduct, with particular emphasis

given to the professional counselor's role and appropriate responsibilities, professional
boundaries, and power dynamics; and

(3) the supervisee's permissible scope of practice, as defined by Minnesota
Statutes, section 148B.50, subdivision 5.

C. The supervision must be obtained at the rate of two hours of supervision per
40 hours of professional practice, for a total of 100 hours of supervision. The supervision
must be evenly distributed over the course of the supervised professional practice. At least
75 percent of the required supervision hours must be received in person. The remaining
25 percent of the required hours may be received by telephone or by audio or audiovisual
electronic device. At least 50 percent of the required hours of supervision must be received
on an individual basis. The remaining 50 percent may be received in a group setting.

D. The supervision must be completed in no fewer than 12 consecutive months
and no more than 36 consecutive months.

E. Except as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.53, subdivision 1,
paragraph (c), the supervised practice must be completed under an approved supervision
plan. Applicants must submit, on a form specified by the board, a written plan for meet-
ing the supervision requirements. If the board determines that the supervision plan sub-
mitted meets the applicable supervision requirements, then the supervisee's completion of
the supervised practice, as verified under this part, applies toward the supervised profes-
sional counseling practice requirement provided that there was no substantial change from
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the approved supervision plan. A licensee must not engage in the practice of professional
counseling until the licensee's supervision plan has been approved by the board.

F. A professional counselor licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.53,
subdivision 1, paragraph (c), and who maintain licensure as a licensed psychological practi-
tioner may satisfy the 2,000 hours of supervised professional practice by complying with the
supervision requirements for a licensed psychological practitioner in Minnesota Statutes,
section 148.925. Upon completion of 2,000 hours of supervised professional practice, the
supervisor shall submit the verification described in item I. If a professional counselor is
no longer licensed as a psychological practitioner for any reason prior to completion of the
2,000 hours of supervised professional practice, then the professional counselor shall com-
ply with this item until completion of the 2,000 hours of supervised professional practice.

G. Applicants who are licensed psychologists under Minnesota Statutes, section
148.907, at the time of application for licensure as professional counselors are considered to
have met the 2,000 hours of supervised professional practice. Such applicants shall submit
true and correct copies of notarized supervision verifications submitted to the Board of
Psychology pursuant to part 7200.0600.

H. The board shall not accept the verification of supervised practice, or approve a
supervision plan, if the board determines that the supervisor does not meet the requirements
of subpart 3.

I. Upon completion of the 2,000 hours of supervised professional practice, the
supervisor shall verify, on a form specified by the board, that the supervisee has completed
the supervision plan. The supervised practice required under this part is unacceptable if
the supervisor attests that the supervisee's performance, competence, or adherence to the
standards of practice and ethical conduct has been unsatisfactory.

J. A licensee shall submit a new supervision plan for board approval within 30
days if any of the following occur:

(1) the licensee has a new supervisor;
(2) the scope or content of the counseling practice changes substantially dur-

ing the course of the supervision; or
(3) the licensee begins a new counseling position.

K. Failure to submit changes to the supervision plan as required by item J shall
result in hours accrued during this time period not counting towards the supervised practice
requirement.

L. An applicant may receive complete or partial credit for supervised professional
practice experience occurring postdegree but prior to licensure if the supervised profes-
sional practice meets the requirements of this subpart. Verification shall be on a form spec-
ified by the board, and shall be submitted in lieu of the supervision plan required in item E.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 29 SR 1605

CONDUCT

2150.7500 CONDUCT.
Subpart 1. Scope. Parts 2150.7500 to 2150.7610, as required by Minnesota Statutes,

section 148B.52, apply to the conduct of all licensees and applicants, including conduct
during the period of education, training, and employment, that is required for licensure.

Subp. 2. Purpose. The rules of conduct constitute the standards by which the profes-
sional conduct of professional counselors is measured.

Subp. 3. Violations. A violation of the rules of conduct is a sufficient reason for dis-
ciplinary action, corrective action, or denial of licensure.

Subp. 4. Conflicts between rules and organizational demands. If the organizational
policies at the provider's work setting conflict with the rules of conduct, the provider shall
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clarify to the employer the nature of the conflict, make known the requirement to comply
with the rules of conduct, and seek to resolve the conflict in a manner that results in com-
pliance with the rules of conduct.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7505 DEFINITIONS.
Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 2150.7500 to 2150.7610 have the meanings

given in this part.
Subp. 2. Applicant. "Applicant" means an individual who has submitted to the board

an application for licensure.
Subp. 3. Board. "Board" means the Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy.
Subp. 4. Client. "Client" means an individual or entity who is the recipient of any

of the professional counseling services described in Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.50,
subdivisions 4 and 5. Client also means "patient" as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section
144.291, subdivision 2, paragraph (g).

Subp. 5. Competence. "Competence" means the ability to provide services within
the practice of licensed professional counseling as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section
148B.50, that:

A. are rendered with reasonable skill and safety;
B. meet minimum standards of acceptable and prevailing practice as described in

part 2150.7600; and
C. take into account human diversity.

Subp. 6. Dependent on the provider. "Dependent on the provider" means that the
nature of a former client's emotional or cognitive condition and the nature of the services
by the provider are such that the provider knows or should have known that the former
client is unable to withhold consent to sexual exploitative behavior by the provider.

Subp. 7. Dual clients. "Dual clients" means two or more individuals or entities that are
each a corecipient of professional counseling services. Dual clients may include, but are not
limited to, two or more family members, when each is the direct recipient of services; each
client receiving group counseling services; a court and a client under court order to receive
counseling services; or an employer and employee when the employee receives services in
order to provide the employer with information regarding an employment matter.

Subp. 8. False or misleading information. "False or misleading information" means
any public statement that contains a material misrepresentation or omission of fact that is
likely to create an unjustified expectation about results the provider can achieve or that
compares the provider's services with other providers' services, unless the comparison can
be factually substantiated.

Subp. 9. Familial. "Familial" means of, involving, related to, or common to a family
member as defined in subpart 10.

Subp. 10. Family member or member of the family. "Family member" or "member
of the family" are relatives in the first degree, which means a spouse, parent, offspring,
sibling, grandparent, grandchild, uncle, aunt, niece, or nephew, or an individual who serves
in the role of one of the foregoing.

Subp. 11. Forensic. "Forensic" means services within the practice of professional
counseling, of which the purpose is to address questions and issues relating to parties to le-
gal proceedings and to law and the legal system, including the courts, correctional agencies
and facilities, attorneys, and administrative, judicial, and legislative agencies acting in an
adjudicative capacity.

Subp. 12. Human diversity. "Human diversity" means individual client differences
that are associated with the client's cultural group, including race, ethnicity, national origin,
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religious affiliation, language, age, gender, gender identity, physical and mental capabili-
ties, sexual orientation, marital status, or socioeconomic status.

Subp. 13. Informed consent. "Informed consent" means an agreement between a
provider and a client that authorizes the provider to engage in a professional activity affect-
ing the client. Informed consent requires that the client be given sufficient information to
decide knowingly whether to agree to the proposed professional activity, that the informa-
tion be discussed in language that the client can reasonably be expected to understand, and
that the consent be given without undue influence by the provider.

Subp. 14. Licensee of the board or licensee. "Licensee of the board" or "licensee"
means a licensed professional counselor.

Subp. 15.Multiple relationship. "Multiple relationship" means a relationship be-
tween a provider and a client that is both professional and one or more of the following:

A. cohabitational;
B. familial;
C. one in which there is or has been personal involvement with the client or a

family member of the client that is reasonably likely to affect adversely the client's welfare
or ability to benefit from services; or

D. one in which there is significant financial involvement other than legitimate
payment for professional services rendered that is reasonably likely to affect adversely the
client's welfare or ability to benefit from services.

Subp. 16. Objective. "Objective" means a manner of administering a test and record-
ing, scoring, and interpreting responses that is independent, insofar as is possible, of the
subjective judgment of the particular examiner.

Subp. 17. Practice foundation. "Practice foundation" means that a professional coun-
seling service or continuing education activity is based upon observations, methods, proce-
dures, or theories that are generally accepted by the professional community in professional
counseling.

Subp. 18. Private information. "Private information" means any information, in-
cluding but not limited to, client records as defined in part 2150.7535, test results, or test
interpretations developed during a professional relationship between a provider and a client.

Subp. 19. Professional relationship. "Professional relationship" means the relation-
ship between a provider and the provider's client.

Subp. 20. Provider. "Provider" means a licensee or applicant.
Subp. 21. Public statements. "Public statements" means any statements, communi-

cations, or representations by providers to the public regarding themselves or their profes-
sional services or products. Public statements include, but are not limited to, advertising,
representations in reports or letters, descriptions of credentials and qualifications, brochures
and other descriptions of services, directory listings, personal resumes or curricula vitae,
comments for use in the media, Web sites, grant and credentialing applications, or product
endorsements.

Subp. 22. Report. "Report" means any written or oral professional communication,
including a letter, regarding a client or subject that includes one or more of the following:
historical data, behavioral observations, test interpretations, opinions, diagnostic or eval-
uative statements, or recommendations. The testimony of a provider as an expert or fact
witness in a legal proceeding also constitutes a report. For purposes of these rules, letters
of recommendation for academic or career purposes are not considered reports.

Subp. 23. Research subject. "Research subject" means an individual participating in
a research study for the period of time during which the individual is providing data for the
study.
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Subp. 24. Scientific foundation. "Scientific foundation" means that a professional
counseling or continuing education activity is based upon quantitative or qualitative re-
search, such as, but not limited to, published peer-reviewed experiments or correlational,
observational, or ethnographic studies, or upon research presented at professional meetings.

Subp. 25. Significant risks and benefits. "Significant risks and benefits" means those
risks and benefits that are known or reasonably foreseeable by the provider, including the
possible range and likelihood of outcomes, and that are necessary for the client to know in
order to decide whether to give consent to proposed services or to reasonable alternative
services.

Subp. 26. Standardized test. "Standardized test" means a test that is administered,
recorded, and scored in a uniform and objective manner, is interpreted by means of nor-
mative data, and includes a manual or other published information that fully describes its
development, rationale, validity, reliability, and normative data.

Subp. 27. Student. "Student" means an individual over whom the provider has evalu-
ative academic authority, including an individual who is enrolled in a graduate program in
professional counseling at an educational institution or who is taking a professional coun-
seling course for credit. This does not apply to an individual who is taking a professional
counseling course to receive continuing education credit from a board or who is auditing a
course.

Subp. 28. Supervised field experience. "Supervised field experience" means an in-
ternship, practicum, or other supervised professional experience used for purposes of ob-
taining licensure as a professional counselor.

Subp. 29. Supervisee. "Supervisee" means an individual whose supervision is re-
quired to obtain credentialing by a licensure board or to comply with a board order.

Subp. 30. Test. "Test" means any instrument, device, survey, questionnaire, tech-
nique, scale, inventory, or other process which is designed or constructed for the purpose
of measuring, evaluating, assessing, describing, or predicting personality, behavior, traits,
cognitive functioning, aptitudes, attitudes, skills, values, interests, abilities, or other char-
acteristics of individuals.

Subp. 31. Unprofessional conduct. "Unprofessional conduct" means any conduct
that fails to conform to the minimum standards of acceptable and prevailing practice as
described in part 2150.7600.

Subp. 32. Variance. "Variance" means board-authorized permission to comply with a
rule in a manner other than that generally specified in the rule.

Subp. 33.Waiver. "Waiver" means board-authorized permission not to comply with
a rule.

Subp. 34.Written informed consent. "Written informed consent" means a written
statement signed by the individual making the statement that authorizes a provider to en-
gage in activity which directly affects the individual signing the statement. The statement
must include a declaration that the individual signing the statement has been told of and un-
derstands the purpose of the authorized activity. Written informed consent means informed
consent that is set forth in writing and signed by the client.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345; L 2007 c 147 art 10 s 15

2150.7510 COMPETENT PROVISION OF SERVICES.
Subpart 1. Limits on practice. Professional counselors shall limit practice to the client

populations and services for which they have competence or for which they are developing
competence.

Subp. 2. Developing competence. When the professional counselor is developing a
competence in a service, method, procedure, or to treat a specific client population, the
professional counselor shall obtain professional education, training, continuing education,
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consultation, supervision, or experience, or a combination thereof, necessary to demon-
strate competence.

Subp. 3. Experimental, emerging, or innovative services. Professional counselors
may offer experimental, emerging, or innovative services, methods, or procedures that are
based on a scientific or practice foundation. However, when doing so, they have a height-
ened responsibility to understand and communicate the potential risks to clients, to use
reasonable skill and safety, and to undertake appropriate preparation as required in subpart
2 to ensure that they provide such services, methods, or procedures competently and in a
manner that protects clients from harm.

Subp. 4. Limitations to scope of practice. Professional counselors shall recognize the
limitations to the scope of practice of professional counseling. When the needs of clients ap-
pear to be outside this scope, providers shall inform the clients that there may be other pro-
fessional, technical, community, and administrative resources available to them. Providers
shall assist with identifying such resources when it is in the best interests of clients to be
provided with alternative or complementary services.

Subp. 5. Burden of proof. Whenever a complaint is submitted to the board involving
violation of subparts 1 to 4, the burden of proof is upon the provider to demonstrate that
the elements of competence have reasonably been met.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7515 PROTECTING THE PRIVACY OF CLIENTS.
Subpart 1. Safeguarding private information. The provider shall safeguard the pri-

vate information obtained in the course of the practice of professional counseling. Private
information may be disclosed to others only in accordance with part 2150.7520, with cer-
tain exceptions as specified in subparts 2 to 13.

Subp. 2. Limited disclosure to others without consent. Private information may be
disclosed without the consent of the client when disclosure is necessary to protect against
a clear and substantial risk of imminent serious harm being inflicted by the client on the
client or another individual, or as otherwise provided by law or court order. In such case,
the private information may be disclosed only to law enforcement agencies, the potential
victim, the family of the client, or appropriate third parties in a position to prevent or avert
the harm.

Subp. 3. Services to dual clients. Whenever professional counseling services are
provided to dual clients, the provider shall initially inform each client of the provider's re-
sponsibility to treat any information gained in the course of rendering the services as private
information, including any limitations to each client's right to privacy.

Subp. 4. Obtaining collateral information. Prior to obtaining collateral information
about a client from other individuals, the provider shall obtain consent from the client un-
less the consent is not required by law or court order, and shall inform the other individuals
that the information obtained may become part of the client's records and may therefore
be accessed or released by the client, unless prohibited by law. For purposes of this sub-
part, "other individual" means any individual, except for credentialed health care providers
acting in their professional capacities, who participates adjunctively in the provision of ser-
vices to a client. Examples of other individuals include, but are not limited to, a family
member, friend, coworker, day care worker, guardian ad litem, foster parent, or school per-
sonnel.

Subp. 5.Minor clients. At the beginning of a professional relationship, the provider
shall inform a minor client that the law imposes limitations on the right of privacy of the
minor with respect to the minor's communications with the provider. This requirement is
waived when the minor cannot reasonably be expected to understand the privacy statement.

Subp. 6. Limited access to client records. The provider shall limit access to client
records. The provider shall make reasonable efforts to inform or cause to be informed
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individuals associated with the provider's agency or facility, such as a staff member, student,
volunteer, or community aide, that access to client records, regardless of their format, shall
be limited only to the provider with whom the client has a professional relationship, an
individual associated with the agency or facility whose duties require access, or individuals
authorized to have access by the written informed consent of the client.

Subp. 7. Billing statements for services. The provider shall comply with the privacy
wishes of clients regarding to whom and where statements for services are to be sent.

Subp. 8. Case reports. Case reports or other clinical materials used in teaching, pre-
sentations, professional meetings, or publications shall be reasonably disguised to prevent
identification of the client.

Subp. 9. Observation and recording. Diagnostic interviews or therapeutic sessions
with a client may be observed or electronically recorded only with written informed con-
sent.

Subp. 10. Continued privacy of client information. The provider shall maintain
indefinitely the privacy of client information after the professional relationship has ceased
between the provider and the client.

Subp. 11. Court-ordered or other mandated disclosures. The proper disclosure of
private information upon a court order or to conform with state or federal law, rule, or
regulation shall not be considered a violation of parts 2150.7500 to 2150.7610.

Subp. 12. Abuse or neglect of minors or vulnerable adults. In the course of profes-
sional practice, the provider shall not violate any law concerning the reporting of abuse or
neglect of minors or vulnerable adults.

Subp. 13. Initial contacts. When the provider is initially contacted by an individual
regarding professional counseling services to a potential client, the provider or another in-
dividual designated by the provider may, with oral consent from the potential client, contact
third parties to determine payment or benefits information, arrange for precertification of
services when required by the individual's health plan, or acknowledge a referral from an-
other health care professional.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7520 ACCESSING AND RELEASING PRIVATE INFORMATION.
Subpart 1. Right to access and release private information. A client has the right to

access and release private information maintained by the provider, including client records
as provided in Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.291 to 144.298, relating to the provider's
counseling services to that client, except as otherwise provided by law or court order.

Subp. 2. Release of private information. When a client initiates the release of private
information, the request must be in writing and signed by the client. Informed consent is
not required. When the request involves client records, all pertinent information shall be
released in compliance with Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.291 to 144.298. However, if
the provider initiates the release of private information, written authorization for release of
information must be obtained from the client and must minimally include:

A. the name of the client;
B. the name of the individual or entity providing the information;
C. the name of the individual or entity to which release is to be made;
D. the types of information to be released, such as progress notes, diagnoses, as-

sessment data, or other specific information;
E. the purpose of the release, such as whether the release is to coordinate profes-

sional care with another provider, to obtain insurance payments for services, or for other
specified purposes;

F. the time period covered by the consent;
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G. a statement that the consent is valid for one year, except as otherwise allowed
by statute, or for a lesser period that is specified in the consent;

H. a declaration that the individual signing the statement has been told of and
understands the nature and purpose of the authorized release;

I. a statement that the consent may be rescinded, except to the extent that the
consent has already been acted upon or that the right to rescind consent has been waived
separately in writing;

J. the signature of the client or the client's legally authorized representative, whose
relationship to the client must be stated; and

K. the date on which the consent is signed.
Subp. 3. Dual client records. Whenever counseling services are provided to dual

clients, each client has the right to access or release only that information in the records
that the client has provided directly or has authorized other sources to provide, unless oth-
erwise directed by law or court order. Upon a request by one client to access or release
dual client records, that information in the records that has not been provided directly or
by authorization of the requesting client must be redacted unless written authorization to
disclose this information has been obtained from the other client.

Subp. 4. Board investigations. The provider shall release to the board and its agents
private information that the board and its agents consider to be germane to the investigation
of all matters pending before the board that relate to its lawful regulation activities.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345; L 2007 c 147 art 10 s 15

2150.7525 INFORMED CONSENT.
Subpart 1. Obtaining informed consent for services. The provider shall obtain in-

formed consent for services to a client. Except as provided in subpart 2, the informed
consent may be oral or written and must minimally include the following:

A. the goals, purpose, and procedures of the proposed service;
B. a discussion of factors that may impact the duration of the service;
C. the applicable fee schedule;
D. the limits to the client's privacy;
E. the provider's responsibilities if the client decides to terminate the service;
F. the significant risks and benefits of the service, including whether the service

may affect the client's legal or other interests;
G. if the proposed service, method, or procedure is of an experimental, emerging,

or innovative nature, the provider shall advise the client in accordance with part 2150.7510,
subpart 3; and

H. where applicable, information that the provider is developing a competence in
the proposed service, method, or procedure and alternatives to the service, if any.

Subp. 2.Written informed consent. Written informed consent is required for forensic
services, services in which the provider is developing competence, or for services of an
experimental, emerging, or innovating nature.

Subp. 3. Updating informed consent. If the nature or purpose of a service changes
substantially, the provider must reobtain informed consent accordingly.

Subp. 4. Emergency or crisis services. When emergency or crisis services are pro-
vided, the provider need not obtain informed consent. If services continue after the emer-
gency or crisis has abated, informed consent must then be obtained.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345
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2150.7530 TERMINATION OF SERVICES.
Subpart 1. Right to terminate services. Either the provider or client may terminate a

professional relationship unless prohibited by law or court order.
Subp. 2.Mandatory termination of services. The provider shall promptly terminate

services to a client whenever:
A. the provider's objectivity or effectiveness is impaired, unless a resolution can

be achieved as permitted in part 2150.7540; or
B. the client is unlikely to benefit from continued professional services by the

provider, is being harmed by further services, or the services are not needed.
Subp. 3. Notification of termination. Whenever the provider initiates a termination

of professional services, the provider shall inform the client either orally or in writing. This
requirement shall not apply when the termination is due to the successful completion of a
predefined service such as an assessment or time-limited therapy, or if the client terminates
the professional relationship.

Subp. 4. Recommendation upon termination. Upon the termination of counseling
services, the provider shall:

A. offer to make a recommendation to the client for appropriate mental health
services whenever the provider believes they are needed by the client; or

B. provide such a recommendation upon the request of the client.
Subp. 5. Exception to required recommendation. The requirements of subpart 4 do

not apply when an assessment of an individual for a third party is conducted in which a
recommendation for mental health services is not part of the requested service.

Subp. 6. Absence from practice. Nothing in this part requires the provider to termi-
nate a client due to an absence from practice that is the result of a period of illness or injury
that does not affect the provider's ability to practice with reasonable skill and safety, as long
as arrangements have been made for temporary counseling services that may be needed by
the client during the provider's absence.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7535 RECORD KEEPING.
Subpart 1. Record-keeping requirements. Providers shall maintain accurate and leg-

ible records of their services for each client. Records must minimally contain:
A. an accurate chronological listing of all contacts with the client;
B. documentation of services, including, where applicable:

(1) assessment methods, data, and reports;
(2) an initial treatment plan and any subsequent revisions;
(3) the name of the individual providing the services;
(4) case notes for each date of service, including any interventions;
(5) consultations with collateral sources;
(6) diagnoses or problem description;
(7) documentation that informed consent for services was obtained, including

written informed consent documents, where required; and
(8) the name and credentials of the individual who is professionally respon-

sible for the services provided;
C. copies of all correspondence relevant to the client;
D. a client personal data sheet;
E. copies of all client authorizations for release of information and any other doc-

uments pertaining to the client; and
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F. an accurate chronological listing of all fees charged, if any, to the client or a
third-party payer.

Subp. 2. Duplicate records. Although it is the responsibility of providers to document
the information required in subpart 1, they need not maintain client records that duplicate
those maintained by the agency, clinic, or other facility at which they provide services.

Subp. 3. Records retention. The provider shall retain a client's records for a minimum
of seven years after the date of the provider's last professional service to the client, except
as otherwise provided by law. If the client is a minor, the records retention period does not
begin until the client reaches the age of 18, except as otherwise provided by law.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7540 IMPAIRED OBJECTIVITY OR EFFECTIVENESS.
Subpart 1. Situations involving impaired objectivity or effectiveness. A profes-

sional counselor must not provide counseling services to a client or potential client when the
professional counselor's objectivity or effectiveness is impaired. The situations in items A
to F are deemed to involve impaired objectivity or effectiveness and are prohibited as spec-
ified.

A. The provider shall not provide counseling services to a client if doing so would
create a multiple relationship. If an unforeseen multiple relationship arises after services
have been initiated, the provider shall promptly terminate the professional relationship.

B. The provider shall not provide to a client psychotherapy or assessment services
and, concurrently, either supervision or teaching. If an unforeseen situation arises in which
both types of services are required or requested by the client or a third party, the provider
shall decline to provide one or both of the services.

C. The provider shall not provide concurrently to a client two or more types of
counseling services in which a fundamental conflict arises. If the conflict cannot be resolved
in the manner required in subpart 2, the provider shall decline to provide one or more of
the services that give rise to the conflict.

D. The provider shall not provide psychotherapy services to dual clients whose
psychotherapy goals are fundamentally irreconcilable. If an unforeseen situation of this
type should arise after services have been initiated, the provider shall promptly terminate
services to one or both clients.

E. The provider shall not provide counseling services to a client when the provider
is biased for or against the client for any reason that interferes with the provider's impartial
judgment, including where the client is a member of a class of individuals that is legally
protected from discrimination. However, services may be provided if the provider is re-
solving the impairment in the manner required in subpart 2.

F. The provider shall not provide counseling services to a client when there is a
fundamental divergence or conflict of service goals, interests, values, or attitudes between
the client and the provider that adversely affects the professional relationship. However,
services may be provided if the provider is resolving the impairment in the manner required
in subpart 2.

Subp. 2. Resolution of impaired objectivity or effectiveness. When an impairment
occurs that is listed in subpart 1, item C, E, or F, the provider may provide services only if
the provider actively pursues a resolution of the impairment and is able to do so in a man-
ner that results in minimal adverse effects on the client or potential client. If the provider
attempts to resolve the impairment, it must be by means of relevant professional education,
training, continuing education, consultation, psychotherapy, intervention, supervision, or
discussion with the client or potential client, or an appropriate combination thereof.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345
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2150.7545 PROVIDER IMPAIRMENT.
The provider shall not provide counseling services to clients when the provider is un-

able to provide such services with reasonable skill and safety as a result of a physical or
mental illness or condition, including, but not limited to, substance abuse or dependence.
During the period in which the provider is unable to practice with reasonable skill and
safety, the provider shall either promptly terminate the professional relationship with all
clients or shall make arrangements for other mental health providers to provide temporary
services that are needed by clients during the provider's absence.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7550 CLIENT WELFARE.
Subpart 1. Providing explanation of procedures. A client has the right to have and

a counselor has the responsibility to provide, on request, a nontechnical explanation of the
nature and purpose of the counseling procedures to be used and the results of tests adminis-
tered to the client. The counselor shall establish procedures to be followed if the explanation
is to be provided by another individual under the direction of the counselor.

Subp. 2. Clients' bill of rights. The provider shall display prominently on the premises
of the professional practice or make available as a handout the bill of rights of clients as
required by Minnesota Statutes, section 144.652, that includes a statement that consumers
of professional counseling services have the right to:

A. expect that the provider has met the minimal qualifications of training and
experience required by state law;

B. examine public records maintained by the Board of Behavioral Health and
Therapy that contain the credentials of the provider;

C. obtain a copy of the Rules of Conduct from Minnesota's Bookstore, Depart-
ment of Administration, 660 Olive Street, St. Paul, MN 55155, or its current location;

D. report complaints to the Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy;
E. be informed of the cost of professional services before receiving the services;
F. privacy as defined and limited by rule and law;
G. be free from being the object of unlawful discrimination while receiving coun-

seling services;
H. have access to their records as provided in part 2150.7520, subpart 1, and Min-

nesota Statutes, section 144.292, except as otherwise provided by law;
I. be free from exploitation for the benefit or advantage of the provider;
J. terminate services at any time, except as otherwise provided by law or court

order;
K. know the intended recipients of assessment results;
L. withdraw consent to release assessment results, unless this right is prohibited

by law or court order or is waived by prior written agreement;
M. a nontechnical description of assessment procedures; and
N. a nontechnical explanation and interpretation of assessment results, unless this

right is prohibited by law or court order or this right was waived by prior written agreement.
Subp. 3. Stereotyping. The provider shall consider the client as an individual and

shall not impose on the client any stereotypes of behavior, values, or roles related to human
diversity.

Subp. 4.Misusing client relationship. The provider shall not misuse the relationship
with a client due to a relationship with another individual or entity.

Subp. 5. Exploitation of client. The provider shall not exploit in any manner the
professional relationship with a client for the provider's emotional, financial, sexual, or
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personal advantage or benefit. This prohibition is extended indefinitely to former clients
who are vulnerable or dependent on the provider.

Subp. 6. Sexual behavior with client. A provider shall not engage in any sexual
behavior with a client including:

A. sexual contact with the client, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section
148A.01, subdivision 7; or

B. any physical, verbal, written, interactive, or electronic communication, con-
duct, or act that may be reasonably interpreted to be sexually seductive, demeaning, or
harassing to the client.

Subp. 7. Sexual behavior with a former client. Providers shall not engage in any
sexual behavior as described in subpart 6 within the two-year period following the date of
the last counseling service to a former client. This prohibition applies whether or not the
provider has formally terminated the professional relationship. This prohibition is extended
indefinitely regarding a former client who is vulnerable or dependent on the provider.

Subp. 8. Preferences and options for treatment. A provider shall disclose to the
client preferences of the provider for choice of treatment or outcome and shall present other
options for the consideration or choice of the client.

Subp. 9. Referrals on request. A provider shall make a prompt and appropriate re-
ferral of the client to another professional when requested to do so by the client.

Subp. 10. Coordinating services with other professionals. .A provider shall ask a
client whether the client has had or continues to have a professional relationship with an-
other mental health professional. If it is determined that the client had or has a professional
relationship with another mental health professional, the provider shall, to the extent pos-
sible and consistent with the wishes and best interests of the client, coordinate services for
that client with the other mental health professional.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345; L 2007 c 147 art 10 s 15

2150.7555 WELFARE OF STUDENTS, SUPERVISEES, AND RESEARCH
SUBJECTS.

Subpart 1. General. Due to the evaluative, supervisory, or other authority that
providers who teach, evaluate, supervise, or conduct research have over their students,
supervisees, or research subjects, they shall protect the welfare of these individuals.

Subp. 2. Student, supervisee, and research subject protections. To protect the wel-
fare of their students, supervisees, or research subjects, providers shall not:

A. impose any stereotypes of behavior, values, or roles related to race, ethnicity,
national origin, religious affiliation, language, age, gender, physical disabilities, mental ca-
pabilities, sexual orientation or identity, marital status, or socioeconomic status;

B. exploit or misuse in anymanner the professional relationship for the emotional,
financial, sexual, or personal advantage or benefit of the provider or another individual or
entity;

C. engage in any sexual behavior with a current student, supervisee, or research
subject, including sexual contact, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148A.01, subdi-
vision 7, or any physical, verbal, written, interactive, or electronic communication, conduct,
or act that may be reasonably interpreted to be sexually seductive, demeaning, or harassing.
Nothing in this part shall prohibit a provider from engaging in teaching or research with an
individual with whom the provider has a preexisting and ongoing sexual relationship;

D. engage in any behavior likely to be deceptive or fraudulent;
E. disclose evaluative information except for legitimate professional or scientific

purposes; or
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F. engage in any other unprofessional conduct.
Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7560 MEDICAL AND OTHER HEALTH CARE CONSIDERATIONS.
Subpart 1. Coordinating services with other health care professionals. Upon initi-

ating counseling services, the provider shall inquire whether the client has a professional
relationship with another health care professional. If it is determined that the client has
such a professional relationship that is relevant to the provider's services to the client, the
provider shall, to the extent possible and consistent with the wishes and best interests of
the client, coordinate services for that client with the other health care professional. This
requirement does not apply if brief psychotherapy or crisis intervention services are pro-
vided.

Subp. 2. Reviewing previous health care information. If the provider determines
that the client has had a relationship that is relevant to the provider's services to the client,
the provider shall, to the extent possible and consistent with the wishes and best interests
of the client, seek to review this information.

Subp. 3. Relevant medical conditions. If the provider becomes aware that a client's
psychological condition or diagnosis may have a medical etiology or consequence, the
provider shall, within the boundaries of the provider's competence and consistent with the
wishes and best interests of the client, discuss this with the client and offer to assist with
identifying possible medical resources for the client to consider.

Subp. 4.Medications.
A. Within their competence, providers may discuss prescription or nonprescrip-

tion medications and their effects with a client or the client's physician or prescribing health
care provider, or in a report.

B. Providers shall make clear in medication discussions with a client or in a report
that the ultimate decision whether to prescribe, alter, or discontinue a medication lies solely
with a physician or other prescribing health care provider.

C. Providers shall not recommend to a client or in a report specific medications
by trade or generic name or dosage, or recommend the discontinuation of medications.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7565 ASSESSMENTS, TESTS, REPORTS.
Subpart 1. Basis for assessments. When providers conduct assessments, they shall

meet the requirements in items A to C.
A. They shall base their assessments on records, information, observations, and

techniques sufficient to substantiate their findings.
B. Except as permitted in item C, they shall render opinions regarding individuals

only after they have conducted an examination of the individual adequate to support their
statements or conclusions, unless such an examination is not practical despite reasonable
efforts.

C. They may limit their assessments to reviewing records or providing testing
services when an individual examination is not warranted or necessary for the opinion re-
quested.

Subp. 2. Administration and interpretation of tests. Providers shall use tests as
described in items A to E.

A. Standardized tests shall be used preferentially over nonstandardized tests.
B. All tests must be administered and responses must be recorded, scored, and

interpreted based on practice or scientific foundations.
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C. If a test is used in a nonstandard manner, the limitations of the test and the
reasons for its nonstandard use must be clearly stated in the report.

D. A test's reliability, validity, and normative data must be taken into account in
its selection, use, and interpretation.

E. The reliability and validity of test statements and interpretations in reports are
the responsibility of the provider, including when automated testing services are used.

Subp. 3. Reports. The provision of a written or oral report, including testimony of
a provider as an expert witness and letters to third parties concerning the psychological or
emotional health or state of a client, must be based on information and techniques sufficient
to substantiate their findings. Providers shall be fair and accurate and shall guard against
making unsubstantiated statements or providing unsubstantiated opinions, interpretations,
or recommendations in their reports. The report must include:

A. a description of all assessments, evaluations, or other procedures, including
materials reviewed, upon which the provider's conclusions are based;

B. any reservations or qualifications concerning the validity or reliability of the
opinions and conclusions formulated and recommendations made, taking into account the
conditions under which the procedures were carried out, including any nonstandard use
of a test, the limitations of scientific procedures and descriptions, base rate and baseline
considerations, and the impossibility of absolute predictions;

C. a statement concerning any discrepancy, disagreement, or inconsistent or con-
flicting information regarding the circumstances of the case that may have a bearing on the
provider's conclusions;

D. a statement of the nature of and reasons for any use of a test that differs from the
purposes, populations, or referral questions for which it has been designed or validated, or
that is administered, recorded, scored, or interpreted in other than a standard and objective
manner; and

E. a statement indicating whenever any test interpretations or report conclusions
are not based on direct contact between the provider and the client.

Subp. 4. Private information. A test result or interpretation regarding an individual
is private information.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7570 PUBLIC STATEMENTS.
Subpart 1. Prohibition against false or misleading information. Public statements

by providers must not include false or misleading information. Providers shall not solicit
or use testimonials by quotation or implication from current clients or former clients who
are vulnerable to undue influence. The provider shall make reasonable efforts to ensure
that public statements by others on behalf of the provider are truthful and shall make rea-
sonable remedial efforts to bring a public statement into compliance with parts 2150.7500
to 2150.7610 when the provider becomes aware of a violation.

Subp. 2.Misrepresentation. The provider shall not misrepresent directly or by im-
plication professional qualifications including education, training, experience, competence,
credentials, or areas of specialization. The provider shall not misrepresent, directly or by
implication, professional affiliations or the purposes and characteristics of institutions and
organizations with which the provider is professionally associated.

Subp. 3. Use of specialty board designations. Providers may represent themselves
as having an area of specialization from a specialty board, such as a designation as diplo-
mate or fellow, if the specialty board used at minimum, the following criteria to award the
designation:

A. specified educational requirements defined by the specialty board;
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B. specified experience requirements defined by the specialty board;
C. a work product evaluated by other specialty board members; and
D. a face-to-face examination by a committee of specialty board members or a

comprehensive written examination in the area of specialization.
Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7575 PRESENTATION TO PUBLIC.
Subpart 1. Requirements for professional identification. All licensees, when repre-

senting themselves in activities relating to the practice of professional counseling, includ-
ing in written materials or advertising, shall identify the academic degree upon which their
licensure is based, as well as their licensure. Individuals licensed on the basis of the equiv-
alent of a master's degree in a doctoral program shall similarly use the designation "M. Eq."
to identify the educational status on which their licensure is based, as well as their licensure.

Subp. 2. Disclosure of education. At the initial meeting, a licensee shall display or
make available to each new client accurate information about the qualifications and com-
petencies of the licensee, including whether the licensee is currently completing the postli-
censure supervised practice requirement.

Subp. 3. Requirements for representations to public.
A. Unless licensed under Minnesota Statutes, sections 148B.50 to 148B.593, per-

sons shall not represent themselves or permit themselves to be represented to the public by:
(1) using any title or description of services, incorporating the words

"licensed professional counselor" or "professional counselor" or otherwise holding
themselves out to the public by any title or description stating or implying that they are
licensed to engage in the practice of professional counseling; or

(2) representing that the person has expert qualifications in an area of profes-
sional counseling.

B. Individuals trained in professional counseling who are employed by an edu-
cational institution recognized by a regional accrediting organization, by a federal, state,
county, or local government institution, by agencies, or by research facilities, may repre-
sent themselves by the title designated by that organization provided that the title does not
indicate that the individual is licensed by the board.

C. An individual trained in professional counseling from an institution described
in item B may offer lecture services and is exempt from the provisions of this part.

D. A person who is participating in a supervised field experience as part of a
degree program or for purposes of licensure by the board may be designated as a "counselor
intern."

Subp. 4. Persons or techniques not regulated by board.
A. Nothing in Minnesota Statutes, sections 148B.50 to 148B.593, may be con-

strued to limit the occupational pursuits consistent with their training and codes of ethics
of professionals such as licensed physicians, registered nurses, licensed practical nurses,
licensed psychologists, probation officers, attorneys, social workers, marriage and family
therapists, qualified rehabilitation consultants, natural family planning practitioners certi-
fied by the American Academy of Natural Family Planning, and registered occupational
therapists or certified occupational therapist assistants. These persons must not, however,
use a title incorporating the words "licensed professional counselor" or otherwise hold
themselves out to the public by any title or description stating or implying that they are
licensed to engage in the practice of professional counseling unless they are licensed under
Minnesota Statutes, sections 148B.50 to 148B.593.

B. Use of professional counseling techniques by business and industrial organi-
zations for their own personnel purposes or by employment agencies or state vocational
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rehabilitation agencies for the evaluation of their own clients prior to recommendation for
employment is also specifically allowed. However, no representative of an industrial or
business firm or corporation may sell, offer, or provide any professional counseling services
as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.50, unless the services are performed or su-
pervised by individuals licensed under Minnesota Statutes, sections 148B.50 to 148B.593.

Subp. 5. Other professions not authorized. Nothing in Minnesota Statutes, sections
148B.50 to 148B.593, may be construed to authorize a person licensed under Minnesota
Statutes, sections 148B.50 to 148B.593, to engage in the practice of any profession regu-
lated underMinnesota law unless the person is duly licensed or registered in that profession.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7580 FEES AND STATEMENTS.
Subpart 1. Disclosure of fees. The provider shall disclose the fees for professional

services to a client before providing the services.
Subp. 2. Itemized fee statement. The provider shall itemize fees for all services for

which the client or a third party is billed and make the itemized statement available to the
client. The statement shall identify minimally the date on which the service was provided,
the nature of the service, the name of the individual providing the service, and the name of
the individual who is professionally responsible for the service.

Subp. 3. Representation of billed services. The provider shall not directly or by
implication misrepresent to the client or to a third party billed for services the nature of the
services or the extent to which the provider has provided the services.

Subp. 4. Claiming fees. The provider shall not claim a fee for counseling services
unless the provider is either the direct provider of the services or the individual who is
clinically responsible for the provision of the services and under whose supervision the
services were provided.

Subp. 5. No remuneration for referrals. No commission, rebate, or other form of re-
muneration may be given or received by a provider for the referral of clients for counseling
services.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7585 AIDING AND ABETTING UNLICENSED PRACTICE.
A provider shall not aid or abet an unlicensed individual to engage in the practice of

professional counseling. However, a provider who supervises a student as part of an in-
ternship, practicum, or other supervised field experience is not in violation of this part if
the supervision is conducted according to part 2150.5000 and Minnesota Statutes, sections
148B.50 to 148B.593. Additionally, properly qualified individuals who administer and
score testing instruments under the direction of a provider who maintains responsibility for
the service are not considered to be in violation of this part. The provider assumes respon-
sibility for adequate training, experience, and oversight to assure proper qualifications to
administer and score the instruments.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7590 VIOLATION OF LAW.
A provider shall not violate any law in which the facts giving rise to the violation

involve the practice of professional counseling as defined in Minnesota Statutes, sections
148B.50 to 148B.593. In any board proceeding alleging such a violation of this part, the
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proof of a conviction of a crime constitutes proof of the underlying factual elements nec-
essarily underlying that conviction.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7595 DECEPTION OR FRAUD.
A provider shall not engage in any conduct likely to deceive or defraud the public or

the board.
Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7600 UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT.
A provider shall not engage in any unprofessional conduct. Unprofessional conduct is

any conduct violating parts 2150.7500 to 2150.7610, Minnesota Statutes, sections 148B.50
to 148B.593, or any conduct that fails to conform to the minimum standards of acceptable
and prevailing practice that have become established by consensus of the expert opinion of
professional counselors as reasonably necessary for the protection of the public interest.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7605 COMPLAINTS TO BOARD.
Subpart 1.Mandatory reporting requirements. A provider shall file a complaint

with the board when the provider has reason to believe that another provider:
A. is unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety as a result of a physical or

mental illness or condition, including, but not limited to, substance abuse or dependence,
except that this mandated reporting requirement is deemed fulfilled by a report made to the
Health Professionals Services Program (HPSP) as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section
214.33, subdivision 1;

B. is engaging in or has engaged in sexual behavior with a client or former client
in violation of part 2150.7550, subparts 5 and 6. This subpart does not apply when the
information is obtained in the course of treating the other provider for the sexual behavior;

C. has failed to report abuse or neglect of children or vulnerable adults in violation
of Minnesota Statutes, section 626.556 or 626.557; or

D. has employed fraud or deception in obtaining or renewing a professional coun-
seling license.

Subp. 2. Optional reporting requirements. A provider who has reason to believe that
the conduct of another provider appears to be in violation of parts 2150.7500 to 2150.7610
or Minnesota Statutes, sections 148B.50 to 148B.593, other than conduct listed in subpart
1 may file a complaint with the board.

Subp. 3. Client complaints to board. A provider shall, upon request, provide infor-
mation regarding the procedure for filing a complaint with the board and shall, upon request,
assist with filing a complaint. A provider shall not attempt to dissuade a client from filing a
complaint with the board, or require that the client waive the right to file a complaint with
the board as a condition for providing services.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345

2150.7610 WAIVERS AND VARIANCES.
Subpart 1. Application. A licensee or applicant for licensure may petition the board

for a waiver or variance of any rule except for any part of a rule which incorporates a
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statutory requirement. The petition shall be on a form prescribed by the board, and shall be
accompanied by the applicable fee. The waiver or variance shall be granted if:

A. adherence to the rule would impose an undue burden on the petitioner;
B. the granting of a waiver or variance will not adversely affect the public welfare;

and
C. in the case of a variance, the rationale for the rule in question can be met by

alternative practices or measures specified by the petitioner.
Subp. 2. Renewal, reporting, and revocation. Awaiver or variance shall be renewed

upon reapplication according to the procedure described in subpart 1 if the circumstances
justifying its granting continue to exist. Any petitioner who is granted a waiver or variance
shall immediately notify the board in writing of any material change in the circumstances
that justify its granting. A waiver or variance shall be revoked if a material change in the
circumstances that justify its granting occurs or, in the case of a variance, if the petitioner
has not complied with the alternative practices or measures specified in the petition.

Subp. 3. Burden of proof. The burden of proof is upon the petitioner to demonstrate
to the board that the requirements in subpart 1 have been met.

Subp. 4. Statement of reasons. The minutes of any meeting at which a waiver or
variance is granted, denied, renewed, or revoked must include the reason for the action.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52
History: 30 SR 345
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