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2100.0100 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1. Scope. For the purpose of parts 2100.0100 to 2100.9300, the terms 
defined in this part have the meanings given them. 

Subp. la. Barbering. The practice of barbering as defined in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 154.02, means the services described in that section when performed on a living 
person and includes those services when performed in conjunction with the selling of 
hair pieces, wigs, or an artificial hair application. 

Subp. 2. A license or certificate of registration as practicing barber. The phrase "a 
license or certificate of registration as practicing barber" contained in Minnesota 
Statutes, section 154.11, means a current certificate of registration as a certified barber. 

Subp. 3. Has practiced as a barber. The phrase "has practiced as a barber" 
contained in Minnesota Statutes, section 154.11, means that a person has performed 
the acts of barbering under a certificate of registration as either a registered barber or 
a registered apprentice. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 
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2100.0200 LICENSING, REGISTRATION, AND OPERATION 94 

REGISTERED APPRENTICES 

2100.0200 APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION. 

Upon completion of the required 1,500 hour course of training, the school shall 
issue each graduate a certificate of completion. 

Upon issuance of the certificate of completion, the graduate is eligible to be 
scheduled for the apprentice examination under part 2100.0500. 

In an emergency or in a situation beyond a student's control in which the 1,500 
hours of training course cannot be completed before the apprentice examination 
schedule, the board shall make an exception from the requirement of course comple­
tion if: 

A. the course can be completed within the following week after the apprentice 
examination and before the registered barber examination; and 

B. the student has less than 48 hours to complete after the examination 
schedule in part 2100.0500. 

Results of examinations must not be issued until the certificate of completion is 
filed. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.0300 NONRESIDENT APPRENTICE QUALIFICATIONS. 

The board must find the following to determine that another state or country has 
substantially the same requirements for registration of an apprentice as provided under 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154: 

A. the same educational requirements as Minnesota Statutes, section 154.06, 
clause (1); 

B. graduation from a barber school that requires: 

(1) approval by a state requiring at least the same number of hours of 
instruction for school approval as Minnesota; and 

(2) a curriculum that is equivalent to Minnesota Statutes, section 154.07, 
and parts 2100.0100 to 2100.9300; and 

C. must meet the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.11. 
Applicants unable to comply with items A and B shall make up the difference in a 

Minnesota accredited barber school. Barbering experience shall be considered equiva­
lent to or substantially the same as hours in school training. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.0400 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.0500 EXAMINATION DATES. 

Examinations for a certificate as a registered apprentice shall be held the first 
week in February, May, August, and November of each year. Notice of the examination 
shall be given during the first week of the month preceding the month in which the 
examination is to be held. Two additional examinations may be held when the board 
determines it is cost efficient. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.0600 CONTENTS OF EXAMINATION. 

Each examination consists of six parts: oral, written, and four practical services. 
The type of haircut, shave, or beard trim and two of the following practical services: 
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95 LICENSING, REGISTRATION, AND OPERATION 2100.1100 

shampoo, perm wrap, facial, or color application, will be determined at the discretion 
of the board. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.0700 GRADING OF EXAMINATION. 

Subpart 1. Grading criteria. The apprentice examinations given pursuant to 
Minnesota Statutes, section 154.09 shall be graded as follows. The grading criteria for 
the written part of the examination and the passing grade thereon will be established 
for each written examination at the time of its preparation; however, the lowest passing 
grade established hereunder shall never be less than 55. The grading for the practical 
performances and the oral part of the examination will be on a scale of 1 to 100 with 
100 representing a perfect score. A score of 70 will be the minimum passing grade for 
the haircut portion, and 70 will also be the minimum passing score for the average of 
the remaining parts of the practical performances. The minimum passing score for the 
oral portion of the examination will be 70. If an applicant does not receive at least the 
established minimum passing grade on the written portion of the examination, or at 
least a grade of 70 on the oral portion of the examination, the haircut portion of the 
examination, or score an average of at least 70 on the remaining parts of the practical 
examination, such applicant will have failed the entire examination, and thereafter may 
only retake the entire examination after paying the necessary fee and meeting the 
requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.06. 

Subp. 2. Grading system. The grade of an examination conducted pursuant to 
Minnesota Statutes, section 154.09 shall be determined under the following grading 
system: see grading card. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.0800 MODELS USED IN PRACTICAL EXAMINATION. 

The Board of Barber Examiners shall have discretion to change, supply, or reject 
models for an applicant's use in the practical parts of the examination in order to 
insure that the practical parts of the examination will be a fair test of the applicant's 
ability. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.0900 REVIEW OF EXAMINATION RESULTS. 

An applicant may review his or her examination results at the office of the Board 
of Barber Examiners during usual business hours. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1000 FAILURE OF EXAMINATION. 

A student who fails the apprentice examination shall complete an additional 500 
hours to be eligible to retake the apprentice examination, as many times as necessary to 
pass. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1100 APPRENTICE PRACTICE. 

The requirement of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, clause (4) regarding the 
practicing as a registered apprentice for a period of 12 months shall mean licensure for 
not less than 1,500 hours of work time. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 
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2100.1200 TIME REPORT. 

The registered barber who supervises the practice of a registered apprentice shall 
file an affidavit as to the number of hours the apprentice accumulated under the 
registered barber's supervision. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1300 HOME STUDY COURSE. 
The 12 months practice of a registered apprentice under Minnesota Statutes, 

section 154.05 shall include completion of the program entitled "Related Home Study 
Course for Apprentice Barbers" prepared or approved by the Board of Barber 
Examiners. The course must be successfully completed before the examination may be 
taken. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1400 PRACTICE COMPLETION BEFORE BARBER EXAMINATION. 
A registered apprentice meets the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 

154.05, clause (4) if 1,500 hours and 12 months of practice are completed at any time 
before or within the week in which the examination is given pursuant to Minnesota 
Statutes, section 154.05, clause (5). 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1500 REPORTING PRACTICE UNDER SUPERVISION. 
A registered apprentice who practices under the immediate personal supervision of 

a registered barber must file with the annual license renewal, a statement of the 
number of hours completed and under whose supervision. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1600 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.1700 EXPIRATION OF CERTIFICATE. 
Upon the expiration of a certificate of registration to practice as an apprentice 

pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 154.06, an individual will be required to pass 
an apprentice examination to attain apprentice status. If the applicant fails the 
apprentice examination so taken, the applicant must complete an additional 500 hours 
of training in a duly licensed Minnesota barber school to qualify to retake the 
apprentice examination. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

REGISTERED BARBERS 

2100.2500 EXAMINATION DATES. 
Examinations for a certificate as a registered barber shall be held in the second 

week of February, May, August, and November of each year. Notice of the examination 
shall be given during the first week of the month preceding the month in which the 
examination is to be held. Two additional examinations may be held when the board 
determines it is cost efficient. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.2600 APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION. 
An applicant for examination as a registered barber shall file an application for 

examination and a sworn affidavit of completing 12 months and 1,500 hours of 
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97 LICENSING, REGISTRATION, AND OPERATION 2100.3000 

supervision on forms furnished by the board. This application must be filed with the 
board no later than the 20th day of the month preceding the month in which the 
examination is to be given; provided, however, that the board shall, upon the showing 
of a hardship, accept applications at a later date. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.2700 NONRESIDENT BARBERS; QUALIFICATIONS. 

The board must find the following to determine that another state or country has 
substantially the same requirements for registration of barbers as provided under 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154: 

A. the same educational requirements as Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, 
clause (1); 

B. graduation from a barber school that requires: 

(1) approval by a state requiring at least the same number of hours of 
instruction for school approval as Minnesota; and 

(2) a curriculum that is equivalent to Minnesota Statutes, section 154.07, 
and parts 2100.0100 to 2100.9300; 

C. must meet requirements for a registered apprentice in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 154.05, clause (4); and 

D. the same practice requirements for a registered apprentice as set forth in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, clause (4). 

Applicants unable to comply with items A and B must make up the difference in a 
Minnesota accredited barber school. Barbering experience shall be considered equiva­
lent to or substantially the same as hours in school training. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.2800 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.2900 CONTENTS OF EXAMINATION. 
Each examination consists of six parts: oral, written, and four practical services. 

The type of haircut, shave or beard trim, and two of the following practical services: 
shampoo, perm wrap, facial, or color application, will be determined at the discretion 
of the board. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.3000 GRADING OF EXAMINATION. 

The registered barber examinations given pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 
154.09 shall be graded as follows: The grading criteria for the written part of the 
examination and the passing grade thereon will be established for each written 
examination at the time of its preparation; however, the lowest passing grade estab­
lished hereunder shall never be less than 55. The grading for the practical perfor­
mances and the oral part of the examination will be on a scale of 1 to 100 with 100 
representing a perfect score. A score of 75 will be the minimum passing grade for the 
haircut portion, and 75 will also be the minimum passing score for the average of the 
remaining parts of the practical performances. The minimum passing score for the oral 
portion of the examination will be 75. If an applicant does not receive at least the 
established minimum passing grade on the written portion of the examination, or at 
least a grade of 75 on the oral portion of the examination, the haircut portion of the 
examination, or score an average of at least 75 on the remaining parts of the practical 
examination, such applicant will have failed the entire examination, and thereafter may 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1999

Copyright © 1999 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
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only retake the entire examination after paying the necessary fee and meeting the 
requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.3100 MODELS USED IN PRACTICAL EXAMINATION. 

The Board of Barber Examiners shall have discretion to change, supply, or reject 
models for an applicant's use in the practical parts of the examination in order to 
insure that the practical parts of the examination will be a fair test of the applicant's 
ability. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.3200 FAILURE OF EXAMINATION; ADDITIONAL APPRENTICE PRACTICE. 

An apprentice who fails to satisfactorily pass an examination for a certificate of 
registration to practice as a registered barber, must practice an additional two months 
and 300 hours to be eligible to retake the examination. The additional two months 
practice required by Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, clause (5) shall include not less 
than 300 hours of work time. The registered barber who supervises the additional two 
months practice must file an affidavit with the board for the additional practice period. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.3300 FAILURE TO RENEW CERTIFICATE WITHIN ONE YEAR. 
A registered barber who has failed to renew the certificate of registration for one 

year or more from the date of expiration must take and pass the registered barber 
examination before a certificate of registration may be issued. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 17 SR 1279 

LICENSED INSTRUCTORS 

2100.4000 APPLICATION FOR INSTRUCTOR'S LICENSE EXAMINATION. 

An applicant for examination as a registered teacher or instructor in a barber 
school shall file the application with the board not later than the 20th day of the month 
preceding the month in which the examination is to be given; provided, however, that 
the board shall, upon the showing of a hardship, accept applications at a later date. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.065 subd 5 
History: 17 SR 1279 

2100.4100 GRADING THE INSTRUCTOR'S LICENSE EXAMINATION. 
Examinations given to applicants for an instructor's license shall be graded. An 

applicant for an instructor's certificate must receive a minimum grade of at least 70 on 
each phase of the examination and an average of at least 75 on all phases to pass the 
examination, and if any part of the examination is failed, the entire examination must 
be retaken. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.065 subd 5 

2100.4200 RENEWING INSTRUCTOR'S LICENSE. 
The board will not renew an instructor's license if the person does not hold a 

current vocational teacher's certificate. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.065 subd 5 

2100.4300 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.4400 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1999

Copyright © 1999 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



99 LICENSING, REGISTRATION, AND OPERATION 2100.5100 

2100.4500 INSTRUCTOR LICENSE QUALIFICATION. 

To qualify for an instructor's examination, an applicant must be a licensed 
registered barber with five years' experience and hold a current vocational teacher's 
certificate. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

BARBER SCHOOLS 

2100.5000 LICENSE REQUIREMENT. 
No person shall operate a barber school in Minnesota without having first 

obtained a license from the Board of Barber Examiners. Persons holding a permit for 
the conduct of a barber school which was issued prior to the adoption of these rules 
have a period of 60 days after the adoption of these rules to file the necessary 
documents showing conformance with these rules with the exception of the course 
outline required by part 2100.5100, subpart 2. After the date of adoption of these rules 
all barber schools operating or requesting a license to operate will be governed by and 
shall proceed in accordance with these rules. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5100 LICENSE APPLICATION. 
Subpart 1. Verified statement. A person desiring to operate a barber school in 

Minnesota shall present to the board a verified statement showing at least the 
following: 

A. all information required by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154 elsewhere in 
these rules; 

B. the name of the applicant or applicants together with their occupations and 
residences for the ten years immediately prior to making applications; 

C. the address of the proposed school; 
D. a complete financial statement; and 
E. a plan of operation of the school setting forth the following information: 

(1) drawings showing the number of chairs to be installed and showing a 
minimum of five feet between barber chairs, measuring from center to center, the 
waiting area must be separate from work stations; 

(2) drawings showing classroom space with a minimum area of 25 square 
feet available for each proposed student in classroom space; 

(3) a statement showing that the following will be available: one desk for 
each student enrolled; one chart on skin and hair; one chart on blood supply to face 
and neck; one chart on the muscles of the face, head, and neck; one chart on the 
nerves of the face, head, and neck; one chart on the bones of the face, head, and neck; 
and one blackboard of a size not less than six feet by 3-1/2 feet; 

(4) plans showing the following: separate toilet and washroom facilities 
for men and women; plumbing and sewer system appropriate to the size and use of the 
building as a barber school; a statement regarding the availability and intended use of 
municipal sewer and water supplies; 

(5) plans for appropriate lighting and ventilating systems; 
(6) plans showing use of a type of floor material such as tile or linoleum 

which may be easily kept clean and sanitary; 
(7) plans for proper sanitization facilities including the following: one 

sink for each barber chair or dispensary as required in part 2100.8100, subpart 3; one 
closed cabinet for clean towels for each barber chair; one closed container for soiled 
towels for each barber chair; one time clock; and one hair dryer; and 
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(8) plans for adequate waiting chairs and clothes racks. 

Subp. 2. Course outline. All barber schools shall submit to the board a full course 
outline including each instructional unit, showing a course of instruction comprising an 
aggregate of not less than 1,500 hours, of not more than eight work instruction hours in 
any one working day. A copy of each school's curriculum will be filed with the board. 
In the case of applicants for a license to operate a barber school submitted to the board 
after the adoption of these rules, the application will contain the foregoing statements. 
Barber schools in existence at the time of adoption of these rules shall have two 
months from the date of adoption for submission of the outline prescribed by this part. 
All schools shall submit a complete student course syllabus to the board at the time of 
application for license and any renewal of it. 

Subp. 3. Brochure. Applicants for a license to operate a barber school shall submit 
a copy of a brochure which will be made available to students upon approval of the 
application. This brochure shall list the fees which will be charged; together with 
enrollment and termination procedures for students. Any change in the tuition fee 
listed in this brochure must be immediately reported, in writing, to the board. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5200 CONSIDERATIONS IN LICENSE ISSUANCE. 

Subpart 1. Factors. Upon receipt of an application for establishment of a barber 
school, the board shall give consideration to the factors in subparts 2 to 5. 

Subp. 2. Public welfare. The board shall give consideration to any detriment to the 
public welfare and the need for barber school facilities in the community and 
neighborhood where the proposed barber school is to be located, giving particular 
consideration to: 

A. the economic character of the community and neighborhood; 
B. the effect on existing barber shops and barber schools in the community; 
C. the availability of adequate support for the proposed barber school in the 

community and neighborhood with particular regard to adequate practice for students; 
D. the extent to which the proposed barber school would draw patrons from 

adjacent communities or neighborhoods and the character thereof; and 
E. the effect of the establishment of a barber school on the social and 

economic aspects of the community and neighborhood and adjacent communities and 
neighborhoods in regard to the proposed site. 

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

Subp. 4. [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

Subp. 5. Student-license ratio. There must be at least one instructor for every 17 
students enrolled. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5300 PUBLIC HEARING ON LICENSE APPLICATION. 

Upon receipt of an application for the establishment of a barber school, the board 
shall conduct a public hearing in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, and 
rules promulgated thereunder. The applicant shall show at such hearing, by competent 
evidence, the factual basis of the assertions of the application and the applicant's 
qualifications as required by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154, and the rules of the 
board. The applicant shall further show financial qualifications and it shall be a 
sufficient reason for denial of the application that the board considers the financial 
resources of the applicant to be insufficient to maintain and operate a barber school 
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and assure the graduation of students who are registered in such school and have paid 
their tuition. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 77 Si? 7279 

2100.5400 CORPORATIONS PROHIBITED. 

No school license shall be issued to a corporation, nor shall the school indicate any 
affiliation with a corporation. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5500 LOCATION OF LICENSE, TRANSFER OF LOCATION, OR EXPANSION 
OF SCHOOL. 

Subpart 1. Location. Licenses shall issue for only a specific location upon the 
application of an individual who is to operate the school. Licenses shall not be 
transferable to any other individual or location without the approval by the board. The 
facilities of an approved barber school shall not be expanded or increased without the 
prior approval of the board, as provided in subpart 2. 

Subp. 2. Transfer of license, change of location, or expansion of school. Upon 
receipt of an application to the board for transfer of a license, change of location of the 
barber school facility, or expansion of the school, the board shall approve or deny the 
application in accordance with the standards of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.07, and 
parts 2100.5100 to 2100.5200. If the board denies the application, it shall notify the 
applicant of a right to a hearing under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 72 SR 1710 

2100.5600 RENEWAL OF LICENSE. 
Subpart 1. Application. Owners of barber schools shall make annual application 

for renewal of their licenses in accordance with the rules of the board. The board shall 
make a new determination annually that the school meets the requirements of 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154, and part 2100.5100. subpart 2, of the board before 
issuing the renewal license. 

Subp. 2. Nonrenewal; hearing. In the event that a license is not renewed by the 
board upon application pursuant to these rules, the aggrieved applicant may by written 
notice to the board request a public hearing concerning the denial of his or her 
application in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, and rules adopted 
thereunder. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5700 REGISTERED INSTRUCTORS, TEMPORARY TEACHER, OR EMER­
GENCY TEACHER. 

Subpart 1. Number of registered instructors. The provisions of Minnesota Statutes, 
section 154.07 requiring one registered instructor for every 17 students or minor 
fraction in excess thereof applies to classroom instruction as well as practical instruc­
tion. "Minor fraction in excess thereof means a maximum of 20 students per instructor 
for a period of no more than three months. An applicant shall name in the application 
the names of all instructors and teachers. The board will not issue a temporary 
teacher's permit for a new school. To assure barber school students adequate uninter­
rupted training, a temporary teacher's permit can be issued upon approval of the 
board. 

Subp. 2. Temporary permits. This subpart applies to temporary teacher's permits. 
A. To be granted a temporary teacher's permit, a permit applicant must: 
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(1) hold a current Minnesota registered barber's license; 
(2) have practiced for at least two years as a registered barber; and 
(3) show proof of a temporary vocational teaching permit and continuous 

enrollment taking courses as required by part 2100.4500. 
B. Application forms will be prepared and furnished by the board. Applica­

tions must be signed and sworn to by the applicant and contain proof of the minimum 
qualifications and qualifications for a teacher's vocational certificate and the barber 
instructor examination. The applicant shall furnish to the board two photographs, three 
inches by five inches in size, signed by the applicant. One photograph must be returned 
with the permit and one must be kept on file with the application. 

C. The applicant shall pay the required application fee. 
D. Permits must be annually renewed on or before December 31 of each year. 
E. The permit must be posted in the school. 
F. A barber school may only have a temporary teacher for each licensed 

instructor or for each 17 students at any given time. 
G. Persons holding a temporary teacher's permit shall immediately inform the 

board of any change in location of the teacher's work place. 
H. The board will not issue a temporary teacher's permit for a new school or 

for expansion of a school. 
I. A temporary teacher's permit is valid for four years from the date it is 

issued if continued educational courses are being pursued. 
J. Any request for a temporary teacher's permit must be made by the 

applicant and verified by the school of barbering. 
K. The Board of Barber Examiners shall keep an active list of all instructors 

and temporary teacher's permits. 
L. All temporary teacher permit holders shall notify the board of any change 

in the permitee's work place, address, or phone number. 

Subp. 3. Emergency teacher permit. 
A. To assure barber school students adequate uninterrupted training, an 

emergency teacher permit may be issued in an emergency if: 

(1) a sudden unexpected happening of an unforeseen occurrence or 
condition demanding sudden or unexpected actions, exigency, or pressing necessity 
occurs; 

(2) the board is notified by the school immediately after an emergency 
arises and is informed as to the nature of the emergency and who is being considered 
as the emergency teacher; 

(3) the board verifies that no licensed instructor or temporary teacher is 
available; and 

(4) an applicant holds a current registered barber license. 
B. Upon the fulfillment of the conditions provided in item A, an emergency 

teacher's permit shall be issued without delay. The maximum duration of an emergency 
teacher permit is 30 days. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5800 STUDENT APTITUDE TEST. 

Each barber school shall be required to give an aptitude test to each prospective 
student. The aptitude test shall be approved by the Board of Barber Examiners and 
shall include examination for dexterity in addition to examinations for other aptitudes. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
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2100.5900 STUDENT PHYSICAL EXAMINATION. 

Each student shall receive a physical examination for communicable or infectious 
diseases and either a mantoux test or a chest x-ray. The student shall, upon completion 
of such examination, submit a doctor's certificate to the board that the student is free 
from contagious or infectious disease. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 17 SR 1279 

2100.6000 HOURS OF INSTRUCTION. 
Each student, including each part-time student, must complete at least 281 

classroom hours and 1,219 practical hours in the required 1,500-hour course. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.6100 STUDENT WORK COMPLETION. 
An instructor may help a beginning student finish a service on a patron upon 

request by the student. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.6200 MONTHLY STUDENT REPORT. 
All approved barber schools shall file with the Board of Barber Examiners a 

monthly student report in substantially the following form: (see monthly report). 
Failure to comply with this requirement shall be grounds for denial of an an annual 
barber school permit authorized under Minnesota Statutes, section 154.07. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.6300 STUDENT OBSERVATION SHEET. 
All barber schools shall maintain on a current basis an observation sheet upon 

which will be recorded an analysis of the behavior and attitude of each student 
enrolled. The observation sheets will be open to inspection by the board, any member 
of the board, or a duly authorized agent of the board at all times. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.6400 TRANSFER OF STUDENT'S PLACE. 
No barber school shall act as an agent in any respect to either students or 

prospective students regarding any attempt to transfer, sell, or assign a student's place 
in a barber school. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.6500 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.6600 BARBER SCHOOL SIGN. 
All barber schools shall have prominently displayed a sign stating "BARBER 

SCHOOL - ALL WORK DONE BY STUDENTS" with letters at least six inches 
high. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

BARBER SHOPS 

2100.7000 PERMANENT LOCATION. 
Each barber shop in the state of Minnesota must be permanently located at one 

address, due to the difficulty of implementation of inspection procedures. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
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2100.7100 SHOP REGISTRATION CARD. 

Upon application for a barber shop's first shop registration card pursuant to 
Minnesota Statutes, section 154.085, a proposed floor plan will be submitted for the 
board's approval at least 30 days prior to the scheduled shop opening date. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.7200 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.7300 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.7400 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.7500 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

OPERATION OF BARBER SCHOOLS AND BARBER SHOPS 

2100.7600 BARBER CHAIRS. 

Barber chairs must be spaced not less than five feet apart center to center. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.7700 OTHER USE OF PREMISES. 

Subpart 1. Prohibited uses. No person shall use any room or part of a place which 
is also used for residential purposes, or any business purpose other than barbering, 
unless the areas are separated by substantial partition, extending from the floor to the 
ceiling. Further, any door or other entrance leading into the residential or other 
business portion of the building must be used only for the passage of barbers or other 
employees. 

Subp. 2. Exception: barber shop with beauty shop. Subpart 1 notwithstanding, a 
beauty shop and a barber shop may be operated in conjunction, without being 
separated by a partition of ceiling height. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.7800 LICENSING. 

No person shall practice or attempt to practice barbering without a certificate of 
registration issued pursuant to the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.7900 MEDICAL TREATMENT. 

No barber, apprentice barber, or student barber shall undertake to treat any 
disease of the skin, nor apply any medicine or treatment which administration is not 
distinctly a part of barbering. No barber shall apply drops to the eyes. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 17 SR 1279 

2100.8000 CLEANLINESS OF PERSONNEL. 

The operator shall wear clean uniforms or clean clothes at all times. The operator 
shall cleanse the hands thoroughly with soap and clean water before attending each 
patron. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 17 SR 1279 
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2100.8100 SANITIZATION. 

Subpart 1. Instruments. Razors, shears, combs, clipper blades, hairbrush, and all 
other instruments or appliances that come in contact with the head, neck, or face must 
be thoroughly cleaned and sanitized by submersion for a minimum of two minutes after 
use on each patron. As an alternative to submersion, clipper blades and shears may be 
treated by spraying them with a commercial spray containing active ingredients not less 
than 0.25 percent o-phenyl phenol, 11.00 percent isopropyl alcohol, and 88.75 percent 
inert ingredients. As an extra measure, instruments may be wiped or sprayed with a 
solution of 10:1 household bleach before being used. When not in use, they must be 
kept in a clean closed compartment provided for and used only for storage of 
instruments. Styptic pencil and lump alum are positively prohibited. Contact with raw 
blood or body fluids should be avoided. If accidentally exposed, immediate washing 
with soap and running water is required. 

Subp. 2. Sanitizer. All barber shops and barber schools shall have in use. at all 
times at each chair a wet or dip sanitizer which is adequate in size to accommodate all 
instruments to be used on each patron. The wet sanitizer shall contain a suitable 
chemical bactericide solution which shall be bacteriologically effective, such as 0.1 
percent suitable quaternary ammonium compound, or by other means having a solution 
equivalent to five percent phenol, or other chemical sanitizing agent having equivalent 
bactericidal effect. The chemical solution shall be changed daily or more often, as 
needed. 

One dip disinfectant solution container will be kept for each barber chair in 
operation. Instruments immersed in the dip disinfectant solution container will be 
carefully rinsed in warm running water before use. Failure to provide a sink or dip 
disinfectant solution container constitutes prima facie evidence that instruments are not 
properly sanitized. 

At least one sink or lavatory must be provided in each room, booth, stall, 
compartment, or the immediate area in which barbers work: If more than two barber 
chairs are in any room, booth, stall, or compartment, at least one sink or lavatory must 
be provided for each two barber chairs at which the barbers work.Each barber must 
have free access to the sink or lavatory without obstruction from other chairs, 
partitions, wall dividers, or other barriers. 

Subp. 3. Dispensary. A dispensary must be located in each barber shop and each 
barber school where hot and cold running water is not present within five feet of the 
working chair. A dispensary is a room, booth, or area where implements will be 
cleansed, disinfected, and stored. A dispensary must contain the following furnishings: 

A. A container large enough to accommodate all soiled implements in which 
those instruments, such as combs and brushes, can be totally immersed for washing. All 
nonimmersive or electrical implements such as clippers, clipper blades, and shears must 
be sprayed according to subpart 1. 

B. One sink with hot and cold running water to cleanse implements men­
tioned in item A to be used for washing of hands before serving each patron. 

C. A container with suitable chemical bactericide solution to accommodate 
and immerse all immersible implements after being washed for at least two minutes 
before being used or stored. 

D. A container large enough for storage of clean disinfected implements. 
E. A container filled with fresh disinfectant solution in which razors will be 

stored or dipped at least two minutes before being used. 

Subp. 4. Hand washing. Hands shall be washed with soap and running water 
immediately before serving each and every patron. 

Subp. 5. Implement storage. Implements that require washing and disinfecting by 
total immersion must not be stored at the work station unless running water is present 
at the working chair. 
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Subp. 6. Shampoo sinks. The shampoo area shall have one shampoo sink for each 
six chairs. 

Subp. 7. Minimum implements. Each barber shall have at least 15 combs and ten 
brushes. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.8200 TOWELS. 

A separate, clean towel or neck band shall be used for each patron. All barber 
shops and barber schools shall have sufficient closed sanitary towel cabinets for storage 
of clean towels and closed hampers for soiled towels. All soiled towels after use on 
each customer shall be placed in a closed hamper and shall not be left on the lavatory 
or workstand. The headrest shall be provided with a clean towel or clean paper for 
each patron served. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8300 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.8400 WALLS, CEILING, FLOOR, AND FURNITURE. 
The walls, ceilings, floor, and furniture in every barber shop or barber school shall 

be kept clean and in good repair. Floors of barber shops or barber schools shall be 
covered with hardwood, linoleum, composition tile, or some other washable and 
nonporous material. These requirements shall include the proper cleaning of floors, 
shelves, cabinets, chairs, trays, and other barber shop or barber school equipment. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8500 LIGHTING AND VENTILATION. 
Barber shops and barber schools shall have adequate lighting and be properly 

ventilated. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8600 HEALTH OF PERSONNEL. 

No owner or manager shall permit any person suffering from a communicable 
disease to act as a barber. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8700 POSTING RULES. 
The owner or manager of any barber shop or barber school shall post a copy of 

these rules in a conspicuous place where they can be read by the patrons of the 
establishment. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8800 RESPONSIBILITY FOR VIOLATIONS. 
For the purpose of this act, barbers, apprentice barbers, student barbers, or the 

proprietor or manager shall be responsible for all violations of the sanitary provisions 
of the act. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8900 PENALTIES. 

For the purpose of this act, no establishment shall be open for service to the public 
until all sanitary provisions of this act have been complied with. These rules pursuant to 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154 have been approved by the Minnesota Board of 
Barber Examiners and the Minnesota Board of Health. A violation of any of these 
rules shall be punishable by a fine not less than $10 nor more than $100 or 
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imprisonment for not less than ten days nor more than 90 days and shall be cause for 
suspension or revocation of a certificate of registration or shop registration card. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

INSPECTIONS 

2100.9000 RIGHT OF ENTRY. 

Any duly authorized employee of the Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners, 
Minnesota Board of Health, or board of health as defined in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 145A.02, subdivision 2, shall have authority to enter upon and inspect any 
barber shop or barber school at any time during business hours. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: L 1987 c 309 s 24 

2100.9100 INSPECTION SLIPS. 
An inspector employed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 154.23 shall fill out 

an inspection slip for each inspection made and shall insert the time of the inspection 
on the first and last inspection slips for the day and each of those slips shall be signed 
by the barber of the place that was inspected. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 17 SR 1279 

2100.9200 INSPECTION PROCEDURE. 

Inspectors hired by the board shall make their inspections in conformity with the 
following procedures: 

A. Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners shall periodically designate the area 
in which inspection shall be made. 

B. The Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners will periodically advise inspec­
tors of those violations under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154 concerning which the 
inspectors may summarily file complaints with the local civil authorities. Inspectors will 
make written reports to the board of all such complaints filed. 

C. Any and all violations of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154 shall be 
submitted to the board by the inspectors. Thereafter, the board may, at its discretion, 
take appropriate action regarding such violations in accordance with Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 14 and rules promulgated thereunder. 

D. All written reports made by the inspector shall contain the name and 
address of the offender, the exact nature of the violation, the section of the statute 
violated, the date of the violation, and the action taken by the inspector. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.9300 FEES. 

Subpart 1. Fee schedule. The Board of Barber Examiners shall charge the 
following fees: 

A. examination and certificate, registered barber, $55; 
B. examination and certificate, apprentice, $50; 
C. examination, instructor, $150; 
D. certificate, instructor, $35; 
E. temporary teacher permit, $25; 
F. renewal of license, registered barber, $40; 
G. renewal of license, apprentice, S35; 
H. renewal of license, instructor, $50; 
I. renewal of temporary teacher permit, $25; 
J. student permit, $10; 
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K. initial shop registration, S50; 
L. initial school registration, S1,000; 
M. renewal shop registration, $50; 
N. renewal school registration, S250; 
O. restoration of registered barber license, S65; 
P. restoration of apprentice license, $60; 
Q. restoration of shop registration, $75; 
R. change of ownership or location, S25; and 
S. duplicate license, $10. 

Subp. 2. Duplicate license. Any photocopy of a license made by the board for an 
official purpose shall be stamped with the office state seal. 

Subp. 3. Restoration fee. A restoration fee is a fee charged a licensee to restore a 
license that has not been renewed in a timely manner. The fee is comprised of the 
license fee plus a late penalty fee. 

Subp. 4. Renewals; schedule. This subpart governs renewals of licenses and 
registrations. 

A. Apprentices, barbers, instructors, temporary teacher permits, and school 
licenses shall renew their licenses by no later than December 31 of each year for the 
ensuing year to avoid a late penalty fee. 

B. Shop registration shall be renewed by no later than June 30 of each year 
for the ensuing year to avoid a late penalty fee. 

C. Change of location and change of ownership shall be filed within 30 days of 
the action. 

Subp. 5. License requirements. An active barber must hold a current license and 
must post it at the work station. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24; 214.06 
History: 11 SR 2284; 13 SR 1916; 24 SR 581 
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