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1.1 CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT ON S.F. No. 802

1.2 A bill for an act

1.3 relating to public safety; appropriating money for public safety, corrections,

1.4 and other criminal justice agencies; requiring annual appropriation of money in
1.5 Bureau of Criminal Apprehension account to commissioner of public safety;

1.6 repealing the mandatory minimum sentences for predatory offender registration
1.7 offenses and subsequent controlled substances offenses; providing a 90-day cap
1.8 on incarceration for certain first-time supervised release violations; eliminating
1.9 the requirement that judges impose a minimum sentence on felony DWI

1.10 offenders; requesting the Sentencing Guidelines Commission to rerank the

1.11 felony DWI offense; providing for supervised release of offenders; expanding
1.12 the challenge incarceration program; requiring the Sentencing Guidelines

1.13 Commission and the Departments of Corrections and Public Safety to review
1.14 its reports; requiring Department of Corrections to annually report on felony
1.15 DWI offenders; requiring that reports to the legislature by criminal justice

1.16 agencies be submitted electronically; modifying and expanding the conditional
1.17 release program for nonviolent drug offenders; including an advisory board

1.18 for consultation with the commissioner of corrections for the conditional

1.19 release program; repealing the conditional release program's sunset; authorizing
1.20 correctional facilities to forward surcharges from offender wages to court or
1.21 other entity collecting the surcharge; repealing reports on out-of-state juvenile
1.22 placement; implementing the legislative auditor's recommendations relating
1.23 to MINNCOR; requiring the licensure of firefighters; expanding the stay of
1.24 adjudication provision for low-level controlled substance offenders; imposing
1.25 criminal penalties; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2008,
1.26 sections 3.195, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 152.021, subdivision 3;
1.27 152.022, subdivision 3; 152.023, subdivision 3; 152.024, subdivision 3; 152.025,
1.28 subdivision 3; 152.18, subdivision 1; 169A.275, subdivisions 3, 4, 5; 169A.276,
1.29 subdivisions 1, 2; 171.29, subdivision 2; 241.27, subdivision la, by adding

1.30 subdivisions; 243.166, subdivision 5; 244.055, subdivisions 2, 3, 5, 7, by adding
131 subdivisions; 244.17; 244.172, subdivision 1; 299N.02, subdivision 3; 357.021,
1.32 subdivision 6; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters
1.33 244; 299N; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2008, sections 152.026; 244.055,

1.34 subdivisions 6, 11; 260B.199, subdivision 2; 260B.201, subdivision 3; 325E.22.
1.35 May 11, 2009

1.36 The Honorable James P. Metzen
1.37 President of the Senate

1.38 The Honorable Margaret Anderson Kelliher
1.39 Speaker of the House of Representatives
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We, the undersigned conferees for S.F. No. 802 report that we have agreed upon the
items in dispute and recommend as follows:

That the House recede from its amendments and that S.F. No. 802 be further
amended as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"ARTICLE 1
APPROPRIATIONS

Section 1. SUMMARY OF APPROPRIATIONS.

The amounts shown in this section summarize direct appropriations, by fund, made

in this article.

2010 2011 Total

General $ 886,898,000 $ 927,148,000 §  1,814,046,000
Federal 38,000,000 0 38,000,000
State Government Special

Revenue 66,573,000 70,336,000 136,909,000
Environmental 69,000 69,000 138,000
Special Revenue 14,534,000 14,534,000 29,068,000
Trunk Highway 1,941,000 1,941,000 3,882,000
Total $ 1,008,015,000 $ 1,014,028,000 $ 2,022,043,000

Sec. 2. PUBLIC SAFETY APPROPRIATIONS.

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the

agencies and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the

general fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated

for each purpose. The figures "2010" and "2011" used in this article mean that the

appropriations listed under them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2010, or

June 30, 2011, respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2010. "The second year" is fiscal

year 2011. "The biennium" is fiscal years 2010 and 2011. Appropriations for the fiscal

year ending June 30, 2009, are effective the day following final enactment.

APPROPRIATIONS
Available for the Year
Ending June 30
2010 2011

Articlel Sec. 2. 2
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Sec. 3. SUPREME COURT

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

The amounts that may be spent for each

purpose are specified in the following

subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Supreme Court Operations

(a) Contingent Account. $5,000 each year

is for a contingent account for expenses

necessary for the normal operation of the

court for which no other reimbursement is

provided.

(b) Criminal Justice Forum. The chief

justice is requested to continue the criminal

justice forum to evaluate and examine

criminal justice efficiencies and costs

savings, and may submit a report of the

findings and recommendations to the chairs

and ranking minority members of the house

of representatives and senate committees

with jurisdiction over public safety policy

and finance by February 15, 2010.

(c) Civil Justice Forum. The chief justice

is requested to convene a civil justice

forum to evaluate and examine civil justice

efficiencies and cost savings and may submit

a report of the findings and recommendations

to the chairs and ranking minority members

of the house of representatives and senate

committees with jurisdiction over public

safety policy and finance by February 15,
2010.

(d) Federal Stimulus Funds. The Supreme

Court is encouraged to apply for all available

Articlel Sec. 3. 3
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grants for federal stimulus funds to: (1)

continue drug court programs that lose

state funding; and (2) make technological

improvements within the judicial system.

(e) Judicial and Referee Vacancies.

The Supreme Court shall not certify a

judicial or referee vacancy under Minnesota

Statutes, section 2.722, until it has examined

alternative options, such as temporarily

suspending certification of the vacant

position or assigning a retired judge to

temporarily fill the position.

Subd. 3. Civil Legal Services

Legal Services to Low-Income Clients in

Family Law Matters. Of this appropriation,

$877,000 each year is to improve the

access of low-income clients to legal

representation in family law matters. This

appropriation must be distributed under

Minnesota Statutes, section 480.242, to

the qualified legal services programs

described in Minnesota Statutes, section

480.242, subdivision 2, paragraph (a). Any

unencumbered balance remaining in the first

year does not cancel and is available in the

second year.

Sec. 4. COURT OF APPEALS

Sec. 5. TRIAL COURTS

Sec. 6. TAX COURT

Sec. 7. UNIFORM LAWS COMMISSION

Articlel Sec. 7. 4
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Sec. 8. BOARD ON JUDICIAL STANDARDS $§ 456,000 $

$125,000 each year is for special

investigative and hearing costs for major

disciplinary actions undertaken by the

board. This appropriation does not cancel.

Any encumbered and unspent balances

remain available for these expenditures in

subsequent fiscal years.

Sec. 9. BOARD OF PUBLIC DEFENSE $ 66,028,000 $

Sec. 10. PUBLIC SAFETY

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation h 158,678,000 $
Appropriations by Fund
2010 2011

General 80,463,000 80,463,000

Special Revenue 9,632,000 9,632,000

State Government

Special Revenue 66,573,000 70,336,000

Environmental 69,000 69,000

Trunk Highway 1,941,000 1,941,000

The amounts that may be spent for each

purpose are specified in the following

subdivisions.

(a) Car Fleet. By January 1, 2010,

the commissioner shall reduce the

department's fleet of cars that are not used for

investigations by at least five percent when

compared to the fleet's status on January 1,

2009. This paragraph shall not apply to State

Patrol vehicles purchased or maintained

using trunk highway funds.

Articlel Sec. 10. 5

456,000

66,028,000

162,441,000
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(b) Prohibition on Use of Appropriation.

No portion of this appropriation may be

used for the purchase of motor vehicles

or out-of-state travel that is not directly

connected with and necessary to carry out

the core functions of the department.

Subd. 2. Emergency Management 2,583,000

Appropriations by Fund

General 1,910,000 1,910,000
Special Revenue 604,000 604,000
Environmental 69,000 69,000

Hazmat and Chemical Assessment Teams.

$604,000 each year is appropriated from the

fire safety account in the special revenue

fund. These amounts must be used to

fund the hazardous materials and chemical

assessment teams.

Subd. 3. Criminal Apprehension 43,368,000

Appropriations by Fund

General 41,420,000 41,420,000

State Government

Special Revenue 7,000 7,000

Trunk Highway 1,941,000 1,941,000

DWI Lab Analysis; Trunk Highway Fund.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section

161.20, subdivision 3, $1,941,000 each year

1s appropriated from the trunk highway fund

for laboratory analysis related to driving

while impaired cases.

Subd. 4. Fire Marshal 8,125,000

Articlel Sec. 10. 6

2,583,000

43,368,000

8,125,000
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This appropriation is from the fire safety

account in the special revenue fund.

Of this amount, $5,857,000 each year is for

activities under Minnesota Statutes, section

299F.012, and $2,268,000 each year is for

transfer to the general fund under Minnesota

Statutes, section 2971.06, subdivision 3.

Subd. 5. Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement 2,538,000

Appropriations by Fund

General 1,635,000 1,635,000

Special Revenue 903,000 903,000

This appropriation is from the alcohol

enforcement account in the special revenue

fund. Of this appropriation, $750,000 each

year shall be transferred to the general fund.

The transfer amount for fiscal year 2012 and

fiscal year 2013 shall be $500,000 per year.

Subd. 6. Office of Justice Programs 35,594,000

Appropriations by Fund

General 35,498,000 35,498,000

State Government

Special Revenue 96,000 96,000

(a) Federal Stimulus Money. The Office

of Justice programs shall give priority to

awarding grants for federal stimulus money

to the following activities and programs:

(1) organizations that provide mentoring

grants for children of incarcerated parents;

(2) youth intervention programs, as defined

under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.73,

with an emphasis on those programs that

Articlel Sec. 10. 7

2,538,000

35,594,000
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8.1 provide early intervention youth services to
8.2 children in their communities;

8.3 (3) re-entry programs for offenders, with a
8.4 priority on continuing to fund the nonprofit
8.5 organization selected to administer the

8.6 demonstration project for high risk adults

8.7 under Laws 2007, chapter 54, article 1,

8.8 section 19;

8.9 (4) trafficking victim programs, including

8.10 legal advocacy clinics, training programs,

8.11 public awareness initiatives, and victim

8.12 services hotlines;

8.13 (5) nonprofit organizations dedicated

8.14 to providing immediate and long-term

8.15 emotional support and practical help for

8.16 families and friends of persons who have

8.17 died traumatically;

8.18 (6) programs that seek to develop and

8.19 increase juvenile detention alternatives;

8.20 (7) restorative justice programs, as defined

8.21 in Minnesota Statutes, section 611A.775,

8.22 except that a program that receives federal

8.23 funds shall not use the funds for cases

8.24 involving domestic assault; and

8.25 (8) judicial branch efficiency programs,

8.26 including e-citation and fine management
8.27 and collection program improvements.

8.28 For purposes of this subdivision, "federal
8.29 stimulus money" means money provided to

8.30 the state under the American Recovery and

8.31 Reinvestment Act of 2009.

8.32 (b) Crime Victim and Youth Intervention

8.33 Programs. For the biennium ending June

8.34 30, 2011, funding for the following programs

Articlel Sec. 10. 8
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must not be reduced by more than three

percent from the level of state base funding

provided for the biennium ending June 30,

2009: (1) crime victim reparations; (2)

battered women's shelters and domestic

violence programs; (3) general crime victim

programs; (4) sexual assault victim programs;

and (5) youth intervention programs.

(c) Administration Costs. Up to 2.5 percent

of the grant money appropriated in this

subdivision may be used to administer the

grant program.

Subd. 7. Emergency Communication Networks 66,470,000

This appropriation is from the state

government special revenue fund for 911

emergency telecommunications services.

(a) Public Safety Answering Points.
$13,664,000 each year is to be distributed

as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section

403.113, subdivision 2.

(b) Medical Resource Communication

Centers. $683,000 each year is for grants

to the Minnesota Emergency Medical

Services Regulatory Board for the Metro

East and Metro West Medical Resource

Communication Centers that were in

operation before January 1, 2000.

(c) ARMER Debt Service. $17,557,000 the

first year and $23,261,000 the second year

are to the commissioner of finance to pay

debt service on revenue bonds issued under

Minnesota Statutes, section 403.275.

Any portion of this appropriation not needed

to pay debt service in a fiscal year may be

Articlel Sec. 10. 9

70,233,000
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10.1 used by the commissioner of public safety to

10.2 pay cash for any of the capital improvements

10.3 for which bond proceeds were appropriated

10.4 by Laws 2005, chapter 136, article 1, section

10.5 9, subdivision 8, or Laws 2007, chapter 54,

10.6 article 1, section 10, subdivision 8.

10.7 (d) Metropolitan Council Debt Service.

10.8 $1,410,000 each year is to the commissioner

10.9 of finance for payment to the Metropolitan

10.10  Council for debt service on bonds issued

10.11  under Minnesota Statutes, section 403.27.

1012 (¢) ARMER State Backbone Operating

1013 Costs. $5,060,000 each year is to the

10.14  commissioner of transportation for costs

10.15  of maintaining and operating the statewide

10.16  radio system backbone.

10.17  (f) ARMER Improvements. $1,000,000

10.18  each year is for the Statewide Radio Board

10.19  for costs of design, construction, maintenance

1020  of, and improvements to those elements

1021  of the statewide public safety radio and

1022  communication system that support mutual

1023  aid communications and emergency medical

1024  services or provide enhancement of public

1025  safety communication interoperability.

1026  (g) Next Generation 911. $3,431,000 the

1027  first year and $6,490,000 the second year

1028  are to replace the current system with the

1029  Next Generation Internet Protocol (IP) based

1030  network. The base level of funding for fiscal

1031 year 2012 shall be $2,965,000.

1032 (h) Grants to Local Government.

1033 $5,000,000 the first year is for grants to

1034  local units of government to assist with

Articlel Sec. 10. 10
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the transition to the ARMER system. This

appropriation is available until June 30, 2012.

Sec. 11. PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS
AND TRAINING BOARD (POST) $ 4,012,000 $

(a) Excess Amounts Transferred. This

appropriation is from the peace officer

training account in the special revenue fund.

Any new receipts credited to that account in

the first year in excess of $4,012,000 must be

transferred and credited to the general fund.

Any new receipts credited to that account in

the second year in excess of $4,012,000 must

be transferred and credited to the general

fund.

(b) Peace Officer Training

Reimbursements. $2.859,000 each

year is for reimbursements to local

governments for peace officer training costs.

(c) Prohibition on Use of Appropriation.

No portion of this appropriation may be

used for the purchase of motor vehicles

or out-of-state travel that is not directly

connected with and necessary to carry out

the core functions of the board.

Sec. 12. PRIVATE DETECTIVE BOARD $ 123,000 $

Prohibition on Use of Appropriation. No

portion of this appropriation may be used for

the purchase of motor vehicles or out-of-state

travel that is not directly connected with and

necessary to carry out the core functions of

the board.

Sec. 13. HUMAN RIGHTS $ 3,524,000 $

Articlel Sec. 13. 11
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Prohibition on Use of Appropriation. No

portion of this appropriation may be used for

the purchase of motor vehicles or out-of-state

travel that is not directly connected with and

necessary to carry out the core functions of

the department.

Sec. 14. DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 469,844,000 $

Appropriations by Fund

2010 2011
General 430,954,000 471,205,000
Special Revenue 890,000 890,000
Federal 38,000,000 0

The amounts that may be spent for each

purpose are specified in the following

subdivisions.

(a) Car Fleet. By January 1, 2010, the

commissioner must reduce the department's

fleet of cars by 20 percent.

(b) Prohibition on Use of Appropriation.

No portion of this appropriation may be

used for the purchase of motor vehicles

or out-of-state travel that is not directly

connected with and necessary to carry out

the core functions of the department.

Subd. 2. Correctional Institutions 334,341,000

Appropriations by Fund

General 295,761,000 337,619,000
Special Revenue 580,000 580,000
Federal 38,000,000 0

Articlel Sec. 14. 12

472,095,000

338,199,000
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13.1 $38,000,000 the first year is from the fiscal

13.2 stabilization account in the federal fund. This

13.3 is a onetime appropriation.

13.4 The general fund base for this program shall
13.5 be $326,085,000 in fiscal year 2012 and
13.6 $330,430,000 in fiscal year 2013.

13.7 (a) Treatment Alternatives; Report. By

13.8 December 15, 2009, the commissioner

13.9 must submit an electronic report to the

13.10  chairs and ranking minority members of

13.11  the house of representatives and senate

13.12  committees with jurisdiction over public

13.13  safety policy and finance concerning

13.14  alternative chemical dependency treatment

13.15  opportunities. The report must identify

13.16  alternatives that represent best practices in

13.17  chemical dependency treatment of offenders.

13.18  The report must contain suggestions for

13.19  reducing the length of time between

1320  offender commitment to the custody of the

1321  commissioner and graduation from chemical

1322 dependency treatment. To the extent

1323 possible, the report shall identify options

1324 that will (1) reduce the cost of treatment;

1325 (2) expand the number of treatment beds;

1326  (3) improve treatment outcomes; and (4)

1327  lower the rate of substance abuse relapse and

13.28  criminal recidivism.

1329  (b) Challenge Incarceration; Maximum

1330  Occupancy. The commissioner shall work to

13.31  fill all available challenge incarceration beds

13.32  for both male and female offenders. If the

13.33  commissioner fails to fill at least 90 percent

1334 of the available challenge incarceration beds

1335 by December 1, 2009, the commissioner

Articlel Sec. 14. 13
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14.1 must submit a report to the chairs and

14.2 ranking minority members of the house of

14.3 representatives and senate committees with

14.4 jurisdiction over public safety policy and

14.5 finance by January 15, 2010, explaining what

14.6 steps the commissioner has taken to fill the

14.7 beds and why those steps failed to reach the

14.8 goal established by the legislature.

14.9 (c) Institutional Efficiencies. The

14.10  commissioner shall strive for institutional

14.11  efficiencies and must reduce the fiscal year

1412 2008 average adult facility per diem of

1413 $89.77 by one percent. The base is cut by
1414 $2,850,000 in the first year and $2,850,000

14.15  1in the second year to reflect a one percent

14.16  reduction in the projected adult facility per

14.17  diem. In reducing the projected adult facility

14.18  per diem, the commissioner must consider

14.19  the following:

1420 (1) cooperating with the state of Wisconsin

1421  to obtain economies of scale;

1422 (2) increasing the bed capacity of the

1423  challenge incarceration program;

1424  (3) increasing the number of nonviolent drug

1425  offenders who are granted conditional release

1426  under Minnesota Statutes, section 244.055;

1427  (4) increasing the use of compassionate

1428  release or less costly detention alternatives

1429  for elderly and infirm offenders;

1430  (5) discontinuing the department's practice

1431  of annually assigning a warden to serve as

1432 a legislative liaison during the legislative

1433  session;

Articlel Sec. 14. 14
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(6) consolidating staff from correctional

institutions in geographical proximity to each

other to achieve efficiencies and cost savings,

including wardens, deputy wardens, and

human resources, technology, and employee

development personnel;

(7) consolidating the department's human

resources, technology, and employee

development functions in a centralized

location;

(8) implementing corrections best practices;

and

(9) implementing cost-saving measures used

by other states and the federal government.

The commissioner must not eliminate

correctional officer positions or implement

any other measure that will jeopardize public

safety to achieve the mandated cost savings.

The commissioner also must not eliminate

treatment beds to achieve the mandated cost

savings.

(d) Per Diem Reduction. If the

commissioner fails to reduce the per diem by

one percent, the commissioner must:

(1) reduce the funding for operations support

by the amount of unrealized savings; and

(2) submit a report by February 15,

2010, to the chairs and ranking minority

members of the house of representatives

and senate committees with jurisdiction

over public safety policy and finance that

contains descriptions of what efforts the

commissioner made to reduce the per diem,

explanations for why those steps failed to
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reduce the per diem by one percent, proposed

legislative options that would assist the

commissioner in reducing the adult facility

per diem, and descriptions of the specific

actions the commissioner took to reduce

funding in operations support.

If the commissioner reduces the per diem

by more than one percent, the commissioner

must use the savings to provide treatment to

offenders.

(¢) Reductions to Certain Programming

Prohibited. When allocating reductions

in services and programming under this

appropriation, the commissioner may not

make reductions to inmate educational

programs, chemical dependency programs,

Or reentry programs.

(f) Drug Court Bed Savings. The

commissioner must consider the bed impact

savings of drug courts in formulating its

prison bed projections.

(g) Transfer. Notwithstanding Minnesota

Statutes, section 241.27, the commissioner

of finance shall transfer $1,000,000 the first

year and $1,000,000 the second year from the

Minnesota Correctional Industries revolving

fund to the general fund.

Subd. 3. Community Services 114,144,000

Appropriations by Fund

General 114,044,000 112,437,000

Special Revenue 100,000 100,000

Short-Term Offenders. $1,607,000 the

first year is for costs associated with the

Articlel Sec. 14. 16
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housing and care of short-term offenders

sentenced prior to June 30, 2009, and housed

in local jails. The commissioner may use

up to ten percent of the total amount of the

appropriation for inpatient medical care

for short-term offenders with less than six

months to serve as affected by the changes

made to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.105,

by Laws 2003, First Special Session chapter

2, article 5, sections 7 to 9. All funds not

expended for inpatient medical care shall be

added to and distributed with the housing
funds. These funds shall be distributed

proportionately based on the total number of

days short-term offenders are placed locally,

not to exceed the fiscal year 2009 per diem.

All funds remaining after reimbursements are

made shall be transferred to the department's

institution base budget to offset the costs

of housing short-term offenders who are

sentenced on or after July 1, 2009, and

incarcerated in state correctional facilities.

Short-term offenders sentenced before July

1, 2009, may be housed in a state correctional

facility at the discretion of the commissioner.

This does not preclude the commissioner

from contracting with local jails to house

offenders committed to the custody of the

commissioner.

The Department of Corrections is exempt

from the state contracting process for the

purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section

609.105, as amended by Laws 2003, First

Special Session chapter 2, article 5, sections

7 to 9.
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Subd. 4. Operations Support 21,359,000 21,359,000

Appropriations by Fund

General 21,149,000 21,149,000
Special Revenue 210,000 210,000
Sec. 15. SENTENCING GUIDELINES $ 604,000 $ 604,000

Prohibition on Use of Appropriation. No

portion of this appropriation may be used for

the purchase of motor vehicles or out-of-state

travel that is not directly connected with and

necessary to carry out the core functions of

the commission.

ARTICLE 2
COURTS AND PUBLIC DEFENDERS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 2.722, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Determination of a judicial vacancy. (a) When a judge of the district
court dies, resigns, retires, or is removed from office, the Supreme Court, in consultation
with judges and attorneys in the affected district, shall determine wtthinr96-days-of after
recelving notice of a vacancy from the governor whether the vacant office is necessary
for effective judicial administration or is necessary for adequate access to the courts.

In determining whether the position is necessary for adequate access to the courts, the
Supreme Court shall consider whether abolition or transfer of the position would result in
a county having no chambered judge. The Supreme Court may continue the position, may
order the position abolished, or may transfer the position to a judicial district where need
for additional judges exists, designating the position as either a county, county/municipal
or district court judgeship. The Supreme Court shall certify any vacancy to the governor,
who shall fill it in the manner provided by law.

(b) If a judge of district court fails to timely file an affidavit of candidacy and filing
fee or petition in lieu of a fee, the official with whom the affidavits of candidacy are
required to be filed shall notify the Supreme Court that the incumbent judge is not seeking
reelection. Within five days of receipt of the notice, the Supreme Court shall determine
whether the judicial position is necessary for effective judicial administration or adequate

access to the courts and notify the official responsible for certifying the election results of
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its determination. In determining whether the position is necessary for adequate access to
the courts, the Supreme Court shall consider whether abolition or transfer of the position
would result in a county having no chambered judge. The Supreme Court may continue
the position, may order the position abolished, or may transfer the position to a judicial
district where the need for additional judgeships exists. If the position is abolished or
transferred, the election may not be held. If the position is transferred, the court shall also
notify the governor of the transfer. Upon transfer, the position is vacant and the governor
shall fill it in the manner provided by law. An order abolishing or transferring a position is

effective the first Monday in the next January.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 2.722, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:

Subd. 4a. Referee vacancy; conversion to judgeship. When a referee of the
district court dies, resigns, retires, or is voluntarily removed from the position, the chief
judge of the district shall notify the Supreme Court and may petition to request that the
position be converted to a judgeship. The Supreme Court shall determine within96
days-of-thepetittonr whether to order the position abolished or convert the position to a
judgeship in the affected or another judicial district. The Supreme Court shall certify any
judicial vacancy to the governor, who shall fill it in the manner provided by law. The
conversion of a referee position to a judgeship under this subdivision shall not reduce the

total number of judges and referees hearing cases in the family and juvenile courts.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 2.724, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Procedure. To promote and secure more efficient administration of justice,
the chief justice of the Supreme Court of the state shall supervise and coordinate the work
of the courts of the state. The Supreme Court may provide by rule that the chief justice not
be required to write opinions as a member of the Supreme Court. Its rules may further
provide for it to hear and consider cases in divisions. It may by rule assign temporarily
any retired justice of the Supreme Court or one judge of the Court of Appeals or district
court judge at a time to act as a justice of the Supreme Court or any number of justices
or retired justices of the Supreme Court to act as judges of the Court of Appeals. Upon
the assignment of a Court of Appeals judge or a district court judge to act as a justice of
the Supreme Court, a judge previously acting as a justice may complete unfinished duties
of that position. Any number of justices may disqualify themselves from hearing and
considering a case, in which event the Supreme Court may assign temporarily a retired

justice of the Supreme Court, a Court of Appeals judge, or a district court judge to hear
and consider the case in place of each disqualified justice. Aretiredjustree-who-ts-acting
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Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 2.724, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Retired justices and judges. (a) The chief justice of the Supreme Court
may assign a retired justice of the Supreme Court to act as a justice of the Supreme Court
pursuant to subdivision 2 or as a judge of any other court. The chief justice may assign a
retired judge of any court to act as a judge of any court except the Supreme Court. The
chief justice of the Supreme Court shall determine the pay and expenses to be received by
a justice or judge acting pursuant to this paragraph.

(b) A judge who has been elected to office and who has retired as a judge in good
standing and is not practicing law may also be appointed to serve as judge of any court
except the Supreme Court. A retired judge acting under this paragraph will receive pay

and expenses in the amount established by the Supreme Court.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 86B.705, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Fines and bail money. (a) All fines, installment payments, and forfeited

bail money collected from persons convicted of violations of this chapter or rules adopted

thereunder, or of a violation of section 169A.20 involving a motorboat, shall be patd-te

money-was—cotteeted deposited in the state treasury.

(b) One-half of the receipts shall be credited to the general revenue fund efthe

eotinty. The other one-half of the receipts shall be transmitted by-the-eounty-treasurer to
the commissioner of natural resources to-be-depostted-inthe-state-treasury and credited to

the water recreation account for the purpose of boat and water safety.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 134A.09, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Petty misdemeanor cases and criminal convictions; fee assessment. In
Hennepin County and Ramsey County, the district court administrator or a designee may,
upon the recommendation of the board of trustees and by standing order of the judges
of the district court, include in the costs or disbursements assessed against a defendant
convicted in the district court of the violation of a statute or municipal ordinance, a county

law library fee. This fee may be collected in all petty misdemeanor cases and criminal
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prosecutions in which, upon conviction, the defendant may be subject to the payment of

the costs or disbursements in addition to a fine or other penalty. When a defendant is

convicted of more than one offense in a case, the county law library fee shall be imposed

only once in that case.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 134A.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Petty misdemeanor cases and criminal convictions; fee assessment.
The judge of district court may, upon the recommendation of the board of trustees and
by standing order, include in the costs or disbursements assessed against a defendant
convicted in the district court of the violation of any statute or municipal ordinance, in
all petty misdemeanor cases and criminal prosecutions in which, upon conviction, the
defendant may be subject to the payment of the costs or disbursements in addition to a fine

or other penalty a county law library fee. When a defendant is convicted of more than one

offense in a case, the county law library fee shall be imposed only once in that case. The

item of costs or disbursements may not be assessed for any offense committed prior to the

establishment of the county law library.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 152.0262, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Possession of precursors. (a) A person is guilty of a crime if the
person possesses any chemical reagents or precursors with the intent to manufacture

methamphetamine and if convicted may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than

ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000, or both.

(b) A person is guilty of a crime if the person possesses any chemical reagents or

precursors with the intent to manufacture methamphetamine and may be sentenced to

imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $30,000,

or both, if the conviction is for a subsequent controlled substance conviction.

As used in this section and section 152.021, "chemical reagents or precursors"
includes any of the following substances, or any similar substances that can be used to
manufacture methamphetamine, or the salts, isomers, and salts of isomers of a listed or
similar substance:

(1) ephedrine;

(2) pseudoephedrine;

(3) phenyl-2-propanone;

(4) phenylacetone;

(5) anhydrous ammonia;

(6) organic solvents;
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(7) hydrochloric acid;
(8) lithium metal;

(9) sodium metal;

(10) ether;

(11) sulfuric acid;

(12) red phosphorus;
(13) 1odine;

(14) sodium hydroxide;
(15) benzaldehyde;
(16) benzyl methyl ketone;
(17) benzyl cyanide;
(18) nitroethane;

(19) methylamine;

(20) phenylacetic acid;
(21) hydriodic acid; or
(22) hydriotic acid.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 169A.20, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Driving while impaired crime; motor vehicle. It is a crime for

any person to drive, operate, or be in physical control of any motor vehicle, as defined

in section 169A.03, subdivision 15, except for motorboats in operation and off-road

recreational vehicles, within this state or on any boundary water of this state when:

(1) when the person is under the influence of alcohol;

(2) when the person is under the influence of a controlled substance;

(3) when the person is knowingly under the influence of a hazardous substance that
affects the nervous system, brain, or muscles of the person so as to substantially impair
the person's ability to drive or operate the motor vehicle;

(4) when the person is under the influence of a combination of any two or more of
the elements named in clauses (1);t2);and to (3);

(5) when the person's alcohol concentration at the time, or as measured within
two hours of the time, of driving, operating, or being in physical control of the motor

vehicle is 0.08 or more;
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(6) when the vehicle is a commercial motor vehicle and the person's alcohol
concentration at the time, or as measured within two hours of the time, of driving,
operating, or being in physical control of the commercial motor vehicle is 0.04 or more; or

(7) when the person's body contains any amount of a controlled substance listed in

schedule I or II, or its metabolite, other than marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 169A.20, is amended by adding a

subdivision to read:

Subd. la. Driving while impaired crime; motorboat in operation. It is a crime

for any person to operate or be in physical control of a motorboat in operation on any

waters or boundary water of this state when:

(1) the person is under the influence of alcohol;

(2) the person is under the influence of a controlled substance;

(3) the person is knowingly under the influence of a hazardous substance that affects

the nervous system, brain, or muscles of the person so as to substantially impair the

person's ability to drive or operate the motorboat;

(4) the person is under the influence of a combination of any two or more of the

elements named in clauses (1) to (3);

(5) the person's alcohol concentration at the time, or as measured within two hours

of the time, of driving, operating, or being in physical control of the motorboat is 0.08 or

more; or

(6) the person's body contains any amount of a controlled substance listed in

schedule I or 11, or its metabolite, other than marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 169A.20, is amended by adding a

subdivision to read:

Subd. 1b. Driving while impaired crime; snowmobile and all-terrain vehicle. It

1s a crime for any person to operate or be in physical control of a snowmobile as defined in

section 84.81, subdivision 3, or all-terrain vehicle as defined in section 84.92, subdivision

8, anywhere in this state or on the ice of any boundary water of this state when:

(1) the person is under the influence of alcohol;

(2) the person is under the influence of a controlled substance;
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(3) the person is knowingly under the influence of a hazardous substance that affects

the nervous system, brain, or muscles of the person so as to substantially impair the

person's ability to drive or operate the snowmobile or all-terrain vehicle;

(4) the person is under the influence of a combination of any two or more of the

elements named in clauses (1) to (3);

(5) the person's alcohol concentration at the time, or as measured within two hours

of the time, of driving, operating, or being in physical control of the snowmobile or

all-terrain vehicle is 0.08 or more; or

(6) the person's body contains any amount of a controlled substance listed in

schedule I or 11, or its metabolite, other than marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 169A.20, is amended by adding a

subdivision to read:

Subd. 1c. Driving while impaired crime; off-highway motorcycle and off-road

vehicle. It is a crime for any person to operate or be in physical control of any off-highway

motorcycle as defined in section 84.787, subdivision 7, or any off-road vehicle as defined

in section 84.797, subdivision 7, anywhere in this state or on the ice of any boundary

water of this state when:

(1) the person is under the influence of alcohol,;

(2) the person is under the influence of a controlled substance;

(3) the person is knowingly under the influence of a hazardous substance that affects

the nervous system, brain, or muscles of the person so as to substantially impair the

person's ability to drive or operate the off-highway motorcycle or off-road vehicle;

(4) the person is under the influence of a combination of any two or more of the

elements named in clauses (1) to (3);

(5) the person's alcohol concentration at the time, or as measured within two hours of

the time, of driving, operating, or being in physical control of the off-highway motorcycle

or off-road vehicle is 0.08 or more; or

(6) the person's body contains any amount of a controlled substance listed in

schedule I or 11, or its metabolite, other than marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 169A.25, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
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Subdivision 1. Degree described. (a) A person who violates section 169A.20,

subdivision 1, 1a, 1b, or 1c (driving while impaired crime), is guilty of second-degree

driving while impaired if two or more aggravating factors were present when the violation
was committed.

(b) A person who violates section 169A.20, subdivision 2 (refusal to submit to
chemical test crime), is guilty of second-degree driving while impaired if one aggravating

factor was present when the violation was committed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 169A.26, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Degree described. (a) A person who violates section 169A.20,

subdivision 1, 1a, 1b, or 1c (driving while impaired crime), is guilty of third-degree driving

while impaired if one aggravating factor was present when the violation was committed.
(b) A person who violates section 169A.20, subdivision 2 (refusal to submit to

chemical test crime), is guilty of third-degree driving while impaired.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 169A.27, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Degree described. A person who violates section 169A.20,

subdivision 1, 1a, 1b, or 1c (driving while impaired crime), is guilty of fourth-degree

driving while impaired.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 169A.28, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Permissive consecutive sentences; multiple offenses. (a) When a person
is being sentenced for a violation of a provision listed in paragraph (e), the court may
sentence the person to a consecutive term of imprisonment for a violation of any other
provision listed in paragraph (e), notwithstanding the fact that the offenses arose out of the
same course of conduct, subject to the limitation on consecutive sentences contained in
section 609.15, subdivision 2, and except as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c).

(b) When a person is being sentenced for a violation of section 171.09 (violation

of condition of restricted license), 171.20 (operation after revocation, suspension,
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cancellation, or disqualification), 171.24 (driving without valid license), or 171.30
(violation of condition of limited license), the court may not impose a consecutive sentence
for another violation of a provision in chapter 171 (drivers' licenses and training schools).

(c) When a person is being sentenced for a violation of section 169.791 (failure to
provide proof of insurance) or 169.797 (failure to provide vehicle insurance), the court
may not impose a consecutive sentence for another violation of a provision of sections
169.79 to 169.7995.

(d) This subdivision does not limit the authority of the court to impose consecutive
sentences for crimes arising on different dates or to impose a consecutive sentence when
a person is being sentenced for a crime and is also in violation of the conditions of
a stayed or otherwise deferred sentence under section 609.135 (stay of imposition or
execution of sentence).

(e) This subdivision applies to misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor violations of
the following if the offender has two or more prior impaired driving convictions within
the past ten years:

(1) section 169A.20, subdivision 1, 1a, 1b, or 1¢ (driving while impaired; impaired

driving offenses);

(2) section 169A.20, subdivision 2 (driving while impaired; test refusal offense);

(3) section 169.791;

(4) section 169.797;

(5) section 171.09 (violation of condition of restricted license);

(6) section 171.20, subdivision 2 (operation after revocation, suspension,
cancellation, or disqualification);

(7) section 171.24; and

(8) section 171.30.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 169A.284, is amended to read:

169A.284 CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY ASSESSMENT CHARGE;
SURCHARGE.

Subdivision 1. When required. (a) When a court sentences a person convicted
of an offense enumerated in section 169A.70, subdivision 2 (chemical use assessment;

requirement; form), it shall order the person to pay the cost of the assessment directly

to the entity conducting the assessment or providing the assessment services in an

amount determined by the entity conducting or providing the service and shall impose
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a chemical dependency assessment charge of $125 $25. The court may waive the $25

assessment charge, but may not waive the cost for the assessment paid directly to the

entity conducting the assessment or providing assessment services. A person shall pay

an additional surcharge of $5 if the person is convicted of a violation of section 169A.20
(driving while impaired) within five years of a prior impaired driving conviction or a prior
conviction for an offense arising out of an arrest for a violation of section 169A.20 or
Minnesota Statutes 1998, section 169.121 (driver under influence of alcohol or controlled
substance) or 169.129 (aggravated DWI-related violations; penalty). This section applies
when the sentence is executed, stayed, or suspended. The court may not waive payment
or authorize payment of the assessment charge and surcharge in installments unless it
makes written findings on the record that the convicted person is indigent or that the
assessment charge and surcharge would create undue hardship for the convicted person or
that person's immediate family.

(b) The chemical dependency assessment charge and surcharge required under
this section are in addition to the surcharge required by section 357.021, subdivision 6

(surcharges on criminal and traffic offenders).

Subd. 2. Distribution of money. The eotinty court administrator shall collect and

forward to-thecommtsstotrer-of-fimance-$25-of the chemical dependency assessment
charge and the $5 surcharge, if any, withinr66-days-after-senteneingorexptain-to-the

commtsstonershatteredit-the-money to the commissioner of finance to be deposited in the
state treasury and credited to the general fund. Fhecounty-shattcotect-andkeep-$+66-of
the-chemteal-dependency-assessmentcharge:

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 169A.46, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Impairment occurred after driving ceased. If proven by a
preponderance of the evidence, it is an affirmative defense to a violation of section

169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (5); la, clause (5); 1b, clause (5); or lc, clause (5) (driving

while impaired, alcohol concentration within two hours of driving), or 169A.20 by a
person having an alcohol concentration of 0.20 or more as measured at the time, or within
two hours of the time, of the offense, that the defendant consumed a sufficient quantity
of alcohol after the time of the violation and before the administration of the evidentiary
test to cause the defendant's alcohol concentration to exceed the level specified in the
applicable clause. Evidence that the defendant consumed alcohol after the time of the

violation may not be admitted in defense to any alleged violation of section 169A.20,
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unless notice is given to the prosecution prior to the omnibus or pretrial hearing in the

matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 169A.54, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Revocation periods for DWI convictions. Except as provided in
subdivision 7, the commissioner shall revoke the driver's license of a person convicted
of violating section 169A.20 (driving while impaired) or an ordinance in conformity
with it, as follows:

(1) for an offense under section 169A.20, subdivision 1 (driving while impaired
crime): not less than 30 days;

(2) for an offense under section 169A.20, subdivision 2 (refusal to submit to
chemical test crime): not less than 90 days;

(3) for an offense occurring within ten years of a qualified prior impaired driving
incident:

(1) if the current conviction is for a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision

1, 1a, 1b, or Ic, not less than 180 days and until the court has certified that treatment

or rehabilitation has been successfully completed where prescribed in accordance with
section 169A.70 (chemical use assessments); or

(i1) if the current conviction is for a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 2, not
less than one year and until the court has certified that treatment or rehabilitation has been
successfully completed where prescribed in accordance with section 169A.70;

(4) for an offense occurring within ten years of the first of two qualified prior
impaired driving incidents: not less than one year, together with denial under section
171.04, subdivision 1, clause (10), until rehabilitation is established in accordance with
standards established by the commissioner; or

(5) for an offense occurring within ten years of the first of three or more qualified
prior impaired driving incidents: not less than two years, together with denial under
section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (10), until rehabilitation is established in accordance

with standards established by the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 299D.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
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Subd. 5. Traffic fines and forfeited bail money. (a) All fines and forfeited bail
money, fromrtraffic-and-motor-vehteletaw-vrotattons; collected from persons apprehended
or arrested by officers of the State Patrol, shall be patd transmitted by the person or
officer collecting the fines, forfeited bail money, or installments thereof, on or before the
tenth day after the last day of the month in which these moneys were collected, to the

ed- commissioner of finance.

Except where a different disposition is required in this paragraph, paragraph (b), section

387.213, or otherwise provided by law, three-eighths of these receipts shatt-be-creditedto

to-the-commtsstoner-of-finance-for-depostt deposited in the state treasury and credited to

the state general fund. The other five-eighths of these receipts shat-be-transmitted-by-that
officer-to-the-commtsstoner-of-fimanee-and must be deposited in the state treasury and

credited as follows: (1) the first $600,000 in each fiscal year must be credited to the
Minnesota grade crossing safety account in the special revenue fund, and (2) remaining
receipts must be credited to the state trunk highway fund. If, however, the violation occurs
within a municipality and the city attorney prosecutes the offense, and a plea of not guilty

is entered, one-third of the receipts shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited

to the state general revenue fund eftheeotnty, one-third of the receipts shall be paid
to the municipality prosecuting the offense, and one-third shall be transmitted-to-the

torr: deposited in the state treasury

and credited to the Minnesota grade crossing safety account or the state trunk highway

fund as provided in this paragraph. When section 387.213 also is applicable to the fine,

section 387.213 shall be applied before this paragraph is applied. All costs of participation

in a nationwide police communication system chargeable to the state of Minnesota shall
be paid from appropriations for that purpose.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provisions of law, all fines and forfeited bail money
from violations of statutes governing the maximum weight of motor vehicles, collected
from persons apprehended or arrested by employees of the state of Minnesota, by means
of stationary or portable scales operated by these employees, shall be patd transmitted by
the person or officer collecting the fines or forfeited bail money, on or before the tenth day

after the last day of the month in which the collections were made, to the eounty-treastirer
of-the-cotnty-where-the-vtotatronreceurred commissioner of finance. Five-eighths of these

receipts shall be transmitted-by-thatofficer-to-thecommisstoner-of-finanee-and-shat-be

deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state highway user tax distribution fund.

Three-eighths of these receipts shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the
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to-the—generat fund.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 357.021, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Fee amounts. The fees to be charged and collected by the court
administrator shall be as follows:

(1) In every civil action or proceeding in said court, including any case arising under
the tax laws of the state that could be transferred or appealed to the Tax Court, the plaintiff,
petitioner, or other moving party shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said
action, a fee of $246 $310, except in marriage dissolution actions the fee is $276 $340.

The defendant or other adverse or intervening party, or any one or more of several
defendants or other adverse or intervening parties appearing separately from the others,
shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of $246 $310,
except in marriage dissolution actions the fee is $276 $340.

The party requesting a trial by jury shall pay $75 $100.

The fees above stated shall be the full trial fee chargeable to said parties irrespective
of whether trial be to the court alone, to the court and jury, or disposed of without trial,
and shall include the entry of judgment in the action, but does not include copies or
certified copies of any papers so filed or proceedings under chapter 103E, except the
provisions therein as to appeals.

(2) Certified copy of any instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding, $16 $14,
and $5 $8 for an uncertified copy.

(3) Issuing a subpoena, $1+2 $16 for each name.

(4) Filing a motion or response to a motion in civil, family, excluding child support,
and guardianship cases, $55 $100.

(5) Issuing an execution and filing the return thereof; issuing a writ of attachment,
injunction, habeas corpus, mandamus, quo warranto, certiorari, or other writs not
specifically mentioned, $46 $55.

(6) Issuing a transcript of judgment, or for filing and docketing a transcript of
judgment from another court, $36 $40.

(7) Filing and entering a satisfaction of judgment, partial satisfaction, or assignment
of judgment, $5.

(8) Certificate as to existence or nonexistence of judgments docketed, $5 for each

name certified to.
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(9) Filing and indexing trade name; or recording basic science certificate;
or recording certificate of physicians, osteopaths, chiropractors, veterinarians, or
optometrists, $5.

(10) For the filing of each partial, final, or annual account in all trusteeships, $46 $55.

(11) For the deposit of a will, $26 $27.

(12) For recording notary commission, $100, of which, notwithstanding subdivision
la, paragraph (b), $80 must be forwarded to the commissioner of finance to be deposited
in the state treasury and credited to the general fund.

(13) Filing a motion or response to a motion for modification of child support,

a fee of $55 $100.

(14) All other services required by law for which no fee is provided, such fee
as compares favorably with those herein provided, or such as may be fixed by rule or
order of the court.

(15) In addition to any other filing fees under this chapter, a surcharge in the
amount of $75 must be assessed in accordance with section 259.52, subdivision 14, for
each adoption petition filed in district court to fund the fathers' adoption registry under
section 259.52.

The fees in clauses (3) and (5) need not be paid by a public authority or the party

the public authority represents.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 357.021, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Surcharges on criminal and traffic offenders. (a) Except as provided
in this paragraph, the court shall impose and the court administrator shall collect a $75
surcharge on every person convicted of any felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or
petty misdemeanor offense, other than a violation of a law or ordinance relating to vehicle

parking, for which there shall be a $4 $12 surcharge. When a defendant is convicted

of more than one offense in a case, the surcharge shall be imposed only once in that

case. In the Second Judicial District, the court shall impose, and the court administrator
shall collect, an additional $1 surcharge on every person convicted of any felony, gross
misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor offense, including a violation of a law
or ordinance relating to vehicle parking, if the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners
authorizes the $1 surcharge. The surcharge shall be imposed whether or not the person is
sentenced to imprisonment or the sentence is stayed. The surcharge shall not be imposed

when a person is convicted of a petty misdemeanor for which no fine is imposed.
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(b) If the court fails to impose a surcharge as required by this subdivision, the court
administrator shall show the imposition of the surcharge, collect the surcharge, and
correct the record.

(c) The court may not waive payment of the surcharge required under this
subdivision. Upon a showing of indigency or undue hardship upon the convicted person
or the convicted person's immediate family, the sentencing court may authorize payment
of the surcharge in installments.

(d) The court administrator or other entity collecting a surcharge shall forward it
to the commissioner of finance.

(e) If the convicted person is sentenced to imprisonment and has not paid the
surcharge before the term of imprisonment begins, the chief executive officer of the
correctional facility in which the convicted person is incarcerated shall collect the
surcharge from any earnings the inmate accrues from work performed in the facility
or while on conditional release. The chief executive officer shall forward the amount

collected to the eommtsstoner-of-finanee court administrator or other entity collecting the

surcharge imposed by the court.

(f) A person who successfully completes a diversion or similar program for a

violation of chapter 169 must pay the surcharge described in this subdivision.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 357.021, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Disbursement of surcharges by commissioner of finance. (a) Except
as provided in paragraphs (b), (¢), and (d), the commissioner of finance shall disburse
surcharges received under subdivision 6 and section 97A.065, subdivision 2, as follows:

(1) one percent shall be credited to the game and fish fund to provide peace officer
training for employees of the Department of Natural Resources who are licensed under
sections 626.84 to 626.863, and who possess peace officer authority for the purpose of
enforcing game and fish laws;

(2) 39 percent shall be credited to the peace officers training account in the special
revenue fund; and

(3) 60 percent shall be credited to the general fund.

(b) The commissioner of finance shall credit $3 of each surcharge received under
subdivision 6 and section 97A.065, subdivision 2, to the general fund.

(¢) In addition to any amounts credited under paragraph (a), the commissioner
of finance shall credit $47 of each surcharge received under subdivision 6 and section

97A.065, subdivision 2, and the $4 $12 parking surcharge, to the general fund.
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(d) If the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners authorizes imposition of
the additional $1 surcharge provided for in subdivision 6, paragraph (a), the court
administrator in the Second Judicial District shall transmit the surcharge to the
commissioner of finance. The $1 special surcharge is deposited in a Ramsey County
surcharge account in the special revenue fund and amounts in the account are appropriated
to the trial courts for the administration of the petty misdemeanor diversion program

operated by the Second Judicial District Ramsey County Violations Bureau.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 357.022, is amended to read:

357.022 CONCILIATION COURT FEE.

The court administrator in every county shall charge and collect a filing fee of $56
$65 from every plaintiff and from every defendant when the first paper for that party is
filed in any conciliation court action. This section does not apply to conciliation court
actions filed by the state. The court administrator shall transmit the fees monthly to the

commissioner of finance for deposit in the state treasury and credit to the general fund.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 357.08, is amended to read:

357.08 PAID BY APPELLANT IN APPEAL.

There shall be paid to the clerk of the appellate courts by the appellant, or moving
party or person requiring the service, in all cases of appeal, certiorari, habeas corpus,
mandamus, injunction, prohibition, or other original proceeding, when initially filed with
the clerk of the appellate courts, the sum of $566 $550 to the clerk of the appellate courts.
An additional filing fee of $100 shall be required for a petition for accelerated review by
the Supreme Court. A filing fee of $586 $550 shall be paid to the clerk of the appellate
courts upon the filing of a petition for review from a decision of the Court of Appeals. A
filing fee of $566 $550 shall be paid to the clerk of the appellate courts upon the filing
of a petition for permission to appeal. A filing fee of $100 shall be paid to the clerk of
the appellate courts upon the filing by a respondent of a notice of review. The clerk shall
transmit the fees to the commissioner of finance for deposit in the state treasury and
credit to the general fund.

The clerk shall not file any paper, issue any writ or certificate, or perform any service
enumerated herein, until the payment has been made for it. The clerk shall pay the sum
into the state treasury as provided for by section 15A.01.

The charges provided for shall not apply to disbarment proceedings, nor to an
action or proceeding by the state taken solely in the public interest, where the state is the

appellant or moving party, nor to copies of the opinions of the court furnished by the clerk
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to the parties before judgment, or furnished to the district judge whose decision is under
review, or to such law library associations in counties having a population exceeding

50,000, as the court may direct.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 364.08, is amended to read:

364.08 PRACTICE OF LAW; EXCEPTION.

This chapter shall not apply to the practice of law or judicial branch employment;

but nothing in this section shall be construed to preclude the Supreme Court, in its

discretion, from adopting the policies set forth in this chapter.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 375.14, is amended to read:

375.14 OFFICES AND SUPPLIES FURNISHED FOR COUNTY OFFICERS.

The county board shall provide offices at the county seat for the auditor, treasurer,
county recorder, sheriff, court administrator of the district court, and an office for the
county engineer at a site determined by the county board, with suitable furniture and
safes and vaults for the security and preservation of the books and papers of the offices,
and provide heating, lighting, and maintenance of the offices. The board shall furnish
all county officers with all books, stationery, letterheads, envelopes, postage, telephone

service, office equipment, electronic technology, and supplies necessary to the discharge

of their respective duties and-maketkeproviston-for-thejudges-of-the-distrretcourt

artsthrg-trit. The board is not required to furnish any county officer with professional or
technical books or instruments except when the board deems them directly necessary to

the discharge of official duties as part of the permanent equipment of the office.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 480.15, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 10c. Uniform collections policies and procedures for courts. (a) The

state court administrator under the direction of the Judicial Council may promulgate

uniform collections policies and procedures for the courts and may contract with credit

bureaus, public and private collection agencies, the Department of Revenue, and other

public or private entities providing collection services as necessary for the collection

of court debts. The court collection process and procedures are not subject to section

16A.1285. Court debts referred to the Department of Revenue for collection are not

subject to section 16D.07.
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(b) Court debt means an amount owed to the state directly or through the judicial

branch on account of a fee, duty, rent, service, overpayment, fine, assessment, surcharge,

court cost, penalty, restitution, damages, interest, bail bond, forfeiture, reimbursement,

liability owed, an assignment to the judicial branch, recovery of costs incurred by the

judicial branch, or any other source of indebtedness to the judicial branch as well as

amounts owed to other public or private entities for which the judicial branch acts in

providing collection services, or any other amount owed to the judicial branch.

(¢) The courts must pay for the collection services of public or private collection

entities as well as the cost of one or more court employees to provide collection interface

services between the Department of Revenue, the courts, and one or more collection

entities from the money collected. The portion of the money collected which must be paid

to the collection entity as collection fees and costs and the portion of the money collected

which must be paid to the courts or Department of Revenue for collection services are

appropriated from the fund to which the collected money is due.

(d) As determined by the state court administrator, collection costs shall be added to

the debts referred to a public or private collection entity for collection.

Collection costs shall include the fees of the collection entity, and may include, if

separately provided, skip tracing fees, credit burcau reporting charges, fees assessed

by any public entity for obtaining information necessary for debt collection, or other

collection-related costs. Collection costs shall also include the costs of one or more court

employees employed by the state court administrator to provide a collection interface

between the collection entity, the Department of Revenue, and the courts.

If the collection entity collects an amount less than the total due, the payment is

applied proportionally to collection costs and the underlying debt. Collection costs in

excess of collection agency fees and court employee collection interface costs must be

deposited in the general fund as nondedicated receipts.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 484.85, is amended to read:

484.85 DISPOSITION OF FINES, FEES, AND OTHER MONEY;
ACCOUNTS; RAMSEY COUNTY DISTRICT COURT.
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(a) In all cases prosecuted in Ramsey County District Court by an attorney for

a municipality or subdivision of government within Ramsey County for violation of

a statute; an ordinance; or a charter provision, rule, or regulation of a city; all fines,

penalties, and forfeitures collected by the court administrator shall be deposited in the state

treasury and distributed according to this paragraph. Except where a different disposition

1s provided by section 299D.03, subdivision 5, or other law, on or before the last day of

each month, the court shall pay over all fines, penalties, and forfeitures collected by the

court administrator during the previous month as follows:

(1) for offenses committed within the city of St. Paul, two-thirds paid to the treasurer

of the city of St. Paul and one-third credited to the state general fund; and

(2) for offenses committed within any other municipality or subdivision of

government within Ramsey County, one-half to the treasurer of the municipality or

subdivision of government and one-half credited to the state general fund.

Article2 Sec. 29. 36



S.F. No. 802, Conference Committee Report - 86th Legislature (2009-2010)05/10/09 10:02 PM [ccrsf0802b]

37.1 All other fines, penalties, and forfeitures collected by the district court shall be

37.2 distributed by the courts as provided by law.

37.3 (b) Fines, penalties, and forfeitures shall be distributed as provided in paragraph
37.4 (a) when:
37.5 (1) a city contracts with the county attorney for prosecutorial services under section

37.6 484.87, subdivision 3; or

37.7 (2) the attorney general provides assistance to the city attorney under section 484.87,

37.8 subdivision 5.

37.9 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 484.90, subdivision 6, 1s amended to read:

37.10 Subd. 6. Allocation.
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or regulation of a city; all fines, penalties, and forfeitures collected shall be deposited in

the state treasury and distributed according to this paragraph. Except where a different

disposition is provided by section 299D.03, subdivision 5, 484.841, 484.85, or other law,

on or before the last day of each month, the courts shall pay over all fines, penalties, and

forfeitures collected by the court administrator during the previous month as follows:

(1) 100 percent of all fines or penalties for parking violations for which complaints

and warrants have not been issued to the treasurer of the city or town in which the offense

was committed; and

(2) two-thirds of all other fines to the treasurer of the city or town in which the

offense was committed and one-third credited to the state general fund.

All other fines, penalties, and forfeitures collected by the court administrator shall be

distributed by the courts as provided by law.

(b) Fines, penalties, and forfeitures shall be distributed as provided in paragraph

(a) when:

(1) a city contracts with the county attorney for prosecutorial services under section

484.87, subdivision 3;

(2) a city has a population of 600 or less and has given the duty to prosecute cases to

the county attorney under section 487.87; or

(3) the attorney general provides assistance to the county attorney as permitted

by law.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 484.91, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Establishment. Misdemeanor violations bureaus in the Fourth
Judicial District shall be established in M

any-othernorthermand-western—stburban locations dispersed-throughout-the-county-as
may-be designated by a majority of the judges of the court.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 491A.02, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Judgment debtor disclosure. Notwithstanding any contrary provision in
rule 518 of the Conciliation Court Rules, unless the parties have otherwise agreed, if a
conciliation court judgment or a judgment of district court on removal from conciliation

court has been docketed in district court, the judgment creditor's attorney as an officer of

the court may or the district court in the county in which the judgment originated shall,

upon request of the judgment creditor, order the judgment debtor to mail to the judgment
creditor information as to the nature, amount, identity, and locations of all the debtor's

assets, liabilities, and personal earning. The information must be provided on a form
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prescribed by the Supreme Court, and the information shall be sufficiently detailed to
enable the judgment creditor to obtain satisfaction of the judgment by way of execution on
nonexempt assets and earnings of the judgment debtor. The order must contain a notice
that failure to complete the form and mail it to the judgment creditor within ten days after
service of the order may result in a citation for civil contempt of court. Cash bail posted as
a result of being cited for civil contempt of court order under this section may be ordered

payable to the creditor to satisfy the judgment, either partially or fully.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 491A.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Judges; referees. The judges of district court shalt may serve as

judges of conciliation court. rthe-SeeondandFourth-Fudietal Distrets; A-majority-of

thetudges The chief judge of the district may appoint one or more suitable persons to act
as referees in conciliation court; amajortty-of-thejudges the chief judge of the district

shall establish qualifications for the office, specify the duties and length of service of

referees, and fix their compensation nettoexecedanamotnt per-day-determitred-by-the
e e tdieinl-distriet.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 525.091, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Original documents. The court administrator of any county upon
order of the judge exercising probate jurisdiction may destroy all the original documents
in any probate proceeding of record in the office five-years after the file in such proceeding
has been closed provided the original or a Minnesota state archives commission approved
photographic, photostatic, microphotographic, microfilmed, or similarly reproduced copy
of the original of the following enumerated documents in the proceeding are on file in
the office.

Enumerated original documents:

(a) In estates, the jurisdictional petition and proof of publication of the notice of
hearing thereof; will and certificate of probate; letters; inventory and appraisal; orders
directing and confirming sale, mortgage, lease, or for conveyance of real estate; order
setting apart statutory selection; receipts for federal estate taxes and state estate taxes;
orders of distribution and general protection; decrees of distribution; federal estate tax
closing letter, consent to discharge by commissioner of revenue and order discharging
representative; and any amendment of the listed documents.

When an estate is deemed closed as provided in clause (d) of this subdivision, the

enumerated documents shall include all claims of creditors.
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(b) In guardianships or conservatorships, the jurisdictional petition and order for
hearing thereof with proof of service; letters; orders directing and confirming sale,
mortgage, lease or for conveyance of real estate; order for restoration to capacity and order
discharging guardian; and any amendment of the listed documents.

(c) In mental, inebriety, and indigent matters, the jurisdictional petition; report of
examination; warrant of commitment; notice of discharge from institution, or notice of
death and order for restoration to capacity; and any amendment of the listed documents.

(d) Except for the enumerated documents described in this subdivision, the court
administrator may destroy all other original documents in any probate proceeding without
retaining any reproduction of the document. For the purpose of this subdivision, a
proceeding is deemed closed if no document has been filed in the proceeding for a period
of 15 years, except in the cases of wills filed for safekeeping and those containing wills of

decedents not adjudicated upon.

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 549.09, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. When owed; rate. (a) When a judgment or award is for the recovery
of money, including a judgment for the recovery of taxes, interest from the time of
the verdict, award, or report until judgment is finally entered shall be computed by the
court administrator or arbitrator as provided in paragraph (c) and added to the judgment
or award.

(b) Except as otherwise provided by contract or allowed by law, preverdict,
preaward, or prereport interest on pecuniary damages shall be computed as provided
in paragraph (c) from the time of the commencement of the action or a demand for
arbitration, or the time of a written notice of claim, whichever occurs first, except as
provided herein. The action must be commenced within two years of a written notice of
claim for interest to begin to accrue from the time of the notice of claim. If either party
serves a written offer of settlement, the other party may serve a written acceptance or a
written counteroffer within 30 days. After that time, interest on the judgment or award
shall be calculated by the judge or arbitrator in the following manner. The prevailing
party shall receive interest on any judgment or award from the time of commencement
of the action or a demand for arbitration, or the time of a written notice of claim, or as
to special damages from the time when special damages were incurred, if later, until the
time of verdict, award, or report only if the amount of its offer is closer to the judgment or
award than the amount of the opposing party's offer. If the amount of the losing party's
offer was closer to the judgment or award than the prevailing party's offer, the prevailing

party shall receive interest only on the amount of the settlement offer or the judgment or
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award, whichever is less, and only from the time of commencement of the action or a
demand for arbitration, or the time of a written notice of claim, or as to special damages
from when the special damages were incurred, if later, until the time the settlement offer
was made. Subsequent offers and counteroffers supersede the legal effect of earlier offers
and counterofters. For the purposes of clause (2), the amount of settlement offer must
be allocated between past and future damages in the same proportion as determined by
the trier of fact. Except as otherwise provided by contract or allowed by law, preverdict,
preaward, or prereport interest shall not be awarded on the following:

(1) judgments, awards, or benefits in workers' compensation cases, but not including
third-party actions;

(2) judgments or awards for future damages;

(3) punitive damages, fines, or other damages that are noncompensatory in nature;

(4) judgments or awards not in excess of the amount specified in section 491A.01;
and

(5) that portion of any verdict, award, or report which is founded upon interest, or
costs, disbursements, attorney fees, or other similar items added by the court or arbitrator.

(c)(1) For a judgment or award of $50,000 or less, the interest shall be computed as

simple interest per annum. The rate of interest shall be based on the secondary market
yield of one year United States Treasury bills, calculated on a bank discount basis as
provided in this section.

On or before the 20th day of December of each year the state court administrator
shall determine the rate from the one-year constant maturity treasury yield for the most
recent calendar month, reported on a monthly basis in the latest statistical release of the
board of governors of the Federal Reserve System. This yield, rounded to the nearest one
percent, or four percent, whichever is greater, shall be the annual interest rate during the
succeeding calendar year. The state court administrator shall communicate the interest
rates to the court administrators and sheriffs for use in computing the interest on verdicts
and shall make the interest rates available to arbitrators.

(2) For a judgment or award over $50,000, the interest rate shall be ten percent

per year until paid.

(3) When a judgment creditor, or the judgment creditor's attorney or agent, has
received a payment after entry of judgment, whether the payment is made voluntarily by
or on behalf of the judgment debtor, or is collected by legal process other than execution
levy where a proper return has been filed with the court administrator, the judgment
creditor, or the judgment creditor's attorney, before applying to the court administrator

for an execution shall file with the court administrator an affidavit of partial satisfaction.
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The affidavit must state the dates and amounts of payments made upon the judgment after
the most recent affidavit of partial satisfaction filed, if any; the part of each payment that
is applied to taxable disbursements and to accrued interest and to the unpaid principal
balance of the judgment; and the accrued, but the unpaid interest owing, if any, after
application of each payment.

(d) This section does not apply to arbitrations between employers and employees
under chapter 179 or 179A. An arbitrator is neither required to nor prohibited from

awarding interest under chapter 179 or under section 179A.16 for essential employees.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2009, and applies to

judgments and awards finally entered on or after that date.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 550.011, is amended to read:

550.011 JUDGMENT DEBTOR DISCLOSURE.
Unless the parties have otherwise agreed, if a judgment has been docketed in

district court for at least 30 days, and the judgment is not satisfied, the judgment creditor's

attorney as an officer of the court may or the district court in the county in which the

judgment originated shall, upon request of the judgment creditor, order the judgment
debtor to mail by certified mail to the judgment creditor information as to the nature,
amount, identity, and locations of all the debtor's assets, liabilities, and personal earnings.
The information must be provided on a form prescribed by the Supreme Court, and

the information shall be sufficiently detailed to enable the judgment creditor to obtain
satisfaction of the judgment by way of execution on nonexempt assets and earnings of the
judgment debtor. The order must contain a notice that failure to complete the form and
mail it to the judgment creditor within ten days after service of the order may result in a
citation for civil contempt of court. Cash bail posted as a result of being cited for civil
contempt of court order under this section may be ordered payable to the creditor to

satisfy the judgment, either partially or fully.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 609.035, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Consecutive sentences. (a) When a person is being sentenced for a
violation of a provision listed in paragraph (e), the court may sentence the person to a
consecutive term of imprisonment for a violation of any other provision listed in paragraph
(e), notwithstanding the fact that the offenses arose out of the same course of conduct,
subject to the limitation on consecutive sentences contained in section 609.15, subdivision

2, and except as provided in paragraphs (b), (c), and (f) of this subdivision.
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(b) When a person is being sentenced for a violation of section 171.09, 171.20,
171.24, or 171.30, the court may not impose a consecutive sentence for another violation
of a provision in chapter 171.

(c) When a person is being sentenced for a violation of section 169.791 or 169.797,
the court may not impose a consecutive sentence for another violation of a provision
of sections 169.79 to 169.7995.

(d) This subdivision does not limit the authority of the court to impose consecutive
sentences for crimes arising on different dates or to impose a consecutive sentence when a
person is being sentenced for a crime and is also in violation of the conditions of a stayed
or otherwise deferred sentence under section 609.135.

(e) This subdivision applies to misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor violations of
the following if the offender has two or more prior impaired driving convictions as defined
in section 169A.03 within the past ten years:

(1) section 169A.20, subdivision 1, la, 1b, or Ic, driving while impaired;

(2) section 169A.20, subdivision 2, test refusal;

(3) section 169.791, failure to provide proof of insurance;

(4) section 169.797, failure to provide vehicle insurance;

(5) section 171.09, violation of condition of restricted license;

(6) section 171.20, subdivision 2, operation after revocation, suspension,
cancellation, or disqualification;

(7) section 171.24, driving without valid license; and

(8) section 171.30, violation of condition of limited license.

(f) When a court is sentencing an offender for a violation of section 169A.20 and a
violation of an offense listed in paragraph (e), and the offender has five or more qualified
prior impaired driving incidents, as defined in section 169A.03, within the past ten years,
the court shall sentence the offender to serve consecutive sentences for the offenses,

notwithstanding the fact that the offenses arose out of the same course of conduct.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 38. [609.092] JUVENILE PETTY OFFENDERS; USE OF RESTORATIVE
JUSTICE.

Subdivision 1. First-time juvenile petty offenders; applicability; procedure. (a)

This subdivision applies to a child alleged to be a juvenile petty offender who:

(1) has not been previously adjudicated delinquent or as a petty offender;
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(2) has not previously participated in or completed a diversion program for an

offense;

(3) has not previously been placed on probation without an adjudication for an

offense or received a continuance under section 260B.198, subdivision 7; and

(4) agrees to successfully complete a restorative justice program under this section.

(b) Subject to subdivision 6, the prosecutor shall refer a child described in paragraph

(a) to a restorative justice program or provider that has been included on the approved

provider list described in subdivision 4. The program or provider shall arrange an

appropriate outcome for the matter using restorative justice concepts. The program

or provider shall involve the victim of the offense in the proceedings. If the victim

is unwilling or unable to proceed, or if there is no identifiable victim, the program or

provider shall ensure that someone serves as a proxy for the victim. The program or

provider and child, along with other participants, shall agree in writing to an appropriate

sanction for the child. The sanction may include any of the dispositions authorized in

section 260B.235, if appropriate, along with any other sanctions agreed to.

Subd. 2. Failure to comply. If a person fails to comply with the settlement

agreement, the person shall be referred back to the court for further proceedings.

Subd. 3. Dismissal of charge. Upon the successful completion by a person of the

sanctions agreed to in the settlement agreement, the program or provider shall notify the

court and the court shall dismiss the charge against the person.

Subd. 4. Approved list. The prosecutor shall maintain a list of approved restorative

justice programs and providers to which persons may be referred under this section.

Subd. 5. Preference for culturally specific programs. If a restorative justice

program or provider that is tailored in a more culturally specific manner to the person is

on the list of approved providers under subdivision 4, and the prosecutor is referring the

person to a restorative justice program or provider under this section, the prosecutor shall

refer the person to the more appropriate program or provider.

Subd. 6. Exceptions; availability of programs; diversion alternatives; domestic

abuse. This section applies only in jurisdictions where suitable restorative justice

programs and providers are available and are able to accept the referral. This section does

not apply if a prosecutor has determined that a nonrestorative justice diversion program is

more appropriate for the person. In addition, this section does not apply to cases involving

domestic violence or domestic assault.

Subd. 7. Definition. As used in this section, "restorative justice" has the meaning

given in section 611A.775. The term also includes Native American sentencing circles.
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Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 609.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Sentences available. (a) Upon conviction of a felony and compliance
with the other provisions of this chapter the court, if it imposes sentence, may sentence
the defendant to the extent authorized by law as follows:

(1) to life imprisonment; or

(2) to imprisonment for a fixed term of years set by the court; or

(3) to both imprisonment for a fixed term of years and payment of a fine; or

(4) to payment of a fine without imprisonment er-to-tmprisonment-for-afixed-termof
yearstf-the-fine-tsnot-patrd or as an intermediate sanction on a stayed sentence; or

(5) to payment of court-ordered restitution in addition to either imprisonment

or payment of a fine, or both; or
(6) to payment of a local correctional fee as authorized under section 609.102 in
addition to any other sentence imposed by the court.

(b) If the court imposes a fine or orders restitution under paragraph (a), payment is

due on the date imposed unless the court otherwise establishes a due date or a payment

plan.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 609.101, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Controlled substance offenses; minimum fines. (a) Notwithstanding any
other law, when a court sentences a person convicted of a controlled substance crime
under sections 152.021 to 152.025 and 152.0262, it must impose a fine of not less than
30 percent of the maximum fine authorized by law nor more than the maximum fine
authorized by law.

(b) The minimum fine required by this subdivision is in addition to the surcharge or
assessment required by section 357.021, subdivision 6, and is in addition to any sentence
of imprisonment or restitution imposed or ordered by the court.

(c) The court shall collect the fine mandated by this subdivision and forward 70

percent of it to a local drug abuse prevention or intervention program existing or being

implemented in the county in which the crime was committed. The court shall forward the
remaining 30 percent to the commissioner of finance to be credited to the general fund. If

more than one drug abuse prevention or intervention program serves the county in which

the crime was committed, the court may designate on a case-by-case basis which program
will receive the fine proceeds, giving consideration to the community in which the crime
was committed, the funding needs of the program, the number of peace officers in each
community certified to teach the program, and the number of children served by the

program in each community. If no drug abuse prevention or intervention program serves
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communities in that county, the court shall forward 100 percent of the fine proceeds to the
commissioner of finance to be credited to the general fund.
(d) The minimum fines required by this subdivision shall be collected as are other

fines. Fine proceeds received by a local drug abuse prevention or intervention program

must be used to support that program, and may be used for salaries of program staff or

peace officers certified to teach the program. The drag-abusereststaneeedueatton program
must report receipt and use of money generated under this subdivision aspresertbed-by

i+ to the state court administrator

by January 15 of each year. The state court administrator must make this information

available upon request.

(e) As used in this subdivision, "drug abuse prevention or intervention program"

and "program" include:

(1) the drug abuse resistance education program described in section 299A.33; and

(2) any-simttar a drug abuse education and prevention program that includes the
following components:

(1) instruction for students enrolled in kindergarten through grade six that is
designed to teach students to recognize and resist pressures to experiment with controlled
substances and alcohol;

(i1) provisions for parental involvement;

(i11) classroom instruction by uniformed law enforcement personnel;

(iv) the use of positive student leaders to influence younger students not to use
drugs; and

(v) an emphasis on activity-oriented techniques designed to encourage
student-generated responses to problem-solving situations; and

(3) a juvenile court program that:

(1) provides intervention strategies to reduce drug abuse and criminal behavior

in juvenile offenders; and

(11) promotes local drug abuse prevention efforts within the community.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 609.101, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Minimum fines; other crimes. Notwithstanding any other law:

(1) when a court sentences a person convicted of a felony that is not listed in
subdivision 2 or 3, it must impose a fine of not less than 30 percent of the maximum fine
authorized by law nor more than the maximum fine authorized by law; and

(2) when a court sentences a person convicted of a gross misdemeanor or

misdemeanor that is not listed in subdivision 2, it must impose a fine of not less than
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30 percent of the maximum fine authorized by law nor more than the maximum fine
authorized by law, unless the fine is set at a lower amount on a uniform fine schedule
established by the Judicial Council in consultation with affected state and local agencies.
This schedule shall be promulgated not later than September 1 of each year and shall
become effective on January 1 of the next year unless the legislature, by law, provides
otherwise.

The minimum fine required by this subdivision is in addition to the surcharge or
assessment required by section 357.021, subdivision 6, and is in addition to any sentence

of imprisonment or restitution imposed or ordered by the court.

Sec. 42. [609.104] FINE AND SURCHARGE COLLECTION.

Subdivision 1. Failure to pay restitution or fine. (a) Any portion of a fine,

surcharge, court cost, restitution, or fee that the defendant fails to pay by the due date may

be referred for collection under section 480.15, subdivision 10c. If the defendant has

agreed to a payment plan but fails to pay an installment when due, the entire amount

remaining becomes due and payable and may be referred for collection under section

480.15, subdivision 10c.

(b) The defendant may contest the referral for collection based on inability to pay by

requesting a hearing no later than the due date. The defendant shall be notified in writing

at sentencing that under section 480.15, subdivision 10c, the court may refer the case for

collection for nonpayment, and collection costs may be added to the amount due. The

defendant shall also be notified in writing of the right to contest a referral for collection.

The state court administrator shall develop the notice language.

Subd. 2. Fine and surcharge collection. (a) A defendant's obligation to pay

court-ordered fines, surcharges, court costs, restitution, and fees shall survive after the due

date for a period set by the Judicial Council.

(b) Any change in the collection period established by the Judicial Council shall be

effective on court-ordered fines, surcharges, court costs, restitution, and fees imposed on

or after the effective date of this section.

(c) The period relating to a defendant's obligation to pay restitution under paragraph

(a) does not limit the victim's right to collect restitution through other means such as a

civil judgment.
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(d) Nothing in this subdivision extends the period of a defendant's stay of sentence

imposition or execution.

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 609.125, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Sentences available. (a) Upon conviction of a misdemeanor or gross
misdemeanor the court, if sentence is imposed, may, to the extent authorized by law,
sentence the defendant:

(1) to imprisonment for a definite term; or

U200 pay nent of a line-ortotmprisomen-forespecied-term e fire ot pid

without imprisonment or as an intermediate sanction on a stayed sentence; or

(3) to both imprisonment for a definite term and payment of a fine; or

(4) to payment of court-ordered restitution in addition to either imprisonment
or payment of a fine, or both; or

(5) to payment of a local correctional fee as authorized under section 609.102 in
addition to any other sentence imposed by the court; or

(6) to perform work service in a restorative justice program in addition to any other
sentence imposed by the court.

(b) If the court imposes a fine or orders restitution under paragraph (a), payment is

due on the date imposed unless the court otherwise establishes a due date or a payment

plan.

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 609.135, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Terms and conditions. (a) Except when a sentence of life
imprisonment 1s required by law, or when a mandatory minimum sentence is required by
section 609.11, any court may stay imposition or execution of sentence and:

(1) may order intermediate sanctions without placing the defendant on probation; or

(2) may place the defendant on probation with or without supervision and on the
terms the court prescribes, including intermediate sanctions when practicable. The court
may order the supervision to be under the probation officer of the court, or, if there is
none and the conviction is for a felony or gross misdemeanor, by the commissioner of
corrections, or in any case by some other suitable and consenting person. Unless the court
directs otherwise, state parole and probation agents and probation officers may impose
community work service or probation violation sanctions, consistent with section 243.05,

subdivision 1; sections 244.196 to 244.199; or 401.02, subdivision 5.
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No intermediate sanction may be ordered performed at a location that fails to
observe applicable requirements or standards of chapter 181A or 182, or any rule
promulgated under them.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, subdivision 6, and section 609.14, the term
"intermediate sanctions" includes but is not limited to incarceration in a local jail or
workhouse, home detention, electronic monitoring, intensive probation, sentencing to
service, reporting to a day reporting center, chemical dependency or mental health
treatment or counseling, restitution, fines, day-fines, community work service, work
service in a restorative justice program, work in lieu of or to work off fines and, with the
victim's consent, work in lieu of or to work off restitution.

(c) A court may not stay the revocation of the driver's license of a person convicted
of violating the provisions of section 169A.20.

(d) If the court orders a fine, day-fine, or restitution as an intermediate sanction,

payment is due on the date imposed unless the court otherwise establishes a due date

or a payment plan.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 609.135, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. la. Failure to pay restitution erfime. If the court orders payment of
restitution or-a-fine as a condition of probation and if the defendant fails to pay the
restitution er-a-fine in accordance with the payment schedule or structure established
by the court or the probation officer, the prosecutor or the defendant's probation officer
may, on the prosecutor's or the officer's own motion or at the request of the victim,
ask the court to hold a hearing to determine whether or not the conditions of probation
should be changed or probation should be revoked. The defendant's probation officer
shall ask for the hearing if the restitution er-fine ordered has not been paid prior to 60
days before the term of probation expires. The court shall schedule and hold this hearing
and take appropriate action, including action under subdivision 2, paragraph (g), before
the defendant's term of probation expires.

Nothing in this subdivision limits the court's ability to refer the case to collections

under section 609.104 when a defendant fails to pay court-ordered restitution.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 609.135, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Stay of sentence maximum periods. (a) If the conviction is for a felony
other than section 609.21, subdivision 1a, paragraph (b) or (¢), the stay shall be for not
more than four years or the maximum period for which the sentence of imprisonment

might have been imposed, whichever is longer.
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(b) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor violation of section 169A.20
or 609.21, subdivision la, paragraph (d), or for a felony described in section 609.21,
subdivision la, paragraph (b) or (c), the stay shall be for not more than six years. The
court shall provide for unsupervised probation for the last year of the stay unless the court
finds that the defendant needs supervised probation for all or part of the last year.

(c) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor not specified in paragraph (b), the
stay shall be for not more than two years.

(d) If the conviction is for any misdemeanor under section 169A.20; 609.746,
subdivision 1; 609.79; or 617.23; or for a misdemeanor under section 609.2242 or
609.224, subdivision 1, in which the victim of the crime was a family or household
member as defined in section 518B.01, the stay shall be for not more than two years. The
court shall provide for unsupervised probation for the second year of the stay unless the
court finds that the defendant needs supervised probation for all or part of the second year.

(e) If the conviction is for a misdemeanor not specified in paragraph (d), the stay
shall be for not more than one year.

(f) The defendant shall be discharged six months after the term of the stay expires,
unless the stay has been revoked or extended under paragraph (g), or the defendant has
already been discharged.

(g) Notwithstanding the maximum periods specified for stays of sentences under
paragraphs (a) to (f), a court may extend a defendant's term of probation for up to one year
if it finds, at a hearing conducted under subdivision 1a, that:

(1) the defendant has not paid court-ordered restitution er-a-fine in accordance
with the payment schedule or structure; and

(2) the defendant is likely to not pay the restitution or-fine the defendant owes before
the term of probation expires.

This one-year extension of probation for failure to pay restitution er-a-fine may be
extended by the court for up to one additional year if the court finds, at another hearing
conducted under subdivision 1la, that the defendant still has not paid the court-ordered
restitution or-firre that the defendant owes.

Nothing in this subdivision limits the court's ability to refer the case to collections

under section 609.104.

(h) Notwithstanding the maximum periods specified for stays of sentences under
paragraphs (a) to (f), a court may extend a defendant's term of probation for up to three
years if it finds, at a hearing conducted under subdivision 1c, that:

(1) the defendant has failed to complete court-ordered treatment successfully; and
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(2) the defendant is likely not to complete court-ordered treatment before the term of

probation expires.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 611.17, is amended to read:

611.17 FINANCIAL INQUIRY; STATEMENTS; CO-PAYMENT;
STANDARDS FOR DISTRICT PUBLIC DEFENSE ELIGIBILITY.

(a) Each judicial district must screen requests for representation by the district public
defender. A defendant is financially unable to obtain counsel if:

(1) the defendant, or any dependent of the defendant who resides in the same
household as the defendant, receives means-tested governmental benefits; or

(2) the defendant, through any combination of liquid assets and current income,
would be unable to pay the reasonable costs charged by private counsel in that judicial
district for a defense of the same matter.

(b) Upon a request for the appointment of counsel, the court shall make appropriate
inquiry into the financial circumstances of the applicant, who shall submit a financial
statement under oath or affirmation setting forth the applicant's assets and liabilities,
including the value of any real property owned by the applicant, whether homestead or
otherwise, less the amount of any encumbrances on the real property, the source or sources
of income, and any other information required by the court. The applicant shall be under
a continuing duty while represented by a public defender to disclose any changes in the
applicant's financial circumstances that might be relevant to the applicant's eligibility for a
public defender. The state public defender shall furnish appropriate forms for the financial
statements. The forms must contain conspicuous notice of the applicant's continuing duty
to disclose to the court changes in the applicant's financial circumstances. The forms must
also contain conspicuous notice of the applicant's obligation to make a co-payment for the
services of the district public defender, as specified under paragraph (c). The information
contained in the statement shall be confidential and for the exclusive use of the court
and the public defender appointed by the court to represent the applicant except for any
prosecution under section 609.48. A refusal to execute the financial statement or produce
financial records constitutes a waiver of the right to the appointment of a public defender.
The court shall not appoint a district public defender to a defendant who is financially able
to retain private counsel but refuses to do so.

An inquiry to determine financial eligibility of a defendant for the appointment of
the district public defender shall be made whenever possible prior to the court appearance
and by such persons as the court may direct. This inquiry may be combined with the

prerelease investigation provided for in Minnesota Rule of Criminal Procedure 6.02,

Article2 Sec. 47. 51



52.1

52.2

523

524

52.5

52.6

52.7

52.8

52.9

52.10

52.11

52.12

52.13

52.14

52.15

52.16

52.17

52.18

52.19

52.20

52.21

52.22

52.23

52.24

52.25

52.26

52.27

52.28

52.29

52.30

52.31

52.32

52.33

52.34

S.F. No. 802, Conference Committee Report - 86th Legislature (2009-2010)05/10/09 10:02 PM [ccrsf0802b]

subdivision 3. In no case shall the district public defender be required to perform this
inquiry or investigate the defendant's assets or eligibility. The court has the sole duty to
conduct a financial inquiry. The inquiry must include the following:

(1) the liquidity of real estate assets, including the defendant's homestead;

(2) any assets that can be readily converted to cash or used to secure a debt;

(3) the determination of whether the transfer of an asset is voidable as a fraudulent
conveyance; and

(4) the value of all property transfers occurring on or after the date of the alleged
offense. The burden is on the accused to show that he or she is financially unable to afford
counsel. Defendants who fail to provide information necessary to determine eligibility
shall be deemed ineligible. The court must not appoint the district public defender as
advisory counsel.

(c) Upon disposition of the case, an individual who has received public defender
services shall pay to the court a $28 $75 co-payment for representation provided by a
public defender, unless the co-payment is, or has been, waived by the court.

The co-payment must be credited to the general fund. If a term of probation is
imposed as a part of an offender's sentence, the co-payment required by this section must
not be made a condition of probation. The co-payment required by this section is a civil

obligation and must not be made a condition of a criminal sentence.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 631.48, i1s amended to read:

631.48 SENTENCE; COSTS OF PROSECUTION.

In a criminal action, upon conviction of the defendant, the court may order as part of
the sentence that defendant shall pay the whole or any part of the disbursements of the
prosecution, including disbursements made to extradite a defendant. The court may order
this payment in addition to any other penalty authorized by law which it may impose. The
payment of the disbursements of prosecution may be enforced in the same manner as the
sentence, or by execution against property. When collected, the disbursements mustbe

patd-nto-the-treastury-of thecounty-ofconvietron;but of ordered prosecution costs shall be

paid to the municipality or subdivision of government which employed the prosecuting

attorney or otherwise provided for prosecution of the case. This payment may not interfere

with the payment of officers', witnesses', or jurors' fees.

Sec. 49. PUBLIC DEFENDER FEE.

Subdivision 1. Authorization. (a) The Supreme Court, through the lawyer

registration office, may assess a public defender fee on each licensed attorney in the
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state. If imposed, the fee must not be more than $75 or less than the civil legal services

fee established by the Supreme Court in 1997 that licensed attorneys are required to pay

pursuant to the rules of the supreme court on lawyer registration.

(b) The fee described in paragraph (a) may apply only to attorneys actively engaged

in the practice of law.

Subd. 2. Creation of account. The public defender fee account is created in the

special revenue fund. The state court administrator shall forward fees collected under

subdivision 1 to the commissioner of finance who shall deposit them in the state treasury

and credit them to this account. Money in the account is appropriated to the Board

of Public Defense.

Sec. 50. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 152.0262, subdivision 2, is repealed effective

July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

(b) Minnesota Statutes 2008, sections 383B.65, subdivision 2; 484.90, subdivisions

1,2, and 3; 487.08, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 5; and 609.135, subdivision 8, are repealed.

ARTICLE 3
PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 3.195, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Distribution of reports. (a) Except as provided in subdivision

4, a report to the legislature required of a department or agency shall be made, unless
otherwise specifically required by law, by filing one copy with the secretary of the senate,
one copy with the chief clerk of the house of representatives, and six copies with the
Legislative Reference Library. The same distribution procedure shall be followed for
other reports and publications unless otherwise requested by a legislator or the Legislative
Reference Library.

(b) A public entity as defined in section 16B.122, shall not distribute a report
or publication to a member or employee of the legislature, except the secretary of the
senate, the chief clerk of the house of representatives, and the Legislative Reference
Library, unless the entity has determined that the member or employee wants the reports
or publications published by that entity or the member or employee has requested the
report or publication. This prohibition applies to both mandatory and voluntary reports
and publications. A report or publication may be summarized in an executive summary

and distributed as the entity chooses. Distribution of a report to legislative committee
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or commission members during a committee or commission hearing is not prohibited
by this section.

(c) A report or publication produced by a public entity may not be sent to both the
home address and the office address of a representative or senator unless mailing to both
addresses is requested by the representative or senator.

(d) Reports, publications, periodicals, and summaries under this subdivision must

be printed in a manner consistent with section 16B.122.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 3.195, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 4. Reports of criminal justice agencies; electronic versions only. (a) As

used in this subdivision, "criminal justice agency" means the Departments of Corrections,

Public Safety, and Human Rights; the Boards of Public Defense, Peace Officer Standards

and Training, Private Detective and Protective Agent Services, and Judicial Standards; the

Sentencing Guidelines and Uniform Laws Commissions; and the courts.

(b) A criminal justice agency that submits a report to the legislature under this

section shall do so by submitting an electronic version rather than a printed one.

Notwithstanding subdivision 1, paragraph (a), and section 15.18, the agency need submit

only one electronic copy to the Legislative Reference Library, the State Library, and the

Minnesota Historical Society. In addition, the agency shall submit one printed copy to

the Legislative Reference Library.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 152.025, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Sale crimes. (a) A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in

the fifth degree and if convicted may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five

years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both if:

(1) the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures containing marijuana or
tetrahydrocannabinols, except a small amount of marijuana for no remuneration; or

(2) the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures containing a controlled
substance classified in schedule IV.

(b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), if a person is guilty of controlled substance

crime in the fifth degree and the conviction is a subsequent controlled substance

conviction, the person convicted shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections or

to a local correctional authority for not less than six months nor more than ten years and,

in addition, may be sentenced to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000 if:
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(1) the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures containing marijuana or

tetrahydrocannabinols, except a small amount of marijuana for no remuneration; or

(2) the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures containing a controlled

substance classified in schedule I'V.

(c) Prior to the time of sentencing, the prosecutor may file a motion to have the

person sentenced without regard to the mandatory minimum sentence established by

paragraph (b). The motion must be accompanied by a statement on the record of the

reasons for it. When presented with the motion, or on its own motion, the court may

sentence the person without regard to the mandatory minimum sentence if the court finds,

on the record, substantial and compelling reasons to do so. Sentencing a person in this

manner is a departure from the sentencing guidelines.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 152.025, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Possession and other crimes. (a) A person is guilty of controlled

substance crime in the fifth degree and if convicted may be sentenced to imprisonment for

not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both if:

(1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures containing a controlled
substance classified in schedule I, 11, III, or IV, except a small amount of marijuana; or

(2) the person procures, attempts to procure, possesses, or has control over a
controlled substance by any of the following means:

(1) fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, or subterfuge;

(1) using a false name or giving false credit; or

(111) falsely assuming the title of, or falsely representing any person to be, a
manufacturer, wholesaler, pharmacist, physician, doctor of osteopathy licensed to practice
medicine, dentist, podiatrist, veterinarian, or other authorized person for the purpose of
obtaining a controlled substance.

(b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), if a person is guilty of controlled substance

crime in the fifth degree and the conviction is a subsequent controlled substance

conviction, the person convicted shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections or

to a local correctional authority for not less than six months nor more than ten years and,

in addition, may be sentenced to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000 if:

(1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures containing a controlled

substance classified in schedule I, II, III, or IV, except a small amount of marijuana; or

Article3 Sec. 4. 55



56.1

56.2

56.3

56.4

56.5

56.6

56.7

56.8

56.9

56.10

56.11

56.12

56.13

56.14

56.15

56.16

56.17

56.18

56.19

56.20

56.21

56.22

56.23

56.24

56.25

56.26

56.27

56.28

56.29

56.30

56.31

56.32

56.33

56.34

S.F. No. 802, Conference Committee Report - 86th Legislature (2009-2010)05/10/09 10:02 PM [ccrsf0802b]

(2) the person procures, attempts to procure, possesses, or has control over a

controlled substance by any of the following means:

(1) fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, or subterfuge;

(1) using a false name or giving false credit; or

(111) falsely assuming the title of, or falsely representing any person to be, a

manufacturer, wholesaler, pharmacist, physician, doctor of osteopathy licensed to practice

medicine, dentist, podiatrist, veterinarian, or other authorized person for the purpose of

obtaining a controlled substance.

(c) Prior to the time of sentencing, the prosecutor may file a motion to have the

person sentenced without regard to the mandatory minimum sentence established by

paragraph (b). The motion must be accompanied by a statement on the record of the

reasons for it. When presented with the motion, or on its own motion, the court may

sentence the person without regard to the mandatory minimum sentence if the court finds,

on the record, substantial and compelling reasons to do so. Sentencing a person in this

manner is a departure from the sentencing guidelines.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 171.29, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Reinstatement fees and surcharges allocated and appropriated. (a)
An individual whose driver's license has been revoked as provided in subdivision 1,
except under section 169A.52, 169A.54, or 609.21, must pay a $30 fee before the driver's
license is reinstated.

(b) A person whose driver's license has been revoked as provided in subdivision 1
under section 169A.52, 169A.54, or 609.21, must pay a $250 fee plus a $430 surcharge
before the driver's license is reinstated, except as provided in paragraph (f). The $250
fee 1s to be credited as follows:

(1) Twenty percent must be credited to the driver services operating account in the
special revenue fund as specified in section 299A.705.

(2) Sixty-seven percent must be credited to the general fund.

(3) Eight percent must be credited to a separate account to be known as the Bureau of
Criminal Apprehension account. Money in this account sraybe is annually appropriated
to the commissioner of public safety and the appropriated amount must be apportioned
80 percent for laboratory costs and 20 percent for carrying out the provisions of section

299C.065.
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(4) Five percent must be credited to a separate account to be known as the vehicle
forfeiture account, which is created in the special revenue fund. The money in the account
is annually appropriated to the commissioner for costs of handling vehicle forfeitures.

(¢) The revenue from $50 of the surcharge must be credited to a separate account
to be known as the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury account. The revenue
from $50 of the surcharge on a reinstatement under paragraph (f) is credited from the
first installment payment to the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury account.
The money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of health to be
used as follows: 83 percent for contracts with a qualified community-based organization
to provide information, resources, and support to assist persons with traumatic brain
injury and their families to access services, and 17 percent to maintain the traumatic
brain injury and spinal cord injury registry created in section 144.662. For the purposes
of this paragraph, a "qualified community-based organization" is a private, not-for-profit
organization of consumers of traumatic brain injury services and their family members.
The organization must be registered with the United States Internal Revenue Service under
section 501(c)(3) as a tax-exempt organization and must have as its purposes:

(1) the promotion of public, family, survivor, and professional awareness of the
incidence and consequences of traumatic brain injury;

(2) the provision of a network of support for persons with traumatic brain injury,
their families, and friends;

(3) the development and support of programs and services to prevent traumatic
brain injury;

(4) the establishment of education programs for persons with traumatic brain injury;
and

(5) the empowerment of persons with traumatic brain injury through participation
in its governance.

A patient's name, identifying information, or identifiable medical data must not be
disclosed to the organization without the informed voluntary written consent of the patient
or patient's guardian or, if the patient is a minor, of the parent or guardian of the patient.

(d) The remainder of the surcharge must be credited to a separate account to be
known as the remote electronic alcohol-monitoring program account. The commissioner
shall transfer the balance of this account to the commissioner of finance on a monthly
basis for deposit in the general fund.

(e) When these fees are collected by a licensing agent, appointed under section

171.061, a handling charge is imposed in the amount specified under section 171.061,
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subdivision 4. The reinstatement fees and surcharge must be deposited in an approved
depository as directed under section 171.061, subdivision 4.

(f) A person whose driver's license has been revoked as provided in subdivision
1 under section 169A.52 or 169A.54 and who the court certifies as being financially
eligible for a public defender under section 611.17, may choose to pay 50 percent and
an additional $25 of the total amount of the surcharge and 50 percent of the fee required
under paragraph (b) to reinstate the person's driver's license, provided the person meets all
other requirements of reinstatement. If a person chooses to pay 50 percent of the total and
an additional $25, the driver's license must expire after two years. The person must pay an
additional 50 percent less $25 of the total to extend the license for an additional two years,
provided the person is otherwise still eligible for the license. After this final payment of
the surcharge and fee, the license may be renewed on a standard schedule, as provided
under section 171.27. A handling charge may be imposed for each installment payment.
Revenue from the handling charge is credited to the driver services operating account in
the special revenue fund and is appropriated to the commissioner.

(g) Any person making installment payments under paragraph (f), whose driver's
license subsequently expires, or is canceled, revoked, or suspended before payment of
100 percent of the surcharge and fee, must pay the outstanding balance due for the initial
reinstatement before the driver's license is subsequently reinstated. Upon payment of
the outstanding balance due for the initial reinstatement, the person may pay any new
surcharge and fee imposed under paragraph (b) in installment payments as provided

under paragraph ().

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 241.016, subdivision 1, 1s amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Biennial report. (a) The Department of Corrections shall submit a
performance report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house of
representatives committees and divisions having jurisdiction over criminal justice funding

by January 1572065;and-—everyother of each odd-numbered year thereafter. The issuance

and content of the report must include the following:

(1) department strategic mission, goals, and objectives;

(2) the department-wide per diem, adult facility-specific per diems, and an average
per diem, reported in a standard calculated method as outlined in the departmental policies
and procedures;

(3) department annual statistics as outlined in the departmental policies and

procedures; and
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(4) information about prison-based mental health programs, including, but not
limited to, the availability of these programs, participation rates, and completion rates.

(b) The department shall maintain recidivism rates for adult facilities on an annual
basis. In addition, each year the department shall, on an alternating basis, complete a
recidivism analysis of adult facilities, juvenile services, and the community services
divisions and include a three-year recidivism analysis in the report described in paragraph
(a). The recidivism analysis must: (1) assess education programs, vocational programs,
treatment programs, including mental health programs, industry, and employment; and (2)
assess statewide re-entry policies and funding, including postrelease treatment, education,
training, and supervision. In addition, when reporting recidivism for the department's
adult and juvenile facilities, the department shall report on the extent to which offenders it
has assessed as chemically dependent commit new offenses, with separate recidivism rates
reported for persons completing and not completing the department's treatment programs.

(c) By August 31 of each odd-numbered year, the commissioner must present to the

individuals identified in paragraph (a) a report that lists and describes the performance

measures and targets the department will include in the biennial performance report. The

measures and targets must include a budget target for the next two years and a history of

the department's performance for the previous five years. At a minimum, the report must

include measures and targets for the data and information identified in paragraphs (a) and

(b) regarding per diem, statistics, inmate programming, and recidivism, and the following:

(1) average statutory per diem for adult offenders, female offenders, and juvenile

offenders;

(2) the Department of Corrections field services;

(3) staffing and salaries for both department divisions and institutions;

(4) the use of private and local institutions to house persons committed to the

cOmmissioner;

(5) the cost of inmate health and dental care;

(6) implementation and use of corrections best practices; and

(7) the challenge incarceration program.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 241.27, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Marketing plan. The commissioner of corrections;meonsuttatrorwith

shall develop, implement,
and maintain a formal marketing plan to attract private sector businesses and industries

and state and local government agencies to employ inmate-serviees incarcerated offenders

Article3 Sec. 7. 59



60.1

60.2

60.3

60.4

60.5

60.6

60.7

60.8

60.9

60.10

60.11

60.12

60.13

60.14

60.15

60.16

60.17

60.18

60.19

60.20

60.21

60.22

60.23

60.24

60.25

60.26

60.27

60.28

60.29

60.30

60.31

S.F. No. 802, Conference Committee Report - 86th Legislature (2009-2010)05/10/09 10:02 PM [ccrsf0802b]

through MINNCOR industries. The plan shall be reviewed and updated annually by

the commissioner of corrections.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 241.27, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 6. Reports and financial statements. MINNCOR shall include its full costs

for inmate wages and the money it receives from the department for inmate confinement

costs in its annual financial statements and reports. In addition, MINNCOR shall disclose

in its annual report how the money it receives from the department for inmate confinement

costs affects its profitability.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 241.27, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 7. Interactions with private businesses. (a) MINNCOR shall use revenue

contracts or purchase orders on forms approved by the Department of Administration

whenever it allows private businesses to use inmate labor. MINNCOR shall determine

whether to use a revenue contract or a purchase order according to criteria that the

Department of Corrections has approved having taken into account the recommendations

of the legislative auditor contained in its 2009 report on MINNCOR.

(b) MINNCOR shall develop a uniform method to report sales and expenditure data

related to individual labor arrangements with private businesses. MINNCOR shall review

the data annually to assess how the arrangements, both individually and collectively, affect

MINNCOR's achieving its goals of high inmate participation in industry and profitability.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 241.27, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 8. Contracts or purchase orders; work on projects before and after.

MINNCOR may not begin work on a project until a contract or purchase order has

been signed and may not continue work on a project after a contract or purchase order

has expired.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 244.055, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. Sunset. This section expires July 1, 2669 2011.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 12. [244.085] FELONY DWI REPORT.
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By January 15 of each year, the commissioner shall report to the chairs and

ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees

having jurisdiction over criminal justice policy and funding on the implementation and

effects of the felony level driving while impaired offense. The report must include the

following information on felony level driving while impaired offenses involving offenders

committed to the commissioner's custody:

(1) the number of persons committed;

(2) the county of conviction;

(3) the offenders' ages and gender;

(4) the offenders' prior impaired driving histories and prior criminal histories;

(5) the number of offenders:

(1) given an executed prison sentence upon conviction and the length of the sentence;

(11) given an executed prison sentence upon revocation of probation, the reasons

for revocation, and the length of sentence;

(111) who successfully complete treatment in prison;

(1iv) placed on intensive supervision following release from incarceration;

(v) placed in the challenge incarceration program, the number of offenders released

from prison under this program, and the number of these offenders who violate their

release conditions and the consequences imposed; and

(vi) who violate supervised release and the consequences imposed;

(6) per diem costs, including treatment costs, for offenders incarcerated under the

felony sentence provisions; and

(7) any other information the commissioner deems relevant to estimating future

costs.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 244.17, 1s amended to read:

244.17 CHALLENGE INCARCERATION PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Generally. The commissioner may shall select offenders who
meet the eligibility requirements of subdivisions 2 and 3 to participate in a challenge
incarceration program described in sections 244.171 and 244.172 for all or part of the
offender's sentence if the offender agrees to participate in the program and signs a written

contract with the commissioner agreeing to comply with the program's requirements.

Subd. 2. Eligibility. (a) Unless a person is ineligible under subdivision 3, the

commissioner must mtt offer a bed in the challenge incarceration program to the

following persons:
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(1) offenders who are committed to the commissioner's custody following revocation
of a stayed sentence; and

(2) offenders who are committed to the commissioner's custody, who have 48
months or less in or remaining in their term of imprisonment, and who did not receive a
dispositional departure under the Sentencing Guidelines.

(b) If there is insufficient space for an eligible person, the commissioner shall place

the person's name on a waiting list and offer the person the chance to participate when

space becomes available if the person is still eligible under this section.

Subd. 3. Offenders not eligible. (a) The following offenders are not eligible to be
placed in the challenge incarceration program:

(1) offenders who are committed to the commissioner's custody following a
conviction for murder, manslaughter, criminal sexual conduct, assault, kidnapping,
robbery, arson, or any other offense involving death or intentional personal injury; and

(2) offenders who were convicted within the preceding ten years of an offense
described in clause (1) and were committed to the custody of the commissioners;

(3) offenders who have been convicted or adjudicated delinquent within the past five

years for a violation of section 609.485;

(4) offenders who are committed to the commissioner's custody for an offense that

requires registration under section 243.166;

(5) offenders who are the subject of a current arrest warrant or detainer;

(6) offenders who have fewer than 180 days remaining until their supervised release

date;

(7) offenders who have had disciplinary confinement time added to their sentence or

who have been placed in segregation, unless 90 days have elapsed from the imposition of

the additional disciplinary confinement time or the last day of segregation;

(8) offenders who have received a suspended formal disciplinary sanction, unless the

suspension has expired;

(9) offenders whose governing sentence is for an offense from another state or the

United States; and

(10) offenders who have a medical condition included on the list of ineligible

conditions described in paragraph (b).

(b) The commissioner of corrections shall develop a list of medical conditions that

will disqualify an offender from participating in the challenge incarceration program.

The commissioner shall submit the list and any changes to it to the chairs and ranking

minority members of the senate and house committees having jurisdiction over criminal

justice policy and funding.
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Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 244.172, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Phase 1. Phase I of the program lasts at least six months. The

offender must be confined ma-—statecorreett

at the Minnesota Correctional Facility - Willow River/Moose Lake or the Minnesota

Correctional Facility - Togo and must successfully participate in all intensive treatment,

education and work programs required by the commissioner. The offender must also
submit on demand to random drug and alcohol testing at time intervals set by the
commissioner. Throughout phase I, the commissioner must severely restrict the offender's

telephone and visitor privileges.

Sec. 15. [244.30] CAP ON INCARCERATION FOR FIRST-TIME SUPERVISED
RELEASE VIOLATIONS; EXCEPTION FOR SEX OFFENDERS.

(a) If the commissioner revokes the supervised release of a person whose release

on the current offense has not previously been revoked, the commissioner may order the

person to be incarcerated for no more than 90 days or until the expiration of the person's

sentence, whichever is less.

(b) This section does not apply to offenders on supervised release for a violation of

section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, or 609.3453.

(c) The commissioner may order a person described in this section to be incarcerated

for more than 90 days if the commissioner determines that substantial and compelling

reasons exist to believe that the longer incarceration period is necessary to protect the

public.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment

and applies to persons whose supervised release is revoked on or after that date.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 299A.01, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. la. Mission; efficiency. It is part of the department's mission that within the
department's resources the commissioner shall endeavor to:

(1) prevent the waste or unnecessary spending of public money;

(2) use innovative fiscal and human resource practices to manage the state's
resources and operate the department as efficiently as possible;

(3) coordinate the department's activities wherever appropriate with the activities
of other governmental agencies;

(4) use technology where appropriate to increase agency productivity, improve
customer service, increase public access to information about government, and increase

public participation in the business of government;
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64.1 (5) utilize constructive and cooperative labor-management practices to the extent

64.2 otherwise required by chapters 43A and 179A; and

64.3

64.4

64.5

64.6 7 (6) recommend to the legislature appropriate changes in law necessary to carry
64.7 out the mission and improve the performance of the department.

64.8 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 299A.01, is amended by adding a

64.9 subdivision to read:

64.10 Subd. Ic. Performance report; performance measures and targets. (a) The

64.11  commissioner, as part of the department's mission and within the department's resources,

64.12  shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house of

64.13  representatives committees having jurisdiction over criminal justice policy and funding

64.14  on the performance of agency operations and the accomplishment of agency goals in the

64.15  agency's biennial budget according to paragraph (b) and section 16A.10, subdivision

64.16 1. The purpose of the report is to determine the extent to which each program is

64.17  accomplishing the program's mission, goals, and objectives.

64.18 The report may address:
64.19 (1) factors that limited or delayed achievement of objectives or goals;
64.20 (2) resources used or saved and efficiencies achieved in reaching program objectives

6421  and goals;

64.22 (3) information from customers and partners of the agency regarding the quality of

6423  service and effectiveness of the agency and the agency's programs;

64.24 (4) recommendations on elimination of unnecessary or obsolete mandated reports;
6425 and

64.26 (5) major cases, events, or circumstances that required an agency response.

64.27 (b) By August 1 of each odd-numbered year, the commissioner must present to

6428  the individuals identified in paragraph (a) a report that states the mission, goals, and

64.29  objectives of each program and lists and describes the performance measures and targets

6430  the department will include in the performance report required under paragraph (a). The

6431  report must include information on how program goals and objectives were created and

6432  who participated in formulating them. The measures and targets must include a history of

6433  the department's performance for the previous five years. At a minimum, the report must

6434  include measures and targets for the following:

64.35 (1) staffing and salaries for divisions within the agency;
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(2) caseloads and responsibilities of Bureau of Criminal Apprehension agents;

(3) development and funding of the Allied Radio Matrix for Emergency Response
ARMER);

(4) grant programs administered under the Office of Justice Programs and Homeland

Security and Emergency Management;

(5) receipt and expenditure of federal grant funds;

(6) expenditure of the fire safety insurance surcharge;

(7) emergency preparedness;

(8) crime lab operations; and

(9) assistance provided to crime victims.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section 1s effective June 1, 2009.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 299C.65, subdivision 3a, 1s amended to read:

Subd. 3a. Report. The policy group, with the assistance of the task force, shall file
amanmtat a biennial report with the governor, Supreme Court, and chairs and ranking
minority members of the senate and house of representatives committees and divisions
with jurisdiction over criminal justice funding and policy by January 15 of in each

odd-numbered year. The report must provide the following:

(1) status and review of current integration efforts and projects;

(2) recommendations concerning any legislative changes or appropriations that
are needed to ensure that the criminal justice information systems operate accurately
and efficiently; and

(3) summary of the activities of the policy group and task force.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 609.105, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Sentence to tess-than186-days more than one year. 1 A felony

sentence to imprisonment;-when-the-remating-ternmrofmmprisonment s for 186-days
ortess;thedefendant more than one year shall be-eommitted commit the defendant to

the custody of the commissioner of corrections and-must-serve-the-rematmning-termof

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2009, and applies to offenders

sentenced on or after that date.

Sec. 20. REPORT ON MINNCOR MARKETING PLAN.
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By September 15, 2009, the commissioner of corrections shall report to the chairs

and ranking minority members of the senate and house committees and divisions having

jurisdiction over criminal justice policy and funding on the marketing plan required in

Minnesota Statutes, section 241.27, subdivision la.

Sec. 21. REVIEW OF REPORTS.

The Sentencing Guidelines Commission and the Departments of Corrections

and Public Safety shall each review its reports for consolidation and may consider

consolidating any reports with other reports to achieve administrative convenience or

fiscal savings or to reduce the burden of reporting requirements. The commission and

departments may not eliminate a legislatively mandated reporting requirement without

prior legislative approval.

Sec. 22. COUNTY-BASED REVOCATION CENTER PILOT PROJECT;
REPORT.

(a) Dodge, Fillmore, and Olmsted Counties; Tri-County Community Corrections;

Hennepin County; Ramsey County; and any other county or community corrections

department that wishes to participate may develop a proposal for a pilot project for

a secure residential center for the supervision of persons facing revocation of their

supervised release or execution of a stayed prison sentence. The proposal must address the

care, custody, and programming for offenders assigned to the facility as an intermediate

sanction prior to revocation or execution of a stayed prison sentence.

(b) The counties must consider the following factors in developing the proposal:

(1) type and length of programming for offenders, including supervision, mental

health and chemical dependency treatment options, and educational and employment

readiness opportunities;

(2) medical care;

(3) the transporting of offenders to and from any facility;

(4) detailed current and future costs and per diems associated with the facility;

(5) admission and release procedures of the facility;

(6) intended outcomes of the pilot project; and

(7) other factors deemed appropriate for consideration by the counties.

(c) By December 1, 2009, any county that develops a pilot project shall report by

electronic means the pilot project proposal to the chairs and ranking minority members of

the senate and house of representatives committees having jurisdiction over public safety

policy and funding. A written copy must be made available upon request.
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67.1 Sec. 23. CORRECTIONS STRATEGIC MANAGEMENT AND OPERATIONS
67.2 ADVISORY TASK FORCE.

67.3 Subdivision 1. Establishment; duties. A task force is established to advise

67.4 the governor and the legislature on management and operations strategies that will

67.5 improve efficiency in corrections and reduce the inmate per diem for the Department of

67.6 Corrections. The task force must provide an assessment that identifies strategies and

67.7 makes recommendations, including any proposals for legislative changes, to improve

67.8 efficiency in (1) the delivery of state corrections services; (2) construction, maintenance,

67.9 and operation of state prisons; and (3) coordination between state and local corrections

67.10  agencies. In developing its assessment, the task force shall consider best practices in

67.11  business management; best practices in corrections management and operations; efficiency

67.12  concepts in academic, business, or other environments; and how requirements under law

67.13  affect corrections efficiency. The assessment provided by the task force should include,

67.14  but is not limited to, analysis of the staffing and administration of prisons; central office

67.15  and administrative services staffing and operations; the impact of decisions on other

67.16  agency budgets; offender treatment and programming; field services; employee pension

67.17  plans; housing short-term offenders and probation violators; offender healthcare; juvenile

67.18  services; and the conditional release and challenge incarceration programs.

67.19 Subd. 2. Membership. The advisory task force consists of the following members:
67.20 (1) the commissioner of corrections, or the commissioner's designee;

67.21 (2) one person appointed by the governor who serves as a sheriff in this state;

67.22 (3) three persons appointed by the governor from a postsecondary academic

67.23  1nstitution who have expertise in applied economics, organizational efficiency, or business

67.24 management;

67.25 (4) three persons appointed by the governor from the private sector who have

67.26  expertise in management or corporate efficiency but would not qualify for membership

67.27  under clause (3);

67.28 (5) one member appointed by the governor who is a community corrections act

67.29  department director or a community probation office department director;

67.30 (6) two persons appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives, one of

67.31  whom must be a member of organized labor and possess knowledge of corrections;

67.32 (7) one person appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives;

67.33 (8) two persons appointed by the senate majority leader, one of whom must be a

67.34  member of organized labor and possess knowledge of corrections; and

67.35 (9) one person appointed by the minority leader of the senate.
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Subd. 3. Appointment of members. The appointments and designations authorized

by this section must be completed by August 1, 2009.

Subd. 4. Staffing support. Upon request of the task force, the commissioner of

administration must provide meeting space and administrative services. The commissioner

of corrections shall provide information and other assistance as requested by the task force.

Subd. 5. Administrative provisions. (a) The commissioner of corrections, or the

commissioner's designee, must convene the initial meeting of the task force. The members

of the task force must elect a chair or co-chairs at the initial meeting.

(b) Public members of the task force serve without compensation or payment of

expenses.
(c) The task force may apply for, solicit, and accept gifts and grants and is

encouraged to seek technical assistance from subject matter experts affiliated with the

National Institute of Corrections. Funds received under this paragraph are accepted

on behalf of the state and constitute donations to the state and are appropriated to the

commissioner of administration for purposes of the task force.

(d) The task force expires June 30, 2010.

Subd. 6. Report. By February 15, 2010, the task force shall submit a report on

corrections management and operations efficiency strategies to the governor and to

the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate

committees with jurisdiction over public safety policy and finance.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 24. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2008, sections 260B.199, subdivision 2; 260B.201,

subdivision 3; and 325E.22, are repealed effective the day following final enactment.

(b) Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 152.025, subdivision 3, is repealed effective

July 1, 2009, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

(c) Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 609.105, subdivisions la and 1b, are repealed

effective July 1, 2009, and apply to offenders sentenced on or after that date."

Delete the title and insert:
"A bill for an act

relating to public safety; providing for the courts and public defenders including
court vacancies, referees, fines and fees, surcharges, collection policies and
procedures, driving while impaired, judgments, and restorative justice for
juvenile petty offenders; providing for public safety and corrections including
reports, controlled substance crimes, sentencing, MINNCOR, challenge
incarceration program, supervised release violations, and county-based
revocation center pilot project; authorizing a task force and forum; providing for
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69.1 penalties; appropriating money for the courts, public defenders, public safety,
69.2 corrections, certain other criminal justice agencies, boards, and commissions;
69.3 amending Minnesota Statutes 2008, sections 2.722, subdivisions 4, 4a; 2.724,
69.4 subdivisions 2, 3; 3.195, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 86B.705,

69.5 subdivision 2; 134A.09, subdivision 2a; 134A.10, subdivision 3; 152.025,

69.6 subdivisions 1, 2; 152.0262, subdivision 1; 169A.20, subdivision 1, by adding
69.7 subdivisions; 169A.25, subdivision 1; 169A.26, subdivision 1; 169A.27,

69.8 subdivision 1; 169A.28, subdivision 2; 169A.284; 169A.46, subdivision 1;

69.9 169A.54, subdivision 1; 171.29, subdivision 2; 241.016, subdivision 1; 241.27,
69.10 subdivision la, by adding subdivisions; 244.055, subdivision 11; 244.17;

69.11 244.172, subdivision 1; 299A.01, subdivision la, by adding a subdivision;
69.12 299C.65, subdivision 3a; 299D.03, subdivision 5; 357.021, subdivisions 2, 6,
69.13 7; 357.022; 357.08; 364.08; 375.14; 480.15, by adding a subdivision; 484.85;
69.14 484.90, subdivision 6; 484.91, subdivision 1; 491A.02, subdivision 9; 491A.03,
69.15 subdivision 1; 525.091, subdivision 1; 549.09, subdivision 1; 550.011; 609.035,
69.16 subdivision 2; 609.10, subdivision 1; 609.101, subdivisions 3, 4; 609.105,
69.17 subdivision 1; 609.125, subdivision 1; 609.135, subdivisions 1, 1a, 2; 611.17;
69.18 631.48; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 244; 609;
69.19 repealing Minnesota Statutes 2008, sections 152.025, subdivision 3; 152.0262,
69.20 subdivision 2; 260B.199, subdivision 2; 260B.201, subdivision 3; 325E.22;
69.21 383B.65, subdivision 2; 484.90, subdivisions 1, 2, 3; 487.08, subdivisions 1, 2,
69.22 3, 5; 609.105, subdivisions 1a, 1b; 609.135, subdivision 8."
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We request the adoption of this report and repassage of the bill.

Senate Conferees:

Mary Olson

House Conferees:

Tony Cornish

(Signed)



