This Document can be made available in alternative formats upon request

1.1

1.2

1.3

1.24

## State of Minnesota

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

A bill for an act

relating to transportation; modifying the composition of the Transportation

Advisory Board of the Metropolitan Council; amending Minnesota Statutes

EIGHTY-NINTH SESSION

H. F. No.

1525

03/05/2015 Authored by Loon, Masin, Nash, Halverson, Smith and others The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Government Operations and Elections Policy

1.4	2014, section 473.146, subdivision 4.
1.5	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:
1.6	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 473.146, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
1.7	Subd. 4. Transportation planning. (a) The Metropolitan Council is the designated
1.8	planning agency for any long-range comprehensive transportation planning required by
1.9	section 134 of the Federal Highway Act of 1962, Section 4 of Urban Mass Transportation
1.10	Act of 1964 and Section 112 of Federal Aid Highway Act of 1973 and other federal
1.11	transportation laws. The council shall assure administration and coordination of
1.12	transportation planning with appropriate state, regional and other agencies, counties,
1.13	and municipalities.
1.14	(b) The council shall establish an advisory body consisting of citizens and
1.15	representatives of municipalities, counties, and state agencies in fulfillment of the planning
1.16	responsibilities of the council. The membership of the advisory body must consist of:
1.17	(1) the commissioner of transportation or the commissioner's designee;
1.18	(2) the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency or the commissioner's
1.19	designee;
1.20	(3) one member of the Metropolitan Airports Commission appointed by the
1.21	commission;
1.22	(4) one person appointed by the council to represent nonmotorized transportation;
1.23	(5) one person appointed by the commissioner of transportation to represent the

Section 1. 1

freight transportation industry;

2.1	(6) two persons appointed by the council to represent public transit;
2.2	(7) ten elected officials of cities within the metropolitan area, including one
2.3	representative from each first-class city, appointed by the Association of Metropolitan
2.4	Municipalities;
2.5	(8) one member of the county board of each county in the seven-county metropolitar
2.6	area, appointed by the respective county boards;
2.7	(9) eight citizens appointed by the council, one from each council precinct; and
2.8	(10) one elected official from a city participating in the replacement service program
2.9	under section 473.388, appointed by the Suburban Transit Association; and
2.10	(11) one member of the council, appointed by the council.
2.11	(c) The council shall appoint a chair from among the members of the advisory body.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment,

and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and

REVISOR

RSI/SA

15-2969

02/17/15

2.12

2.13

2.14

Washington.

Section 1.

2