02/23/24 **REVISOR** AGW/JO 24-07158 as introduced

## SENATE STATE OF MINNESOTA NINETY-THIRD SESSION

S.F. No. 4478

(SENATE AUTHORS: HOFFMAN)

1.5

17

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

**D-PG** 11897 **DATE** 03/04/2024 **OFFICIAL STATUS** 

Introduction and first reading Referred to Human Services

03/13/2024 Comm report: To pass as amended and re-refer to State and Local Government and Veterans

A bill for an act 1.1

relating to human services; modifying the membership of the Commission of the 1 2 Deaf, DeafBlind, and Hard of Hearing; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 1.3 256C.28, subdivision 1. 1.4

## BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256C.28, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 1.6

Subdivision 1. Membership. (a) The Commission of the Deaf, DeafBlind and Hard of Hearing consists of seven ten members appointed at large and one member each from each up to five advisory committee committees established under section 256C.24, subdivision 3. At least 50 percent of the members must be deaf or deafblind or hard-of-hearing. Members shall include persons who are deaf, deafblind, and hard-of-hearing, parents at least one parent or guardian of ehildren a child who are is deaf, deafblind, and or hard-of-hearing, and representatives of county and regional human services, including representatives of private service providers. The commissioners of education, health, human rights, and employment and economic development and the director of the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing Services Division in the Department of Human Services, or their designees, shall serve as ex officio, nonvoting members of the commission. The commission may appoint additional ex officio members from other bureaus, divisions, or sections of state departments directly concerned with the provision of services to persons who are deaf, deafblind, or hard-of-hearing.

(b) Commission members are appointed by the governor for a four-year term and until successors are appointed and qualify. Commission members shall serve no more than three consecutive full terms, and no more than 12 years in total.

Section 1. 1 02/23/24 REVISOR AGW/JO 24-07158 as introduced

(c) Annually, by January 31, the commission shall select one member as chair and one member as vice-chair to serve until January 31 of the following year or until the commission selects a new chair or vice-chair, whichever occurs later.

2.1

2.2

2.3

Section 1. 2