SENATE STATE OF MINNESOTA EIGHTY-SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

A bill for an act

S.F. No. 419

(SENATE AUTHORS: THOMPSON)

1.1

1.22

DATED-PGOFFICIAL STATUS02/24/2011284Introduction and first reading Referred to State Government Innovation and Veterans

1.2 1.3 1.4	relating to the legislature; coordinating legislative districts and congressional districts; amending Minnesota Statutes 2010, sections 2.021; 2.031, subdivision 1.
1.5	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:
1.6	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 2.021, is amended to read:
1.7	2.021 NUMBER OF MEMBERS.
1.8	For each legislature, until a new apportionment shall have been made, the senate
1.9	is composed of 67 64 members if Minnesota has eight congressional districts and
1.10	63 members if Minnesota has seven or nine congressional districts and the house of
1.11	representatives is composed of 134 128 members if Minnesota has eight congressional
1.12	districts and 126 members if Minnesota has seven or nine congressional districts.
1.13	In 2013 and thereafter, each senate must be composed of a number of senators
1.14	evenly divisible by the number of representatives in Congress apportioned to the state.
1.15	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 2.031, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
1.16	Subdivision 1. Legislative districts. The representatives in the senate and house
1.17	of representatives are apportioned throughout the state in 67 senate districts and 134
1.18	house of representatives districts the number of senate and house of representatives
1.19	districts provided by law. No congressional district boundary may be crossed in forming a
1.20	senate district. Each senate district is entitled to elect one senator and each house of
1.21	representatives district is entitled to elect one representative.

Sec. 3.

Sec. 3. **EFFECTIVE DATE.**

S.F. No. 419, as introduced - 87th Legislative Session (2011-2012) [11-0426]

Sections 1 and 2 are effective for members of the senate and the house of
representatives to be elected at the 2012 general election to take office in January 2013.

Sec. 3. 2