CHAPTER 136.

[H. F. No. 97.]

AN ACT TO AMEND CHAPTER ONE (1) OF CHAPTER THREE HUNDRED AND NINETY-SIX (396) OF THE SPECIAL LAWS OF ONE THOUSAND EIGHT HUNDRED AND EIGHTY-ONE (1881) PRESCRIBING THE LIMITS OF THE COUNTY COMMISSIONER DISTRICTS IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF HENNEPIN, MINNESOTA.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota.

Section 1. That section one (1) of chapter three hundred and ninety-six (396) of the special laws of one thousand eight hundred and eighty-one (1881) be and the same is hereby amended so as to read as follows:

Section 1. The county of Hennepin, in this state, is hereby divided into the following county commissioner districts, as follows:

All that portion of the city of Minneapolis lying east of the Mississippi river, composed of the first, second and ninth wards of the city of Minneapolis as those wards are now constituted, and the town of Saint Anthony shall constitute the first commissioner district. All that portion of the city of Minneapolis lying between the Mississippi river and a line running on Tenth avenue south from the Mississippi river to Twenty-fourth street, thence west to Nicollet avenue, thence north to Franklin avenue, thence west to city limits, thence south to Fifty-fourth street, thence east to Mississippi river, composed of the sixth, seventh, eighth, eleventh, twelfth and thirteenth wards of the city of Minneapolis as those wards are now constituted, shall constitute the second commissioner district.

All that portion of the fourth ward lying south and east of Hennepin avenue and the fifth ward of the city of Minneapolis, and bounded as follows: Commencing at the intersection of Tenth avenue south and the Mississippi river, thence running on Tenth avenue south to Twenty-fourth street, thence west to Nicollet avenue, thence north to Franklin avenue, thence west to Hennepin avenue, thence on said Hennepin avenue to the river, thence along river front to place of be-

ginning, shall constitute the third commissioner district.

All that portion of the city of Minneapolis lying north and west of Hennepin avenue shall constitute the fourth commissioner district.

All territory comprised within the limits of said Hennepin county and not embraced in the first four districts herein established shall constitute the fifth commissioner district.

SEC. 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage.

Approved February 1st, 1889.