CHAPTER 10.

AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION ONE (1) OF CHAPTER FORTY-SIX (46) OF THE GENERAL LAWS OF. ONE THOUSAND EIGHT HUNDRED AND SIXTY-SIX (1866), DEFINING THE BOUND-ARIES OF BELTRAMI COUNTY, AND TO DEFINE THE BOUND-ARIES AND ORGANIZE THE COUNTIES OF KITTSON AND (MARSHALL.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

SECTION 1. That section one (1) of chapter forty-six (46) of the general laws of one thousand eight hundred and sixtysix (1866), be amended so as to read as follows:

Section 1. That so much territory as is comprised within the following described limits, coincident with lines of the United States land surveys when run and marked, be, and the same is hereby established as the county of Beltrami:

Beginning at the point where the line between ranges thirty-eight (38) and thirty-nine (39) intersects the line between townships one hundred and forty-two (142) and one hundred and forty-three (143); thence northwardly on said range line to the boundary line between the United States and British Possessions; thence eastwardly and along said boundary line to its intersection with the line between ranges twenty-nine (29) and thirty (30); thence southwardly on said range line to the centre of the main channel of the Mississippi river; thence up the centre of the main channel of said river to its intersection with the line between townships one hundred and forty-two (142) and one hundred and forty-three (143); thence westwardly along said township line to the place of beginning.

SEC. 2. The county of Kittson is established and bounded as follows: Beginning at a point where the line between townships one hundred and fifty-eight (158) and one hundred and fifty-nine (159) intersects the centre of the channel of the Red River of the North; thence east along said line produced to the point where said produced line intersects the line between ranges thirty-eight (38) and thirty-nine (39); thence northwardly along said range line to the boundary line between the United States and British Possessions; thence westerly along the said boundary line to the middle of the main channel of the Red River of the North; thence up said river, along the middle thereof, to the place of beginning.

Boundaries of Beltrami county.

Eittson county

SEC. 3. The county of Marshall is hereby established and bounded as follows: Commencing at the intersection of the middle line of the main channel of the Red River of the North with the line between townships one hundred and fifty-four (154) and one hundred and fifty-five (155); thence Marshall county. hundred and fifty-five (155); thence north along the line between ranges thirty-eight (38) and thirty-nine (39) to its intersection with the line between townships one hundred and fifty-eight (158) and one hundred and fifty-nine (159) produced; thence west along said line to the centre of the main channel of the Red River of the North; thence up the main channel of said river, following the western boundary of the State, to the place of beginning.

SEC. 4. That the counties of Kittson and Marshall, in this State, be and the same are hereby declared to be organ. Full rights, etc ized counties, with all the rights, privileges and immunities of other organized counties within this State.

SEC. 5. The Governor of this State shall within thirty (30) days after the passage of this act, appoint three (3) qual-Appointment ified electors of each of said counties of Kittson and Marshall of commissionas commissioners of their respective counties, and the said ers. commissioners shall within thirty days thereafter meet and qualify and enter upon the duties of their offices, and they shall hold their offices until the next general election, and until their successors are elected and qualified.

SEC. 6. The county commissioners appointed and qualified according to the provisions of section five (5) of this act, shall at their first meeting, or within twenty days thereafter, by resolution, temporarily locate the county seat of said to locate counties, and appoint qualified persons to fill all the county county seat. offices in said counties, except clerk of the district court, who shall be appointed by the judge of said court; also three jus- tices of the peace and three constables, which persons so appointed and having qualified shall hold their respective offices until their successors are elected and qualified.

SEC. 7. The county of Marshall is attached to the county of Polk for judicial purposes.

SEC. 8. All acts and parts of acts inconsistent with this act are hereby repealed.

SEC. 9. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage.

Approved February 25, 1879.