## CHAPTER LXXIII.

An Act to prescribe the number of Members who shall compose the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of Minnesota, and to Apportion the Representation in both Houses, throughout the different sections of the State.

- SECTION 1. Number of members of Senate and House of Representatives.
  - 2. Apportionment of Districts.
  - 3. Act to take effect on passage.

## Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Number of mem. Section 1. That for the next Legislature, and thereafter hers of House until a new apportionment shall have been made, the Senate of the State shall be composed of twenty-one (21) members, and the House of Representatives shall be composed of forty-two (42) members.

Apportionment of Districts

SEC. 2. That the representation in the Senate and House of Representatives be apportioned throughout the State in twenty-one Senatorial and Representative Districts, as follows, to wit:

The first District shall be composed of the First and Second 1-1 Senator, Senator, Wards in the city of St. Paul, and the Townships of McLean, New Canada, White Bear and Mount View, in Ramsey county and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and two (2) Representatives.

The Second District shall be composed of the counties of 2-1 Senator, a Washington, Chisago, Pine and Kanabec, and shall be entitled Representatives to elect one (1) Senator and three (3) Representatives.

The Third District shall be composed of the counties of Stearns, Todd, Cass, Wadena, Otter Tail, Tombs, Breckenridge, n-1 Senator, a Douglas, Becker, Polk, Pembina, Morrison, Crow Wing, Representatives Aiken, Itaska, Buchanan, Carlton, St. Louis and Lake, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and three (3) Representives.

The Fourth District shall be composed of that part of Hennepin county which lies on the east side of the Mississippi river, and the counties of Manomin, Anoka, Sherburne, Benton, Isanti and Mille Lac, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and two (2) Representatives.

The Fifth District shall be composed of that portion of Hennepin county which lies on the west side of the Mississippi river, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and two (2) Representatives.

The Sixth District shall be composed of the counties of 6-1 "Senator, 3 Carver, Wright, Meeker, McLeod, Kandiyohi and Monongalia, Representatives and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and three (3) Representatives.

The Seventh District shall be composed of the county of 7-1 Senator, 2 Dakota, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and two Representatives

(2) Representatives.

The Eighth District shall be composed of the county of S-1 S, nator, 2 Rice, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and two Representatives

(2) Representatives.

The Ninth District shall be composed of the county of 9-1 Senator, 2 Goodhue, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and Representatives two (2) Representatives.

The Tenth District shall be composed of the county of 10-1 Senator, 1 Wabashaw and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and Representative

one (1) Representative.

The Eleventh District shall be composed of the county of 11-1 Senator, 2 Winona, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and two Representatives (2) Representatives.

the Twelfth District shall be composed of the county of 12-1 Senator, 2 Olmsted, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and Representatives

two (2) Representatives.

The Thirteenth District shall be composed of the county of 13-1 Senator, 1 Houston, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and one Representative (1) Representative.

The Fourteenth District shall be composed of the county of 14-1 Senator, 3 Fillmore, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and Representatives

three (3) Representatives.

The Fifteenth District shall be composed of the counties 15-1 Senator, 2 of Mower and Dodge, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) nepresentatives Senator and two (2) Representatives.

The Sixteenth District shall be composed of the counties of 16-1 Senator, 2 Steele. Waseca and Freeborn, and shall be entitled to elect Representatives

one (1) Senator and two (2) Representatives.

The Seventeenth District shall be composed of the counties 17-1 Separor, 18 of Blue Earth and Le Sueur, and shall be entitled to elect one Representatives (1) Senator and three (3) Representatives.

The Eighteenth District shall be composed of the county of 18-1 Senator, 1 Scott, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and one Representative

(1) Representative.

The Nineteenth District shall be composed of the counties of Nicollet, Sibley, Renville, Pierce, Davis, and that portion 19-1 Schator, 2 of Brown county which lies west of Range thirty-three (33), Representatives and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and two (2) Representatives.

The Twentieth District shall be composed of the counties of Faribault, Martin, Jackson, Cottonwood, Murray, Nobles, 23-1 S. nat. r. 1 Pipestone, Rock, and that portion of Brown county which a precuntative lies east of Range thirty-four (34), and shall be entitled to

21-1 Senator, 1

The Twenty-first District shall be composed of the Third nepresentative and Fourth Wards in the city of St. Paul, and Reserve and Rose Townships in the county of Ramsey, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and one (1) Representative.

Sec. 3. This Act shall take effect and be in force from and

after its passage.

GEO. W. GREEN,

Speaker pro tem. of the House of Representatives. IGNATIUS DONNELLY,

President of the Senate.

Approved February eighteenth, one thousand eight hundred and sixty. ALEX. RAMSEY.

SECRETARY'S OFFICE, MINNESOTA,) February 18th, 1860.

I hereby certify the foregoing to be a true copy of the original on file in this office.

J. H. BAKER, Secretary of State.

## CHAPTER LXXIV.

An. Act to amend an act entitled "An Act to regulate corporations for Manufacturing, Mining, Agricultural, Mechanical and Chemical purposes," passed August twelfth, one thousand eight hundred and fifty eight.

SECTION 1. Add Sec. 28. Adoption of Sections 11, 13, 18, and 14 into the charter of corporations.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Section 1. That said act is hereby amended by adding

thereto the following Section:

SEC. 23. Any corporation created before the passage of this Act, may, by a vote of a majority of its stockholders, adopt Corporation may Sections eleven (11), twelve (12), thirteen (13) and fourteen sdopt into its (14), or either of them, as a part of its charter, and thereupon, charter Sections the Section or Sections of this Act, so adopted, shall be a part 11, 12, 13, and of the charter of said corporation; Provided, That such adoption and amendment shall not operate to extend the liability of