MN Legislature

Accessibility menu

Session laws use visual text formatting such as stricken text to denote deleted language, and underlined text to denote new language. For users of the jaws screenreader it is recommended to configure jaws to use the proofreading scheme which will alter the pitch of the reading voice when reading stricken and underlined text. Instructions for configuring your jaws reader are provided by following this link.
If you can not or do not wish to configure your screen reader, deleted language will begin with the phrase "deleted text begin" and be followed by the phrase "deleted text end", new language will begin with the phrase "new text begin" and be followed by "new text end". Skip to text of Chapter 228.


Revisor of Statutes Menu



2012 Minnesota Session Laws

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language

CHAPTER 228--H.F.No. 2276

An act

relating to health; requiring accreditation of advanced diagnostic imaging services operating in the state;

proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144.


Section 1.


Subdivision 1.


For purposes of this section, "advanced diagnostic imaging services" has the meaning given in United States Code, title 42, section 1395M, except that it does not include x-ray, ultrasound, or fluoroscopy.

Subd. 2.

Accreditation required.

(a)(1) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), advanced diagnostic imaging services eligible for reimbursement from any source, including, but not limited to, the individual receiving such services and any individual or group insurance contract, plan, or policy delivered in this state, including, but not limited to, private health insurance plans, workers' compensation insurance, motor vehicle insurance, the State Employee Group Insurance Program (SEGIP), and other state health care programs, shall be reimbursed only if the facility at which the service has been conducted and processed is accredited by one of the following entities:

(i) American College of Radiology (ACR);

(ii) Intersocietal Accreditation Commission (IAC);

(iii) the Joint Commission; or

(iv) other relevant accreditation organization designated by the secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to United States Code, title 42, section 1395M.

(2) All accreditation standards recognized under this section must include, but are not limited to:

(i) provisions establishing qualifications of the physician;

(ii) standards for quality control and routine performance monitoring by a medical physicist;

(iii) qualifications of the technologist, including minimum standards of supervised clinical experience;

(iv) guidelines for personnel and patient safety; and

(v) standards for initial and ongoing quality control using clinical image review and quantitative testing.

(b) Any facility that performs advanced diagnostic imaging services and is eligible to receive reimbursement for such services from any source in paragraph (a)(1) must obtain accreditation by August 1, 2013. Thereafter, all facilities that provide advanced diagnostic imaging services in the state must obtain accreditation prior to commencing operations and must, at all times, maintain accreditation with an accrediting organization as provided in paragraph (a).

Subd. 3.


(a) Advanced diagnostic imaging facilities and providers of advanced diagnostic imaging services must annually report to the commissioner demonstration of accreditation as required under this section.

(b) The commissioner may promulgate any rules necessary to administer the reporting required under paragraph (a).

Presented to the governor April 20, 2012

Signed by the governor April 23, 2012, 11:25 a.m.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569