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days to-ensure compliance with applicable permit Jimits shall undertake appropriate
steps to ensure the facility’s compliance with permitted requirements, and shall demon-
strate compliance within 60 days of the initial report of the exceedance. If the commis-
sioner determines that compliance has not been achieved after 36 within 60 days, then the
facility shall shut down until compliance with permit requirements is s is demonstrated based

on additional testing.

Presented to the governor May 24, 1999
Signed by the governor May 25, 1999, 11:44 a.m.

CHAPTER 236—H.F.No. 1932

An act relating to insurance; regulating rental vehicle coverages; amending Minnesota Stat-
utes 1998, sections 60K.03, subdivision 7; and 72A.125, subdivisions 1 and 2. .

BEIT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1998, section 60K.03, subdivision 7, is amended to
read:

Subd. 7. EXCEPTIONS. The following are exempt from the general licensing re-
* quirements prescribed by this section:

(1) agents of township mutuals who are exempted pursuant to section 60K.04;
(2) fraternal benefit society representatives exempted pursuant to section 60K.05;

(3) any regular salaried officer or employee of a licensed insurer, without license or
other qualification, may act on behalf of that licensed insurer in the negotiation of insur-
ance for that insurer, provided that a licensed agent must participate in the sale of the in-

surance;

(4) employers and their officers or employees, and the trustees or employees of any
trust plan, to the extent that the employers, officers, employees, or trustees are engaged in
the administration or operation of any program of employee benefits for the employees of
the employers or employees of their subsidiaries or affiliates involving the use of insur-
ance issued by a licensed insurance company; provided that the activities of the officers,
employees and trustees are incidental to clerical or administrative duties and their com-
pensation doesnot vary with the volume of insurance or applications for insurance;

(5) employees of a creditor who enroll debtors for credit life, credit accident and
health, or credit involuntary unemployment insurance; provided the employees receive
no commission or fee for it;

(6) clerical or administrative employees of an insurance agent who take insurance
applications or receive premiums in the office of their employer, if the activities are inci-
dental to clerical or administrative duties and the employee’s compensation does not vary
with the volume of the applications or premiums;
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(7) rental vehicle companies and their employees in connection with the offer of
rental vehicle persenal aceident insurance authorized under section 72A.125;

(8) employees of a retailer who enroll purchasers for credit insurance associated
with aretail purchase; provided the employees receive no commlssmn, fee, bonus, or oth-
er form of compensation for it; and

(9) representatives of prepaid legal service plans in connection with the sale and
marketing of these plans.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 1998, section 72A.125, subdivision 1, is amended to
read:

Subdivision 1. DEFINITION. (a) “Auto rental company” means a corporation,
partnership, individual, or other person that is engaged primarily in the renting of motor
vehicles at per diem rates.

(b) “Rental vehicle personal accident insurance” means accident only insurance
providing accidental death benefits, dismemberment benefits and/ or reimbursement for
medical expenses which is issued by an insurer authorized in this state to issue accident
and health insurance. These coverages are nonqualified plans under chapter 62E,

(c) “Liability insurance” means insurance that provides coverage, as applicable, to
renters and other authorized drivers of rental velicles for liability arising from the opera—
tion of the rental vehicle. At the option of the auto rental company, this coverage may

include uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage whether oftered s separately or in
combination with other fability insurance.

@ “Pe1sona1 effects insurance” means coverage, as apphcable o rentexs and other

ing the rental period.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 1998, section 72A.125, subdivision 2, is amended to
read:

Subd. 2. SALE BY AUTO RENTAL COMPANIES. An auto rental company that
offers or sells rental vehicle personal accident insurance, personal effects insurance, or
liability insurance in this state in conjunction with the rental of a vehicle shall only sell
these products if the forms and rates have met the relevant requirements of section
61A.02, 62A.02, or other relevant sections requiring approval of forms and rates taking
into account the possible infrequency and severity of loss that may be incurred. A An auto
rental company offering insurance products for sale shall conduct a training program for
its agents or employees, which must be submitted to the commissioner for approval. Sec-
tions 60K.01 to 60K.19 do not apply if the persons engaged in the sale of these products
are employees of the auto rental company who do not receive commissions or other re-
muneration for selling the product in addition to their regular compensation. Compensa-
tion may not be determined in any part by the sale of insurance products, The auto rental
company before engaging in the sale of the product must file with the commissioner the
following documents:

(1) an appointment of the commissioner as agent for service of process;

(2) an agreement that the auto rental company assumes all responsibility for the au-
thorized actions of all unlicensed employees who sell the insurance product on its behalf
in conjunction with the rental of its vehicles;
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(3) an agreement that the auto rental company with respect to itself and its em-
ployees will be subject to this chapter regarding the marketing of the insurance products
and the conduct of those persons involved in the sale of insurance products in the same
manner as if it were a licensed agent.

An auto rental company failing to file the documents in clauses (1) to (3) is guilty of
anindividual violation as to the unlicensed sale of insurance for each sale that occurs after
August 1, 1987, until they make the required filings. Each individual sale after August 1,
1987, and prior to the filing required by this section is subject to, in addition to any other
penalties allowable by law, up to a $200 per violation fine. Further, the sale of the insur-
ance product by an auto rental company or any employee or agent of the company after
August 1, 1987, without having complied with this section shall be deemed fo be in ac-
ceptance of the provisions of this section. -

Insurance sold pursuant to this subdivision must be limited in availability to rental
vehicle customers though coverage may extend to the customer, other drivers, and pas-
sengers using or riding in the rented vehicles; and limited in duration to a period equal to
and concurrent with that of the vehicle rental.

Persons purchasing rental vehicle personal accident insurance, personal effects in-
surance, or liability insurance may be provided a certificate summarizing the policy pro-
visions in lieu of a copy of the policy if a copy of the policy is available for ingpection at
the place of sale and a free copy of the policy may be obtained from the auto rental compa-
ny’s home office. V

The commissioner may, after a hearing, revoke an auto rental company’s right to
operate under this section if the company has repeatedly violated the insurance laws of
this state and the revocation is in the public interest.

Presented to the governor May 24, 1999

Signed by the governor May 25, 1999, 11:34 a.m.

CHAPTER 237—H.F.No. 1015

An act r'élating to elections; providing for redistricting; amending Minnesota Statutes 1998,
sections 204B.14, subdivision 4; 204B.146, by adding a subdivision; and 205.84.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESO;[‘A:

Section 1. Minnesota Stafutes 1998, section 204B.14, subdivision 4, is amended to
read: '

Subd. 4, BOUNDARY CHANGE PROCEDURE. Any change in the boundary of
an election precinct shall be adopted at least 90 days before the date of the next election
and, for the state primary and general election, no later than June 1 in the year of the state
general election. The precinct boundary change shall not take effect until notice of the
change has been posted in the office of the munjcipal clerk or county auditor for at least

60 days.
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