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amounts stated in this paragraph are based upon the value of that index for July,
1995, which is the reference base index for purposes of this paragraph. The dol-
lar amounts in this paragraph shall change effective January 1 of each odd-
numbered year based upon the percentage difference between the index for July
of the preceding year and the reference base index, calculated to the nearest
whole percentage point. The commissioner shall announce and publish, on or
before September 30 of the preceding year, the changes in the dollar amounts
required by this paragraph to take effect on January 1 of each odd-numbered
year. The commissioner shall use the most recent revision of the July index
available as of September 1. Changes in the dollar amounts must be in incre-
ments of $5,000, and no change shall be made in a dollar amount until the
change in the index requires at least a $5,000 change, If the United States
Bureau of Labor Statistics changes the base year upon which the CPI-U is based,
the commissioner shall make the calculations necessary to convert from the old
base year to the new base year. If the CPI-U is discontinued, the commissioner
shall use the available index that is most similar to the CPI-U.

Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION,

Section 1 is effective August 1, 1995. The provision relating to the determi-
nation of when a vehicle is rented applies to plans of reparation security issued
or renewed on or after that date and the remainder of the act applies to causes

Presented to the governor May 23, 1995

Signed by the governor May 25, 1995, 8:44 a.m.

CHAPTER 226—H.F.No. 1700

An act relating to the organization and operation of state government; appropriating
money for the judicial branch, public safety, public defense, corrections, and related purposes;
providing for the implementation of, clarifying, and modifving ceriain criminal and Juvenile
provisions; providing for the implementation of, clarifying, and modifying certain penalty
provisions; increasing the number of judges; establishing and expanding pilot programs,
grant programs, task forces, committees, and studies; directing that rules be adopted and
amended; providing for the implementation of, clarifying, and modifying certain provisions
regarding truancy and school safety; providing penalties; amending Minnesota Statutes 1 994,
sections 2.722, subdivision 1, and by adding a subdivision; 3. 732, subdivision I; 16A4.285;
120.14; 120.73, by adding a subdivision; 125.05, by adding a subdivision; 125.09, subdivision
1; 127.20; 127.27, subdivision 10; 145A4.05, subdivision 7a; 152,18, subdivision 1: 171.04, sub-
division I; 171.29, subdivision 2; 176.192; 1794.03, subdivision 7; 242.31, subdivision 1;
243.166; 243,23, subdivision 3; 243.51, subdivisions 1 and 3; 243.88, by adding a subdivision;
260.015, subdivision 21; 260.115, subdivision 1; 260.125; 260.126, subdivision 5; 260.131,
subdivision 4, and by adding a subdivision; 260.132, subdivisions 1, 4, and by adding a sub-

New language is indicated by underline, deletions by strileout.

Copyright © 1995 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.




Ch. 226, Art. 1 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1995 1754

division; 260.155, subdivisions 2 and 4; 260.161, subdivision 3; 260.181, subdivision 4;
260.185, by adding subdivisions; 260.191, subdivision 1; 260.193, subdivision 4; 260.195, sub-
division 3, and by adding a subdivision; 260.215, subdivision 1; 260.291, subdivision I;
271.06, subdivision 4; 2994.35, subdivision 1; 2094.38, subdivision 2; 2994.44; 299A.51, sub-
division 2; 299C.065, subdivisions la, 3, and 3a; 299C.10, subdivision 1, and by adding a
subdivision; 299C.62, subdivision 4; 357.021, subdivision 2; 364.09; 388.24, subdivision 4;
401.065, subdivision 3a; 466.03, by adding a subdivision; 480.30; 481.01; 494.03; 518.165, by
adding a subdivision; 518B.01, subdivisions 2, 4, 8, 14, and by adding a subdivision; 563.01,
subdivision 3; 609.055, subdivision 2; 609.101, subdivisions 1, 2, and 3; 609.135, by adding a
subdivision; 609.1352, subdivisions 3, 5, and by adding a subdivision; 609.152, subdivision 1;
609.19; 609.341, subdivision 11; 609.3451, subdivision I; 609.485, subdivisions 2 and 4;
609.605, subdivision 4; 609.746, subdivision 1; 609.748, subdivision 3a; 609.749, subdivision
5. 611.17: 611.20, subdivision 3, and by adding subdivisions; 611.27, subdivision 4; 611.35,
subdivision 1: 6114.01; 611A.04, subdivision I; 6114.19, subdivision 1; 6114.31, subdivision
2: 6114.53, subdivision 2; 6114.71, subdivision 7; 611A4.73, subdivision 3; 6114.74; 617.23;
624.22; 624.712, subdivision 5; 626.13; 626.841; 626.843, subdivision 1; 626,861, subdivisions
1 and 4; 628.26; 629.341, subdivision 1; 629.715, subdivision I; 629.72, subdivisions 1, 2, and
6; 641.14; and 641.15, subdivision 2; Laws 1993, chapter 146, article 2, section 3I; Laws
1993, chapter 253, sections 1, subdivisions 1 and 4; and 2; and Laws 1994, chapter 643, sec-
tion 79, subdivisions 1, 3, and 4; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chap-
ters 8: 16B; 120; 127; 243; 244; 257; 260; 2994; 299C; 388; 504; 563; 609; 6114; 626; and
629; proposing coding for new law as Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260A4; repealing Minnesota
Statutes 1994, sections 126.25; and 6114.61, subdivision 3; Laws 1994, chapter 576, section

1.
BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

ARTICLE 1
APPROPRIATIONS

Section 1. CRIMINAL JUSTICE APPROPRIATIONS.

The sums shown in the columns marked “APPROPRIATIONS” are appro-
priated from the general fund, or another fund named, to the agencies and for
the purposes specified in this act, to be available for the fiscal years indicated for
each purpose. The figures “1996” and “1997,” where used in this act, mean that
the appropriation or appropriations listed under them are available for the year
ending June 30, 1996, or June 30, 1997, respectively.

SUMMARY BY FUND

1996 1997 TOTAL
General $ 438,334,000 $ 429,192,000 $ 867,526,000
Environmental 40,000 40,000 80,000
Special Revenue 4,859,000 4,848,000 9,707,000
Trunk Highway 1,694,000 1,696,000 3,390,000
TOTAL $ 444,927,000 $ 435,776,000 $ 880,703,000

New language is indicated by underline, deletions by strileeont.
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APPROPRIATIONS
Available for the Year
Ending June 30
1996 1997

Sec. 2. SUPREME COURT
Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 20,340,000  $ 19,434,000

The amounts that may be spent from
this appropriation for each program are
specified in the following subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Supreme Court Operations
3,975,000 3,987,000

$2,500 the first year and $2,500 the sec-
ond year are for a contingent account
for expenses necessary for the normal
operation of the court for which no
other reimbursement is provided.

Subd. 3. Civil Legal Services
5,007,000 5,007,000

This appropriation is for legal service to
low-income clients and for family farm
legal assistance under Minnesota Stat-
utes, section 480.242, Any unencum-
bered balance remaining in the first year
does not cancel but is available for the
second year of the biennium. A quali-
fied legal services program, as defined in
Minnesota Statutes, section 480.24, sub-
division 3, may provide legal services to
persons eligible for family farm legal
assistance under Minnesota Statutes,
section 480.242,

The supreme court is requested to |
create a joint committee including rep- |
resentatives from the supreme court, the
Minnesota state bar association, and the
Minnesota legal services coalition to
prepare recommendations for state
funding changes or other alternatives to
maintain an adequate level of funding
and voluntary services that will address
the critical civil legal needs of low
income persons as a result of reductions
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in federal government funding for such
programs. The recommendations should
be submitted to the chairs of the judi-
ciary finance committee in the house of
representatives and the crime preven-
tion committee in the senate by Decem-

ber 31, 1995.
Subd. 4. Family Law Legal Services
877,000 877,000

This appropriation is to improve the
access of low-income clients to legal
representation in family law matters
and must be distributed undet Minne-
sota Statutes, section 480.242, to the
qualified legal services programs
described in Minnesota Statutes, section
480.242, subdivision 2, paragraph (a).
Any unencumbered balance remaining
in the first year does not cancel and is
available for the second year of the

biennium.
Subd. 5. State Court Administration
8,507,000 7,574,000

The nonfelony enforcement advisory
committee may seek additional funding
from public and private sources.

$500,000 the first year and $50,000 the
second year are for the statewide juve-
nile criminal history system, extended
juvenile justice data, statewide misde-
meanor system, and the tracking system
for domestic abuse orders for protec-
tion.

$73,000 the first year and $64,000 the
second year are to administer the state-
wide criminal and juvenile justice com-
munity model including salary
expenses.

$374,000 the first year is to implement
the electronic livescan/cardscan finger-
print technology for the statewide desig-
nated court locdtions in accordance
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with the Minnesota criminal and juve-
nile justice task force recommendations.

$125,000 the first year and $125,000
the second year are to fund the activi-
ties of the juvenile violence prevention
and enforcement unit.* (The preceding
paragraph beginning “$125,000” was
vetoed by the governor.)

Subd. 6. Community Dispute Resolu-

tion
245,000 245,000
Subd. 7. Law Library Operations
1,729,000 1,744,000
Sec. 3. COURT OF APPEALS 5,814,000 5,832,000
Sec. 4, DISTRICT COURTS 66,854,000 67,020,000

$180,000 the first year and $180,000
the second year are for two referees in
the fourth judicial district, if a law is
enacted providing for a homestead agri-
cultural and credit assistance offset in
the same amount.

Sec. 5. BOARD OF JUDICIAL STAN-

DARDS 209,000 209,000
Sec. 6. TAX COURT 592,000 592,000
Sec. 7. PUBLIC SAFETY

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation 31,209,000 28,798,000

Summary by Fund
1996 1997

General 28,991,000 26,564,000

Special Revenue 484,000 498,000

Trunk Highway 1,694,000 1,696,000

Environmental 40,000 40,000

The commissioner shall distribute addi-
tional federal Byrne grant funds
received in federal fiscal year 1995 in
accordance with the commissioner of
public safety’s May 12, 1995, letter to
the chairs of the house judiciary finance
committee and senate crime prevention
finance division.
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Subd. 2. Emergency Management

2,520,000 1,985,000
Summary by Fund
General 2,480,000
Environmental 40,000

Subd. 3. Driver and Vehicle Services
12,000 -0-

$12,000 the first year is for improve-
ments to the department’s driving rec-
ords computer system to better indicate
to a peace officer whether to impound
the vehicle registration plates of an indi-
vidual pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,
section 168.042.

Subd. 4. Criminal Apprehension

17,197,000 16,292,000
Summary by Fund
General 15,019,000
Special Revenue 484,000
Trunk Highway 1,694,000

Notwithstanding any other law to the
contrary, the bureau of criminal appre-
hension shall be responsible for the fol-
lowing duties in addition to its other
duties:

(1) it shall administer and maintain the
computerized criminal history record
system;

(2) it shall administer and maintain the
fingerprint record system, including the
automated fingerprint identification sys-
tem;

(3) it shall administer and maintain the
electronic livescan receipt of finger-
prints system;

(4) it shall administer and maintain the
criminal justice data communications
network;

(5) it shall collect and preserve statistics
on crimes committed in this state;

1,945,000
40,000

14,098,000
498,000
1,696,000

Copyright © 1995 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.




1759 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1995 Ch. 226, Art. 1

(6) it shall maintain a criminal justice
information system (CJIS) that provides
a capability for federal, state, and local
criminal justice agencies to enter, store,
and retrieve documented information
relating to wanted persons, missing per-
sons, and stolen property;

(7) it shall be responsible for performing
criminal background checks on employ-
ees, applicants for employment, and
volunteers, as otherwise required by
law;

(8) it shall be responsible for reporting
to the federal bureau of investigation
under the interstate identification index
system; and

(9) it shall administer and maintain the
forensic science laboratory.

The bureau of criminal apprehension
shall make public criminal history data
in its possession accessible to law
enforcement agencies by means of the
internet. A prototype for making public
criminal history data accessible by
means of the internet shall be available
by March 31, 1996,

$500,000 the first year and $50,000 the
second year are for integration and
development of the statewide juvenile
criminal history system, extended juve-
nile justice data system, statewide mis-
demeanor system, and the tracking sys-
tem for domestic abuse orders for pro-
tection with the bureau’s centralized
computer systems.

Up to $1,000,000 from dedicated non-
criminal justice records fees may be
used to implement the clectronic live-
scan/cardscan fingerprint technology for
the statewide arrest/booking locations in
accordance with the Minnesota criminal
and juvenile justice task force recom-
mendations.
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$751,000 the first year and $510,000
the second year are to upgrade the
bureau’s forensic laboratory to imple-
ment new methods of DNA testing.

$60,000 the first year and $60,000 the
second year are to provide the reim-
bursements authorized by Minnesota
Statutes, section 299C.063, subdivision
2.% (The preceding paragraph beginning
“$60,000” was vetoed by the governor.)

$387,000 the first year and $398,000
the second year from the bureau of
criminal apprehension account in the
special revenue fund are for laboratory
activities.

$200,000 the first year and $200,000
the second year are for use by the
bureau of criminal apprehension for the
purpose of investigating cross-
jurisdictional criminal activity.

$97,000 the first year and $100,000 the
second year from the bureau of criminal
apprehension account in the special rev-
enue fund are for grants to local offi-
cials for the cooperative investigation of
cross-jurisdictional criminal activity.
Any unencumbered balance remaining
in the first year does not cancel but is
available for the second year.

$250,000 the first year is for the contin-
uation of the crime fax integrated crimi-
nal alert network project.

$206,000 the first year and $206,000
the second year are for improvements
in the bureau’s internal systems support
functions.

Subd. 5. Fire Marshal
2,631,000 2,619,000

The commissioner of health shall trans-
fer $333,000 the first year and $333,000
the second year from the state govern-
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ment special revenue fund to the gen-
eral fund to reimburse the general fund
for costs of fire safety inspections per-
formed by the state fire marshal.

Of this appropriation, $14,000 is appro-
priated from the general fund to the
commissioner of public safety to imple-
ment and administer the fireworks dis-
play operator certification program
under Minnesota Statutes, section
624.22.

Subd. 6. Capitol Security .
1,436,000 1,436,000

Subd. 7. Liquor Control
490,000 490,000

Subd. 8. Gambling Enforcement
1,137,000 1,140,000

Subd. 9. Drug Policy and Violence Pre-
vention

3,571,000 2,621,000

Of this appropriation, $852,000 in each
year of the biennium is to be distributed
by the commissioner of public safety
after consulting with the chemical abuse
and violence prevention council,
Amounts not expended in the first year
of the biennium do not cancel but may
be expended in the second year of the
biennium,

$300,000 the first year is for grants to
local law enforcement jurisdictions to
develop three truancy service centers
under Minnesota Statutes, proposed
section 260A.04, Applicants must pro-
vide a one-to-one funding match. If the
commissioner has received applications
from fewer than three counties by the
application deadline, the commissioner
may make unallocated funds from this
appropriation available to an approved
grantee that can provide the required
one-to-one funding match for the addi-
tional funds.* (The preceding paragraph
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beginning “$300,000” was vetoed by the
governor.)

Of this appropriation, not less than
$75,000 in the first year and not less
than $75,000 in the second year are
appropriated to the commissioner of
public safety for transfer to the commis-
sioner of education for grants to cities,
counties, and school boards for commu-
nity violence prevention councils. Dur-
ing the biennium, councils shall identify
community needs and resources for vio-
lence prevention and development ser-
vices that address community needs
related to violence prevention. Any of
the funds awarded to school districts
but not expended in fiscal year 1996,
are available to the award recipient in
fiscal year 1997 for the same purposes
and activities. Any portion of the 1996
appropriation not spent in 1996 is
available in 1997. One hundred percent
of this aid must be paid in the current
fiscal year in the same manner as speci-
fied in Minnesota Statutes, section
124.195, subdivision 9.

Of this appropriation, $225,000 in each
year is for targeted early intervention
pilot project grants.

$50,000 the first year is for a grant to a
statewide program to create and
develop theatrical plays, workshops,
and educational resources based on a
peer education model that promotes
increased awareness and prevention of
sexual abuse, interpersonal violence,
and sexual harassment. This appropria-
tion is available until June 30, 1997.

$25,000 the first year and $25,000 the
second year are to establish youth
neighborhood centers.

$100,000 the first year and $100,000
the second year are for a grant to the
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Northwest Hennepin Human Services
Council to administer and expand the
Northwest law enforcement project to
municipal and county law enforcement
agencies throughout the metropolitan
area.

$100,000 the first year is for grants for
truancy reduction pilot programs.

$500,000 the first year is for grants to
local law enforcement agencies for law
enforcement officers assigned to schools.
The grants may be used to expand the
assignment of law enforcement officers
to middle schools, junior high schools,
and high schools. The grants may be
used to provide the local share required
for eligibility for federal funding for
these positions. The amount of the state
grant must be matched by at least an
equal amount of money from nonstate
sources.

Subd. 10. Crime Victims Services
2,012,000 2,012,000

Of this amount, $50,000 may be used to
hire or contract with an attorney to
obtain and collect judgments for
amounts owed to victims by offenders.

Subd. 11. Crime Victims Ombudsman
203,000 203,000

Sec. 8. BOARD OF PRIVATE
DETECTIVE AND PROTECTIVE
AGENT SERVICES 102,000 115,000

Of this appropriation, $10,000 is appro-
priated for the biennium ending June
30, 1997, for the purpose of completing
the adoption of agency rules concerning
training requirements and training pro-
grams. This appropriation shall not
become part of the base funding for the
1998-1999 biennium.

Sec. 9. BOARD OF PEACE OFFICER
STANDARDS AND TRAINING 4,375,000 4,350,000
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This appropriation is from the peace
officers training account in the special
revenue fund. Any receipts credited to
the peace officer training account in the
special revenue fund in the first year in
excess of $4,375,000 must be trans-
ferred and credited to the general fund.
Any receipts credited to the peace offi-
cer training account in the special reve-
nue fund in the second year in excess of
$4,350,000 must be transferred and
credited to the general fund.

$850,000 the first year and $850,000
the second year are for law enforcement
educational programs provided by the
state colleges and universities.

$100,000 the first year and $100,000
the second year are for the development
of an advanced law enforcement degree
at the existing school of law enforce-
ment at Metropolitan State University.*
(The preceding paragraph beginning
“$100,000” was vetoed by the governor.)

$203,000 the first year and $203,000
the second year shall be made available
to law enforcement agencies to pay edu-
cational expenses and other costs of stu-
dents who have been given conditional
offers of employment by the agency and
who are enrolled in the licensing core of
a professional peace officer education
program. No more than $5,000 may be
expended on a single student.

$2,300,000 the first year and $2,300,000
the second year are to reimburse local
law enforcement for the cost of admin-
istering board-approved continuing edu-
cation to peace officers.

$50,000 in the first year and $50,000 in
the second year shall be used to provide
DARE officer training.

$50,000 the first year and $25,000 the
second year are for transfers to the
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crime victim and witness account in the
state treasury for the purposes specified
in Minnesota Statutes, section
611A.675. This sum is available until
expended.* (The preceding paragraph
beginning “$50,000* was vetoed by the
governor.)

The remaining money shall be spent for
the board’s operations.

Sec. 10. BOARD OF PUBLIC
DEFENSE

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

None of this appropriation shall be used
to pay for lawsuits against public agen-
cies or public officials to change social
or public policy.

The amounts that may be spent from
this appropriation for each program are
specified in the following subdivisions.

Subd. 2. State Public Defender

3,012,000 2,981,000
Subd. 3. District Public Defense
33,836,000 35,009,000

$904,000 the first year and $904,000
the second vear are for grants to the five
existing public defense corporations

under Minnesota Statutes, section
611.216.

Subd. 4. Board of Public Defense
745,000 741,000

For fiscal year 1997, the state board of
public defense shall provide pay equity
for the salaries of state employed assis-
tant district public defenders and pro-
vide overhead compensation to state
employed part-time assistant district
public defenders, consistent with the
legislative proposal based on the April
1995 house research department study
entitled Minnesota’s Public Defender
Salaries: A Research Study.

37,593,000

Ch. 226, Art. 1

38,731,000
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The appropriation to the board of pub-
lic defense in Laws 1995, chapter 48,
section 2, does not expire and is avail-
able until expended.

Sec. 11. CORRECTIONS
Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

The amounts that may be spent from
this appropriation for each program are
specified in the following subdivisions.

Any unencumbered balances remaining
in the first year do not cancel but are
available for the second year of the
biennium.

Positions and administrative money
may be transferred within the depart-
ment of corrections as the commis-
sioner considers necessary, upon the
advance approval of the commissioner
of finance.

For the biennium ending June 30, 1997,
the commissioner of corrections may,
with the approval of the commissioner
of finance, transfer funds to or from sal-
aries.

Subd. 2. Correctional Institutions
186,467,000 179,533,000

$50,000 is appropriated the first year
for a youth placement profile study.

The commissioner of corrections, in
consultation with the commissioner of
human services and the veterans homes
board, shall investigate alternatives for
housing geriatric inmates in the custody
of the commissioner of corrections.

The commissioner of corrections shall
consider the cost-effectiveness of vari-
ous housing alternatives, the possibility
of federal reimbursement under various
alternatives, the impact on existing cor-
rectional institutions, any impact on cli-

276,085,000

1766

269,576,000
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ents served by facilities operated by the
departments of human services and vet-
erans affairs, and the impact on existing
employees and the physical plant at
alternative sites. The commissioner of
corrections shall consult with bargaining
units that represent state employees
affected by an alternative housing pro-
posal.

The commissioner of corrections shall
report findings and recommendations to
the legislature by January 135, 1996.

During the biennium ending June 30,
1997, if it is necessary to reduce ser-
vices or staffing within a correctional
facility, the commissioner or his desig-
nee shall meet with affected exclusive
representatives. The commissioner shall
make every reasonable effort to retain
correctional officer and prison industry
employees should reductions be neces-
sary.

Subd. 3. Community Services
71,076,000 71,481,000

Of this appropriation, $400,000 shall be
used for the biennium ending June 30,
1997, to provide operational subsidies
under Minnesota Statutes, section
241.0221, subdivision 5, paragraph (c),
to eight-day temporary holdover facili-
ties in Washington and Carver counties.

Of this appropriation, $250,000 is avail-
able in each year of the biennium for
grants to counties under Minnesota
Statutes, section 169.1265, to pay the
costs of developing and operating inten-
sive probation programs for repeat DWI
offenders; provided that at least one-
half of this appropriation shall be used
for grants to counties seeking to develop
new programs.

The commissioner of public safety shall |
impose a surcharge of $10 on each fee |
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charged for driver license reinstatement
under Minnesota Statutes, section
171.29, subdivision 2, paragraph (b),
and shall forward these surcharges to
the commissioner of finance on a
monthly basis. Upon receipt, the com-
missioner of finance shall credit the sur-
charges to the remote electronic alcohol
monitoring pilot program account in the
general fund of the state treasury. Of
the money in this account, up to
$250,000 shall be available to the com-
missioner of corrections in each year of
the biennium for the remote electronic
alcohol monitoring pilot program. The
unencumbered balance remaining in the
first year does not cancel but is avail-
able for the second year.

$3,586,000 the first year and $7,314,000
the second year are for a statewide pro-
bation and supervised release caseload
reduction grant program. Counties that
deliver correctional services through
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260, and
that qualify for new probation officers
under this program shall receive full
reimbursement for the officers’ salaries
and reimbursement for the officers’ ben-
efits and support as set forth in the pro-
bations standards task force report, not
to exceed $70,000 per officer annually.
Positions funded by this appropriation
may not supplant existing services.
Position control numbers for these posi-
tions must be annually reported to the
commissioner of corrections.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes,
section 401.10, in fiscal year 1996 the
commissioner shall allocate
$27,912,000 in community corrections
act base funding so that no county
receives less money in fiscal year 1996
than it received in fiscal year 1995.

The chairs of the house judiciary
finance committee and the senate crime
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prevention finance division or their des-
ignees shall convene a work group to
review the current community correc-
tions equalization formula contained in
Minnesota Statutes, section 401.10 and
to develop a new formula that is more
fair and equitable. The work group shall
include representatives from the legisla-
ture, the department of corrections, and
the Minnesota association of commu-
nity corrections act counties. The work
group shall develop the new formula by
September 1, 1995, and present it for
consideration to the 1996 legislature.

In fiscal year 1997, if the legislature
enacts a new community corrections act
formula, the commissioner shall allocate
all community corrections act funding
according to the new formula.

In fiscal year 1996, the commissioner
shall distribute money appropriated for
state and county probation officer case-
load reduction, increased intensive
supervised release and probation ser-
"vices, and county probation officer
reimbursement according to the for-
mula contained in Minnesota Statutes,
section 401.10, These appropriations
may not be used to supplant existing
state or county probation officer posi-
tions or existing correctional services or
programs, The money appropriated
under this provision is intended to
reduce state and county probation offi-
cer workload overcrowding and to
increase supervision of individuals sen-
tenced to probation at the county level.
This increased supervision may be
accomplished through a variety of
methods, including but not limited to:
(1) innovative technology services, such
as automated probation reporting sys-
tems and electronic monitoring; (2) pre-
vention and diversion programs; (3)
intergovernmental cooperation agree-
ments between local governments and
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appropriate community resources; and
(4) traditional probation program ser-
vices.

Of this appropriation, $75,000 in the
first year is to be transferred by the
commissioner of corrections to the leg-
islative auditor for a weighted workload
study to be used as a basis for fund dis-
tributions across all three probation
delivery systems, based on uniform
workload standards and level of risk of
individual offenders, and to make ongo-
ing outcome data available on cases.

The study must recommend to the legis-
lature by January 10, 1996, a statewide,
uniform workload system and defini-
tions of levels of risk; a standardized
data collection system using the uni-
form definitions of workload and risk
and a timeline for reporting data; and a
new mechanism or formula for aid dis-
tribution based on the data, that could
be operational by July 1, 1996.

In fiscal year 1997, the commissioner
shall distribute money appropriated for
state and county probation officer case-
load reduction, increased intensive
supervised release and reimbursement
according to uniform workload stan-
dards and definitions of levels of risk
adopted by the legislature after review
of the legislative auditor’s weighted
workload study.

Of this appropriation, $3,400,000 the
first year and $3,400,000 the second
year are for the extended jurisdiction
juvenile partnership program subsidy.
Each county will be charged a sum
equal to the per diem cost of confine-
ment of those juveniles under 18 years
of age convicted as extended jurisdic-
tion juveniles and committed to the
commissioner after July 1, 1995, and
confined in a state correctional facility.
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Provided, however, that the amount
charged a county for the costs of con-
finement shall not exceed the extended
jurisdiction juvenile subsidy to which
the county is eligible. All charges shall
be upon the county of commitment,
Nothing in this section shall relieve
counties participating in the community
corrections act from the requirement to
pay per diem costs as prescribed in
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 401.

$1,000,000 the first year and $1,000,000
the second year are for grants for a com-
prehensive continuum of care for juve-
niles at high risk to become extended
jurisdiction juveniles and for extended
Jurisdiction juveniles.

The sentencing to service program shall
include at least three work crews whose
primary function is the removal of graf-
fiti and other defacing signs and sym-
bols from public property and from the
property of requesting private property
Owners,

$500,000 in the first year is for grants to
family services collaboratives to estab-
lish youth service center pilot projects
for juveniles under the jurisdiction of
the juvenile court. The centers may pro-
vide medical, educational, job-related
and social service programs. At least
two-thirds of the funds appropriated
shall be awarded to collaboratives in the
first, third, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth,
ninth, or tenth judicial districts. A writ-
ten report, detailing the impact of the
projects, shall be presented to the legis-
lature on January 1, 1997,

$2,161,000 is appropriated from the
general fund for the fiscal biennium
ending June 30, 1997, to develop and
implement the productive day initiative
program established in Minnesota Stat-
utes, section 241.275. Of this amount,
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11 percent shall be distributed to Anoka
county and 11 percent to Olmsted
county. The remainder shall be distrib-
uted pro rata to Hennepin and Ramsey
counties and to Arrowhead regional cor-
rections. The recipients must provide
an equal match of local government
resources.

$200,000 for the biennium ending June
30, 1997, is to be used by the commis-
sioner of corrections to develop a grant
for the development and implementa-
tion of a criterion-related cross valida-
tion study designed to measure
outcomes of placing juveniles in out-of-
home placement programs. The study
must be completed in two years. The
goals of the study are to:

(1) provide outcome data as a result of
out-of-home placement intervention for
juveniles;

(2) provide a measurement to predict
the future behavior of juveniles; and

(3) identify the particular character
traits of juveniles that each program
treats most effectively so as to place
juveniles in facilities that are best suited
to providing effective treatment.

$12,000 the first year is to adopt rules
and administer the advisory committee
on juvenile facility programming rules.

$25,000 the first year is to conduct a
study on the use of secure treatment
facilities for juveniles.

None of this appropriation shall be used
to pay for biomedical intervention for
sex offenders.

Subd. 4. Management Services
18,542,000 18,562,000

Of this appropriation, $200,000 is
appropriated for the biennium ending
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June 30, 1997, to be transferred to the
ombudsman for crime victims.

During the biennium ending June 30,
1997, when awarding grants for victim’s
programs and services, the commis-
sioner shall give priority to geographic
areas that are unserved or underserved
by programs or services.

Of this appropriation $325,000 is
appropriated from the general fund to
the commissioner of corrections for the
purpose of funding battered women’s
services under Minnesota Statutes, sec-
tion 611A.32. The services to be funded
include:

(1) Asian battered women’s shelter;

(2) African-American battered women’s
shelter;

(3) child advocacy services in battered
women programs; and

(4) community-based domestic abuse
advocacy and support services programs
in judicial districts not currently receiv-
ing grants from the commissioner.

Of this appropriation, $325,000 is
appropriated in fiscal years 1996 and
1997 from the general fund to the com-
missioner of corrections to be used to
fund grants to sexual assault programs.
Grant money for sexual assault pro-
grams may be used to:

(1) establish and maintain sexual assault
services;

(2) increase the funding base for provid-
ers of services to victims of sexual
assault;

(3) establish and maintain six new pro-
grams to serve unserviced and underser-
viced populations; and
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(4) fund special need programs.

$100,000 the first year and $100,000
the second year are to develop a contin-
uum of care for juvenile female offend-
ers. The commissioner of corrections
shall collaborate with the commission-
ers of human services, health, economic
security, planning, education, and pub-
lic safety and with representatives of the
private sector to develop a comprehen-
sive continuum of care to address the
gender-specific needs of juvenile female
offenders.

Of this amount, $455,000 the first year
and $375,000 the second year are for
increased rent for an increase in space
and for the destruction of building No.
30 at the Minnesota Correctional Facil-
ity, Willow River - Moose Lake. When
the department of human services
receives federal reimbursement for the
destruction of building No. 30, the
department of human services must
transfer the federal funds it receives to
the department of corrections.

The department of corrections shall
develop options for achieving equity in
its employee pension program by
December 1, 1995. The plan must con-
sider financially responsible mecha-
nisms to achieve pension equity,
including but not limited to, changing
participation rates, age of retirement,
and benefits provided under the plan.
The departments of corrections and
human services shall consult with
affected employee unions in developing
a plan and shall bear the cost of any
actuarial studies needed to establish the
cost of possible options. The depart-
ment shall propose legislation during
the 1996 regular session to implement a
plan.

Copyright © 1995 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.




1775 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1995

Sec. 12. CORRECTIONS OMBUDS-
MAN

Sec. 13. SENTENCING GUIDELINES
COMMISSION

Sec. 14. ATTORNEY GENERAL

$125,000 the first year and $125,000
the second year are for the advisory
council on drug abuse resistance educa-
tion for drug abuse resistance education
programs under Minnesota Statutes,
section 299A.331.

Sec. 15. HUMAN SERVICES

$100,000 is appropriated from the gen-
eral fund to the commissioner of human
services for the fiscal biennium ending
June 30, 1997, to provide grants to
agencies for interdisciplinary training of
criminal justice officials who conduct
forensic interviews of children who
report being sexually abused.

$93,000 is appropriated from the gen-
eral fund to the commissioner of human
services for the child abuse help line
established under this act to be avail-
able until June 30, 1997,

$25,000 the first year and $25,000 the
second year are for a grant to a non-
profit, statewide child abuse prevention
organization whose primary focus is
parental self-help and support.

Sec. 16. EDUCATION

$500,000 the first year is for grants to
school districts for alternative program-
ming for at-risk and in-risk students.*
(The preceding section was vetoed by the
governor.)

Sec. 17, HEALTH
This amount is for expanded projects

for the Institute of Child and Adoles-
cent Sexual Health.

530,000

369,000
125,000

150,000

500,000

80,000

Ch. 226, Art, 1

530,000

371,000
125,000

93,000
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Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 16A.285, is amended to read:
16A.285 ALLOWED APPROPRIATION TRANSFERS.

An agency in the executive, legislative, or judicial branch may transfer state
agency operational money between programs within the same fund if: (1) the
agency first notifies the commissioner as to the type and intent of the transfer,
and (2) the transfer is consistent with legislative intent. If an amount is specified
for an item within an activity, that amount must not be transferred or used for

any other purpose.

The commissioner shall report the transfers to the chairs of the senate
finance and house of representatives ways and means committees.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 243.51, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. The commissioner of corrections is hereby authorized to
contract with agencies and bureaus of the United States atterney generat and
with the proper officials of other states or a county of this state for the custody,
care, subsistence, education, treatment and training of persons convicted of
criminal offenses constituting felonies in the courts of this state, the United
States, or other states of the United States. Such contracts shall provide for
reimbursing the state of Minnesota for all costs or other expenses involved.
Funds received under such contracts shall be deposited in the state treasury to
the eredit of the faeility in which sueh persens may be eonfined and are appro-
priated to the commissioner of corrections for correctional purposes. Any pris-
oner transferred to the state of Minnesota pursuant to this subdivision shall be
subject to the terms and conditions of the prisoner’s original sentence as if the
prisoner were serving the same within the confines of the state in which the con-
viction and sentence was had or in the custody of the United States atterney
generat. Nothing herein shall deprive such inmate of the right to parole or the
rights to legal process in the courts of this state.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 243.51, subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. TEMPORARY DETENTION. The commissioner of corrections
is authorized to contract with agencies and bureaus of the United States atterney
generad and with the appropriate officials of any other state or county of this
state for the temporary detention of any person in custody pursuant to any pro-
cess issued under the authority of the United States, other states of the United
States, or the district courts of this state. The contract shall provide for reim-
bursement to the state of Minnesota for all costs and expenses involved. Money
received under contracts shall be deposited in the state treasury to the eredit of
the faeility in which the persens meay be eonfined and are appropriated to the
commissioner of corrections for correctional purposes.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 626.861, subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

New language is indicated by underline, deletions by strileeot:t.
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Subd. 4. PEACE OFFICERS TRAINING ACCOUNT. &) Receipts from
penalty assessments must be credited to a peace effieer officers training account
in the special revenue fund. The peace officers standards and training beard
ghall make the following allocations from appropriated funds; net of operating
expenses:

b for fiseal year 1994

) at least 25 pereent for reimbursement to beard-approved skills eourses;
and

@) at least 13-5 pereent for the sehoel of law enforeement;

(2) for fiseat year 1095:

) at least +7 pereent to the community eollege system for one-time star-up
eosty assoeiated with the transition to an integrated academie program:

1) at least eight pereent for reimbursement to beard-approved slills courses
in the teehnieal eollege system: and

@it} at teast 13-5 pereent for the sehoel of law enforeement:

The balanee in each year may be used to pay each loeal unit of government
an amount in propertion to the number of licensed peaee officers and constables
employed; at a rate to be determined by the beard: The disbursed amount must
be used exclusively for reimbursement of the eost of in-serviee training required
under this chapter and chapter 244-

¢b) ‘The beard must not reduce allocations to law enforeement ageneies o
higher edueation systems eor institutions to fund lepal eests er other board-
operating expenses not presented in the board’s bicanial legislative budget
request

¢e) Neo schoel in Minnesota eertified by the board shall provide a nondegree
professienal pence officer edueation propgram for any state ageney or loeal law
enforcement ageney after December 34 1994; without affirmative legislative
approvak

Sec. 22. CONSOLIDATION OF VICTIM SERVICES.

Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary, the funds appropriated for
the fiscal year ending June 30, 1997 to the department of corrections for victim
services, the department of public safety for crime victim services and the
supreme court for community dispute resolution shall not be available unless the
departments of corrections and public safety and the supreme court provide a

plan to the legislature by January 1, 1996, The plan shall be developed in con-
sultation with affected constituent groups and shall include the following:

(1) An agreed upon staffing structure to be implemented no later than July
1, 1996, that places all of the npamed victim services programs in one agency;
and

New language is indicated by underline, deletions by strikeeut.
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(2) Recommendations on a structure for constituent advisory participation
in administering programs in the victim services unit, including functions of the
sexual assault advisory council under section 611A.32, the battered women advi-
sory council under section 611A.34, the general crime victims advisory council
under section 611A.361, the abused children advisory council under section
611A.365, and the crime victim and witness advisory council under section

611A.71.

Until an advisory structure is implemented, members of existing councils
may receive expense reimbursements as specified in Minnesota Statutes, section
15.059.

The plan shall be submitted to the chairs of the house judiciary committee
and the senate crime prevention committee.

ARTICLE 2
CRIME

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 145A.05, subdivision 7a, is
amended to read:

Subd. 7a. CURFEW. A county board may adopt an ordinance establishing
a countywide curfew for unmarried persons under 4% 18 years of age. If the
county board of a county located in the seven-county metropolitan area adopts
a curfew ordinance under this subdivision, the ordinance shall contain an earlier

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 152.18, subdivision 1, is amended
to read:

Subdivision 1. If any person who has not previously participated in or com-
pleted a diversion program authorized under section 401.065 or who has not
previously been placed on probation without a judgment of guilty and thereafter
been discharged from probation under this section is found guilty of a violation
of section 152.024, subdivision 2, 152.025, subdivision 2, or 152.027, subdivi-
sion 2, 3, or 4, for possession of a controlled substance, after trial or upon a plea

quent controlled substance conviction under section 152.01, subdivision 16a,
the court may, without entering a judgment of guilty and with the consent of the
person, defer further proceedings and place the person on probation upon such
reasonable conditions as it may require and for a period, not to exceed the maxi-
mum sentence provided for the violation. The court may give the person the
opportunity to attend and participate in an appropriate program of education
regarding the nature and effects of alcohol and drug abuse as a stipulation of
probation. Upon violation of a condition of the probation, the court may enter
an adjudication of guilt and proceed as otherwise provided. The court may, in

New language is indicated by underline, deletions by strilceout.
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its discretion, dismiss the proceedings against the person and discharge the per-
son from probation before the expiration of the maximum period prescribed for
the person’s probation. If during the period of probation the person does not
violate any of the conditions of the probation, then upon expiration of the
period the court shall discharge the person and dismiss the proceedings against
that person. Discharge and dismissal under this subdivision shall be without
court adjudication of guilt, but a not public record of it shall be retained by the
department of public safety for the purpose of use by the courts in determining
the merits of subsequent proceedings against the person. The not public record
may also be opened only upon court order for purposes of a criminal investiga-
tion, prosecution, or sentencing. Upon request by law enforcement, prosecution,
or corrections authorities, the department shall notify the requesting party of the
existence of the not public record and the right to seek a court order to open it
pursuant to this section, The court shall forward a record of any discharge and
dismissal under this subdivision to the department of public safety who shall
make and maintain the not public record of it as provided under this subdivi-
sion. The discharge or dismissal shall not be deemed a conviction for purposes
of disqualifications or disabilities imposed by law upon conviction of a crime or
for any other purpose.

For purposes of this subdivision, “not public” has the meaning given in sec-
tion 13.02, subdivision 8a.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 299A.38, subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. STATE AND LOCAL REIMBURSEMENT. Peace officers and
heads of local law enforcement agencies who buy vests for the use of peace offi-
cer employees may apply to the commissioner for reimbursement of funds spent
to buy vests. On approving an application for reimbursement, the commissioner
shall pay the applicant an amount equal to the lesser of ere-third one-half of the
vest’s purchase price or $+65 $300. The political subdivision that employs the
peace officer shall pay at least the lesser of ene-third one-half of the vest’s pur-
chase price or $+65 $300. The political subdivision may not deduct or pay its |
share of the vest’s cost from any clothing, maintenance, or similar allowance \
otherwise provided to the peace officer by the law enforcement agency. |

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 299A.44, is amended to read:
299A.44 DEATH BENEFIT. ‘
|

Subdivision 1. PAYMENT REQUIRED. On certification to the governor
by the commissioner of public safety that a public safety officer employed within
this state has been killed in the line of duty, leaving a spouse or one or more eli-
gible dependents, the commissioner of finance shall pay $100,000 from the pub-
lic safety officer’s benefit account, as follows:

(1) if there is no dependent child, to the spouse;

New language is indicated by underline, deletions by strilceout.
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(2) if there is no spouse, to the dependent child or children in equal shares;

(3) if there are both a spouse and one or more dependent children, one-half
to the spouse and one-half to the child or children, in equal shares;

(4) if there is no surviving spouse or dependent child or children, to the par-
ent or parents dependent for support on the decedent, in equal shares; or

(5) if there is no surviving spouse, dependent child, or dependent parent,
then no payment may be made from the public safety officer’s benefit fund.

ning after the effective date of this subdivision, the commissioner of public
safety shall adjust the level of the benefit payable immediately before October 1
under subdivision 1, to reflect the annual percentage change in the Consumer
Price Index for all urban consumers, published by the federal Bureau of Labor
Statistics, occurring in the one-vear period ending on June 1 immediately pre-

ceding such October 1.

Sec. 5. [388.25] SEX OFFENDER SENTENCING; TRAINING FOR
PROSECUTORS AND PEACE OFFICERS.

The county attorneys association, in conjunction with the attorney general’s
office and the bureau of criminal apprehension, shall conduct an annual training
course for prosecutors, public defenders, and peace officers on the specific sen-
tencing statutes and sentencing guidelines applicable to persons convicted of sex
offenses and crimes that are sexually motivated. The training shall focus on the
sentencing provisions applicable to repeat sex offenders and patterned sex
offenders. The course may be combined with other training conducted by the
county attorneys association or other groups.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 480.30, is amended to read:

480.30 JUDICIAL TRAINING.

Subdivision 1. CHILD ABUSE; DOMESTIC ABUSE; HARASSMENT.
The supreme court’s judicial education program must include ongoing training
for district court judges on child and adolescent sexual abuse, domestic abuse,
harassment, stalking, and related civil and criminal court issues. The program
must include information about the specific needs of victims. The program must
include education on the causes of sexual abuse and family violence and cultur-
ally responsive approaches to serving victims, The program must emphasize the
need for the coordination of court and legal victim advocacy services and
include education on sexual abuse and domestic abuse programs and policies
within law enforcement agencies and prosecuting authorities as well as the court

system.

Subd. 2. SEXUAL VIOLENCE. The supreme court’s judicial education
program must include ongoing training for judges, judicial officers, court ser-
vices personnel, and sex offender assessors on the specific sentencing statutes
and sentencing guidelines applicable to persons convicted of sex offenses and

New language is indicated by underline, deletions by strilceott.
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other crimes that are sexually motivated. The training shall focus on the sentenc-
ing provisions applicable to repeat sex offenders and patterned sex offenders.

Subd. 3. BAIL EVALUATIONS. The supreme court’s judicial education
program also must include training for judges, judicial officers, and court ser-
vices personnel on how to assure that their bail evaluations and decisions are
racially and culturally neutral,

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 494.03, is amended to read:
494,03 EXCLUSIONS.
The guidelines shall exclude:

(1) any dispute involving violence against persons, ineluding in which inci-
dents arising out of situations that would support charges under sections
609.221 to 609.2231, 609.342 to 609.345, er 609.365, or any other felony

charges;

(2) any matter involving & person whe has been adjudieated incompetent or
relating to guardianship; eenservatorship competency, or civil commitment;

(3) any matter involving a person who has been adjudicated incompetent or
relating to guardianship or conservatorship unless the incompetent person is
accompanied by a competent advocate or the respondent in a guardianship or |
conservatorship matter is represented by an attorney, guardian ad litem, or other |
representative appointed by the court;

(4) any matter involving neglect or dependency, or involving termination of
parental rights arising under sections 260.221 to 260.245; and

4 (5) any matter arising under section 626.557 or sections 144.651 to
144,652, or any dispute subject to chapters 518; 53-8A; and 518B, and 348&;
whether or not an action is pending, except for postdissolution property distri-
bution matters and postdissolution visitation matters. This shall not restrict the
present authority of the court or departments of the court from accepting for
resolution a dispute arising under chapters 518; 5484z and 548€ 518B, or from
referring disputes arising under chapters 518, and 518A to for-profit mediation.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.101, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. SURCHARGES AND ASSESSMENTS. (a) When a court
sentences a person convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor,
other than a petty misdemeanor such as a traffic or parking violation, and if the
sentence does not include payment of a fine, the court shall impose an assess-
ment of not less than $25 nor more than $50. If the sentence for the felony,
gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor includes payment of a fine of any amount,
including a fine of less than $100, the court shall impose a surcharge on the fine
of 20 percent of the fine, This section applies whether or not the person is sen-
tenced to imprisonment and when the sentence is suspended.

New language is indicated by underline, deletions by steikeeut.
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(b) In addition to the assessments in paragraph (a), the court shall assess the
foHowing surcharges a surcharge of $20 after a person is convicted:

(—l—)fef&pefseﬂehﬂfged%efe}g&y;%
() for & person charged with o gross misdemennor; $15;

3 for & person charged with a misdemeanor other than a trafhe; pariking; of

) for a person charged with & loeal erdinanece violation other than a pare

than a traffic or parking violation.

The surcharge must be assessed for the original charge; whether or not it is sub-
sequently redueed: A person charged on more than one count may be assessed
only one surcharge under this paragraph, but must be assessed for the most seri-
ous offense. This paragraph applies whether or not the person is sentenced to
imprisonment and when the sentence is suspended.

(c) If the court fails to impose an assessment required by paragraph (a), the
court administrator shall correct the record to show imposition of an assessment
of $25 if the sentence does not include payment of a fine, or if the sentence
includes a fine, to show an imposition of a surcharge of ten percent of the fine.
If the court fails to impose an assessment required by paragraph (b), the court
administrator shall correct the record to show imposition of the assessment
described in paragraph (b).

(d) Except for assessments and surcharges imposed on persons convicted of
violations described in section 97A.065, subdivision 2, the court shall collect
and forward to the commissioner of finance the total amount of the assessments
or surcharges and the commissioner shall credit all money so forwarded to the
general fund.

(e) If the convicted person is sentenced to imprisonment, the chief executive
officer of the correctional facility in which the convicted person is incarcerated
may collect the assessment or surcharge from any earnings the inmate accrues
for work performed in the correctional facility and forward the amount to the
commissioner of finance, indicating the part that was imposed for violations
described in section 97A.065, subdivision 2, which must be credited to the game
and fish fund.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.101, subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. MINIMUM FINES. Notwithstanding any other law:

B, when a court sentences a person convicted of violating section 609.221,
609.222, 609.223, 609.2231, 609.224, 609.267, er 609.2671, 609.2672, 609.342,
609.343, 609.344, or 609.345, it must impose a fine of not less than $566 30

New language is indicated by underline, deletions by strileout.
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percent of the maximum fine authorized by law nor more than the maximum
fine authorized by laws

) when & eourt sentenees & person convieted of violating seetion 669:222;
600223 609267 605-343; 609-344; or 609-345; it must impose & fine of not
less than $300 nor more than the maximum fine authorized by law: and

(3} when & eourt sentences & person convieted of violating seetion 6092234
%mé@%ﬁmﬁsﬁfmﬂmaﬁme{ﬂeﬂ%ﬂh&n%@@ﬂeﬁmm
the maximum fine authorized by law,

The court shall collect the portion of the fine mandated by this subdivision
and forward 70 percent of it to a local victim assistance program that provides
services locally in the county in which the crime was committed. The court shall
forward the remaining 30 percent to the commissioner of finance to be credited
to the general fund. If more than one victim assistance program serves the
county in which the crime was committed, the court may designate on a case-by-
case basis which program will receive the fine proceeds, giving consideration to
the nature of the crime committed, the types of victims served by the program,
and the funding needs of the program. If no victim assistance program serves
that county, the court shall forward 100 percent of the fine proceeds to the com-
missioner of finance to be credited to the general fund. Fine proceeds received
by a local victim assistance program must be used to provide direct services to
crime victims.

The minimum fine required by this subdivision is in addition to the sur-
charge or assessment required by subdivision | and is in addition to any sen-
tence of imprisonment or restitution imposed or ordered by the court.

As used in this subdivision, “victim assistance program” means victim wit-
ness programs within county attorney offices or any of the following programs:
crime victim crisis centers, victim-witness programs, battered women shelters
and nonshelter programs, and sexual assault programs.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.101, subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE OFFENSES; MINIMUM
FINES. (a) Notwithstanding any other law, when a court sentences a person
convicted of a controlled substance crime under sections 152.021 to 152.025, it
must impose a fine of not less than 26 30 percent of the maximum fine autho-
rized by law nor more than the maximum fine authorized by law.

(b) The minimum fine required by this subdivision is in addition to the sur-
charge or assessment required by subdivision | and is in addition to any sen-
tence of imprisonment or restitution imposed or ordered by the court.

(c) The court shall collect the fine mandated by this subdivision and forward
70 percent of it to a local drug abuse prevention program existing or being
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implemented in the county in which the crime was committed. The court shall
forward the remaining 30 percent to the state treasurer to be credited to the gen-
eral fund. If more than one drug abuse prevention program serves the county in
which the crime was committed, the court may designate on a case-by-case basis
which program will receive the fine proceeds, giving consideration to the com-
munity in which the crime was committed, the funding needs of the program,
the number of peace officers in each community certified to teach the program,
and the number of children served by the program in each community. If no
drug abuse prevention program serves communities in that county, the court
shall forward 100 percent of the fine proceeds to the state treasurer to be cred-
ited to the general fund.

(d) The minimum fines required by this subdivision shall be collected as are
other fines. Fine proceeds received by a local drug abuse prevention program
must be used to support that program, and may be used for salaries of peace
officers certified to teach the program. The drug abuse resistance education pro-
gram must report receipt and use of money generated under this subdivision as
prescribed by the drug abuse resistance education advisory council.

(e) As used in this subdivision, “drug abuse prevention program” and “pro-
gram” include:

(1) the drug abuse resistance education program described in sections
299A.33 and 299A.331; and

(2) any similar drug abuse education and prevention program that includes
the following components:

(A) instruction for students enrolled in kindergarten through grade six that
is designed to teach students to recognize and resist pressures to experiment
with controlled substances and alcohol,

(B) provisions for parental involvement;

(C) classroom instruction by uniformed law enforcement personnel;

(D) the use of positive student leaders to influence younger students not to
use drugs; and

(E) an empbhasis on activity-oriented techniques designed to encourage stu-
dent-generated responses to problem-solving situations.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.135, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd. 8. FINE AND SURCHARGE COLLECTION. A defendant’s obliga-
tion to pay court-ordered fines, surcharges, court costs, and fees shall survive for

a period of six years from the date of the expiration of the defendant’s staved

sentence for the offense for which the fines, surcharges, court costs, and fees

charges, court costs, and fees, whichever is later. Nothing in this subdivision
extends the period of a defendant’s stay of sentence imposition or execution.
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Sec. 12, Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.1352, is amended by adding
a subdivision to read:

Subd. 1a. STATUTORY MAXIMUMS LENGTHENED. If the factfinder
was motivated E comm—i-ttza_i_n__fllg—c-ou—rse of, or committed in furtherance of
sexual contact or penetration, as defined in section 609.341, and the court is
imposing a sentence under subdivision 1, the statutory maximum imprisonment

imprisonment penalty otherwise provided for the offense.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.1352, subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. DANGER TO PUBLIC SAFETY. The court shall base its finding
that the offender is a danger to public safety on either any of the following fac-
tors:

(1) the crime involved an aggravating factor that would justify a durational
departure from the presumptive sentence under the sentencing guidelines; of

(2) the offender previously committed or attempted to commit a predatory
crime or a violation of section 609.224, including;

(i) an offense committed as a juvenile that would have been a predatory
crime or a violation of section 609.224 if committed by an adult; or

(ii) a violation or attempted violation of a similar Jaw of any other state or
the United States; or

(3) the offender planned or prepared for the crime prior to its commission.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.1352, subdivision 5, is
amended to read:

Subd. 5. CONDITIONAL RELEASE. At the time of sentencing under
subdivision 1, the court shall provide that after the offender has completed the
sentence imposed, less any good time earned by an offender whose crime was
committed before August 1, 1993, the commissioner of corrections shall place
the offender on conditional release for the remainder of the statutory maximum
period or for ten years, whichever is longer.

The conditions of release may include successful completion of treatment
and aftercare in a program approved by the commissioner, satisfaction of the
release conditions specified in section 244.05, subdivision 6, and any other con-
ditions the commissioner considers appropriate, Before the offender is released,
the commissioner shall notify the sentencing court, the prosecutor in the juris-
diction where the offender was sentenced and the victim of the offender’s crime,
where available, of the terms of the offerider’s conditional release. If the offender
fails to meet any condition of release, the commissioner may revoke the offend-
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er’s conditional release and order that the offender serve all or a part of the
remaining portion of the conditional release term in prison. The commissioner
shall not dismiss the offender from supervision before the conditional release

term expires.

Conditional release granted under this subdivision is governed by provi-
sions relating to supervised release, except as otherwise provided in this subdivi-
sion, section 244.04, subdivision 1, or 244.05.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.152, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. DEFINITIONS. (a) As used in this section, the following
terms have the meanings given.

(b) “Conviction” means any of the following accepted and recorded by the
court: a plea of guilty, a verdict of guilty by a jury, or a finding of guilty by the
court. The term includes a conviction by any court in Minnesota or another
jurisdiction.

(c) “Prior conviction” means a conviction that occurred before the offender
committed the next felony resulting in a conviction and before the offense for
which the offender is being sentenced under this section.

(d) “Violent crime” means a violation of or an attempt or conspiracy to vio-
late any of the following laws of this state or any similar laws of the United
States or any other state: section 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.20; 609.205;
609.21; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.228; 609.235; 609.24; 609.245; 609.25;
609.255; 609.2661; 609.2662; 609.2663; 609.2664; 609.2665; 609.267,
609.2671; 609.268; 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.498, subdivision 1;
609.561; 609.562; 609.582, subdivision 1; 609.687; 609.855, subdivision 5; any
provision of sections 609.229; 609.377; 609.378; and 609.749 that is punishable
by a felony penalty; or any provision of chapter 152 that is punishable by a max-
imum sentence of 15 years or more.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.19, is amended to read:
609.19 MURDER IN THE SECOND DEGREE.

Whoever does any of the following is guilty of murder in the second degree
and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 40 years:

(1) causes the death of a human being with intent to effect the death of that
person or another, but without premeditation;

(2) causes the death of a human being, without intent to effect the death of
any person, while committing or attempting to commit a felony offense other
than criminal sexual conduct in the first or second degree with force or violence;

or
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(3) causes the death of a human being without intent to effect the death of
any person, while intentionally inflicting or attempting to inflict bodily harm
upon the victim, when the perpetrator is restrained under an order for protec-
tion issued under ehapter 5488 and the victim is a person designated to receive
protection under the order. As used in this clause, “order for protection”
includes an order for protection issued under chapter 518B; a harassment
restraining order issued under section 609.748; a court order setting conditions
of pretrial release or conditions of a criminal sentence or juvenile court disposi-
tion; a restraining order issued in a marriage dissolution action; and any order

these orders.

Sec. 17. [609.2241] KNOWING TRANSFER OF COMMUNICABLE
DISEASE.

Subdivision 1. DEFINITIONS. As used in this section, the following terms
have the meanings given;

(a) “Communicable disease” means a disease or condition that causes seri-
ous jllness, serious disability, or death; the infectious agent of which may pass or
be carried from the body of one person to the body of another through direct
transmission.

(b) “Direct transmission” means predominately sexual or blood borne trans-
mission.

(c) “A person who knowingly harbors an infectious agent” refers to a person
who receives from a physician or other health professional:

(1) advice that the person harbors an infectious agent for a communicable
disease;

(2) educational information about behavior which might transmit the infec-
tious agent; and

(3) instruction of practical means of preventing such transmission.

(d) “Transfer” means to engage in behavior that has been demonstrated epi-
demiologically to be a mode of direct transmission of an infectious agent which
causes the communicable disease.

(e) “Sexual penetration” means any of the acts listed in section 609.341,

or other effective barrier.

Subd. 2. CRIME. It is a crime, which may be prosecuted under section
609.17, 609.185, 609.19, 609.221, 609.222, 609.223, 609.2231, or 609.224, for a
person who knowingly harbors an infectious agent to transfer, if the crime
involved:
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(1) sexual penetration with another person without having first informed the
other person that the person has a communicable disease;

(2) transfer of blood, sperm, organs, or tissue, except as deemed necessary
for medical research or if disclosed on donor screening forms; or

(3) sharing of nonsterile syringes or needles for the purpose of injecting
drugs.

Subd. 3. AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE. It is an affirmative defense to prose-
cution, if it is proven by a preponderance of the evidence, that:

(1) the person who knowingly harbors an infectious agent for a communica-
ble disease took practical means to prevent transmission as advised by a physi-
cian or other health professional; or

(2) the person who knowingly harbors an infectious agent for a communica-
ble disease is a health care provider who was following professionally accepted
infection control procedures.

Nothing in this section shall be construed to be a defense to a criminal pros-
ecution that does not allege a violation of subdivision 2.

Subd. 4. HEALTH DEPARTMENT DATA. Data protected by section
13.38 and information collected as part of a health department investigation
under sections 144.4171 to 144.4186 may pot be accessed or subpoenaed by law
enforcement authorities or prosecutors without the consent of the subject of the
data.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.341, subdivision 11, is
amended to read:

Subd. 11. (a) “Sexual contact,” for the purposes of sections 609.343, subdi-
vision 1, clauses (a) to (f), and 609.3435, subdivision !, clauses (a) to (e), and (h)
to @e (1), includes any of the following acts committed without the complain-
ant’s consent, except in those cases where consent is not a defense, and commit-
ted with sexual or aggressive intent:

(i) the intentional touching by the actor of the complainant’s intimate parts,
or

(ii) the touching by the complainant of the actor’s, the complainant’s, or
another’s intimate parts effected by coercion or the use of a position of author-
ity, or by inducement if the complainant is under 13 years of age or mentally
impaired, or

(iii) the touching by another of the complainant’s intimate parts effected by
coercion or the use of a position of authority, or

(iv) in any of the cases above, the touching of the clothing covering the
immediate area of the intimate parts.
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(b) “Sexual contact,” for the purposes of sections 609.343, subdivision 1,
clauses (g) and (h), and 609.345, subdivision 1, clauses (f) and (g), includes any
of the following acts committed with sexual or aggressive intent:

(i) the intentional touching by the actor of the complainant’s intimate parts;

(ii) the touching by the complainant of the actor’s, the complainant’s, or
another’s intimate parts;

(iii) the touching by another of the complainant’s intimate parts; or

(iv) in any of the cases listed above, touching of the clothing covering the
immediate area of the intimate parts.

(c) “Sexual contact with a person under 13” means the intentional touching
of the complainant’s bare genitals or anal opening by the actor’s bare genitals or
anal opening with sexual or aggressive intent or the touching by the complain-
ant’s bare genitals or anal opening of the actor’s or another’s bare genitals or
anal opening with sexual or aggressive intent.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609,3451, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. CRIME DEFINED. A person is guilty of criminal sexual
conduct in the fifth degree;

(1) if the person engages in nonconsensual sexual contact; or

(2) the person engages in masturbation or lewd exhibitign of the genitals in
the presence of a minor under the age of 16, knowing or having reason to know
the minor is present.

For purposes of this section, “sexual contact” has the meaning given in sec-
tion 609.341, subdivision 11, paragraph (a), clauses (i) and (iv), but does not
include the intentional touching of the clothing covering the immediate area of
the buttocks. Sexual contact also includes the intentional removal or attempted
removal of clothing covering the complainant’s intimate parts or undergarments,
if the action is performed with sexual or aggressive intent.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.485, subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. ACTS PROHIBITED. Whoever does any of the following may be
sentenced as provided in subdivision 4:

(1) escapes while held in lawful custody on a charge or conviction of a
crime, or while held in lawful custody on an allegation or adjudication of a
delinquent act while 18 years of age;

(2) transfers to another, who is in lawful custody on a charge or conviction
of a crime, or introduces into an institution in which the latter is confined, any-
thing usable in making such escape, with intent that it shall be so used;
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(3) having another in lawful custody on a charge or conviction of a crime,
intentionally permits the other to escape; er

(4) escapes while in a facility designated under section 253B.18, subdivision
1, pursuant to a court commitment order after a finding of not guilty by reason
of mental illness or mental deficiency of a crime against the person, as defined in
section 253B.02, subdivision 4a. Notwithstanding section 609.17, no person
may be charged with or convicted of an attempt to commit a violation of this
clause; or

(5) escapes while in a facility designated under section 253B.18, subdivision
1, pursuant to a court commitment order under section 253B.1835 or 526.10.

For purposes of clause (1), “escapes while held in lawful custody” includes
absconding from electronic monitoring or absconding after removing an elec-
tronic monitoring device from the person’s body.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.485, subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4. SENTENCE. (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 3a,
whoever violates this section may be sentenced as follows:

(1) if the person who escapes is in lawful custody on a charge or conviction
of a felony, to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine
of not more than $10,000, or both;

(2) if the person who escapes is in lawful custody after a finding of not guilty
by reason of mental iliness or mental deficiency of a crime against the person, as
defined in section 253B.02, subdivision 4a, or pursuant to a court commitment
order under section 253B.185 or 526.10, to imprisonment for not more than one
year and one day or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both; or

(3) if such charge or conviction is for a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor,
or if the person who escapes is in lawful custody on an allegation or adjudication
of a delinquent act while 18 years of age, to imprisonment for not more than
one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both.

(b) If the escape was a violation of subdivision 2, clause (1), (2), or (3), and
was effected by violence or threat of violence against a person, the sentence may
be increased to not more than twice those permitted in paragraph (a), clauses (1)
and (3).

(c) Unless a concurrent term is specified by the court, a sentence under this
section shall be consecutive to any sentence previously imposed or which may
be imposed for any crime or offense for which the person was in custody when
the person escaped.

(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), if a person who was committed to the
commissioner of corrections under section 260.185 escapes from the custody of
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the commissioner while 18 years of age, the person’s sentence under this section
shall commence on the person’s 19th birthday or on the person’s date of dis-
charge by the commissioner of corrections, whichever occurs first. However, if
the person described in this clause is convicted under this section after becom-
ing 19 years old and after having been discharged by the commissioner, the per-
son’s sentence shall commence upon imposition by the sentencing court.

(e) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), if a person who is in lawful custody on
an allegation or adjudication of a delinquent act while 18 years of age escapes
from a local juvenile correctional facility, the person’s sentence under this sec-
tion begins on the person’s 19th birthday or on the person’s date of discharge
from the jurisdiction of the juvenile court, whichever occurs first. However, if
the person described in this paragraph is convicted after becoming 19 years old
and after discharge from the jurisdiction of the juvenile court, the person’s sen-
tence begins upon imposition by the sentencing court.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.746, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. SURREPTITIOUS INTRUSION; OBSERVATION
DEVICE. (a) A person is guilty of a misdemeanor who;

(1) enters upon another’s property;

(2) surreptitiously gazes, stares, or peeps in the window or any other aper-
ture of a house or place of dwelling of another; and

(3) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of a
member of the household.

(b) A person is guilty of a misdemeanor who:
(1) enters upon another’s property;

(2) surreptitiously installs or uses any device for observing, photographing,
recording, amplifying, or broadcasting sounds or events through the window or
any other aperture of a house or place of dwelling of another; and

(3) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of a
member of the houschold.

(c) A person is guilty of a misdemeanor who:

(1) surreptitiously gazes, stares, or peeps in the window or other aperture of
a sleeping room in a hotel, as defined in section 327.70, subdivision 3, a tanning
booth, or other place where a reasonable person would have an expectation of
privacy and has exposed or is likely to expose their intimate parts, as defined in
section 609,341, subdivision 5, or the clothing covering the immediate area of
the intimate parts; and
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(2) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of the
occupant.

(d) A person is guilty of a misdemeanor who:

(1) surreptitiously installs or uses any device for observing, photographing,
recording, amplifying, or broadcasting sounds or events through the window or
other aperture of a sleeping room in a hotel, as defined in section 327.70, subdi-
vision 3, a tanning booth, or other place where a reasonable person would have
an expectation of privacy and has exposed or is likely to expose their intimate
parts, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 5, or the clothing covering the
immediate area of the intimate parts; and

(2) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of the
occupant.

(e) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if the person violates this sub-
division after a previous conviction under this subdivision or section 609.749.

) Paragraph (b) dees (f) Paragraphs (b) and (d) do not apply to law

enforcement officers or corrections investigators, or to those acting under their
direction, while engaged in the performance of their lawful duties. Paragraphs
(c) and (d) do not apply to conduct in: (1) a medical facility; or (2) a commercial
establishment if the owner of the establishment has posted conspicuous signs
warning that the premises are under surveillance by the owner or the owner’s

employees.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.749, subdivision 35, is
amended to read:

Subd. 5. PATTERN OF HARASSING CONDUCT. (a) A person who
engages in a pattern of harassing conduct with respect to a single victim or one
or more members of a single household in a manner that would cause a reason-
able person under the circumstances to feel terrorized or to fear bodily harm and
that does cause this reaction on the part of the victim, is guilty of a felony and
may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of
a fine of not more than $20,000, or both.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, a “pattern of harassing conduct” means
two or more acts within a five-year period that violate the provisions of any of

the following:
(1) this section;
(2) section 609.713;
(3) section 609.224,
(4) section 518B.01, subdivision 14;
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(5) section 609,748, subdivision 6;

(6) section 609.605, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), eleuse clauses (3), (4), and
)

(7) section 609.79; et

(8) section 609.795;

(9) section 609.582; or

(10) section 609.595.

Sec. 24, Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611.17, is amended to read:
611.17 FINANCIAL INQUIRY; STATEMENTS.

(a) Each judicial district must screen requests under paragraph (b).

(b) Upon a request for the appointment of counsel, the court shall make
appropriate inquiry into the financial circumstances of the applicant, who shall
submit a financial statement under oath or affirmation setting forth the appli-
cant’s assets and liabilities, including the value of any real property owned by
the applicant, whether homestead or otherwise, less the amount of any encum-
brances on the real property, the source or sources of income, and any other
information required by the court. The applicant shall be under a continuing
duty while represented by a public defender to disclose any changes in the appli-
cant’s financial circumstances that might be relevant to the applicant’s eligibility
for a public defender. The state public defender shall furnish appropriate forms
for the financial statements. The forms must contain conspicuous notice of the
applicant’s continuing duty to disclose to the court changes in the applicant’s
financial circumstances. The information contained in the statement shall be
confidential and for the exclusive use of the court and the public defender
appointed by the court to represent the applicant except for any prosecution
under section 609.48. A refusal to execute the financial statement or produce
financial records constitutes a waiver of the right to the appointment of a public
defender.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611.20, subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. REIMBURSEMENT. In each fiscal year, the state treasurer shall
deposit the first $180,000 in the general fund. Payments in excess of $180,000
shall be deposited in the general fund and credited to a separate account with
the board of public defense. The amount credited to this account is appropriated
to the board of public defense te reimburse the eosts of attorneys providing part~
time publie defense serviees.

The balance of this account does not cancel but is available until expended.
Expenditures by the board from this account for each judicial district public
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defense office must be based on the amount of the payments received by the
state from the courts in each judicial district.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611.20, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd. 4. EMPLOYED DEFENDANTS. A defendant who is employed
when a public defender is appointed, or who becomes employed while repre-

defender. The court may accept partial reimbursement from the defendant if the
defendant’s financial circumstances warrant a reduced reimbursement schedule.
The court may consider the guidelines in subdivision 6 in determining a defen-
dant’s reimbursement schedule. If a defendant does not agree to make payments,
the court may order the defendant’s employer to withhold a percentage of the
defendant’s income to be turned over to the court. The percentage to be with-
held may be determined under subdivision 6.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611.20, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd. 5. REIMBURSEMENT RATE. Legal fees required to be reimbursed
under subdivision 4, shall be determined by multiplying the total number of

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611.20, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd, 6. REIMBURSEMENT SCHEDULE GUIDELINES. In determin-
ing a defendant’s reimbursement schedule, the court may derive a specific dollar

amount per month by multiplying the defendant’s net income by the percent
indicated by the following guidelines:

Net Income Per Number of Dependents
Month of Defendant Not Including Defendant
dor 3 2 1 9
more
$200 and Below Percentage based on the ability of
the defendant to pay as determined
by the court.
$200-350 8% 9.5% 11% 12.5%  14%
$351 - 500 9% 1%  12.5% 14%  15%
$501 -650 10% 12% 14% 15% 17%
$651 -800 11% 13.5% 15.5% 17% 19%
$801 and above 12% 145% 17% 19% 20%

“Net income” shall have the meaning given it in section 518.551, subdivi-

sion 3.

New language is indicated by underline, deletions by strileeout.

Copyright © 1995 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.




1795 - LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1995 Ch. 226, Art. 2

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611.20, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read: ,

Subd. 7. INCOME WITHHOLDING. (a) Whenever an obligation for
reimbursement of public defender costs is ordered by a court under this section,
the amount of reimbursement as determined by court order must be withheld

the reimbursement order on the defendant’s emplover. Notwithstanding any law
to the contrary, the order is binding on the employer when served. Withholding
must begin no later than the first pay period that occurs after 14 days following

the date of the notice. The emplover shall withhold from the income payable to

withheld to the court.

(b) An employer shall not discharge, or refuse to hire, or otherwise disci-
pline an employee as a result of a wage or salary withholding authorized by this
section. The emplover shall be liable to the court for any amounts required to be
withheld. An employer that fails to withhold or transfer funds in accordance

required to be withheld. An emplover that has failed to comply with the require-
ments of this section is subject to contempt of court.

(c) Amounts withheld under this section do not supersede or have priority
over amounts withheld pursuant to other sections of law.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611.35, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Any person who is represented by a public defender or
appointive counsel shall, if financially able to pay, reimburse the governmental
unit chargeable with the compensation of such public defender or appointive
counsel for the actual costs to the governmental unit in providing the services of
the public defender or appointive counsel. The court in hearing such matter
shall ascertain the amount of such costs to be charged to the defendant and shall
direct reimbursement over a period of not to exceed six months, unless the court
for good cause shown shall extend the period of reimbursement. If a term of pro-
bation is imposed as a part of a sentence, reimbursement of costs as required by
this subdivisien may chapter must not be made a condition of probation. Reim-
bursement of costs as required by this chapter is a civil obligation and must not
be made a condition of a criminal sentence.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 617.23, is amended to read:
617.23 INDECENT EXPOSURE; PENALTIES.

Exery (a) A person is guilty of a misdemeanor who shel} in any public place,
or in any place where others are present:
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(1) willfully and lewdly expese exposes the person’s body, or the private

parts thereof; in any publie plaee; of in any plece where others are present; or
shall proeure;

(2) procures another to expose private parts; and every perser whe shel be
sailty of] or

(3) engages in any open. or gross lewdness or lascivious behavior, or any
public indecency other than hereinbefore behavior specified; shell be guilty of a
misdemeaner in clause (1) or (2) or this clause.

(b) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if}

(1) the person violates this section in the presence of a minor under the age
of 16; or

(2) the person violates this section after having been previously convicted of
violating this section, sections 609.342 to 609.3451, or a statute from another
state in conformity with any of those sections.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 624.712, subdivision 5, is
amended to read:

Subd. 5. CRIME OF VIOLENCE. “Crime of violence” includes murder in
the first, second, and third degrees, mansiaughter in the first and second degrees,
aiding suicide, aiding attempted suicide, felony violations of assault in the first,
second, third, and fourth degrees, assaults motivated by bias under section
609.2231, subdivision 4, terroristic threats, use of drugs to injure or to facilitate
crime, crimes committed for the benefit of a gang, commission of a crime while
wearing or possessing a bullet-resistant vest, simple robbery, aggravated robbery,
kidnapping, false imprisonment, criminal sexual conduct in the first, second,
third, and fourth degrees, theft of a firearm, arson in the first and second
degrees, riot, burglary in the first, second, third, and fourth degrees, harassment
and stalking, shooting at a public transit vehicle or facility, reckless use of a gun
or dangerous weapon, intentionally pointing a gun at or towards a human being,
setting a spring gun, and unlawfully owning, possessing, operating a machine
gun or short-barreled shotgun, and an attempt to commit any of these offenses,
as each of those offenses is defined in chapter 609. “Crime of violence” also
includes felony violations of the following: malicious punishment of a child;
neglect or endangerment of a child; and chapter 152.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 626.13, is amended to read:

626.13 SERVICE; PERSONS MAKING.

A search warrant may in all cases be served anywhere within the issuing

judge’s county by any of the officers mentioned in its directions, but by no other
person, except in aid of the officer on the officer’s requiring it, the officer being
present and acting in its execution. If the warrant is to be served by an agent of
the bureau of criminal apprehension, an agent of the division of gambling
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enforcement, a state patrol trooper, or a conservation officer, the agent, state
patrol trooper, or conservation officer shall notify the chief of police of an orga-
nized full-time police department of the municipality or, if there is no such local
chief of police, the sheriff or a deputy sheriff of the county in which service is to
be made prior to execution.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 626.861, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. LEVY OF ASSESSMENT. There is levied a penalty assess-
ment of 15 percent on each fine imposed and collected by the courts of this state
for traffic offenses in violation of chapters 168 to 173 or equivalent local ordi-
nances, other than a fine or forfeiture for a violation of a local ordinance or
other law relating to the parking of a vehicle. In cases where the defendant is
convicted but a fine is not imposed, or execution of the fine is stayed, the court
shall impose a penalty assessment of not less than $5 nor more than $10 when
the conviction is for a misderseaner or petty misdemeanor, and shall impose a
penalty assessment of not less than $40 $25 but not more than $50 when the
conviction is for a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony. Where multiple
offenses are involved, the penalty assessment shall be assessed separately on each
offense for which the defendant is sentenced. If imposition or execution of sen-
tence is stayed for all of the multiple offenses, the penalty assessment shall be
based upon the most serious offense of which the defendant was convicted,
Where the court suspends a portion of a fine, the suspended portion shall not be
counted in determining the amount of the penalty assessment unless the
offender is ordered to pay the suspended portion of the fine. Suspension of an
entire fine shall be treated as a stay of execution for purposes of computing the
amount of the penalty assessment.

Sec. 35. ‘Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 628.26, is amended to read:
628.26 LIMITATIONS.

(2) Indictments or complaints for murder may be found or made at any
time after the death of the person killed.

{b) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.42, subdivision 1,
clause (1) or (2), shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within six
years after the commission of the offense.

(c) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.342 to 609.345 if
the victim was under the age of 18 years at the time the offense was committed,
shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within seven nine years
after the commission of the offense or, if the victim failed to report the offense
within this limitation period, within three years after the offense was reported to
law enforcement authorities.

(d) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.342 to 609.344 if
the victim was 18 years old or older at the time the offense was committed, shall
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be found or made and filed in the proper court within seves nine years after the
commission of the offense.

(e) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.466 and 609.52,
subdivision 2, clause (3)(c) shall be found or made and filed in the proper court
within six years after the commission of the offense.

(O Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.52, subdivision 2,
clause (3), items (a) and (b), (4), (15), or (16), 609.631, or 609.821, where the
value of the property or services stolen is more than $35,000, shall be found or
made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission of the

offense.

(g) Except for violations relating to false material statements, representa-
tions or omissions, indictments or complaints for violations of section 609.671
shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within five years after the
commission of the offense.

(h) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.561 to 609.563,
shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within five years after the
commission of the offense.

(i) In all other cases, indictments or complaints shall be found or made and
filed in the proper court within three years after the commission of the offense.

(j) The limitations periods contained in this section shall exclude any period
of time during which the defendant was not an inhabitant of or usually resident
within this state.

(k) The limitations periods contained in this section for an offense shall not
include any period during which the alleged offender participated under a writ-
ten agreement in a pretrial diversion program relating to that offense.

(1) The limitations periods contained in this section shall not include any
period of time during which physical evidence relating to the offense was under-
going DNA analysis, as defined in section 299C.155, unless the defendant dem-
onstrates that the prosecuting or law enforcement agency purposefully delayed
the DNA analysis process in order to gain an unfair advantage.

Sec. 36. Laws 1993, chapter 146, article 2, section 31, is amended to read:
Sec. 31. REPEALER.

Seetion 20, subdivision 3; is repealed June 36; 957 Minnesota Statutes
1992, section 270B.14, subdivision 12, is repealed June 30, 1995.

Sec. 37. ELECTRONIC ALCOHOL MONITORING OF DWI OFFEND-
ERS; PILOT PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1, DEFINITIONS. As used in this section, the following terms
have the meaning given them in this subdivision.
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(a) “Breath analyzer unit” means a device that performs breath alcohol test-
ing and is connected to a remote electronic alcohol monitoring system,

(b) “Remote electronic alcohol monitoring system” means a system that
electronically monitors the alcohol concentration of individuals in their homes
to ensure compliance w1th court-ordered conditions of pretrial release, super-
y_l_s@ release, or probation.

Subd. 2. PILOT PROGRAM ESTABLISHED. In cooperation with the
conference of chief judges, the state court admlmstrator, and the commissioner
of public afety, the commissioner of corrections shall ‘establish a three-year
pllot program to ‘evaluate the effectiveness of using ¢ breath analyzer units to
monitor DWI offenders who are ordered to abstain from alcohol use as a condi-
tion of pretrial release, uperwsed release, or probation. The m program must
include procedures ensuring that v1olators of this condition of release receive
swift consequences for the violation,

The commissioner of corrections shall select at least two judicial districts to
partlcxpat in the pilot program. Oﬁ‘enders who are ordered to use a breath ana-

]ud101al districts for any costs the districts i incur in participating | in the grogram

After three years, the commissioner of corrections shall evaluate the effec-

ference of chief judges, the state ¢ court administrator, the commissioner of publlc
safety, and the chairg of the house of representatives and senate committees hav-
ing jurisdiction over criminal justice policy and finance,

Sec. 38. EFFECTIVE DATES.

mitted Q_I}_ or gft_er that date Section 35 is effective _J___y 1, 1995, and applies to
crimes committed on or after that date, and to crimes committed before that
date if the limitations period for for th the offense d d1d not expire before July 1, 1995. 1995,
Sectlons 81019, 22,23, 31, 32, and 34, are effectlve July 1, 1995, and apply to
crimes committed on or after that date Sections | to 11047, 2410 & 33,36, and
37, are effective Jul 1 1995,
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ARTICLE 3
JUVENILE JUSTICE

Section 1. [8.36] ANNUAL REPORT ON SCHOOL SAFETY.

On or before January 15 of each year, the attorney general shall prepare a
report on safety in secondary and post-secondary schools. The report must
include an assessment and evaluation of the impact of existing laws and pro-
grams on school safety and antiviolence and include recommendations for
changes in law or policy that would increase the safety of schools and curb vio-
lence. The report must be submitted to the chairs of the senate and house of rep-
resentatives committees with jurisdiction over education and crime issues.

Sec. 2. [120.1045] BACKGROUND CHECK.

Subdivision 1. BACKGROUND CHECK REQUIRED. A school hiring
authority shall request a criminal history background check from the superinten-
dent of the bureau of criminal apprehension on all individuals who are offered
employment in the school. In order to be eligible for employment, an individual
who is offered employment must provide an executed criminal history consent
form and a money order or cashier’s check payable to the bureau of criminal
apprehension for the fee for conducting the criminal history background check.
A school may charge a person offered employment an additional fee of up to $2
to cover the school’s costs under this section. The superintendent shall perform
the background check by retrieving criminal history data maintained in the

criminal justice information system computers.

Subd. 2. CONDITIONAL HIRING; DISCHARGE. A school hiring
authority may hire an individual pending completion of a background check
under subdivision 1 but shall notify the individual that the individual’s employ-
ment may be terminated based on the result of the background check. A school
hiring authority is not liable for failing to hire or for terminating an individual’s
employment based on the result of a background check under this section.

hiring authorities of home schools.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 120.14, is amended to read:
120.14 ATTENDANCE OFFICERS.

The board of any district may authorize the employment of attendance offi-
cers, who shall investigate truancy or nonattendance at school, make complaints,
serve notice and process, and attend to the enforcement of all laws and district
rules regarding school attendance. When any attendance officer learns of any
case of habitual truancy or continued nonattendance of any child required to
attend school the officer shall immediately notify the person having control of
such child to forthwith send to and keep the child in school. The attendance
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officer shall also refer a habitual truant child as defined in section 260.015, sub-
division 19, and the child’s parent or legal guardian to appropriate services and
procedures under chapter 260A, if available within the school district. Atten-
dance officers or other designated school officials shall ensure that the notice
required by section 260A.03 for a child who is a continuing truant is sent. The
officer shall act under the general supervision of the district superintendent.

Sec. 4. [120.1811] RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT FACILITIES; EDUCA-
TION.

Subdivision 1. EDUCATIONAL SCREENING. Secure and nonsecure resi-
dential treatment facilities licensed by the department of human services or the
department of corrections shall screen each juvenile who isheld in a facﬂlty for
at least 72 hours, excluding weekends or hohdays, using an educational screen-
ing tool ; tool identified by the department of education, unless the facility determines
that the juvenile has a current individual education plan and obtains a copy of of
it, The department of education shall develop or identify an education screening
tool for use in residential facilities. ] The tool must include | a life skills develop-

ment component,

Subd. 2. RULEMAKING, The state board of education m may, in consulta-
tion with | }h_g commissioners of corrections and human services, make or amend

rules relating to education programs in residential treatment facilities, 1f neces-
sary, {o 1mplement this section.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 120.73, is amended by adding a |
subdivision to read:

Subd. 2b. SCHOOL UNIFORMS. Notwithstanding section 120.74, a
school board m may require students to furnish or purchase clothing 1 that consti-
tutes a school uniform if the board has adopted | a uniform requirement or pro-
gram for the student’s “school. In adopting a uniform 1 egulrementz the board
shall promote student, staff, parent, and community involvement in the program
and account for the financial ability of of students to purchase uniforms.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 125.05, is amended by adding a ‘
subdivision to read: |

Subd. 8. BACKGROUND CHECKS. (a) The board of teaching and the |
state board of of education shall request a criminal his history background check from
the supermtendent of the bureau of criminal apprehension on all applicants for
initial licenses under their jurisdiction, An application for a license under th1s
section must be accompanied by:

(1) an executed criminal history consent form, including fingerprints; and

(2) a money order or cashier’s check payable to the bureau of criminal
Qprehensw for the fee for conducting the criminal h1story background check.

(b) The superintendent of the bureau of criminal apprehension shall per-
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form the background check required under paragraph (a) by retrieving criminal
history data maintained in the criminal justice information system computers
and shall also conduct a search of the national criminal records repository,

dent is authorized to exchange fingerprints with the Federal Bureau of Investiga-
tion for purposes of the criminal history check. The superintendent shall recover
the cost to the bureau of a background check through the fee charged to the
applicant under paragraph (a).

(c) The board of teaching or the state board of education may issue a license
pending completion of a background check under this subdivision, but shall
notify the individual that the individual’s license may be revoked based on the
result of the background check.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 125.09, subdivision 1, is amended
to read:

Subdivision 1. GROUNDS FOR REVOCATION, SUSPENSION, OR
DENIAL. The board of teaching or the state board of education, whichever has
jurisdiction over a teacher’s licensure, may, on the written complaint of the
school board employing a teacher, er of a teacher organization, or ef any other
interested person, which complaint shall specify the nature and character of the
charges, refuse to issue, refuse to renew, suspend, or revoke sueh a teacher’s
license to teach for any of the following causes:

(1) Immoral character or conduct;

(2) Failure, without justifiable cause, to teach for the term of the teacher’s
contract;

(3) Gross inefficiency or willful neglect of duty; or
(4) Failure to meet licensure requirements; or
(5) Fraud or misrepresentation in obtaining a license.

For purposes of this subdivision, the board of teaching is delegated the
authority to suspend or revoke coaching licenses under the jurisdiction of the
state board of education.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 127.20, is amended to read:

127.20 VIOLATIONS; PENALTIES.

Any person who fails or refuses to provide for instruction of a child of
whom the person has legal custody, and who is required by section 120.101, sub-
division 5, to receive instruction, when notified so to do by a truant officer or
other official, or any person who induces or attempts to induce any such child
unlawfully to be absent from school, or who knowingly harbors or employs,
while school is in session, any child unlawfully absent from school, shall be
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guilty of a misdemeanor and; upen eonviction; shall be punished by a fine of not
merethan%@;efby%mpﬂseﬁmemfefﬂefmefe%haﬂ%days.ﬂéﬂﬁnes;
when collected; shall be paid into the county treasury for the benefit of the
school district in which the offense is committed.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 127.27, subdivision 10, is
amended to read:

Subd. 10. “Suspension” means an action taken by the school administra-
tion, under rules promulgated by the school board, prohibiting a pupil from
attending school for a period of no more than five ten school days. If a suspen-
sion is longer than five days, the suspending administrator must provide the
superintendent with a reason for the longer suspension. This definition does not
apply to dismissal from school for one school day or less. Each suspension
action shall include a readmission plan. The readmission plan shall include,
where appropriate, a provision for alternative programs to be implemented upon
readmission. Suspension may not be consecutively imposed against the same
pupil for the same course of conduct, or incident of misconduct, except where
the pupil will create an immediate and substantial danger to surrounding per-
sons or property. In no event shall suspension exceed 15 school days, provided
that an alternative program shall be implemented to the extent that suspension
exceeds five days.

Sec. 10. [127.282] EXPULSION FOR POSSESSION OF FIREARM.

(a) Notwithstanding the time limitation in section 127.27, subdivision 5, a
school board must expel for a period of at least one year a pupil who is deter-
mined to have brought a firearm to school except the board may modify this
expulsion requirement for a pupil on a case-by-case basis. For the purposes of
this section, firearm is as defined in United States Code, title 18, section 921.

(b) Notwithstanding chapter 13, a student’s expulsion or withdrawal or
transfer from a school after an expulsion action is initiated against the student
for a weapons violation under paragraph (a) may be disclosed by the school dis-
trict initiating the expulsion proceeding. Unless the information is otherwise
public, the disclosure may be made only to another school district in connection
with the possible admission of the student to the other district.

Sec. 11. [127.47) SCHOOL LOCKER POLICY.

Subdivision 1. POLICY. It is the policy of the state of Minnesota that:

“School lockers are the property of the school district. At no time does the |
school district relinquish its exclusive control of lockers provided for the conve- |
nience of students. Inspection of the interior of lockers may be conducted by |
school authorities for any reason at any time, without notice, without student }
consent, and without a search warrant. The personal possessions of students
within a school locker may be searched only when school authorities have a rea-

sonable suspicion that the search will uncover evidence of a violation of law or
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school rules. As soon as practicable after the search of a student’s personal pos-
sessions, the school authorities must provide notice of the search to students

whose lockers were searched unless disclosure would impede an ongoing investi-
gation by police or school officials.”

Subd. 2. DISSEMINATION. The locker policy must be disseminated to
parents and students in the way that other policies of general application to stu-
dents are disserminated. A copy of the policy must be provided to a student the
first time after the policy is effective that the student is given the use of a locker,

Sec. 12. [127.48] POLICY TO REFER FIREARMS POSSESSOR.

Each school board must have a policy requiring the appropriate school offi-
cial to, as soon as practicable, refer to the criminal justice or juvenile delin-
quency system, as appropriate, any pupil who brings a firearm to school

unlawfully.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 171.04, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. PERSONS NOT ELIGIBLE. The department shall not
issue a driver’s license hereunder:

(1) To any person who is under the age of 16 years; to any person under 18
years unless such person shall have successfully completed a course in driver
education, including both classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction, approved
by the state board of education for courses offered through the public schools,
or, in the case of a course offered by a private, commercial driver education
school or institute, by the department of public safety; except when such person
has completed a course of driver education in another state or has a previously
issued valid license from another state or country; nor to any person under 18
years unless the application of license is approved by either parent when both
reside in the same household as the minor applicant, otherwise the parent or
spouse of the parent having custody or with whom the minor is living in the
event there is no court order for custody, or guardian having the custody of such
minor, or in the event a person under the age of 18 has no living father, mother
or guardian, the license shall not be issued to such person unless the application
therefor is approved by the person’s employer. Driver education courses offered
in any public school shall be open for enrollment to persons between the ages of
15 and 18 years residing in the school district or attending school therein. Any
public school offering driver education courses may charge an enrollment fee for
the driver education course which shall not exceed the actual cost thereof to the
public school and the school district. The approval required herein shall contain
a verification of the age of the applicant;

(2) To any person whose license has been suspended during the period of
suspension except that a suspended license may be reinstated during the period
of suspension upon the licensee furnishing proof of financial responsibility in the
same manner as provided in the Minnesota no-fault automobile insurance act;
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(3) To any person whose license has been revoked except upon furnishing
proof of financial responsibility in the same manner as provided in the Minne-
sota no-fault automobile insurance act and if otherwise qualified;

(4) To any person who is a drug dependent person as defined in section
254A.02, subdivision 5;

(5) To any person who has been adjudged legally incompetent by reason of
mental illness, mental deficiency, or inebriation, and has not been restored to
capacity, unless the department is satisfied that such person is competent to
operate a motor vehicle with safety to persons or property;

(6) To any person who is required by this chapter to take an examination,
unless such person shall have successfully passed such examination;

(7) To any person who is required under the provisions of the Minnesota
no-fault automobile insurance act of this state to deposit proof of financial
responsibility and who has not deposited such proof;

(8) To any person when the commissioner has good cause to believe that the
operation of a motor vehicle on the highways by such person would be inimical
to public safety or welfare;

(9) To any person when, in the opinion of the commissioner, such person is
afflicted with or suffering from such physical or mental disability or disease as
will affect such person in a manner to prevent the person from exercising reason-
able and ordinary control over a motor vehicle while operating the same upon
the highways; nor to a person who is unable to read and understand official signs
regulating, warning, and directing traffic;

(10) To a child for whom a court has ordered denial of driving privileges
under section 260.191, subdivision 1, or 260.195, subdivision 3a, until the
period of denial is completed; or

(11) To any person whose license has been canceled, during the period of
cancellation.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 242.31, subdivision I, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Whenever a person who has been committed to the custody
of the commissioner of corrections upon conviction of a crime following certifi-
cation to distriet eourt under the provisions of section 260.125 is finally dis-
charged by order of the commissioner, that discharge shall restore the person to
all civil rights and, if so ordered by the commissioner of corrections, also shall
have the effect of seiting aside the conviction, nullifying it and purging the per-
son of it. The commissioner shall file a copy of the order with the district court
of the county in which the conviction occurred; upon receipt, the court shall
order the conviction set aside. An order setting aside a conviction for a crime of
violence as defined in section 624,712, subdivision 5, must provide that the per-
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son is not entitled to ship, transport, possess, or receive a firearm until ten years
have elapsed since the order was entered and during that time the person was
not convicted of any other crime of violence. A person whose conviction was set
aside under this section and who thereafter has received a relief of disability
under United States Code, title 18, section 925, shall not be subject to the
restrictions of this subdivision.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.015, subdivision 21, is
amended to read:

Subd. 21. JUVENILE PETTY OFFENDER; JUVENILE PETTY
OFFENSE. (a) “Juvenile petty offense” includes a juvenile alcohol offense, a
juvenile controlled substance offense, a violation of section 609.685, or a viola-
tion of a local ordinance, which by its terms prohibits conduct by a child under
the age of 18 years which would be lawful conduct if committed by an adult.

(b) “Juvenile petty offense” also includes an offense, other than a violation
of section 609.224, 609.324, 609.563, 609.576, or 617.23, that would be a mis-
demeanor if committed by an adult if:

(1) the child has not been found to be a juvenile petty offender on more

than two prior occasions for a misdemeanor-level offense;

(2) the child has not previously been found to be delinquent for a misde-
meanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony offense; or

(3) the county attorney designates the child on the petition as a juvenile
petty offender, notwithstanding the child’s prior record of misdemeanor-level
juvenile petty offenses.

(c) A child who commits a juvenile petty offense is a “juvenile petty offend-

”»

€r.

Sec. 16. [260.042] ORIENTATION AND EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM.

by the supreme court.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.115, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. TRANSFERS REQUIRED. Except where a juvenile court
has certified an alleged violation te distriet eeurt in accordance with the provi-
sions of section 260.125, the child is alleged to have committed murder in the
first degree after becoming 16 years of age, or a court has original jurisdiction of
a child who has committed an adult court traffic offense, as defined in section
260.193, subdivision 1, clause (c), a court other than a juvenile court shall
immediately transfer to the juvenile court of the county the case of a minor who
appears before the court on a charge of violating any state or local law or ordi-
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nance and who is under 18 years of age or who was under 18 years of age at the
time of the commission of the alleged offense.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.125, is amended to read:
260.125 CERTIFICATION ¥O BISTRICT COURT,

Subdivision 1. When a child is alleged to have committed, after becoming
14 years of age, an offense that would be a felony if committed by an adult, the
Jjuvenile court may enter an order certifying the proceeding te the distriet eourt
for action under the eriminal Jaws under the laws and court procedures control-
ling adult criminal violations.

Subd. 2. ORDER OF CERTIFICATION; REQUIREMENTS. Except as
provided in subdivision 3a or 3b, the juvenile court may order a certification to
distriet eeurt only if:

(1) a petition has been filed in accordance with the provisions of section
260.131;

(2) a motion for certification has been filed by the prosecuting authority;

(3) notice has been given in accordance with the provisions of sections
260.135 and 260.141;

(4) a hearing has been held in accordance with the provisions of section
260.155 within 30 days of the filing of the certification motion, unless good
cause is shown by the prosecution or the child as to why the hearing should not
be held within this period in which case the hearing shall be held within 90 days
of the filing of the motion;

(5) the court finds that there is probable cause, as defined by the rules of
criminal procedure promulgated pursuant to section 480.059, to believe the
child committed the offense alleged by delinquency petition; and

(6) the court finds either:

(i) that the presumption of certification created by subdivision 2a applies
and the child has not rebutted the presumption by clear and convincing evi-
dence demonstrating that retaining the proceeding in the juvenile court serves
public safety; or

(ii) that the presumption of certification does not apply and the prosecuting |
authority has demonstrated by clear and convincing evidence that retaining the |
proceeding in the juvenile court does not serve public safety. If the court finds
that the prosecutor has not demonstrated by clear and convincing evidence that
retaining the proceeding in juvenile court does not serve public safety, the court
shall retain the proceeding in juvenile court,

Subd. 2a. PRESUMPTION OF CERTIFICATION. It is presumed that a
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proceeding involving an offense committed by a child will be certified to distriet
eeurt ift

(1) the child was 16 or 17 years old at the time of the offense; and

(2) the delinquency petition alleges that the child committed an offense that
would result in a presumptive commitment to prison under the sentencing
guidelines and applicable statutes, or that the child committed any felony
offense while using, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or oth-
erwise employing, a firearm.

If the court determines that probable cause exists to believe the child committed
the alleged offense, the burden is on the child to rebut this presumption by dem-
onstrating by clear and convincing evidence that retaining the proceeding in the
juvenile court serves public safety. If the court finds that the child has not rebut-
ted the presumption by clear and convincing evidence, the court shall certify the

child to distriet eourt proceeding.

Subd. 2b. PUBLIC SAFETY. In determining whether the public safety is
served by certifying & ehild to distriet eourt the matter, the court shall consider
the following factors:

(1) the seriousness of the alleged offense in terms of community protection,
including the existence of any aggravating factors recognized by the sentencing
guidelines, the use of a firearm, and the impact on any victim;

(2) the culpability of the child in committing the alleged offense, including
the level of the child’s participation in planning and carrying out the offense and
the existence of any mitigating factors recognized by the sentencing guidelines;

(3) the child’s prior record of delinquency;

(4) the child’s programming history, including the child’s past willingness to
participate meaningfully in available programming;

(5) the adequacy of the punishment or programming available in the juve-
nile justice system; and

(6) the dispositional options available for the child.

In considering these factors, the court shall give greater weight to the seriousness
of the alleged offense and the child’s prior record of delinquency than to the
other factors listed in this subdivision.

Subd. 3a. PRIOR CERTIFICATION; EXCEPTION. Notwithstanding the
provisions of subdivisions 2, 2a, and 2b, the court shall order a certification in
any felony case if the prosecutor shows that the child has been previously prose-
cuted on a felony charge by an order of certification issued pursuant to either a
hearing held under subdivision 2 or pursuant to the waiver of the right to such
a hearing, other than a prior certification in the same case.
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This subdivision only applies if the child is convicted of the offense or
offenses for which the child was prosecuted pursuant to the order of certification
or of a lesser-included offense which is a felony.

This subdivision does not apply to juvenile offenders who are subject to
criminal court jurisdiction under section 609.055.

Subd. 3b. ADULT CHARGED WITH JUVENILE OFFENSE. The juve-
nile court has jurisdiction to hold a certification hearing on motion of the prose-
cuting authority to certify the matter te distriet eoust if:

(1) an adult is alleged to have committed an offense before the adult’s 18fh
birthday; and

(2) a petition is filed under section 260,131 before expiration of the time for
filing under section 628.26.

The court may not certify the matter to distriet eourt under this subdivision if
the adult demonstrates that the delay was purposefully caused by the state in
order to gain an unfair advantage.

Subd. 4. EFFECT OF ORDER. When the juvenile court enters an order
certifying an alleged violation te distriet eoust, the prosecuting authority shall
proceed with the case as if the jurisdiction of the juvenile court had never
attached.

Subd. 5. WRITTEN FINDINGS; OPTIONS. The court shall decide
whether to order certification e distriet eourt within 15 days after the certifica-
tion hearing was completed, unless additional time is needed, in which case the
court may extend the period up to another 15 days. If the juvenile court orders
certification, and the presumption described in subdivision 2a does not apply,
the order shall contain in writing, findings of fact and conclusions of law as to
why public safety is not served by retaining the proceeding in the juvenile court.
If the juvenile court, after a hearing conducted pursuant to subdivision 2,
decides not to order certification e distriet eourt, the decision shall contain, in
writing, findings of fact and conclusions of law as to why certification is not
ordered. If the juvenile court decides not to order certification in a case in which
the presumption described in subdivision 2a applies, the court shall designate
the proceeding an extended jurisdiction juvenile prosecution and include in its
decision written findings of fact and conclusions of law as to why the retention
of the proceeding in juvenile court serves public safety, with specific reference to
the factors listed in subdivision 2b. If the court decides not to order certification
in a case in which the presumption described in subdivision 2a does not apply,
the court may designate the proceeding an extended jurisdiction juvenile prose-
cution, pursuant to the hearing process described in section 260.126, subdivision

Subd. 6. FIRST-DEGREE MURDER. When a motion for certification has
been filed in a case in which the petition alleges that the child committed mur-
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der in the first degree, the prosecuting authority shall present the case to the
grand jury for consideration of indictment under chapter 628 within 14 days

after the petition was filed.

Subd. 7. INAPPLICABILITY TO CERTAIN OFFENDERS. This section
does not apply to a child excluded from the definition of delinquent child under
section 260.015, subdivision 5, paragraph (b).

“Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.126, subdivision 5, is
amended to read:

Subd. 5. EXECUTION OF ADULT SENTENCE. When it appears that a
person convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile has violated the conditions
of the stayed sentence, or is alleged to have committed a new offense, the court
may, without notice, revoke the stay and probation and direct that the offender
be taken into immediate custody. The court shall notify the offender in writing
of the reasons alleged to exist for revocation of the stay of execution of the adult
sentence. If the offender challenges the reasons, the court shall hold a summary
hearing on the issue at which the offender is entitled to be heard and represented
by counsel. After the hearing, if the court finds that reasons exist to revoke the
stay of execution of sentence, the court shall treat the offender as an adult and
order any of the adult sanctions authorized by section 609.14, subdivision 3. If
the offender was convicted of an offense described in subdivision 1, clause (2),
and the court finds that reasons exist to revoke the stay, the court must order
execution of the previously imposed sentence unless the court makes written
findings regarding the mitigating factors that justify continuing the stay. Upon
revocation, the offender’s extended jurisdiction status is terminated and juvenile
court jurisdiction is terminated. The ongoing jurisdiction for any adult sanction,
other than commitment to the commissioner of corrections, is with the adult

court.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.131, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd. 1b. CHILD IN NEED OF PROTECTION OR SERVICES; HABIT-
UAL TRUANT. If there is a school attendance review board or county attorney
mediation program operating in the child’s school district, a petition alleging
that a child is in need of protection or services as a habitual truant under section
260.0135, subdivision 2a, clause (12), may not be filed until the applicable proce-
dures under section 260A.06 or 260A.07 have been exhausted.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.131, subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4. DELINQUENCY PETITION; EXTENDED JURISDICTION
JUVENILE. When a prosecutor files a delinquency petition alleging that a child
committed a felony offense for which there is a presumptive commitment to
prison according to the sentencing guidelines and applicable statutes or in which
the child used a firearm, after reaching the age of 16 years, the prosecutor shall

New language is indicated by underline, deletions by strilecout.

Copyright © 1995 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.




1811 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1995 Ch. 226, Art. 3
indicate in the petition whether the prosecutor designates the proceeding an
extended jurisdiction juvenile prosecution. When a prosecutor files a delin-
quency petition alleging that a child aged 14 to 17 years committed a felony
offense, the prosecutor may request that the tourt designate the proceeding an
extended jurisdiction juvenile prosecution.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.132, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. NOTICE, When a peace officer, or attendance officer in the
case of a habitual truant, has probable cause to believe that a child:

(1) is in need of protection or services under section 260.015, subdivision
2a, clause (11) or (12);

(2) is a juvenile petty offender; or

(3) has committed a delinquent act that would be a petty misdemeanor or
misdemeanor if committed by an adult;

the officer may issue a notice to the child to appear in juvenile court in the
county in which the child is found or in the county of the child’s residence or, in
the case of a juvenile petty offense, or a petty misdemeanor or misdemeanor
delinquent act, the county in which the offense was committed. If there is a
school attendance review board or county attorney mediation program operating
in the child’s school district, a notice to appear in juvenile court for a habitual
truant may not be issued until the applicable procedures under section 260A.06
or or 260A.07 have been exhausted, The officer shall file a copy of the notice to
appear with the juvenile court of the appropriate county. If a child fails to
appear in response to the notice, the court may issue a summons notifying the
child of the nature of the offense alleged and the time and place set for the hear-

ing. If the peace officer finds it necessary to take the child into custody, sections
260.165 and 260.171 shall apply.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.132, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd. 3a. NO RIGHT TO COUNSEL AT PUBLIC EXPENSE. A child

lleged to be a juvenile petty offender may be represented by counsel, but does

not have : a rxght to appointment of a public defender or other counsel at pubhc
expense. :

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.132, subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4. TRUANT. When a peace officer or probation officer has probable
cause to believe that a child is currently under age 16 and absent from school
without lawful excuse, the officer may transport the child to the child’s home
and deliver the child to the custody of the child’s parent or guardian, transport
the child to the child’s school of enrollment and deliver the child to the custody
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of a school superintendent or teachei or transport the child to a truancy service
center under section 260A.04, subdivision 3. Fer purpeses of this subdivision; &
WWW%&M%WMWMW%
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the following: ‘

() assisting in eoordinating intervention efforts where appropriate;
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truant to the custedy of the parent er guardian; and

4 facilitating the truantls earliest pessible return to schoek

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.155, subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL. (a) The child, parent, guardian
or custodian hawve has the right to effective assistance of counsel in connection
with a proceeding in Juvemle court unless the child is charged with a juvenile
petty offense as defined in section 260.015, subd1v1s1on 21. Before & child whe is
ehafgeébydelmqaeneypemwﬂm%h&mméemeaﬁefeﬁeﬂsewmvestheﬂghﬁe
eounsel or enters a ples; the ehild shall consult in persen with eounsel whe shall
pmﬁde&f&ﬂ&ndiﬂ%dﬁgibleaeplaﬁaﬁeﬁef%heehﬂdlsﬁgh{&Thecounshall
appoint counsel, or stand-by counsel if the child waives the right to counsel, for
a child who is:

(1) charged by delinquency petition with a gross misdemeanor or felony
offense; or

(2) the subject of a delinquency proceeding in which out-of-home placement
has been proposed.

(b) If they desire counsel but are unable to employ it, the court shall appoint
counsel to represent the child or the parents or guardian in any ether case in
which it feels that such an appointment is desirable, except a juvenile petty
offense as defined in section 260.015, subdivision 21.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.161, subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. PEACE OFFICER RECORDS OF CHILDREN. (a) Except for
records relating to an offense where proceedings are public under section
260.155, subdivision 1, peace officers’ records of children who are or may be
delinguent or who may be engaged in criminal acts shall be kept separate from
records of persons 18 years of age or older and are private data but shall be dis-
seminated: (1) by order of the juvenile court, (2) as required by section 126.036,
(3) as authorized under section 13.82, subdivision 2, (4) to the child or the
child’s parent or guardian unless disclosure of a record would interfere with an
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ongoing investigation, or (5) as otherwise provided in this subdivision. Except as
provided in paragraph (c), no photographs of a child taken into custody may be
taken without the consent of the juvenile court unless the child is alleged to have
violated section 169.121 or 169.129. Peace officers’ records containing data
about children who are victims of crimes or witnesses to crimes must be admin-
istered consistent with section 13.82, subdivisions 2, 3, 4, and 10. Any person
violating any of the provisions of this subdivision shall be guilty of a misde-
meanor.

In the case of computerized records maintained about juveniles by peace
officers, the requirement of this subdivision that records about juveniles must be
kept separate from adult records does not mean that a law enforcement agency
must keep its records concerning juveniles on a separate computer system. Law
enforcement agencies may keep juvenile records on the same computer as adult
records and may use a common index to access both juvenile and adult records
so long as the agency has in place procedures that keep juvenile records in a sep-
arate place in computer storage and that comply with the special data retention
and other requirements associated with protecting data on juveniles.

(b) Nothing in this subdivision prohibits the exchange of information by law
enforcement agencies if the exchanged information is pertinent and necessary to
the requesting agency in initiating, furthering, or completing a criminal investi-
gation,

{c) A photograph may be taken of a child taken into custody pursuant to
section 260.165, subdivision 1, clause (b), provided that the photograph must be
destroyed when the -child reaches the age of 19 years. The commissioner of cor-
rections may photograph juveniles whose legal custody is transferred to the com-
missioner. Photographs of juveniles authorized by this paragraph may be used
only for institution management purposes, case supervision by parole agents,
and to assist law enforcement agencies to apprehend juvenile offenders. The
commissioner shall maintain photographs of juveniles in the same manner as
juvenile court records and names under this section.

(d) Traffic investigation reports are open to inspection by a person who has
sustained physical harm or economic loss as a result of the traffic accident. Iden-
tifying information on juveniles who are parties to traffic accidents may be dis-
closed as authorized under section 13.82, subdivision 4, and accident reports
required under section 169.09 may be released under section 169.09, subdivi-
sion 13, unless the information would identify a juvenile who was taken into
custody or who is suspected of committing an offense that would be a crime if
committed by an adult, or would associate a juvenile with the offense, and the
offense is not a minor traffic offense under section 260.193.

(e) A law enforcement agency shall notify the principal or chief administra-
tive officer of a juvenile’s school of an incident occurring within the agency’s
Jjurisdiction if:

(1) the agency has probable cause to believe that the juvenile has committed
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an offense that would be a crime if committed as an adult, that the victim of the
offense is a student or staff member of the school, and that notice to the school
is reasonably necessary for the protection of the victim; or

(2) the agency has probable cause to believe that the juvenile has committed
an offense described in subdivision 1b, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3), that
would be a crime if committed by an adult, regardless of whether the victim is
a student or staff member of the school.

A law enforcement agency is not required to notify the school under this
paragraph if the agency determines that notice would jeopardize an ongoing
investigation. Notwithstanding section 138.17, data from a notice received from
a law enforcement agency under this paragraph must be destroyed when the
juvenile graduates from the school or at the end of the academic year when the
juvenile reaches age 23, whichever date is earlier. For purposes of this para-
graph, “school” means a public or private elementary, middle, or secondary

school.

(® In any county in which the county attorney operates or authorizes the
operation of a juvenile prepetition or pretrial diversion program, a law enforce-
ment agency or county attorney’s office may provide the juvenile diversion pro-
gram with data concerning a juvenile who is a participant in or is being
considered for participation in the program.

(g) Upon request of a local social service agency, peace officer records of
children who are or may be delinquent or who may be engaged in criminal acts
may be disseminated to the agency to promote the best interests of the subject of

the data.
Sec. 27. [260.1735] EXTENSION OF DETENTION PERIOD.

Before July 1, 1997, and pursuant to a request from an eight-day temporary
holdover facﬂltyi as defined in section 241.0221, the commissioner of correc-
tions, or the commissioner’s desxgnee, may grant a one-time extension per child
1o the eight- day limit on detention under this chapter. This extension may allow
such a facility to detain a child for up to 30 days including weekends and holi-
days. Upon the expiration of the extension, the child may not be transferred to
another eight-day temporary holdover facility. The commissioner shall develop
criteria for granting extensions under this section. These criteria must ensure
that the ‘child be transferred to a long-term juvenile detention facility as soon as
such a “a transfer is possible. Nothmg in this section changes the requirements in
section 260.172 regarding the necessity of detention hearings to determine
whether continued detention o_f the child is proper.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.181, subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4. TERMINATION OF JURISDICTION. (2) The court may dis-
miss the petition or otherwise termiinate its jurisdiction on its own motion or on
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the motion or petition of any interested party at any time. Unless terminated by
the court, and except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, the jurisdiction
of the court shall continue until the individual becomes 19 years of age if the
court determines it is in the best interest of the individual to do so. Court juris-
diction under section 260.015, subdivision 2a, clause (12), may not continue
past the child’s 17th birthday.

(b) The jurisdiction of the court over an extended jurisdiction juvenile, with
respect to the offense for which the individual was convicted as an extended
jurisdiction juvenile, extends until the offender becomes 21 years of age, unless
the court terminates jurisdiction before that date.

(c) The juvenile court has jurisdiction to designate the proceeding an
extended jurisdiction juvenile prosecution, to hold a certification hearing, or to
conduct a trial, receive a plea, or impose a disposition under section 260.126,
subdivision 4, if:

(1) an adult is alleged to have committed an offense before the adult’s 18th
birthday; and

(2) a petition is filed under section 260,131 before expiration of the time for
filing under section 628.26 and before the adult’s 21st birthday.

The juvenile court lacks jurisdiction under this paragraph if the adult demon-
strates that the delay was purposefully caused by the state in order to gain an
unfair advantage.

(d) The district court has original and exclusive jurisdiction over a proceed-
ing:

(1) that involves an adult who is alleged to have committed an offense
before the adult’s 18th birthday; and

(2) in which a criminal complaint is filed before expiration of the time for
filing under section 628.26 and after the adult’s 21st birthday.

The juvenile court retains jurisdiction if the adult demonstrates that the
delay in filing a criminal complaint was purposefully caused by the state in order |
to gain an unfair advantage. |

(e) The juvenile court has jurisdiction over a person who has been Ladjudi-
cated delinquent until the person’s 21st birthday if the person fails to appear at
any juvenile court hearing or fails to appear at or absconds from any placement
under a juvenile court order. The juvenile court has jurisdiction over a con-
victed extended jurisdiction juvenile who fails to appear at any juvenile court
hearing or fails to appear at or absconds from any placement under section
260.126, subdivision 4. The juvenile court lacks jurisdiction under this para-
graph if the adult demonstrates that the delay was purposefully caused by the
state in order to gain an unfair advantage.
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Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.185, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd. 1b. COMMITMENT TO SECURE FACILITY; LENGTH OF
STAY; TRANSFERS. An adjudicated juvenile may not be placed in a licensed
juvenile secure treatment facility unless the placement is approved by the juve-
nile court. However, the program administrator may determine the juvenile’s
length of stay in the secure portion of the facility. The administrator shall notify
the court of any movement of juveniles from secure portions of facilities. How-
ever, 11_1_@ court may, in its discretion, order that the juveniles be moved back to
secure portions of the facility.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.185, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd. l¢. PLACEMENT OF JUVENILES IN SECURE FACILITIES;
REQUIREMENTS. Before a postadjudication placement of a juvenile in a
secure treatment facility either inside or outside the state, the court may:

(1) consider whether the juvenile has been adjudicated for a felony offense
against the person or that jn addition to the current adjudication, the juvenile
has failed to appear in court on one or more occasions or has run away from

home on one or more occasxons,

(2) conduct a subjective assessment to determine whether the child is a dan-
ger to self or others or would abscond from a nonsecure facility ¢ or if the child’s
health or or welfare would be endangered if not placed in a secure acxlxty,

(3) conduct a culturally appropriate psychological gvaluation which includes
a functional assessment of anger and abuse issues; and

(4) conduct an educational and physical assessment of the juvenile.

In determining whether to order secure placement, the court shall consider
the necessity of

(1) protecting the public;

(2) protecting program residents and staff; and

(3) preventing juveniles with histories of absconding from leaving treatment
programs.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.191, subdivision I, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. DISPOSITIONS. (a) If the court finds that the child is in
need of protection or services or neglected and in foster care, it shall enter an
order making any of the following dispositions of the case:

(1) place the child under the protective supervision of the local social ser-
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vices agency or child-placing agency in the child’s own home under conditions
prescribed by the court directed to the correction of the child’s need for protec-
tion or services;

(2) transfer legal custody to one of the following:
(i) a child-placing agency; or
(ii) the local social services agency.

In placing a child whose custody has been transferred under this paragraph,
the agencies shall follow the order of preference stated in section 260.181, subdi-
vision 3;

(3) if the child is in need of special treatment and care for reasons of physi-
cal or mental health, the court may order the child’s parent, guardian, or custo-
dian to provide it. If the parent, guardian, or custodian fails or is unable to
provide this treatment or care, the court may order it provided. The court shall
not transfer legal custody of the child for the purpose of obtaining special treat-
ment or care solely because the parent is unable to provide the treatment or
care. If the court’s order for mental health treatment is based on a diagnosis
made by a treatment professional, the court may order that the diagnosing pro-
fessional not provide the treatment to the child if it finds that such an order is in
the child’s best interests; or

(4) if the court believes that the child has sufficient maturity and judgment
and that it is in the best interests of the child, the court may order a child 16
years old or older to be allowed to live independently, either alone or with oth-
ers as approved by the court under supervision the court considers appropriate,
if the county board, after consultation with the court, has specifically authorized
this dispositional alternative for a child.

(b) If the child was adjudicated in need of protection or services because the
child is a runaway or habitual truant, the court may order any of the following
dispositions in addition to or as alternatives to the dispositions authorized
under paragraph (a):

(1) counsel the child or the child’s parents; guardian, or custodian;

(2) place the child under the supervision of a probation officer or other suit-
able person in the child’s own home under conditions prescribed by the court,
including reasonable rules for the child’s conduct and the conduct of the parents,
guardian, or custodian, designed for the physical, mental, and moral well-being
and behavior of the child; or with the consent of the commissioner of correc-
tions, place the child in a group foster care facility which is under the commis-
sioner’s management and supervision;

(3) subject to the court’s supervision, transfer legal custody of the child to
one of the following:
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(i) a reputable person of good moral character. No person may receive cus-
tody of two or more unrelated children unless licensed to operate a residential
program under sections 245A.01 to 245A.16; or

(ii) a county probation officer for placement in a group foster home estab-
lished under the direction of the juvenile court and licensed pursuant to section
241,021,

(4) require the child to pay a fine of up to $100. The court shall order pay-
ment of the fine in a manner that will not impose undue financial hardship upon
the child;

(5) require the child to participate in a community service project;

(6) order the child to undergo a chemical dependency evaluation and, if
warranted by the evaluation, order participation by the child in a drug aware-
ness program or an inpatient or outpatient chemical dependency treatment pro-

gram;

(7) if the court believes that it is in the best interests of the child and of
public safety that the child’s driver’s license or instruction permit be canceled,
the court may recommend te order the commissioner of public safety that to
cancel the child’s license be esneeled or permit for any period up to the child’s

may order a denial of driving privileges for any period up to the child’s 18th
birthday. The court shall forward an order issued under this clause to the com-
missioner is autherized to, who shall cancel the license or permit or deny driving
privileges without a hearing for the period specified by the court. At any time
before the expiration of the period of cancellation or denial, the court may, for
good cause, reeommend to order the commissioner of public safety thet to allow
the child be autherized 1o apply for a sew license or permit, and the commis-
sioner mey shall so authorize; er

(8) order that the child’s parent or legal guardian deliver the child to school
at the beginning of each school day for a period of time specified by the court; or

(9) require the child to perform any other activities or participate in any
other treatment programs deemed appropriate by the court.

() If a child who is 14 years of age or older is adjudicated in need of protec-
tion or services because the child is a habitual truant and truancy procedures
involving the child were previously dealt with by a school attendance review
board or county attorney mediation program under section 260A.06 or 260A.07,
the court shall order a cancellation or denial of driving privileges under para-

graph (b), clause (7), for any period up to the child’s 18th birthday.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.193, subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4. ORIGINAL JURISDICTION; JUVENILE COURT. The juve-
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nile court shall have original jurisdiction if the ekild is alleged to have eommit-
ted beth mejor and adult eourt traffic offenses in the same behavioral ineident
over:

(1) all juveniles age 15 and under alleged to have committed any traffic
offense; and

(2) 16- and 17-year-olds alleped to have committed any major traffic offense,
except that the adult court has original jurisdiction over:

(i) petty traffic misdemeanors not a part of the same behavioral incident of
a misdemeanor being handled in juvenile court; and

(ii) violations of sections 169.121 (drivers under the influence of alcohol or
controlled substance) and 169.129 (agpravated driving while intoxicated), and
any other misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor level traffic violations committed
as part of the same behavioral incident of a violation of section 169.121 or
169.129.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.195, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd. 2a, NO RIGHT TO COUNSEL AT PUBLIC EXPENSE. A child
alleged to be a juvenile petty offender may be represented by counsel, but does
not have a right to appointment of a public defender or other counsel at public
expense.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.195, subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. DISPOSITIONS. If the juvenile court finds that a child is a petty
offender, the court may:

(a) require the child to pay a fine of up to $100;

(b) require the child to participate in a community service project;
(c) require the child to participate in a drug awareness program;
(d) place the child on probation for up to six months;

(e) order the child to undergo a chemical dependency evaluation and if war-
ranted by this evaluation, order participation by the child in an inpatient ef out-
patient chemical dependency treatment program; e

(f) order the child to make restitution to the victim; or

(g) perform any other activities or participate in any other outpatient treat-
ment programs deemed appropriate by the court.

In all cases where the juvenile court finds that a child has purchased or
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attempted to purchase an alcoholic beverage in violation of section 340A.503, if
the child has a driver’s license or permit to drive, and if the child used a driver’s
license, permit or Minnesota identification card to purchase or attempt to pur-
chase the alcoholic beverage, the court shall forward its finding in the case and
the child’s driver’s license or permit to the commissioner of public safety. Upon
receipt, the commissioner shall suspend the child’s license or permit for a period
of 90 days.

None of the dispositional alternatives described in clauses (a) to ¢e) (f) shall
be imposed by the court in a manner which would cause an undue hardship
upon the child.

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.215, subdivision [, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. CERTAIN VIOLATIONS NOT CRIMES. A violation of a
state or local law or ordinance by a child before becoming 18 years of age is not
a crime unless the juvenile court:

(1) certifies the matter to the distriet eenirt in accordance with the provisions
of section 260.125;

(2) transfers the matter to a court in accordance with the provisions of sec-
tion 260.193; or

(3) convicts the child as an extended jurisdiction juvenile and subsequently
executes the adult sentence under section 260.126, subdivision 5.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.291, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. PERSONS ENTITLED TO APPEAL; PROCEDURE. (a)
An appeal may be taken by the aggrieved person from a final order of the juve-
nile court affecting a substantial right of the aggrieved person, including but not
limited to an order adjudging a child to be in need of protection or services,
neglected and in foster care, delinquent, or a juvenile traffic offender. The appeal
shall be taken within 30 days of the filing of the appealable order. The court
administrator shall notify the person having legal custody of the minor of the
appeal. Failure to notify the person having legal custody of the minor shall not
affect the jurisdiction of the appellate court. The order of the juvenile court shall
stand, pending the determination of the appeal, but the reviewing court may in
its discretion and upon application stay the order.

(b) An appeal may be taken by an aggrieved person from an order of the
juvenile court on the issue of certification of a ehild to distriet eourt matter for
prosecution under the laws and court procedures controlling adult criminal vio-

lations. Certification appeals shall be expedited as provided by applicable rules.

Sec. 37. [260A.01] TRUANCY PROGRAMS AND SERVICES.
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The programs in this chapter are designed to provide a continuum of inter-
vention and services to support families and children in keeping children in
school and combating truancy and educational neglect. School districts, county
attorneys, and law enforcement may establish the programs and coordinate them
with other community-based truancy services in order to provide the necessary
and most effective intervention for children and their families. This continuum
of intervention and services involves progressively intrusive intervention, begin-
ning with strong service-oriented efforts at the school and community level and
involving the court’s authority only when necessary.

Sec. 38. [260A.02] DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. SCOPE. The definitions in this section apply to this chapter.

Subd. 2. BOARD. “Board” means a school attendance review board created
under section 260A.05.

Subd. 3. CONTINUING TRUANT. “Continuing truant” means a child
who is subject to the compulsory instruction requirements of section 120.101
and is absent from instruction in a school, as defined in section 120.05, without
valid excuse within a single school year for:

(2) three or more class periods on three days if the child is in middle school,
junior high school, or high school.

A child is not a continuing truant if the child is withdrawn from school by
the child’s parents because of a dispute with the school concerning the provision
of special education services under the Individuals with Disabilities Education
Act or accommodations and modifications under the Americans with Disabili-
ties Act, if the parent makes good faith efforts to provide the child educational
services from any other source. No parent who withdraws a child from school
during a dispute with the school concerning the provision of special education
services or accommodations and modifications is required to file home school
papers, if the parent provides written notice to the department of education or |
the district of the plan for the child’s education.
|

Nothing in this section shall prevent a school district from notifying a tru-
ant child’s parent or legal guardian of the child’s truancy or otherwise addressing
a child’s attendance problems prior to the child becoming a continuing truant.

Sec. 39. [260A.03] NOTICE TO PARENT OR GUARDIAN WHEN |
CHILD IS A CONTINUING TRUANT. |

Upon a child’s initial classification as a continuing truant, the school atten-
dance officer or other designated school official shall notify the child’s parent or
legal guardian, by first-class mail or other reasonable means, of the following;

(1) that the child is truant;
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(2) that the parent or guardian should notify the school if there is a valid
excuse for the child’s absences;

(3) that the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the
child at school pursuant to section 120.101 and parents or guardians who fail to
meet this obligation may be subject to prosecution under section 127.20;

(4) that this notification serves as the notification required by section
127.20;

(5) that alternative educational programs and services may be available in
the district;

(6) that the parent or guardian has the right to meet with appropriate school
personnel to discuss solutions to the child’s truancy;

(7) that if the child continues to be truant, the parent and child may be sub-
ject to juvenile court proceedings under chapter 260;

(8) that if the child is subject to juvenile court proceedings, the child may be
subject to suspension, restriction, or delay of the child’s driving privilege pursu-
ant to section 260.191; and

Sec. 40. [260A.04] COMMUNITY-BASED TRUANCY PROJECTS AND
SERVICE CENTERS.

Subdivision 1. ESTABLISHMENT. (a) Community-based truancy projects
and service centers may be established to:

(1) provide for identification of students with school attendance problems;

(2) facilitate the provision of services geared to address the underlying
issues that are contributing to a student’s truant behavior; and

(3) provide facilities to receive truant students from peace officers and pro-
bation officers.

(b) Truancy projects and service centers may provide any of these services
and shall provide for referral of children and families to other appropriate pro-

grams and services.

Subd. 2. COMMUNITY-BASED ACTION PROJECTS. Schools, commu-
nity agencies, law enforcement, parent associations, and other interested groups
may cooperate to provide coordinated intervention, prevention, and educational
services for truant students and their families. Services may include:

(1) assessment for underlying issues that are contributing to the child’s tru-
ant behavior;
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(2) referral to other community-based services for the child and family, such
as individual or family counseling, educational testing, psychological evalua-
tions, tutoring, mentoring, and mediation;

(3) transition services to integrate the child back into school and to help the |
child succeed once there;

(4) culturally sensitive programming and staffing; and

(5) increased school response, including in-school suspension, better atten-
dance monitoring and enforcement, after-school study programs, and in-service
training for teachers and staff,

Subd. 3. TRUANCY SERVICE CENTERS. (a) Truancy service centers
may be established as facilities to receive truant students from peace officers and
probation officers and provide other appropriate services. A truancy service cen-
ter may:

(1) assess a truant student’s attendance situation, including enrollment sta-
tus, verification of truancy, and school attendance history;

(2) assist in coordinating intervention efforts where appropriate, including
checking with juvenile probation and children and family services to determine
whether an active case is pending and facilitating transfer to an appropriate
facility, if indicated; and evaluating the need for and making referral to a health
clinic, chemical dependency treatment, protective services, social or recreational
programs, or other school or community-based services and programs described
in subdivision 2;

(3) contact the parents or legal guardian of the truant student and release
the truant student to the custody of the parents, guardian, or other suitable per-
son; and

(4) facilitate the student’s earliest possible return to school.

(b) Truancy service centers may not aceept:

committed by adults;

(2) intoxicated juveniles;

(3) ill or injured juveniles; or

(4) juveniles older than mandatory school attendance age.

(o) Truancy service centers may expand their service capability in order to
receive curfew violators and take appropriate action, such as coordination of

intervention efforts, contacting parents, and developing strategies to ensure that
parents assume responsibility for their children’s curfew violations,
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Sec. 41. [260A.05] SCHOOL ATTENDANCE REVIEW BOARDS.

Subdivision 1. ESTABLISHMENT. A school district may establish one or
more school attendance review boards to exercise the powers and duties in this
section, The school district board shall appoint the members of the school atten-
dance review board and designate the schools within the board’s jurisdiction.
Members of a school attendance review board may include:

(1) the superintendent of the school district or the superintendent’s desig-
nee;

(2) a principal and one or more other school officials from within the dis-
ot

trict;

(3) parent representatives;

(4) representatives from community agencies that provide services for tru-
ant students and their families;

(5) a juvenile probation officer;

(6) school counselors and attendance officers: and

(7) law enforcement officers.

Subd. 2. GENERAL POWERS AND DUTIES. A school attendance review
board shall prepare an annual plan to promote interagency and community
cooperation and to reduce duplication of services for students with school atten-
dance problems. The plan shall include a description of truancy procedures and
services currently in operation within the board’s jurisdiction, including the pro-
grams and services under section 260A.04. A board may provide consultant ser-
vices to, and coordinate activities of, truancy programs and services.

Subd. 3. OVERSIGHT OF TRUANT STUDENTS. A school attendance
review board shall oversee referrals of truant students and provide appropriate
intervention and services under section 260A.06. The board shall establish pro-
cedures for documenting student attendance and verifying actions and interven-
tions with respect to truant students and their families.

Sec. 42. [260A.06] REFERRAL OF TRUANT STUDENTS TO SCHOOL
ATTENDANCE REVIEW BOARD.

Subdivision 1. REFERRAL; NOTICE. An attendance officer or other school

review board. The person making the referral shall provide a written notice by
first class mail or other reasonable means to the student and the student’s parent
or legal guardian. The notice must include the name and address of the board to
which the student has been referred and the reason for the referral and indicate
that the student, parent or legal guardian, and the referring person will meet
with the board to determine a proper disposition of the referral.
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Subd. 2. MEETING; COMMUNITY SERVICES, The school attendance
review board shall schedule the meeting described in subdivision | and provide
notice of the meeting by first class mail or other reasonable means to the stu-
dent, parent or guardian, and referring person. If the board determines that
available community services may resolve the attendance problems of the truant
student, the board shall refer the student or the student’s parent or guardian to
participate in the community services. The board may develop an agreement
with the student and parent or guardian that specifies the actions to be taken,
The board shall inform the student and parent or guardian that failure to com-
ply with any agreement or to participate in appropriate community services will
result in a referral to the county attorney under subdivision 3. The board may
require the student or parent or guardian to provide evidence of participation in
available community services or compliance with any agreement,

Subd. 3. REFERRAL TO COUNTY ATTORNEY; OTHER APPROPRI-
ATE ACTION. If the school attendance review board determines that available
community services cannot resolve the attendance problems of the truant stu-
dent or if the student or the parent or guardian has failed to comply with any

referrals or agreements under subdivision 2 or to otherwise cooperate with the
board, the board may:

(1) refer the matter to the county attorney under section 260A.07, if the
county attorney has ¢lected to participate in the truancy mediation program; or

(2) if the county attorney has not elected to participate in the truancy medi-
ation program, refer the matter for appropriate legal action against the child or
the child’s parent or guardian under chapter 260 or section 127.20.

Sec. 43. [260A.07) COUNTY ATTORNEY TRUANCY MEDIATION
PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. ESTABLISHMENT; REFERRALS. A county attorney may
establish a truancy mediation program for the purpose of resolving truancy
problems without court action. If a student is in a school district that has estab- |
lished a school attendance review board, the student may be referred to the |

district has not established a board, the student may be referred to the county
attorney by the school district if the student continues o be truant after the par-
ent or guardian has been sent or conveved the notice under section 260A.03.

Subd. 2. MEETING; NOTICE. The county attorney may request the par-
ent or legal guardian and the child referred under subdivision 1 to attend a
meeting to discuss the possible legal consequences of the minor’s truancy. The
notice of the meeting must be served personally or by certified mail at least five
days before the meeting on each person required to attend the meeting. The |
notice must include:

(1) the name and address of the person to whom the notice is directed;
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(2) the date, time, and place of the meeting;

(3) the name of the minor classified as a truant;

(4) the basis for the referral to the county attorney;

(5) a warning that a criminal complaint may be filed against the parents or
guardians pursuant to section 127.20 for failure to compel the attendance of the

(6) a statement that the meeting is voluntary.

Sec. 44. [299A.326] YOUTH NEIGHBORHOOD CENTERS; PILOT
PROJECTS ESTABLISHED.

Subdivision 1. ESTABLISHMENT; REQUIREMENTS. The commis-

sioner of public safety may establish up to three pilot projects at neighborhood

ational activities, social services, meals, job skills and career services, and pro-
vide referrals for youths to other available services outside the centers. The
commissioner may consult with other appropriate agencies and, to the extent
possible, use existing resources and staff in creating the programs. The commis-
sioner shall ensure that the programs, if offered, are adequately staffed by spe-
cially trained personnel and outreach street workers. Each center may integrate
community volunteers into the program’s activities and services and cooperate
with local law enforcement agencies. The centers must be open during hours
convenient to youths including evenings, weekends, and extended summer
hours. However, there may not be any conflicts with truancy laws. Each center
must have a plan for evaluation designed to measure the program’s effectiveness

in aiding youths.

Subd. 2. ADVISORY BOARD. The commissioner shall establish an advi-
sory board to help develop plans and programs for the youth centers established
in subdivision 1. The commissioner shall encourage both youths and their fami-
lies to participate on the board.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 364.09, is amended to read:

364.09 EXCEPTIONS.

(a) This chapter does not apply to the licensing process for peace officers; to
law enforcement agencies as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph
(h); to fire protection agencies; to eligibility for a private detective or protective
agent license; to eligibility for a family day care license, a family foster care
license, or a home care provider license; to eligibility for school bus driver
endorsements; or to eligibility for special transportation service endorsements.
This chapter also shall not apply te eligibility for & lieense issued or renewed by
the beard of teaching or state beard of edueation er to eligibility for juvenile
corrections employment, where the offense involved child physical or sexual
abuse or criminal sexual conduct.
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(b) This chapter does not apply to a school district or to eligibility for a
license issued or renewed by the board of teaching or the state board of educa-
tion.

(c) Nothing in this section preciudes the Minnesota police and peace officers
training board or the state fire marshal from recommending policies set forth in
this chapter to the attorney general for adoption in the attorney general’s discre-
tion to apply to law enforcement or fire protection agencies.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 466.03, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd. _18. SCHOOL BUILDING SECURITY. Any claim based on injury
arising out of a decision by a school or school district to obtain a fire code vari-
ance for purposes of school building security, if the decision was made in good
faith and in accordance with applicable law governing variances,

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.055, subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. ADULT PROSECUTION. (a) Except as otherwise provided in
paragraph (b), children of the age of 14 years or over but under 18 years may be
prosecuted for a felony offense if the alleged violation is duly certified ¢o the dis~
triet eourt for prosecution under the laws and court procedures controlling adult
criminal violations or may be designated an extended jurisdiction juvenile in
accordance with the provisions of chapter 260. A child who is 16 years of age or
older but under 18 years of age is capable of committing a crime and may be
prosecuted for a felony if:

(1) the child has been previously certified o the distriet eourt on a felony
charge pursuant to a hearing under section 260.125, subdivision 2, or pursuant
to the waiver of the right to such a hearing, or prosecuted pursuant to this subdi-
vision; and

(2) the child was convicted of the felony offense or offenses for which the
child was prosecuted or of a lesser included felony offense.

(b) A child who is alleged to have committed murder in the first degree after
becoming 16 years of age is capable of committing a crime and may be prose-
cuted for the felony. This paragraph does not apply to a child alleged to have
committed attempted murder in the first degree after becoming 16 years of age.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.605, subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4. TRESPASSES ON SCHOOL PROPERTY. (a) It is a misde-
meanor for a person to enter or be found in a public or nonpublic elementary,
middle, or secondary school building unless the person:

(1) is an enrolled student in, a parent or guardian of an enrolled student in,
or an employee of the school or school district;
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(2) has permission or an invitation from a school official to be in the build-
ing;

(3) is attending a school event, class, or meeting to which the person, the
public, or a student’s family is invited; or

(4) has reported the person’s presence in the school building in the manner
required for visitors to the school.

(b) It is a gross misdemeanor for a group of three or more persons to enter
or be found in a public or nonpublic elementary, middle, or secondary school

building unless one of the persons:

(1) is an enrolled student in, a parent or guardian of an enrolled student in,
or an employee of the school or school district;

ing;
(3) is attending a school event, class, or meeting to which the person, the
public, or a student’s family is invited; or

(4) has reported the person’s presence in the school building in the manner
required for visitors to the school.

(c) It is a misdemeanor for a person to enter or be found on school property
within six months after being told by the school principal or the principal’s des-
ignee to leave the property and not to return, unless the principal or the princi-
pal’s designee has given the person permission to return to the property. As used
in this paragraph, “school property” has the meaning given in section 152.01,
subdivision 14a, clauses (1) and (3).

) (d) A school principal or a school employee designated by the school
principal to maintain order on school property, who has reasonable cause to
believe that a person is violating this subdivision may detain the person in a rea-
sonable manner for a reasonable period of time pending the arrival of a peace
officer. A school principal or designated school employee is not civilly or crimi-
nally liable for any action authorized under this paragraph if the person’s action
is based on reasonable cause.

) (e) A peace officer may arrest a person without a warrant if the officer
has probable cause to believe the person violated this subdivision within the pre-
ceding four hours. The arrest may be made even though the violation did not
occur in the peace officer’s presence.

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 641.14, is amended to read:

641.14 JAILS; SEPARATION OF PRISONERS.

The sheriff of each county is responsible for the operation and condition of
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the jail, If construction of the jail permits, the sheriff shall maintain strict sepa-
ration of prisoners to the extent that separation is consistent with prisoners’ se-
curity, safety, health, and welfare. The sheriff shall not keep in the same room or
section of the jail:

(1) a minor under 18 years old and a prisoner who is 18 years old or older,
unless;

(i) the minor has been committed to the commissioner of corrections under
section 609.105 ex;

(ii) the minor has been referred for adult prosecution and the prosecuting
authority has filed a notice of intent to prosecute the matter for which the minor
is being held under section 260.125; or

years old and has been indicted for murder in the

first degree; and

(2) a female prisoner and a male prisoner; and

(3) a minor under 18 years old and an extended jurisdiction juvenile 18
years old or older who is alleged to have violated the conditions of the stay of
execution,

Sec. 50. AMENDMENTS TO RULES DIRECTED.

The commissioners of corrections and human services shall jointly amend
their licensing rules to:

(1) allow residential facilities to admit 18- and 19-year-old extended juris-
diction juveniles;

(2) require licensed facilities to develop policies and procedures for appro-
priate programming and housing separation of residents according to age; and

(3) allow the commissioners the authority to approve the policies and proce-
dures authorized by clause (2) for the facilities over which they have licensing
authority,

Sec. 51. COMMISSIONERS TO ADOPT RULES REGARDING
SECURE TREATMENT FACILITIES,

The commissioners of corrections and human services shall jointly adopt
licensing rules requiring all facilities to develop operating policies and proce-
dures for the continued use of secure treatment placement. These policies and
procedures must include timelines for the review of individual cases to deter-
mine the continuing need for secure placement and criteria for movement of
juveniles to less restrictive parts of the facilities.

Sec. §2. EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM FOR JUVENILE COURT PRO-
CESS,
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The supreme court is requested to establish, by January 1, 1997, an educa-
tional program explaining the juvenile court system for use in juvenile courts
under Minnesota Statutes, section 260.042. The program may include informa-
tion on court protocol and process. The court, in developing the program, may
invite input from juveniles and their families and may consult with attorneys,
judges, representatives of communities of color, and agencies and organizations

with expertise in the area of juvenile justice.

The court, in conjunction with these individuals and organizations, may

may direct that all professionals involved in the juvenile justice system assume
responsibility for the program’s implementation.

Sec. 53. WORK GROUP CREATED.

The commissioner of human services shall convene a work group to develop
a mechanism for including child maltreatment reports in the criminal history
background checks that are required to be performed on school employee and
teacher license applicants under Minnesota Statutes, sections 120.1045 and

raised by including these reports in the background checks and any other related
issues.

tion, the board of teaching, the school boards association, the commissioner of
education, and the superintendent of the bureau of criminal apprehension. The
work group shall report its findings and recommendations to the legislature by

January 15, 1996.

Sec. 54. COMMISSIONER OF CORRECTIONS; GRANTS TO COUN-
TIES FOR JUVENILE PROGRAMMING.

The commissioner of corrections shall provide grants to counties to provide
a comprehensive continuum of care to juveniles at high risk to become extended
jurisdiction juveniles or who are extended jurisdiction juveniles under the coun-
ty’s jurisdiction. '

Counties may apply to the commissioner for grants in a manner specified by
the commissioner but must identify the following in writing:

(1) the amount of money currently being spent by the county for juvenile
programming;

(2) what gaps currently exist in providing a comprehensive continqum of
care to juveniles within the county;

(3) what specific steps will be taken and what specific changes will be made
to existing programming to reduce the juvenile reoffense rate;

(4) what new programming will be provided to fill the gaps identified in
clause (2) and how it will Jower the juvenile reoffense rate;
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(5) how the new programming and services will address the culturally spe-
cific needs of juvenile offenders of color; and

(6) how the new programming and services will address the needs of female
juvenile offenders.

Counties that receive grants under this section shall inform the commis-
sioner by October 15, 1996, about the use of the grant money and their experi-
ences with the new programs and services funded by the grants. The
commissioner shall evaluate the grant program based on the information the
commissioner receives from counties and on any other information the commis-
sioner has and shall forward findings and recommendations to the chairs of the
senate crime prevention finance division and the house judiciary finance com-
mittee by January 15, 1997,

For purposes of this section, a comprehensive continuum of care may
include:

(2) tertiary prevention programs or services that are provided after violence
or antisocial conduct has occurred and which are designed to prevent its recur-
rence; '

(3) programs or services that are treatment focused and offer an opportunity
for rehabilitation;

(4) punishment of juveniles, as provided by applicable law, including long-
term secure postadjudication placement; and

(5) transition programs or services designed to reintegrate juveniles dis-
charged from residential programs into the community.

The commissioner shall encourage nongovernmental, community-based ser-
vices and programs to apply for granis under this section. None of the money
may be used to pay for current programs and services or for county attorney pre-
adjudicated juvenile diversion programs.

Sec. 55. YOUTH PLACEMENT PROFILE STUDY.

research agencies to study the profiles of juveniles placed at Red Wing and Sauk
Centre. By August 1, 1995, the commissioner shall contract to have the study
conducted. The agency selected to perform the study shall use a validated risk-
assessment instrument that determines the level of risk a juvenile presents based

- on the seriousness of the offense and past delinquency history and assesses the

juvenile’s treatment needs. The study must specifically examine the type of
offender placed in the facilities, make recommendations on whether current

placement policy makes optimal use of the facilities, and, if necessary, recom-
mend changes in placement policies. By February 15, 1996, the commissioner
shall report to the chairs of the senate crime prevention and house judiciary

committees on the results of the study.
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Sec. 56. TASK FORCE ON JUVENILE FACILITY ALTERNATIVES.

Subdivision 1. TASK FORCE ESTABLISHED. A task force is established
to study how services are provided to juveniles in residential facilities. The task
force shall study various residential juvenile offender programs, both public and
private. The task force shall develop plans addressing alternative methods by
which the services, programs, and responsibilities for the class of juvenile
offenders currently sent to the department of corrections facilities at Red Wing
and Sauk Centre may be provided.

Subd. 2. REPORT REQUIRED. The task force shall report its findings and

resentatives judiciary committees by February 15, 1996. The report must
include an analysis of the programmatic and demographic differences with spe-
cial emphasis on those methods and programs which have demonstrated rates of
success. The report must also outline how the programs, services, control, and

Sauk Centre could be delivered in ways that have the potential of reducing the
reoffense rates. The report must also include the cost-effectiveness and feasibility
of options, including private contracts for programs and services or local govern-
ment delivery of services and programs, the delivery of new and creative pro-
grams and services to these juveniles by the state, or any combination which has
the potential of reducing the rate of reoffending among this group of juvenile
offenders.

and locations for serving this class of juveniles and recommend alternative cost-
effective uses for the facilities. The question of the future use of either the Red

Wing or Sauk Centre facility is reserved until the 1996 legislative session has
considered the report of the task force.

Subd. 4. MEMBERSHIP. By July 1, 1995, the speaker of the house of rep-
resentatives and majority leader of the senate shall appoint individuals who
have demonstrated experience in the juvenile justice field and who are represen-
tatives or designees of the following to serve as members of the task force:

(1) the commissioner of corrections;

(2) a public defender,
(3) a prosecutor;

(4) two juvenile corrections specialists from nonpublic service providers;

(5) 2 juvenile court judge;

(6) a community corrections county;
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(7) a poncommunity corrections county;

(8) two public members, at least one of whom is a parent of a child who was
a client in the juvenile justice system;

(9) an educator; and

(10) one staff member from each facility, one of whom represents the union-
ized employees selected by the exclusive representative of that facility.

In addition, at least one majority and one minority member of the senate
and one majority and one minority member of the house of representatives shall
serve on the task force. After consultation with the commissioner of corrections,
the legislative members of the task force shall select jts chair.

Sec. 57. PLAN FOR TRACKING JUVENILE REOFFENSE RATE;
REPORT.

The criminal and juvenile justice information policy group, in cooperation
with the supreme court, the commissioner of corrections, and the superintendent

compiling the names of juvenile offenders and for tracking and reporting juve-
nile reoffense rates. This plan must examine the initial analysis and design work
done by the supreme court under Laws 1994, chapter 576, section 67, subdivi-
sion 8, to determine a timetable for implementing the plan and whether addi-

tional technology will be necessary. By January 15, 1996, the criminal and
juvenile justice information policy group shall report to the chairs of the senate
crime prevention and house judiciary committees on the plan.

Sec. 58. INSTITUTE FOR CHILD AND ADOLESCENT SEXUAL
HEALTH.

Subdivision 1. EXPANDED PROJECTS. The Institute for Child and Ado-
lescent Sexual Health shall continue to provide intervention services for children

currently receiving any treatment. The institute shall establish at least one pilot
project to develop and implement an earlier intervention strategies program for
younger children jdentified as high risk to become sex offenders.

Subd. 2. REPORT. The Institute for Child and Adolescent Sexual Health
shall report to the chairs of the senate crime prevention and house of representa-
tives judiciary committees before March 1, 1996, on the status and preliminary
findings of the pilot project.

Sec. 59. RAMSEY COUNTY; JUVENILE VIOLENCE PREVENTION
AND ENFORCEMENT UNIT; MEMBERS; DUTIES.

The county of Ramsey may establish a pilot project that creates a juvenile
violence prevention and enforcement unit consisting of one prosecutor, one
investigating officer, one legal assistant, and one victim/witness coordinator.
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The juvenile violence prevention and enforcement unit shall:

(1) target, investigate, and prosecute juveniles who commit crimes using
dangerous weapons, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.02, subdivi-

sion 6;

(2) identify, track, investigate, and prosecute persons who furnish dangerous
weapons to juveniles;

(3) work closely with other members of the criminal justice system, includ-
ing other local jurisdictions, the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms of
the United States Treasury Department, and out-of-state agencies involved in
investigating and prosecuting juvenile violence; and

(4) develop a collaborative relationship with neighborhoods and communi-

Sec. 60. SECURE AND NONSECURE RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT
FACILITIES.

Subdivision 1. RULES REQUIRED; COMMITTEE ESTABLISHED. The
commissioners of corrections and human services shall jointly adopt licensing
and programming rules for the secure and nonsecure residential ireatment facili-
ties that they license and shall establish an advisory committee to develop these
rules. The committee shall develop consistent general licensing requirements for
juvenile residential care, enabling facilities to provide appropriate services to
juveniles with single or multiple problems. The rules shall establish program
standards with an independent auditing process by July 1997,

Subd. 2. STANDARDS. The standards to be developed in the rules must
require:

(1) standards for the management of the program including:

(i) a board of directors or advisory committee for each facility which repre-
sents the interests, concerns, and needs of the clients and community being

served;

(ii) appropriate grievance and appeal procedures for clients and families;

and

(iii) use of an ongoing internal program evaluation and guality assurance
effort at each facility to monitor program effectiveness and guide the improve:
ment of services provided, evaluate client and family satisfaction with each
facilities’ services, and collect demographic information on clients served and
outcome measures relative to the success of services; and

(2) standards for programming including:

(i) specific identifiable criteria for admission and discharge;
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(ii) written measurable goals for each client;

(iii) development of a no-gject policy by which youths are discharged based
on successful completion of individual goals and not automatically discharged
for behavioral transgressions;

(iv) individual plans for transitional services that involve youths, their fami-
lies, and community resources to accomplish community integration and family
reunification where appropriate;

(v) cultural sensitivity, including the provision of interpreters and English
language skill development to meet the needs of the facilities’ population;

(vi) use of staff who reflect the ethnicity of the clients served, wherever pos-
sible;

(vii) provision of staff training in cultural sensitivity and disability aware-
ness;

(viii) capability to respond to persons with disabilities; and

(ix) uniform education programs that provide for year-round jnstruction;
and

(3) a program audit procedure which requires regular unbiased program
audits and reviews to determine if the facilities continue to meet the standards
established in statute and rule and the needs of the clients and community.

Subd. 3. MEMBERSHIP. The commissioners of corrections and human
services or their designee shall serve as co-chairs of the rulemaking committee.
The co-chairs shall invite individuals who have demonstrated experience in the
juvenile justice field to serve on the committee; including, but pot limited to,

representatives or designees of the departments of corrections, human services,
and education, the private sector, and other juvenile facility stakeholders. The
commissioners shall ensure that family members of juveniles, representatives of
communities of color, and members of advocacy groups serve on the rulemaking
committee and shall schedule committee meetings at times and places that.
ensure representation by these individuals.

Subd. 4. TIME LINES. By December 1, 1996, the rulemaking committee
shall submit draft rule parts which address the program standards, evaluation,
and auditing standards and procedures to the chairs of the senate crime preven-
tion and house of representatives judiciary committee for review. By July 31,
1997, the licensing and programming rulemaking process shall be completed.

Subd. 5. LICENSING. The commissioners of corrections and human ser-
vices may not license facilities that fail to meet programming standards after
they are adopted.

Sec. 61. STUDY OF SECURE TREATMENT FACILITIES.
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The commissioner of corrections, in consultation with the commissioner of
human services, shall conduct a study on the use of secure treatment facilities

the legislature by January 15, 1997. The report must contain the commissioners’
findings, along with demographic data and recommendations concerning the use
of admission criteria.

Sec. 62. CRIME PREVENTION; TARGETED EARLY INTERVEN-
TION.

Subdivision 1. ESTABLISHMENT. The commissioner of public safety in
cooperation with the commissioners of education, human services, and correc-
tions, shall establish a demonstration project to address the needs of children
under the age of ten whose behaviors indicate that they are at high risk of future
delinquency. The project will be designed to develop standards and model pro-
gramming for targeted early intervention to prevent crime and delinquency.

Subd. 2. PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS. Counties eligible for grants

county attorney or the local social services agency and include:

(1) a provision for joint service delivery involving schools, law enforcement,
social services, county attorney, and community corrections to address multiple

delivery, and prevent delinquent behavior;

(2) identification of children at risk that can be made from existing target
populations including, but not limited to, delinquents under age ten, elementary
truants, and children under age five receiving mental health services due to their
violent behavior; police, schools, and community agencies may also identify

children at risk;

(3) demonstration of standards and model programming including, but not
limited to, model case planning, correlation of at-risk behaviors and factors to
correct those behaviors, clear identification and use of factors which are predic-
tive of delinquency, indices of child well-being, success measures tied to child
well-being, time frames for achievement of success measures, a plan for progres-
sively intrusive intervention, and use of juvenile court intervention and criminal
court intervention; and

(4) a comprehensive review of funding and other sources available to chil-
dren under this demonstration project in order to identify fiscal incentives and
disincentives to successful service delivery.

project, shall report findings and recommendations to the legislature on the stan-
dards and model programming developed under the demonstration project to
guide the design of targeted early intervention services to prevent crime and

delinquency.
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Sec. 63. TRUANCY REDUCTION GRANT PILOT PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. ESTABLISHMENT. A truancy reduction grant pilot pro-
gram is established to help school districts, county attorneys, and law enforce-
ment officials work collaboratively to improve school attendance and to reduce

truancy.

Subd. 2. EXPECTED OUTCOMES. Grant recipients shall use the funds
for programs designed to assist truant students and their families in resolving
attendance problems without court intervention. Recipient programs must be
designed to reduce truancy and educational neglect, and improve school atten-
dance rates, by:

(1) providing early intervention and a continuum of intervention;

(2) supporting parental involvement and responsibility in solving atten-
dance problems;

(3) working with students, families, school personnel, and community
resources to provide appropriate services that address the underlying causes of

truancy; and

(4) providing a speedy and effective alternative to juvenile court interven-
tion in truancy cases.

Subd. 3. GRANT ELIGIBILITY, APPLICATIONS, AND AWARDS, A
county attorney, fogether with a school district or group of school districts and
law enforcement, may apply for a truancy reduction grant. The commissioner of
public safety, in collaboration with the commissioner of education, shall pre-
scribe the form and manner of applications by July 1, 1995, and shall award
grants to applicants likely to meet the outcomes in subdivision 2. At least two
grants must be awarded: one o a county in the seven-county metropolitan area
and one to a county outside the metropolitan area. Grants must be awarded for
the implementation of programs in the 1995-1996 school year. At minimum,
each applicant group must have a plan for implementing an early intervention ‘
truancy program at the school district or building level, as well as a county attor- |
ney truancy mediation program under Minnesota Statutes, section 260A.07.

Subd. 4. EVALUATION. The attorney general shall make a preliminary
report on the effectiveness of the pilot programs as part of its 1996 annual report
under Minnesota Statutes, section 8.36, and a final report as part of its 1997
annual report under that section.

Sec. 64. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 126.25, is repealed.

Laws 1994, chapter 576, section 1, is repealed.

Section 1 is repealed effective August 1, 1997.
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Sec. 65. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Sections 2 and 6 are effective on January 1, 1996. Section 11 is effective

beginning with with t_h-é-l_99—§"1996 school year. Sectlons 16, 50 to 33, and 551057
are effective the day following final enactment. Sections 3 71010, 13 10 15, 17
to 25, 28 to 36, 38, 39, 41 to 43 47 to 49, 60, and 61 are eﬁectlve on Jul 1,

_7._..__1_2. —— e =—

of m;icle are effective on July 1, 1995.

ARTICLE 4
LAW ENFORCEMENT AND SAFETY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 3.732, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. DEFINITIONS. As used in this section and section 3.736
the terms defined in this section have.the meanings given them.

(1) “State” includes each of the departments, boards, agencies, commissions,
courts, and officers in the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the state
of Minnesota and includes but is not limited to the housing finance agency, the
higher education coordinating board, the higher education facilities authority,
the health technology advisory committee, the armory building commission, the
zoological board, the iron range resources and rehabilitation board, the state
agricultural society, the University of Minnesota, state universities, community
colleges, state hospitals, and state penal institutions. It does not include a city,
town, county, school district, or other local governmental body corporate and

politic.

(2) “Employee of the state” means all present or former officers, members,
directors, or employees of the state, members of the Minnesota national guard,
members of a bomb disposal unit approved by the commissioner of public safety
and employed by a municipality defined in section 466.01 when engaged in the
disposal or neutralization of bombs or other similar hazardous explosives, as
defined in section 299C.063, outside . the jurisdiction of the municipality but
within the state, or persons acting on behalf of the state in an official capacity,
temporarily or permanently, with or without compensation. It does not include
either an independent contractor or members of the Minnesota national guard
while engaged in training or duty under United States Code, title 10, or title 32,
section 316, 502, 503, 504, or 505, as amended through December 31, 1983.
Notwithstanding sections 43A.02 and 611.263, for purposes of this section and
section 3.736 only, “employee of the state” includes a district public defender or
assistant district public defender in the second or fourth judicial district and a
member of the health technology advisory committee.

(3) “Scope of office or employment” means that the employee was acting on
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behalf of the state in the performance of duties or tasks lawfully assigned by
competent authority.

(4) “Judicial branch” has the meaning given in section 43A.02, subdivision
25.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 176.192, is amended to read:
176.192 BOMB DISPOSAL UNIT EMPLOYEES.

For purposes of this chapter, a member of a bomb disposal unit approved
by the commissioner of public safety and employed by a municipality defined in
section 466.01, is considered & state an employee of the department of public
safety solely for the purposes of this chapter when disposing of or neutralizing
bombs or other similar hazardous explosives, as defined in section 299C.063, for
another municipality or otherwise outside the jurisdiction of the employer-
municipality but within the state.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 243,166, is amended to read:
243.166 REGISTRATION OF PREDATORY OFFENDERS.

Subdivision 1. REGISTRATION REQUIRED. (a) A person shall register
under this section if:

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation of or
attempt to violate any of the following, and convicted of or adjudicated delin-
quent for that offense or of another offense arising out of the same set of circum-
stances:

(i) murder under section 609.1835, clause (2);
(ii) kidnapping under section 609.25, involving a minor victim; or

(iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; or
609.345; or

(2) the person was convicted of a predatory crime as defined in section
609.1352, and the offender was sentenced as a patterned sex offender or the
court found on its own motion or that of the prosecutor that the crime was part
of a predatory pattern of behavior that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal;
or

(3) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for violating a law
of the United States similar to the offenses described in clause (1) or (2).

(b) A person also shall register under this section if:

(1) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinguent in another state
for an offense that would be a violation of a law described in paragraph (a) if
committed in this state;
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(2) the person enters and remains in this state for 30 days or longer; and

(3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was released from confine-
ment or, if the person was not confined, since the person was convicted of or
adjudicated delinquent for the offense that triggers registration.

Subd. 2. NOTICE. When a person who is required to register under thig
seetien subdivision 1, paragraph (a), is sentenced or becomes subject to a juve-
nile court disposition order, the court shall tell the person of the duty to register
under this section. The court shall require the person to read and sign a form
stating that the duty of the person to register under this section has been
explained. If a person required to register under this seetion subdivision 1, para-
graph (a), was not notified by the court of the registration requirement at the
time of sentencing or disposition, the assigned corrections agent shall notify the
person of the requirements of this section.

Subd. 3. REGISTRATION PROCEDURE. (a) Fhe A person required to
register under this section shall register with the corrections agent as soon as the
agent is assigned to the person. If the person does not have an assigned correc-
tions agent or is unable to locate the assigned corrections agent, the person shall

person’s residence,

(b) At least five days before the person changes residence, including chang-
ing residence to another state, the person shall give written notice of the address
of the new residence to the eurrent or last assigned corrections agent or to the
law enforcement authority with which the person currently is registered. An
offender is deemed to change residence when the offender remains at a new
address for longer than three days and evinces an intent to take up residence
there. The corrections agent or law enforcement authority shall, within two busi-
ness days after receipt of this information, forward it to the bureau of criminal

apprehension.

Subd. 4. CONTENTS OF REGISTRATION. (a) The registration provided
to the corrections agent or law enforcement authority, must consist of a state-
ment in writing signed by the person, giving information required by the bureau
of criminal apprehension, #nd a fingerprint card, and photograph of the person
if these bave not already been obtained in connection with the offense that trig-

if the person was not incarcerated, at the time the person initially registered
under this section.

(b) Within three days, the corrections agent or law enforcement authority
shall forward the statement, fingerprint card, and photograph to the bureau of
criminal apprehension. The bureau shall ascertain whether the person has regis-
tered with the law enforcement authority where the person resides. If the person
has not registered with the law enforcement authority, the bureau shall send one
copy to the approprinte law enforeement autherity that will have jurisdietion
where the person will reside on release or discharge that authority.
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Subd. 5. CRIMINAL PENALTY. A person required to register under this
section who knowingly violates any of its provisions or intentionally provides
false information to a corrections agent, law enforcement authority, or the
bureau of criminal apprehension is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. A person con-
victed of or adjudicated delinquent for violating this section who previously has
been convicted under this section js guilty of a felony. A violation of this section
may be prosecuted either where the person resides or where the person was last
assigned to a Minnesota corrections agent.

Subd. 6. REGISTRATION PERIOD. (a) Notwithstanding the provisions
of section 609.165, subdivision 1, a person required to register under this sec-
tion shall continue to comply with this section until ten years have elapsed since
the person was initially assigned to a correetions agent initially registered in con-
nection with the offense, or until the probation, supervised release, or condi-
tional release period expires, whichever occurs later. For a person required to
register under this section who is committed under section 253B.185, the ten-
year registration period does not include the period of commitment.

(b) If a person required to register under this section fails to register follow-
ing a change in residence, the commissioner of public safety may require the
person to continue to register for an additional period of five years,

Subd. 7. USE OF INFORMATION. The information provided under this
section is private data on individuals under section 13.01, subdivision 12. The
information may be used only for law enforcement purposes.

Subd. 8. LAW ENFORCEMENT AUTHORITY. For purposes of this sec-
tion, a law enforcement authority means, with respect to a home rule charter or
statutory city, the chief of police, and with respect to an unincorporated area,
the sheriff of the county.

Subd. 9. OFFENDERS FROM OTHER STATES. When the state accepts
an offender from another state under a reciprocal agreement under the interstate
compact authorized by section 243.16 or under any authorized interstate agree-
ment, the acceptance is conditional on the offender agreeing to register under
this section when the offender is living in Minnesota.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 299A.35, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. PROGRAMS. The commissioner shall, in consultation with
the chemical abuse and violence prevention council, administer a grant program
to fund community-based programs that are designed to enhance the communi-
ty’s sense of personal security and to assist the community in its crime control
efforts. Examples of qualifying programs include, but are not limited to, the fol-
lowing:

(1) programs to provide security systems for residential buildings serving

low-income persons, elderly persons, and persons who have physical or mental
disabilities;
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(2) community-based programs designed to discourage young people from
involvement in unlawful drug or street gang activities;

(3) neighborhood block clubs and innovative community-based crime watch
programs;

(4) community-based programs designed to enrich the educational, cultural,
or recreational opportunities of at-risk elementary or secondary school age
youth, including programs designed to keep at-risk youth from dropping out of
school and encourage school dropouts to return to school;

(5) support services for a municipal curfew enforcement program including,
but not limited to, rent for drop-off centers, staff, supplies, equipment, and the
referral of children who may be abused or neglected;

(6) community-based programs designed to intervene with juvenile offend-
ers who are identified as likely to engage in repeated criminal activity in the
future unless intervention is undertaken;

(7) community-based collaboratives that coordinate five or more programs
designed to enrich the educational, cultural, or recreational opportunities of at-
risk elementary or secondary school age youth, including programs designed to
keep at-risk youth from dropping out of school and to encourage school drop-
outs to return to school;

(8) programs that are proven successful at increasing the rate of graduation
from secondary school and the rate of post-secondary education attendance for
high-risk students; and

(9) community-based programs that provide services to homeless youth; and

(10) other community-based crime prevention programs that are innovative
and encourage substantial involvement by members of the community served by

the program.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 299A.51, subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. WORKERS’ COMPENSATION. During operations authorized
under section 299A.50, members of a regional hazardous materials response

team operating outside their geographic jurisdiction are considered state
employees of the department of public safety for purposes of chapter 176.

Sec. 6. [299A.61] CRIMINAL ALERT NETWORK.

The commissioner of public safety, in cooperation with the commissioner of
administration, shall develop and maintain an integrated criminal alert network
to facilitate the communication of crime prevention information by electronic
means among state agencies, law enforcement officials, and the private sector.
The network shall disseminate data regarding the commission of crimes, includ-
ing information on missing and endanpered children, and attempt to reduce
theft and other crime by the use of electronic transmission of information.
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Sec. 7. [299C.063] BOMB DISPOSAL EXPENSE REIMBURSEMENT.

meanings given them in this subdivision:

(a) “Bomb disposal unit” means a commissioner-approved unit consisting of
persons who are trained and equipped to dispose of or neutralize bombs or other
similar hazardous explosives and who are employed by a municipality.

(b) “Commissioner” means the commissioner of public safety.

(c) “Municipality” has the meaning given it in section 466.01.

(d) “Hazardous explosives” means explosives as defined in section 299F.72,
subdivision 2, explosive devices and incendiary devices as defined in section
609.668, subdivision 1, and all materials subject to regulation under United
States Code, title 18, chapter 40.

Subd. 2. EXPENSE REIMBURSEMENT. The commissioner may reim-
burse bomb disposal units for reasonable expenses incurred to dispose of or neu-
tralize bombs or other similar hazardous explosives for their employer-
municipality or for another municipality outside the jurisdiction of the
employer-municipality but within the state, Reimbursement is limited to the
extent of appropriated funds,

Subd. 3. AGREEMENTS. The commissioner may enter into contracts or
agreements with bomb disposal units to implement and administer this section.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 299C.065, subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. INVESTIGATION REPORT. A report shall be made to the com-
missioner at the conclusion of an investigation for which a grant was made
under subdivision 1 stating: (1) the number of persons arrested, (2) the nature of
charges filed against them, (3) the nature and value of controlled substances or
contraband purchased or seized, (4) the amount of money paid to informants
during the investigation, and (5) a separate accounting of the amount of money
spent for expenses, other than “buy money”, of bureau and local law enforce-
ment personnel during the investigation. The commissioner shall prepare and
submit to the chairs of the committees in the senate and house of representa-
tives with jurisdiction over criminal justice policy by January 1 of each even-
numbered year a report of investigations receiving grants under subdivision 1.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 299C.065, subdivision 3a, is
amended to read:

\

Subd. 3a. ACCOUNTING REPORT. The head of a law enforcement i
agency that receives a grant under subdivision la shall file a report with the |
commissioner at the conclusion of the case detailing the specific purposes for ‘
which the money was spent. The commissioner shall prepare and submit to the |
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chairs of the committees in the senate and house of representatives with juris-
diction over criminal justice policy by January 1 of each even-numbered year a
summary report of witness assistance services provided under this section.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 299C.10, subdivision I, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. LAW ENFORCEMENT DUTY. (a) It is hereby made the
duty of the sheriffs of the respective counties and of the police officers in cities
of the first, second, and third classes, under the direction of the chiefs of police
in such cities, to take or cause to be taken immediately finger and thumb prints,
photographs, distinctive physical mark identification data, and such other iden-
tification data as may be requested or required by the superintendent of the
bureau; of all persons arrested for a felony, gross misdemeanor, of all juveniles
committing felonies as distinguished from those committed by adult offenders,
of all persons reasonably believed by the arresting officer to be fugitives from
justice, of all persons in whose possession, when arrested, are found concealed
firearms or other dangerous weapons, burglar tools or outfits, high-power explo-
sives, or articles, machines, or appliances usable for an unlawful purpose and
reasonably believed by the arresting officer to be intended for such purposes, and
within 24 hours thereafter to forward such fingerprint records and other identifi-
cation data on such forms and in such manner as may be prescribed by the
superintendent of the bureau of criminal apprehension.

(b) Effective August 1, 1997, the identification reporting requirements shall
also apply to persons committing misdemeanor offenses, including violent and
enhanceable crimes, and juyeniles committing gross misdemeanors.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 299C.10, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd. 4. FEE FOR BACKGROUND CHECK; ACCOUNT; APPROPRIA-
TION. The superintendent shall collect a fee in an amount to cover the expense
for each background check provided for a purpose not directly related to the
criminal justice system or required by section 624.7131, 624.7132, or 624.714.
The proceeds of the fee must be deposited in a special account. Until July 1,
1997, money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner to maintain
and improve the guality of the criminal record system in Minnesota.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 299C.62, subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4. RESPONSE OF BUREAU. The superintendent shall respond to
a background check request within a reasonable time after receiving the signed,
written document described in subdivision 2. The superintendent’s response
shall be Limited to # stetement that the baeckground eheek erime information
contained in the doeument is of i3 not complete and aeeurate: The superinten-
dent shall provide the children’s service provider with a copy of the applicant’s
criminal record or a statement that the applicant is not the subject of a criminal
history record at the bureau. It is the responsibility of the service provider to
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determine if the applicant qualifies as an employee or volunteer under this sec-
tion,

Sec. 13. [299C.66] CITATION.

Sections 299C.66 to 299C.71 may be cited as the “Kari Koskinen manager
background check act.”

Sec. 14. [299C.67] DEFINITIONS,

Subdivision 1. TERMS. The definitions in this section apply to sections
299C.66 to 299C.71.

Subd, 2. BACKGROUND CHECK CRIME. “Background check crime”
means:

(a)(1) a felony violation of section 609.185 (first degree murder); 609.19
(second degree murder); 609.20 (first degree manslaughter); 609.221 (first degree
assault); 609.222 (second degree assault); 609.223 (third degree assault): 609.25
(kidnapping); 609.342 (first degree criminal sexual conduct); 609.343 (second
degree criminal sexual conduct); 609.344 (third degree criminal sexual conduct);
609.345 (fourth degree criminal sexual conduct); 609.561 (first degree arson); or
609.749 (harassment and stalking);

(2) an attempt to commit a crime in clause (1); or

(3) a conviction for a crime in another jurisdiction that would be a violation
under clause (1) or an attempt under clause (1) in this state; or

(b)(1) a felony violation of section 609.195 (third degree murder); 609,205
(second degree manslaughter); 609.21 (criminal vehicular homicide and injury);
609.2231 (fourth degree assault); 609.224 (fifth degree assault): 609.24 (simple
robbery); 609.245 (aggravated robbery); 609.255 (false imprisonment): 609.52
(theft); 609.582, subdivision 1 or 2 (burglary); 609.713 (terroristic threats); ora
nonfelony violation of section 609.749 (harassment and stalking);

(2) an attempt to commit a crime in clause (1); or

(3) a conviction for a crime in another jurisdiction that would be a violation
under clause (1) or an attempt under clause (1) in this state.

Subd. 3. CJIS. “CJIS” means the Minnesota criminal justice information
system.

Subd. 4. MANAGER. “Manager” means an individual who is hired or is
applying to be hired by an owner and who has or would have the means, within
the scope of the individual’s duties, to enter tenants’ dwelling units. “Manager”
does not include a person who is hired on a casual basis and not in the ongoing

course of the business of the owner.

Subd. 5. OWNER. “Owner” has the meaning given in section 566.18, sub-

New language is indicated by underline, deletions by strikeout,

Copyright © 1995 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



Ch. 226, Art. 4 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1995 1846

division 3. However, “owner” does not include a person who owns, operates, or
is in control of a health care facility ¢ or a home health agency licensed by the
commissioner of health or r human services under chapter 144, 144A, or 243A.

Subd., 6. SUPERINTENDENT. “Superintendent” means the superinten-
dent of the bureau of criminal apprehension.

Subd. 7. TENANT. “Tenant” has the meaning given in section 566.18, sub-
division 2.

Sec. 15. [299C.68] BACKGROUND CHECKS ON MANAGERS.

Subdivision 1. WHEN REQUIRED. Before hiring a manager, an owner
shall request the supermtendent to conduct a background “check under thls sec-
tion. An owner may employ a manager after requesting a background check
under th th1s section before receipt of the background check report, provided that
the owner complies with section 299C.69. An owner may request a background
check for a currently / employed manager under this section. By J_ulx 1, 1996, an
owner shall request the superintendent to conduct a background check under
thls section for managers hired before July 1, 1995, who are currently emploved.

Subd. 2. PROCEDURES. The superintendent shall develop procedures to
enable an . an owner to request a background check to determine whether a manager
is the sub;ect ofa reported conviction for a background check crime. The super-
intendent shall perform the background check by retrieving and reviewing data
on background check crimes maintained in the CJIS computers, If the manager
has resided in Minnesota for less than ﬁve years Or upon request of the owner,
the superintendent shall gl_sq conduct a | search _Qf the national criminal records
repository, including the criminal justice data communications network. The
superintendent is authorized to exchange ﬁngerprmts with the Federal Bureau u of

Investigation for purposes of the criminal history check. The superintendent
shall recover the cost of a background check through a fee charged to the owner.

Subd. 3. FORM. The superintiendent shall shall develop a standardized form to
be used for requesting a background check, “which must include:

(1) a notification to the manager that the owner will request the superinten-
dent to perform a background check under this section;

(2! a notification to the manager of the manager’s rights under subdivision
4; and
—

(3) a signed consent by the manager to conduct the background check.

If the manager has resided in Minnesota for less than five years, or if the
owner is requesting a “a search of the national “eriminal records repository, the
form must be accompanied by the he fin ngerprints of the manager on whom the

background “check is to be performed.

Subd. 4. MANAGER’S RIGHTS. (a) The owner shall notify the manager
of the manager’s rights under paragraph (b). -
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(b) A manager who is the subject of a background check request has the fol-

lowing rights:

(1) the right to be informed that the owner will request a background check

on the manager to determine whether the manager has been convicted of a
crime specified in section 299C.67, subdivision 2;

(2) the right to be informed by the owner of the superintendent’s response
to the background check and to obtain from the owner a copy of the background
check report;

(3) the right to obtain from the superintendent any record that forms the
basis for the report;

(4) the right to chailenge the accuracy and completeness of information con-
tained in the report or record under section 13.04, subdivision 4; and

(5) the right to be informed by the owner if the manager’s application to be

employed by the owner or to continue as an employee has been denied because
of the result of the background check.

o LB D e

Subd. 5. RESPONSE OF BUREAU. The superintendent shall respond to a
background check request within a reasonable time not to exceed ten working
days after receiving the signed form under subdivision 3. If a search is being
done of the national criminal records repository and that portion of the back-
ground check is not completed, the superintendent shall notify the owner that
the background check is not complete and shall provide that portion of the back-
ground check to the owner as soon as it is available, The superintendent’s
response must indicate whether the manager has ever been convicted of a back-
ground check crime and, if so, a description of the crime, date and jurisdiction
of conviction, and date of discharge of the sentence.

Subd. 6. EQUIVALENT BACKGROUND CHECK. (a) An owner may sat-
isfy the requirements of this section by obtaining a background check from a
private business or a local law enforcement agency rather than the superinten-
dent if the scope of the background check provided by the private business or
local Jaw enforcement agency is at least as broad as that of a background check
performed by the superintendent and the response to the background check
request occurs within a reasonable time not to exceed ten working days after
receiving the signed form described in subdivision 3. Local Jaw enforcement
agencies may access the criminal justice data network to perform the back-

ground check.

(b) A private business or local law enforcement agency providing a back-
ground check under this section must use a notification form similar to the form
described in subdivision 3, except that the notification form must indicate that
the background check will be performed by the private business or local law
enforcement agency using records of the superintendent and other data sources.

New language is indicated by underline, deletions by strikeout.

Copyright © 1995 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.




Ch. 226, Art. 4 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1995 1848

Sec. 16. [299C.69] OWNER DUTIES IF MANAGER CONVICTED OF
BACKGROUND CHECK CRIME.

(a) If the superintendent’s response indicates that the manager has been
convicted of a background check crime defined in section 299C.67, subdivision
2, paragraph (a), the owner may not hire the manager or, if the manager was
hired pending completion of the background check, shall terminate the manag-
er’s employment. Except as provided in paragraph (c), if an owner otherwise
knows that a manager has been convicted of a background check crime defined
in section 299C.67, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), the owner shall terminate the
manager’s employment,

(b) If the superintendent’s response indicates that the manager has been
convicted of a background check crime defined in section 299C.67, subdivision
2, paragraph (b), the owner may not hire the manager unless more than ten years
have elapsed since the date of discharge of the sentence. If the manager was
hired pending completion of the background check, the owner shall terminate
the manager’s employment unless more than ten years have elapsed since the
date of discharge of the sentence. Except as provided in paragraph (c), if an
owner otherwise knows that a manager has been convicted of a background
check crime defined in section 299C.67, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), the owner
shall terminate the manager’s employment unless more than ten years have
elapsed since the date of discharge of the sentence.

(c) If an owner knows that a manager hired before July I, 1995, was con-
victed of a background check crime for an offense committed before July 1,
1995, the owner may continue to employ the manager. However, the owner shall
notify all tenants and prospective tenants whose dwelling units would be accessi-
ble to the manager of the crime for which the manager has been convicted and
of the right of a current tenant to terminate the tenancy under this paragraph, if

the manager was convicted of a background check crime defined in:

(1) section 299C.67, subdivision 2, paragraph (a); or

(2) section 299C.67, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), unless more than ten
years have elapsed since the sentence was discharged.

Notwithstanding a lease provision to the contrary, a current tenant who
receives a notice under this paragraph may terminate the tenancy within 60 days
of receipt of the notice by giving the owner at least 14 days’ advance notice of
the termination date.

(d) The owner shall notify the manager of any action taken under this subdi-
vision.

(e) If an owner js required to terminate a manager’s employment under
paragraph (a) or (b), or terminates a manager’s employment in lieu of notifying
tenants und.er parggraph gg)_1 the owner is not liable under any lawl'contract, or
agreement, including liability for unemployment compensation claims, for ter-
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minating the manager’s employment in accordance with this section, Notwith-
standing a lease or agreement governing termination of the tenancy, if the man-

the tenancy immediately upon giving notice to the manager. An unlawful
detainer action to enforce the termination of the tenancy must be treated as a
priority writ under sections 566.05, 566.07, 566.09, subdivision 1, 566.16, sub-
division 2, and 566.17, subdivision la,

Sec. 17. [299C.70] PENALTY.

An owner who knowingly fails to comply with the requirements of section
299C.68 or 299C.69 is guilty of a petty misdemeanor.

Sec. 18. [299C.71] BUREAU OF CRIMINAL APPREHENSION IMMU-
NITY.

The bureau of criminal apprehension is immune from any civil or criminal
Liability that might otherwise arise under section 299C.68, based on the accuracy
or completeness of records it receives from the Federal Bureay of Investigation,
if the bureau acts in good faijth,

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 388.24, subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4. REPORTING OF DATA TO CRIMINAL JUSTICE INFOR-
MATION SYSTEM (CJIS). Effective August 1, 1997, every county attorney
who establishes a diversion program under this section shall report the following
information to the bureau of criminal apprehension:

(1) the name and date of birth of each diversion program participant and
any other identifying information the superintendent considers necessary;

(2) the date on which the individual began to participate in the diversion
program;

(3) the date on which the individual is expected to complete the diversion
program;

(4) the date on which the individual successfully completed the diversion
program, where applicable; and

(5) the date on which the individual was removed from the diversion pro-
gram for failure to successfully complete the individual’s goals, where applicable.

The superintendent shall cause the information described in this subdivi-
sion to be entered into and maintained in the criminal history file of the Minne-
sota criminal justice information system.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 401.065, subdivision 3a, is
amended to read:
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Subd. 3a. REPORTING OF DATA TO CRIMINAL JUSTICE INFOR-
MATION SYSTEM (CJIS). (a) Every county attorney who establishes a diver-
sion program under this section shall report the following information to the

bureau of criminal apprehension:

(1) the name and date of birth of each diversion program participant and
any other identifying information the superintendent considers necessary;

(2) the date on which the individual began to participate in the diversion
program;

(3) the date on which the individual is expected to complete the diversion
program;

(4) the date on which the individual successfully completed the diversion

program, where applicable; and

(5) the date on which the individual was removed from the diversion pro-
gram for failure to successfully complete the individual’s goals, where applicable.

The superintendent shall cause the information described in this subdivi-
sion to be entered into and maintained in the criminal history file of the Minne-
sota criminal justice information system.

(b) Effective August 1, 1997, the reporting requirements of this subdivision
shall apply to misdemeanor offenses.

Sec. 21. [504.183] TENANT’S RIGHT TO PRIVACY.

Subdivision 1. DEFINITIONS. For purposes of this section, the following
terms have the meanings given them.

(a) “Building” has the meaning given in section 566.18, subdivision 7.

(b) “Landlord” means the owner as defined in section 566.18, subdivision 3,
the owner’s agent, or other person acting under the owner’s direction and con-

trol.

(c) “Tenant” has the meaning given in section 566.18, subdivision 2.

Subd. 2. ENTRY BY LANDLORD. Except as provided in subdivision 4, a
landlord may enter the premises rented by a tenant o __x for a reasonable bu51-
ness purpose and after making a good faith effort to give the tenant reasonable
notice under the circumstances of the intent to enter. A tenant may not waive
and the landlord may not require the tenant to waive the tenant’s right to prior
notice of f entry under this section as a condition of entering into or maintaining
the lease.

Subd. 3 REASONABLE PURPOSE For purposes of subdivision 2, a rea-
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(1) showing the unit to prospective tenants during the notice period before

owner or owner’s agent;

(2) showing the unit to a prospective buyer or to an insurance representa-
tive;

(3) performing maintenance work:

(4) allowing inspections by state, county, or city officials charged in the
enforcement of health, housing, building, fire prevention, or housing mainte-
nance codes;

(5) the tenant is causing a disturbance within the unit;

(6) the landiord has a reasonable belief that the tenant is violating the lease

(7) the landlord has a reasonable belief that the unit is being occupied by an
individual without a legal right to occupy it; or

(8) the tenant has vacated the unit.

Subd. 4. EXCEPTION TO NOTICE REQUIREMENT. Notwithstanding
subdivision 2, a landlord may enter the premises rented by a tenant to inspect or
take appropriate action without prior notice to the tenant if the landlord reason-
ably suspects that;

(1) immediate entry is necessary to prevent injury to persons or property
because of conditions relating to maintenance, building security, or law enforce-
ment,

(2) immediate entry is necessary to determine a tenant’s safety; or

(3) immediate entry is necessary in order to comply with local ordinances
regarding unlawful activity occurring within the tenant’s premises.

Subd, 5. ENTRY WITHOUT TENANT’S PRESENCE. If the landlord
enters when the tenant is not present and prior notice has not been given, the

landlord shall disclose the entry by placing a written disclosure of the entry in a
conspicuous place in the premises.

Subd, 6. PENALTY. If a landlord substantially violates subdivision 2, the
tenant js entitled to a penalty which may include a rent reduction up to full
rescission of the lease, recovery of any damage deposit less any amount retained
under section 504.20, and up to a $100 civil penalty for each violation. If a

the is to up to a $100 civil pen-
alty for each violation. A tenant shall follow the procedures in sections 566.18 to

566.33 to enforce the provisions of this section.

Subd. 7. EXEMPTION. This section does not apply to tenants and land-
lords of manufactured home parks as defined in section 327C.01L.
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Sec. 22. [609.5051] CRIMINAL ALERT NETWORK; DISSEMINATION
OF FALSE OR MISLEADING INFORMATION PROHIBITED.

Whoever uses the criminal alert network under section 299A.61 to dissemi-
nate information regarding the commission of a crime knowing that it is false or
misleading, is guilty of a misdemeanor.,

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 624.22, is amended to read:

624.22 PUBLIC BISPLAYS OF FIREWORKS B¥ MUNICIPALIHES
EXCEPTED DISPLAYS; PERMIT; OPERATOR CERTIFICATION,

Subdivision 1. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS; PERMIT; INVESTIGA-
TION; FEE. (a) Sections 624.20 to 624.25 shall not prohibit the supervised pub-
Lie displays display of fireworks by eities; fair asseeiations; amusement patls;
and other orsanizations: a statutory or home rule charter city, fair association,
amusement park, or other organization, except when saek that:

(1) a fireworks display may be conducted only when supervised by an opera-
tor certified by the state fire marshal; and

(2) a fireworks display is must either be given by a municipality or fair asso-
ciation within its own limits, no displey shall be given unless or by any other
organization, whether public or private, only after a permit therefer for the dis-
play has first been secured.

(b) Every application for such a permit shall be made in writing to the
municipal clerk at least 15 days in advance of the date of the display and shall
list the name of an operator who (1) is certified by the state fire marshal and (2)
will supervise the display. The application shall be promptly referred to the chief
of the fire department who shall make an investigation to determine whether the
operator of the display is competent and is certified by the state fire marshal,
and whether the display is of such a character and is to be so located, dis-
charged, or fired that it will not be hazardous to property or endanger any per-
son. The fire chief shall report the results of this investigation to the clerk. If the
fire chief reports that the operator is certified, that in the chief’s opinion the
operator is competent, and that the fireworks display as planned will conform to
the safety requirements; ineluding the rules guidelines of the state fire marshal
hereinafter provided for in paragraph (e), the clerk shall issue a permit for the
display when the applicant pays a permit fee of $2.

(c) When the supervised publie fireworks display for which a permit is
sought is to be held outside the limits of an incorporated municipality, the appli-
cation shall be made to the county auditor and the duties imposed by sueh sec-
tions 624.20 to 624.25 upon the clerk of the municipality shall be performed in
such case by the county auditor. The duties imposed on the fire chief of the
municipality by suek sections 624.20 to 624.25 shall be performed in such case
by the county sheriff.
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(d) After such permit shall have been granted, sales, possession, use and dis-
tribution of fireworks for such display shall be lawful for that purpose only. No
permit so granted shall be transferable.

(e) By January 1, 1996, the state fire marshal shall adopt and disseminate to
political subdivisions reasonable rules net inconsistent with the provisions of
sueh guidelines on fireworks display safety, which are exempt from chapter 14,

of the Minnesota Uniform Fire Code and the National Fire Protection Associa-
tion Standards, to insure that fireworks displays are given safely, In the guide-
lines, the state fire marshal shall allow political subdivisions to exempt the use of
relatively safe fireworks for theatrical special effects, ceremonial occasions, and
other limited purposes, as determined by the state fire marshal.

Subd. 2. OPERATOR CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS. (a) An
applicant to be a supervising operator of a fireworks display shall meet the
requirements of this subdivision before the applicant is certified by the state fire
marshal.

(b) An applicant must be at least 21 years old.

(c) An applicant must have completed a written examination, administered
or approved by the state fire marshal, and achieved a passing score of at least 70
percent. The state fire marshal must be satisfied that achieving a passing score
on the examination satisfactorily demonstrates the applicant’s knowledge of stat-
utes, codes, and nationally recognized standards concerning safe practices for
the discharge and display of fireworks,

(d) An applicant shall apply in writing to the state fire marshal by complet-
ing and signing an application form provided by the state fire marshal.

(e) An applicant shall submit evidence of experience, which must include
active participation as an assistant or operator in the performance of at least five
fireworks displays, at least one of which must have occurred in the current or
preceding year.

Subd. 3. CERTIFICATION APPLICATION; FEE. An applicant shall sub-
mit a completed initial application form including references and evidence of
experience and successful completion of the written examination. Applicants
shall pay a certification fee of $100 to the state fire marshal division of the
department of public safety. The state fire marshal shall review the application
and send to the applicant written confirmation or denial of certification within
30 days of receipt of the application, Certification is valid for a period of four
years from the date of jssuance.

Subd. 4. CLASSIFICATION. When an applicant has met the requirements
of subdivisions 2 and 3, the state fire marshal shall certify and classify the opera-
tor for supervising proximate audience displays, including indoor fireworks dis-
plays, for supervising traditional outdoor fireworks displays, or for supervising
both types of displays, based on the operator’s documented experience.
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Subd. 5. RESPONSIBILITIES OF OPERATOR. The operator is responsi-
ble for ensuring the fireworks display is organized and operated in accordance
with the state fire marshal’s guidelines described in subdivision 1.

Subd. 6. REPORTS. (a) The certified operator shall submit a written report
to the state fire marshal within ten days following a fireworks display conducted
by the operator if any of the following occurred:

(1) an injury to any person resulting from the display of fireworks;

(2) a fire or damage to property resulting from the display of fireworks; or

(3) an unsafe or defective pyrotechnic product or equipment was used or
observed.

(b) The certified operator shall submit a written report to the state fire mar-
shal within 30 days following any other fireworks displays supervised by the

operator.
(c) The state fire marshal may require other information from operators
relating to fireworks displays.

Subd., 7. OPERATOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL. An applicant shall
submit a completed renewal application form prepared and provided by the
state fire marshal, which must include at least the dates, locations, and authori-
ties issuing the permits for at least three fireworks displays participated in or
supervised by the applicant and conducted during the past four years. An appli-
cant shall pay a certification renewal fee of $100 to the state fire marshal divi-
sion of the department of public safety. The state fire marshal shall review the
application and send to the applicant written confirmation or denial of certifica-
tion renewal within 30 days of receipt of the application. Certification is valid
for a period of four years from the date of issuance.

Subd. 8. SUSPENSION, REVOCATION, OR REFUSAL TO RENEW
CERTIFICATION. The state fire marshal may suspend, revoke, or refuse to
renew certification of an operator if the operator has:

(1) submitted a fraudulent application;

(2) caused or permitted a fire or safety hazard to exist or occur during the

storage, transportation, handling, preparation, or use of ﬁreworksl

(3) conducted a display of fireworks without receipt of a permit required by
the state or a political subdivision;

(4) conducted a display of fireworks with assistants who were not at least 18
years of age, properly instructed, and continually supervised; or

(5) otherwise failed to comply with any federal or state law or regulation, or
the guidelines, relating to fireworks.
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Subd. 9. DATABASE. The commissioner of public safety shall maintain a
database of the information required under this section for purposes of (1) law
enforcement, (2) investigative inquiries made under subdivision 1, and (3) the
accumulation and statistical analysis of information relative to fireworks dis-
plays. .

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 626.841, is amended to read:

626.841 BOARD; MEMBERS.,

The board of peace officer standards and training shall be composed of the
following 15 members:

(a) Two members to be appointed by the governor from among the county
sheriffs in Minnesota;

(b) Four members to be appointed by the governor from among peace offi-
cers in Minnesota municipalities, at least two of whom shall be chiefs of police;

(c) Two members to be appointed by the governor from among peace offi-
cers, at least one of whom shall be a member of the Minnesota state patrol asso-
ciation;

(d) The superintendent of the Minnesota bureau of criminal apprehension
or a designee;

(e) Two members appointed by the governor experienced in law enforee-
ment at & local; state; or foderal Jevel from among peace officers, or former peace
officers, who are ret currently employed as on a full-time basis in a professional
peace effieers officer education program;

(f) Two members to be appointed by the governor, one member to be
appointed from among administrators of Minnesota colleges or universities that
offer professional peace officer education, and one member to be appointed from
among the elected city officials in statutory or home rule charter cities of under
5,000 population outside the metropolitan area, as defined in section 473.121,
subdivision 2;

(g) Two members appointed by the governor from among the general public.

A chair shall be appointed by the governor from among the members. In
making appointments the governor shall strive to achieve representation from
among the geographic areas of the state.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 626.843, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision I. RULES REQUIRED. The board shall adopt rules with
respect to:

(a) The certification of peace officer training schools, programs, or courses
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including training schools for the Minnesota state patrol. Such schools, programs
and courses shall include those administered by the state, county, school district,
municipality, or joint or contractual combinations thereof, and shall include pre-
paratory instruction in law enforcement and minimum basic training courses;

(b) Minimum courses of study, attendance requirements, and equipment
and facilities to be required at each certified peace officers training school
located within the state;

(c) Minimum qualifications for instructors at certified peace officer training
schools located within this state;

(d) Minimum standards of physical, mental, and educational fitness which
shall govern the recruitment and licensing of peace officers within the state, by
any state, county, municipality, or joint or contractual combination thereof,
including members of the Minnesota state patrol;

(e) Minimum standards of conduct which would affect the individual’s per-
formance of duties as a peace officer;

These standards shall be established and published en er befere Fuly +
4979, The board shall review the minimum standards of conduct described in
this paragraph for possible modification in 1998 and every three years after that
time.

(f) Minimum basic training which peace officers appointed to temporary or
probationary terms shall complete before being eligible for permanent appoint-
ment, and the time within which such basic training must be completed follow-
ing any such appointment to a temporary or probationary term;

(g) Minimum specialized training which part-time peace officers shall com-
plete in order to be eligible for continued employment as a part-time peace offi-
cer or permanent employment as a peace officer, and the time within which the
specialized training must be completed;

(h) Content of minimum basic training courses required of graduates of cer-
tified law enforcement training schools or programs. Such courses shall not
duplicate the content of certified academic or general background courses com-
pleted by a student but shall concentrate on practical skills deemed essential for
a peace officer. Successful completion of such a course shall be deemed satisfac-
tion of the minimum basic training requirement;

(i) Grading, reporting, attendance and other records, and certificates of
attendance or accomplishment;

(i) The procedures to be followed by a part-time peace officer for notifying
the board of intent to pursue the specialized training for part-time peace officers
who desire to become peace officers pursuant to clause (g), and section 626.845,
subdivision 1, clause (g);
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(k) The establishment and use by any political subdivision or state law
enforcement agency which employs persons licensed by the board of procedures
for investigation and resolution of allegations of misconduct by persons licensed
by the board. The procedures shall be in writing and shall be established on or
before October 1, 1984,

() The issues that must be considered by each political subdivision and
state law enforcement agency that employs persons licensed by the board in
establishing procedures under section 626.5532 to govern the conduct of peace
officers who are in pursuit of a vehicle being operated in violation of section
609.487, and requirements for the training of peace officers in conducting pur-
suits. The adoption of specific procedures and requirements is within the author-
ity of the political subdivision or agency;

(m) Supervision of part-time peace officers and requirements for documen-
tation of hours worked by a part-time peace officer who is on active duty. These
rules shall be adopted by December 31, 1993; and

(n) Such other matters as may be necessary consistent with sections 626.84
to 626.855. Rules promulgated by the attorney general with respect to these mat-
ters may be continued in force by resolution of the board if the board finds the
rules to be consistent with sections 626.84 to 626.855.

Sec. 26. [626.8431] AUTOMATIC LICENSE REVOCATION.

The license of a peace officer convicted of a felony is automatically revoked.
For purposes of thls section, “conviction” includes a fmdmg of puilt, whether or
not the d]udlcatlon of guilt is stayed or executed, an admission of guilt, or a no
contest plea.

Sec, 27. [626.8555] PEACE OFFICER EDUCATION PROGRAMS.

Metropolitan State University and Minneapolis Community College, in
consultation with the board of peace officer standards and training and state and
local law enforcement agencies in the seven-county metropolitan area, shall pro-
vide core law enforcement courses in an accelerated time period. The schools
shall grant priority admission to students who have a bona fide oﬁ“er of employ-
ment from a Minnesota law enforcement agency. These courses shall be avail-
able at the begmmng of the 1995-1996 academic year and are contingent on
sufficient program enrollment.

The board, Metropolitan State University, and Minneapolis Community
College shall evaluate the accelerated law enforcement education program and
report their findings to the 1997 legislature.

Sec. 28. TRAINING COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP.

At least one person shall be appointed to the peace officer standards and
training “board’s training committee from among hlgher education representa-
tives of Minnesota colleges or universities that offer professional peace officer
education.
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Sec. 29. PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AND TRAINING BOARD;
INFORMATION AND REPORTS REQUIRED.

Subdivision 1. INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE COMPILED BY
THE PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AND TRAINING BOARD. The peace
officer standards and training board shall compile summary, statistical informa-
tion on peace officers alleged to have violated Minnesota Statutes, sections
609.224, subdivision 1:; 518B.01, subdivision 14: 609.748, subdivision 6; or

—
609.749. This information must include a brief description of the facts of each
incident, and a brief description of the final disposition of the case, including
any disciplinary action taken or referrals made to mental health professionals.
The information compiled by the board shall not include the names of the indi-

vidual officers involved in the incidents,

Subd. 2. REPORT REQUIRED. The board shall report to the legislature
by January 1, 1997, regarding the information compiled under subdivision 1.

Subd. 3. CHIEF LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS REQUIRED TO
PROVIDE INFORMATION. Chief law enforcement officers shall cooperate
with the board by providing it the information described in subdivision 1. Infor-
mation provided to the board from which individual peace officers could be
identified is classified as private data on individuals.

Sec. 30. PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT OF PEACE OFFICERS.

Subdivision 1. MODEL POLICY TO BE DEVELOPED. By March 1,
1996, the peace officer standards and training board shall develop and distribute

to all chief law enforcement officers a model policy regarding the professional

conduct not addressed by the standards of conduct under Minnesota Rules, part
6700.1600. The policy must define unprofessional conduct to include, but not be
limited to, conduct prohibited by Minnesota Statutes, section 609.43, whether or
not there has been a conviction for a violation of that section. The policy must

also describe the procedures that a local law enforcement agency may follow in

investigating and disciplining peace officers alleged to have behaved unprofes-
sionally.

Subd. 2. CHIEF LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS; WRITTEN POL-
ICY REQUIRED. By July 1, 1996, all chief law enforcement officers shall estab-
lish and implement a written policy defining unprofessional conduct and
governing the investigation and disposition of cases involving alleged unprofes-
sional conduct by peace officers. A chief law enforcement officer shall adopt a
policy identical or substantially similar to the model policy developed by the
board under subdivision 1.

Subd. 3. REPORT ON ALLEGED MISCONDUCT. A chief law enforce-
ment officer shall report annually to the board summary data regarding the
investigation and disposition of cases involving alleged misconduct, indicating
the total number of investigations, the total number by gach subject matter, the
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number dismissed as unfounded, and the number dismissed on grounds that the
allegation was unsubstantiated.

Sec. 31. STUDY DIRECTED.

The peace officer standards and training board, in consultation with chief
law enforcement officers and peace officers, shall conduct a study to determine
what statewide resources are available to peace officers in need of job-related
professional counseling. The study must determine to what extent existing
resources are used, what impediments exist to the resources’ use, how resources
could be better used, and what additional resources are required. The board
shall report its findings to the legislature by March 1, 1996.

Sec. 32. CHILD ABUSE HELPLINE.

Subdivision 1, PLAN, The commissioner of human services, in consultation
with the commissioner of public safety, shall develop a plan for an integrated
statewide toll-free 24-hour telephone helpline to provide consultative services to
parents, family members, law enforcement personnel, and social service profes-
sionals regarding the physical and sexual abuse of children. The plan must:

(1) identify methods for implementing the telephone helpline;

(2) identify existing services regarding child abuse provided by state and
local governmental agencies, nonprofit organizations, and others;

(3) consider strategies to coordinate existing services into an integrated tele-
phone helpline;

(4 consider the practicality of retraining and redirecting existing profession-
als to staff the telephone helpline on a 24-hour basis;

(5) determine what new services, if any, would be required for the telephone
helpline;

(6) determine the costs of implementing the telephone helpline and ways to
reduce costs through coordination of existing services; and

(7) determine methods of marketing and advertisement {0 make the general
public aware of the telephone helpline.

Subd. 2. PILOT PROJECT. In conjunction with the planning process
under subdivision 1, the commissioner of human services shall implement at

least two pilot project telephone helplines. One of the pilots must be in the
seven-county metropolitan area and one must be in greater Minnesota.

Subd. 3. REPORT. The commissioner of human services shall report to the
legislature by January 15, 1996, concerning the details of the plan and the status
of the pilot projects.

Subd. 4. COORDINATOR. The commissioner of human services may hire
a person to coordinate and implement the requirements of this section.
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Sec. 33. DATA ACCESS ON INTERNET.

The criminal justice information policy group shall develop a plan for pro-
viding databases containing private or confidential data to law enforcement
agencies on the Internet with appropriate security provisions.

Sec. 34, CRIMINAL AND JUVENILE INFORMATION POLICY
GROUP REPORT.

By January 15, 1996, the criminal and juvenile information policy group
shall report to the chairs of the senate crime prevention committee and house of
representatives judiciary committee on recommendations for additional offenses
to be subject to identification reporting requirements of Minnesota Statutes, sec-
tion 299C.10, subdivision 1, and on processes for expungement, correction of
inaccurate records, destruction of records, and other matters relating to the pri-
vacy interests of individuals as they relate to the development of the juvenile
criminal history system, the statewide misdemeanor system, and the tracking
system for domestic abuse orders for protection.

Sec. 35. COMMUNITY NOTIFICATION WORK GROUP.

(a) A 15-member work group is created to study issues relating to laws and
proposed legislation authorizine community notification of information about

released from 1ncarcerat10n and offenders who have been sentenced to stayed
prison sentences.

(b) The work group consists of three members of the senate appointed by
the chair of the committee on crime prevention and three members of the house
of representatives appointed by the chair of the committee on judiciary. Legisla-

caucus and one member o_f the minority caucus. The work group also consists of
the commissioner of corrections or the commissioner’s designee, the attorney
general or the attorney general’s designee, and of the following additional mem-

bers approved by the legislative membership;

(1) one sheriff nominated by the Minnesota sheriffs association;

(2) one chief of police nominated by the Minnesota chiefs of police associa-
tion;

(3) one county attorney nominated by the county attorneys association;

(4) one defense attorney nominated by the state public defender;

(5) one sex offender treatment professional nominated by the commissioner
of human services;

(6) the crime victim ombudsman or a representative of sexual assault vic-
tims nominated by the ombudsman; and
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prevention committee and the house judiciary committee.

Members of the work group should represent a cross-section of regions
within the state. The work group shall select a chair from among its member-
ship.

The chairs of the senate crime prevention committee and the house judi-
ciary committee may authorize alternate legislative members to attend sessions
of the work group when an appointed legislative member is unable to attend.

—_—_—— e e s

shall study the implementation of community notification laws in other states,
the positive and nepative aspects of community notification laws, the costs of
implementing the laws, the social and constitutional issues raised by the laws,
and any anticipated federal requirements concerning community notification.

(d) The work group shall report its findings and recommendations to the
chairs of the house judiciary committee and the senate crime prevention com-
mittee by January 31, 1996,

Sec. 36. EFFECTIVE DATES.

(a) Section 23, subdivision 1, paragraph (e); and subdivision 2 are effective ‘
the day following final enactment. The remaining provisions of section 23 are
effective January 1, 1996,

(b) Section 3 is effective July 1, 1995, and applies to persons who are
released from prison on or after that date, or who are under supervision as of

that date, or who enter this state on or after that date. Section 3, subdivision 5

(c) Section 21 is effective for oral and written leases entered into or renewed
on or after July 1, 1995.

(d) Sections 24, 27, and 28 are effective July 1, 1995, and apply to appoint-

(e) Section 22 is effective July 1, 1995, and applies to crimes committed on
or after that date,

ment.

- (g) The remaining sections in this article are effective July 1, 1995,
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ARTICLE §
CORRECTIONS

Section 1, [16B.181] PURCHASES FROM CORRECTIONS INDUS-
TRIES.

(a) The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of corrections,
shall prepare a list of products and services that are available for purchase from
department of corrections industries. After publication of the product and ser-
vice list by the commissioner, state agencies and institutions shall purchase the
listed products and services from department of corrections industries if the
products and services are equivalent in price and quality to products and ser-
vices available from other sources unless the commissioner of corrections certi-
fies that the correctional institutions cannot provide them at a price within five
percent of the fair market price for comparable level of quality and within a rea-
sonable delivery time. In determining the fair market price, the commissioner of
administration shall use competitive bidding or consider open market bid prices
in previous years for similar products and services, plus inflationary increases.

(b) The commissioner of administration shall ensure that state agency speci-
fications are not unduly restrictive as to prevent corrections industries from pro-
viding products or services that meet the needs of the purchasing department,
institution, or agency.

joint task force to explore additional methods that support the philosophy of
providing a substantial market opportunity to correctional industries that maxi-
mizes inmate work opportunities. The task force shall develop a plan and pre-
pare a set of criteria with which to evaluate the effectiveness of the
recommendations and initiatives in the plan.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 171,29, subdivision 2, is amended
to read:

Subd. 2. FEES, ALLOCATION. (a) A person whose driver’s license has
been revoked as provided in subdivision 1, except under section 169.121 or
169.123, shall pay a $30 fee before the driver’s license is reinstated.

(b) A person whose driver’s license has been revoked as provided in subdi-
wvision 1 under section 169.121 or 169.123 shall pay a $250 fee plus a $10 sur-

follows:
(1) Twenty percent shall be credited to the trunk highway fund.
(2) Fifty-five percent shall be credited to the general fund.
(3) Eight percent shall be credited to a separate account to be known as the

bureau of criminal apprehension account. Money in this account may be appro-
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priated to the commissioner of public safety and the appropriated amount shall
be apportioned 80 percent for laboratory costs and 20 percent for carrying out
the provisions of section 299C.065.

(4) Twelve percent shall be credited to a separate account to be known as
the alcohol-impaired driver education account. Money in the account may be
appropriated to the commissioner of education for programs in elementary and
secondary schools.

(5) Five percent shall be credited to a separate account to be known as the
traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury account. $100,000 is annually
appropriated from the account to the commissioner of human services for trau-
matic brain injury case management services. The remaining money in the
account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of health to establish and
maintain the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury registry created in
section 144,662 and to reimburse the commissioner of economic security for the
reasonable cost of services provided under section 268A.03, clause (o).

(c) The $10 surcharge shall be credited to a separate account to be known as
the remote electronic alcohol monitoring pll_g_ program account. Qg t0 $250,000
is is annually appropriated from this account to the commissioner of corrections
for a remote clectronic alcohol monitoring pilot program, The unencumbered
balance remaining in the first year of the biennium does not “cancel but is avail-
able for the second year.

Sec. 3. [243.212] COPAYMENTS FOR HEALTH SERVICES,

A_}g inmate of an adult correctional facility under the control of the com-
missioner of corrections shall jincur copayment and coinsurance obhgatlons for
health care services received in the amounts established for adult enrollees of the
MinnesotaCare program established under section 256. 9353 subdivision 7 1, to
the extent the inmate has available funds.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 243.23, subdivision 3, is amended
to read:

Subd. 3. EXCEPTIONS. Notwithstanding sections 241.26, subdivision 5,
and 243.24, subdivision 1, the commissioner may promulgate rules for the dis-
bursement of make deductions from funds earned under subdivision 1, or other
funds in an inmate account, and section 243.88, subdivision 2. The commis-
sioner shall first make deductions for the following expenses in the following
order of priority:

(1) federal and state taxes;

(2) repayment of advances;

(3) gate money as provided in section 243.24; and; where appHeable; man-
datory savings 8y provided by United States Cede; title 18; seetion 1761 as

amended: The eommissioner’s rules may then provide for disbursements o be
made in the following order of priority:
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b for the

(4) support of families and dependent relatives of the respective inmates;
(2) for the

(5) payment of court-ordered restitution;

) fer

(6) room and board or other costs of confinement;

(7) medical expenses incurred under section 243.212;

(9) payment of fines, surcharges, or other fees assessed or ordered by a
court;

) fer

(10) contribution 1o eny programs established by law te aid vietims of erime
the crime victims reparations board created under section 611A.53, provided
that the contribution shall not be more than 20 percent of an inmate’s gross

wages;
&) for

(11) the payment of restitution to the commissioner ordered by prison disci-
plinary hearing officers for damage to property caused by an inmate’s conduct,
and

6) for the

12) d'ischafge of any legal obligations arising out of litigation under this
subdivision.

The commissioner may authorize the payment of court-ordered restitution
from an inmate’s wages when the restitution was ordered by the court as a sanc-
tion for the conviction of an offense which is not the offense of commitment,
including offenses which occurred prior to the offense for which the inmate was
committed to the commissioner. An inmate of an adult correctional facility
under the control of the commissioner is subject to actions for the enforcement
of support obligations and reimbursement of any public assistance rendered the
dependent family and relatives. The commissioner may conditionally release an
inmate who is a party to an action under this subdivision and provide for the
inmate’s detention in a local detention facility convenient to the place of the
hearing when the inmate is not engaged in preparation and defense.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 243.88, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:
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Subd. 5. DEDUCTIONS. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary,
any compensation paid to inmates under this section is subject to section

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 641,15, subdivision 2, is amended
to read:

Subd. 2. MEDICAL AID. Except as provided in section 466.101, the
county board shall pay the costs of medical services provided to prisoners. The
county is entitled to reimbursement from the prisoner for payment of medical
bills to the extent that the prisoner to whom the medical aid was provided has
the ability to pay the bills. If the prisoner does not have the ability to pay the
prisoner’s entire medical bill, the prisoner shall, at a minimum, incur copayment
and coinsurance obligations for health care services received in the amounts
established for adult enrollees of the MinnesotaCare program established under
section 256.9353, subdivision 7, to the extent the prisoner has available funds. If
there is a disagreement between the county and a prisoner concerning the pris-
oner’s ability to pay, the court with jurisdiction over the defendant shall deter-
mine the extent, if any, of the prisoner’s ability to pay for the medical services.
If a prisoner is covered by health or medical insurance or other health plan when
medical services are provided, the county providing the medical services has a
right of subrogation to be reimbursed by the insurance carrier for all sums spent
by it for medical services to the prisoner that are covered by the policy of insur-
ance or health plan, in accordance with the benefits, limitations, exclusions, pro-
vider restrictions, and other provisions of the policy or health plan. The county
may maintain an action to enforce this subrogation right. The county does not
have a right of subrogation against the medical assistance program or the general
assistance medical care program.

Sec. 7. Laws 1994, chapter 643, section 79, subdivision 1, is amended to
read:

Subdivision 1, GRANTS AUTHORIZED. The commissioner of correc-
tions shall make grants to Hennepin county, Ramsey county, or groups of coun-
ties, excluding counties in the joint powers board operating the northwestern
Minnesota juvenile training center for grants made in 1994 or 1995, for up to 75
percent of the construction cost of secure juvenile detention and treatment facil-
ities. The commissioner shall ensure that grants are distributed so that facilities
are available for both male and female juveniles, and that the needs of very
young offenders can be met. The commissioner shall also require that program-
ming in the facilities be culturally specific and sensitive. To the extent possible,
grants should be made for facilities or living units of 15 beds or fewer. No more
than one grant shall be made in each judicial district. However, grant proposals
may include more than one site, and funds may be authorized to each county in
which a site is contained.

Sec. 8. Laws 1994, chapter 643, section 79, subdivision 3, is amended to
read:
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Subd. 3. ELIGIBILITY. Applicants must include a cooperative plan for
the secure detention and treatment of juveniles among the applicant counties.
The cooperative plan must identify the location of facilities. Facilities must be
located within +5 20 miles of a permanent chambers within the judicial district,
as specified in section 2.722, or at the site of an existing county home facility, as
authorized in section 260.094, or at the site of an existing detention home, as
authorized in section 260.101.

Sec. 9. Laws 1994, chapter 643, section 79, subdivision 4, is amended to
read:

Subd. 4. ALLOCATION FORMULA. (a) The commissioner must deter-
mine the amount available for grants for counties in each judicial district under

this subdivision.

(b) Five percent of the money appropriated for these grants shall be allo-
cated for the counties in each judicial district for a mileage distribution allow-
ance in proportion to the percent each county’s surface area comprises of the
total surface area of the state. Ninety-five percent of the money appropriated for
these grants shall be allocated for the counties in each judicial district using the
formula in section 401.10.

(c) The amount allocated for all counties within a judicial district shall be
totaled to determine the amount available for & grant grants within that judicial
district. Amounts attributable to a county which the commissioner has autho-
rized to cooperate in a grant with a county or counties in an adjacent judicial
district shall be reallocated to that judicial district.

Sec. 10. INTERSTATE COMPACT FOR SUPERVISION OF PAROL-
EES AND PROBATIONERS; DATA COLLECTION.

Subdivision 1. DATA COLLECTION REQUIRED. The commissioner of
corrections shall collect, maintain, and analyze background and recidivism data
on all individuals received by or sent from Minnesota under Minnesota Statutes,
section 243.16, the interstate compact for the supervision of parolees and proba-

tioners.

Subd. 2. SCOPE OF DATA. (a) The data collected shall include:

(1) the number of individuals the commissioner is requested to receive from
cach state, the number of individuals which the commissioner agrees to receive
from each state, and the basis of the commissioner’s decision to receive or reject
an individual; and

(2) the number of individuals the commissioner requests each state to
receive, the number of individuals each state agrees to receive, and the basis of
the commissioner’s decision to request another state to receive an individual.

(b) For each individual transferred or received by the commissioner, the
commissioner shall collect the following data:
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(1) the initial and ongoing costs incurred by Minnesota resulting from the
individual’s transfer;

(2) the amount of money Minnesota receives from the sending state to reim-
burse Minnesota for these costs;

(3) the individual’s criminal record;

(4) whether the individual violates the terms of probation or parole; and

a new offense in Minnesota, whether the individual is arrested, convicted, incar-
cerated in Minnesota, or returned to the sending state,

required under subdivision 2 for all years beginning in 1990. The commissioner
shall report to the legislature by February 15, 1996, the data collected for years
1990 to 1995, The commissioner shall report data collected for each subsequent
year to the legislature by January 15 of each odd-numbered year.

Sec. 11. CORRECTIONAL FACILITY AUTHORIZED.

The commissioner of corrections may establish an adult correctional facility
for geriatric and medical care at the Ah Gwah Ching facility or at another suit-
able facility operated by the commissioner of human services. The commis-
sioner of corrections is authorized to enter into negotiations and contracts with
the department of human services to establish the facility.

Sec. 12, CORRECTIONAL FACILITY AUTHORIZED,

The commissioner of corrections may establish a minimum security adult
correctional facility for men at Camp Ripley. The commissioner is authorized to
enter into negotiations and contracts with appropriate parties to establish the
facility,

Sec. 13. EFFECTIVE DATES.

(a) Section 4, clause (10), is effective the day following final enactment.

(b) Sections 3; 4, clause (7); and 6, are effective July 1, 1996.
(¢) The remaining provisions of this article are effective July 1, 1995,

New language is indicated by underline, deletions by strilceout.

Copyright © 1995 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.




Ch. 226, Art. 6 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1995 1868

ARTICLE 6
COURTS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 2.722, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. DESCRIPTION. Effective July 1, 1959, the state is divided
into ten judicial districts composed of the following named counties, respec-
tively, in each of which districts judges shall be chosen as hereinafter specified:

1. Goodhue, Dakota, Carver, Le Sueur, McLeod, Scott, and Sibley; 28
judges; and four permanent chambers shall be maintained in Red Wing, Has-
tings, Shakopee, and Glencoe and one other shall be maintained at the place
designated by the chief judge of the district;

2. Ramsey; 24 judges;

3, Wabasha, Winona, Houston, Rice, Olmsted, Dodge, Steele, Waseca, Free-
born, Mower, and Fillmore; 22 judges; and permanent chambers shall be main-
tained in Faribault, Albert Lea, Austin, Rochester, and Winona;

4. Hennepin; 57 judges;

5. Blue Earth, Watonwan, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Lincoln, Cot-
tonwood, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Faribault, Martin, and Jackson; 17
judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Marshall, Windom,
Fairmont, New Ulm, and Mankato;

6. Carlton, St. Louis, Lake, and Cook; 15 judges;

7. Benton, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd, Clay,
Becker, and Wadena; 22 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in
Moorhead, Fergus Falls, Little Falls, and St. Cloud;

8. Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Renville, Swift, Yellow
Medicine, Big Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin; 11 judges; and
permanent chambers shall be maintained in Morris, Montevideo, and Willmar;

9. Norman, Polk, Marshall, Kittson, Red Lake, Roseau, Mahnomen, Pen-
nington, Aitkin, Itasca, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Beltrami, Lake of the Woods,
Clearwater, Cass and Koochiching; 20 judges; and permanent chambers shall be
maintained in Crookston, Thief River Falls, Bemidji, Brainerd, Grand Rapids,

and International Falls;

10. Anoka, Isanti, Wright, Sherburne, Kanabec, Pine, Chisago, and Wash-
ington; 34 35 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Anoka,
Stillwater, and other places designated by the chief judge of the district.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 2.722, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:
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Subd. 4a. REFEREE VACANCY; CONVERSION TO JUDGESHIP,
removed from the position, the chief judge of the district shall notify the
supreme court and may petition to request that the position be converted to a
judgeship. The supreme court shall determine within 90 days of the petition
whether to order the position abolished or convert the position to a judgeship in
the affected or another judicial district. The supreme court shall certify any judi-
cial vacancy to the governor, who shall fill jt in the manner provided by law.
The conversion of a referee position to a judgeship under this subdivision shall
not reduce the total number of judges and referees hearing cases in the family

and juvenile courts.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 179A.03, subdivision 7, is
amended to read:

Subd. 7. ESSENTIAL EMPLOYEE. “Essential employee” means fire-
fighters, peace officers subject to licensure under sections 626.84 to 626.855,
guards at correctional facilities, confidential employees, supervisory employees,
assistant county attorneys, principals, and assistant principals. However, for
state employees, “essential employee” means all employees in law enforcement,
health care professionals, correctional guards, professional engineering, and
supervisory collective bargaining units, irrespective of severance, and no other
employees. For University of Minnesota employees, “essential employee” means
all employees in law enforcement, nursing professional and supervisory units,
irrespective of severance, and no other employees. “Firefighters” means salaried
employees of a fire department whose duties include, directly or indirectly, con-
trolling, extinguishing, preventing, detecting, or investigating fires,

Sec. 4, [243.241] CIVIL ACTION MONEY DAMAGES.

Money damages recovered in a civil action by an inmate confined in a state
correctional facility or released from a state correctional facility under section

Sec. 5. [244.035] SANCTIONS RELATED TO LITIGATION.

The commissioner shall develop disciplinary sanctions to provide infraction
penalties for an inmate who submits a frivolous or malicious claim as deter-
mined under section 563.02, subdivision 3, or who is determined by the court to
have testified falsely or to have submitted false evidence to a court. Infraction
penalties may include loss of privileges, punitive segregation, loss of good time,
or adding discipline confinement time.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 260.155, subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4. GUARDIAN AD LITEM. (a) The court shall appoint a guardian
ad litem to protect the interests of the minor when it appears, at any stage of the
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proceedings, that the minor is without a parent or guardian, or that the minor’s
parent is a minor or incompetent, or that the parent or guardian is indifferent or
hostile to the minor’s interests, and in every proceeding alleging a child’s need
for protection or services under section 260.015, subdivision 2a, clauses (1) to
(10). In any other case the court may appoint a guardian ad litem to protect the
interests of the minor when the court feels that such an appointment is desir-
able. The court shall appoint the guardian ad litem on its own motion or in the
manner provided for the appointment of a guardian ad litem in the district
court.

(b) A guardian ad litem shall carry out the following responsibilities:

(1) conduct an independent investigation to determine the facts relevant to
the situation of the child and the family, which must include, unless specifically
excluded by the court, reviewing relevant documents, meeting with and obsery-
ing the child in the home setting and considering the child’s wishes, as appropri-
ate; and interviewing parents, caregivers, and others with knowledge relevant to
the case;

(2) advocate for the child’s best interests by participating in appropriate
aspects of the case and advocating for appropriate community services when
necessary;

(3) maintain the confidentiality of information related to a case, with the
exception of sharing information as permitted by law to promote cooperative
solutions that are in the best interests of the child;

(4) monitor the child’s best interests throughout the judicial proceeding; and

(5) present written reports on the child’s best interests that include conclu-
sions and recommendations and the facts upon which they are based.

(c) The court may waive the appointment of a guardian ad litem pursuant to
clause (a), whenever counsel has been appointed pursuant to subdivision 2 or is
retained otherwise, and the court is satisfied that the interests of the minor are
protected.

¢e) (d) In appointing a guardian ad litem pursuant to clause (a), the court
shall not appoint the party, or any agent or employee thereof, filing a petition
pursuant to section 260.131.

¢ (e) The following factors shall be considered when appointing a guardian
ad litem in a case involving an Indian or minority child:

(1) whether a person is available who is the same racial or ethnic heritage as
the child or, if that is not possible;

(2) whether a person is available who knows and appreciates the child’s
racial or ethnic heritage.
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Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 271.06, subdivision 4, is amended
to read:

Subd. 4. APPEAL FEE., At the time of filing the notice of appeal the appel-
lant shall pay to the court administrator of the tax court an appeal fee of $50
equal to the fee provided for civil actions in the district court under section
357.021, subdivision 2, clause (1); previded; except that no appeal fee shall be
required of the commissioner of revenue, the attorney general, the state or any
of its political subdivisions. In small claims division, the appeal fee shall be $5
$25. The provisions of chapter 563, providing for proceedings in forma
pauperis, shall also apply for appeals to the tax court.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 357.021, subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. FEE AMOUNTS. The fees to be charged and collected by the
court administrator shall be as follows:

(1) In every civil action or proceeding in said court, including any case aris-
ing under the tax laws of the state that could be transferred or appealed to the

tax court, the plaintiff, petitioner, or other moving party shall pay, when the first
paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of $122,

The defendant or other adverse or intervening party, or any one or more of
several defendants or other adverse or intervening parties appearing separately
from the others, shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said
action, a fee of $122.

The party requesting a trial by jury shall pay $75.

The fees above stated shall be the full trial fee chargeable to said parties
irrespective of whether trial be to the court alone, to the court and jury, or dis-
posed of without trial, and shall include the entry of judgment in the action, but
does not include copies or certified copies of any papers so filed or proceedings
under chapter 103E, except the provisions therein as to appeals.

(2) Certified copy of any instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding,
$10, and $5 for an uncertified copy.

(3) Issuing a subpoena, $3 for each name.

(4) Issuing an execution and filing the return thereof; issuing a writ of
attachment, injunction, habeas corpus, mandamus, quo warranto, certiorari, or
other writs not specifically mentioned, $10.

(5) Issuing a transcript of judgment, or for filing and docketing a transcript
of judgment from another court, $7.50.

(6) Filing and entering a satisfaction of judgment, partial satisfaction, or
assignment of judgment, $5.
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(7) Certificate as to existence or nonexistence of judgments docketed, $5 for
each name certified to. .

(8) Filing and indexing trade name; or recording basic science certificate; or
recording certificate of physicians, osteopaths, chiropractors, veterinarians, or
optometrists, $5.

(9) For the filing of each partial, final, or annual account in all trusteeships,
$10.

(10) For the deposit of a will, $5.

(1'1) For recording notary commission, $25, of which, notwithstanding sub-
division la, paragraph (b), $20 must be forwarded to the state treasurer to be
deposited in the state treasury and credited to the general fund.

(12) When a defendant pleads guilty to or is sentenced for a petty misde-
meanor other than a parking violation, the defendant shall pay a fee of $11.

(13) Filing a motion or response to a motion for modification of child sup-
port, a fee fixed by rule or order of the supreme court.

(14) All other services required by law for which no fee is provided, such fee
as compares favorably with those herein provided, or such as may be fixed by

rule or order of the court.

The fees in clauses (3) and (4) need not be paid by a public authority or the
party the public authority represents.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 481.01, is amended to read:

481.01 BOARD OF LAW EXAMINERS; EXAMINATIONS; ALTERNA-
TIVE DISPUTE FEES.

The supreme court shall, by rule from time to time, prescribe the qualifica-
tions of all applicants for admission to practice law in this state, and shall
appoint a board of law examiners, which shall be charged with the administra-
tion of sweh the rules and with the examination of all applicants for admission
to practice law. The board shall consist of not less than three, nor more than
seven, attorneys at law, who shall be appointed each for the term of three years
and until a successor qualifies. The supreme court may fill any vacancy in the
board for the unexpired term and in its discretion may remove any member
thereof of it. The board shall have a seal and shall keep a record of its proceed-
ings, of all applications for admission to practice, and of persons admitted to
practice upon its recommendation. At least two times a year the board shall hold
examinations and report the result thereef of them, with its recommendations,
to the supreme court. Upon consideration of suek the report, the supreme court
shall enter an order in the case of each person examined, directing the board to
reject or to issue to the person a certificate of admission to practice. The board
shall have such officers as may, from time to time, be prescribed and designated
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by the supreme court. The fee for examination shall be fixed, from time to time,
by the supreme court, but shall not exceed $50. Suek fees This fee, and any
other fees which may be received pursuant to sueh any rules as the supreme
court may premulgate promulgates governing the practice of law and court-
related alternative dispute resolution practices shall be paid to the state treasurer
and shall constitute a special fund in the state treasury. The moneys in suek this
fund are appropriated annually to the supreme court for the payment of com-
pensation and expenses of the members of the board of law examiners and for
otherwise regulating the practice of law. The moneys in swek the fund shall
never cancel. Payments therefrem from it shall be made by the state treasurer,
upon warrants of the commissioner of finance issued upon vouchers signed by
one of the justices of the supreme court. The members of the board shall have
sueh compensation and sueh allowances for expenses as may, from time to time,
be fixed by the supreme court.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 518.165, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read;

Subd. 2a. RESPONSIBILITIES OF GUARDIAN AD LITEM. A guardian
ad lltem shall carry out the following responsibilities:

(1) conduct an independent investigation to determine the facts relevant to
the situation of the child and the family, which must include, unless s pemﬁcallx
excluded by the the court, reviewing relevant documents; meeting with and observ-
ing the child in the home setting and considering the child’s wishes, as appropri-

ate; and interviewing parents, caregivers, and others with knowledge relevant to
the case;

(2) advocate for the child’s best interests by participating in appropriate
aspects of the case and advocating for appropriate community services when
necessary;

(3) maintain the confidentiality of information related to a case, with the
exception of sharmg information as permitted by law to promote cooperative
solutions that are in the best interests of the child;

(4) monitor the child’s best interests throughout the judicial proceeding; and

() present written reports on the child’s best interests that include conclu-
sions and recommendations and the facts upon which they are based

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 563.01, subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. Any court of the state of Minnesota or any political subdivision
thereof may authorize the commencement or defense of any civil action, or
appeal therein, without prepayment of fees, costs and security for costs by a nat-
ural person who makes affidavit stating (a) the nature of the action, defense or
appeal, (b) a belief that affiant is entitled to redress, and (c) that affiant is finan-
cially unable to pay the fees, costs and security for costs.
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Upon a finding by the court that the action is not of a frivolous nature, the
court shall allow the person to proceed in forma pauperis if the affidavit is sub-
stantially in the language required by this subdivision and is not found by the
court to be untrue. Persons meeting the requirements of this subdivision
include, but are not limited to, a person who is receiving public assistance, who
is represented by an attorney on behalf of a civil legal services program or a vol-
unteer attorney program based on indigency, or who has an annual income not
greater than 125 percent of the poverty line established under United States
Code, title 42, section 9902(2), except as otherwise provided by section 563.02.

Sec. 12. [563.02] INMATE LIABILITY FOR FEES AND COSTS.

Subdivision 1. DEFINITION. For purposes of this section, “inmate” means
a person who is not represented by counsel, who has been convicted of a felony,
who is committed to the custody of the commissioner of corrections, and is:

(1) confined in a state correctional facility; or

(2) released from a state correctional facility under gection 244.065 or
244.07.

Subd. 2. INMATE REQUEST TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS.
(2) An inmate who wishes to commence a civil action by proceeding in forma
pauperis must meet the following requirements, in addition to the requirements
of section 563.01, subdivision 3:

(1) exhaust the inmate complaint procedure developed under the commis-
sioner of corrections policy and procedure before commencing a civil action
against the department, and state in the application to proceed in forma

(2) include the following information in an affidavit submitted under section
563.01:

ous claim brought by the inmate against the same party, arising from the same
operative facts, and in which there was an action that operated as an adjudica-

tion on the merits;

(ii) complete information on the inmate’s identity, the nature and amount
of the inmate’s income, spouse’s income, if available to the inmate, real property
owned by the inmate, and the inmate’s bank accounts, debts, monthly expenses,
and number of dependents; and

(iii) the most recent monthly statement provided by the commissioner of
corrections showing the balance in the inmate’s inmate account,

The inmate shall also attach a written authorization for the court to obtain

at any time during pendency of the present action, without further authorization
from the inmate, a current statement of the inmate’s inmate account balance, if
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needed to determine eligibility to proceed with bringing a civil action in forma

requirement of section 563.01, subdivision 3, clause (c).

(b) An jnmate who seeks to proceed as a plaintiff in forma pauperis must

fo L e ReA AR LA - d Ll Ll oL L

plaintiff in a civil action by paying the lesser of

(1) the applicable court filing fee; or

(2) 50 percent of the balance shown in the inmate’s account according to the
statement filed with the court under this subdivision, consistent with the
requirements of section 243.23, subdivision 3.

If an inmate elects to proceed under this paragraph, the court shall notify
the commissioner of corrections to withdraw from the inmate’s account the
amount required under this section and forward the amount to the court admin-
istrator in the county where the action was commenced, The court shall also
notify the commissioner of corrections of the amount of the filing fee remaining |
unpaid. The commissioner shall continue making withdrawals from the inmate’s |
account and forwarding the amounts withdrawn to the court administrator, at |
intervals as the applicable funds in the inmate’s account equal at least $10, until
the entire filing fee and any costs have been paid in full,

Subd. 3. DISMISSAL OF ACTION. (a) The court may, as provided by this
subdivision, dismiss, in whole or in part, an action jn which an affidavit has
been filed under section 563.01 by an inmate seeking to proceed as a plaintiff,
The action shall be dismissed without prejudice on a finding that the allegation
of financial inability to pay fees, costs, and security for costs is false. The action
shall be dismissed with prejudice if it is frivolous or malicious. In determining
whether an action is frivolous or malicious, the court may consider whether:

(1) the claim has no arguable basis in law or fact; or

(2) the claim is substantially similar to a previous claim that was brought
against the same party, arises from the same operative facts, and in which there
was an action that operated as an adjudication on the merits.

An order dismissing the action or specific claims asserted in the action may
be entered before or after service of process, and with or without holding a hear-
ing.

If the court dismisses a specific claim in the action, it shall designate any
issue and defendant on which the action is to proceed without the payment of
fees and costs. An order under this subdivision is not subject to interlocutory
appeal.
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(b) To determine whether the allegation of financial inability to pay fees,
costs, and security for costs is false or whether the claim is frivolous or mali-
cious, the court may:

(1) request the commissioner of corrections to file a report under oath
responding to the issues described in paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2);

(2) order the commissioner of corrections to furnish information on the bal-
ance in the inmate’s inmate account, if authorized by the inmate under subdivi-
sion 2; or

(3) hold a hearing at the correctional facility where the inmate is confined
on the issue of whether the allegation of financial inability to pay is false, or
whether the claim is frivolous or malicious.

Subd. 4. DEFENSE WITHOUT FEES OR COSTS. A natura} person who
is named as a defendant in a civil action brought by an inmate may appear and
defend the action, including any appeal in the action, without prepayment of the
filing fee. If the action is dismissed under rule 12 or 56 of the rules of civil pro-
cedure, the inmate is Liable for the person’s fees and costs, including reasonable
attorney fees. In all other instances, the defendant shall pay the defendant’s fil-
ing fee at the conclusion of the action or when ordered by the court.

Sec, 13. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 609.748, subdivision 3a, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3a. FILING FEE WAIVED; COST OF SERVICE. The filing fees
for a restraining order under this section are waived for the petitioner if the peti-
tion alleges acts that would constitute a violation of section 609.749, subdivision
2 or 3. The court administrator and the sheriff of any county in this state shall
perform their duties relating to service of process without charge to the peti-
tioner. The court shall direct payment of the reasonable costs of service of pro-
cess if served by a private process server when the sheriff is unavailable or if
service is made by publication; witheut requiring the petitioner to make apphea-
tion under seetion 563-04. The court may direct a respondent to pay to the court
administrator the petitioner’s filing fees and reasonable costs of service of pro-
cess if the court determines that the respondent has the ability to pay the peti-
tioner’s fees and costs.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611.27, subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4. COUNTY PORTION OF COSTS. That portion of subdivision 1
directing counties to pay the costs of public defense service shall not be in effect
between January 1, 1995, and July 1, 995 1997. This subdivision only relates
to costs associated with felony, gross misdemeanor, juvenile, and misdemeanor
public defense services. Notwithstanding the provisions of this subdivision, in
the first, fifth, seventh, ninth, and tenth judicial districts, the cost of juvenile and
misdemeanor public defense services for cases opened prior to January 1, 1995,
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shall remain the responsibility of the respective counties in those districts, even
though the cost of these services may occur after January 1, 1995,

Sec. 15. [611A.08] BARRING PERPETRATORS OF CRIMES FROM
RECOVERING FOR INJURIES SUSTAINED DURING CRIMINAL CON-
DUCT.

(1) “perpetrator” means a person who has engaged in criminal conduct and
includes a person convicted of a crime;

(2) “victim” means a person who was the object of another’s criminal con-
duct and includes a person at the scene of an emergency who gives reasonable
assistance to another person who is exposed to or has suffered grave physical
harm;

(3) “course of criminal conduct” includes the acts or omissions of a victim
in resisting criminal conduct; and

(4) “convicted” includes a finding of puilt, whether or not the adjudication
of guilt is stayed or executed, an unwithdrawn judicial admission of guilt or
guilty plea, a no contest plea, a judgment of conviction, an adjudication as a
delinquent child, an admission to a juvenile delinquency petition, or a disposi-
tion as an extended jurisdiction juvenile.

Subd. 2. PERPETRATOR’S ASSUMPTION OF THE RISK, A perpetra-
tor assumes the risk of loss, injury, or death resulting from or arising out of a
course of criminal conduct involving a violent crime, as defined in this section,
engaged in by the perpetrator or an accomplice, as defined in section 609.05,
and the crime victim is immune from and not liable for any civil damages as a
result of acts or omissions of the victim if the victim used reasonable force as

authorized in sections 609.06 or 609.065.

Subd. 3. EVIDENCE. Notwithstanding other evidence which the victim
may adduce relating to the perpetrator’s conviction of the violent crime involv-
ing the parties to the civil action, a certified copy of: a guilty plea; a court judg-
ment of guilt; a court record of conviction as specified in sections 599.24,
399.25, or 609.041; an adjudication as a delinquent child; or a disposition as an
extended jurisdiction juvenile pursuant to section 260.126 is conclusive proof of
the perpetrator’s assumption of the risk.

Subd. 4. ATTORNEY’S FEES TO VICTIM. If the perpetrator does not
prevail in a civil action that is subject to this section, the court may award rea-
sonable expenses, including attorney’s fees and disbursements, to the victim,

Subd. 5. STAY OF CIVIL ACTION. Except to the extent needed to pre-
serve evidence, any civil action in which the defense set forth in subdivision 1 or
2 is raised shall be stayed by the court on the motion of the defendant during
the pendency of any criminal action against the plaintiff based on the alleged
violent crime.
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Subd. 6. VIOLENT CRIME; DEFINITION. For purposes of this section,
“violent crime” means an offense named in sections 609.185; 609.19; 609.195;
609.20; 609.205; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.2231; 609.24; 609.245; 609.25;
609.255: 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.561; 609.562; 609.563; and
609.582, or an attempt to commit any of these offenses. “Violent crime”
includes crimes in other states or jurisdictions which would have been within

state.
Sec. 16. REPORT.

The state court administrator shall report to the chairs of the judiciary com-
mittees in the house of representatives and the senate by February 13, 1996, on
the implementation of the 1995 report of the legislative auditor on guardians ad
litem. The report shall address revision of the guidelines and adoption of rules
to deal with;

(1) guardian ad litem selection, training, evaluation, and removal;

(2) distinguishing the roles of guardians ad litem and custody investigators;

(3) developing procedures for guardians ad litem to work with parents who
have an order for protection;

(4) requiring judges to write more detailed appointment orders defining
their expectations of the guardian ad litem role;

(5) ascertaining and communicating to the court the wishes of the child
regarding matters before the court;

(6) standards for contact between the guardian ad litem and the child, speci-
fying when limited or no contact with the child may be appropriate;

(7) developing a procedure for bringing complaints against a guardian ad
litem; and

(8) specifying selection criteria, responsibilities, and necessary training for a
guardian ad litem program coordinator.

judges, attorneys, and other professionals about the purpose and role of guard-
ians ad litem.

In addressing the revision of the guidelines and adoption of rules, the
supreme court is requested to consult with interest groups, advocacy groups, and

the public.
Sec. 17. Laws 1993, chapter 255, section 1, subdivision 1, is amended to
read:

Section . NONFELONY ENFORCEMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE.
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Subdivision 1. DUTIES. The nonfelony enforcement advisory committee
shall study current enforcement and prosecution of all nonfelony offenses under
Minnesota law. The committee shall evaluate the effect of prosecutorial jurisdic-
tion over misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor crimes against the person on
effective law enforcement and public safety. The committee shall analyze the rel-
ative penalty levels for nonfelony crimes against the person and, low-level felony
property crimes, and crimes for which there are both felony and nonfelony pen-
alties. The committee shall recommend any necessary changes in Minnesota law
to achieve the following goals:

(1) proportionality of penalties for gross misdemeanors, misdemeanors, and
petty misdemeanors;

(2) effective enforcement and prosecution of these offenses; and

(3) efficient use of the resources of the criminal justice system.

Sec. 18, Laws 1993, chapter 255, section 1, subdivision 4, is amended to
read:

Subd. 4. REPORT. By Oeteber +; $995 January 15, 1997, the committee
shall report its findings and recommendations for revisions in Minnesota law to
the chairs of the senate committee on crime prevention and the house commit-
tee on judiciary.

Sec, 19. Laws 1993, chapter 255, section 2, is amended to read:
Sec. 2. REPEALER.

Section 1 is repealed effective Oetober 15; 1995 December 30, 1996.
Sec. 20. EFFECTIVE DATES.

(b) Section 1 is effective September 1, 1995.

(c) Sections 7 and 8 are effective July 1, 1995, for filings on and after that
date.

(d) Section 4 is effective July 1, 1995, and applies to causes of action arising

(f) The remaining provisions of this article are effective July 1, 1995.
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ARTICLE 7
CRIME VICTIMS

Section 1. [257.81] TRAINING FOR INTERVIEWERS OF MAL-
TREATED CHILDREN; COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES
DUTIES.

The commissioner of human services shall develop training programs
designed to provide specialized interviewer training fo persons who interview
allegedly maltreated children. The training must include information on inter-
viewing adolescents and address the best methods of so doing. All training shall
be presented within a child development model framework and include informa-
tion on working with children of color and children with special needs. To
accomplish this objective, the commissioner shall;

(1) establish criteria for adequately trained interviewers;

(2) determine the number of trained interviewers and evaluate the extent of
the need for interviewer training;

(3) offer forums and tuition to county professionals for specialized inter-
viewer training where the need exists; and

(4) encourage counties to assess local needs and assist counties in making
interviewer training available to meet those needs.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 299C.065, subdivision la, is
amended to read:

Subd. la. WITNESS AND VICTIM PROTECTION FUND. A witness
and victim protection fund is created under the administration of the commis-
sioner of public safety. The commissioner may make grants to local officials to
provide for the relocation or other protection of a victim, witness, or potential
witness who is involved in a criminal prosecution and who the commissioner
has reason to believe is or is likely to be the target of a violent crime or a viola-
tion of section 609.498 or 609.713, in connection with that prosecution. The
awarding of grants under this subdivision is not limited to the crimes and inves-
ligations described in subdivision 1. The commissioner may award grants for
any of the following actions in connection with the protection of a witness or
victim under this subdivision:

(1) to provide suitable documents to enable the person to establish a new
identity or otherwise protect the person;

(2) to provide housing for the person;
(3) to provide for the transportation of household furniture and other per-

sonal property to the person’s new residence;
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(4) to provide the person with a payment to meet basic living expenses for
a time period the commissioner deems necessary;

(5) to assist the person in obtaining employment; and

(6) to provide other services necessary to assist the person in becoming self-
sustaining.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 518B.01, subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. DEFINITIONS. As used in this section, the following terms shall
have the meanings given them:

(a) “Domestic abuse” means the following, if committed against a family or
houschold member by a family or household member:

& (1) physical harm, bodily injury, or assault; ez,

(2) the infliction of fear of imminent physical harm, bodily injury, or assault;
between family or household members; or

@) (3) terroristic threats, within the meaning of section 609.713, subdivi-
sion 1, or criminal sexual conduct, within the meaning of section 609.342,
609.343, 609.344, or 609.345; eommitted against a family or houschold member
by a family or houscheold member,

(b) “Family or household members” means;

(1) spouses; and former spousess,
(2) parents and childrens;
(3) persons related by blood; and;

in the past; and;

(3) persons who have a child in common regardless of whether they have

been married or have lived together at any time: “Family or household menber?
alse ineludes;

(6) a man and woman if the woman is pregnant and the man is alleged to be
the father, regardless of whether they have been married or have lived together
at any time; and

(7) persons involved in a significant romantic or sexual relationship.

Issuance of an order for protection on this the ground in clause (6) does not
affect a determination of paternity under sections 257.51 to 257.74. In determin-
ing whether persons are or have been involved in a significant romantic or sex-
ual relationship under clause (7), the court shall consider the length of time of
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the relationship; type of relationship; frequency of interaction between the par-
ties; and, if the relationship has terminated, length of time since the termination.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 518B.01, subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4. ORDER FOR PROTECTION. There shall exist an action known
as a petition for an order for protection in cases of domestic abuse.

(a) A petition for relief under this section may be made by any family or
household member personally or by a family or household member, a guardian
as defined in section 524.1-201, clause (20), or, if the court finds that it is in the
best interests of the minor, by a reputable adult age 25 or older on behalf of
minor family or household members. A minor age 16 or older may make a peti-
tion on the minor’s own behalf against a spouse or former spouse, I a person
with whom the minor has a child in common, if the court determines that the

minor has sufficient maturity and judgment and that it is in the best interests of
the minor.

(b) A petition for relief shall allege the existence of domestic abuse, and
shall be accompanied by an affidavit made under oath stating the specific facts
and circumstances from which relief is sought.

(c) A petition for relief must state whether the petitioner has ever had an
order for protection in effect against the respondent.

(d) A petition for relief must state whether there is an existing order for pro-
tection in effect under this chapter governing both the parties and whether there
is a pending lawsuit, complaint, petition or other action between the parties
under chapter 257, 518, 518A, 518B, or 518C. The court administrator shall
verify the terms of any existing order governing the parties. The court may not
delay granting relief because of the existence of a pending action between the
parties or the necessity of verifying the terms of an existing order. A subsequent
order in a separate action under this chapter may modify only the provision of
an existing order that grants relief authorized under subdivision 6, paragraph
(a), clause (1). A petition for relief may be granted, regardless of whether there is
a pending action between the parties.

(@ (e) The court shall provide simplified forms and clerical assistance to
help with the writing and filing of a petition under this section.

¢e) (f) The court shall advise a petitioner under paragraph ¢} (¢) of the right
to file a motion and affidavit and to sue in forma pauperis pursuant to section
563.01 and shall assist with the writing and filing of the motion and affidavit.

& (g) The court shall advise a petitioner under paragraph ¢ () of the right
to serve the respondent by published notice under subdivision 5, paragraph (b),
if the respondent is avoiding personal service by concealment or otherwise, and
shall assist with the writing and filing of the affidavit.
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&) (h) The court shall advise the petitioner of the right to seek restitution
under the petition for relief.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 518B.01, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd. 6a. SUBSEQUENT ORDERS AND EXTENSIONS. Upon Qphca-
tion, notice to all parties, and hearing, the court may extend the relief granted in
an existing order for protection or, 1_f a petitioner’s order for protection is no
longer in effect when an application for subsequent relief is made, grant a new

longer in in effect, grant a new order upon a a showing that;

(1) the respondent has violated a prior or existing order for protection;

(2) the petitioner is reasonably in fear of physical harm from the respon-
dent; or

(__) 3) the respondent has engaged in acts of harassment or stalking within the
meaning of section 609.749, subdivision 2. 2.

A petitioner does not need to show that physical harm is imminent to
obtain an extension or a subsequent order under this subdivision.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 518B.01, subdivision 8, is
amended to read:

Subd. 8. SERVICE; ALTERNATE SERVICE; PUBLICATION. (a) The
petition and any order issued under this section shall be served on the respon-
dent personally.

(b) When service is made out of this state and in the United States, it may
be proved by the affidavit of the person making the service. When service is
made outside the United States, it may be proved by the affidavit of the person
making the service, taken before and certified by any United States minister,
charge d’affaires, commissioner, consul, or commercial agent, or other consular
or diplomatic officer of the United States appointed to reside in the other coun-
try, including all deputies or other representatives of the officer authorized to
perform their duties; or before an office authorized to administer an oath with
the certificate of an officer of a court of record of the country in which the affi-
davit is taken as to the identity and authority of the officer taking the affidavit.

(c) If personal service cannot be made, the court may order service of the
petition and any order issued under this section by alternate means, or by publi-
cation, which publication must be made as in other actions. The application for
alternate service must include the last known location of the respondent; the
petitioner’s most recent contacts with the respondent; the last known location of
the respondent’s employment; the names and locations of the respondent’s par-
ents, siblings, children, and other close relatives; the names and locations of
other persons who are likely to know the respondent’s whereabouts; and a
description of efforts to locate those persons.
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The court shall consider the length of time the respondent’s location has
been unknown, the likelihood that the respondent’s location will become known,
the nature of the relief sought, and the nature of efforts made to locate the
respondent. The court shall order service by first class mail, forwarding address
requested, to any addresses where there is a reasonable possibility that mail or
information will be forwarded or communicated to the respondent.

The court may also order publication, within or without the state, but only
if it might reasonably succeed in notifying the respondent of the proceeding.
Alse; the eourt may reguire the petitioner to malke efforts to loeate the respen-
dent by telephone ealls to appropriate persons: Service shall be deemed complete
2+ 14 days after mailing or 2+ 14 days after court-ordered publication.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 518B.01, subdivision 14, is
amended to read:

Subd. 14. VIOLATION OF AN ORDER FOR PROTECTION. (a) When-
ever an order for protection is granted pursuant to this section, and the respon-
dent or person to be restrained knows of the order, violation of the order for
protection is a misdemeanor. Upon conviction, the defendant must be sentenced
to a minimum of three days imprisonment and must be ordered to participate in
counseling or other appropriate programs selected by the court. If the court stays
imposition or execution of the jail sentence and the defendant refuses or fails to
comply with the court’s treatment order, the court must impose and execute the
stayed jail sentence. A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who violates this
paragraph during the time period between a previous conviction under this
paragraph; sections 609.221 to 609.224; 609.713, subdivision 1 or 3; 609.748,
subdivision 6; 609.749; or a similar law of another state and the end of the five
years following discharge from sentence for that conviction. Upon conviction,
the defendant must be sentenced to 2 minimum of ten days imprisonment and
must be ordered to participate in counseling or other appropriate programs
selected by the court. Notwithstanding section 609.135, the court must impose
and execute the minimum sentence provided in this paragraph for gross misde-
meanor convictions.

(b) A peace officer shall arrest without a warrant and take into custody a
person. whom the peace officer has probable cause to believe has violated an
order granted pursuant to this section restraining the person or excluding the
person from the residence or the petitioner’s place of employment, even if the
violation of the order did not take place in the presence of the peace officer, if
the existence of the order can be verified by the officer. The person shall be held
in custody for at least 36 hours, excluding the day of arrest, Sundays, and holi-
days, unless the person is released earlier by a judge or judicial officer. A peace
officer acting in good faith and exercising due care in making an arrest pursuant
to this paragraph is immune from civil liability that might result from the offi-

cer’s actions.

(c) A violation of an order for protection shall also constitute contempt of
court and be subject to the penalties therefor.
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(d) If the court finds that the respondent has violated an order for protec-
tion and that there is reason to believe that the respondent will commit a further
violation of the provisions of the order restraining the respondent from commit-
ting acts of domestic abuse or excluding the respondent from the petitioner’s
residence, the court may require the respondent to acknowledge an obligation to
comply with the order on the record. The court may require a bond sufficient to
deter the respondent from committing further violations of the order for protec-
tion, considering the financial resources of the respondent, and not to exceed
$10,000. If the respondent refuses to comply with an order to acknowledge the
obligation or post a bond under this paragraph, the court shall commit the
respondent to the county jail during the term of the order for protection or until
the respondent complies with the order under this paragraph. The warrant must
state the cause of commitment, with the sum and time for which any bond is
required. If an order is issued under this paragraph, the court may order the
costs of the contempt action, or any part of them, to be paid by the respondent.
An order under this paragraph is appealable.

(e) Upon the filing of an affidavit by the petitioner, any peace officer, or an
interested party designated by the court, alleging that the respondent has vio-
lated any order for protection granted pursuant to this section, the court may
issue an order to the respondent, requiring the respondent to appear and show
cause within 14 days why the respondent should not be found in contempt of
court and punished therefor. The hearing may be held by the court in any
county in which the petitioner or respondent temporarily or permanently resides
at the time of the alleged violation. The court also shall refer the violation of the
order for protection to the appropriate prosecuting authority for possible prose-
cution under paragraph (a). *

(D If it is alleged that the respondent has violated an order for protection
issued under subdivision 6 and the court finds that the order has expired
between the time of the alleged violation and the court’s hearing on the viola-
tion, the court may grant a new order for protection under subdivision 6 based
solely on the respondent’s alleged violation of the prior order, to be effective
until the hearing on the alleged violation of the prior order. If the court finds
that the respondent has violated the prior order, the relief granted in the new
order for protection shall be extended for a fixed period, not to exceed one year,

- except when the court determines a longer fixed period is appropriate.

(g) The admittance into petitioner’s dwelling of an abusing party excluded
from the dwelling under an order for protection is not a violation by the peti-
tioner of the order for protection.

A peace officer is not liable under section 609.43, clause (1), for a failure to
perform a duty required by paragraph (b).

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611A.01, is amended to read:
611A.01 DEFINITIONS.
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For the purposes of sections 611A.01 to 614A<04 and 611A.06:

(a) “Crime” means conduct that is prohibited by local ordinance and results
in bodily harm to an individual; or conduct that is included within the defini-
tion of “crime” in section 609.02, subdivision 1, or would be included within
that definition but for the fact that (i) the person engaging in the conduct lacked
capacity to commit the crime under the laws of this state, or (ii) the act was
alleged or found to have been committed by a juvenile;

(b) “Victim” means a natural person who incurs loss or harm as a result of
a crime, including a good faith effort to prevent a crime, and for purposes of sec-
tions 611A.04 and 611A.045, also includes a corporation that incurs loss or
harm as a result of a crime. If the victim is a natural person and is deceased,
“victim” means the deceased’s surviving spouse or next of kin; and

(¢) “Juvenile” has the same meaning as given to the term “child” in section
260.015, subdivision 2.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611A.04, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision . REQUEST; DECISION. (a) A victim of a crime has the
right to receive restitution as part of the disposition of a criminal charge or juve-
nile delinquency proceeding against the offender if the offender is convicted or
found delinquent. The court, or a person or agency designated by the court, shall
request information from the victim to determine the amount of restitution
owed. The court or its designee shall obtain the information from the victim in
affidavit form or by other competent evidence. Information submitted relating
to restitution must describe the items or elements of loss, itemize the total dollar
amounts of restitution claimed, and specify the reasons justifying these amounts,
if restitution is in the form of money or property. A request for restitution may
include, but is not limited to, any out-of-pocket losses resulting from the crime,
including medical and therapy costs, replacement of wages and services,
expenses incurred to return a child who was a victim of a crime under section
609.26 to the child’s parents or lawful custodian, and funeral expenses. An
actual or prospective civil action involving the alleged crime shall not be used by
the court as a basis to deny a victim’s right to obtain court-ordered restitution
under this section. In order to be considered at the sentencing or dispositional
hearing, all information regarding restitution must be received by the court
administrator of the appropriate court at least three business days before the
sentencing or dispositional hearing. The court administrator shall provide copies
of this request to the prosecutor and the offender or the offender’s attorney at
least 24 hours before the sentencing or dispositional hearing. The issue of resti-
tution may be reserved or the sentencing or dispositional hearing or hearing on
the restitution request may be continued if the victim’s affidavit or other compe-
tent evidence submitted by the victim is not received in time. At the sentencing
or dispositional hearing, the court shall give the offender an opportunity to
respond to specific items of restitution and their dollar amounts in accordance
with the procedures established in section 611A.045, subdivision 3.
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(b) The court may amend or issue an order of restitution after the sentenc-
ing or dispositional hearing if:

(1) the offender is on probation, committed to the commissioner of correc-
tions, or on supervised release;

(2) information regarding restitution was submitted as required under para-
graph (a); and

(3) the true extent of the victim’s loss was not known at the time of the sen-
tencing or dispositional hearing, or hearing on the restitution request.

If the court holds a hearing on the restitution request, the court must notify
the offender, the offender’s attorney, the victim, and the prosecutor at least five
business days before the hearing. The court’s restitution decision is governed by
this section and section 611A.045.

(c) The court shall grant or deny restitution or partial restitution and shall
state on the record its reasons for its decision on restitution if information relat-
ing to restitution has been presented. If the court grants partial restitution it
shall also specify the full amount of restitution that may be docketed as a civil
judgment under subdivision 3. The court may not require that the victim waive
or otherwise forfeit any rights or causes of action as a condition of granting resti-
tution or partial restitution. In the case of a defendant who is on probation, the
court may not refuse to enforce an order for restitution solely on the grounds
that the order has been docketed as a civil judgment.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611A.19, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. TESTING ON REQUEST OF VICTIM. (a) Upon n the
request or with the consent of the victim, the prosecutor shall make a motion in
camera and the sentencing court may shall shall issue an order req requiring & pesses an
adult convicted of & vielent erime; as “defined in seetion 609452 ora _]uvemle
adjudlcated delinquent for violating section 609.342 (criminal sexual conduct in
the first depree), 609.343 (criminal sexual conduct in the second degree),
609.344 (criminal sexual conduct in the third degree), o + 609.345 gcrlmlna sex-
ual conduct in the fourth degree), or any / other violent crime, as defined in sec-
tion 609, 152 to submit to testing to determine the presence of human
1mmunodeﬁc1ency virus (HIV) antibody if:

(1) the proeseeuter moves for the test erder in eamera crime involved sexual
penetration, however slight, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 12; or

(2) the vietim reguests the test: and
B)ewéeﬁeeeaﬂsts%hatthebfekmskmefmueeusmembmﬁeef%heﬂe&m
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semen or blood during the commission of the crime in a manner which has been
demonstrated epidemiologically to transmit the human immunodeficiency virus

(HIV).

(b) ¥ When the court grants the preseeuter’s meotion orders an offender to
submit to testing under paragraph (a), the court shall order that the test be per-
formed by an appropriate health professional who is trained to provide the
counseling described in section 144.763, and that no reference to the test, the
motion requesting the test, the test order, or the test results may appear in the
criminal record or be maintained in any record of the court or court services.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611A.31, subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. “Battered woman” means a woman who is being or has been vic-
timized by domestic abuse as defined in section 518B.01, subdivision 2; exeept
thet “family or houschold members” includes persons with whem the woman
has had & continuing relationship.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611A.53, subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. No reparations shall be awarded to a claimant otherwise eligible if:

(a) the crime was not reported to the police within 30 days of its occurrence
or, if it could not reasonably have been reported within that period, within 30
days of the time when a report could reasonably have been made. A victim of
criminal sexual conduct in the first, second, third, or fourth degree who does not
report the crime within 30 days of its occurrence is deemed to have been unable
to have reported it within that period;

(b) the victim or claimant failed or refused to cooperate fully with the police
and other law enforcement officials;

(c) the victim or claimant was the offender or an accomplice of the offender
or an award to the claimant would unjustly benefit the offender or an accom-

plice;
(d) the victim or claimant was in the act of committing a crime at the time
the injury occurred;

(e) no claim was filed with the board within two years of victim’s injury or
death; except that (1) if the claimant was unable to file a claim within that
period, then the claim can be made within two years of the time when a claim
could have been filed; and (2) if the victim’s injury or death was not reasonably
discoverable within two years of the injury or death, then the claim can be made
within two years of the time when the injury or death is reasonably discoverable.
The following circumstances do not render a claimant unable to file a claim for
the purposes of this clause: (1) lack of knowledge of the existence of the Minne-
sota crime victims reparations act, (2) the failure of a law enforcement agency to
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provide information or assistance to a potential claimant under section 611A.66,
(3) the incompetency of the claimant if the claimant’s affairs were being man-
aged during that period by a guardian, guardian ad litem, conservator, autho-
rized agent, or parent, or (4) the fact that the claimant is not of the age of
majority; or

(f) the claim is less than $50.

The limitations contained in clauses (a) and (e¢) do not apply to victims of
domestic child abuse as defined in section 260.015, subdivision 24. In those
cases the two-year limitation period commences running with the report of the
crime to the police: provided that ne elaim as a result of loss due to domestie
child abuse may be paid when the elaimant is 21 years of age or older at the
time the elaim is fled.

Sec. 13, [611A.612] CRIME VICTIMS ACCOUNT.

A crime victim account js established as a spe01al account in the state trea-
sury. Amounts collected by the the state under section 611A.61 or p_g_1_c_i to the crime
victims reparations board under section 61 1A, 04, subdivision la, shall be cred-
ited to this account. Money credited to this account is annually approprlated to
the department of public safety for use for crime yictim reparations under sec-
tions 611A.51 to ) 611A.67.

Sec. 14. [611A.675] FUND FOR EMERGENCY NEEDS OF CRIME
VICTIMS.

Subdivision 1. GRANTS AUTHORIZED. The crime victims reparations |
board shall make § grants to local law enforcement agencies for the purpose of |
prov1dmg emergency assistance to victims. As used in this section, “emergency
assistance” includes but is not limited to:

) replacement of necessary property that was lost, damaged, or stolen as a
result of the crime;

(2) purchase and installation of necessary home security devices; and

(3) transportation to Jocations related to the victim’s needs as a victim, such
as medical facilities and facilities of the criminal justice system.

Subd. 2. APPLICATION FOR GRANTS. A county sheriff or the chief
administrative officer of a municipal police department may apply to the board
for a grant for any of the purposes described in subdivision 1 or for any other
emergency assistance purpose approved by the board. The application must be
on forms and pursuant to procedures developed by the board. The application
must describe the type or types of intended emergency assistance, estimate the
arhount of money required, and include any other information deemed neces-
sary by mg board.

Subd. 3. REPORTING BY LOCAL AGENCIES REQUIRED. A county
sheriff or or chief administrative officer of a municipal police department who
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receives a grant under this section shall report all expenditures to the board on
a quarterly basis. The sheriff or chief administrative officer shall also file an
annual report with the board itemizing the expenditures made during the pre-
ceding year, the purpose of those expenditures, and the ultimate disposition, if
any, of each assisted victim’s criminal case.

Subd. 4. REPORT TO LEGISLATURE. On or before February 1, 1997,

representatives judiciary committees on the implementation, use, and adminis-
tration of the grant program created under this section.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611A.71, subdivision 7, is
amended to read:

Subd. 7. EXPIRATION. The council expires on June 30, 3995 1997.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611A.73, subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. ELEMENTS OF THE CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM. “Ele-
ments of the criminal justice system” refers to eeunty prosecuting attorneys and
members of their staff; peace officers; probation and corrections officers; city,
state, and county officials involved in the criminal justice system; and does not
include the judiciary.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611A.74, is amended to read:
611A.74 CRIME VICTIM OMBUDSMAN; CREATION.

Subdivision 1. CREATION. The office of crime victim ombudsman for
Minnesota is created. The ombudsman shall be appointed by the commissioner
of public safety with the advice of the advisory council, and shall serve in the
unclassified service at the pleasure of the commissioner. No person may serve as
ombudsman while holding any other public office. The ombudsman is directly
accountable to the commissioner of public safety and shall have the authority to
investigate decisions, acts, and other matters of the criminal justice system so as
to promote the highest attainable standards of competence, efficiency, and jus-

Subd. 2. DUTIES. The crime victim ombudsman may investigate com-
plaints concerning possible violation of the rights of crime victims or witnesses
provided under this chapter, the delivery of victim services by victim assistance
programs, the administration of the crime victims reparations act, and other
complaints of mistreatment by elements of the criminal justice system or victim
assistance programs. The ombudsman shall act as a liaison, when the ombuds-
man deems necessary, between agencies, either in the criminal justice system or
in victim assistance programs, and victims and witnesses. The ombudsman may
be concerned with activities that strengthen procedures and practices which
lessen the risk that objectionable administrative acts will occur. The ombuds-
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man must be made available through the use of a toll free telephone number and
shall answer questions concerning the criminal justice system and victim ser-
vices put to the ombudsman by victims and witnesses in accordance with the
ombudsman’s knowledge of the facts or law, unless the information is otherwise
restricted. The ombudsman shall establish a procedure for referral to the crime
victim crisis centers, the crime victims reparations board, and other victim
assistance programs when services are requested by crime victims or deemed
necessary by the ombudsman,

The ombudsman’s files are confidential data as defined in section 13.02,
subdivision 3, during the course of an investigation or while the files are active.
Upon completion of the investigation or when the files are placed on inactive
status, they are private data on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivi-
sion 12.

Subd. 3. POWERS, The crime victim ombudsman has those powers neces-
sary to carry out the duties set out in subdivision 1, including;

(a) The ombudsman may investigate, with or without a complaint, any
action of an element of the criminal justice system or a victim assistance pro-
gram included in subdivision 2.

(b) The ombudsman may request and shall be given access to information
pertaining to & eomplaint and assistance the ombudsman considers necessary for
the discharge of responsibilities. The ombudsman may inspect, examine, and be
provxded copies of records and documents of all elements of the criminal justice
system and victim assistance programs. The ombudsman may request and shall
be given access to police reports pertaining to juveniles and juvenile delinquency
petitions, notwithstanding section 260.161. Any information received by the
ombudsman retains its data classification under chapter 13 while in the ombuds-

man’s possession. Juvenile records obtained under this subdivision may not be
released to any person.

(c) The ombudsman may prescribe the methods by which complaints are to
be made received, and acted upon; may determine the scope and manner of
investigations to be made, and subject to the requirements of sections 611A.72
1o 611A.74, may “determine th the form, frequency, and distribution of ombuds-
man conclusions, recommendations, and proposals.

(d) After completing investigation of a complaint, the ombudsman shall
inform in writing the complainant, the investigated person or entity, and other
appropriate authorities; ineluding the attorney generak of the action taken. If the
complaint involved the conduct of an element of the criminal justice system in
relation to a criminal or civil proceeding, the ombudsman’s findings shall be for-
warded to the court in which the proceeding occurred.

(e} Before announcing a conclusion or recommendation that expressly or
impliedly criticizes an administrative agency or any person, the ombudsman
shall consuli with that agency or person.
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Subd. 4. NO COMPELLED TESTIMONY. Neither the ombudsman nor
any member of the ombudsman’s staff may be compelled to testify or produce
evidence in any eeust judicial or administrative proceeding with respect to mat-
ters involving the exercise of official duties except as may be necessary to
enforce the provisions of this section.

Subd. 5. RECOMMENDATIONS. (a) On finding a complaint valid after
duly considering the complaint and whatever material the ombudsman deems
pertinent, the ombudsman may recommend action to the appropriate authority.

(b) If the ombudsman makes a recommendation to an appropriate authority
for action, the authority shall, within a reasonable time period, but not more
than 30 days, inform the ombudsman about the action taken or the reasons for
not complying with the recommendation.

(c) The ombudsman may publish conclusions and suggestions by transmit-
ting them to the governor, the legislature or any of its committees, the press, and
others who may be concerned. When publishing an opinion adverse to an
administrative agency, the ombudsman shall include any statement the adminis-

difficulties or its present rejection of the ombudsman’s proposals.

Subd. 6. REPORTS. In addition to whatever reports the ombudsman may
make from time to time, the ombudsman shall biennially report to the legisla-
ture and to the governor concerning the exercise of ombudsman functions dur-
ing the preceding biennium. The biennial report is due on or before the
beginning of the legislative session following the end of the biennium.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 629.341, subdivision 1, is
amended to read: :

Subdivision 1. ARREST. Notwithstanding section 629.34 or any other law
or rule, a peace officer may arrest a person anywhere without a warrant, includ-
ing at the person’s residence, if the peace officer has probable cause to believe
that within the preceding 12 hours the person within the preceding four hours
has assaulted; threatened with a dangerous weapon; or placed in fear of immedi-
ate bodily harm the person’s spouse; former spouse; other persen with whom the
person resides or has formerly resided; or other person with whem the persen
has @ child or an unborn child in common; regardless of whether they have been
married or have lved together at any time has committed domestic abuse, as
defined in section 518B.01, subdivision 2. The arrest may be made even though
the assault did not take place in the presence of the peace officer.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 629.715, subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. JUDICIAL REVIEW; RELEASE. (a) When a person is
arrested for a crime against the person, the judge before whom the arrested per-
son is taken shall review the facts surrounding the arrest and detention. If the
person was arrested or detained for committing a crime of violence, as defined
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in section 629.725, the prosecutor or other appropriate person shall present rele-
vant information involving the victim or the victim’s family’s account of the
alleged crime to the judge to be considered in determining the arrested person’s
release. The arrested person must be ordered released pending trial or hearing
on the person’s personal recognizance or on an order to appear or upon the exe-
cution of an unsecured bond in a specified amount unless the judge determines
that release (1) will be inimical to public safety, (2) will create a threat of bodily
harm to the arrested person, the victim of the alleged crime, or another, or (3)
will not reasonably assure the appearance of the arrested person at subsequent
proceedings.

(b) If the judge determines release under paragraph (a) is not advisable, the
judge may impose any conditions of release that will reasonably assure the
appearance of the person for subsequent proceedings, or will protect the victim
of the alleged crime, or may fix the amount of money bail without other condi-
tions upon which the arrested person may obtain release.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 629.72, subdivision 1, is
amended to read;

Subdivision 1. DEFINITION; ALLOWING DETENTION IN LIEU OF
CITATION; RELEASE. (a) For purposes of this section, “domestic abuse” has
the meaning given in section 518B.01, subdivision 2.

(b) Notwithstanding any other law or rule, an arresting officer may not issue
a citation in lieu of arrest and detention to an individual charged with harass-
ment or charged with assaulting the individualls spouse or other individual with
whem the eharged person resides domestic abuse.

(c) Notwithstanding any other law or rule, an individual who is arrested on
a charge of harassing any person or of assaulting the individuals speuse er other
person with whom the individual resides domestic abuse must be brought to the
police station or county jail. The officer in charge of the police station or the
county sheriff in charge of the jail shall issue a citation in lieu of continued
detention unless it reasonably appears to the officer or sheriff that detention is
necessary to prevent bodily harm to the arrested person or another, or there is a
substantial likelihood the arrested person will fail to respond to a citation.

(d) If the arrested person is not issued a‘citation by the officer in charge of
the police station or the county sheriff, the arrested person must be brought
before the nearest available judge of the district court in the county in which the
alleged harassment or assault domestic abuse took place without unnecessary
delay as provided by court rule.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 629.72, subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. JUDICIAL REVIEW; RELEASE; BAIL. (a) The judge before
whom the arrested person is brought shall review the facts surrounding the
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arrest and detention. The arrested person must be ordered released pending trial
or hearing on the person’s personal recognizance or on an order to appear or
upon the execution of an unsecured bond in a specified amount unless the judge
determines that release (1) will be inimical to public safety, (2) will create a
threat of bodily harm to the arrested person, the victim of the alleged harass-
ment or assault domestic abuse, or another, or (3) will not reasonably assure the
appearance of the arrested person at subsequent proceedings.

(b) If the judge determines release is not advisable, the judge may impose
any conditions of release that will reasonably assure the appearance of the per-
son for subsequent proceedings, or will protect the victim of the alleged harass-
ment or assaakt domestic abuse, or may fix the amount of money bail without
other conditions upon which the arrested person may obtain release. If condi-
tions of release are imposed, the judge shall issue a written order for conditional
release. The court administrator shall immediately distribute a copy of the order
for conditional release to the agency having custody of the arrested person and
shall provide the agency having custody of the arrested person with any avail-
able information on the location of the victim in a manner that protects the vic-
tim’s safety. Either the court or its designee or the agency having custody of the
arrested person shall serve upon the defendant a copy of the order. Failure to
serve the arrested person with a copy of the order for conditional release does
not invalidate the conditions of release.

(c) If the judge imposes as a condition of release a requirement that the per-
son have no contact with the victim of the alleged harassment or asseuit domes-
tic abuse, the judge may also, on its own motion or that of the prosecutor or on
request of the victim, issue an ex parte temporary restraining order under sec-
tion 609.748, subdivision 4, or an ex parte temporary order for protection under
section 518B.01, subdivision 7. Notwithstanding section 518B.01, subdivision 7,
paragraph (b), or 609.748, subdivision 4, paragraph (c), the temporary order is
effective until the defendant is convicted or acquitted, or the charge is dis-
missed, provided that upon request the defendant is entitled to a full hearing on
the restraining order under section 609.748, subdivision 5, or on the order for
protection under section 518B.01. The hearing must be held within seven days

of the defendant’s request.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 629.72, subdivision 6, is
amended to read:

Subd. 6. NOTICE TO VICTIM REGARDING RELEASE OF
ARRESTED PERSON. (a) Immediately after issuance of a citation in lieu of
continued detention under subdivision 1, or the entry of an order for release
under subdivision 2, but before the arrested person is released, the agency hav-
ing custody of the arrested person or its designee must make a reasonable and
good faith effort to inform orally the alleged victim of:

(1) the conditions of release, if any;

(2) the time of release;
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(3) the time, date, and place of the next scheduled court appearance of the
arrested person and the victim’s right to be present at the court appearance; and

(4) if the arrested person is charged with domestic assault abuse, the loca-
tion and telephone number of the area battered women’s shelter as designated
by the department of corrections.

(b) As soon as practicable after an order for conditional release is entered,
the agency having custody of the arrested person or its designee must personally
deliver or mail to the alleged victim a copy of the written order and written
notice of the information in clauses (2) and (3).

Sec. 23. [629.725] NOTICE TO CRIME VICTIM REGARDING BAIL
HEARING OF ARRESTED OR DETAINED PERSON.

When a person arrested or a juvenile detained for a crime of violence or an
atterapted crime of violence is scheduled to be reviewed under section 629.715
for release from pretrial detention, the court shall make a reasonable and good
faith effort to notify the victim of the alleged crime. If the victim is incapaci-
tated or deceased, notice must be given to the victim’s family. If the victim is a

minor, notice must be given to the victim’s parent or guardian. The notification
must include:

(1) the date and approximate time of the review;

(2) the location where the review will occur;

(3) the name and telephone number of a person that can be contacted for
additional information; and

(4) a statement that the victim and the victim’s family may attend the
review.

As used in this section, “crime of violence” has the meaning given it in sec-
tion 624.712, subdivision 5, and also includes gross misdemeanor violations of

section 609.224, and nonfelony violations of sections 518B.01, 609.2231,
609.3451, 609.748, and 609,749,

Sec. 24. [629.735] NOTICE TO LOCAL LAW ENFORCEMENT
AGENCY REGARDING RELEASE OF ARRESTED OR DETAINED PER-
SON.

When a person arrested or a juvenile detained for a crime of violence or an
attempted crime of violence is about to be released from pretrial detention, the
agency having custody of the arrested or detained person or its designee shall
make a reasonable and good faith effort before release to inform any local law
enforcement agencies known to be involved in the case, if different from the
agency having custody, of the following matters:

(1) the conditions of release, if any;
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(2) the time of release; and

(3) the time, date, and place of the next scheduled court appearance of the
arrested or detained person.

Sec. 25. INSTRUCTION TO REVISOR.

In each section of Minnesota Statutes referred to in column A, the revisor of
statutes shall delete the reference in column B every time it occurs and insert a
reference to section 611A.68.

Column A Column B
611A.51 611A.67
611A.52 611A.67
611A.66 611A.67

611A.68 . 611A.67
Sec. 26. REPEALER. '

Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 611A.61, subdivision 3, is repealed.

Sec. 27. EFFECTIVE DATES.

Section 10 is effective the day following final enactment. The remaining pro-
visions of this article are effective July 1, 1993.

Presented to the governor May 23, 1995
Signed by the governor May 25, 1995, 3:32 p.m.

CHAPTER 227—H.F.No. 365

An act relating to insurance; no-fault auto; regulating priorities of coverage Jor taxis;
requiring a report; amending Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 65B.47, subdivision la.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 65B.47, subdivision la, is
amended to read:

Subd. la. EXEMPTIONS. Subdivision 1 does not apply to:

(1) a commuter van;

(2) a vehicle being used to transport children as part of a family or group
family day care program,

(3) a vehicle being used to transport children to school or to a school-
sponsored activity; ef
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