740

Subd. 2. INSURER. <u>"Insurer" means an insurer licensed to write insurance</u> and writing residential renter's insurance in this state.

<u>Subd.</u> 3. RESIDENTIAL RENTER'S INSURANCE POLICY. <u>"Residential</u> renter's insurance policy" means insurance coverage normally written by the insurer as a standard residential renter's package policy.

## Sec. 3. [65A.45] RESIDENTIAL RENTER'S INSURANCE POLICY.

No insurer shall refuse to issue a single residential renter's insurance policy for the purpose of providing coverage to up to four individuals residing in the same household, if all of the individuals are named insureds on the policy and meet the insurer's normal underwriting requirements.

Presented to the governor May 24, 1991

Signed by the governor May 28, 1991, 9:54 a.m.

# CHAPTER 245-H.F.No. 326

An act relating to elections; providing for time off to vote in state primaries and the presidential primary; amending Minnesota Statutes 1990, section 204C.04.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1990, section 204C.04, is amended to read:

# 204C.04 EMPLOYEES; TIME OFF TO VOTE.

<u>Subdivision 1.</u> **RIGHT TO BE ABSENT.** Every employee who is eligible to vote at a state general in an election or at an election to fill a vacancy in the office of United States senator or United States representative has the right to be absent from work for the purpose of voting during the morning of election the day of that election, without penalty or deduction from salary or wages because of the absence. An employer or other person may not directly or indirectly refuse, abridge, or interfere with this right or any other election right of an employee.

<u>Subd. 2.</u> ELECTIONS COVERED. For purposes of this section, "election" means a regularly scheduled state primary or general election, an election to fill a vacancy in the office of United States senator or United States representative, or a presidential primary as described in section 207A.01 unless it is conducted by mail.

Subd. 3. PENALTY. A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor, and the county attorney shall prosecute the violation.

#### New language is indicated by underline, deletions by strikeout.

Presented to the governor May 24, 1991

Signed by the governor May 28, 1991, 9:58 a.m.

## CHAPTER 246-S.F.No. 1571

An act relating to the legislature; changing the boundaries of legislative districts; amending Minnesota Statutes 1990, section 2.031, subdivision 2; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 2; repealing Minnesota Statutes 1990, sections 2.019; and 2.042 to 2.702.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1990, section 2.031, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. DEFINITION. The terms "county," "town," "township," "city," "ward," "precinct," "census tract," "block," and "unorganized territory" when used in a description of a legislative district in subdivision 4 means this act mean a geographical area established as such by law and as it existed for purposes of the 1980 1990 federal census.

### Sec. 2. [2.043] FIRST DISTRICT.

Subdivision 1. SENATE DISTRICT. Senate district 1 consists of all of Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Pennington, Red Lake, and Roseau Counties, and that portion of Polk County consisting of Angus Township, Belgium Township, Brandt Township, Brislet Township, the city of East Grand Forks, Esther Township, Euclid Township, Farley Township, Grand Forks Township, Helgeland Township, Higdem Township, Huntsville Township, Keystone Township, Northland Township, Rhinehart Township, Sandsville Township, Sullivan Township, and Tabor Township.

Subd. 2. HOUSE DISTRICTS. Senate district 1 is divided into two house districts as follows:

(a) <u>House district 1A consists of that portion of senate district 1 not</u> included in house district 1B.

(b) House district 1B consists of all of Pennington and Red Lake Counties, that portion of Polk County contained in senate district 1, and that portion of Marshall County consisting of the city of Alvarado, Boxville Township, Comstock Township, McCrea Township, Oak Park Township, the city of Oslo, Vega Township, the city of Viking, Viking Township, the city of Warren, and Warrenton Township.

New language is indicated by <u>underline</u>, deletions by strikeout.