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1l_i_e_ revisor o_f statutes shall substitute th_e term “attorney general” _t_‘_q1_'E 
term “commissioner” g -“commissioner _o_f commerce” 9; “department” i_n Min- 
nesota Statutes, sections 309.52, subdivisions 1 $1]; 309.53, subdivisions 1 
_a_nd_ _2; 309.533, subdivision _1_; 309.591; and 309.60. 

The revisor Qf statutes shall delete gfl references 19 tl1_e “department” in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 309.581. * - 

Sec. 47. REPEALER. 
Minnesota Statutes 1986, sections 72A.23; 72A.24; 72A.28; 8OA.20; 80A.21; 

8OC.l5; 80C.16, subdivision 1; 82.25; 82.26; 83.34; 83.35, subdivision __3_; 238.085; 
309.515, subdivision 3, 309.532; 309.533, subdivisions 2, 3, g1_d_ 4; 309.534; 
309.555; all 309.58, age repealed. 

Sec. 48. EFFECTIVE DATE. 
Section §_ _i_§ effective June L 1987. Section 2_6 § effective June $4 1987. 

Section 34 i_s effective the Qy following final enactment. . 

Approved June 1, 1987 

CHAPTER 337——S.F.No. 478 
An act relating to insurance; requiring notification of group life or health coverage 

changes; allowing mandatory temporary insurance agent licenses; requiring those who solicit 
insurance to act as agent for the insurer; regulating insurance continuing education; provid- 
ing for the definition of an ineligible surplus lines insurer; regulating rates and forms; 
regulating insurance plan administrators; regulating trust funds; regulating the renewal, 
nonrenewal, and cancellation of commercial liability and property insurance policies; author- 
izing employers to jointly self-insure for property or casualty liability and regulating these 
plans; providing continued group life coverage upon termination or layofi,‘ providing for the 
establishment and operation of the insurance guaranty association and the life and health 
guaranty association; regulating accident and health insurance; regulating joint seMinsur- 
ance employee health plans; requiring the treatment of pregnancy-related conditions in the 
same manner as other illnesses; mandating certain coverages; clarijfving coverage for handi- 
capped dependents; providing continued group accident and health coverage upon termina- 
tion or layofif requiring coverage of current spouse and children; imposing surety bond or 
security requirements on certain health benefit plans; regulating Medicare supplement plan 
premium refunds; regulating long-term care policies; providing for the establishment and 
operation of the comprehensive health association, the medical joint underwriting associa- 
tion, and the joint underwriting association; providing comprehensive health insurance cover- 
age for certain employees not eligible for Medicare; regulating fraternal benefit associations; 
regulating automobile insurance; providing for exemption from certain legal process of cash 
value, proceeds, or benefits under certain life insurance or annuity contracts; limiting the 
cancellation of fire insurance binders and policies; providing for administration of the FAIR 
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plan; requiring accident prevention course premium reductions; limiting the grounds for 
cancellation or reduction in limits during the policy period; requiring the commissioner to set 
rates for cooperative housing and neighborhood real estate trust insurance; regulating no- 
fault automobile insurance; providing for the priority of security for payment of basic eco- 
nomic loss benefits; extending basic economic loss benefit protection; requiring coverages for 
former spouses; specifying membership on the assigned claims bureau; extending no-fault 
benefits to pedestrians who are struck by motorcycles; regulating township mutual insurance 
companies; providing for mandatory arbitration of certain claims; authorizing investments in 
certain insurers; regulating rental vehicle personal accident insurance; regulating trade prac- 

tices; requiring life and health insurers to substantiate the underwriting standards they use; 
providing assigned risk plan coverage for certain vehicles used by the handicapped; establish- 
ing a demonstration project to provide medical insurance to certain low income persons; 
regulating certain self-insurance by political subdivisions; clarifying the statute of limitations 
applicable to actions regarding manufacturers or suppliers of material containing asbestos; 
granting immunity from liability for volunteer coaches, managers, and o_;_’ficials; requiring a 
home health care study; prescribing penalties; amending Minnesota Statutes 1986, sections 
16/1.133, subdivision 1; 45.024, subdivision 2; 60/1.17, subdivisions la, 2c, 1 1, and 13,- 

60A,] 701, subdivisions 5, 7, and 8; 60/1.196; 60A.198, subdivision 3; 60A.23, subdivision 8; 
60A.29, subdivisions 2, 5, and I6, and by adding subdivisions; 60A.30; 60/1.31; 60B.44, 
subdivisions 1, 4, 5, and 9; 60C.08, subdivision 1; 60C.09,' 60C.I2; 61A.28, subdivision 12; 
6113.09; 62A. 041; 62/1.043, by adding a subdivision; 62A.141; 62A.I46; 62A.I52, subdivision 
2; 62A.17; 62/1.21; 62A.27,' 62A.31, subdivision la; 62A.43, subdivision 2, and by adding a 
subdivision; 62.4.46, by adding a subdivision; 62/1.48, subdivisions 1, 2, 6, and by adding a 
subdivision; 62/1.50, subdivision 3; 62D.05, by adding a subdivision; 62D.I02; 62E.06, subdi- 
vision 1; 62E.10, subdivision 2, and by adding subdivisions; 62E.J4, by adding a subdivision; 
6217.041, subdivision 2; 62F. 06, subdivision 1; 62H.01; 62H.02; 62H.04; 621.02, subdivisions 
1 and 3; 621.03, subdivision 5; 621.04; 621.12, subdivision 1; 621.13, by adding a subdivision; 
621.16, subdivision 3; 621.22, subdivision 2, and by adding a subdivision; 6413.11, subdivision 
4; 64B.I8; 64B.27; 65A.01, subdivision 3a; 65A.03, subdivision 1; 65A.10,- 65A.29, by adding 
a subdivision; 65A.35, subdivision 5; 65.4.39; 6513.03, subdivision 1; 65B.I2; 65B.131I; 65B.15, 
subdivision 1; 65B.I6,' 65B.2I, subdivision 2; 65B.28; 6513.46; 65B.48, subdivision 1; 65B.49, 
by adding a subdivision; 65B.525, subdivision 1; 65B.63, subdivision 1; 67A.05, subdivision 2; 
67A.06; 67A.231; 70A.06, by adding a subdivision; 70.4.08, subdivision 3; 72A.20, subdivi- 
sions 11, 17, and by adding subdivisions; 72/1.31, subdivision 1; 169.045, subdivision 1, and 
by adding a subdivision; 471.98, subdivision 2; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota 
Statutes, chapters 60A; 61A; 62A; 62E; 65A; 6513; 72A; 256B; 541; and 604; proposing coding 
for new law as Minnesota Statutes, chapter 60F; repealing Minnesota Statutes 1986, sections 
62/1.12; and 67A.43, subdivision 3; and Minnesota Rules, parts 2700.2400 to 2700.2440. 

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 16A.133, subdivision 1, is 

amended to read: 

Subdivision 1. CREDIT UNION; ORGANIZATION; COMPANY. An agency 
head may, with the written request of an employee, deduct from the pay of the 
employee a requested amount to be paid to any state employees’ credit union, or 
the Minnesota benefit association, or to any organization contemplated by sec» 
tion 179A.06, of which the employee is a member, 9; _t_g a company gigE 
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contracted Q insure fie employee Q ‘th_e medical costs o_f cancer Q‘ intensive 
ire. If an employee is a member of more than one such credit union or more 
than one such organization, o_r i_s insured py _rpo_ne E gfi company, only one 
credit union and one organization a_ng ppe company may be paid money by 
payroll deduction from the employee’s pay. No deduction may be made from 
the salary of an employee for payment to a credit union or organization _o_r 

company unless 100 employees request deductions for payment to the credit 
union or organization Q company. The 100 employee minimum does not apply 
to credit unions and organizations which received authorized payroll deduction 
payments on June 5, 1971. 

~~~

~
~

~ 

~~

~ 
Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 45.024, subdivision 2, is amended 

to read:

~ 
Subd. 2. DELEGATION. The commissioner of commerce may delegate to 

ene er mere of the Q deputy eemnaissieners commissioner, assistant commis- 
sioner, gr director the exercise of the commissioner’s statutory powers and 
duties, including the authority to decide and issue final orders in contested 
cases, rulemaking proceedings, and other hearings held under chapter 14.

~ 

~~ 

Sec. 3. [60A.084] NOTIFICATION ON GROUP POLICIES. 
~~ gr employer providing @ _g1_‘ health benefits 1_Ifl_ pg change benefits, limp 

coverage, Q: otherwise restrict participation until fie certificate holder 9; enroll- 
€_6_ pap 13% notified o_f a_n_y changeg, limitatiorg, o_r restrictions. Notice Q 2_1 

format which meets th_e requirements o_f t_l_1_e Employee Retirement Income Secur- y 5% Q U.S.C.A., sections 1001 Lg 1461, i_s satisfactory f_o; compliance@ 
this section. 

~~~ 

~~

~ 

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60A.17, subdivision la, is amended 
to read:

~

~ 

Subd. la. LICENSE APPLICATION. (a) PROCEDURE. An application 
for a license to act as an insurance agent shall be made to the commissioner by 
the person who seeks to be licensed. The application for license shall be accom- 
panied by a written appointment from an admitted insurer authorizing the 
applicant to act as its agent under one or both classes of license. The insurer 
must also submit its check payable to the state treasurer for the amount of the 
appointment fee prescribed by section 6OA.14, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), 
clause (9) at the time the agent becomes licensed. The application and appoint- 
ment shall be on forms prescribed by the commissioner. 

~~

~

~ 

~~

~

~ 

If the applicant is a natural person, no license shall be issued until that 
natural person has become qualified.

~ 

If the applicant is a partnership or corporation, no license shall be issued 
until at least one natural person who is a partner, director, officer, stockholder, 
or employee shall be licensed as an insurance agent. 
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(b) RESIDENT AGENT. The commissioner shall issue a resident insur- 
ance agent’s license to a qualified resident of this state as follows: 

~~

~ 

~~

~

~

~

~ 

~~~

~
~
~ 

(1) a person may qualify as a resident of this state if that person resides in 
this state or the principal place of business of that person is maintained in this 
state. Application for a license claiming residency in this state for licensing 
purposes, shall constitute an election of residency in this state. Any license 
issued upon an application claiming residency in this state shall be void if the 
licensee, while holding a resident license in this state, also holds, or makes 
application for, a resident license in, or thereafter claims to be a resident of, any 
other state or jurisdiction or if the licensee ceases to be a resident of this state; 
provided, however, if the applicant is a resident of a community or trade area, 
the border of which is contiguous with the state line of this state, the applicant 
may qualify for a resident license in this state and at the same time hold a 
resident license from the contiguous state; 

(2) the commissionershall subject each applicant who is a natural person to 
a written examination as to the applicant’s competence to act as an insurance 
agent. The examination shall be held at a reasonable time and place designated 
by the commissioner;

~ 
~~ 

(3) the examination shall be approved for use by the commissioner and shall 
test the applicant’s knowledge of the lines of insurance, policies, and transac— 
tions to be handled under the class of license applied for, of the duties and 
responsibilities of the licensee, and pertinent insurance laws of this state;

~
~
~
~
~ 
~ 
~ 
~
~ 
~ 
~ 
~ 
~ 
~ 
~ 
~ 
~ 
~~~ 

~~

~ ~ 

(4) the examination shall be given only after the applicant has completed a 
program of classroom studies in a school, which shall no_t include a school 
eendueteel by an admitted insurer Sponsored 9);, offered Q1, 9_1_‘ affiliated wit_h_ gp 
insurance company 9_r it_s agents; except gilt E limitation gfl pg preclude a 
bona @ professional association gf agents, not acting QLI behalf 9_t_‘ a_r_1 insurer, 
frc>_m offering courses. The course of study shall consist of 30 hours of classroom 
study devoted to the basic fundamentals of insurance for those seeking a Minne- 
sota license for the first time, 15 hours devoted to specific life and health topics 
for those seeking a life and health license, and 15 hours devoted to specific 
property and casualty topics for those seeking a property and casualty license. 
The program of studies or study course shall have been approved by the com~ 
missioner in order to qualify under this clause. If the applicant has been 
previously licensed for the particular line of insurance in the state of Minnesota, 
the requirement of a program of studies or a study course shall be waived. A 
certification of compliance by the organization offering the course shall accom- 
pany the applicant’s license application. This program of studies in a school or 
a study course shall not apply to farm property perils and farm liability appli- 
cants, or to agents writing such other lines of insurance as the commissioner 
may exempt from examination by order; 

(5) the applicant must pass the examination with a grade determined by the 
commissioner to indicate satisfactory knowledge and understanding of the class 
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or classes of insurance for which the applicant seeks qualification. The commis- 
sioner shall inform the applicant as to whether or not the applicant has passed; 

(6) an applicant who has failed to pass an examination may take subsequent 
examinations. Examination fees for subsequent examinations shall not be waived; 
and 

(7) any applicant for a license covering the same class or classes of insurance 
for which the applicant was licensed under a similar license in this state, other 
than a temporary license, within the three years preceding the. date of the 
application shall be exempt from the requirement of a written examination, 
unless the previous license was revoked or suspended by the commissioner. An 
applicant whose license is not renewed under subdivision 20 is exempt from the 
requirement of a written examination. 

(c) NONRESIDENT AGENT. The commissioner shall issue a nonresident 
insurance agent’s license to a qualified person who is a resident of another state 
or country as follows: 

(1) A person may qualify for a license under this section as a nonresident 
only if that person holds a license in another state, province of Canada, or other 
foreign country which, in the opinion of the commissioner, qualifies that person 
for the same activity as that for which a license is sought; 

(2) The commissioner shall not issue a license to any nonresident applicant 
until that person files with the commissioner a designation of the commissioner 
and the icommissioner’s successors in office as the applicant’s true and lawful 
attorney upon whom may be served all lawful process in any action, suit, or 
proceeding instituted by or on behalf of any interested person arising out of the 
applicant’s insurance business in this state. This designation shall constitute an 
agreement that this service of process is of the same legal force and validity as 
personal service of process in this state upon that applicant. 

~~

~

~

~

~ 

~~ 

~~

~

~

~ 

~~ 

~~

~ 

~~ 

~~

~ 

Service of process upon any licensee in any action or proceeding com- 
menced in any court of competent jurisdiction of this state may be made by 
serving the commissioner with appropriate copies of the process along with 
payment of the fee pursuant to section 6OA.l4, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), 
clause (4). The commissioner shall forward a copy of the process by registered 
or certified mail to the licensee at the last known address of record or principal 
place of business of the licensee; and 

(3) A nonresident license shall terminate automatically when the resident 
license for that class of license in the state, province, or foreign country in which 
the licensee is a resident is terminated for any reason. 

(d) DENIAL. (1) If the commissioner finds that an applicant for a resident 
or nonresident license has not fully met the requirements for licensing, the 
commissioner shall refuse to issue the license and shall promptly ‘give written 
notice to both the applicant and the appointing insurer of the denial, stating the 
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grounds for the denial. All fees which accompanied the application and appoint- 
ment shall be deemed earned and shall not be refundable. 

(2) The commissioner may also deny issuance of a license for any cause that 
would subject the license of a licensee to suspension or revocation. If a license 
is denied pursuant to this clause, the provisions of subdivision 6c, paragraph (c) 
apply. 

(3) The applicant may make a written demand upon the commissioner for a 
hearing within 30 days of the denial of a license to determine whether the 
reasons stated for the denial were lawful. The hearing shall be held pursuant to 
chapter 14A 

(e) TERM. All licenses issued pursuant to this section shall remain in force 
until voluntarily terminated by the licensee, not renewed as prescribed in subdi- 
vision 1d, or until suspended or revoked by the commissioner. A voluntary 
termination shall occur when the license is surrendered to the commissioner 
with the request that it be terminated or when the licensee dies, or when the 
licensee is dissolved or its existence is terminated. In the case of a nonresident 
license, a voluntary termination shall also occur upon the happening of the event 
described in paragraph (c), clause (3). 

Every licensed agent shall notify the commissioner within 30 days of any 
change of name, address, or information contained in the application. 

(i) SUBSEQUENT APPOINTMENTS. A person who holds a valid agent’s 
license from this state may solicit applications for insurance on behalf of an 
admitted insurer with which the licensee does not have a valid appointment on 
file with the commissioner; provided, that the licensee has permission from the 
insurer to solicit insurance on its behalf and, provided further, that the insurer 
upon receipt of the application for insurance submits a written notice of appoint- 
ment to the commissioner accompanied by its check payable to the state treasur- 
er in the amount of the appointment fee prescribed by section 60A. 14, subdivision 
1, paragraph (c), clause (9). The notice of appointment shall be on a form 
prescribed by the commissioner. 

(g) AMENDMENT OF LICENSE. An application to the commissioner to 
amend a license to reflect a change of name, or to include an additional class of 
license, or for any other reason, shall be on forms provided by the commissioner 
and shall be accompanied by the applicant’s surrendered license and a check 
payable to the state treasurer for the amount of fee specified in section 6OA.l4, 
subdivision l, paragraph (c). 

An applicant who surrenders an insurance license pursuant to this clause 
retains licensed status until an amended license is received. 

(h) EXCEPTIONS. The following are exempt from the general licensing 
requirements prescribed by this section: 
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(1) agents of township mutuals who are exempted pursuant to subdivision 
lb; < 

(2) fraternal beneficiary association representatives exempted pursuant to 
subdivision 1c; 

(3) any regular salaried officer or employee of a licensed insurer, without 
license or other qualification, may act on behalf of that licensed insurer in the 
negotiation of insurance for that insurer; provided that a licensed agent must 
participate in the sale of any such insurance; 

(4) employers and their oflicers or employees, and the trustees or employees 
of any trust plan, to the extent that the employers, officers, employees, or trust- 
ees are engaged in the administration or operation of any program of employee 
benefits for the employees of the employers or employees of their subsidiaries or 
afliliates involving the use of insurance issued by a licensed insurance company; 
provided, that the activities of the officers, employees and trustees are incidental 
to clerical or administrative duties and their compensation does not vary with 
the volume of insurance or applications therefor; 

(5) employees of a creditor who enroll debtors for life or accident and health 
insurance; provided the employees receive no commission or fee therefor; and 

(6) clerical or administrative employees of an insurance agent who take 
insurance applications or receive premiums in the oflice of their employer, if the 
activities are incidental to clerical or administrative duties and the employee’s 
compensation does not vary with the volume of the applications or premiums; 
51$! 

(1) rental vehicle companies and their employees i_n connection with E 
offer o_f rental vehicle personal accident insurance under section 72A.l25. 

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60A.l7, subdivision 2c, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 2c. l¥IA-N-BALFOR-¥ TEMPORARY LICENSES. The commissioner 
shall fly grant a temporary insurance agent’s license to a person who has 
siener and who has successfully completed the examination, if any, required by 
the commissioner. The temporary license shall my be granted ne later -than gs 
o_f the date upon which the applicant receives written notice from the commis- 
sionerthattheappheefienfermsidentheensehasbeeneeeeptedbytheeemmis 
s-ienef and that the person has passed any required examination. A temporary 
license will permit the applicant to act as an insurance agent for the original 
appointing insurer for the class of business specified therein until the earlier of 
(a) receipt by the applicant of the resident license, or (b) the expiration of 90 
days from the date on which the temporary license was granted. 

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60A.l7, subdivision 11, is amended 
to read: 
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Subd. 11. LEFE AGENT-S INSURER’S AGENT. Any person 
who shall selieit an applieatien fer solicits insurance upen the life ef aaether 
shalhinanyeenfievefiybetweentheassureéertheassareélsbenefieiafiiand 
theeempanyissuinganypelieyupensueh&ppHeatien;beregardeées_i§the 
agent of the eem-pany insurer and not the agent of the assured insured. 

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60A.17, subdivision 13, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 13. AGENTS; VARIABLE CONTRACTS. (a) LICENSE REQUIRED. 
No person shall sell or offer for sale a contract on a variable basis unless prior to 
making any solicitation or sale the person has obtained from the commissioner 
a license therefor. The license shall only be granted, upon the written requisi- 
tion of an insurer, to a qualified person who holds a current license authorizing 
the person to solicit and sell life insurance and annuity contracts in this state. 
To become qualified, a person shall complete a written application on a form 
prescribed by the commissioner and shall take and pass an examination pre- 
scribed by the commissioner. Prior to the taking of the examination; er upen 
reexaminatien; the applicant ahail transmit te the eemmissiener; by meney 
erderereashieHeheekpayabbtethest&mtreasuee&anaaminetienfeeef$+G: 

(b) EXCEPTIONS. (1) Any regularly salaried officer or employee of a licensed 
insurer may, without license or other qualification, act on behalf of that licensed 
insurer in the negotiation of a contract on a variable basis, provided that a 
licensed agent must participate in the sale of any contract. 

(2) Any person who, on July 1, 1969, holds a valid license authorizing the 
person to solicit and sell life insurance and annuity contracts and who also holds 
a valid license issued by the department of commerce authorizing the person to 
sell or offer for sale contracts on a variable basis shall be issued a license by the 
commissioner of commerce upon application therefor and payment of a $2 fee, 
which license shall expire on May 31, 1970, unless renewed by an insurer as 
provided in paragraph (a). 

(3) Any person who holds a valid license to solicit and sell life insurance 
and annuity contracts may solicit and sell contracts on a variable basis without 
acquiring a license under this subdivision if the contract is based on an account 
which is excluded from the definition of investment company under the Invest— 
ment Company Act of 1940, United States Code, title 15, section 80a-3(11). 

(c) RULES. The commissioner may by rules waive or modify any of the 
foregoing requirements or prescribe additional requirements deemed necessary 
for the proper sale and solicitation of contracts on a variable basis. 

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60A. 1701, subdivision 5, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 5. POWERS OF THE ADVISORY TASK FORCE. (a) Applications 
fer aeereditet-ien ef eaeh eeurse and for approval of individuals responsible for 
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monitoring course offerings must be submitted to the commissioner on forms 
prescribed by the commissioner and must be accompanied by a fee of not more 
than $50 payable to the state of Minnesota for deposit in the general fund. :3 
fee of $_5 Q; E g fraction gfi‘ fie hour _o_f course approval sought must 
pg forwarded @ th_e application fir course approval. If the advisory task force 
is created, it shall make recommendations to the commissioner regarding the 
accreditation of courses sponsored by institutions, both public and private, which 
satisfy the criteria established by this section, the number of credit hours to be 
assigned to the courses, and rules which may be promulgated by the commis- 
sioner. The advisory task force shall seek out and encourage the presentation of 
COLlI'S8S. 

(b) If the advisory task force is created, it shall make recommendations and 
provide subsequent evaluations to the commissioner regarding procedures for 
reporting compliance with the minimum education requirement. 

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60A.l70l, subdivision 7, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 7. CRITERIA FOR COURSE ACCREDITATION. (a) The commis- 
sioner may accredit a course only to the extent it is designed to impart substan- 
tive and procedural knowledge of the insurance field. The burden of demonstrating 
that the course satisfies this requirement is on the individual or organization 
seeking accreditation. The commissioner shall approve any educational pro- 
gram approved by Minnesota Continuing Legal Education relating to the insur- 
ance field. 

(b) The commissioner may not accredit a course: _ 

(1) that is designed to prepare students for a license examination; 

(2) in mechanical office or business skills, including typing, speedreading, 
use of calculators, or other machines or equipment; 

(3) in sales promotion, including meetings held in conjunction with the 
general business of the licensed agent; or 

(4) in motivation, the art of selling,‘ psychology, or time management; 

Q) unless t_l_1‘§ student attends classroom instruction conducted by Q instruc- 
tor approved _b_y the department o_f commerce; g 

(Q which <x<t_n 3 completed by jug; student a home or outside the classroom 
without gm supervision o_f _2_1Ll instructor approved bl Q department 9_f com- 
merce. 

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60A.l70l, subdivision 8, is 
amended to read: 

Subd. 8. MINIMUM EDUCATION REQUIREMENT. Each person sub- 

Changes or additions are indicated by underline, deletions by

Copyright © 1987 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                                



2095 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1987 Ch. 337 

ject to this section shall complete annually a minimum of 20 credit hours of 
courses accredited by the commissioner. Any person teaching or lecturing at an 
accredited course qualifies for 1-1/2 times the number of credit hours that would 
be granted to a person completing the accredited course. Gredit hours ever 29 
eamedinaayeneyearmaybeearriedferwardferthefeflevséagtweyears: Jlhe 
eemmissiener-‘ may recognize aeered-ited eeurses eem-pleted in +983; 4-984; of 
+98§ferthemin+mma&eéue&tien£equirementfer+98§:fl)__r;1g;§@t§g1_ 
credit hours p_e_r year r_r_i_ay be credited t_o Q person @ courses sponsored by, 
offered by; Q; afliliated @ an insurance company 9_r_ its agents. Courses 
sponsored _t_>_y, offered 

‘pg or affiliated wi_th an insurance company 9; gg9_n_t ggy 
restrict its students Q agents 91" the company g agency. 

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60A.196, is amended to read: 

60A.196 DEFINITIONS. 

Unless the context otherwise requires, the following terms have the mean- 
ings given them for the purposes of sections 6OA.l95 to 60A.209: 

(a) “Surplus lines insurance” means insurance placed with an insurer per- 
mitted to transact the business of insurance in this state only pursuant to sections 
6OA.l95 to 6OA.209. 

(b) “Eligible surplus lines insurer” means an insurer recognized as eligible to 
write insurance business under sections 6OA.l95 to 6OA.209 but not licensed by 
any other Minnesota law to transact the business of insurance. 

(c) “Ineligible surplus lines insurer” means an insurer not recognized as an 
eligible surplus lines insurer pursuant to sections 6OA.l95 to 6OA.209 and not 
licensed by any other Minnesota law to transact the business of insurance. 
“Ineligible surplus li_rfi insurer” includes Q @ retention group §§_ defined under 
the Liability Retention _A_gty Public 1 Number 99-563. 

((1) “Surplus lines licensee” or “licensee” means a person licensed under 
sections 6OA.l95 to 6OA.209 to place insurance with an eligible or ineligible 
surplus lines insurer. 

(e) “Association” means an association registered under section 6OA.208. 

(f) “Alien insurer” means any insurer which is incorporated or otherwise 
organized outside of the United States. 

(g) “Insurance laws” means chapters 60 to 79 inclusive. 

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 6OA.198, subdivision 3, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 3. PROCEDURE FOR OBTAINING LICENSE. A person licensed 
as a resident an agent in this state pursuant to other law may obtain a surplus 
lines license by doing the following: 
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(a) filing an application in the form and with the information the commis- 
sioner may reasonably require to determine the ability of the applicant to act in 
accordance with sections 60A.195 to 60A.209; 

(b) maintaining R resident agent Q agent’.s license in this state; 
(c) delivering to the commissioner a financial guarantee bond from a surety 

acceptable to the commissioner for the greater of the following: 

(1) $5,000; or 

(2) the largest semiannual surplus lines premium tax liability incurred by 
the applicant in the immediately preceding five years; and 

(d) agreeing to file with the commissioner of revenue no later than February 
15 and August 15 annually, a sworn statement of the charges for insurance 
procured or placed and the amounts returned on the insurance canceled under 
the license for the preceding six-month period ending December 31 and June 30 
respectively, and- at the time of the filing of this statement, paying the commis- 
sioner a tax on premiums equal to three percent of the total written premiums 
less cancellations; and 

(e) annually paying a fee as prescribed by section 60A.l4, subdivision 1, 
paragraph (c), clause (1 1). . 

Sec. 13. [60A.2095] CONSTRUCTION. 
Nothing in sections 6OA.195 t_o >6OA.209 shall 3 construed Q marmit _’th_e 

state 3; impose requirements beyond those granted by t_lle Liability Risk Reten- fig Act, Public Law Number 99-563. 
Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60A.23, subdivision 8, is amended 

to read: 

Subd. 8. SELF-INSURANCE pit INSURANCE PLAN ADMINISTRA- 
TORS; WHO _A_I{_E VENDORS OF RISK MANAGEMENT SERVICES. (1) 
SCOPE. This subdivision applies to any vendor of risk management services 
and to any entity which administers, for compensation, a self-insurance 91 insur- E; plan. This subdivision does not apply (a) to an insurance company autho- 
rized to transact insurance in this state, as defined by section 60A.O6, subdivision 
1, clauses (4) and (5); (b) to a service plan corporation, as defined by section 
62C.O2, subdivision 6; (c) to a health maintenance organization, as defined by 
section 62D.02, subdivision 4; (d) to an employer directly operating a self- 
insurance plan for its employees’ benefits; or (e) to an entity which administers 
a program of health benefits established pursuant to a collective bargaining 
agreement between an employer, or group or association of employers, and a 
union or unions. 

(2) DEFINITIONS. For purposes of this subdivision the following terms 
have the meanings given them. ‘ 
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(a) “Administering a self-insurance o_r insurance plan” means (i) processing, 
reviewing or paying claims, (ii) establishing or operating funds and accounts, or 
(iii) otherwise providing necessary administrative services in connection with 
the operation of a self-insurance _o_r insurance plan. 

(b) “Employer” means an employer, as defined by section 62E.02, subdivi- 
sion 2. 

(c) “Entity” means any association, corporation, partnership, sole proprie- 
torship, trust, or other business entity engaged in or transacting business in this 
state. 

(d) “Se1f-insurance 9; insurance plan” means a plan providing life, medical 
or hospital care, accident, sickness or disability insurance, as an employee fringe 
benefit, or a plan providing liability coverage for any other risk or hazard, which 
_i_§ Q; is not directly insured or provided by a licensed insurer, service plan 
corporation, or health maintenance organization. 

(e) “Vendor of risk management services” means an entity providing for 
compensation actuarial, financial management, accounting, legal or other serv- 
ices for the purpose of designing and establishing a self-insurance o_r insurance 
plan for an employer. 

(3) LICENSE. No vendor of risk management services or entity administer- 
ing a self-insurance 9; insurance plan may transact this business in this state 
unless it is licensed to do so by the commissioner. An applicant for a license 
shall state in writing the type of activities it seeks authorization to engage in and 
the type of services it seeks authorization to provide. The license may be 
granted only when the commissioner is satisfied that the entity possesses the 
necessary organization, background, expertise, and financial integrity to supply 
the services sought to be offered. The commissioner may issue a license subject 
to restrictions or limitations upon the authorization, including the type of serv- 
ices which may be supplied or the activities which may be engaged in. The 
license fee is $100. All licenses are for a period of two years. 

(4) REGULATORY RESTRICTIONS; POWERS OF THE COMMISSION- 
ER. To assure that self-insurance Q insurance plans are financially solvent, are 
administered in a fair and equitable fashion, and are processing claims and 
paying benefits in a prompt, fair, and honest manner, vendors of risk manage- 
ment services and entities administering insurance 9; self-insurance plans are 
subject to the supervision and examination by the commissioner. Vendors of 
risk management services, entities administering insurance gt self-insurance plans, 
and insurance 9; self-insurance plans established or operated by them are sub- 
ject to the trade practice requirements of sections 72A.19 to 72A.30.

~ 
(5) RULE MAKING AUTHORITY. To carry out the purposes of this 

subdivision, the commissioner may adopt rules, including emergency rules, pur- 
suant to sections 14.01 to -14.49 14.69. These rules may: 
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(a) establish reporting requirements for administrators of insurance _o_r self- 
insurance plans; 

(b) establish standards and guidelines to assure the adequacy of financing, 
reinsuring, and administration of insurance 9; self-insurance plans; 

(c) establish bonding requirements or other provisions assuring the financial 
integrity of entities administering insurance o_r self-insurance plans; or 

(d) establish other reasonable requirements to further the purposes of this 
subdivision. 

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 6OA.29, subdivision 2, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 2. PURPOSE. The purpose of this section is to authorize the estab- 
lishment of trust funds for the purpose of indemnifying nonprofit beneficiary 
organizations and their officers, directors, and agents for financial loss due to the 
imposition of legal liability Q‘ Q‘ damage g destruction 9;” property, and to 
regulate the operation of trust funds established under this section. 

See. 16. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60A.29, subdivision 5, is amended 
to read:‘ 

Subd. 5. INELIGIBLE RISKS. No trust fund established under this sec- 
tion shall indemnify any beneficiary for property loss; liabilities incurred under 
the workers’ compensation act, or for benefits provided to employees pursuant 
to any medical, dental, life, or disability income protection plan. 

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60A.29, subdivision 16, is amended 
to read: ' 

Subd. l6. REINSURANCE. Authorized trust funds may insure or reinsure 
their obligations and liabilities with; 

(1) insurance companies authorized to do business in Minnesota, pursuant 
to section 60A.06; or with; 

Q) insurance companies similarly authorized in any other state of the United 
States; 

Q) insurance companies n_ot authorized i_n Minnesota 9; fly if 
the unauthorized insurance company establishes reinsurance security in favor_,_gf 
th_e ceding fund conforming t_o 33 general rules fir allowance 9_f reinsur- 
ance credits stated i_n Q Financial Condition Examiners Handbook adopted by 
me National Association gf Insurance Commissioners; g 

(5) other trust funds organized under this section or under similar laws of 
fly other state if the reinsuring trust fund establishes reinsurance security as 
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Sec. l8. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 6OA.29, is amended by adding a 
subdivision to read: 

Subd. 2_2_._ FOREIGN TRUST FUNDS. A trust fund organized bpb existing 
under tbg t2tv_v_s_ bt‘ another $t_e_ Q tbg bblb purpose o_f indemnifying nonprofit 
beneficiary organizations pg their officers, directors, ggl agents Q financial 
tbbs bpb t_o mp imposition bf legal liability Q E damage g destruction o_f 

property, Q provided i_r_t subdivisions g a_nd fit gy app_ly t_o fie commissioner 
fQ_[ authority tb operate within t_lti_s_ state, provided that: 

Q) tl_1_e_ t_1;t1bt §1_1_1_1_c_l @ been continuously Q operation fbt b period o_f n_o_t l_e_s§ M byg ylrs tb tbe _(_l_a_tb i_t applies f_ot authorization under @ subdivi~ 
sion, during which period i_t must have issued o_nly nonassessable indem- 
nification agreements t_o jg beneficiaries, gig during each o_f those years tbg trust 
bipbl received n_ot tes_s flap $1,000,000 i_n contributions from beneficiaries Q 
protections afforded by tbb trust fund; 

(2) tbb trust fund by been authorized by _an_d i_s subject tb regulation a_rg 
examination by ab department bf insurance bf tt_s domiciliary state; 

Q) t_l3=,_ trust fund must fie with t_h_e commissioner jg trust agreement, 
bylaws pt plan bf operation, schedule o_f benefits, forms gt‘ indemnification 
agreements, £1 contribution schedules applicable t_o beneficiaries Q fl1_i§ state; 

(31) tfi trust fund must bg governed by _a board o_f n_o’t fewer than by/b 
trustees, a_ll o_f whom must bb elected by th_e beneficiaries o_f tlte trust fund, brg 
none pt" whom may receive compensation fig service gs a_ trustee; 

t_5_) bib trpst fu_nd b_a_s_, ab bf th_e la1_st gay o_f flrb calendar yg immediately 
prior _t_b tt_s application _fbg authority, 2_1 n_et fund balance surplus o_f Lt bibs thin 
$1,000,000, _a_s_ evidenced by i_t_§ financial statements certified by Q independent 
certified public accountant _ip_ accordance @ generally accepted accounting 
principles consistently applied; app 

(_6_) tlbe trust fund must, upon and fat pt; times after authorization by tbb 
commissioner, maintain 2_1 registered office within this state. 

See. 19. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60A.29, is amended by adding a 
subdivision to read: 

Subd. _2_3b STANDARDS FOR AUTHORIZATION. Within Q gy_s 
receipt bf t_l;l_e_ documents specified under subdivision Q at supporting gyt; 
dence ‘which establishes compliance @ th_e standards _s_c_:t fih underQ 
subdivision, t_l_1_e commissioner shall grant t_o Q trust fund gt certificate bf author- 
tty tb conduct operations i_n_ tfl gtbtb T_hb operations i_n gig stag g subject tb 
tbb limitations @ standards sbt forth i_n subdivisions 4_l t_o Q o_f gis section. _I_r_t 

tl1_e event Q authorized foreign trust fund violates o_rie_ o_f those subdivisions g 
tbb b1_1_l_e_s_ b_f_' _t_h_e commissioner applicable t_o foreign trust funds, tlz1_e commission- 
_e_r _m_ay suspend g revoke t_h_e_: certificate o_f authority. 
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See. 20. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60A.29, is amended by adding a 
subdivision to read: 

Subd. E RULES. @ commissioner may adopt rules Q enforce _a_13g 

administer requirements o_f sections _l§ fl 1_9. 
Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 6OA.30, is amended to read; 
6OA.3O RENEWAL OF INSURANCE POLICY WITH ALTERED RATES. 
If an insurance company licensed to do business in this state offers or 

purports to offer to renew any commercial liability and/or property insurance 
policy at less favorable terms as to the dollar amount of coverage or deductibles, 
higher rates, and/or higher rating plan, the new terms, the new rates and/or 
rating plan may take effect on the renewal date of the policy if the insurer has 
sent to the policyholder notice of the new terms, new rates and/or rating plan at 
least -39 Q days prior to the expiration date. If the insurer has not so notified 
the policyholder, the policyholder may elect to cancel the renewal policy within 
the -39-day 60-day period after receipt of the notice. Earned premium for the 
period of coverage, if any, shall be calculated pro rata upon the prior rate. This 
subdivision does not apply to ocean marine insurance, accident and health 
insurance, and reinsurance. 

This section does not apply i_f gs change relates t_o guide “a” rates 9; excess 
rates also known Q “consent t_o rates.” 

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60A.3l, is amended to read: 

60A.3l -NI-I-DT—E-R-NI GA-NGEI:I=A-T-I-9-N WORKER’S COMPENSA- 
TION INSURANCE. 

In addition to the requirements of Minnesota Statutes 1984, section 176.185, 
subdivision 1, no a policy of insurance issued to cover the liability to pay 
compensation under Minnesota Statutes 1984, chapter 176, shall be ea-neeled by 

efsuehFalesestheeemm1ssienei=" efeemmereemayadeptifi 
regardtetheeaneel-l&t»ien' 

" 
anel-fieseermnereia-l’ prepert-y= 

insu-r-a-nee pel-ieies comply @ sections 6OA.3O Q 60A.35 tp 6OA.38. 
Sec. - 23. [60A.35]~ SCOPE. 
Except as specifically ‘limited i_n section 6OA.30, sections Q t_o apply t_o 

all commercial liability and/or property insurance policies issued l_)y companies 
licensed t_o Q business i_n E state except ocean marine insurance, accidentQ 
health insurance, excess insurance, surplus lines insurance, an_d reinsurance. 

Sec. 24. [60A.36] MIDTERM CANCELLATION. 
Subdivision L REASON FOR CANCELLATION. _l\£)_ insurer may cancel 

a policy o_f commercial liability and/or property insurance during tl1_e term o_t”tl1_e 
policy, except Q E g more o_f @ following reasons: 
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Q) nonpayment 91‘ premium; 

Q) misrepresentation o_r fraud made py _9__I_‘ with th_e knowledge pf fig insured 
ip obtaining _t_i__1_§_ policy g Q pursuing a claim under fl'_1_§ policy; 

Q) actions l_3_y mp insured thpt have substantially increased pg substantially 
changed Q3: fl insured; 

(Q) refusal o_f t_hp Esured tp eliminate known conditions that increase th_e 
potential fo_r lpg after notification l_)y t_l_1p insurer that flip condition must E 
removed; 

(_5) substantial change i_n t_1_1_e pig assumed, except _tp gig extent that ;l_1_e 

insurer _s_hould reasonably have foreseen _t_h_e change g contemplated ply; _r;i_s3 i_n 
writing jt_l_1_e contract; 

(Q 1915 pf reinsurance ‘py t_h_e insurer which provided coverag_e_ t_o flip insurer 
f_o_r p significant amount 9_f _tl1_e underlying E insured. 5 notice 9_f cancellation 
under tl_1_i_s_ clause may advise _t_l_1_§ policyholder tl1_at t_h_§_ policyholder h_g_s_ tgi ggyg 
fgpyn_ t_h_e glptp p_i_‘ receipt pf thp notice tp appeal tlip cancellation 19 mp commis- 
sioner p_f_‘ commerce grid. that tile commissioner _vs_/jg render a decision pp 19 
whether glyg cancellation _i_s_ justified because pf ;h_e_ _lp_s_§ _Q_f_' reinsurance withinE 
business days 2_t_t:t_g receipt pf t_lgp appeal; 

(1) a determination ‘py 
could place tl_1_§ insurer _ip violation o_f;l_1§_ insurance laws pf gs state; 95 

Q) nonpayment 9_i_‘ gpps 19 Q association 9; organization, 9_t_h_er thi Q 
insurance association 9; organizatiop, where payment 91' dues is g1_ prereguisite _t2 
obtaining pi; continuing ge insurance. lhjp provision £91; cancellation Q f_ai_l_- 
11F;°.I9.I3_ifldL=S§9§£<&_I2I9_§£a 1Q1-;__ersonsfl12a:.<2__r~e>tiredatQ>wt§9£as2g 
pmeg g gig E disabled according t_q social security standards. 

Subd. _2_.. NOTICE. Cancellation under subdivision L clauses (_2_) _t_g §§)_, 

§l_1pfl p_c_>_t_ lg effective before _6_Q _d_ay§ notice t_o_ _th_e policyholder. [[9 notice 
_(_)_i_‘ cancellation flip contain a specific reason fig; cancellation pp provided Q 
subdivision 1:

7 

A policy _s»l1_21ll r_1_o_t Q canceled Q); nonpayment _c_>_f premium pursuant 1:9 
subdivision _l_, clause Q); unless th_e insurer, a_t leist tep plays before tl1_e effective 
cancellation gpyg h_a§ given notice Lg 1113 policyholder pf flip amount o_f premi- E pipe _a_ng glye pg date. '_1‘_lye_ notice shall state t_h_g effect o_f nonpayment py t_h_e 
due date. 
payment pf t_h_e_: amount _c_lp;e_ _i_s made before 33 effective date i_n thp notice. 

Subd. ; NEW POLICIES. Subdivisions _1_ a_r;c_1 2: glp pp; ppgy 39 pg 
insurance policy fiat hfi _rg)_t been previouply renewed i_f tl'i_e policy has been Q 
effect l_e§_§ mpg 29 Qy_s Q tip time thp notice pf cancellation i_s mailed pg 
delivered. _I;Ip cancellation under flip subdivision i_s effective until at leis; tpp 
d_ay§ E t_l_1<_a written notice t_o_ gt; policyholder. 
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Subd. g1_. LONGER TERM POLICIES. A policy may lg issued Q 2_1 term 
longer than E year g L}; Q indefinite term with a clause providing fpr 
cancellation py ;1_1_e_ insurer Q; t_h_§ reasons stated i_n, subdivision 1 py giving 
notice § required l_)y subdivision Q a_t least _6_Q days before _a_I1_X anniversary date. 

Sec. 25. [60A.37] NONRENEWAL. 
Subdivision 1: NOTICE REQUIRED. M Q before 1:h_e Q o_f 

expiration provided _ip tl1_e policy, 3 notice o_f intention n_ot t_o renew th_e_ policy 
beyond t_h_e agreed expiration Q must Q made ‘Q t_h_§ policyholder py gig 
provided i_n E policy, fie policy shall continue i_n force until Q Q5 Q Q 
notice o_f intent n_ot Lg renew _i_s received _by fig policyholder. ' 

Subd. ; EXCEPTIONS. This section does gg apply Q‘ E policyholder 
h_a§ insured elsewhere, @ accepted replacement coverage, Q; E requested o_r 
agreed Q nonrenewal. 

Sec. 26. [60A.38] INTERPRETATION AND PENALTIES. 
Subdivision _l_. SECTIONS NOT EXCLUSIVE. Sections Q t_o Q EE 

exclusive, grid t_h_§ commissioner gy Q consider other provisions o_f Minneso- 
t_a Q Q pg applicable 19 _t_lpe_ circumstances Q situations addressed py sections Q Q 2_6. Lire rights provided py sections Q t_o Q E i_n addition 19 grid Q pg 
prejudice _a_n_y other rights t_h_e policyholder m_ay have gg common 12;, under 
statute, o_r rules. 

Subd. ; PENALTIES. A violation o_f E5 provisions o_f sections Q t_o _2_§ 
shall Q deemed 19 lg _2_1_r_1_ unfair trade practice ip _t_lle_ business pf insurance a_nd 
shall subiect fig violator t_o the penalties provided by sections 72A.17 t_o 72A.32 
i_n addition _t_q gpy other penalty provided py law. 

Subd. ; NOTICES REQUIRED. Q notices. reguired by sections Q QQ 
§l1_al_l.o_Ifly Q made l_)y fig; class _ni1_il addressed t9 the policyholder’s @ known 
address g l_)y delivery 19 fie policyholder’s 1aQst known address. Notice pyE 
gl_a_s_s_ g1_a_il i_s_ effective upon deposit i_n ’th_e United States mail. Q addition t_o 
giving notice t_o t_h_e policyholder, t_h_e insurer must alsg gig notice t_o th_e age_i'1t 
o_f record,’ 

g‘ fly; Q tpe manner specified jg; tl_1_e_: policyholder. 
Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 6OB.44, subdivision 1, is amended 

to read: 

Subdivision 1. DEDUCTIBLE PROVISION. The distribution of claims 
from the insurer’s estate shall be in the order stated in this section with a 
descending degree of preference for each subdivision. The first $-59 ef the 
&meuntallewedeneaehelaiminfl+eelassesundersubéhésiens3te4sh&Hbe 

maynetbeeamulatedbyassignn&enHeeveiéapplie&&ene£the$§Qdeduefible 
Subject to the $59 deéuetible previsien; Every claim in each class 
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shall be paid in full or adequate funds retained for the payment before the 
members of the next class receive any payment. No subclasses shall be estab- 
lished within any class. 

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 6OB.44, subdivision 4, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 4. LOSS CLAIMS; INCLUDING CLAIMS NOT COVERED fix A 
GUARANTY ASSOCIATION. All claims under policies or contracts of cover- 
age for losses incurred including third party claims, and all claims against the 
insurer for liability for bodily injury or for injury to or destruction of tangible 
property which are not under policies or contracts; exeept the first $9.199 ef lessee 
etherwise pay-able te any elairna-at under this All claims under life 
insurance and annuity policies, whether for death proceeds, annuity proceeds, or 
investment values, shall be treated as loss claims. Glai-ms may net be ea-mu-lated 

That 
portion of any loss for which indemnification is provided by other benefits or 
advantages recovered or recoverable by the claimant shall not be included in 
this class, other than benefits or advantages recovered or recoverable in dis- 
charge of familial obligations of support or by way of succession at death or as 
proceeds of life insurance, or as gratuities. No payment made by an employer to 
an employee shall be treated as a gratuity. Claims _no_t covered by a guaranty 
association ag l_oss claims. I_f gr_1y portion 9_i_" a claim is covered by _a reinsurance 

v treaty Q similar contractual obligation, that claim shall be entitled t_o_ a p_r_o_ rata 
share, basedupon the relationship the claim amount bears tg afl claims payable 
under 3133 treaty o_r contract, 9_i_‘ gig proceeds received under that treaty gr 
contractual obligation. 

Claims receiving pr_9_ rata payments shall not, a_s t_o a_ny remaining unpaid 
portion of their claim he treated i_n Q diiferent manner than Q‘ n_o such payment 
had been received. 

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 6OB.44, subdivision 5, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 5. UNEARNED PREMIUMS AND SMALL LQSS GLAJ-MS. Claims 
under nonassessable policies or contracts of coverage for unearned premiums or 
subscription rates or other refunds and the life! $299 of less eaeeepteé by the 

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 6OB.44, subdivision 9, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 9. MISCELLANEOUS SUBORDINATED CLAIMS. The remain- 
ing claims or portions of claims not already paid, with interest as in subdivision 
8. 

(a)5Phefirst$§Oe£eaehelaimintheelassesundereubdi~=isiene3te4 
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(-b) Claims under section 6OB.39, subdivision 2; 

(e9 gp) Claims subordinated by section 6OB.61; 

(G1-) _(9_) Except to the extent excused‘ or otherwise permitted pursuant to 
section 60B.37, claims filed late; 

(e) (E1) Portions of claims subordinated under subdivision 6; and 

(ii) (p) Claims or portions of claims payment of which is provided by other 
benefits or advantages recovered or recoverable by the claimant. 

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 6OC.O8, subdivision 1, is amended 
to read: 

Subdivision 1. The board of directors of the association shall consist of 
nine persons; Ivyg 9_i_" fig directors shall pg public members _a_n_d seven shall Q 
insurer members. _T_hp public members shall Q appointed py Q commissioner. 
Public members _x;n_ay include licensed insurance agents. The insurer members of 
the board shall be selected by association members subject to the approval of the 
commissioner. Vacancies on the board shall be filled for the remaining period 
of the term in the same manner as initial appointments. ffle t_eg_r_n_ pf appoint- 
ment g>_r_ all members _i§ t__v@_ years. 

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60C.09, is amended to read: 

60C.09 COVERED CLAIMS. 
Subdivision 1. DEFINITION. A covered claim is any unpaid claim, includ- 

ing one for unearned premium, which: 

(a) Q) Arises out of and is within the coverage of an insurance policy issued 
by a member insurer if the insurer becomes an insolvent insurer after April 30, 
1979; _o_r

' 

Q) Would Q within tl1_e coveragp o_f Q extended reporting endorsement t_o 
a claims—made insurance policy i_f_‘ insolvency had pgt prevented E member 
insurer from fulfilling itg obligation pp issue 113 endorsement, 

(__i) tfi claims-made policy contained a provision affording th_e_ insured ‘th_e 
right _tp purchase a reporting endorsement; 

(Q) coverage wig Q E greater than i_f_‘ a reporting endorsement had been 
i_s1;Jl; 

giiig @ insured @ E purchased other insurance which applies tp tl_1_§:_ 

911$ 

(iy) tfi insured’s deductible under 1:_he_ policy is increased py Q amount 
egual t9 the premium Q tpp reporting endorsement, g provided i_n_ the insured’s 
claims-made policy; g E E Q provided, E Q established l_)y g pa_tp service 
organization.

‘ 
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(b) Arises out of a class of business which is not excepted from the scope of 
Laws 1971, chapter 145 by section 6OC.02; and 

(o) Is made by: 

(i) A policyholder, or an insured beneficiary under a policy, who, at the time 
of the insured event, was a resident of this state; or 

(ii) A person designated in the policy as having an insurable interest in or 
related to property situated in this state at the time of the insured event; or 

(iii) An obligee or creditor under any surety bond, who, at the time of 
default by the principal debtor or obligor, was a resident of this state; or 

(iv) A third party claimant under a liability policy or surety bond, if: (a) the 
insured or the third party claimant was a resident of this state at the time of the 
insured event; (b) the claim -is for bodily or personal injuries sulfered in this 
state by a person who when injured was a resident of this state; or (c) the claim 
is for damages to real property situated in this state at the time of damage; or 

(v) A direct or indirect assignee of a person who except for the assignment 
might have claimed under (i), (ii) or (iii). 

For purposes pf paragraph (c_:)_, item Q), unit owners pf condominiums, 
townhouses, pg cooperatives £9 considered pg having ap insurable interest. 

A covered claim also includes any unpaid claim which arises or exists 
within 30 days after the time of entry of an order of liquidation with a finding of 
insolvency by a court of competent jurisdiction unless prior thereto the insured 
replaces the policy or causes its cancellation or the policy expires on its expira- 
tion date. 

Subd. 2. LIMITATION OF AMOUNT. Payment of a covered claim, except 
_a claim f_o; unearned premium py gpy single claimant, whether upon a single 
policy 93 multiple policies o_f insurance, is limited to the amount by which the 
allowance on any claim exceeds $100 and is less than $300,000. lg 33 gas_e o_f 
claim Q unearned premium, file entire claim pp t_g $300,000 shall be allowed. 
The limitation on the amount of payment for a covered claim does not apply to 
claims for workers’ compensation insurance. In no event is the association 
obligated to the policyholder or claimant in an amount in. excess of the obliga- 
tion of the insurer under the policy from which the claim arises. 

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 60C.12, is amended to read: 

60C. 1 2 APPEAL AND REVIEW. 
Subdivision 1. APPEAL. A claimant whose claim has been declared to be 

not covered or reduced by the board under section 60C.l0 may appeal to the 
board within 30 days after the claimant has been notified of the board’s decision 
and of the rights of the claimant under this section. 
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Subd. 2. REVIEW. Decisions of the board under subdivision 1 are subject 
to review appeal Q Qg commissioner o_f commerce who may overturn, 
aflirm pg modify Q5; board’s actions o_r take other action Q commissioner 
considers appropriate.' 

The appeal Q Qg commissioner must Q Q t:h_e manner provided Q chapter 
14. 

Subd. 3. JUDICIAL REVIEW. A final action or order of the commissioner 
under 1 subdivision Q subject Q judicial review Q t_l1e_ manner provided bl 
chapter 15 Q lieu o_f jt_l_1_e_ appeal Q t_lQ commissioner under subdivision Q Q 
claimant may seek iudicial review _o_f LIQ board’s actions. 

Sec. 34. [60F.01] ESTABLISHMENT. 
Ag three 9; more employers, excluding E state _2Qd it_s political subdivi- 

sions §_S described Q section 471.617, subdivision 1, yyfl fie authorized Q 
transact business Q Minnesota Qay iointly self-insure Q; Qty property and/or 
casualty o_r automobile liability. Joint plans must meet §_l_l conditions §_l1_d terms 
o_f QQ chapter. 

Sec. 35. [60F.02] EXCESS STOP-LOSS COVERAGE. 
/_&_ QQ self-insurance E must include aggregate excess stop-loss coverage 

g_1_1_d individual excess stop-loss coverage provided Q _ar_1 insurance company 
licensed py ph_e state 9_f Minnesota. Aggregate excess stop-loss coveragp must 
include provisions Q cover th_e excess claims Q‘ incurred, unpaid claim liability 
gig; Q ’th_e event o_f 1&1 termination. Llie ~ioint plzQ must ppgg tl1_e pi_s_l_< 

Q‘ 
coverage Q; a_n_y member o_f tli_e Qopl E becomes insolvent E outstanding 
contribution dgg py providing _a surety bond from g Minnesota licensed surety Q tl1_e amount o_f pg year’s contribution. I_n addition, Q E 9_f self—insurance 
Q_I_I_S_§ h_av_e participants M pp amount a_t Qzfl egual Q t_h_e point Q which Qe 
excess Q stop-loss insurer must assume Q0 percent o_fQp excess coverage limits 
pf additional liability. A joint self—insurance flip must submit _i;§ proposed 
excess o_r stop-loss insurance contract Q th_e commissioner pf commerce gt l_eait_ 
_3_0 dayg ggr Q 1;h_e_ proposed plan’s effective _<;1_aQ a_iQ a_t Qag 3_Q guys subse- 
guent Q a_ny renewal _da_tg _T_hp commissioner s_l_1a_ll_ review _th_§ contract Q 
determine g‘ Q meets 1:h_e standards established bl Qi_s chapter £1 respond 
within Q 30-day period. Q excess _(_)_1_‘ stop-loss insurance pl_ap must pg noncan- 
celable Q; a minimum Qg o_f o_11e_ QQ, 

Sec. 36. [60F .03] LIMITATION ON ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES. 
_I\_Ip ,jo_ir11 self—insurance E _rrQy marketing, E management, _c_>_1_‘ admin- 

istrative services unless these services _a_Q provided py vendors _d_1Qy licensed _by 
the commissioner Q provide these services. & vendor 9_f these services Qay pg 
33 trustee 9_f Q joint self—insurance plfl Q_r which tl1_ey provide marketing,E 
management, _q_r_ administrative services. 
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Sec. 37. [60F.04] APPLICABILITY OF PROVISIONS. 
A jpipt self-insurance pl_ap i_s subject t_o t_h_e requirements pf tl1_e applicable 

parts pf chapters 60A: 65A, 65B, 72B, 2_1p<_i 72C, a_nd section, 72A.2Q, unless 
otherwise specifically exempt. _A_ ioint self-insurance pl_a_p must offer a p_la_p 
which complies litp a_ll applicable r_u_le_s a_n_d statutes. 

Sec. 38. [60F.05] FUND MANAGEMENT. 
Funds collected from tfi participants under ioint self-insurance plans must 

pp held i_p trust subject 19 1;_l_i§_ following reguirements: 

La) _A_ board 91‘ trustees elected py yh_e participants shall serve gs fund manag; 
gs Q behalf _o_f participants. Trustees must b_e_ E participants. 13 partici- 
pants _m_ay Q represented py E _or1_e trustee. A minimum 9_f _a_n_d 2; 

maximum pf seven trustees fly pg elected. Trustees shall receive pp remunera- 
_ti_Q_l'_1,_ Qt _t_l_i(_:y _r_n_ay pt; reimbursed Q actual a_nd_ reasonable expenses incurred i_n 
connection yv__i_t_l; duties _a_s_ trustees. 

(i_s) Trustees must pp bonded i_r_1_ gp amount pg l§_s§ than $100,000 E more 
than $500,000 from 2_1 licensed bonding company. 

Le) Investment _o_f pglp funds i_s subject _t_g tlg sag restrictions gs a_r_e_ 

applicable t_o_ political subdivisions pursuant Q section 475.66. _A_rl_l investments 
mils; pp managed py Q bank g other investment organization licensed Q operate 
i_n Minnesota. 

(51) Trustees, Q behalf 9_f‘tl1_e fund, shall mp annual reports @ gn_e cgn; 
missioner 9;" commerce within 919 day immediately following me §_npl o_f peg 
calendar year. II_l_t_3_ reports must summarize tlg financial condition o_f ;l_1p fund, 
itemize collection from participants, gig detail a_ll fund expenditures. 

Sec. 39. [60F.06] RULES. 

1% commissioner o_f commerce shall adopt rules, including emergency rules, 
39 ensure thp solvency gig operation pf a_ll self-insured plans subject t_o t_h_i_§ 

chapter. _'I_‘li_e commissioner Iggy examine E joint self-insurance plans pursuant 
t_o sections 60A.03 pg 60A.03l. 

Sec. 40. [60F.07] REVENUE FEE. 
A jpipt self—insurance plgp _s_l1afl fly a t_w_o percent revenue 3; [lips gfl 

_1;_u_e_ git pe_ computed based 0_l’1. jtyv_9_ percent o_f th_e p_ai_d claims l_e_y_e_l Q pl_1_§ 
most recently completed calendar year. Ih_is revenue must lug deposited i_n fig 
general fund. 

Sec. 41. [60F.08] APPLICABILITY. 

A joint self—insurance plan i_s pp; a_n insurer f_o; purposes 9_f chapter 60C. 
Sec. 42. [61A.092] CONTINUATION OF COVERAGE FOR LIFE INSUR- 

ANCE. 
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Subdivision _1_. CONTINUATION OF COVERAGE. Every group insur- 
ance policy issued o_r renewed within th_i§ state after August L 1987, providing 
coverage Q lfi insurance benefits shall contain Q provision ma_t permits pg: 
prgd employees L110 a_1'e. voluntarily pg involuntarily terminated g @ olffrom 
their employment, fl th_e policy remains Q force fpr Qpy active employee pfE 
employer, t_o elect t_o continue ’th_e coveragp fir themselves E their dependents. 

_.A_n employee i_s considered 19 pp fig offfrom employment i_f ’tl1_erc_: Q Q 
reduction Q hours t_o fie point where 1l_1_e employee _i_s_ _r_1p longer eligible @ 
coverage under fie group fig insurance policy. Termination Q n_ot include 
dischirgp _f9_1_* gross misconduct. 

Subd. _2_. RESPONSIBILITY OF EMPLOYEE. Eveg covered employee 
electing t_o continue coverage shall gy t_hg employee’s former employer, Q Q 
monthly basis, tfi fit pf ‘_t_i_1_§_ continued coverage. Q Q event ill _t_l§ amount 
pf premium charged exceed @ percent pf th_e E t_o QQ p_lzm E _s_pgh period 
9_f coveragp fi)_r other similarly situated employees @ respect t_o whom neither 
termination p_o_r layoffhas occurred, without respect t_o whether flgh gg i_s pg 
py th_e employer 9; employee. _Il_1_e_ employee _i§ eligible t_o continue E coverage 
until % employee obtains coverage under another group policy, pg f_og Q period 
_(_>_f _l§ months @ tl1_e termination g layoff fim employment, whichever E 
shorter. 

Subd. _3_. NOTICE OF OPTIONS. Upon termination 91' gr layofffrom 
employment o_f Q covered employee, tl1_e employer shall inform ;l_1p employee pf; 

Q) t_l_1§_ employee’s right t_o elect 19 continue _t__l;e coveragg; 

Q) th_e amount me employee must pay monthly tp Q15 employer 19 retain E coverage; ' 

Q) _t_h_e manner _ip which Q_n_d_ thp office pf ph_e_ employer Lg which th_e pay- 
ment t_o t_h_e employer must 15 made; E1 

(fl) th_e_ time l_)y which mg payments t_o E employer must pp made _tp retain 
coverage. 

The employee E pg days within which t_o_ elect coverage. The 60-day 
period shall begin _tp pu_p pp th_e date coverage would otherwise terminate o_rQ 
_t_I_1_§ date upon which notice pf ’th_e right _t_g coverage i_s received, whichever i_s 
later. 

Notice must pe_ _ip writing Qpd sent py first class certified mail t_q 33 employ- 
§§’_§ la_st known address which E employee E provided pp php employer. 

A notice i_n substantially Q following form § sufficient: “E Q terminated g @ offemployee, tl_1Q lgfl authorizes Q t_o maintain gm group insurance 
benefits fpr Q period o_fpp _t_o_ _l_§ months. Ip dp s_o, Q _m_u§_t_ notify E former 
employer within _6_Q Q o_f y_o_1g receipt o_f Lis notice Q ypp intend t_o retain 
tl_1i_s_ coverage gig must make Q monthly payment pf 53 .......... .. Q ........... .. py thp 
........... .. o_f pzih month.” 
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Subd. §_. RESPONSIBILITY OF EMPLOYER AND INSURER. h‘ the 
employer _ia_il_s_ t_o notify a_ covered employee o_f the options get forth Q subdivi- 
sgt ;, Q; h g£te_r timely receipt _q_i_‘ fig monthly payment from a covered employ- 
gg the employer f_ai_l_s_ t_o make thg payment tg jg insurer, with the gesfl tgit 
Q13 employee’s coverage i_s_ terminated, tl1_e employer i_s Lill liable Q t_h_§_ employ- 
§g’_s_ coverage t9 the same extent 2_1_s_ jg insurer would he if E coverage _\2_v_eLe s_tfl 
i_n effect. 

Subd. L CONVERSION TO INDIVIDUAL POLICY. A group insurance 
policy tgit provides posttermination Q layoff coverage a_s required hy gig se_c- 
gah must fig include at provision allowing a covered employee, surviving spouse, 
9; dependent at the expiration gt" t_h_e posttermination 9; layoff coverage provid- 

eh hy subdivision ; tg obtain from the insurer offering tlg group policy, Q the 
employee’s, spouse’s, gt dependent’s option gig expense, without further eyh 
dence o_f insurability gg without interruption 9_t_" coverage, gh individual policy 
91' insurance contract providing Q9 same g substantially similar benefits. 

_A_i policy providing reduced benefits at Q reduced premium rate may 13; 
accepted hy the employee, tfi spouse, g a dependent i_n lifl o_f mg coverage 
otherwise required _b_y thi_s subdivision. 

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 6lA.28, subdivision 12, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 12. ADDITIONAL INVESTMENTS. Investments of any kind, with- 
out regard to the categories, conditions, standards, or other limitations set forth 
in the foregoing subdivisions and section 6lA.3l, subdivision 3, except that the 
prohibitions in clause (d) of subdivision 3 remains applicable, may be made by 
a domestic life insurance company in an amount not to exceed the lesser of the 
following: 

(1) Five percent of the company’s total admitted assets as of the end of the 
preceding calendar year, or 

(2) Fifty percent of the amount by which its capital and surplus as of the 
end of the preceding calendar year exceeds $675,000. Provided, however, that a 
company's total investment under this section in the common stock of any 
corporation, other than the stock of the types of corporations specified in subdi- 
vision 6(a), may not exceed ten percent of the common stock of the corporation. 
Provided, further, that no investment may be made under the authority of this 
clause or clause (1) by a company that has not completed five years of actual 
operation since the date of its first certificate of authority. 

If, subsequent to being made under the provisions of this subdivision, an 
investment is determined to have become qualified or eligible under any of the 
other provisions of this chapter, the company may consider the investment as 
being held under the other provision and the investment need no longer be 
considered as having been made under the provisions of this subdivision. 
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In addition t_o fl1_e_ investments authorized by gig subdivision a domestic @ insurance company m_ay make qualified investments i_n any additional secur- 
ities 95 property o_f E 11$ authorized by subdivision Q, paragraph (9, _vg/jg tl1_e 
written _o_rc§ o_f Q commissioner. fl1i_s approval i_s a_t t_h_e discretion 9_i_‘ tl1_e 

commissioner. This authorization does not negate g reduce th_e investment 
authority granted Q subdivision Q, paragraph (Q, gr this subdivision. 

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 6lB.09, is amended to read: 

6lB.09 DUTIES AND POWERS OF THE COMMISSIONER. 
fa) Subdivision _l_. The commissioner shall: 

(1) Notify the board of directors of the existence of an impaired insurer 
within three days after a determination of impairment is made or the commis- 
sioner receives notice of impairment; 

(2) Upon request of the board of directors, provide the association with a 
statement of the premiums in the appropriate states for each member insurer; 
and 

(3) When an impairment is declared and the amount determined, serve a 
demand upon the impaired insurer to make good the impairment within a 
reasonable time. Notice to the impaired insurer shall constitute notice to its 
shareholders. The failure of the insurer to promptly comply with the demand 
shall not excuse the association from performance under sections 6lB.01 to 
61B.l6. 

(-19) Subd. ; The commissioner may, after notice and hearing, suspend or 
revoke the certificate of authority to transact insurance in this state of any 
member insurer which fails to pay an assessment when due or to comply with 
the plan of operation. As an alternative, the commissioner may levy a forfeiture 
on any member insurer which fails to pay an assessment when due. A forfeiture 
shall not exceed five percent of the unpaid assessment per month, but no forfeit- 
ure shall be less than $100 per month. 

(e) Subd. _3_. Any action of the board of directors or the association may be 
appealed to the commissioner by any member insurer within 30 days of the 
eeeufreriee notice of the action. Any final action or order of the commissioner 
shall be subject to judicial review in a court of competent jurisdiction, in the 
manner provided by chapter 14. I_n @ o_f E appeal t_o jtl1_e_ commissioner 
under t_h§ subdivision, a claimant fly E judicial review gf Q13 board’s 
actions.

' 

(d—) Subd. i The liquidator, rehabilitator, or conservator of any impaired 
insurer may notify all interested persons of the effect of sections 6lB.01 to 
61B.l~6. 

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.O41, is amended to read: 
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62A.04l MATERNITY BENEFITS; U-N-M-A-RR-IED 
Each group policy of accident and health insurance and each group health 

maintenance contract shall provide the same coverage for maternity benefits to 
unmarried women and minor female dependents that it provides to married 
women including the wives of employees choosing dependent family coverage. 
If an unmarried insured or an unmarried enrollee is a parent of a dependent 
child, each group policy and each group contract shall provide the same cover- 
age for that child as that provided for the child of a married employee choosing 
dependent family coverage if the insured or the enrollee elects dependent family 
coverage. 

Each individual policy of accident and health insurance and each individual 
health maintenance contract shall provide the same coverage for maternity benefits 
to unmarried women and minor female dependents as that provided for married 
women. If an unmarried insured or an unmarried enrollee is a parent of a 
dependent child, each individual policy and each individual contract shall also 
provide the same coverage for that child as that provided for the child of a 
married insured or a married enrollee choosing dependent family coverage if the 
insured or the enrollee elects dependent family coverage. 

Except 3'9; policies which gi_l_y provide coverage i'<)_1' specified diseases, each 
group subscriber contract (_)_i_‘ accident and health insurance Q health mainte- 
nance contract, issued g renewed after August l, 1987, shall include maternity 
benefits _ip_ gig _s_a_rn_e manner as fly other illness covered under me policy g 
contract. 

For the purposes of this section, the term “maternity benefits” shall not 
include elective, induced abortion whether performed in a hospital, other abor- 
tion facility, or the office of a physician. 

This section applies to policies and contracts issued, delivered, or renewed 
after August 1, 1985, that cover Minnesota residents. 

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.043, is amended by adding 
a subdivision to read: 

Subd. _3_._ Except 1'91 policies which only provide coverage for specified 
diseases, no policy 93 certificate o_f health, medical hospitalization, _o_r accident 
E1 sickness insurance regulated under fli_i_§ chapter, 9; subscriber contract pig; 
vided by a nonprofit health service plin corporation regulated under chapter 
62_C, Q health maintenance organization regulated under chapter 62D, shall be 
issued, renewed, continued, delivered, issued Q delivery, g executed Q t_h_i_s 
state after August 1, 1987, unless gig policy, pg, 9; contract specifically pig; 
vides coverage fig surgical _ai_ig nonsurgical treatment o_f temporomandibular 
joint disorder _ap_c_l craniomandibular disorder. Coverage shall lg the gimg Q 
t_l1a_t Q treatment t_o a_ny other ioint i_n fie body, gig shall apply i_f th_e treatment 
i_s administered 9; prescribed by a_ physician g dentist. 
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Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.141, is amended to read: 
62A.l41 COVERAGE FOR HANDICAPPED DEPENDENTS. 
No group policy or plan of health and accident insurance regulated under 

this chapter, chapter 62C, or 62D, which provides for dependent coverage may 
be issued or renewed in this state after August 1, 1983, unless it covers the 
handicapped dependents of the insured, subscriber, or enrollee of the policy or 
plan. Consequently, gig policy g pig shall n_o’: contain fly provision concern- 
i_ng preexisting condition limitations, insurability, eligibility, Q health underw- 
riting approval concerning handicapped dependents. 

If ordered by the commissioner of commerce, the insurer of a Minnesota- 
domiciled nonprofit association which is composed solely of agricultural mem- 
bers may restrict coverage under this section to apply only to Minnesota resi- 
dents. 

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.146, is amended to read: 
62A.,146 CONTINUATION OF BENEFITS TO SURVIVORS. 
N0 policy or plan of accident and health protection issued by an insurer, 

nonprofit health service plan corporation, or health maintenance organization, 
providing coverage of hospital or medical expense on either an expense incurred 
basis or other than an expense incurred basis which in addition to coverage of 
the insured, subscriber, or enrollee, also provides coverage to dependents, shall, 
except upon the written consent of the survivor or survivors of the deceased 
insured, subscriber or enrollee, terminate, suspend or otherwise restrict the par- 
ticipation in or the receipt of benefits otherwise payable under the policy or plan 
to the survivor or survivors until the earlier of the following dates: 

(a) the date ef remarr-iage ef the surviving spouse becomes covered under 
another group health plan; or 

(b) the date coverage would have terminated under the policy or plan had 
the insured, subscriber, or enrollee lived. 

The survivor or survivors, in order to have the coverage and benefits extend- 
ed, may be required to pay the entire cost of the protection _cp1_ 2_1 monthly basis. Q n_o event shall ’ch_e amount pf premium pg @ contributions charged exceed 
1_-Q2 percent _qfg1_g-gpg t_o E E fl)_r period 9_f coverage £9; other similarly 
situated spouses gig dependent children L110 £6; n_ot fig survivors pf_a_ deceased 
insured, without regard t_o whether E gfi _i_§ p_a_i_<_i_ bpg t_h§ employer g employ- 
@. Failure of the survivor to make premium or fee payments within 90 days 
after notice of the requirement to pay the premiums or fees shall be a basis for 
the termination of the coverage without written consent. In event of termina- 
tion by reason of the survivor’s failure to make required premium or fee contri- 
butions, written notice of cancellation must be mailed to the survivor’s last 
known address at least 30 days before the cancellation. If the coverage is 
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provided under a group policy or plan, any required premium or fee contribu- 
tions for the coverage shall be paid by the survivor to the group policyholder or 
contract holder for remittance to the insurer, nonprofit health service plan cor- 
poration, or health maintenance organization. 

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.l52, subdivision 2, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 2. MINIMUM BENEFITS. All group policies and all group sub- 
scriber contracts providing benefits for mental or nervous disorder treatments in 
a hospital shall also provide coverage; te _q_n gig same basis Q coverage Q other 
benefits £9; at least the extent of 80 percent at? the iirst $459 of the cost of the 
usual and customary charges 91' t_l_1_e firit te_n hours o_f treatment incurred over a 
12-month benefit period, for mental or nervous disorder consultation, diagnosis 
and treatment services delivered while the insured person is not a bed patient in 
a hospital, @ at l_e_a_§t ]_5 percent o_f the g9_st gf Ll_1_e QSLI agl customary charges Q any additional hours gf treatment during the same 12-month benefit period @ serious afii persistent mental 9_1; nervous disorders, if the services are fur- 
nished by (1) a licensed or accredited hospital, (2) a community mental health 
center or mental health clinic approved or licensed by the commissioner of 
human services or other authorized state agency, or (3) a licensed consulting 
psychologist licensed under the provisions of sections 148.87 to 148.98, or a 
psychiatrist licensed under chapter 147. Prior authorization from 2_1_n accident 
a_n_d_ health insurance company, 9; _a nonprofit health service corporation, shall 
13 required Q an extension gf coverage beyond tfl hours 9:‘ treatment. T_hi_s_ 

prior authorization must be based upon th_e severity _Qf1l_'1_e disorder, th_e patient’s @ 9_f deterioration without ongoing treatment and maintenance, degree of 
functional impairmerg, gfl Q concise treatment plan. Authorization f_o_r extend- 
ed treatment may E exceed Q maximum gf§Q v_isi_1;_ hours during any 12-month 
benefit period. 

Eg pugposes of ting section, covered treatment Q a minor shall include 
treatment f9_r _t_h_e family if family therapy is recommended by Q provider listed 
above i_n item (1), §_2_) o_r Q; 

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.l7, is amended to read: 

62A.17 TERMINATION OF OR LAYOFF FROM EMPLOYMENT. 
Subdivision 1. CONTINUATION OF COVERAGE. Every group insur- 

ance policy, group subscriber contract, and health care plan included within the 
provisions of section 62A.16, except policies, contracts, or health care plans 
covering employees of an agency of the federal government, shall contain a 
provision which permits every eligible covered employee who is voluntarily g 
involuntarily terminated or laid offfrom employment, if the policy, contract, or 
health care plan remains in force for active employees of the employer, to elect 
to continue the coverage for the employee and dependents. 

_A_n_ _e;n_@_\g:§ shall be considered t_g be 1_a_i_d fl‘ from employment i_f there is 
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33, reduction _I_I_1_ hours t_o flip point where t_l_1_e_ employee is pp longer eligible under 
jig policy, contract, 5; health care plan. Termination shall Q include dis- 
charge E gross misconduct. 

Subd. 2. RESPONSIBILITY OF EMPLOYEE. Every eligible covered employ- 
ee electing to continue coverage shall‘ pay the former employer, on a monthly 
basis, the cost of the continued coverage. If the policy, contract, or health care 
plan is administered by a trust, every eligible covered employee electing to 
continue coverage shall pay the trust the costiof continued coverage according to 
the eligibility mles established by the trust. I_n pp event $11; gig amount _c_>_f 

premium charged exceed Q2, percent pf 1h_e_ cit t_o 311; E Q _s_t_1pl_1‘ period o_f 
coverage Q‘ similarly situated employees _V_V_i1:_l_}_ respect t_o whom neither termina- ml pg‘ layoflhas occurred, without regard t_o whether sigh ppgt is p_@ py _t_l§ 
employer g employee. The employee shall be eligible to continue the coverage 
untilfeempleyeéanéeligibleferhealtheareeevemgeuaéeragreuppeliey; 
%n+met;erpl&nspensereéby‘thesameeranetheranpleyerLli_eflplg\5:_§ 
becomes covered under another group health p_la_n, or for a period of +2 1_8 
months after the termination of or lay offfrom employment, whichever is shor- 
ter. 

shaflbeeligibletemakethedeetienfertheempbyeeanédependenfiprevided 
feidasebd-i=v-isien-l-i-i'+ 

€a)ln+heperiedpreeedingtheterminatieneferlayefFfren&empleyn&entg 
theempleyeeenddependentswereeeveredthreughempley-mentbyagreup

; 

fb)5Phetermin&tieneferlaye#Ffremem-pleynaentwasferreasensether 

erret-irenaent: 

Subd. 4. RESPONSIBILITY OF EMPLOYER. After timely receipt of the 
monthly payment from an eligible a_1 covered employee, if the employer, or the 
trustee, if the policy, contract, or health care -plan is administered by a trust, 
fails to make the payment to the insurer, nonprofit health service plan corpora- 
tion, or health maintenance organization, with the result that the employee’s 
coverage is terminated, the employer or trust shall become liable for the employ- 
ee’s coverage to the same extent as the insurer, nonprofit health service plan 
corporation, or health maintenance organization would be if the coverage were 
still in elfect. 

I_n fie case o_f g policy, contract _o_r plan administered by _a trust, th_e employ- g' must notify the trustee within 919 days _c>_ftl1_e termination 95 layoffof a_ covered 
employee o_f1l§ name Q51 @ known address pf t_l§ employee. 

E _th_e employer g trust fails tp notify g covered employee, _t_h_e employer 9; 
trust shall continue _t_g remain liable £91; t_l_1p employee’s coverage t_o flip same 
extent pp th_e insurer would Q i_ff pl_1_§.co,verage were still i_n effect. 
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Subd. 5. NOTICE OF OPTIONS. Upon the termination of or lay offfrom 
employment of an eligible employee, the employer shall inform the employee 
within ten days after termination or lay offof: 

(a) the right to elect to continue the coverage; 

(b) the amount the employee must pay monthly to the employer to retain 
the coverage; 

(c) the manner in which and the office of the employer to which the pay- 
ment to the employer must be made; and 

(d) the time by which the payments to the employer must be made to retain 
coverage. 

If the policy, contract, or health care plan is administered by a trust, the 
employer is relieved of the obligation imposed by clauses (a) to (d). The trust 
shall inform the employee of the information required by clauses (a) to (d). @ employee shill ha;/_g Q9 Q1/_s_ within which to elect coverage. IQ 
60-day period flag Egg; to ;u_n gn gig gtte plfl coverage would otherwise 
terminate g 93 tfi 53$ upon which notice o_f t_l§ right t_o coverage is received, 
whichever is la_t§r, 

Notice -may Egg be in writing and sent by first class mail to the employee’s 
last known address which the employee has provided the employer or trust. H‘ 

theempleyereraastfaflstesenetifytheempleyeewheispreperlyenrefleéin 
thepregmmgtheempleyeeshaflhawtheeptienteretaineewmgeiftheempbr 
eemaleesthiseleetienwithi-n69daysefthedateterminatederlaide§by 
rnaleiagthepreperpaymenttetheempleyerertrusttepreaédeeentinueus 
eeveraeer 

A notice in substantially the following form shall be suflicient:; f_‘_As a 
terminated or laid oifemployee, the law authorizes you to maintain your group 
medical insurance for a period of up to -1% l_8 months. To do so you must notify 
your former employer within ten Q days of my; receipt o_f this notice that you 
intend to retain this coverage and must make a monthly payment of $ ........ .. to 
......... .. at by the of each month: 

Subd. 6. CONVERSION TO INDIVIDUAL POLICY. A group insurance 
policy that provides posttermination or layoff coverage as required by this sec- 
tion shall also include a provision allowing a covered employee, surviving spouse, 
or dependent at the expiration of the posttermination or layoff coverage provid- 
ed by subdivision 2 to obtain from the insurer offering the group policy or group 
subscriber contract, at the employee’s, spouse’s, or dependen‘t’s option and expense, 
without further evidence of insurability and without interruption of coverage, an 
individual policy of insurance or an individual subscriber contract providing at 
least the minimum benefits of a qualified plan as prescribed by section 62E.O6 
and the option of a number three qualified plan, a number two qualified plan, 
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~ 

~~ 

~ 

~ 

~ 

~

~

~ 

and a number one qualified plan .as provided by section 62E.06, subdivisions 1 

to 3, provided application § made t_q th_e insurer within 19 d_a\Ls following notice 
9_f_' the expiration _g_f t_l§ continued coverage E upon payment o_f th_e appropri- 
ag premium. The required conversion contract must treat pregnancy the same 
as any other covered illness under the conversion contract. A health mainte- 
nance contract issued by a health maintenance organization that provides post- 
termination or layoffcoverage as required by this section shall also include a 
provision allowing a former employee, surviving spouse, or dependent at the 
expiration of the posttermination or layoffcoverage provided in subdivision 2 to 
obtain from the health maintenance organization, at the former employee’s, 
spouse’s, or dependent’s option and expense, without further evidence of insur- 
ability and without interruption of coverage, an individual health maintenance 
contract. Effective January 1, 1985, enrollees who have become nonresidents of 
the health maintenance organization’s service area shall be given the option, to 
be arranged by the health maintenance organization, of a number three qualified 
plan, a number two qualified plan, or a number one qualified plan as provided 
by section 62E.06, subdivisions 1 to 3 if an arrangement with an insurer can 
reasonably be made by the health maintenance organization. This option shall 
be made available at the enrollee’s expense, without further evidence of insur- 
ability and without interruption of coverage.~ 

~~~ 

~ 

~ 

~ 

~ 

~ 

~ 

~~ 

A policy providing reduced benefits at a reduced premium rate may be 
accepted by the employee, the spouse, or a dependent in lieu of the optional 
coverage otherwise required by this subdivision. ~

~ 

The individual policy or contract shall be renewable at the covered under 
another qualified plan as defined in section 62E.02, subdivision 4, up to age 65 
or to the day before the date of eligibility for coverage under title XVIII of the 
Social Security Act, as amended. Any revisions in the table of rate for‘ the 
individual policy shall apply to the covered person’s original age at entry and 
shall apply equally to all similar policies issued by the insurer. 

~~~ 

~~ 

Sec. 51. [62A.20] COVERAGE OF CURRENT SPOUSE AND CHIL- 
DREN. 

~~

~ 
Subdivision L REQUIREMENT. Every policy _o_f accident a_ng health 

insurance providing coverage o_f hospital _Q_l'_' medical expense Q either Q expense- 
incurred ba_si§ gg 9_th;e_1_' ‘din Q expense—incurred basis, which Q addition t_o 
covering LIE insured _al_sg provides coverage t_o the spouse £1 dependent gh_il_- 
dren o_f E insured shall contain: 

~~ 

~~

~ 

(_l_) g provision which permits 13 spouse fll dependent children t_o elect _t9_ 
continue coverage when tfi insured becomes enrolled @ benefits under Title 
XVIII o_f‘tl1_e Social Security Act (Medicare); £151 ~

~ 

~~ 

~~~ 

Q) a provision which permits th_e dependent children 19 continue coveragg 
when they cease t_o Q dependent children under th_e generally applicable require- 
ment 91‘ the plan. ~

~ 
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Subd. g; CONTINUATION PRIVILEGE. :13 coverage described Q _s_1;l;-_ 
division _l_ may pp continued until t_h_e earlier 9_f t_h_e_ following dates: 

§_1) _tl1_e date coverage would otherwise terminate under tl1_e policy; 

Q) §_6_ months after continuation Q tl1_e spouse gr dependent flip elected; g 
Q) tpg spouse gg dependent children become covered under another group 

health plan. 

If coverage _i_s_ provided under _§_ group policyg fly required premium contri- 
butions _f_9_r mg coverage s»l1_al_l b_e gig py ghp insured g; g monthly pa_s_i§ tp tl1_e 
group policyholder §o_r remittance pg tl1_e insurer. I_n pg event shall glgp amount 
pf premium charged exceed 19g percent pf tl1_e 9_o_s_t t_o E @ £9; E period 
pf coverage Q other similarly situated spouse gp_c_l dependent children tp whom 
subdivision 1 i_s pg applicable, without regard 19 whether such 9_o_st jg Q py 
th_e employer 9; employee. 

Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.2l, is amended to read: 

62A.21 CONVERSION PRIVILEGES FOR INSURED FORMER SPOUSES 
AND CHILDREN. 

Subdivision 1. No policy of accident and health insurance providing cover- 
age of hospital or medical expense on either an expense incurred basis or other 
than an expense incurred basis, which in addition to covering the insured also 
provides coverage to the spouse of the insured shall contain a provision for 
termination of coverage for a spouse covered under the policy solely as a result 
of a break in the marital relationship exeept by reason ef an ent~i=y of a valid 
eleeree of dissolution ef marriage. 

Subd. 2a. CONTINUATION PRIVILEGE. Every policy described in sub- 
division 1 shall contain a provision which permits continuation of coverage 
under the policy for the insured’s former spouse and dependent children upon 
entry of a valid decree of dissolution of marriage; if the eleeree requires the 
insured to provide eentinueé eeverage for these persens. The coverage may 
§_l1gl_l be continued until the earlier of the following dates: 

(a) The date of remer-r-iage ef either the insured er the insured’s former 
spouse becomes covered under a_n_y other group health plan; or 

(b) The date coverage would otherwise terminate under the policy. 

If the coverage is provided under a group policy, any required premium 
contributions for the coverage shall be paid by the insured pp Q monthly Llsis to 
the group policyholder for remittance to the insurer. I_n_ p_o event _s_hLll ’th_e 

amount pf premium charged exceed lg percent _g_f 1;h_e 9_o_sy t_o mg _p1fl f_o_r spg 
period o_f coverage Q‘ other similarly situated spouses ali dependent children 
_v_s/L respect tp whom flip marital relatiorflp _l1a_s n_ot dissolved, without regard 
tp whether such C405} _i_s paid lpy th_e employer pi; employee. 
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Subd. 2b. CONVERSION PRIVILEGE. Every policy described in subdi- 
vision 1 shall contain a provision allowing a former spouse and dependent 
children of an insured, without providing evidence of insurability, to obtain 
from the insurer at the expiration of any continuation of coverage required 
under subdivision 2a or seet-ion sections 62A.l46 aii 62A.20, er aspen termina- 
tiene£eeveragebyreasenefanentfi*efa¥aliddeereeefdiseelu&enwl+ieh 
deesnetreefuiretheinsuredteprevideeentinuedeeverageferthefermer 
‘spouse and dependent ehi-lelren; conversion coverage providing at least the mini- 
mum benefits of a qualified plan as prescribed by section 62E.O6 and the option 
of a number three qualified plan, a number two qualified plan, a number one 
qualified plan as provided by section 62E.O6, subdivisions 1 to 3, provided 
application is made to the insurer within 30 days following notice of the expira- 
tion of the continued coverage and upon payment of the appropriate premium. 
A policy providing reduced benefits at a reduced premium rate may be accepted 
by the former spouse and dependent children in lieu of the optional coverage 
otherwise required by this subdivision. The individual policy shall be renewable 
at the option of the former spouse as long as the former spouse is not covered 

~~~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~ 
under another qualified plan as defined in section 62E.O2, subdivision 4, up to 
age 65 or to the day before the date of eligibility for coverage under Title XVIII 
of the Social Security Act, as amended. Any revisions in the table of rate for the 
individual policy shall apply to the former spouse’s original age at entry, and 
shall apply equally to all similar policies issued by the insurer. 

~~

~ 

~~ 

~~ 

Subd. 3. Subdivision 1 applies to every policy of accident and health 
insurance which is delivered, issued for delivery, renewed or amended on or 
after July 19, 1977. ~~ 

~~ 

Subdivisions 2a and 2b apply to every policy of accident and health insur- 
ance which is delivered, issued for delivery, renewed, or amended on or after 
August 1, 1981.

~

~ 

Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.27, is amended to read:

~ 
62A.27 COVERAGE FOR ADOPTED CHILDREN. 

~~ 

No individual or group policy or plan of health and accident insurance 
regulated under this chapter or chapter 64B, subscriber contract regulated under 
chapter 62C, or health maintenance contract regulated under chapter 62D, provid- 
ing coverage for‘ more than one person may be issued or renewed in this state 
after August 1, 1983, unless the policy, plan, or contract covers adopted children 
of the insured, subscriber, or enrollee on the same basis as other dependents. 
Conseguently, the policy Q‘ E _s_l_1_2_1_ll r_i_o_t contain fly provision concerning 
preexisting condition limitations, insurability, eligibility, __o_r_ health underwriting 
approval concerning adopted children. 

~~

~

~ 

~~

~

~ 
The coverage required by this section is effective from the date of placement 

for the purpose of adoption and continues unless the placement is disrupted 
‘prior to legal adoption and the child is removed from placement. ~~

~ 
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Sec. 54. [62A.29] SURETY BOND OR SECURITY FOR CERTAIN 
HEALTH BENEFIT PLANS. - 

Subdivision _l_. SURETY BOND OR SECURITY REQUIREMENT. 
Ahy employer, excem tl1_e state ehg i_t§ political subdivisions a_s defined Q _s_eg 
t_i_9h 65B.43, subdivision gt), _vv_li<)_ provides e health benefit ple1_n t_o fi_s Minnesota 
employees, which je t(_> some extent self-insured hy the employer, er_itl_ fie 
purchases stop-loss insurance coverage, 9_r Qty pthg insurance coverage, i_h 

connection v_v_i_th the health benefit plan, flzth annually _fil_e yv_ifl hie commission- 
erg, within _6_0 tleys o_f me gel pf hie employer’s fiscal year, security acceptable t_o 
th_e commissioner i_1t Q amount specified under subdivision 2, Q1: e surety tlfl 
ih the form E amount prescribed hy subdivisions g _a_1g §_. Ah acceptable 
surety bond te ehe issued hy e corporate surety authorized hy t_l1_e commissioner 
t_o transact th_i§ business i_h me state o_f Minnesota get me purposes _o_f@ 
section. Ih_e term “Minnesota employees” includes fly Minnesota residentE 
te employed hy tl_1e employer. 

Subd. A AMOUNT OF SURETY BOND OR SECURITY. I_h_e amount 91' 
surety bond 9; acceptable security required hy subdivision 1 shall he equal te 
one-fourth pt‘ tli_e proiected annual medical gig hospital expenses t_o he incurred 
hy the employer g $1,000, whichever i_s greater, w_ith respect tp it_s Minnesota 
employees hy reason pt‘ the portion pf tlhe employer’s health benefit plgm which 
jg self-insured hy the employer. 

Subd. ; FORM OF THE SURETY BOND. Lire surety bond shall provide 
ee follows: 

SURETY BOND 
KNOW §_I,I_4 PERSONS E THESE PRESENTS: That (entity t_o he bonded), 

o_f (location), (hereinafter called tfi “principal”), ee principzg, _en_d (bonding 
company name), e (name o_f state) corporation, o_f (location) (hereinafter called 
jag; “suret ” he surety g @131 en_d firnply bound unto Q commissioner gt" 
commerce pf _tli_e §t_a_t_e <_>_f Minnesota Q the fie ehtt benefit p_f Minnesota §s_i; 
dents entitled tp health benefits from th_e principal i_n the fl1’_1_ _o_f ($ ....... ..), Q 
the payment pt‘ which w_el1 gig truly te 13 made tfi principal binds itsej i_t§ 
successor gi_c_l assigns, gig the surety binds itself Qt; i_t§ successors aii assigns 
iointlyyfi severally, firmly hy these presents. 

WHEREAS, Q accordance with section ( .... ..) o_f th_e Minnesota Statute, 
principal i_s reguired t_o hle _a_ surety bond with E commissioner 9_f commerce 9_f 
tl1_e state o_f Minnesota. 

NOW, THEREFORE, th_e condition pt‘ thi_§ obligation i_s tlLt if the 
s_a_id_ principal shall according tp the terms, provisions, _a_n_ct limitations o_f princi- 
pe_1_s_’_ health benefit program f9_r_ _it§ Minnesota employees, pey a_ll pf _it_s liabilities E obligetions, including ell benefits he provided _i_h th_e attached pl21_n,the1L t_hi_s 
obligation g1a_ll he fl ehd void, otherwise te remain Q h1_l1 force E effect, 
subiect, howeveg t_o me following terms g conditions: 
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L 1115; liability _o_f the surety _i_§ limited 19 ’th_e miyment o_f tl1_e benefits _o_f pg 
employee benefit p_l_ap which age payable by 113 princinal _ar1_d within ’ch_e amount 
o_f th_e bond. & surety shall pg bound t_o payments owed py tl1_e principal fpr 
obligations arising from p default o_i"tl1_e principal g a_ny 1_os_s incurred during th_e 
period t_o which'tli_e bond applies. 

2; I££E:6iLe_Ifl0_fflX?d6fau1tQ1l1§&t0_f@L__P_rinCi alflélblfihxtli 
terms app provision o_f _t_l§ attached plan, tl1_e commissioner pf commerce may, 
pgfl ten-days notice ’_t_q jtfi surety a_r1c_l opportunity jt_c_> pp heard, require th_e 
surety t_o gy gg o_f t_h_e_ principal’s }m_st £1 future obligations under th_e attached E @ respect _tp t:h_e principal’s Minnesota employees. 

3. Service p1__1 _t_l_1_e_ surety. shall Q deemed t_o pp service £1 tl1_e principals. 
3 This bond shall E i_n efl‘ect from ............. .. t_o .............. .., and may igQ 

canceled _‘t_)y either the surety 9; gig principal. 

; Any Minnesota employee o_f principal aggrieved py a default Q principal 
under the attached plan, and/or th_e commissioner o_f commerce Q behalf o_f fly 
such employee, may enforce th_e_ provisions pf this bond. ~~ 

~~ 

~~ 

~~ 

~~~

~ 

~~~ 

~~ 

~~ 

~~~ 

~~

~ 

6. This bond shall become effective a_t (time 9_i_‘ day, month, day, year). 

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, sfl princinals app! said surety have caused 
jt_l_1§ instrument t_o pg signed l_)y their respective, duly authorized oificers@ 
their corporate seals t_o lg hereunto aflixed gis (day, month, year). 

Signed, sealed a_ng delivered i_n 
t_h_e presence o_fi Cogporation Name 

' &ms1_ir_1gQ>t_n2an_tM_m 
Ex 

Subd. 4_l: PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO COMPLY. 1 commissioner o_f 
revenue shall deny ppy business E deduction t_o Q employer f_gr_ pile employer’s 
contribution t_o a_t health E Q‘ Q period which th_e employer fajilsz t_o comply @ gis section. 111_i§ section _c1g:_§ pp; apply _tp trusts established under chapter 
_6j which have been approved py th_e commissioner. 

Subd. _5_. PETITION TO REDUCE BOND OR SECURITY AMOUNT. Q employer subject pg 1l_1_i§ section rgy petition 1h__e_ commissioner t_o, gig [lg 
mn;sfiLmcr~_I1£iL@m2aa%_9£2atu9txh9a<1_29tiL1th2£<u_rn§2§2i&99‘ia 
subdivision §_, g grant a reduction ip Qe amount o_f1hp surety bond o_r security 
reguired. 

_Ip reviewing a_t petition submitted under this subdivision, tl_1p commissioner 
must consider, _i_r_1_ addition pg ppy other factors, information provided _by 33 
petitioner i_n regard pg t_l_1p following: 
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Q) the gz_e_ o_f Q5; _petitioner’s business; 

Q1) t_1'u:_ number o_f employees; 

Q) the cost 9_f providing [he bond gr security _ap_d th_e effect th__e cost \_2v_i_l_l 

have o_n Q1_e_ petitioner’s financial condition; 

(31) whether ‘gig cost o_f tfi bond g security @ impair th_e petitioner’s 
ability tg self-insure; and 

Q) t_h_e petitioner’s likelihood Qf being able t_o meet gig petitioner’s future 
obligations Q regard t_o th_e health plan. 

Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.3l, subdivision la, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. la. APPLICATION TO CERTAIN POLICIES. The requirements 
of sections 62A.3l to 62A.44 shall not apply to disability income protection 
insurance policies, long-term care policies issued pursuant to sections 62A.46 to 
62A.56, or group policies of accident and health insurance which do not purport 
to supplement medicare issued to any of the following groups: 

(a) A policy issued to an employer or employers or to the trustee of a fund 
established by an employer where only employees or retirees, and dependents of 
employees or retirees, are eligible for coverage. 

(b) A policy issued to a labor union or similar employee organization. 
(c) A policy issued to an association, a trust or the trustee of a fund estab- 

lished, created or maintained for the benefit of members of one or more associa- 
tions. The association or associations shall have at the outset a minimum of 100 
persons; shall have been organized and maintained in good faith for purposes 
other than that of obtaining insurance; shall have a constitution and bylaws 
which provide that (1) the association or associations hold regular meetings not 
less frequently than annually to further purposes of the members, (2) except for 
credit unions, the association or associations collect dues or solicit contributions 
from members, and (3) the members have voting privileges and representation 
on the governing board and committees, gt (3) _th_e members Q fly, within 
113 E 3_0 <_1ay_s gf membership, directly solicited, offered, g §o_1g _a long-term 
gag policy g Medicare supplement policy i_f tl1_e policy i_s available Q Q; associ- 
ation benefit. _T_h_i§ clause does 3); prohibit direct solicitations, offers, 9; sales 
made exclusively by _r_riil. 

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.43, subdivision 2, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 2. REFUNDS. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 62A.38, an 
insurer which issues a medicare supplement plan to any person who has one 
plan then in effect, except as permitted in subdivision 1, shall, at the request of 
the insured, either refund the premiums or pay any claims on the policy, which- 
ever is greater. My refund gfi premium pursuant _t_9_ t_h_i§ section 9; section 
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62A.38 shall pg sent py E insurer directly t_o E insured within Q days pf jt_l_1p 
reguest bl t_e insured. 

Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.43, is amended by adding a 
subdivision to read: 

Subd. i OTHER POLICIES NOT PROHIBITED. Ipp prohibition E _t_hi§ 
section against pipe gig pf duplicate Medicare supplement coverage does n_ot 
preclude me sfi o_f insurance coverage, such a_s travel, accident, _a_r_1<_1_ sickness 
coverage, th_e effect 9_1; purpose 9_f which is pp; tp supplement Medicare coverage. _ 

Notwithstanding plli_s provision, p" ‘ch_e commissioner determines tl1_a_t ’th_e cover- 
agp being i _i§ Q f_ag Medicare supplement insurance, % commissioner shall 
notify 'th_e insurer i_n writing pf th_e determination. E tlg insurer <_19_gs pgt 
thereafter comply Eh sections 62A.3l t_o 62A.44, t_h_e commissioner may, pg 
suant 19 chapter _l_$ revoke pr suspend th_e insurer’s authority Q £11 accident 
gig health insurance Q jgfl @ Q‘ impose _a E penalty _r_1_9_t tp exceed 
$10,000, gp both.

’ 

Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.46, is amended by adding a 
subdivision to read: 

Subd. 1_1. BENEFIT PERIOD. “Benefit period” means g1_e g more sepa- fle g combined periods pf confinement covered py Q long-term E policy Q 
Q nursing facility g a_t home while receiving home gape services. A benefit 
period begins pp th_e fi_rst gay file insured receives a benefit under E policy a_n_c_l 
ends when th_e insured E received Q benefits £9; tl_1_e same g related causeQ 
ap interval o_f _1_8Q consecutive days. 

See. 59. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.48, subdivision 1, is amended 
to read: 

Subdivision 1. POLICY REQUIREMENTS. No individual or group poli- 
cy, certificate, subscriber contract, or other evidence of coverage of nursing 
home care or other long-term care services shall be offered, issued, delivered, or 
renewed in this state, whether or not the policy is issued in this state, unless the 
policy is offered, issued, delivered, or renewed by a qualified insurer and the 
policy satisfies the requirements of sections 62A.46 to 62A.56. A long-term care 
policy must cover medically prescribed long-term care in nursing facilities and 
at least the medically prescribed long-term home care services in section 62A.46, 
subdivision 4, clauses (1) to (5), provided by a home health agency. Coverage 
under a long-term care policy AA must include: a maximum lifetime benefit 
limit of at least $100,000 for services, and nursing facility and home care 
coverages must not be subject to separate lifetime maximums, and a require- 
ment of prior hospitalization for up to one day may be imposed only for 
long-term care in a nursing facility. Coverage under a long-term care policy A 
must include: a maximum lifetime benefit limit of at least $50,000 for services, 
nursing facility and home care coverages must not be subject to separate lifetime 
maximums, and a requirement of prior hospitalization for up to three days may 
be imposed for long-term care in a nursing facility or home care services. E 
long-term 53$ policies require _t_h§ policyholder _t_9_ pg admitted t_o g nursing 
facility o_r begin home % services within a specified period after dischargg 
fr_o_1p 2_1 hospital, thpt period _m_ay Q pg l_e§_ Qa_n Q days. 

Changes or additions are indicated by underline, deletions by ser-i-leeeut.

Copyright © 1987 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                                



2123 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1987 Ch. 337 

Coverage under either policy designation must cover preexisting conditions 
during thg fi_r_st gig; months pf coverage if t_h_e_ insured E po_t diagnosed _Q_l_‘ 

treated fpr_ t_l_1p particular condition during flip 29 Qy_s immediately preceding Q effective ditg o_f coverage. Coverage under either policy designation may 
include a waiting period of up to 90 days before benefits are paid, E _t_l_1_e_gp 
g_n_yit_ b_e_ Q _n_1p_r_e 1_hg_r_1 o_n_e_ waiting period p_e; benefit period. @ policy may 
exclude coverage Q mental g nervous disorders which have _a demonstrable 
organic cause, gggh 2_1§ Alzheimer’s gi_i_c_l_ related dementias. _I\_I_q policy may 
require jghg insured t_o meet a_ prior hospitalization t_es_t more than once during g 
single benefit period. The policy must include a provision that the plan will not 
be canceled or renewal refused except on the grounds of nonpayment of the 
premium, provided that the insurer may change the premium rate on a class 
basis on any policy anniversary date. Policy eptiens include A provision that 
the policyholder may elect to have the premium paid in full at age 65 by 
payment of a higher premium up to age 65 and fiy Q offered. A provision 
that the premium would be waived during any period in which benefits are being 
paid to the insured during confinement i_p 2_1 nursing facility must pg included. A 
nongroup policyholder may return a policy within 30 days of its delivery and 
have the premium refunded in full, less any benefits paid under the policy, if the 
policyholder is not satisfied for any reason. 

Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.48, subdivision 2, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 2. PER DIEM COVERAGE. If benefits are provided on a per diem 
basis, the minimum daily benefit for care in a nursing facility must be the lesser 
of $60 or actual charges under a1ong—term care policy AA or the lesser of $40 or 
actual charges under a long-term care policy A and the minimum daily benefit E y_i§_i_§ for home care under _§_ long-term c_a_1_‘§ policy A_A 9_r A must be the lesser 
of$25 or actual chargesuneleralong-termearepeliey2°cAerthelessere£$-266% 
aetaaleh&rgesfernurseané%herapyseHieesand$%Gferhemehealthaide&nd 
nenmediealsei=v=ieesuaderaleng—tei=mearepelie=yA= Ifhemeeareservieesaiaa 
prevideéless£requenflythandafly;flwnfinimumbenefitisthelesserefaetual 
ehargeseranameuntdeterminedbymaltiplyingthenumbereféaysefthe 
periedduringwhéehsewieeswfllbepre~4ded;erareasenableintewale£the 

The home care 
services benefit must cover at least seven paid visits per week. 

See. 61. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.48, subdivision 6, is amended 
to read:' 

Subd. 6. COORDINATION OF BENEFITS. A long-term care policy shall 
;n_2_1y be secondary coverage for services provided under sections 62A.46 to 
62A.56. Nothing in sections 62A.46 to 62A.56 shall require the secondary payor 
to pay the obligations of the primary payor nor shall it prevent the secondary 
payor from recovering from the primary payor the amount of any obligation of 
the primary payor that the secondary payor elects to pay. 
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There be _I_l__Q coordination o_f benefits between a long-term egg policy 
gr_1_gi_ Q policy designed primarily tg provide coverage payable o_n _a ge_r diem, fi3<_eg_ 
indemnity Q nonexpense-incurred basis, g _a policy that provides Qgly accident 
coverage. 

Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.48, is amended by adding a 
subdivision to read: 

Subd. L EXISTING POLICIES. Nothing i_n sections 62A.46 t_o 62A.56 
prohibits gig renewal of policies sold outside the state o_f Minnesota t_o persons 
who a_t 1:h_e time o_f sale were n_o’t residents o_f tl1_e state o_f Minnesota. 

Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62A.50, subdivision 3, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 3. DISCLOSURES. No long—term care policy shall be oifered or 
delivered in this state, whether or not the policy is issued in this state, and no 
certificate of coverage under a group long-term care policy shall be offered or 
delivered in this state, unless a statement containing at least the following 
information is delivered to the applicant at the time the application is made: 

(1) a description of the benefits and coverage provided by the policy and the 
differences between this, policy, a supplemental medicare policy and the benefits 
to which an individual is entitled _under parts A and B of medicare _a_ngl_ the 
differences between policy designations A $1 AA; 

(2) a statement of the exceptions and limitations in the policy including the 
following language, as applicable, in bold print: “THIS POLICY DOES NOT 
COVER ALL NURSING CARE FACILITIES OR NURSING HOME OR HOME 
CARE EXPENSES AND DOES NOT COVER RESIDENTIAL CARE. READ 
YOUR POLICY CAREFULLY TO DETERMINE WHICH FACILITIES AND 
EXPENSES ARE COVERED BY YOUR POLICY.”; 

(3) a statement of the renewal provisions including any reservation by the 
insurer of the right to change premiums; 

(4) a statement that the outline of coverage is a summary of the policy 
issued or applied for and that the policy should be consulted to determine 
governing contractual provisions; 

(5) an explanation of the policy’s loss ratio including at least the following 
language: “This means that, on the average, policyholders may expect that 
$ ...... .. of every $100 in premium will be returned as benefits to policyholders 
over the life of the contract”; and ‘ ‘ 

(6) a statement of the out—of-pocket expenses, including deductibles and 
copayments for which the insured is responsible, and an explanation of the 
specific out-of-pocket expenses that may be accumulated toward any out—of- 
pocket maximum as specified in the policy. 
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Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62D.05, is amended by adding a 
subdivision to read: 

Subd. Q SUPPLEMENTAL BENEFITS. A health maintenance organiza- 
gicg may, is 3 supplemental benefit, provide coverage tp i_t§ enrollees Q health 
pgg services _an_d supplies received from providers who _a_rp Qt employed _by, 
under contract with, g otherwise aifiliated yvijtp th_e health maintenance organi- 
zation. % commissioner may, pursuant ftp chapter L41 adopt, enforce, gp(_i 
administer gigs relating ftp _thi_s_ subdivision, including: g_u_l_e_s insuring mat t_he_s§_ 
benefits _a_r_e_ supplementagy @ n_o_t substitutes E comprehensive health mainte- 
nance services; rules relating 19 protection against insolvency, including t_h_§ 

establishment pf necessary financial reserves; rules relating _tp appropriate stan- 
dards fig claims processing; r__p_lp§ relating tp marketing practices; g_1_1_d other rules 
necessagy Q the effective gig efiicient administration pf pip subdivision. 
1119 commissioner, i_n adopting rules, pill] giye consideration tp existing u1_v_v_s 
gig rules administered gfl enforced l_3y the department o_f commerce relating t_o_ 
health insurance plans. Except gs otherwise provided l_)y Lflvp _a health mainte- 
nance organization mpy n_ot advertisg offer, g enter iii contracts Q 315; 
coverage described Q mi_s subdivision until E gig a_ft§_r_ tlg effective gig pf 
§l_1l<a_s adopted py tfi commissioner _o_f health 19 implement p1_1_i§ subdivision. 

Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62D.102, is amended to read: 

62D.102 MINIMUM BENEFITS. 
In addition to minimum requirements established in other sections, all 

group health maintenance contracts providing benefits for mental or nervous 
disorder treatments in a hospital shall also provide coverage for at least ten 
hours of treatment over a 12-month period with a copayment not to exceed the 
greater of $10 or 20 percent of the applicable usual and customary charge for 
mental or nervous disorder consultation, diagnosis and treatment services deliv- 
ered while the enrollee is not a bed patient in a hospital gpg a_t lisp _'_/_§ percent 
pf _t_h_e pg pf 33 y_s_ugl E customa1_'y charges £95 fly additional hours pf 
ambulatory mental health treatment during j;_l_1§ same 12-month benefit period E serious gig persistent mental g nervous disorders. 

£_r_i_9_r_ authorization g1_z_1y pg reguired f9_r a_n extension o_f coverage beyond 
te_n hours o_f treatment. I__l1i_s prior authorization must pp based upon ’th_e 

severity pf flip disorder, gig patient’s E _o_f deterioration without ongoing 
treatment £1 maintenance, degree _c_)_i_‘ functional impairment, % _a concise 
treatment pli. Authorization _f9_r extended treatment gy may exceed 2_1 maxi- mum o_f _3_Q_ yg hours during gpy 12-month benefit period. & pugposes p_i_' this section, covered treatment E _a minor shall include 
treatment fig @ family if family therapy _i§ recommended py Q health mainte- 
nance organization provider. 

Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62E.06, subdivision 1, is amended 
to read: 
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Subdivision 1. NUMBER THREE PLAN. A plan of health coverage shall 
be certified as a number three qualified plan if it otherwise meets. the require- 
ments established by chapters 62A and 62C, and the other laws of this state, 
whether or not the policy is issued in Minnesota, and meets or exceeds the 
following minimum standards: 

(a) The minimum benefits for a covered individual shall, subject to the 
other provisions of this subdivision, be equal to at least 80 percent of the cost of 
covered services in excess of an annual deductible which does not exceed $150 
per person. The coverage shall include a limitation of $3,000 per person on 
total annual out-of—pocket expenses for services covered under this subdivision. 
The coverage shall be subject to a maximum lifetime benefit of not less than 
$250,000. 

The $3,000 limitation on total annual out-of-pocket expenses and the $250,000 
maximum lifetime benefit shall not be subject to change or substitution by use 
of an actuarially equivalent benefit. 

(b) Covered expenses shall be the usual and customary charges for the 
following services and articles when prescribed by a physician: 

(1) hospital services; 

(2) professional services for the diagnosis or treatment of injuries, illnesses, 
or conditions, other than eat-pat-ient mental or dental, which are rendered by a 
physician or at the physician’s direction; 

(3) drugs requiring a physician’s prescription; 

(4) services of a nursing home for not more than 120 days in a year if the 
services would qualify as reimbursable services under medicare; 

(5) services of a home health agency if the services would qualify as reim- 
bursable services under medicare; 

(6) use of radium or other radioactive materials; 

(7) oxygen; 

(8) anesthetics; 

(9) prostheses other than dental; 

(10) rental or purchase, as appropriate, of durable medical equipment other 
than eyeglasses and hearing aids; 

(ll) diagnostic X-rays and laboratory tests; 

(12) oral surgery for partially or completely unerupted impacted teeth, a 
tooth root without the extraction of the entire tooth, or the gums and tissues of 
the mouth when not performed in connection with the extraction or repair of 
teeth; 
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(13) services of a physical therapist; and 

(14) transportation provided by licensed ambulance service to the nearest 
facility qualified to treat the condition; or a reasonable mileage rate for transpor- 
tation to a kidney dialysis center for treatment; gig 

glsg services 91‘ an occupational therapist. 

(c) Covered expenses for the services and articles specified in this subdivi- 
sion do not include the following: 

(1) any charge for care for injury or disease either (i) arising out of an injury 
in the course of employment and subject to a workers’ compensation or similar 
law, (ii) for which benefits are payable without regard to fault under coverage 
statutorily required to be contained in any motor vehicle, or other liability 
insurance policy or equivalent self-insurance, or (iii) for which benefits are 
payable under another policy of accident and health insurance, medicare or any 
other governmental program except as otherwise provided by law; 

(2) any charge for treatment for cosmetic purposes other than for recon- 
structive surgery when such service is incidental to or follows surgery resulting 
from injury, sickness or other diseases of the involved part or when such service 
is performed on a covered dependent child because of congenital disease or 
anomaly which has resulted in a functional defect as determined by the attend- 
ing physician; 

(3) care which is primarily for custodial or domiciliary purposes which 
would not qualify as eligible services under medicare; 

(4) any charge for confinement in a private room to the extent it is in excess 
of the institution’s charge for its most common semiprivate room, unless a 
private room is prescribed as medically necessary by a physician, provided, 
however, that if the institution does not have semiprivate rooms, its most com- 
mon semiprivate room charge shall be considered to be 90 percent of its lowest 
private room charge; 

(5) that part of any‘ charge for services or articles rendered or prescribed by 
a physician, dentist, or other health care personnel which exceeds the prevailing 
charge in the locality where the service is provided; and 

(6) any charge for services or articles the provision of which is not within 
the scope of authorized practice of the institution or individual rendering the 
services or articles. 

(d) The minimum benefits for a qualified plan shall include, in addition to 
those benefits specified in clauses (a) and (e), benefits for well baby care, effective 
July 1, 1980, subject to applicable deductibles, coinsurance provisions, and 
maximum lifetime benefit limitations. 

(e) Effective July 1, 1979, the minimum benefits of a qualified plan shall 
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include, in addition to those benefits specified in clause (a), a second opinion 
from a physician on all surgical procedures expected to cost a total of $500 or 
more in physician, laboratory and hospital fees, provided that the coverage need 
not include the repetition of any diagnostic tests. 

(f) Effective August 1, 1985, the minimum benefits of a qualified plan must 
include, in addition to the benefits specified in clauses (a), (d), and (e), coverage 
for special dietary treatment for phenylketonuria when recommended by a phy- 
sician. 

fig) Outpatient mental health coverage is subiect t_o section 62A.152, subdi- 
vision 2.

' 

Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62E.10, subdivision 2, is amended 
to read:

’ 

Subd. 2. BOARD OF DIRECTORS; ORGANIZATION. The board of 
directors of the association shall be made up of seven pg members 
a_1_s_ follows: E insurer directors selected by participating members, subject to 
approval by the commissioner and t-we; fppg public members appointed by the 
governor directors selected py Q; commissioner. Public members fly include 
licensed insurance agents. In determining voting rights at members’ meetings, 
each member shall be entitled to vote in person or proxy. The vote shall be a 
weighted vote based upon the member’s cost of self-insurance, accident and 
health insurance premium, subscriber contract charges, or health maintenance 
contract payment derived from or on behalf of Minnesota residents in the 
previous calendar year, as determined by the commissioner. In approving mem- 
bers directors of the board, the commissioner shall consider, among other things, 
whether all types of members are fairly represented. Members of rhe beard 
Insurer directors may be reimbursed from the money of the association for 
expenses incurred by them as members directors, but shall not otherwise be 
compensated by the association for their services. The costs of conducting 
meetings of the association and its board of directors shall be borne by members 
of the association. 

- Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62E.10, is amended by adding a 
subdivision to read: 

Subd. Q APPEALS. A person may appeal t_o th_e commissioner within _3p 
days after notice o_f Q action, ruling, 9; decision py E board. 

A final action 9; order o_f Q; commissioner under this subdivision Q subiect 
t_o judicial review Q th_e manner provided py chapter if}; 

I_n lieu _o_fthg appeal t_o tl1_e commissioner, g person may seek judicial review 
o_ft_l_1p board’s action. 

Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62E.10, is amended by adding a 
subdivision to read: - 
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Subd. 2; EXPERIMENTAL DELIVERY METHOD. [he association mgy 
petition gig commissioner pf commerce £9; a waiver t_<_) allow §h_e_ experimental 
}_1ge_ pf alternative means o_f health _ca_re delivery. [lg commissioner rgy approve 
13 _u_$ pf t_h_e_ alternative means _tll§ commissioner considers appropriate. T_h_e_ 

commissioner ;n_gy waive gny o_f t_h§ reguirements pf chapters Q95, 6_2A, 62_D, 
gig §_2_E i_p granting t_h_e_ waiver. IQ commissioner r_ngy g1_s_c_> g;21_r1t 19 t_h§ 
association ar_iy additional powers as age necessary tp facilitate th_e specific waiver. 

This subdivision i_s effective until August 1, 1989. 

Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62E.14, is amended by adding a 
subdivision to read: 

Subd. Q; TERMINATED EMPLOYEES. Ag employee E9 is voluntarily 
9; involuntarily terminated _o_r la_i(_l oiffrom employment E unable tp exercise 
jg option t_O_ continue coverage under section 62A.l7 play enroll, within §_Q 
days o_f termination Q lay-off, with Q waiver o_f tl_1§ preexisting condition limita- 
1i__c_>p get fprgh ip subdivision §_ £1 2_1 waiver 9f the evidence pf reiection _s_e_t forth 
i_n subdivision L paragraph (9; 

Sec. 71. [62E.18] HEALTH INSURANCE FOR RETIRED EMPLOYEES 
NOT ELIGIBLE FOR MEDICARE. 

_A_ Minnesota resident \_)v_1p)_ is age _§_5_ g over gig is pg eligible 3); tl_i_e health 
insurance benefits pf t_l1g federal Medicare program is entitled :9 purchase t_h§ 
benefits 9_i_' Q gualified glap, 9_i_i_g g mg, offered by Q1; Minnesota comprehensive 
health association without a_Il_\[ o_f th_e limitations Lt forth _i_r_i section 62E.14, 
subdivision _1_, paragraph (Q, a_n_c_l_ subdivision §._ 

Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62F.04l, subdivision 2, is amended 
to read: - 

Subd. 2. This section shall expire on June 30, -1-984 1989. 

See. 73. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62F.06, subdivision 1, is amended 
to read: 

Subdivision 1. A policy issued by the association shall prev-iele fer a eent-in- 

m&fleaHyat4%+9+a:m:enSeptember47+988;erseeneraspre+édeéinseetierw 
62-F:9lr te 62-F.—l-4 may _n_Q_t extend beyond a period fig )@ from th_e d_2n_g _o_n_ 
which tpg authorization under section 62F.04 ends. The policy shall be issued 
subject to the group retrospective rating plan and the stabilization reserve fund 
authorized by section 62F.O9. The policy shall be written to apply to claims first 
made against the insured and reported to the association during the policy 
period. No policy form shall be used by the association unless it has been filed 
with the commissioner, and the commissioner may disapprove the form within 
30 days if the commissioner determines it is misleading or violates public poli- 
cy. 
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Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62H.01, is amended to read: 

62H.01 JOINT SELF-INSURANCE EMPLOYEE HEALTH PLAN. 
Any three or more employers, excluding the state and its political subdivi- 

sions as described in 471.617, subdivision 1, who are authorized to transact 
business in Minnesota may jointly self-insure employee health, dental, or short- 
term disability benefits. Joint plans must have a minimum of 250 covered 
employees and meet all conditions and terms of sections 62H.01 to 62H.08. 
Joint plans covering employers n_o’t resident Q Minnesota must meet t-h_e require- 
ments _o_f sections 62H.01 tp 62H.O8 § i_f th_e portion pf t_l‘§ 1 covering 
Minnesota resident employees E treated as a separate plan. A gap pp}; _(:()_\/E‘ 
employees resident _ip other states o_nly _i_f fig E complies _v_v_i_tp Elle applicable 
law: 2:" that s_tat_e_- 

Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62H.02, is amended to read: 

62H.O2 REQUIRED PROVISIONS. 
A joint self-insurance plan must include aggregate excess stop-loss coverage 

and individual excess stop-loss coverage provided by an insurance company 
licensed by the state of Minnesota. Aggregate excess stop-loss coverage must 
include provisions to cover incurred, unpaid claim liability in the event of plan 
termination. Theeaeeesserstep-lessinsarermustbeartherisleefeeveragefer 

due: In addition, the plan of self-insurance must have participating employers 
fund an amount at least equal to the point at which the excess or stop-loss 
insurer must hfi contracted t_o_ assume 100 percent of additional liability. A 
joint self-insurance plan must submit its proposed excess or stop-loss insurance 
contract to the commissioner of commerce at least 30 days prior to the proposed 
plan’s effective date and at least 30 days subsequent to any renewal date. The 
commissioner shall review the contract to determine if they meet the standards 
established by sections 62H.01 to 62H.08 and respond within a 30-day period. 
Any excess or stop-loss insurance plan must be neneaneelable fer a minimum 
term at" we years contain a provision g1_a_t 113 excess Q" stop-loss insurer@ 
gig th_e @ £1 E commissioner pf commerce a minimum 9_f_1__8_Q ggyg notice 
o_f termination o_r nonrenewal. I_f t_hp E £2_1_i_l_s_ t__o secure replacement coverage 
within Q day_s aftir receipt pf pile notice o_f cancellation pr nonrenewal, Q 
commissioner shall issue a_n_ order providing Q ply; orderly termination o_f t_h_e 
plan. ' 

Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 62H.O4, is amended to read: 

62H.04 COMPLIANCE WITH OTHER LAWS. 
‘A joint self-insurance plan is subject to the requirements of ehapter chapters 

62A; £1 Q]; and sections 72A.17 to 72A.32 unless otherwise specifically exempt. A joint self-insurance plan must not olfer less than a number two qualified plan 
or its actuarial equivalent. 
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Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 621.02, subdivision 1, is amended 
to read: 

Subdivision 1. CREATION. The Minnesota joint underwriting association 
is created to provide insurance coverage to any person or entity unable to obtain 
insurance through ordinary methods if the insurance is required by statute, 
ordinance, or otherwise required by law, or is necessary to earn a livelihood or 
conduct a business and serves a public purpose. Prudent business practice or 
mere desire to have insurance coverage is not a sufficient standard for the 
association to offer insurance coverage to a person or entity. fig pugposes _o_t_‘ jr_l_1_i§ 
subdivision, directors’ and officers’ liability insurance i_s_ considered 19 Q a 
business necessity a_rg _no_t merely _a prudent business practice. The association 
shall be specifically authorized to provide insurance coverage to day care provid- 
ers, foster parents, foster homes, developmental achievement centers, group 
homes, and sheltered workshops for mentally, emotionally, or physically handi- 
capped persons, and citizen participation groups established pursuant to the 
housing and community redevelopment act of 1974, Public Law Number 93- 
383. Because the activities of certain persons or entities present a risk that is so 
great, the association shall not offer insurance coverage to any person or entity 
the board of directors of the association determines is outside the intended 
scope and purpose of the association because of the gravity of the risk of offering 
insurance coverage. The association shall not offer environmental impairment 
liability or product liability insurance. The association shall not offer coverage 
for activities that are conducted substantially outside the state of Minnesota 
unless the insurance is required by statute, ordinance, or otherwise required by 
law. Every insurer authorized to write property and casualty insurance in this 
state shall be a member of the association as a condition to obtaining and 
retaining a license to write insurance in this state. 

Sec. 78. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 621.02, subdivision 3, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 3. REAUTHORIZATION. The authorization to issue insurance to 
day care providers, foster parents, foster homes, developmental activity centers, 
group homes, and sheltered workshops for mentally, emotionally, or physically 
handicapped persons, and citizen participation groups established pursuant to 
the housing and community redevelopment act of 1974, Public Law Number 
93-383, is valid for a period of two years from the date it was made. The 
commissioner may reauthorize the issuance of insurance Q ge_s_e groups agi 
other classes o_f business for additional two-year periods pursuant to sections 
621.21 and 621.22. This subdivision is not a limitation on the number of times 
the commissioner may reauthorize the issuance of insurance. I-nsuranee may not 
beefieredpafiuanttethisseetieateperseaserenfifiesetherthanthesehsted 
in this after Deeember -3-1—, -l-989: 

Sec. 79. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 621.03, subdivision 5, is amended 
to read: 
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Subd. 5. DEFICIT. “Deficit” means, for a particular policy year and line or 
type of insurance, that amount by which total paid and outstanding losses and 
loss adjustment expenses exceed premium revenue, including retrospective pre- 
mium revenue. 

Sec. 80. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 621.04, is amended to read: 

621.04 POLICY ISSUANCE. 
Any person or entity that is a resident of the state of Minnesota who has a 

current written notice of refusal to insure from an insurer licensed to offer 
insurance in the state of Minnesota may make written application to the associa- 
tion for coverage. The applicable premium or required portion of it must be 
paid prior to coverage by the association. 

The application shall be filed simultaneously with the association and the 
market assistance plan for the association. 

The association is authorized to (1) issue or cause to be issued insurance 
policies to applicants subject to limits specified in the plan of operation; (2) 
underwrite the insurance and adjust and ‘pay losses with respect to it, or appoint 
service companies to perform those functions; (3) assume reinsurance from its 
members; and (4) cede reinsurance. 

Sec. 81. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 621.12, subdivision 1, is amended 
to read: 

Subdivision 1. ADMINISTRATOR. The association shall be administered 
by a qualified insurer or vendor of risk management services selected by the 
commissioner. If the commissioner deems it necessary, the commissioner may 
select more than one person to administer the association. At E option o_f 
gig board, employees E participate Q gl_1_e_ state retirement gt th_e 
deferred compensation E Q employees _i_p fig unclassified service, aid Q 
insurance fig administeredpy tl_1p commissioner o_f employee relations under 
chapter 43A. 

Sec. 82. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 621.13, is amended by adding a 
subdivision to read: 

Subd. Q Notwithstanding Qy order o_f E commissioner _o_r inconsistent 
provisions o_f this chapter, @ board o_f directors may decline t_o offer coverage 
t_o any class pf business o_r Q member pf a class o_f business upon Q reasonable 
underwriting basis. 

Sec. 83. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 621.16, subdivision 3, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 3. SUPERVISION. All money paid into the fund shall be held in 
trust by the corporate trustee selected by the board of directors. The corporate 
trustee may invest the money held in trust subject to the approval of the board. 
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All investment income shall be credited to the fund. All expenses of the admin- 
istration of the fund shall be charged against the fund. The money held in trust 
shall be used solely for the purpose of discharging when due any retrospective 
premium charges payable by policyholders and any retrospective premium refunds 
payable to policyholders under the group retrospective rating plan. Payment of 
retrospective premium charges shall be made upon certification of the amount 
due. If all money accruing to the fund is exhausted in payment of retrospective 
premium charges, all liability and obligations of the association’s policyholders 
with respect to the payment of retrospective premium charges shall terminate 
and shall be conclusively presumed to have been discharged. Any stabilization 
reserve fund charges from a particular policy year and line er type ef i-nsuranee 
not used to pay retrospective premiums must be returned to policyholders after 
all claims and expense obligations from that particular policy year and line or 
type ef insurance are satisfied. 

Sec. 84. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 621.22, subdivision 2, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 2. NOTICE. The commissioner of commerce shall publish notice of 
the hearing in the State Register at least 30 days before the hearing date. The 
notice should be that used for rulemaking under chapter 14. Approval by the 
administrative law judge of the notice prior to publication is not required. fl1_e 
notice must contain a statement gig anyone wishing t_Q oppose activation beyond 
_l_§_(_) gays _f_‘gr_ apy particular g1_a_s_§, _mit_ fil_e_ g petition t_o intervene @ thp 
administrative _la_\_v_ jpglgg a_t l_e_a_g t_en_ dpy_s before tlg hearing date. 3" pp notice 
ftp intervene i_s t_‘1_l_§_d Q g 9g_s_s_, jthja tlg class i_s_ activated beyond _t_l§ 180-day 
period without further action. 

See. 85. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 621.22, is amended by adding a 
subdivision to read: 

Subd. §._ CASE PRESENTATION. 111; department o_f commerce, upon 
reguest py M businesses gg defined py section 14.115, subdivision 1, shall 
assist gggll businesses i_n fly specific class requesting continuation _c_>_f_‘ coverage 
beyond t_hp 180-day period, i_n coordinating ‘th_e gl_2_1_s§ gig presenting Q cai Q 
;1_1_e contested hearing. 

Sec. 86. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 64B.1l, subdivision 4, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 4. FILING OF AMENDMENTS BY FOREIGN OR ALIEN SOCI- 
ETY. Every foreign or alien society authorized to do business in this state shall 
fileyfiththeeemmissieneradulyeefiifiedeepyefahamenémentsefieradéa 
fiemte;itslawswithin99daysafter%heenaetmentefsmnebpsubjectt_oLl§ 
requirements _o_f section 72A.06l, subdivision Q, _a_§ _t_p amendments 93 additions 
tp _i1§ bylaws.

8 

Sec. 87. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 64B.18, is amended to read: 
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64B.18 BENEFITS NOT ATTACHABLE. 
Exeeptasprevidedinehapter256B;themeneyeretherbenefi+s;ehafitfi 

reHef§eraidtebep&id;pre¥iéed;errenderedbym+yseeietyauthefl2edteée 

teattaehment;gafnishment;eretherpreeessandshaHnetbeeeased;taken; 
apprepfiated;e£appHedbyanylegalerequimblepreeessereper&fienefl&mte 
payanydebterflabflityefawrtifieeteheldererefanybenefieiafynameéinthe 
eertifie&te;ere£anypersenwhemayha~=eanyi=ightthereunéerw @gasfl 
value, proceeds, gr; benefits under any matured 9; unmatured @ insurance g 
annuity contract issued before, Q, g after the effective @ o_f jg section, by 
_£_1_I_lX society authorized t_o Q business under E chapter, _i_§ exempt from attach- 
ment, garnishment, execution, g other le_ga_1 process t_o the extent provided by 
section 550.37, subdivisions Q Q £1% 

~ 

~~ 

~ 

~ 

~ 

~ 

~ 

~ 

~

~

~

~

~ 
Sec. 88. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 64B.27, is amended to read:

~ 
64B.27 ANNUAL LICENSE. 
Societies that are now authorized to ‘transact business in this state may 

continue this business until the first day of June next succeeding August 1, 1985. 
The authority of the societies and all societies hereafter licensed, may thereafter 
be renewed annually, subject to section 60A.13, subdivisions 1, 5, 6, and 7. 
However, a license so issued shall continue in full force and effect until the new 
license is issued or specifically refused. For eaeh l-ieense er renewal the seeiet-y 
sh-all -pay the eena-rnissienef $249: A duly certified copy or duplicate of the license 
is prima facie evidence that the licensee is a fraternal benefit society within the 
meaning of this chapter. 

~ 

~~ 

~ 

~ 

~ 

~~ 

~~ 

Sec. 89. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65A.Ol, subdivision 3a, is amended 
to read:~ 

Subd. 3a. CANCELLATION. (1) There shall be printed in the policy or an 
endorsement attached to the policy a printed form in the following words:

~ 
~~ 

When this policy has been issued to cover buildings used for residential 
purposes other than‘ a hotel or motel and has been in effect for at least six 
months _6Q fig, or if it has been renewed, this policy shall not be canceled, 
except for one or more of the following reasons which shall be stated in the 
notice of cancellation: 

~ 

~~

~ 

(a) Nonpayment of premium; 

(b) Misrepresentation or fraud made by or with the knowledge of the insured 
in obtaining the policy or in pursuing a claim thereunder; ~~ ~~ 

(c) An act or omission of the insured which materially increases the risk 
originally accepted;

~ 

(d) Physical changes in the insured property which are not corrected or
~ 
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restored within a reasonable time after they occur and which result in the 
property becoming uninsurable; or 

(e) Nonpayment of dues to an association or organization, other than an 
insurance association or organization, where payment of dues is a prerequisite to 
obtaining or continuing the insurance. 

Provided, however, that this limitation on cancellation shall not apply to 
additional coverages in a divisible policy, other than a policy of fire and extend- 
ed coverage insurance. If this company cancels the additional coverages, it may 
issue a new, separate fire policy at a premium calculated on a pro rata basis for 
the remaining period of the original policy. 

(2) The provisions of clause (1)(e) shall not be included in the language of 
the policy or endorsement unless the payment of dues to an association or 
organization, other than an insurance association or organization, is a prerequi- 
site to obtaining or continuing the insurance. 

Sec. 90.‘ Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65A.03, subdivision 1, is amended 
to read: 

65A.03 BINDERS, TEMPORARY INSURANCE. 
Subdivision 1. GENERALLY. Binders or other contracts for temporary 

insurance may be made orally or in writing, and shall be deemed to include all 
the terms of such standard fire insurance policy and all such applicable endorse- 
ments as may be designated in such contract of temporary insurance; except that 
theeeneellatienelaaseefsuehstandaréfireinsuraneepeheyandtheclause 
specifying the hour of the day at which the insurance shall commence, may be 
superseded by the express terms of such contract of temporary insurance. 

Sec. 91. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65A.l0, is amended to read: 

6 5A. 1 O LIMITATION. 
Nothing contained in sections 65A.O8 and 65A.O9 shall be construed to 

preclude insurance against the cost, in excess of actual cash value at the time 
any loss or damage occurs, of actually repairing, rebuilding or replacing the 
insured property. Subiect t_o fly applicable policy limits, where an insurer offers 
replacement gs; insurance, glgg insurance must cover E at 9_f replacing, 
rebuilding, g repairing :_1_r_1y l_g_s_s g damaged property i_n accordance yfi fig 
minimum code as required py state 9; local authorities. ;r_i tlpg _c_a_sp o_f g partial 
l_o§§, unless more extensive coverage jg otherwise specified _i_r_1 t_h_e policy, @ 
coverage applies ggly ftp 1;h_e damaged portion o_f fie property. 

Sec. 92. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65A.29, is amended by adding a 
subdivision to read: 

‘ Subd. £34 RETURN OF UNEARNED PREMIUM. Cancellation o_f Q poli- 
_c_y _o_t_‘ homeowner’s insurance pursuant tp _th_is section i_s pp; effective unless a_ny 
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unearned premium Qpg ’tlri_e_insured is returned t_o tfi insured V_Vfl)._ thp notice o_f 
cancellation o_r i_s delivered g int Q _m_ai_l tp ’th_e insured §p a_s ‘Q pg received py 
tl1_e insured pg fig t_lg1_r_1_ th_e effective Q o_f cancellation. g"tl1_e premiumE gm pa_i_c_l py tl1_e insured’s agent §pc_l debited t_o Q; agent’s account @@ 
company, upon cancellation, the unearned premium must Q credited t_o t_lie:_ 

agent’s account yyig th_e company. 

See. 93. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65A.35, subdivision 5, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 5. ADMINISTRATION. (l) The facility shall be administered by a 
governing eemmittee board of me members E directors, 1i_y_§ O_f whom gr_e_ 
elected annually by the members of the facility; and four eelelit-ienel members 
Llio represent th_e public. Public directors my include licensed insurance agents. 
Public directors _a_r_§ appointed by the commissioner; at least three of wbem shall 
be pebl-ie members. At least one elected member ef the govern-mg eemmittee 
director shall be a domestic stock insurer, and at least one eleeteel member ef the 
geverni-ng eemmittee director shall be a domestic nonstock insurer. In the 
election of members ef the gever-nmg eemmittee directors, each member of the 
facility shall be allotted votes bearing the same ratio to the total number of votes 
to be cast as its degree of participation in the facility bears to the total participa- 
tion. 

sameratietethetetalrrumberefvetestebeeestaseaehmemberlswritten 

Jlhefirstgevemmgeemmitteeshalibeeleetedetameetmgefthememberser 

(2) Any vacancy among the elected members en the governing eemmittee 
directors shall be filled by a vote of the other elected members of the governing 
eemmittee directors. 

(3) If at any time the members directors fail to elect the required number of 
members to the governing eemmittee board, or a vacancy remains unfilled for 
more than 15 days, the commissioner may appoint the members necessary to 
constitute a full geyeming eemmittee board o_f directors. 

{5} Vacancies among ‘directors appointed py ‘th_e commissioner shall E filled 
py appointment bl tli_e commissioner. A person §_c_) appointed serves untilQ 
ell pf me term o_f ’th_e member they fig replacing. 

Q) A_ll directors serve E a period o_f ’t\N_o years. _'l:l_ig terms o_f a_ll directors 
begin pp J anuagg _1_ 9_ftl1_e year their appointment begins. 

(Q Llie E 91‘ operation must provide Q adequate compensation o_f direc- @ A peg amount g_r_1£1_ a procedure @ reimbursement pf expenses 
incurred ip gig discharge 9_f their duties must 3 included i_n t_l_1§ plan. Directors 
whose employers compensate them while serving Q §h_e board _o_r Lho would 
submit their compensation _tp their employer Q13 _r_1_gt eligible Q compensation 
under _l_Zl_1§ plan. 
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Sec. 94. [65A.375] RATES FOR COOPERATIVE HOUSING AND NEIGH- 
BORHOOD REAL ESTATE TRUST INSURANCE. 

[he commissioner sl;a_ll gt mg insurance rates E cooperative housing 
organized under chapter _3_(E, gpd §o_r neighborhood gal estate trusts, character- 
igfi 2_1§ nonprofit ownership pf real estate with resident control. ’_1‘_h§ rates must 
log actuarially sound. 

Sec. 95. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65A.39, is amended to read: 

65A.39 RIGHT OF APPEAL. 
(3) Any applicant or participating insurer shall have the right of appeal to 

the governing eem-m-ittee board 9_f directors, which shall promptly determine 
said t_h_§ appeal. A decision of the eemmittee board may be appealed to the 
commissioner within 30 days from notice pf the action or decision of the eerie- 
mit-tee; and; The commissioner shall promptly determine said 1;h_e appeal. Each 
denial of insurance shall be accompanied by a statement that the applicant has 
the right of appeal to the governing eemmittee board and the commissioner and 
setting forth the procedures to be followed for sueh th_e appeal. A [131 action o_f E commissioner i_s subject Q iudicial review Q provided i_n chapter _1_4_l_. 

(Q) lp li_eu o_f tfi appeal jcp tln_e commissioner under paragraph Q), a_n 
applicant g insurer may seek judicial review _Q_f_‘ gig board’s action. 

See. 96. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65B.03, subdivision 1, is amended 
to read: 

Subdivision 1. MEMBERSHIP. The commissioner shall direct that an 
election be held among every insurer subject to this chapter, for the election of 
a insurer representatives pp th_e facility governing committee. The governing 
committee shall be made up of eight E individuals seieeteel, E o_f whom 
$11 pg elected by participating members of the facility and ene pa-bliemember 
appeimedbv%hegevemer%etvwee&Fterms£g1guh_ofl1_au1£r&511i2y1_9Intm 
Public members may include licensed insurance agents. ’% public members 
shall b_e appointed by t_l1e_ commissioner. Each insurer member of the governing 
committee shall be a participating member. E term o_f office Q members gf 
ting governing committee i_s pvyg years. 

Each participating member serving on the governing committee shall be 
represented by a salaried employee of that participating member, and not more 
than one participating member in a group under the same management shall 
serve on the governing committee at the same time. illhe eemmissiener ef 
eemmereeeradesigneeshaflbeanexeifieiememberefthegeverningeemmib 
tee: 

Sec. 97. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65B.12, is amended to read: 

65B.12 RIGHT TO HEARING; CONSTRUCTION OF PLAN OF OPER- 
ATION. 
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Subdivision 1. Any participating member, applicant or person insured 
under a policy placed through the facility may request a formal hearing and 
ruling by the governing committee on any alleged violation of the plan of 
operation or any alleged improper act or ruling of the facility directly affect-ing 
its assessment; premium or eeverage furnished; provided that such right to 

member. Such flip request for hearing must be filed within 30 
days after the date of the alleged act or decision. 

Subd. 2. The plan of operation shall provide for prompt and fair hearings, 
and shall prescribe the procedure to be followed in such tl1_e hearings. 

Subd. 3. Any formal ruling by the governing committee may be appealed 
to the commissioner by filing notice of appeal with the facility and the commis- 
sioner within 30 days after issuance of the ruling. Such 5: Lite hearing shall be 
governed by the procedures for contested cases. 

Subd. 4. Upon a hearing pursuant to Laws -1-9-7-1-, elaepter 84% chapter _l_4_, 
the commissioner shall issue an order approving or disapproving the action or 
decision of the governing committee or directing the governing committee to 
reconsider the ruling. « 

Subd. gap I_n lieu _cg”tl1_e appeal t_o_ gig commissioner, Q member, a licant Q person may seek judicial review pf ’_th_e_: governing committee’s action. 
Subd. 5. The plan of operation shall be interpreted to conform to the laws 

of this state with respect to automobile insurance coverage and any changes 
therein i_n ye la_w§, unless the facility is specifically excluded from the applica- 
bility of such gasp laws. 

Sec. 98. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65B.131 1, is amended to read: 
65B.13l1 COVERAGE FOR FORMER SPOUSE. 
Subdivision 1. NEW POLICY ISSUED. if she former spouse of e na-need 

insureéufiéerepdieyefpfiwatepassengervehiekinsuraneeeppkeswithinéé 
daysefentryefevaliddeereeefdisselufienefthemarriageandtheiermer 
speusewaseninsureédriverunderthepelieytefetleestlénaenthsprierte 
enavefthedeemetheinsurermufiissueapelieygupenpaymentefthe 
eppreprimepremiungtethefermerspeuseenlyenthebasisefthedfifing 
reeerdepplieebletethefermerspeuseandenypersenwheistebeaninsured; 
asdefinedinseaien6§B:43;undefithepelieytebeissued;pms4dedthepersen 
erpememtebeinwmdmeetstheinsum#seligibflityfi&nd&rdsfl1_i1mujmrm1;st 
issue a policy pf private passenger insurance t_o_ Q13 former spouse o_f a named 
insured, within 1&3 provisions pf subdivision 2 o_f :th_i§ section, if 111; following 
conditions g me_t: 
Q th_e former spouse E been Q insured driver under gh_¢_a former policyQ 

9; least 1:h_e pig months immediately preceding Q9 entry o_f _a valid decree o_f 
dissolution o_f marriage; 
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L2) ghp former spouse makes application fig; a policy before ’th_e pg pf tlg 
policy period g within §_(_) days after th_e entry o_f flip decree 9;‘ dissolution pf 
marriage, whichever jg later; 

(_3_) _t_l_l§ appropriate premium i_s paid; _a_r_1_g 

Q1) _tl1_e former spouse grid fly person g persons who _a;e t_o pp a_n insured, 
is defined i_r_1 section 65B.43, meets E insurer’s eligibility standards Q renewal 
policies. 

Subd. 2. NAMED INSURED. A named insured under a policy of private 
passenger vehicle insurance shall have the premium determined at the first and 
any subsequent renewals of the policy after entry of a valid decree of dissolution 
of the marriage of the named insured only on the basis of the driving record a_ng_ 
rating classification applicable to the named insured and any person who is to be 
an insured, as defined in section 65B.43, under the policy to be renewed. 

Sec. 99. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65B.l5, subdivision 1, is amended 
to read: 

Subdivision l. No cancellation or reduction in the limits of liability of 
coverage during the policy period of any policy shall be effective unless notice 
thereof is given and unless based on one or more reasons stated in the policy 
which shall be limited to the following: 

1. Nonpayment of premium; or 

2. The policy was obtained through a material misrepresentation; or 

3. Any insured made a false or fraudulent claim or knowingly aided or 
abetted another in the presentation of such a claim; or 

4. The named insured failed to disclose fully motor vehicle accidents and 
moving traflic violations of the named insured for the preceding 36 months if 
called for in the written application; or 

5. The named insured failed to disclose in the written application any 
requested information necessary for the acceptance or proper rating of the risk; 
or 

6. The named insured knowingly failed to give any required written notice 
of loss or notice of lawsuit commenced against the named insured, or, when 
requested, refused to cooperate in the investigation of a claim or defense of a 
lawsuit; or 

7. The named insured or any other operator who either resides in the same 
household: unless t_h§ other operator is identified py name _ip a_ny other policy ag 
pp insured; or customarily operates an automobile insured under such policy: 

(a) has, within the 36 months prior to the notice of cancellation, had that 
person’s driver’s license under suspension or revocation; or 
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(b) is or becomes subject to epilepsy or heart attacks, and such individual 
does not produce a written opinion from a physician testifying to that person’s 
medical ability to operate a motor vehicle safely, such opinion to be based upon 
a reasonable medical probability; or 

(c) has an accident record, conviction record (criminal or traffic), physical 
condition or mental condition, any one or all of which are such that the person’s 
operation of an automobile might endanger the public safety; or 

(d) has been convicted, or forfeited bail, during the 24 months immediately 
preceding the notice of cancellation for criminal negligence in the use or opera- 
tion of an automobile, or assault arising out of the operation of a motor vehicle, 
or operating a motor vehicle while in an intoxicated condition or while under 
the influence of drugs; or leaving the scene of an accident without stopping to 
report; or making false statements in an application for a driver’s license, or 
theft or unlawful taking of a motor vehicle; or 

(e) has been convicted of, or forfeited bail for, one or more violations within 
the 18 months immediately preceding the notice of cancellation, of any law, 
ordinance, or rule which justify a revocation of a driver’s license. 

8. The insured automobile is: 

(1) so mechanically defective that its operation might endanger public safety; 
or 

(2) used in carrying passengers for hire or compensation, provided however 
that the use of an automobile for a car pool shall not be considered use of an 
automobile for hire or compensation; or 

(3) used in the business of transportation of flammables or explosives; or 

(4) an authorized emergency vehicle; or 

(5) subject to an inspection law and has not been inspected or, if inspected, 
has failed to qualify within the period specified under such inspection law; or 

(6) substantially changed in type or condition during the policy period, 
increasing the risk substantially, such as conversion to a commercial type vehi- 
cle, a dragster, sports car or so as to give clear evidence of a use other than the 
original use. 

Sec. 100. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65B.l6, is amended to read: 
65B.l6 STATEMENT OF REASONS FOR CANCELLATION OR REDUC- 

TION. . 

No notice of cancellation or reduction in the limits of liability of coverage 
of an automobile insurance policy under section 65B.15 shall be effective unless 
the specific underwriting or other reason or reasons for such cancellation or 
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reduction in the limits of liability of coverage are stated in such notice and the 
notice is mailed or delivered by the insurer to the named insured at least 30 
days prior to the effective date of cancellation; provided, however, that when 
nonpayment of premium is the reason for cancellation or when the company is 
exercising its right to cancel insurance which has been in effect for less than 60 
days at least ten days notice of cancellation, a_nd me reasons f_or the cancellation, 
shall be given. Information regarding moving tralfic violations _o_r motor vehicle 
accidents must be specifically requested _o_r; the application 1_l'_l order f_o_r a compi 
ny t_o pg those incidents _t_g exercise its right tp cancel within tli_e fig _5_9 gy_s_ 
pf coverage. When nonpayment of premiums is the reason for cancellation, the 
reason must be given to the insured with the notice of cancellation; and if the 
company is exercising its right to cancel within the first 59 days of coverage and 
notice is given with less than ten days remaining in the 59-day period, the 
coverage must be extended, to expire ten days after notice was mailed. 

Sec. 101. [65B.162] NOTICE OF POSSIBLE CANCELLATION. 

A written notice shall _b_e provided t_o al_l applicants Q private passenger 
insurance, a_t the _t_i_n;e_ gig application i_s submitted, containing t_l1<=._ following 
language i_n p_ol_d print: “THE INSURER MAY ELECT IQ CANCEL COVER- 
AGE _/3Q ANY TIME DURING THE FIRST 5_9 DAYS FOLLOWING ISSU- 
ANCE QE THE COVERAGE FOR ANY REASON WHICH IS NOT 
SPECIFICALLY PROHIBITED §Y_ STATUTE.” 

Sec. 102. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65B.2l, subdivision 2, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 2. Upon receipt of a written objection pursuant to the provisions 
herein, the commissioner shall fly notify the insurer of receipt of such objec- 
tion and of the right of the insurer to file a written response thereto within ten 
days of receipt of such notification. The commissioner may also order an 
investigation of the objection or complaint, the submission of additional infor- 
mation by the insured or the insurer about the action by the insurer or the 
objections of the insured, or such other procedure as the commissioner deems 
appropriate or necessary. Within 23 days of receipt of such written objection by 
an insured the commissioner shall approve or disapprove the insurer’s action 
and shall notify the insured and insurer of the final decision. Either party may 
institute proceedings for judicial review of the commissioner’s decision; provid- 
ed, however, that the commissioner’s final decision shall be binding pending 
judicial review. 

Sec. 103. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65B.28, is amended to read: 

65B.28 ACCIDENT PREVENTION COURSE PREMIUM REDUC- 
TIONS. 

Subdivision 1. REQUIRED REDUCTION. An insurer must provide an 
appropriate premium reduction 9_f at least te_n percent on its policies of private 
passenger vehicle insurance, as defined in section 65B.001, subdivision 2, issued, 
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delivered, or renewed in this state after January 1, 1985, to insureds 65 5_5 years 
old and older who successfully complete an accident prevention course estab- 
lished under subdivision 2. 

Subd. 2. ACCIDENT PREVENTION COURSE; RULES. The commis- 
sioner of public safety shall, by January 1, 1985, adopt rules establishing and 
regulating a motor vehicle accident prevention course for persons 66 _5_5 years 
old and older. The rules must, at a minimum, include provisions: 

(1) establishing curriculum requirements; 

(2) establishing the number of hours required for successful completion of 
the course; 

(3) providing for the issuance of a course completion certification and requir- 
ing its submission to an insured as evidence of completion of the course; and 

(4) requiring persons 65 5_5 years old and older to retake the course every 
three years to remain eligible for a premium reduction. 

Sec. "104. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65B.46, is amended to read: 
65B.46 RIGHT TO BENEFITS. 
Subdivision 1. If the accident causing injury occurs in this state, every 

person suffering loss from injury arising out of maintenance or use of a motor 
vehicle g Q a result _o_f being struck gs _a pedestrian by a motorcycle has a right 
to basic economic loss benefits. 

Subd. 2. If the accident causing injury occurs outside this state in the 
United States, United States possessions, or Canada, the following persons and 
their surviving dependents sulfering loss from injury arising out of maintenance 
or use of a motor vehicle o_r as Q result o_f being struck a_s a pedestrian Q _a 
motorcycle have a right to basic economic loss benefits: 

(1) Insureds, and 

(2) the driver and otheroccupants of a secured vehicle, other than (a) a 
vehicle which is regularly used in the course of the business of transporting 
persons or property and which is one of five or more vehicles under common 
ownership, or (b) a vehicle owned by a government other than this state, its 
political subdivisions, municipal corporations, or public agencies. The repara- 
tion obligor may, if the policy expressly states, extend the basic economic loss 
benefits to any stated area beyond the limits of the United States, United States 
possessions and Canada. 

Subd. 3. For the purposes of sections 65B.4~1 to 65B.71, injuries suffered 
by a person while on, mounting or alighting from a motorcycle do not arise out 
of the maintenance or use of a motor vehicle although a motor vehicle is 
involved in the accident causing the injury. 
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Sec. 105. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65B.48, subdivision 1, is amended 
to read: 

Subdivision 1. Every owner of a motor vehicle of a type which is required 
to be registered or licensed or is principally garaged in this state shall maintain 
during the period in which operation or use is contemplated a plan of reparation 
security under provisions approved by the commissioner, insuring against loss 
resulting from liability imposed by law for injury and property damage sustained 
by any person arising out of the ownership, maintenance, operation or use of the 
vehicle. The plan of reparation security shall provide for basic economic loss 
benefits and residual liability coverage in amounts not less than those specified 
in section 65B.49, subdivision 3, clauses (1) and (2). The nonresident owner of 
a motor vehicle which is not required to be registered or licensed, or which is 
not principally garaged in this state, shall maintain such security in effect contin- 
uously throughout the period of the operation, maintenance or use of such 
motor vehicle within this state with respect to accidents occurring in this state; 
s_u_qh security §lya_ll_ include coverage f_og property damage t_o a_ motor vehicle 
rented g leased within ph_i§ state py 2_1 nonresident. ' 

Sec. 106. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65B.49, is amended by adding 
a subdivision to read: 

Subd. Q RENTAL VEHICLES. (9) E ga_n pf reparation security pgpy log 
issued p_r_ renewed after August A 1987, unless flip 1 provides gig pg cover- 
§g_e_s_ under ghp p1_ap fig extended pp gy motor vehicle while being rented _by t_hp 
named insured. :l‘__h§ E miust alsp provide _th_at 2311 g gpy }321_rt_ pf_fl1_e obligation 
pf fie named ipsged Q property damage tp p rented vehicle would b_e_ covered 
l_)y tl1_e collision pg comprehensive portion _o_f 1Z_1_1_§ plan. % p_l_a_p rppsg provide 
th_a; Any deductible yyifl n_ot apply _tp claims jtpa_t arise while p motor vehicle i_s_ 

being rented py g named insured. 

_(_b) A vehicle i_s rented Q pugposes o_f gig subdivision if plgp E Q ’th_e u_se_ 
o_f mp vehicle jg determined o_n a_ weekly g daily basis. A vehicle _i§ n_ot rented 
£9; purposes pf gpi_s subdivision Q‘ t_h_p @ fg 1l_1_e vehicle’s u_se ip determined pp 
Q monthly p_r_ longer period g ]l1_(_3 vehicle is rented principally fig business 
purposes. 

(9) Lh<3_ policy pg certificate issued l_)y mp ,r)1_ar; mps_t inform E insured o_f 
t_h_§ application 9_f tpg plan t_o rental vehicles 9&1 that Q9, insured may p_<_)_t need 
19 purchase additional coveragp from 13 rental company. 

(31) Where ap insured E two g more plans pf reparation security contain- 
i_pg tgg rented motor vehicle coverage required under paragraph Q), claims must Q made against tl1_e_ plan covering th_e motor vehicle most often driven py php 
insured. 

Q) A notice advising @ insured pf rental vehicle coverage must ll: given jgp 
each current insured with 1lye_ first renewal notice after January -1-2 1988. The 
notice must pp approved py th_e commissioner pf commerce. The commissioner 
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may specify tl1_e form 9_f@ notice. A form approved by tile commissioner must 
_b_e_ reasonably calculated tp put th_e insured Q notice 9_f th_e coverage. 

(Q When 2_1 motor vehicle § rented _9_r_ leased i_n this state, gig rental contract 
must contain _a written notice i_n at least ten-point bold type, i_f printed, 95 i_n 
capital letters, _if typewritten, which states: 

Under Minnesota Lira Q personal automobile insurance policy issued 
_i_p Minnesota must cover th_e rental pf a motor vehicle unless flip 
rental i_s_ p_rincipally _flo_r_ business 11$ 9_r rented pp p monthly 9; 
longer basis. Therefore, purchase p_f pg collision damage waiver 9; 
other insurance affected Q pig rental contract may n_ot Q necessag 
l_f_‘&l1_I_‘ policy _\ya_s issued i_n Minnesota. 

E collision damage waiver o_r other insurance offered as p_aLt 9_f p_r_ _ip conjunc- 
tipp @ p rental o_f a_ motor Vehicle pi_ay E s_o1g unless @ person rentingQ 
vehicle provides 9 written acknowledgment t_hpt tli_e above consumer protection 
notice has been read and understood.

' 

Sec. 107. [65B.491] SENIOR CITIZENS. 
_/3%‘ August l, 1987, n_o E o_f reparation security issued 19 pg renewed 

giplg p. person yv_hp E attained t:h_e pgp pf §_§ fig may provide coverage fpr 
Egg l_c_>_s_s reimbursement ‘th_at t_h_e insured yvfll n_o1: reasonably Q expected pg p_e_ 
pkg t_o receive. 3 i_s t_l;§ responsibility 9_f tl1_e person issuing pg renewing tlgg1 
jtp inguire as 19 ’th_e applicability gfgis section. _”Ij_h_e EIE f9_1_‘ a_ny plat; fig; which 
coverage E been excluded 9; reduced pursuant t_o -gs section gist pp reduced 
accordingly. 1hi_s_ section g_o_e_s apply Q self-insurance. 

Sec. 108. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65B.525, subdivision 1, is 
amended to read: 

Subdivision 1. The supreme court and the several courts of general trial 
jurisdiction of this state shall by rules of court or other constitutionally allowa- 
ble device, provide for the mandatory submission to arbitration of all cases at 
issue where a t_h_g claim gt th_e commencement o_f arbitration E in an amount of 
$5,000 or lessismadebyemetervehieleseeiéentvietimgwhetherinanaetien 
te reeever eeenernie less er fie-neeenemie detriment fer the allegedly negligent 
’epemfiemmeintenanee;eruseef&metefvehielewithinthisfiate;eragainst 
any insured’s reparation obligor fer benefits as previeleé in seet-iens 6-5874+ te 
65-B.—7-l £9; no-fault benefits o_r comprehensive pg collision damage coverage. 

Sec. 109. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 65B.63, subdivision 1, is amended 
to read: 

Subdivision 1. Reparation obligors providing basic economic loss insurance 
in this state shall organize and maintain, subject to approval and regulation by 
the commissioner, an assigned claims bureau and an assigned claims plan, and 
adopt rules for their operation and for the assessment of costs on a fair and 
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equitable basis consistent with sections 65B.41_to 65B.71. The assigned claims 
bureau shall be managed by a governing committee made up of four individuals 
selected by the insurer members, one individual selected by the self-insurer 
members, and two public members appointed by the governor to two-year terms. 
Public members __m_ay include licensed insurance agents. If such obligors do not 
organize and continuously maintain an assigned claims bureau and an assigned 
claims plan in a manner considered by the commissioner of commerce to be 
consistent with sections 65B.4l to 65B.71, the commissioner shall organize and 
maintain an assigned claims bureau and an assigned claims plan. Each repara- 
tion obligor providing basic economic loss insurance in this state shall partici- 
pate in the assigned claims bureau and the assigned claims plan. Costs incurred 
shall be allocated fairly and equitably among the reparation obligors. 

A ruling action, g decision _<g'tl1_e governing committee may be appealed to Q commissioner within gfi days; A final action 33 order 91‘ th_e commissioner i_s_ 
subiect t_o iudicial review _ip_ t_h_e manner provided l_)_y chapter ii I_n lie_u _o_f a_r_i 

appeal t_o the commissioner, iudicial review gf ’th_e governing committee’s ruling, 
action, g decision fly l_3_e_ sought. 

Sec. 110. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 67A.05, subdivision 2, is amended 
to read: . 

Subd. 2. FILING OF BYLAWS AND AMENDMENTS THERETO. Every 
township mutual fire insurance company doing business within this state shall 
eauseaeepyefitsbylavwtebeeefiifiedtebyfispresidentmidfisseeretaryend 
filethewmewiththeeemmissieneranéthemefiweveivamendmenttethe 
bylwwsefmaytevmshipmutual§reinsur&neeeemp&ny;dalyeer%ifiedtebyits 
presidentendimswretefigsheflwithinareasenebletimeafteritsaéepfienbe 
filed in the efliee of the eenamissiener Q subject 39 t_h_e requirements gf section 
72A.061, subdivision Q, as to amendments 93 additions Q it_s bylaws. 

Sec. 111. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 67A.06, is amended-to read: 

67A.06 POWERS OF CORPORATION. 
Every corporation formed under the provisions of sections 67A.01 to 67A.26, 

shall have power: 

(1) To have succession by its corporate name for the time stated in its 

certificate of incorporation; 

(2) To sue and be sued in any court; 

(3) To have and use a common seal and alter the same at pleasure; 

(4) To acquire, by purchase or otherwise, and to hold, enjoy, improve, lease, 
encumber, and convey all real and personal property necessary for the purpose 
of its organization, subject to such limitations as may be imposed by law or by 
its articles of incorporation; 
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(5) To elect or appoint in such manner as it may determine all necessary or 
proper ofiicers, agents, boards, and committees, fix their compensation, and 
define their powers and duties; 

(6) To make and amend consistently with law bylaws providing for the 
management of its property and the regulation and government of its affairs; 

(7) To wind up and liquidate its business in the manner provided by chap- 
ter 60B; and 

(8) To indemnify certain persons against expenses and liabilities as provid- 
ed in section -3~99:O82 300.083. In applying section 309:98% 300.083 for this 
purpose, the term “members” shall be substituted for the terms “shareholders” 
and “stockholders.” 

Sec. 112. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section -67A.231, is amended to read: 
67A.231 DEPOSIT OF FUNDS; INVESTMENT; LIMITATIONS. 
The directors of any township mutual insurance company may authorize 

the treasurer to invest any of its funds and accumulations in: 

(a) Bonds, notes, mortgages, or other obligations guaranteed by the full faith 
and credit of the United States of America and those for which the credit of the 
United States is pledged to pay principal, interest or dividends, including United 
States agency and instrumentality bonds, debentures, or obligations; 

(b) Bonds, notes, evidence of indebtedness, or other public authority obliga- 
tions guaranteed by this state; 

(c) Bonds, notes, evidence of the indebtedness or other obligations guaran- 
teed by the full faith and credit of any county, municipality, school district, or 
other duly authorized political subdivision of this state; 

(Q) Bonds 9; other interest bearing obligations, payable from revenues, 
provided tba_t tfi bonds 9_r other interest bearing obligations Q gt E tile o_f 
purchase rated among _t_l_1_e highest f_obg quality gafigories _1_1§§_d by 2_1 nationally 
recognized rating _agency E rating big quality o_f similar bonds 9; other interest 
bearing obligations, gig a_re_ _r_191 rated lower by aiy other @ agency; _o_r obliga- 
tions 9_f g United States agency o_r instrumentality _t_lya_t have been determined jtb 
bb investment grade (as indicated by _a “yes” rating) by me Securities Valuation 
Olfice o_f ’th_e National Association o_f Insurance Commissioners. :13 i_s_ _z1o_t 

applicable _t_9_ bonds Q other interest bearing obligations _i_g default as t_g princi- 
1&1; 

(b) Investments i_x3 _tb_e obligations stated Q paragraphs L21)‘ (b)_, (9), _a_nyi (51); 
may 15 made either directly g it; E form o_f securities Q _o_r other interests i_n, 
a_n_ investment company gggistered under tfi Federal Investment CompanyE 
bf 1940. Investment company shares authorized pursuant £9 gi_s subdivision 
§_bb_l_l gg exceed A) percent o_fjcb_§ company’s surplus. These obligations must be 
carried Q glib lower o_f &m g market Q jbe annual statement fibeg litb t_l_1_§ 

commissioner a_nc_i adjusted 19 market o_n Q annual basis; 
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(6) (Q Loans upon improved and unencumbered real property in this state 
worth at least twice the amount loaned thereon, not including buildings, unless 
insured by property insurance policies payable to and held by the security 
holder; 

(e) (g) Real estate, including land, buildings and fixtures, located in this state 
and used primarily as home office space for the insurance company; 

69 gm Demand or time deposits or savings accounts in federally insured 
depositories located in this state to the extent that the deposit or investment is 
insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, Federal Savings and 
Loan Corporation, or the National Credit Union Administration; 

ég) (_i_)_Guarantee fund certificates of a mutual insurer which reinsures the 
business of the township mutual insurance company. The commissioner may by 
rule limit the amount of guarantee fund certificates which the township -mutual 
insurance company may purchase and this limit may be a function of the size ‘of 
the township mutual insurance- company; and 

(j) Lip 39 $1,500 i_n stock gf an insurer which issues directors and officers 
liability insurance t_o towns_l_1_ip mutual insurance company directors §n_d officers. 

Sec. 113. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 70A.06, is amended by adding 
a subdivision to read: 

Subd. _l_a_, Whenever an insurer figs _a change in Q r_a’cg _t_h3_t @ result i_n §._ 

_2_§ percent or mpg increase i_n a 12-month period gig; existing rates, th_e 

commissioner r_ng_y l.’_1_Q_1_(_1 a hearing _t_g determine i_f tl_1_e_: change i_s_ excessive. The 
hearing must Q conducted under chapter j_. I_h_e commissioner mug gig/_e_: 

notice _o_f intent t_o_ 1_1_gl_d 3; hearing within Q gy_s of th_e fil_ing 91' _t_1_1g change. It 
slgil be _t_l_1g responsibility of the insurer t_o show th_e Late is pg excessive. T_he_ 
gig _1'_s_ elfective unless it is determined g a result o_f t_l;e hearing t_l_i_a_t Q _Ij._t§_ _i_§ 

excessive. 

Sec. 114. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 70A.O8, subdivision 3, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 3. U-nti-l January -1-; -1-988; The commissioner may restrict approval 
on claims-made policies to forms filed by a rate service organization which have 
been approved. 

Sec. 115. [72A.125] RENTAL VEHICLE PERSONAL ACCIDENT INSUR- 
ANCE; SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS. 

Subdivision L DEFINITION. La) “Auto rental company” means a corpora- 
tion, partnership, individual, 9; other person that i_s engaged primarily Q :3 
renting gf motor vehicles at per diem rates. 

(Q) “Rental vehicle personal accident insurance” means accident only insur- 
ance providing accidental ‘death benefits, dismemberment benefits and/or reim- 
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bursement E medical expenses which Q issued py gp insurer authorized Q this 
state t_o_ issue accident and health insurance. These coverages aQe nonqualified 
plans under chapter 62E. 

Subd. ; SALE BY AUTO RENTAL COMPANIES. Q _zQt_<_)_ rental g)_Q; 
gig; offers o_r s_gll_s rental vehicle personal accident insurance Q ;1_1_i§ stQte Q 

conjunction @ th_e— rental pf z_1 vehicle §Q1ll o_nly ill these products E t_h_e_ forms 
ggl r_ale_§_ l1_a\gg E Qg relevant requirements o_f section 62A.02, taking QQ 
account gig possible infrequency Q severity pf Ii gig _rr_igy pg incurred. 
Sections 60A.17 Qd 6OA.170l gig Q apply Q‘ _t_l1g persons engaged Q LIE @ o_f 
Qgg products pg employees pf th_e fllfl rental company _v\_Ihg Q n_dt receive 
commissions Q other remuneration Q selling _t_l_1_g product Q addition t_o their 
regular compensation. Compensation gay po_t pg determined Q E pat gyQ fig pf insurance products. flip gpjcg rental company before engaging i_n t_l_ig §_a)g 
911139 product ppg E _w_i_t_l3 _t_lQ commissioner gig following documents: 

§_l_) gp appointment o_f tli_e commissioner § agent Q; service o_f process; 
Q) Q agreement that t_lQ auto rental company assumes gll responsibilityE 

_t_h_e authorized actions pf a_1l unlicensed employees who gell tl1_e insurance product 
Qt i_t§ behalf Q conjunction with gig rental o_f i_t§ vehicles; 

Q) Q agreement E Qg a_uQ rental company @ respect tg itself a_ng1 i_t_s 
employees v_v_ifl Q subiect tg _t_l_1_ig chapter gggarding Qg marketing o_f Q insur- 
ance products gg Li_1§ conduct o_f those persons involved Q tge _sgQ pf insurance 
products Q tli_e QQ manner a_s Q Q y/ggg g licensed agent. 
Q Q rental company failing Q fi_lg Q documents Q clauses Q) t_o Q) i_s 

guilty g_f_' gp individual violation is_ t_o t_hg unlicensed gig 9_f insurance £9; fig 
&le_ _t_l;a_t occurs gfigi; thg effective glgtg pf t_l_i_i§ section ;_i_rQil tlig _rrQlgg gh_e 
required filings. Each individual §gl_e after Q elfective g_2_i_tg pf ;t_hQ section grip 
p_ri_o; t_o gig filing required py Qis section i_s subiect ’_cg, Q addition Lg Q g_t_l_i_gi_- 
penalties allowable py lgvyz pp t_o g $_1@ pgr violation E Further, t_h_e silg p_f_‘ 
th_e insurance product gy gp Q rental company gr ay employee 9; agent gif 
1l_ig company E phg efiective _c_l_a_tg o_f @ section without having complied @ Q section s_lia1_l1 Q deemed 39 pg Q acceptance o_f LIQ provisions 11% 
section. 

Insurance gig pursuant t_o ;h_i_s_ subdivision must 3 limited Q availability 
t_o rental vehicle customers though coveggg mg extend t_o t_1'_l_§ customer, 9_t_@ 
drivers, gn_d passenggig using Q riding Q Q rented vehicles; g_n_d limited Q 
duration tg g period equal _tg gpd concurrent yv_i_Q Q41 o_f t_l_ig vehicle rental. 

Persons purchasing) rental vehicle personal accident insurance fly _l_)_e pi_‘9_- 
vided g certificate summarizing tl1_e policy provisions Q l_ie_u o_f g ggpy gfQ 
policy i_f g copy o_f1lQ policy _i§ available fig inspection Q tli_e place o_f s_a_l_e _zQd_ 
g frgg gfly _o_i_‘ Qg policy E pg obtained @113 _t_l_i_e QR) rental company’s home 
oflice. 
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The commissioner may, after a_ hearing, revoke pp auto rental company’s 
right t_o operate under this section i_f Qt; company @ repeatedly violated gig 
insurance laws pf fl1_i§ state and t'_l_i§ revocation _i_s_ Q t_l;<-3 public interest. 

Sec. 116. Minnesota Statutes l986, section 72A.20, subdivision 11, is 

amended to read: 

Subd. 11. APPLICATION TO CERTAIN SECTIONS. Violating any pro- 
vision of the following sections of this chapter not set forth in -1- to 
-15 gig section shall constitute an unfair method of competition and an unfair 
and deceptive act or practice: sections 72A.12, subdivisions 2, 3, and 4, 72A.l6, 
subdivision 2, 72A.03 and 72A.04, 72A.O8, subdivision 1 as modified by section 
72A.O8, subdivision 4, and 65B.13. 

Sec. 117. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 72A.20, subdivision 17, is 

amended to read: 

Subd. 17. RETURN OF PREMIUMS UIIQN DEAQEI-I OF Q) 
Refusing, upon surrender of an individual policy 91' li_i_‘e_ insurance, to refund to 
the estate of the insured all unearned premiums paid on the policy covering the 
insured as of the time of the insured’s death if the unearned premium is for a 
period of more than one month. 

The insurer may deduct from the premium any previously accrued claim for 
loss or damage under the policy. 

For the purposes of this section, a premium is unearned during the period 
of time the insurer has not been exposed to any risk of loss; 

(13) Refusing, upon termination g cancellation o_f 2_1 policy o_f automobile 
insurance under section 65B.14, subdivision 24 g g policy o_f homeowner’s 
insurance under section 65A.27, subdivision 1, 9; a policy 9_f accident E 
sickness insurance under section 62A.01, g _a policy pf comprehensive health 
insurance under chapter 62E, t_q refund tp tli_e insured a_ll unearned premiums 
paid pp gig policy covering th_e insured gs pf gig ;i__n;ip pf jg termination o_r 
cancellation if mp unearned premium i_s_ fp; g period pf more than E month. 

The insurer may deduct from tl_ip premium giiy previously accrued claimQ 
loss g damage under flip policy. ’ 

For purposes o_f this section, a premium _i_§ unearned during th_e period o_f 
time tli_e insurer h_a§ pg; been exposed Lg giy risk 9_f loss. 

Sec. 118. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 72A.20, is amended by adding 
a subdivision to read: 

Subd. _1_§; IMPROPER BUSINESS PRACTICES. Q1) Improperly with- 
holding, misappropriating, pg converting fly money belonging t_o _a policyholder, 
beneficiary, _o_§ other person when received ip t1i_e course o_f Q insurance busi- 
pe_s_s_; Q1‘ §l_)) engaging i_n_ fraudulent, coercive, g dishonest practices Q connection 
w_itp _t_h_e_ insurance business, shall constitute a_n unfair method o_f competition 
_a_I_1_(_1_ pp unfair E deceptive pp; g practice. 
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Sec. 119. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 72A.20, is amended by adding 
a subdivision to read: 

Subd. _1g SUPPORT FOR UNDERWRITING STANDARDS. E2 lifg gr 
health insurance company doing business i_n g1_i_s _S_t£ engage i_n fly selec- E o_r underwriting process unless fig insurance company establishes before- 
hand substantial data, actuarial projections, 9_r claims experience which support 
jg underwriting standards psi! by _t11_e insurance company. @ data, projec- 
tions, o_r claims experience used 19 support the selection 9_1_' underwriting process 
i_s_ E limited t_Q gily t_l_igt 9_f mg company. Ihg experience, projections, 93 gg 
gf other companies gr g g service organization ;n_ay be fig gig ygll. 

Sec. 120. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 72A.3l, subdivision 1, is amended 
to read: 

Subdivision 1. No person, firm or corporation engaged in the business of 
financing the purchase of real or personal property or of lending money on the 
security of real or personal property or who acts as agent or broker for one who 
purchases real property and borrows money on the security thereof, and no 
trustee, director, oflicer, agent or other employee of any such person, firm, or 
corporation shall directly or indirectly; 

(_1_) require, as a condition precedent to such purchase or financing the 
purchase of such property or to loaning money upon the security of a mortgage 
thereon, or as a condition prerequisite for the renewal or extension of any such 
loan or mortgage or for the performance of any other act in connection there- 
with, that the person, firm or corporation making such purchase or for whom 
such purchase is to be financed or to whom the money is to be loaned or for 
whom such extension, renewal or other act is to be granted or performed negoti- 
ate any policy of insurance or renewal thereof covering such property through 
particular agent, or insurer, or - 

L2) refuse to accept any policy of insurance covering such property because 
it was not negotiated through or with any particular agent, or insurer, 9_r 

Q) refuse tg accept E policy gt: insurance covering the property issued by 
gr; insurer that i_s e_1 member insurer gs defined by section 60C.O3, subdivision _6_, 

(Q require any mlicy o_f insurance covering E property to exceed LIE 
replacement cost o_f the buildings Q th_e mortgaged premises. 

This section shall not prevent the disapproval of the insurer or a policy of 
insurance by any such person, firm, corporation, trustee, director, officer, agent 
or employee where there are reasonable grounds for believing that tile insurer _i_s_ 
insolvent 9_r gig; such insurance is unsatisfactory as to placement with an unau- 
thorized insurer, t-he «financial solvency e-f the insurer‘; adequacy of the coverage, 
adequacy of the insurer to assume the risk to be insured, the assessment features 
to which the policy is subject, or other grounds which are based o_n._’tl1_§ nature gf 
th__e_ coverage gig which ye not arbitrary, unreasonable or discriminatory, rgr 
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shall _t_lp§ section prevent p mortgage_ lender pg mortgggg servicer from requiring 
that p policy pf insurance 9; renewal thereof pg ir_1 conformance pvfip standards 
o__f_fl1_e federal national mortgage association 9; mp federal home lga_n mortgage 
corporation, nor shall this section forbid the securing of insurance or a renewal 
thereof at the request of the borrower or because of the borrower’s failure to 
furnish the necessary insurance or renewal thereof. fig purposes gp‘ mp section, 
“insurer” includes p township mutual _fi_rp insurance company operatpg under 
sections 67A.0l 19 67A.26 grid p farmers mutual Q insurance company operat- 
ipg under sections 67A.27 _tp 67A.39. 

Upon notice of any such disapproval of _o_r refusal pg accept an insurer or a 
policy of insurance, the commissioner may order the approval of the insurer or 
the acceptance of the tendered policy of insurance, or both, if the commissioner 
determines such disapproval pg refusal t_o accept is not in accordance with the 
foregoing requirements. Failure to comply with such an order of the commis- 
sioner of commerce shall be deemed a violation of this section. 

See. 121. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 169.045, subdivision 1, is 

amended to read: 

Subdivision 1. DESIGNATION OF ROADWAYS, PERMIT. The govern- 
ing body of any home rule charter or statutory city or town may by ordinance 
authorize the operation of motorized golf carts, or four-wheel all-terrain vehi- 
cles, on designated roadways or portions thereof under its jurisdiction. Authori- 
zation to operate a motorized golf cart or four-wheel all-terrain vehicle is by 
permit only. Permitsarerestsietedtephysieallyhaaelieappedpersenséefinedin 
seetien -169-.-346; -2. For purposes of this section, a four-wheel 
all-terrain vehicle is a motorized flotation-tired vehicle with four low-pressure 
tires that is limited in engine displacement of less than 800 cubic centimeters 
and total dry weight less than 600 pounds. 

Sec. 122. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section’ 169.045, is amended by adding 
a subdivision to read: 

Subd. jg INSURANCE. Ir_1 ;1_a9_ event persons operating 2_1 motorized go_1f E 9; four-wheel, all-terrain vehicle under gis section cannot obtain liability 
insurance i_n tl1_e private market, flllt person m_ay purchase automobile insur- 
ance, including no~fault coverage, from _t£e_ Minnesota Automobile Assigned 1 at g ice _t_o_ pp determined _by ‘th_e commissioner pf commerce. 1 

Sec. 123. [256B.73] DEMONSTRATION PROJECT FOR UNINSURED LOW INCOME PERSONS. 
Subdivision 1, PURPOSE. The purpose 9_f’tl1_e demonstration project § t_o 

determine _t_l_1_e need f_og and 1;h_e feasibility 9_f establishing p statewide program pf 
medical insurance f_o_r_ uninsured Q income persons. 

Subd. _2_._ ESTABLISHMENT: GEOGRAPHIC AREA. _'_I‘_h_e commissioner 
9_f human services shall establish p demonstration project t_o provide lpy ggst 
medical insurance t_Q uninsured l_o1v income persons Cook, Lake, §_p Louis, 
Carlton, Aitkin, Pine, Itasca, £1 Koochichinz counties except Q individual 
county grgy Q excluded §_s_ determined 131 th_e county board o_f commissioners. 
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~ 
Subd. 3. DEFINITIONS, Egg tlip purposes pf tli_i§ section, E following 

terms have 1l_1;e_ meanings given: 
~~ 

IQ) “commissioner” means the commissioner pf human services;
~ 

Q) “coalition” means gp organization comprised o_f members representative 
_Q_f small business, health @ providers, county social service departments, health 
consumer groups, 151 gig health industry, established 19 serve 1133: purposes pf @ demonstration‘ ' 

~~~

~

~ 
Q) “demonstration provider” means g Minnesota corporation- regulated under 

chapter 62A, 62C, g 62D;
~

~ 
(5) “individual provider” means g medical provider under contract Q gig 

demonstration provider _t_(_)_ provide medical care _t_(_) enrollees; and
~ 

(_5_) “enrollee” means g person eligible ftp receive coveragg according _t_(_) 

subdivision 3 ~~

~ 

Subd. 3 ENROLLEE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS. '_I‘_o 3 eligible Q participation gr gig demonstration proiect, ap enrollee must:
~ 

Q) not 133 eligible Q medicare, medical assistance, _o_r general assistance 
medical care; ~~

~ 
Q) have pp income n_ot more than _2__QQ percent o_f flip Minnesota income 

standards by family E used Q §l_1_e ;@ t_o families with dependent children 
program,‘ and 

~~

~ 
Q) have Q medical insurance 9_i_' health benefits plan available through 

employment o_r other means that would provide coverage E th_e same medical 
services §_s_ provided py t_hi'§ demonstration. ~

~ 

Subd. ; ENROLLEE BENEFITS. Eligible persons enrolled by g demon— 
stration provider shall receive Q health services benefit package jt_h_2g includes 
health services which the enrollees might reasonably require t_o lg maintained Q 
go_o(_1 health, including emergency care, inpatient hospital fig physician care, 
outpatient health services, gig preventive health services, except gig services 
related t_o chemical dependency, mental illness, vision care, dental care, £1 
other benefits mgy pg excluded Q limited upon approval bl th_e commissioner. 
_'1le_ commissioner, _1_:l_'1§ coalition, grid demonstration providers shall work togeth- 
gg t_o design 9 packagg o_f benefits pg packagg Q‘ benefits thg; E E provided 19 
enrollees fg ap affordable monthly premium. 

~~~ 

~ 

~~ 

~~~ 

~

~ 
Subd. Q, ENROLLEE PARTICIPATION. Q enrollee § pp’; reguired _t_p 

furnish evidence <_)_f good health. The demonstration provider shall accept _al_l 

persons applying _f;o_r coverage who meet t_h_§ criteria i_n subdivision :1‘, subject pg 
’th_e following provisions: 

~~ 

~~

~ 
(Q) Enrollees Q Q reguired t_o ‘IE §l_ sliding _f_'ge_ Q g monthly basis fo_r 

health coverage through fig demonstration proiect. Except fo_r Q reguired 
~~ 

Changes or additions are indicated by underline, deletions by‘st-i=i-leee-I-.i~t.
~

Copyright © 1987 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                                



2153 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1987 Ch. 337 

co-payments, LE sliding fig should pg considered payment i_n_ fu_1l §o_r_ 1‘.h_e cover- 
age provided. T_l1p sliding f‘e_e shall p_e_ based pp mg; enro11ee’s income a_r£1 shall 
pp; exceed _5_Q percent 9_f pile _r_:pt_g t_l_1_at would pp pg 19 p prepaid Llaip serving 
general assistance medical @ recipients Q tfi guy geographic ggpep _ 

gp) lip; demonstration provider _rp_ay terminate ‘th_e coverage Q Q enrollee 
_w_l§>_ @ pg; mapg payment within flip _f‘1r_st ‘gr calendar gay; 33‘ Q month fo_r 
which coverage i_s being purchased. Ipe termination Q nonpayment shall pg 
retroactive _tp t_l1;-: prpt Qty p_ftl1_e month :91; which _I’Q_ payment @ been pipgg py 
t_l_1_e enrollee. 

(9) Ap enrollee E119 either requests termination g° coverage under gig dem- 
onstration 9; gig allows coverage t_o terminate _<l1.1_e t_o nonpayment o_f tl1_e reguired 
monthly f_ep play pg required t_o furnish evidence pf good health prior Lg being 
reinstated _i_1_1_ 1139 demonstration. Ag pp alternative t_o evidence o_f good health, 
_tpp enrollee rgy furnish evidence pf having been eligible {pg health 9% services 
under it p1z1_n @ similar benefits. 

(51) The demonstration provider shall establish limits pf enrollment which 
allow Q Q sufficient number o_f enrollees t_o constitute Q reasonable demonstra- 
tion project. These limits shall pg established py county within Q proiect area. 

Subd. 1 CONTRACT WITH DEMONSTRATION PROVIDER. IQ com- 
missioner shall contract with t_pg demonstration provider §o_r th_e duration 9_f tpp 
project. '_l‘_lps contract glill pg f9_1; _2_4 months @ pp option 19 renew f_o; pp 
_r_n_o§ E _1_g months. 1 contract r_n_ay pg canceled without cise py th_e 
commissioner upon _9§_ days’ written notice _t_<_>_ _t_li_e demonstration provider g py 
’th_e demonstration provider yvitp _9_Q gayp’ written notice t_o Q13 commissioner. 
[pp commissioner _s‘._1£1l assure t_11§ cooperation o_t"tl1_e county human services g 
social services stafiin ap counties participating i_p th_e project. 

Subd. §._ MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND GENERAL ASSISTANCE MED- 
ICAL CARE COORDINATION. E assure enrollees o_f uninterrupted delivery 
pf health c_arp services, th_e commissioner gay p_a_y th_e premium _tp th_e demon- 
stration provider Q persons wig become eligible fig medical assistance g 
general assistance medical care. 3 determine eligibility §o_r medical assistance, 
apy medical expenses _fpi_‘ eligible services incurred py ppe demonstration provid- g shall Q considered § evidence 9_t_' satisfying pig medical expense require- 
ments pf section 256B.06, subdivision 1, paragraphs (1_4) aid §1_5)_. 3 determine 
eligibility fg general assistance medical care, fly medical expenses Q eligible 
services incurred py pip demonstration provider §p11l pp considered g_s_ evidence 
o_f satisfying fig medical expense requirements _o_f section 256D.03, subdivision 
3. - 

Subd. _9_; WAIVER REQUIRED. Np pgr_t o_i"tl1_e demonstration project spap 
become operational until waivers pf appropriate federal regulation g obtained 
39$ 1p_e_ health Lrg financing administration. 

Subd. l_(_)_= COORDINATION OF DEMONSTRATION WITH REGION. 
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fig commissioner glliil consult @ Q health insurance coalition formed locally 
w_ith members from th_e demonstration area. Lis coalition Q Qvpr_l_< _w_iQl_1_ t_h_e 
commissioner £151 potential demonstration providers Q we_ll Q§ other private E public _o_rgQnizations t_o_ suggest program design, t_o_ secure additional funding 
support, £1 19 ensure pile program’s local applicability. 

Sec. 124. Minnesota Statutes 1986, section 471.98, subdivision 2, is amended 
to read: 

Subd. 2. “Political subdivision” includes a statutory or home rule charter 
city, a county, Q school district, a town, a watershed management organization 
as defined in section 473.876, subdivision 9, or an instrumentality thereof hav- 
ing independent policy making and appropriating authority. For the purposes of 
this section and section 471.981,. the governing body of a town is the town 
board. 

Sec. 125. [54l.22] LIMITATION ON ASBESTOS CLAIMS. 
Subdivision l_, FINDINGS AND PURPOSE. I_l_1Q legislature flip _tl1_Qt i_t _iQ 

_ip 13 interest pf th_e general public, particularly those persons _w_lQg pig pn_ng 
claims ggarding materials containing asbestos QQQ those against whom the claims 
r_nQy pp brought, t_o _s_et Q specific dat_e py which building owners must bring Q 
cause pf action Q‘ removal (_)_r other abatement costs associated @ th_e pie; ye pf asbestos Q their building. _]§y enactment o_f@ statute pf limitations th_e 
legislature (1_oc_:_s_ _r_19_t imply Q suits would otherwise pg barred l_)y Q existing 
limitations period. 

Subd. ; LIMITATION ON CERTAIN ASBESTOS ACTIONS. Notwith- 
standing Q_1_1_y o_tlfl _1z1_vv t_o flip contrary, gr action against Q manufacturer pr 
supplier o_f asbestos pr material containing asbestos t_o recover Q; Q) removal o_f 
asbestos 9; materials containing asbestos from Q building, Q) other measures 
taken t_o_ locate, correct, g ameliorate Q1 problem related Q; asbestos i_n Q 
building, o_r Q) reimbursement Q removal, correction, g amelioration o_fg1_ 
asbestos problem Q would otherwise pg barred before J_uly 1, 1990, Qs_ Q result 
o_f expiration o_i‘tl1_e applicable period 91' limitation, _i§ revived g extended. _gA_;_I_r 

asbestos action revived 95 extended under subdivision gay pp begun before 
J_uly _l_, 1990. 

Sec. 126. [604.08] VOLUNTEER ATHLETIC COACHES AND OFFI- 
CIALS; IMMUNITY FROM LIABILITY. 

Subdivision L GRANT. Np individual E provides services pr assistance 
without compensation g a_n athletic coach, manager, g oflicial fig; Q sports team Q _§ organized pr; performing under Q nonprofit charter, pg p_o_ community- 
based, voluntary nonprofit athletic association, 9_r_ Qpy volunteer o_f th_e nonprofit 
athletic association, _i_s liable _f_g money damages t_o Q player Q‘ participant Q_s Q 
result pf _a_n individual’s Q9_t_s o_r omissions i_n E providing o_f tilt service pr 
assistance.

I 
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This section applies tp organized sports competitions and practice and instruc- 
tion Q that sport. 

For purposes o_f this section, “compensation” does not include reimburse- 
ment fg expenses. 

Subd. A LIMITATION. Subdivision 1 does {gt apply: 
Q) 19 jtfi extent that tl1_e acts 9; omissions a_rp covered under Q insurance 

policy issued tp flip entity {gig whom thp coach, manager, p_r_ official serves; 

Q) g‘ t_h_e_ individual acts ip _.'gl_ willful and wanton g reckless manner i_n 

providing 13 services 9_r assistance; 
Q) if tfl acts 9; omissions arise gt o_i‘tl1_e operation, maintenance, g _us_e o_f 

e_1 motor vehicle; 

(3) _t_g pp athletic coach, manager, g official who provides services g assist- 
ance a_§ part o_f _a_ public g private educational institution’s athletic program; and 

Q) if fie individual g._c_t§ i_n violation pf federal, state, g local lavy 1 limitation i_n clause (1) constitutes a waiver o_f gig defense pf immunity 
jtp jtlip extent pf t_h_e liability stated i_p the policy, pp; hag _IlQ effect pp tfi liability 
o_f t_h_e_ individual beyond ’th_e coverage provided. 

Sec. 127. SPECIAL STUDY. & commissioner o_f health, _w_i_tl_1 t_h_e advice @ assistance pf tm commis- 
sioners 9_f commerce gpg human services, slrill prepare _a report t_o gt; legislature 
which addresses 33 issues concerning reimbursement by third—party payors pf 
home health fig benefits 3); individuals 1it_h_ _a medical condition which would 
require inpatient hospital services i_n mp absence o_f home g community-based 
gage; _a_rg1 fig gig dependent upon medical technology i_1; order t_o avoid death 
9; serious iniury. Development _o_f ;l_1_p report must include participation py home fig providers 2_1n_d third—party payors. Lire report must include recommenda- 
til @ gig adoption o_f definitions 9_f home care, minimum standards 9_f home 
gr; services, tpp costs pf providing home care, alt resolution o_f Qt; 115$ p_f_‘ 
cost—shifting _o_f home care. :I‘_h§ report must lg delivered t_o_ thp legislature py 
Janua§yl_5_, 1988. 

Sec. 128. RULE CHANGES. 
The commissioner shall adopt rule amendments j;_g Minnesota Rules, chap- 
725, pp necessary pg effect ’th_e changes required py th_e legislature _i_p sections 

These rules grp exempt from th_e rulemaking provisions o_f chapter _1_¢L The 
commissioner must comply with section 14.38, subdivision _7_, when adopting 
these rule amendments. 
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LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1987 
Sec. 129. APPLICATION. 
Sections g1_9_, _6_§, El §_(_i apply t_o all group policies, all group subscriber 

contracts, a_l1 health maintenance contracts, £1 a_ll gualified plgpp within E 
scope _o_f Minnesota Statutes, chapters 62A, 62C, 62D, E 6i, Qt arp issued, 
delivered g renewed i_n pg ptai a_fte_r August _1, 1987. . 

Sec. 130. SEVERABILITY. 

~~ 

~~ 

~~~ 

~~

~ 

~~~ 

~~ 

~~

~

~ 

~~

~

~

~

~

~ 

[lg provisions pf Minnesota Statutes, section 645.20 apply 39 gis apt. 
Sec. 131. REPEALER. 
Minnesota Statutes 1986, sections 62A.l2; fl 67A.43, subdivision 34g 

repealed. - 

Minnesota Rules, parts 2700.2400; 2700.2410; 2700.2420; 2700.2430; an_d 
2700.2440, a_rp repealed. 

Section _1_2_3 i_s repealed effective July 1, 1988, fitl1_e project implementation 
phase h§_s_ 1_19_t begun 91 gig date. 

Sec. 132. EFFECTIVE DATE. 
Section _1_Q i_s effective May 3_l, 1987. Credits earned grid reported t_oE 

department before May 11, 1988, may Q carried forward M used 39 fulfill 
continuing education requirements until Ma}; Q, 1989. 

Sections2i§i§i§E29i£‘:§z§l£Q§§.tQiEZ§;Efl;Q;fl;_;102 #115 
fig _1_2_2 jt_c_> £5_ age effective pig dg following final enactment. 

Section 126 is efl”ective August 1, 1987, and applies t_o claims arising from 
incidents occurring Q Q after that date. 

Approved June 1, 1987 

CHAPTER 338—S.F.N0. 44 
An act relating to highways; abolishing restrictions on disposition of right-ofway of 

trunk highway No. 15 in St. Cloud; repealing Laws 1986, chapter 387, section 2. 

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 
Section 1. REPEALER. 
Laws 1986, chapter 18_7_, section _2_, i_s repealed. 

Approved June 1, 1987 
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