Ch. 91

Sec. 12. EFFECTIVE DATE. This act shall become effective on the day following final enactment.

Approved May 18, 1977.

CHAPTER 92-S.F.No.845

[Not Coded]

An act relating to St. Louis county Independent School District No..710; providing for separate election districts.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 710; ELECTION DISTRICTS. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, Section 123.32, or any other law to the contrary the high school attendance districts within St. Louis county Independent School District No. 710, Albrook, Cherry, Cook, Cotton, Meadowlands and Orr, shall each constitute a separate election district.

The school board of St. Louis county Independent School District No. 710 shall consist of six elected directors, one representing each election district. A director shall reside in the election district he represents.

Two directors shall be elected each year commencing in 1978. Directors representing the Orr and Albrook attendance districts shall be elected in 1978 and every three years thereafter; directors representing the Cotton and Meadowlands attendance districts, in 1979 and every three years thereafter; and directors representing the Cook and Cherry attendance districts, in 1980 and every three years thereafter. There shall be at least one polling place in each election district.

Except as provided in this section, the directors of the board of Independent School District No. 710 shall be elected and vacancies in those offices shall be filled in the manner provided by law for independent school districts.

Approved May 18, 1977.

Changes or additions indicated by underline deletions by strikeout