CHAPTER 204-S.F.No.860

An act relating to courts; county court districts; judges; prescribing the places of residence, election, service and the numbers of certain county judges; amending Minnesota Statutes 1976, Section 487.01, Subdivision 5.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1976, Section 487.01, Subdivision 5, is amended to read:

- Subd. 5. COUNTY COURTS; JUDGES. Each county court district shall elect one county court judge except:
- (1) The district consisting of St. Louis county shall elect six judges; two of the county court judges shall reside and serve in and be elected at large by the voters of St. Louis county; two of the county court judges shall reside and serve in and be elected by the voters in that part of St. Louis county south of the following described line: South of the south line of township 55; except the towns of Toivola, Cedar Valley, Kelsey, and Cotton, the area to be known as the south district; one county court judge shall reside and serve in and be elected by the voters of an area to be known as the northwest district, which area lies within the following described lines in St. Louis county: North of the south line of township 55 and west of the west line of range 18 and excluding that part of Portage township west of the west line of range 18; and including the towns of McDavitt, Toivola, and Cedar Valley; and one county court judge shall reside and serve in and be elected by the voters of an area to be known as the northeast district, which area lies within the following described lines in St. Louis county: North of the south line of township 55 and east of the west line of range 18 and including that part of Portage township west of the west line of range 18, and the towns of Kelsey and Cotton, and excluding the town of McDavitt.
- (2) The district consisting of Dakota county, the district consisting of Anoka county and the district consisting of Stearns, Sherburne and Benton shall each elect five judges;
- (3) The district consisting of Olmsted and Dodge counties, the district consisting of Winona and Wabasha counties, the <u>district consisting of Pine</u>, <u>Chisago and Isanti counties</u>, and the district consisting of Washington county shall each elect three judges;
- (4) The district consisting of Blue Earth county, the district consisting of Clay county, the district consisting of Sibley, Meeker and McLeod counties, and the district consisting of Martin, Watonwan and Faribault counties and the district consisting of Pine. Chisago and Isanti counties shall each elect two county court judges.
- (5) The number of judges to be elected may be increased by the county board of the affected county or by the concurrence of the county boards of those affected counties
- Changes or additions indicated by underline deletions by strikeout

combined into districts.

Approved May 20, 1977.

CHAPTER 205—S.F.No.922

[Coded in Part]

An act relating to parking privileges for the physically handicapped; prohibiting nonhandicapped persons from parking in spaces designated for the handicapped; providing penalties; amending Minnesota Statutes 1976, Section 168.021, Subdivision 1.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

- Section I. [169.346] PARKING FOR PHYSICALLY HANDICAPPED; PROHIBITIONS; PENALTIES. Subdivision I. No person shall park a motor vehicle in a parking space designated and reserved for the physically handicapped, on either private or public property, unless:
- (a) That person is physically handicapped in a manner rendering it difficult, dangerous or impossible for the person to walk, or the person was operating the vehicle under the direction of a person who is physically handicapped in this manner; and
- (b) The vehicle visibly displays the certificate or insignia issued to physically handicapped persons by the department of public safety pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 169.345, Subdivision 3, or Section 168.021.
- Subd. 2. Handicapped parking spaces shall be designated and identified by the posting of signs incorporating the international symbol of access in white on blue and indicating that the parking space is reserved for the handicapped with vehicles displaying the required certificate. The posting of signs shall be in accordance with the state building code established by rule of the commissioner of administration pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 16.85, when the location of the parking spaces on public or private lands is within the purview of the state building code, and in accordance with the manual on uniform traffic control devices adopted by the commissioner of transportation pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 169.06, when the parking spaces are on streets and highways.
- Subd. 3. Any person who violates the provisions of subdivision 1 shall be fined \$10. This subdivision shall be enforced in the same manner as parking ordinances or regulations are enforced in the governmental subdivision in which the violation occurs. A handicapped person charged with violating subdivision 1 because he parked in a handicapped parking space without the required certificate or insignia shall not be convicted if he produces in court or prior to the court appearance the required certificate or insignia and demonstrates that he was entitled to the certificate or insignia at the time of arrest or tagging.
- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 1976, Section 168.021, Subdivision 1, is amended to
- Changes or additions indicated by underline deletions by strikeout