charge or demote any such individual during the term of an annual contract for any cause specified in Minnesota Statutes, Section 125.17, Subdivision 4. A written statement of the cause of the discharge or demotion shall be given to the individual by the school board at least 30 days before the removal or demotion shall become effective.

- Subd. 3. In terminating personnel because of financial limitations or any other reason, the school board of Independent School District No. 625 is encouraged to give first priority to the terminations of central office personnel, administrative and supervisory personnel, and other personnel whose duties do not include day to day instructional contact with the students of the district. No cuts in programs shall be made by the district without the express approval of the board.
- Sec. 11. **APPROPRIATION.** There is appropriated from the general fund in the state treasury to the legislative auditor the sum of \$100,000. Notwithstanding the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, Section 16A.28, or any other provision relating to the lapse of appropriations, the appropriation made pursuant to this section shall not lapse but shall continue until expended.
- Sec. 12. Nothing in this act shall be construed to limit the existing powers of the legislative auditor.
- Sec. 13. The provisions of this act shall be severable, and if any provision thereof, or the application of any such provision under any circumstances is held invalid, it shall not affect any other provision of this act or the application of any provision thereof under different circumstances.
- Sec. 14. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This act shall become effective only after its approval by a majority of the board of Independent School District No. 625 and upon compliance with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes. Section 645.021.

Approved March 1, 1976.

CHAPTER 21—S.F.No.806

[Coded]

An act relating to control of noxious weeds; authorizing towns or cities to control noxious weed growth on state lands; providing reimbursement of certain expenses incurred to control weeds on state lands.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. [18.315] CONTROL OF WEEDS ON STATE LANDS. A town or city may cut or otherwise act to control noxious weeds as

Changes or additions indicated by underline deletions by strikeout

defined in Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 18.171, Subdivision 5, on state owned lands that are located within the territorial limits of the town or city if the state agency responsible for supervision and maintenance of the land fails to cut or take steps to control the noxious weeds within 14 days of receiving a notice to cut or control the noxious weeds from the town board of supervisors or city council. A town or city that cuts or acts to control noxious weeds as authorized by this section shall be reimbursed from the operating budget of the state agency responsible for the land upon documented proof of reasonable and necessary expenses incurred to prevent the spread of noxious weeds from the state owned land. Each request for reimbursement shall first be approved by the department of agriculture.

Approved March 2, 1976.

CHAPTER 22—S.F.No.1439

An act relating to agriculture; dividing the state into four regions for purposes of the potato industry promotion act; amending Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 30.464, Subdivision 1.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 30.464, Subdivision 1, is amended to read:

30.464 AGRICULTURE; POTATO INDUSTRY PROMOTION; AREAS: DESIGNATION, LAW GOVERNING. Subdivision 1. For the purpose of administration of sections 30.461 to 30.477 the state is divided into four areas. Area number one includes the counties of Kittson, Marshall, Polk, Pennington, Red Lake, Norman, Mahnomen, Clay, Becker, Wilkin and, Otter Tail: Area number two includes the counties of, Roseau, Lake of the Woods, Beltrami, Clearwater, Hubbard, Wadena, and Todd. Area number two includes the counties of Itasca, Koochiching, St. Louis, Carlton, Lake and Cook. Area number three includes the counties of Traverse, Grant, Douglas, Big Stone, Stevens, Pope, Swift, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Chippewa, Yellow Medicine, Renville, McLeod, Carver, Scott, Dakota, Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood, Sibley, Le Sueur, Rice, Goodhue, Nicollet, Wabasha, Pipestone, Murray, Brown, Waseca, Steele, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona, Cottonwood, Watonwan, Blue Earth, Rock, Nobles, Jackson, Martin, Faribault, Freeborn, Mower, Fillmore and Houston. Area number four includes the counties of Hubbard, Cass, Aitkin, Wadena, Crow Wing, Todd, Pine, Morrison, Mille Lacs, Kanabec, Stearns, Benton, Isanti, Chisago, Sherburne, Anoka, Meeker, Wright, Washington, Hennepin and Ramsey.

Approved March 2, 1976.

Changes or additions indicated by underline deletions by strikeout