the purposes of certification "teachers" includes persons employed in public schools as members of the instructional and supervisory staff, such as superintendents, principals, supervisors, classroom teachers, librarians, and the county superintendent of schools.

Sec. 4. [121.49] Certification of county superintendent as teacher. The teacher elected as county superintendent shall hold a valid certificate as required by the state board of education.

Sec. 5. [121.50] Eligibility for office. Any county superintendent of schools elected for a term beginning on or before the first Monday in January, 1959, shall be deemed eligible for re-election.

Approved April 24, 1959.

CHAPTER 701—H. F. No. 417

An act relating to judicial districts; amending Minnesota Statutes 1957, Section 2.722, Subdivision 2.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1957, Section 2.722, Subdivision 2, is amended to read :

Subd. 2. Effective July 1, 1959, the state is divided into ten judicial districts composed of the following named counties, respectively, in each of which districts two or more judges shall be chosen as hereinafter specified:

1. Goodhue, Dakota, Carver, LeSueur, McLeod, Scott, and Sibley; four judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Red Wing, Hastings, Shakopee; and Glencoe;

2. Ramsey; eight judges;

3. Wabasha, Winona, Houston, Rice, Olmsted, Dodge, Steele, Waseca, Freeborn, Mower, and Fillmore; five judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Owatonna, Albert Lea, Austin, Rochester, and Winona;

4. Hennepin; 14 judges;

5. Blue Earth, Watonwan, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Lincoln, Cottonwood, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Faribault, Martin, and Jackson; five judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Marshall, Windom, Fairmont, New Ulm, and Mankato;

6. Carlton, St. Louis, Lake, and Cook; six judges;

7. Benton, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd, Clay, Becker, and Wadena; four judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Moorhead, Fergus Falls, Little Falls, and St. Cloud;

8. Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Meeker, Renville, Swift, Yellow Medicine, Big Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin; three judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Glenwood, Montevideo, and Litchfield;

9. Norman, Polk, Marshall, Kittson, Red Lake, Roseau, Mahnomen, Pennington, Aitkin, Itasca, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, Clearwater, Cass, and Koochiching; six judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Crookston, Thief River Falls, Bemidji, Brainerd, Grand Rapids, and International Falls;

10. Anoka, Isanti, Wright, Sherburne, Kanabec, Pine, Chisago, and Washington; three judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Anoka, Lindstrom Center City, and Stillwater.

Approved April 24, 1959.

CHAPTER 702-H. F. No. 1836

[Coded in Part]

An act relating to employment security; amending Minnesota Statutes 1957, Section 268.04, Subdivision 12, and Section 268.06, Subdivision 25, and authorizing the appropriation of money by adding new Subdivisions 26 and 27.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1957, Section 268.04, Subdivision 12, is amended to read:

Subd. 12. (1) Subject to the other provisions of this subdivision "employment" means service performed prior to January 1, 1945, which was employment as defined in this section prior to such date, and any service performed after December 31, 1944, including service in interstate commerce, by an individual who is a servant under the law of master

[Chap.]

1374