CHAPTER 105-H. F. No. 852

An act to amend Mason's Minnesota Statutes of 1927, Section 651, relating to County Commissioners' Districts.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Section 1. Boundaries of commissioner district. — That Mason's Minnesota Statutes of 1927, Section 651, be amended to read as follows:

"651. Each county shall be divided into as many districts, numbered consecutively as it has members of the board. In all counties such districts shall be bounded by town, village, ward, or precinct lines, shall be composed of contiguous territory and contain as nearly as practicable an equal population. Counties may be redistricted by the county board after each state or federal census; and when it appears that after a state or federal census 30 per cent or more of the population of any county is contained in one district, such county shall be redistricted by its county board.

"Provided that the county board shall not have authority or jurisdiction to re-district a county unless said board shall cause at least three weeks published notice of its purpose to do so, stating the time and place of the meeting where the matter will be considered, to be published in the newspaper having the contract for publishing the commissioners' proceedings for said county for the current year. One commissioner shall be elected in each such district who at the time of the election shall be a resident thereof, and the person so elected shall be entitled to hold said office only while he remains a resident of said commissioner district. When a county is redistricted there shall be a new election of commissioners in all the districts of the county at the next general election. The hoard shall determine that not less than two nor more than three members of the board shall be elected for a term of two years and the remainder for a term of four years at the next general election. Thereafter all commissioners shall be elected for four years; provided, that where no change is made in the boundaries of a district, the commissioner in office at the time of the redistricting shall serve for the full period for which he was elected."

Approved March 28, 1931.