estate within such village and town respectively bears to the aggregate valuation of the real estate of the whole township at the time of such separation, the last assessment to be taken as the basis of such division.

SEC. 4. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage.

Approved April 9, 1891.

## CHAPTER 231.

[H. F. No. 1010.]

AN ACT TO MAKE CERTAIN VILLAGES IN WRIGHT COUNTY SEPARATE ELECTION DISTRICTS.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

SECTION 1. That the villages of Annandale, Buffalo, Cokato, Delano, Howard Lake, Montrose, Monticello, Maple Lake and Waverly, all in the county of Wright and state of Minnesota, be and the same are hereby made separate election districts and separate assessment districts and separate from the towns in which they are respectively situated for all purposes; and each of the said incorporated villages shall have and exercise within its limits, in addition to its other powers, the same powers conferred by law upon towns within this state.

SEC. 2. That in case any of said villages, and the town or towns in which any such village or villages are located, shall have heretofore, jointly or together, contracted any bonded indebtedness, then, and in every such case, it shall be the duty of the county auditor of said Wright county to apportion the amount of taxes necessary to be levied in each year to pay the interest and principal of such indebtedness as the same may become due and payable, upon the taxable property of such town and village pro rata, according to the valuation of such town and village, until such joint indebtedness with the interest thereon is fully paid.

Sec. 3. Nothing in this act shall be construed to prevent the holding of town meetings and town elections within the corporate

limits of any village in that town.

SEC. 4. That this act shall take effect and be in force from and after the first (1st) day of November, A. D. eighteen hundred and ninety one (1891).

Approved April 16, 1891.