CHAPTER 124.

[H. F. No. 637.]

AN ACT TO AUTHORIZE THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MINNE-APOLIS TO PAY LUDWIG L. ANDERSON THE SUM OF THREE HUN-DRED AND SEVENTY DOLLARS (\$370) AND SUCH OTHER SUM OF MONEY AS SAID CITY COUNCIL MAY DETERMINE HIM ENTITLED TO.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Section 1. That the city of Minneapolis be and hereby is authorized, empowered to pay to Ludwig L. Anderson the sum of three hundred and seventy dollars (\$370), and also the value of a watch and chain belonging to said Ludwig L. Anderson, taken from said Ludwig L. Anderson on or about the twenty-seventh (27th) day of July, eighteen hundred and eighty-nine (1889), by one Robert R. Harvey, at that time a police officer of the city of Minneapolis, in charge of the lockup in said city, and at a time when said Ludwig L. Anderson was a prisoner therein, which money and property was by said Harvey converted to his own use.

SEC. 2. This act shall take effect from and after its passage.

Approved April 13, 1891.

CHAPTER 125.

[H. F. No. 443.]

AN ACT RELATING TO AND PROVIDING FOR CITY JUSTICE OF THE PEACE IN AND FOR THE CITY OF MINNEAPOLIS, AND TO DEFINE AND REGULATE THE POWERS AND DUTIES OF JUSTICES OF THE PEACE IN SAID CITY.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

SECTION 1. That the offices of justice of the peace now existing in the city of Minneapolis, in the county of Hennepin, in the state of Minnesota, are hereby continued, confirmed and established as courts of justice of the peace for the transaction of all judicial and other

business which may lawfully come before them.

SEC. 2. That on the day of the general city election for the election of city officers, held in the city of Minneapolis in the year A. D. one thousand eight hundred and ninety (1890), and every second (2d) year thereafter, the qualified electors of the said city shall elect, by ballot, as hereinafter provided, three (3) justices of the peace within and for said city, who shall hold their offices for a term of two (2) years, commencing on the seventh (7th) day of April, A. D. one thousand eight hundred and ninety-one (1891), or until their successors are elected