product of all mines in this state, but no such tax shall be construed to prevent the taxation by law of any real estate belonging to the owners of such mine not used in the busi-

ness of mining or in connection therewith."

Submission to a vote.

This proposed amendment shall be submitted to the people of said state, for their approval or rejection, at the next general election for the year eighteen hundred and ninety-two (1892), and each of the legal voters of said state may, at said election, vote by ballot for or against said amendment, and the returns thereof shall be made and certified, and such votes and the result thereof declared, in the manner provided by law for returning, certifying and canvassing votes at general elections for state officers and declaring the result thereof; and if it shall appear therefrom that a majority of the voters present and voting at said election upon said amendment "yes" or "no," have voted in favor of the same, then within ten (10) days after the result shall have been ascertained the governor shall make proclamation thereof, and said amendment shall thereupon take effect and be in full force as part of the constitution of the state of Minnesota.

Form of ballot.

SEC. 3. The ballots used at said election on said amendment shall have printed thereon, "Amendment to section three (3) of article nine (9) of the constitution, providing for the taxation of sleeping car companies and other companies, yes—no;" and each elector voting on said amendment shall erase, mark across, or scratch out, one (1) of said words "yes" or "no" on said ballot box, and no ballots shall be counted except those having one (1) only of said words "yes" or "no" thereon.

SEC. 4. This act shall take effect and be in force from

and after its passage.

Approved April 21, 1891.

## CHAPTER 3.

[S. F. No. 354.]

Congressional apportionment.

AN ACT TO DIVIDE THE STATE OF MINNESOTA INTO SEVEN CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Seven districts.

SECTION 1. The State of Minnesota is hereby divided into seven (7) congressional districts, each of which is entitled to elect one (1) representative to the congress of the United States.

First district.

SEC. 2. The counties of Houston, Fillmore, Mower, Freeborn, Waseca, Steele, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona and Wabasha shall constitute the first (1st) congressional district.

The counties of Faribault, Martin, Jackson, Second district Noble, Rock, Pipestone, Murray, Watonwan, Blue Earth, Nicollet, Brown, Redwood, Lyon, Lincoln, Yellow Medicine, Lac qui Parle, Chippewa and Cottonwood shall constitute the second (2d) congressional district.

SEC. 4. The counties of Goodhue, Dakota, Rice, Scott, Third district. Le Sueur, Sibley, Carver, McLeod, Renville and Meeker

shall constitute the third (3d) congressional district.

SEC. 5. The counties of Ramsey, Washington, Chisago, Fourth district. Isanti and Kanabec shall constitute the fourth (4th) congressional district.

The county of Hennepin shall constitute the Finh district. SEC. 6.

fifth (5th) congressional district.

SEC. 7. The counties of Cook, Lake, St. Louis, Itasca, Sixth district. Carlton, Aitkin, Crow Wing, Pine, Mille Lacs, Anoka, Sherburne, Wright, Stearns, Benton, Morrison, Todd, Cass, Wadena, Hubbard and Beltrami shall constitute the sixth (6th) congressional district.

SEC. 8. The counties of Kittson, Marshall, Polk, Nor-Seventh district. man, Clay, Wilkin, Traverse, Big Stone, Swift, Kandiyohi, Stevens, Pope, Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail and Becker shall

constitute the seventh (7th) congressional district.

This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage.

Approved April 17, 1891.

## CHAPTER 4.

[H. F. No. 129.]

## AN ACT TO REGULATE ELECTIONS.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

SECTION 1. On the first (1st) Tuesday after the first General election (1st) Monday in November of each even-numbered year, an election shall be held in the several election districts of the state, which shall be known as the general election; and the several state and county officers, judges of the supreme and district courts, members of the legislature and representatives in congress of the United States shall be elected at the general election next preceding the expiration of the term of each of the said officers, respectively; and on a year when the president and vice president of the United States are to be chosen, a number of electors of president and vice president of the United States, equal to the number of senators and representatives to which this state is entitled in the congress of the United States, shall be elected at said election.

in even-num-bered years.