this curve of depth by and around Grassy Point to the west line of township forty-nine (49) north, of range fourteen (14) west, of the fourth (4th) principal meridian.

The dock line established as aforesaid, shall be the front or water line of the uniform system of docking on the north side of said St. Louis bay in the State of Minnesota, and no dock, wharf, , quay or pier shall extend into the water, in front of or beyond said line.

Sec. 3. Any person or persons who shall erect, construct or build any dock, wharf, quay or pier, in front of said established line, or who shall in any manner obstruct the navigation in front of said line, shall upon conviction thereof, be fined in a sum not exceeding one hundred (100) dollars for each offense, and in addition thereto shall be fined the sum of fifty (50) dollars per day for each and every day that such dock, wharf, quay, pier or other obstruction or any part of any or either of the same, shall remain in front of said line, after he or they shall have been notified to remove the same by any officer of St. Louis county or any officer of the village or city of Duluth.

SEC. 4. Prosecutions for the recovery of the fines herein provided for, may be commenced in the district court for St. Louis county, or in the municipal court for the village or city of Duluth, either in the name of the state of Minnesota, or in the name of the city of Duluth, and all fines recovered for any violation of the provisions of this act shall be paid into the general fund of the municipality, within whose limits such violation has occurred, and if beyond the limits of any municipal corporation, then into the general fund of the county of St. Louis.

Sec. 5. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage.

Approved February 25, 1887.

CHAPTER 317.

[S. F. No. 427.]

AN ACT FIXING THE SALARY OF THE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SAINT LOUIS COUNTY, IN THE STATE OF MINNESOTA.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Section 1. From and after the first day of March, one thousand eight hundred and eighty-seven (1887), the county commissioners of the county of Saint Louis, in the state of Minnesota, shall each receive as compensation for their services a salary of three hundred and sixty dollars (\$360.00) per annum, which salary shall be paid in monthly installments out of the county treasury of said county, upon the warrant of the county auditor of said county, and no county commissioner of said county shall receive any other or further compensation for his services as county commissioner, either as a member of the board of equalization, or for committee services, or for any other services of any kind or character whatever, for which he is now entitled to receive compensation, except as herein provided.

Provided. That any county commissioner, who at the time of his election, and during his continuance in office, shall reside more than ten (10) miles, by the nearest usually traveled route, from the court house in said Saint Louis county, shall receive an additional compensation of one hundred (100) dollars per annum, to be added to the aforesaid salary, and payable as aforesaid, and no per diem or mileage shall be paid to said county commissioners, or any of them, for or on account of any services by them, or any of them, performed for or on behalf of said Saint Louis county,

SEC. 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after

its passage.

Approved February 28, 1887.

CHAPTER 318.

[S. F. No. 252.]

AN ACT TO DEFINE AND ESTABLISH THE MAIN CHANNEL OF THE CLEARWATER RIVER, BETWEEN THE COUNTIES OF WRIGHT AND STEARNS.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

SECTION 1. That the channel of the Clearwater river, where the said river now runs between the towns of Lyndon, in Stearns county, and the town of Clearwater, in Wright county, be, and the same is hereby declared to be the main channel of said Clearwater river.

SEC. 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after

its passage.

Approved Feb. 14th, 1887.