sand eight hundred and seventy-vine (1879), be amended so as to read as follows:

Sec. 2. The elective officers of said corporation shall be one (1) president, one (1) recorder, three (3) trustees, one (1) treasurer, one (1) assessor and one (1) justice of the peace who shall be styled police justice, and shall each hold their office for the term of one (1) year except the justice of the peace whose term of office shall be two (2) years, and until their successors are elected and qualified. In addition to the above officers the common council shall have power, and it shall be their duty to elect by ballot a constable, who shall be styled marshal, for said corporation at their first (1st) meeting in each year, whose term of office shall extend and be in force during the pleasure of the council, but in no case longer than the year for which said council were elected, and until his successor shall be appointed and qualified, unless sooner removed from office by said council. In addition to the above officers the common council shall have the power to appoint, define the duties and fix the compensation of such other officers as the said council may deem necessary. All village officers shall have resided in the village four (4) months immediately preceding their election or appointment, and shall be qualified electors of the State.

SEC. 4. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage.

Approved November 17, 1881.

### CHAPTER 36.

## AN ACT TO AMEND AN ACT ENTITLED AN ACT TO INCORPORATE THE VILLAGE OF LITCHFIELD.

# Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

SECTION 1. That section one (1), of chapter one (1), of the act approved February twenty-nine (29), A. D. one thousand eight hundred and seventy-two (1872), entitled: "An act to incorporate the village of Litchfield," be and the same is hereby amended so as to include in addition to the territory described in said section, the following described territory, to-wit: The south halt of the northeast quarter (S.  $\pm$  N. E.  $\pm$ ) northeast quarter ( $\pm$ ) of section fourteen (14), of township one hundred and nineteen (119), of range thirty-one (31), in Meeker county, Minnesota, commonly known and duly platted as "Butler's addition to the village of Litchfield."

SEC. 2. And be it further enacted that section seventeen (17) of chapter three (3), of said act aforesaid, be and the same is hereby amended so as to read as follows: In all respects not herein provided for, said village shall be and continue a part of the township of Litchfield, except that said village shall constitute an independent road district, and all taxes raised within the limits thereof for

#### SPECIAL LAWS

road purposes, shall be expended under the direction of the village council.

SEC. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage.

Approved November 17, 1881.

#### CHAPTER 37.

## AN ACT TO AMEND THE CHARTER OF THE CITY OF ST. PAUL, IN RELATION TO THE FIRE DEPARTMENT OF SAID CITY.

### Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

•• SECTION 1. That chapter ten (10) of the charter of the city of St. Paul, in relation to the fire department, be and the same is hereby amended by adding thereto the following sections:

Sec. 8. There is hereby established a department of the municipal government of the city of St. Paul, which shall be known as "the board of fire commissioners," to be constituted and organized as hereinafter provided,

Sec. 9. The said board of fire commissioners shall consist of three (3) reputable freeholders and qualified electors of said city, none of whom shall be members of the common council of said city, or hold any other office under the charter or ordinances of said city.

The first board of fire commissioners shall consist of Frank Brewer, William B. Dean and Jeremiah C. Prendergast, who shall hold said office for the following terms, and until their successors are appointed and qualified, namely: Said Frank Brewer, until December thirty-first (31st), A. D. one thousand eight hundred and eighty-two (1882), said William B. Dean, until December thirtyfirst (31st), A. D. one thousand eight hundred and eighty-three (1883), and said Jeremiah C. Prendergast, until December thirty-first (31st), A. D. one thousand eight hundred and eighty-four (1884). The successors of the members of said board hereby appointed shall be ap--pointed by the mayor of said city by and with the consent of the common council; one (1) on the last week day of December, A. D. one thousand eight hundred and eighty-three (1883), and one (1) annually thereafter, and the members so appointed shall hold their said office for the term of three (3) years, and until their successors are appointed and qualified, and in case the office of any member shall become vacant during his term, the said mayor, shall in like manner, as soon as practicable thereafter, appoint a person of like qualifications as aforesaid, to fill said vacancy during said unexpired term, and until a successor shall be appointed and qualified.

Sec. 10. Each person hereby or hereafter appointed a member of said board of fire commissioners, shall before entering upon the discharge of the duties of his office, take and subscribe an oath to the effect that he will faithfully and impartially perform the