Sec. 2. That each person elected to the office of county commissioner in the county of Mille Lacs shall hold their said office for a term of three (3) years and until their successor is elected

and qualified.

Sec. 3. The persons so elected shall qualify in the same manner as county commissioners are by law required to qualify in this State and be governed by the laws of this State defining the duties of county commissioners, and their acts as county commissioners shall be valid and binding and of the same force and effect as they would be if elected by districts in the usual manner.

Sec. 4. This act shall take effect and be in force from and af-

ter its passage.

Approved March 3, 1881.

CHAPTER 395.

AN ACT to permenantly locate and establish the county seat of Chippewa county at the village of Montevideo, in said county.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Section 1. That the county seat of Chippewa county be and the same hereby is located and established at the village of Montevideo, in said Chippewa county.

SEC. 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and

after its passage.

Approved March 5, 1881.

CHAPTER 396.

AN ACT to establish commissioner districts in the county of Hennepin, and to regulate the election and compensation of the county commissioners therein.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Section 1. The county of Hennepin, in this State, is hereby divided into the following county commissioner districts, as follows:

The first and second wards of the city of Minneapolis, as those wards are now constituted, and the town of Saint Authory shall constitute the first commissioner district.

The sixth ward of the city of Minneapolis and the towns of Minneapolis, Bloomington and Richfield shall constitute the second commissioner district.

The fifth ward and the third precinct of the fourth ward of the city of Minneapolis shall constitute the third commissioner dis-

trict.

The third ward, the first and second precincts of the fourth ward, in the city of Minneapolis, and the towns of Crystal Lake and Brooklyn and the village of Osseo, shall constitute the fourth commissioner district.

All the territory comprised within the limits of said Hennepin county and not embraced in the first four districts herein estab-

lished, shall constitute the fifth commissioner district.

SEC. 2. There shall hereafter be elected by the electors of said Hennepin county, from each of said commissioner districts, one county commissioner, who shall at the time of his election be a resident of the district from which he is elected, and who shall reside in the district from which he was elected during his continuance in office, and the election of said commissioner shall be conducted in all respects like that of other county officers, and the returns thereof shall be made and certified in like manner to the county auditor of said county, who shall canvass the votes cast for such commissioner according to law, and issue certificates of elec-

tion to the persons entitled to the same.

From and after the first (1st) day of March, eighteen hundred and eighty-one (1881), the county commissioners of said county of Hennepin, shall receive as compensation for their services, a salary of five hundred dollars (\$500) per annum, which salary shall be paid in monthly installments out of the county treasury of said county, upon the warrant of the county auditor, and no county commissioner shall receive any other or further compensation for his services as county commissioner, either as member of the board of equalization or for committee services except as herein provided. Provided, that any county commissioner who, at the time of his election and during his continuance therein, shall reside more than ten (10) miles by the nearest usually traveled route, from the court house in the city of Minneapolis, in said county, may be paid an additional compensation of and at the rate of one hundred dollars (\$100) per annum, and no per diem or mileage shall be paid to either of said commissioners for or on account of any services rendered by them, or either of them.

SEC. 4. The present county commissioners of said Hennepin county shall continue to be the county commissioners of such county until the expiration of the term for which they were respectively elected, but any vacancy in the office of county commissioner that may hereafter occur, shall be filled in the manner

provided by the general laws of this State.

Sec. 5. All acts and parts of acts inconsistent with the provisions of this act, are so far as they relate to the county commission-

ers or county commissioner districts of Hennepin county, hereby repealed.

Sec. 6. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after

its passage.

Approved February 25, 1881.

CHAPTER 397.

AN ACT to relieve the town of Isanti, in the county of Isanti, from the obligation of maintaining the bridge across Rum river, now situated within said town.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Section 1. Whenever the county commissioners of the county of Isanti shall, by order entered in their journal, decide to assume the burden of repairing and maintaining the bridge across Rum river, in the town of Isanti, in said county, said town of Isanti shall thenceforth be wholly relieved of the duty of such repair or maintainance in the future, and said county of Isanti shall thenceforth be empowered to keep in repair and control said bridge.

SEC. 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after

its passage.

Approved March 3, 1881.

CHAPTER 398.

AN ACT to divide the town of Home, in Brown county, into two town organizations.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

Section 1. That the town of Home, in the county of Brown, consisting of congressional townships number one hundred and ten (110), range thirty-two (32), and number one hundred and eleven (111), range thirty-two (32), be and the same is hereby divided into separate towns, with separate town organizations.

The dividing line between said towns shall be the dividing line between the congressional townships aforesaid and the territory contained within the boundaries of township number one hundred and ten (110), range thirty-two (32), is hereby declared to be and the same shall hereafter constitute a separate organization, to be