CHAPTER IV.

March 1, 1866.

An Act to prescribe the number of members who shall compose the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of Minnesota, and to apportion the represen-tation in both Houses throughout the different sections of the State.

SECTION 1. Designates the number of Sanators and Representatives.

2. How representation shall be apportioned.

3. Repeals all acts and parts of acts inconsistent with this Act.

4. When Act to take effect.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

bers composing

Section 1. That for the next Legislature and thereafter until a new apportionment shall have been made, Senate and House the Senate of this State shall be composed of twentytwo (22) members, and the House of Representatives shall be composed of forty-seven (47) members.

Row members apportioned.

SEC. 2. That the Representation in the Senate and House of Representatives be apportioned throughout the State in twenty-two Senatorial and Representaive districts as follows, to wit:

The first district shall be composed of the county of Ramsey, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator

and three (3) Representatives.

The second district shall be composed of the counties of Washington, Chisago, Pine, and Kanabec, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and two (2) Representatives.

The third district shall be composed of the counties of Stearns, Todd, Cass, Wadena, Otter Tail, Andy Johnson, Clay, Douglas, Becker, Polk, Pembina, Morrison, Crow Wing, Aiken, Itasca, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, Carleton, St. Louis and Lake, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and two (2) Representatives.

The fourth district shall be composed of that portion of Hennepin county which lies east of the Mississippi river, and the counties of Manomin, Anoka, Sherburne, How members Benton, Isanti, and Mille Lac, and shall be entitled to

elect one (1) Senator and one (1) Representative;

The fifth district shall be composed of that portion of Hennepin county which lies west of the Mississippi river, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and three (3) Representatives;

The sixth district shall be composed of the counties of Wright, Meeker, McLeod, Kandiyohi and Monongalia, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and

two (2) Representatives;

The seventh district shall be composed of the county of Dakota, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and two (2) Representatives;

The eighth district shall be composed of the county of Rice, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator

and two (2) Representatives;

The ninth district shall be composed of the county of Goodhue, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and three (3) Representatives;

The tenth district shall be composed of the county of Wabashaw, and shall be entitled to elect one (1)

Senator and two (2) Representatives;

The eleventh district shall be composed of the county of Winona, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and three (3) Representatives;

The twelfth district shall be composed of the county of Olmsted, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Sen-

ator and three (3) Representatives;

The thirteenth district shall be composed of the county of Houston, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and two (2) Representatives.

The fourteenth district shall be composed of the county of Fillmore, and shall be entitled to elect one

(1) Senator and four (4) Representatives;

The fifteenth district shall be composed of the counties of Mower and Dodge, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and two (2) Representatives;

The sixteenth district shall be composed of the counties of Steele, Waseca and Freeborn, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and three (3) Representatives, of which number of Representatives each county shall elect one each year;

The seventeenth district shall be composed of the counties of Blue Earth and Watonwan, and shall be

How members apportioned.

entitled to elect one (1) Senator and two (2) Representatives;

The eighteenth district shall be composed of the county of Scott, and shall be entitled to elect one (1)

Senator and one (1) Representative;

The nineteenth district shall be composed of the counties of Nicollet, Brown, Sibley, Redwood, Renville, Big Stone, Chippewa, Lac Qui Parle and Lincoln, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and two (2) Representatives;

The twentieth district shall be composed of the counties of Faribault, Martin, Jackson, Cottonwood, Murray, Noble, Pipestone and Rock, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and one (1) Represen-

tative;

The twenty-first district shall be composed of the county of Carver, and shall be entitled to elect one (1) Senator and one (1) Representative;

The twenty-second district shall be composed of the county of Le Sueur, and shall be entitled to elect one

(1) Senator and one (1) Representative.

Sec. 3. That all acts and parts of acts inconsistent

with this act be and are hereby repealed.

Sec. 4. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage.

Approved March 1, 1866.