Pirst Town Conneil

Madison Sweetzer, as President; Andrew J. Myrick as Secretary, and Duncan Kennedy, Thomas Corwin and Jas. H. McDougall, Trustees, shall be known and are hereby constituted the Town Council of said town, who shall hold their offices for one year and until their successors shall be elected and qualified.

liabilities

The President and Trustees of said town are hereby created a body politic and corporate, with perpetual succession to be known and designated by the name of the town of Traverse des Sioux, and shall possess all the rights and be subject to all the liabilities usually belonging to municipal corporations.

J. W. FURBER,

Speaker of the House of Representatives.

JOHN B. BRISBIN, President of the Council.

Approved-May twenty-fifth, one thousand eight hundred and fifty-seven. S. MEDARY.

Secretary's Office, Minnesota,) Saint Paul, July 22nd, 1857.

I hereby certify the foregoing to be a correct copy of the original bill now on file in this office.

Chas. L. Chase, Secretary of Minnuesota Territory.

CHAPTER XII.

A Bill for an Act to amend an Act entitled an Act for an Act to Incorporate the Town of Minneapolis in the County of Hennepin.

SECTION 1 Title of original act amended.
Corporate limits designated.
Section fifth amended, relating to the election of town officers.

4 Sections thirteenth and nineteenth repealed.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Minnesota:

Section 1. The Title to said act is hereby amended, so as to read as follows: An Act to Incorporate the Town of Title amended Minneapolis, in the County of Hennepin.

SEC. 2. Section second of said act is hereby amended so Section two as to read as follows: The corporate limits of the said Town amended

of Minneapolis shall include all that part of the county of Hennepin within the following boundaries: Beginning at a point in the middle of the main channel of the Mississippi River, where the north line of township number twentynine of range twenty-four west, crosses the same; thence west on said township line to the northwest corner of section three of said township; thence south on section lines to the southwest corner of section thirty-four in said township; thence cast by the township line to the middle of the main channel of said Mississippi River; thence up the main channel of the said Mississippi River to the point of beginning.

Sec. 2. Section fifth of said act is hereby amended so as to read as follows: The elective officers of said town shall be a president and four Trustees, having the qualifications of electors of the members of the Legislative Assembly, who shall hold their office for the period of one year, and until their successors shall be elected and qualified. The President and four Trustees shall constitute the Town Council of the said town of Minneapolis. One of said Trustees shall be a resident of each ward, and any three of the members of said council shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business pertaining to their duties.

Section fifth amended

SEC. 4. Sections thirteen and nineteen of said act are Sections 13 and hereby repealed.

J. W. FURBER,

Speaker of the House of Representatives.

JOHN B. BRISBIN, President of the Council.

Approved—May twenty-fifth, one thousand eight hundred and fifty-seven.

S. MEDARY.

SECRETARY'S OFFICE, Minnesota, Saint Paul, July 22, 1857.

I hereby certify the foregoing to be a correct copy of the original bill on file in this office.

CHAS. L. CHASE, Secretary of Minnesota Territory.