CHAPTER XVIII.—AN ACT to incorporate the Benton County Agricultural Society.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Minnesola, That David Gilman, David Olmstead, Baldwin Olmstead, William Sturgis, Jeremiah Russell, James Beatty, O. H. Kelly, C. W. Hancock, John Depue and Allan Morrison, and their associates, be and are hereby constituted a body corporate, to be known by the name and style of the Benton County Agricultural Society, with the right as such of sueing and being sued, and to hold any estate, real or personal, and the same to grant, sell, lease, morigage, or otherwise dispose of for the benefit of the Society, and to receive donations to be applied as the donor may direct; and to devise and keep a Common Seal, with the right of altering it at pleasure; and to make and enforce such By-Laws, as they may choose, and which are not contrary to the Constitution and laws of the United States, or of this Territory, and to enjoy all the privileges and franchises, incident to a Corporation.

SEC. 2. The objects of said Society, shall be the collection and dissemination of agricultural knowledge, and the encouragement

and advancement of agricultural pursuits.

At the first meeting called and held by any five of the members of this Society, the time and place of the first and future annual meetings shall be designated; and at the first annual meeting of the Society, under such regulations as they may adopt, there shall be elected one President and two Vice Presidents, one Secretary and one Treasurer; said officers to hold their offices respectively until their successors are chosen, which shall be at the next annual meeting.

Szc. 4. Five members of the Society shall, at any meeting, con-

stitute a quorum, to transact any business.

Sec. 5. The Legislature may at any time alter, modify or amend this act.

SEC. 6. This act shall take effect from and after its passage.

J. D. LUDDEN.

Speaker of the House of Representatives.
WM. HENRY FORBES,

President of the Council.

APPROVED-March fifth, one thousand eight hundred and fifty-two. <u>ALEX, RAMSÉY.</u>

SECRETARY'S OFFICE, St. Paul, July 7th, 1852.

I hereby certify the foregoing to be a true copy of the original on file in this office.

ALEX. WILKIN,

Secretary of the Territory of Minnesola.

CHAPTER XIX.—AN ACT fixing the terms of the Supreme and District Courts, of the Territory of Minnesota, and for other purposes.

March 6, 1854.

Officers elected.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Minnesois, That there shall be one Term of the Supreme Court, held annually, at the seat of government of said Territory, commencing on the first Monday of July next, and at the same time, every year thereSupreme Court.

after. Provided, That the Judges of the said Court, shall have power at any time to order a special term thereof.

SEC. 2. The terms of the District Court of the Territory, shall be held at the times and places following, to wit: In the County of Washington, on the first Monday in April, and the first Monday in October, in each year; in the County of Ramsey, on the first Monday in May, and the first Monday of November, in each year; in the County of Chisago, on the first Monday of June, in each year; in the County of Benton, on the second Monday in June, and the second Monday in December, in each year; in the County of Pembina, on the first Monday in May in each year.

The Counties of Chisago, Washington and Ramsey, shall constitute the first Judicial District, and the Hon. Jerome Fuller, is assigned to the same, as District Judge thereof. The County of Benton, shall constitute the second Judicial District, and the Hon. Bradley B. Meeker, is hereby assigned to the same as District Judge thereof. The County of Pembina shall constitute the third Judicial District, and the Hon. David Cooper, is assigned to the same as District Judge thereof.

SEC. 4. For Judicial purposes, the County of Dakota, is hereby attached to the County of Ramsey, the County of Wabashaw, to the County of Washington; the Counties of Cass and Itasca, to the

County of Benton.

Szc. 5. All laws and parts of laws contravening the provisions of

this act, are hereby repealed.

SEC. 6. This act shall take effect from and after its passage.

J. D. LUDDEN,

Speaker of the House of Representatives.

WM. HENRY FORBES,

President of the Council. Arraoved—March sixth, one thousand eight hundred and fiftytwo.

> ALEX. RAMSEY. SECRETARY'S OFFICE,

St. Paul, July,7th, 1852. I hereby certify the foregoing to be a true copy of the original on file in this office.

ALEX. WILKIN,

Secretary of the Territory of Minnesota.

March 4, 1852.

CHAPTER XX.—AN ACT to organize Pembins County.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Minnesots. That the county of Pembina is hereby detached from the county of Benton, for judicial purposes, and shall be organized with all the powers of separate county government, conferred upon any other of the organized counties of Minnesota Territory.

painted.

SEC. 2. That his Excellency, the Governor, shall appoint and commission three suitable persons, being qualified voters of the county of Pembina, to be a board of county commissioners for said county of Pembina, with full power and authority to do and perform all the acts and duties devolving upon the board of county commissigners of any organized county of this Territory, until their successors shall be duly elected and qualified, and that the said board of