
Rule 12. Fees

A. General. Applicants shall pay application fees or other fees required under these Rules by
personal check or money order made payable to the Board. At the Board's discretion, fees may be
accepted by credit card or electronic funds transfer. The applicable fee is determined as of the date
of filing of a complete application under Rule 4.

B. Fee for Examination, Not Previously Admitted. An applicant who meets the following
criteria shall submit a fee of $500:

(1) Applying to take the Minnesota examination for the first time; and

(2) Not admitted to practice in another jurisdiction; and

(3) Filing on or before the timely filing deadline (October 15 for the February examination,
or March 15 for the July examination).

An applicant meeting the criteria in (1) and (2) above, who files after the timely filing deadline
but before the late filing deadline (December 1 for the February examination, or May 1 for the July
examination) shall submit a fee of $650. Applications will not be accepted after the late filing
deadline.

C. Fee for Examination, Prior Admission. An applicant who meets the following criteria
shall submit a fee of $950:

(1) Licensed to practice in another jurisdiction more than six months prior to the date of the
applicant's Minnesota application; and

(2) Filing on or before the timely filing deadline (October 15 for the February examination,
or March 15 for the July examination).

An applicant meeting the criteria in (1) above, who files after the timely filing deadline but
before the late filing deadline (December 1 for the February examination, or May 1 for the July
examination) shall submit a fee of $1100. Applications will not be accepted after the late filing
deadline.

D. Fee for Examination for Recently Admitted Applicants. An applicant applying to take
the Minnesota examination who has been licensed to practice in another jurisdiction fewer than six
months prior to the date of the applicant's Minnesota application shall submit the fee for examination
required by paragraph B of this Rule.

E. Repeat Examinations. An applicant who was unsuccessful on the Minnesota examination
and is filing on or before December 1 for the February examination, or on or before May 1 for the
July examination, shall submit a fee of $500 and comply with Rule 4I.

F. Fee for AdmissionWithout Examination.An applicant for admission without examination
pursuant to Rule 7 (Admission Without Examination) or Rule 10 (Admission by House Counsel
License) shall submit a fee of $950. An applicant for admission pursuant to Rule 9 (Admission by
Temporary House Counsel License) shall submit a fee of $700.

G. Fee for Temporary License for Legal Services Program Practice. A fee in the amount
of $75 must accompany an application for Temporary License pursuant to Rule 8. Payment of an
additional fee, as required by Rule 12B, will qualify applicants under Rule 6. Payment of an
additional fee, as required by Rule 12C, will qualify applicants under Rule 7A or 7B.
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H. Transfer of Rule 8 Application to Rule 6 or Rule 7 Application. Documents submitted
in support of a Rule 8 (Temporary License for Legal Services Programs) application for license
may, upon the written request of applicant, constitute application pursuant to Rule 6 (Admission
by Examination) or Rule 7 (Admission Without Examination) of these Rules, provided additional
fees required by Rule 12 are submitted.

I. Refunds of Fees.An applicant who submits a written request to withdraw a bar examination
application 15 or more days before the examination for which the applicant applied shall receive
a refund in the amount of:

(1) $150, if the fee paid was in an amount specified by either Rule 12B or Rule 12E;

(2) $300, if the fee paid was in an amount specified by Rule 12C.

No other requests for refund will be granted.

J. Carry-over of Fees.

(1) Applicants Ineligible Under Rule 7 (Admission without Examination). The fee of an
applicant declared ineligible under Rule 7 (Admission Without Examination) shall, upon the
applicant's written request, be applied to

(a) An examination held within the succeeding 15 months; or

(b) An Application made under Rule 8, 9, or 10.

The written request must be received by the Board within 30 days of notice of the denial.
No other carry-over of fees, other than those provided for in the following paragraph, shall be
granted.

(2) Medical Emergencies. An applicant who is unable to take the examination due to a
medical emergency and who notifies the Board in writing or by telephone prior to the start of the
examination, may request carry-over of the application fee to the next examination. Such requests
must be made in writing, received in the Board office no later than 14 days following the
examination, and be accompanied bywritten documentation of themedical emergency. The applicant
shall submit a fee of $50 when reapplying for the next examination.

K. Copies of Examination Answers. An unsuccessful applicant may request copies of the
applicant's essay answers. The request shall be in writing, submitted within 60 days of the release
of the examination results, and accompanied by a fee of $20.

L. Fees for Advisory Opinions. An application filed for the purpose of receiving an advisory
opinion from the Board must be accompanied by a fee in the amount of $100.

M. Fee for Re-issuance of House Counsel License. An applicant for re-issuance of a house
counsel license under Rule 10G shall submit a fee of $275.

N. Other Fees. The Board may require an applicant to bear the expense of obtaining reports
or other information necessary for the Board's investigation. The Board may require applicants to
pay a reasonable application processing fee. The Board may charge reasonable fees for collection
and publication of any information permitted to be released. For matters not covered in these Rules,
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the director may set reasonable fees which reflect the administrative costs associated with the
service.

(Amended effective January 1, 2003; renumbered and amended effective September 1, 2004;
amended effective July 1, 2007; amended effective January 1, 2008; amended effective September
1, 2011.)
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